This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
OK
Dublin: 15 °C Wednesday 23 May, 2018
Advertisement

Netflix realises you don't want to share everything you watch on Facebook

Connecting your Netflix account to Facebook will no longer result in shows being posted or shared on your friends’ news feeds.

Image: Edward Smith/EMPICS Entertainment

NETFLIX HAS UPDATED its service, adding a privacy feature which allows users to control what they share with friends on Facebook.

Any time you finish watching a show or movie, the site will prompt you to recommend them to one or more Facebook friends privately. This only happens when you finish viewing a show or movie.

If you connect to Facebook, it will not post or share any content on the news feed. Previously, connecting the two would result in all movies and shows being shared with those friends who are connected to both services.

If one of your friends uses Netflix, but hasn’t connected their Facebook account to it, the recommendation is sent as a private message on Facebook Messenger. Otherwise, it will appear the next time they log in to Netflix.

The feature is now available on its site, iPad, iPhone, PS3, Xbox, set-top boxes and smart TVs. The company says that other platforms will be added over the next few months.

The company is also testing out a private mode which would allow users to hide a show or movie from their history and recommendations.

Source: Netflix/YouTube

Read: EU continues to quiz rivals over Facebook’s WhatsApp deal >

Read: Google places its bets on India as it prepares Android One launch >

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article
  •  

About the author:

Quinton O'Reilly

Read next:

COMMENTS (30)