TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 10 °C Saturday 25 May, 2013

Lack of staff meant mother drove paramedic and ill child to hospital

The incident occurred in Letterkenny earlier this month. Sinn Féin TD Pearse Doherty has said he is ‘shocked and outraged’ at what occurred.

FILE
FILE
Image: Mark Stedman/Photocall Ireland

A MOTHER HAD to drive her ill daughter and a paramedic treating her to the hospital as there weren’t other paramedics on duty at the time, it has emerged.

Sinn Féin TD for Donegal South West, Pearse Doherty, expressed shock and outrage at the incident. “I would ask why alternative arrangements were not made to ensure that there were at least two paramedics available to respond to any emergencies,” he said.

It is completely unacceptable that a mother be required to drive her child to hospital in such circumstances, in a vehicle which is not adapted to the needs of the situation, simply because there is inadequate staff to drive the ambulance.

The HSE said that on Tuesday 13 November there was one full crew and an advanced paramedic working alone on duty in Letterkenny at the time the emergency call about the girl was received.

It said that there were a total of seven ambulance crews on duty in Donegal at the time, but “due to unforeseen circumstances”, the advanced paramedic (who would regularly be utilised nationwide as a sole responder) was working alone from 5pm- 8pm.

The advanced paramedic was sent to the scene and the HSE said although an ambulance and gardaí were en route, “the clinical need of the patient took precedence and the advanced paramedic made a clinical decision to travel to hospital in the back of a car driven by the mother of the patient”.

The hospital was a five minute drive from the scene and the clinical decision was made to attend the hospital immediately rather than await the arrival of the second ambulance.

Deputy Doherty said that he believed “this is the effects of budget cuts and austerity on our public services”, and that the circumstances of this case “could have been tragic”. He is now calling on the HSE to put stringent guidelines in place to ensure such an incident never occurs again.

Read: HSE to modernise North Cork’s ambulance service>

Read next:

Comments (62 Comments)

• There’s two ways of looking at this..

1. Staff shortages need to be addressed immediately! If a paramedic is ill or on leave the shift needs to be covered whether it be overtime or whatever.. I’ve come into work many times to find out I’m a solo responder because a shift wasn’t covered. If a region is down even 1 ambulance, it puts severe pressure on the rest of the region.

2. People need to stop using ambulances as free lifts and wasting our time. You will NOT get seen faster if you come in by ambulance for your Ingrown toenail… You will find yourself in the waiting room. Often ambulances are called out for “non-emergency” calls and next thing a real emergency comes in and there’s no ambulance available.

• If the triage system operated properly when a 999 is called , timewasters would be weeded out. But because that system is not great everyone gets picked up regardless. There should be a stiff fine for calling an ambulance inappropriately.

• I think it’s only fair to point out that in this situation it would appear that there was no inappropriate use of the ambulance service. (unless I’m missing something?)

Of course other calls which should not be placed will affect the availability it still highlights that there was not enough available service, under current practices.

I definitely think a fine system may be appropriate but then could lives be lost? I’d say most people have heard stories of people ignoring chest pain already – a fine might make people more reluctant to call for help.

• I think the point was that other ambulances may have been on less important call thereby depriving the person whose situation was genuinely urgent

• I’m not sure what the problem is here. He was an advance paramedic. They work alone and are more mobile so they can be on the scene fast. He made the decision to get the child to the hospital rather than wait for the ambulance to take her. If anything this incident shows the benefit of having advance paramedics. It would likely have taken longer for an ambulance to get there than it did for the mother to drive even if there had been one waiting at the hospital ready to go.

• No doubt the paramedic did the right thing under less than optimal conditions, but had this child been critically ill, the difference of being transported in a car and not an ambulance could have had grave consequences. His ability to maintain her airway and perform effective CPR or deliver a shock in the event she arrested, or administer iv drugs would have been grossly impaired. And even if the situation was not quite as serious as that, his ability to assess, monitor and treat her in the confines of a car in the dark with minimum equipment is impaired to a point of drastically affecting the outcome. There is no situation under which this should be acceptable.

• Yes advanced paramedics do work alone but when an advanced paramedic is call to an incident their is always an ambulance on the way. In this case an the advanced paramedic was working alone in a fully equipped and by driving the child I the family car he was leaving vital equipment in the ambulance and what If the girl took a turn for the worst and he was unable to treat her.

• @sean…and what about families that have no cars, or parents who cannot drive…dial a cab?

• I don’t think the article stats that he was an advance paramedic

• Gerard 26/11/12 #

Apart from the line that says “the advanced paramedic was sent to the scene” ya mean??

• Sean I have to agree, my daughter was knocked off her bike outside my house when she was eight (now 23), and I saw it happen, never ever thought of calling an ambulance despite living in Dublin well served by ambulances at that time, instinct kicked in!

• @Goldie locks. Yes!

• @brian – it would have taken you less effort to hit CTRL & F and type “advanced” than it would to have made that comment.

• Perhaps the paramedic knew that such equipment as found in an ambulance was not going to be necessary in this case or that the risk of waiting for the ambulance to arrive was greater than the risk of a five minute drive. These paramedics are highly trained and I would need to here his/her version of events.

• It is a sad but factual state of affairs that if the money is not there , the service cannot be provided.Shocking.

• Fine Gael should be saying that to the bondholders. This state would be €60 billion better off if it wasn’t for Kenny’s willingness to continue spending money on a bottomless pit. Ireland will get no break on her crippling €30 billion promissory note. This promissory note represents bonds worth less than 30% of their face value. The Fine Gael government continues to allow the ECB to “call the shots”.

The time has come for an early election – the time has come for Labor to withdraw from coalition with Fine Gael.

• Ah but its there to pay off bondholders. Nero and the bond holders fiddling away (in more ways than one!) while we are all burned.

• Rory, said like a true Fine Gaeler. This patient was lucky they lived 5 minutes from the hospital. Had she lived further and had a frantic parent driving to the hospital it could have resulted in a terrible accident. Fact is this government has to decide who comes first, their people or Bondholders.

We can’t comment on vital cutbacks to Health Care without addressing the fact that our government are prepared to see us suffer so they won’t lose face with their EU gods. Enda might have to give his European if the Year award back.

Please remember the sociopathic tendencies of this government next time you are in a Polling Station.

• They have decided. You come bottom, bondholders top.

• What a load of nonsense. This reminds me of the Council house where the father and two sons were plumbers and when a tap was leaking they called the Council. The ambulance was en route in this story and rather than wait the mother drove the child and paramedic the FIVE MINUTES DRIVE to the hospital.
      Don’t we love to make a drama out of anything that might make Sinn Fein look respectable at the next election.
      Let’s all grow up soon,

• Just to put it into perspective; an AP is trained to within an inch of his life, he is comparable to an intern (junior doctor), in many cases in fact, they know more than the intern. If the hospital was 5 mins away this girl must have been in need of immediate attention as there are not many emergencies that require hospital attention within 5mins.
      There are, as NP below says, two issues. Shift cover, and appropriate use of the service. In terms of shift cover, it is vital that staff are on standby, and can attend a scene if necessary. In terms of appropriate use of the service, don’t ring looking for a lift to A&E, when you get there the triage nurse will assess the urgency with which you need care, be warned if you inappropriately use the service you will be made three times as long as you might have been had you appeared in a taxi. I should know, I’ve triaged patients, and I’ve made them wait.
      As an aside, the young girl has made a full recovery and is doing well (according to other reports).

• Garry Fitzgerald, you are becoming a bit of a bore with your manic obsession with Sinn Fein, you’re morphing into Cruise O’Brien. You need to relax, stop hanging around your computer waiting for any mention of that party so you can leap into action. Go to the movies, take up cooking or play a round of golf.

• @ James Connolly, I had an accident in work and got brought by Ambulance to the A&E because that is procedure. Are you trying to tell me that I waited 9hrs after Triage because it was to teach me a lesson for the use of an Ambulance in a non-life threatening situation? When I had no say in it

• Aaron, I don’t know, the triage would’ve gotten a handover from paramedics, so would have known of your circumstances!
      We got a handover a while ago for a woman who rang 999 for the ambulance to take her to her outpatient appointment because she didn’t want to get a taxi. She rang 999 saying she had some mysterious symptoms, paramedics turned up, she was standing at her gate, she informed the crew of her intentions, they had no choice but to bring her in. I got the handover, was told of this, the woman was about to abscond, I rang the outpatients and told them she wouldn’t be attending due to the fact that she was going to be under our care.
      I don’t think the patient, or the OPD were impressed. But then neither was I, or the paramedic crew.

• Rory the €18 billion that the current government paid over to bond holders this year would covered paramedic services for a good few years. That is why there is no money to provide this service and many other services and it is the only reason.

• Garry, what in the name of god are you talking about. You’re metaphorical leaking tap cannot be compared to a distraught parent who’s child has collapsed and was obviously in absolute need of medical attention. Get a grip man, would you be so calm if your daughter lay dying in front of you. The distance to the hospital is irrelevant. She cold have lived 40 mins from the hospital,only one responder would still have turned up. Of course I expect your smart response which will leave me in no doubt as to your massive intellect and vast wisdom.

• @James, I applaud your creative solution to that specific situation. Well done sir…

• This is what happens when public service staff cuts are shouted for. Beware of what you wish for!

• There is no excuse for cutting back on frontline services like medical or HSE services ! How can one paramedic be expected to cover a entire county ? And what were the unforeseen circumstances? A lot of unanswered questions !!!!

• Ah but lads, sher people outside of Reillys constituency don’t need primary care centres or even a functioning health / emergency service! Sher he’d do it all again! That child should have had the sense to be born in Swords or Balbriggan!

• @ James Connelly I totally agree, the service is misused to an insane degree to the point where in the UK they run ad campaigns outlining exactly what a&e is for.
    also in the field some times you need to improvise, it may not be the best solution but if it helps the patient recover then it should be employed. the term is if it is stupid but it works then it isn’t stupid. not unknown for pieces of kit to have multiple uses beyond what it was originally imagined for.
    yes its terrible there was no ambulance, but the Ap should be lauded for his actions and quick thinking. it made the difference, and now there’s a child recovering and not national headlines of the Ap and the ambulance service that let a girl die because of lack of resources.

• Red Ed 26/11/12 #

We may get used to it. As long as the debts of the banks and the bankers pensions are paid why would the government care about the health and welfare of the people.

• We are being taxed to a crippling point to bail out the big banks and there’s no money for ambulances. How sad

• @ Stanley and the HSE with Reilly’s knowledge they are paying Private Ambulance companies just to keep Roscommon A+E closed and all because Reilly and the HSE will not admit their lies in closing Roscommon A+E

• What a great country we live in.

• What’s needed in that part of the country is an air ambulance, the roads are bad the hospital sub standard, 40 mins and your in Dublin by air

• I’d say a helicopter might be a bit much for a 5 minute drive though. I’m from Letterkenny and the roads around it aren’t any worse than many other parts of the country. If you use that as justification for an air ambulance there’d be about 10 of them in the country.

• I volunteer with irish premature babies and at the moment our key goal is to implement a neonatal ambulance. we currently have a service which runs from 9-5 so if you live outside of Dublin and deliver a baby at 25 weeks outside of these hrs then you have to wait to get the baby moved to a specialist unit . Even though the baby may seem ok its imperative that they receive specialist treatment within the 1st 6hrs to ensure they don’t develop cerebral palsy etc . the money is there for the service but the ban on hiring staff means the manpower isn’t there . do they not realise that these kids who develop disabilities are costing the state more in the long run than implementing the proper care from the start . considering I had my baby at 34 weeks and they were considering moving me as they didn’t have the facilities imagine someone with an even mote prem baby .. its a joke !!!

• When my niece first started to get ill my sister would often have put her daughter into car to meet the ambulance!! On one occasion she had her older brother had to carry his little sister (he is only 11) as the doctor couldn’t make a house call! She is extremely lucky baby she did tend to get sick in daytime hours where they generally was a GP to hand! I shudder to think what would have happened if it was late at night.

While visiting home one night I became ill! GP couldn’t come visit and with no ambulance in the area my sister had no car I was forced to wait for half an hour for my mother to collect me they managed to get me into the back into my own car while they preceded to drive me another 20 miles to seek medical attention. It was an extremely daunting for me not to mentioned the upset it caused my poor mammy & brother who drove me to get the medical attention I needed (I had never experienced such pain I do remember screaming!). By the time I made it to the GP I had to be treated in the back of the car and luckily for me there an ambulance had been made available!! though to be fair they did an excellent job of taking care of me thereafter but I still have memories that bloody car journey!

• Nothing surprises me anymore.

• So the €100 euro not paid is responsible for this fiasco … Nothing about the €64,000,000,000, given to unsecured bond holders and dead banks… I envy your simplicity.
    Thing is , the council should have personnel and staff to look after all eventualities. Shame on the government for withholding funds to the council for necessary services.
    I wish the Girl a speedy recovery.

• What would happen to the paramedic if that child died? Would it be the hse fault again?

• He was an advance paramedic there’s a big difference between AP’s and paramedics, the child was in safe hands and the child clearly needed emergency attention so she got the best care and the right decision was made at the time and it could have made the situation a whole lot worse for the child if not transported straight away. And the advance paramedics more than likely always travels alone anyway so it wasnt out of the ordinary .

• The child did not receive the best care the advanced paramedic could only take so much equipment with him. And it is not the normal thing for an AP to have a mother drive him and her sick child to hospital. The AP should have never been on the ambulance by himself

• Sorry annemarie but I think your wrong… Advanced paramedic or not, no one should have to transport a patient in a car with a family member driving. At the end of the day the Hse is running the ambulance service on a shoe string. Frontline shifts aren’t being covered because of budget cuts…

• why??? would that have got them an extra paramedic??

• Xadovan, what a silly and utterly stupid comment. James Reilly should resign. Simple as.

• That was for Xadovans comment btw

• services are being stretched for many reasons. among them, people who can’t wait to go to theor GP tomorrow morning for minor illnesses. And GPs who send in ridiculous cases which are obviously not acute warranting ambulance transfers.

Did you know ambulances are also used for transfering patients from hospital to hospital, and nursing homes. Even for discharged patients, this happens.

give the paramedic a break, he had to make the best of what he had. 5 minute drive to hospital and waiting 5 or more minutes for the ambulance. It certainly isn’t is his fault if no one else was on duty with him.

• What an colossal Idiot!

• @James Connolly…”Just to put it into perspective; an AP is trained to within an inch of his life, he is comparable to an intern (junior doctor), in many cases in fact, they know more than the intern.” Really?! what ‘advanced’ skills does the HSE Advanced Paramedic practice?

Pre Hospital Care is now recognised as an area of specialist practice, in this instance the attending paramedic made a decision to convey by private transport, I feel confident the decision was made following appropriate assessment of the young patient and the subsequent clinical findings. If clinical findings determined the unacceptable wait for the ambulance may have had negative affect on the childs health, then the correct decision was made..as long as all persons could be transported safely and the attending clinician could intervene as may have been required. Attempts at airway managemet, admin of IV medications, CPR or defib’ on the back seat of a family car may not be the most appropriate location, in which case to recognise, stabilise and transport by ambulance from scene may be more appropraite.

• Hi Gerard, I absolutely agree with you! No argument!
      :)

• Sometimes a call has to be made in these situations. And sometimes the safest place for a patient , even an unstable one , is an A and E. transfer to A and E so promptly probably saved this child’s life. Waiting for a fully equipped ambulance may have been a delay too long. The paramedic was the senior clinician at the scene. It is his call what to do. He had to decide to stay or go. Respect to him for making it.

• Celtic Lady he arrived in a fully equipped ambulance the problem was there was no one with him to drive the bloody thing while he worked on the child. I doubt anyone disagrees with his or hers decision to transport the child in the mothers car given those circumstances. The issue is why was he on his own, or what if the mother could not drive or had no car? What would have happened then…

• The bottom line is that best practice is to turn up, assess, react using the resources available.

A second paramedic should have been one of those resources.

Because there was no second paramedic, a choice had to be made. It appears the right choice was made. The fact that we’re not talking about someone dying now does not mean that the choice was the best of a bad pair of choices.

Well done to the AP.

• Its a sad day when our politicians are more concerned about posen and their image to other nations than truly carein bout its peeps. we have to drive in disgrace the robber barons outa power. Fek votein out I say tar n feather the lyin theiven bastards!!!!

• Why did ur woman call the ambulance when the hospital was only 5 mins away and her daughter was that gravely ill she needed emergency attention!?

• Sometimes panic sets in. My son broke his arm falling off a merry go round,and as I had no transport, I had to call an ambulance. The paramedic said I did the right thing because if I tried gettin a lift or a cab his bone would have come through his arm. They have the proper equipment to deal with every situation that I don’t have at home or in my neighbours car!

Add New Comment