You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

News Fix

Here's What Happened Today: Sunday

Brexit, an arson attack and Mick McCarthy had everyone talking today.

NEED TO CATCH up? TheJournal.ie brings you a round-up of today’s news.

IRELAND

LR FAREWELL TO THE HAUNTINGS SOLDIER II2A7215 The Hauntings Soldier towers over hundreds of people who turned up this afternoon to bid farewell to the First World War sculpture in St Stephens Green, Dublin. Eamonn Farrell / RollingNews.ie Eamonn Farrell / RollingNews.ie / RollingNews.ie

WORLD

may British Prime Minister Theresa May addresses a press conference at the end of a special Brexit summit in Brussels, Belgium today. Ye Pingfan / Xinhua News Agency/PA Images Ye Pingfan / Xinhua News Agency/PA Images / Xinhua News Agency/PA Images

#EU: The leaders of 27 EU member states, including Taoiseach Leo Varadkar, endorsed the Brexit Withdrawal Agreement.

#CRIMEA: Ukraine said Russia opened fire on its navy ships, injuring at least one serviceman.

#SYRIA: Russia launched airstrikes on the Syrian rebels it accused of carrying out a chlorine attack.

#US: President Donald Trump congratulated himself for falling oil prices, while hitting out at Mexico and France. 

PARTING SHOT

TheJournal.ie / YouTube

Solidarity–People Before Profit TD Ruth Coppinger told TheJournal.ie why she believes her ‘thong stunt‘ in the Dáil can kickstart a movement around sexism and consent.

Comments are closed due to ongoing legal proceedings in one or more of the above cases.