TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 18 °C Wednesday 19 June, 2013

Motorcyclist dies after colliding with car in Dublin

The man, in his late 20s, hit a car at Station Road in Palmerstown. A passenger on the bike was also hospitalised.

Station Road in Palmerstown, where this evening's fatal collision occurred.
Image: Google Maps

A MOTORCYCLIST in his late 20s has been killed, and another man hospitalised, after the motorcycle they were travelling on collided with a car in west Dublin this evening.

The incident happened at Station Road, Palmerstown, near the junction with the Palmerstown Woods estate, at around 8:15pm this evening.

The driver of the motorcycle was taken by ambulance to Tallaght Hospital where he was pronounced dead.

The road has been closed pending a full forensic examination, and traffic diversions are in place.

Anyone who may have witnessed the incident is asked to contact Ronanstown Garda Station at (01) 6667700 or the Garda Confidential line at 1800 666 111.

• Share on Facebook
  • Email this article
  •  

Read next:

Comments (31 Comments)

• Disappointing to note that most people commenting on this already appear to have found the motorist guilty without knowing the facts, I have only ever been involved in 2 incidents with cyclists/motorcyclists, on both occasions they were tailgating me & drove into the rear of my vehicle, but admitting straight away that they were in the wrong. Therefore I feel we should know the facts prior to becoming the motorists judge, jury & executioner.

• well said Avon, biker myself but on this occasion i would wait until the facts come out before jumping to conclusions. There are plenty of flutes on bikes driving like maniacs as there are car drivers.

• Very sad for some poor family to night my thoughts and prayers are with them RIP

• A motorcyclist I take it Katherine?
    Vast majority of Irish motorists are competent, there are always going to be a few idiots. Cyclists and motor cyclists also have a their fair share who lack basic knowledge of the rules of the road.
    Condolences to the family of the deceased, and a speedy recovery to the injured.

• RIP

• My sad condolences to this young Man’s family.. R.I.P.

• Kim 26/07/12 #

RIP

• Look twice, save a life just look out for motorcyclists we are people too.
    R.I.P

• As a cyclist, pedestrian, jogger, motorcyclist and motorist, I am continuously shocked at the attitude toward motorcyclists. Every other road user seems blind to bikers. No idea what the story is with this particular case, and my thoughts and prayers are with all involved, but in general, motorcyclists seem invisible to other road users.

• R.I.P

• rip

• From living in the area I know alot of the young chaps do fly around on the scramblers and quads, even worse with no helmets or protective clothing, I wonder was one of those who sadly this was? They do be wreckless driving around, up and down the main road, in out and infront of cars, very dangerous stuff and i live so close to the garda station and clearly they do nothing, the bikes are quiet noisy and not that hard to follow or get a rough location, more action needs to be taken towards these. Would anybody know exactly was it a genuine motorcyclist or a cowboy on a dirt bike?

• Another death on our roads, so sad so young. Deepest condolences to the family’s. I think high visibility gear should be compulsory to help motorists to see motorcyclists and cyclists.

• No amount of Hi-viz dayglo mullarkey is going to make you visible to drivers on the phone, doing make up…………….doing everything except concentrating on controlling the ton of moving steel.
      I`ve seen folks pulling out in front of ambulances with their blue flashers on.
      I took truck lessons, 26 foot long, bright blue with LEARNER written all over it, still had idiots pull out in front of me

• Firstly RIP .
    I don’t agree with hi vis all modern motorcycles have their lights on permanently And you won’t be able to see the hi vis on a bike behind faring the handle bars and the light, the light is permanently on for a reason.
    As a biker it’s scary what you see on the road sometimes.however good road position, proper speed for the road driven and a massive amount of awareness helps. I will say a lot of car drivers are aware of bike’s, however there are a nice few who are barely aware of other cars never mind bikes.

• Ray,

Surely any additional equipment that would help save a life or serious injury is worth it. I know the word compulsory isn’t popular but I would like to see guys like you stay safe.

• I agree with protective equipment not hi vis though.
      it should be illegal to ride a motorcycle with out the adequate protective gear ie leathers or gore tex with armour in the relevant place along with proper armoured gloves, boots and back protector. rider cant ride around with a helmet and hi vis and be grand it’s the gear that saves lives.
      I’ve payed alot for my leathers and there personnel to me and some bikers it line fancy allots for your car, why would I want to cover it with a hi vis that offers no protection bar making every biker on the road look like a Garda.
      as I said the bike has a light for a reason. I worn hi vis on group rides and it still doesn’t stop some drivers not seeing you. At the end of the day no matter weather it’s the biker or the other vehicle driver is in the wrong the biker will always come off worst and that’s we’re his or her kit will either save them or prevent any injury. Take it from me I had a car pull out in front of me I hit the tar with my gear on, the driver drove off, left me there thanks to my leathers no injuries.

• R.I.P.

• Prepare for the unexpected but the unexpected doesn’t always prepare for you! RIP

• RIP

• Rip dean

• RIP, my thoughts and prayers are with the family of that young person tonight.

• I had an accident 2 months ago with my bike. I was on the road and the driver drove in left side. I flew off from the bike and I broke my left shoulder blade. AND – I did wear high quality clothes where I spent 700 Euro for it.
    I thanks for it. I doesn’t want to know what would be when I wouldn’t have it.

The driver by himself said that he looked at first to the right (I was not coming yet), then he looked to the left. No car coming and then he moved on to turn right. So he didn’t rechecked to the right.

Everybody make mistakes. But for us as motorcyclists the result can be fatal.

So we doesn’t know what happened there. Bad that he died. Nobody wish to have accidents.

• So sorry to read of the death of the motorcyclist, and living so close to me, arsehole car drivers, these Irish “so called” motorists haven’t a clue about good driving. Neither might I add do the motor schools.

• Paul I have to disagree that the vast majority of irish motorists are competent! I waited years for motorists to improve here before I took to the road on a motorbike, only to come to the conclusion,the roads are going to become too crowded and my opportunity to survive will be lost, so I took to the road on my motorbike,having first exercised, you need to be fit if you wish to ride a motorcycle so I could jump off at the first sign of an effing eejit car/van driver,didn’t have to wait too long, so I would advise all motorcyclists to exercise, keep supple to stay alive. Condolences to this chap’s family,but other motorbikers stay fit. Watch, exercise, jump.

• if that is how u feel Catherine then obviously you have no regard for your own safety if you would drive a bike on a road that is used by motorists not able to drive, and if that is the case then itbis most likely that you are the one person who would be reckless on the road, if you have no regard for your own safety how could you have regard for anyone else’s safety. I drive for a living, and you are right to a degree when you speak of motorists and how poor they are, I drive 1000 miles a week and see alot of stuff, but to categorize all motorists the same way is just simply wrong. most of the poor and reckless driving is by bikers, lone bikers, not the bikers in groups, they seem to have respect for human life, but the lone biker is the one who weaves in and out of slow moving traffic, who speeds excessively and who will over-take on bends, and I do see all of those actions everyday of the week, so don’t blame motorists without first knowing the facts.

• I’m a motorcyclist and a fat b^st^rd. I guess I’m screwed so..!!

• If your first thought is to jump off the bike , where does it go? Who might it hit?

Add New Comment