TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 11 °C Thursday 20 June, 2013

No charges for Texas father who killed man caught abusing his daughter

Man was pronounced dead at the scene.

From left: DA Heather McMinn speaks at a news conference with Sheriff Micah Harmon and the attorney for the father.
Image: AP Photo/Ramit Masti/PA

THE TEXAS FATHER who killed a man he caught molesting his daughter will not be charged, a grand jury has decided.

The five-year-old girl was inside the family home during a social gathering at their ranch. Upon hearing the girl’s cries, her father discovered an acquaintance was molesting her and struck him repeatedly on the head and neck.

The father, 23, then called emergency services for assistance in saving the man’s life. A recording released by the Lavaca County district attorney and sheriff shows his frantic call to the emergency dispatcher as he shouted “he’s going to die!” and begged for an ambulance to be sent to the ranch.

The man was pronounced dead at the scene and the child was taken for medical examination.

The district attorney says that forensic evidence and witness statements corroborate the father’s account of the incident.

A grand jury has declined to indict the father on any charges arising from the incident, and his identity has not been released in order to protect the child.

- Additional reporting by the AP

Earlier: Father kills man he caught trying to sexually abuse his daughter >

• Share on Facebook
  • Email this article
  •  

Read next:

Comments (36 Comments)

• Barry 20/06/12 #

I always wounder what would happen in a case in Ireland if one of the victims of clerical abuse killed the priest that abused them.

I believe that clearly the public would back the victim of the abuse but what would happen in courts?, they without a doubt would have to take into account the massive physiological affects the victim had to deal with due to the abuse, but what would the outcome be.

• Interesting question, but from the courts view I would imagine they would take a different view from the victim killing the abuser during the assault to a premeditated attack some time later. All I can say is that I know what I would do if I came into a room and found someone abusing my seven year old daughter.

• Probably jail the abused and have the priest shipped off somewhere where they didn’t know about him

• you are talking about a premeditated murder which differs from the case above

• Paul 20/06/12 #

Why would anyone give a red thumb to this post. It’s a question. Would it be better in your unhappy world if no one asked questions?

• AlMar 20/06/12 #

Barry – why did you single out clerical abuse in your hypothetical scenario, especially since the vast majority of sexual abusers are not clerics?

As for the actual story, fair play to the father and fair play to the authorities in Dallas. They did the right thing. A father should protect his child with whatever force is necessary.

• Barry 20/06/12 #

AlMar, I merely mentioned clerical abuse as its a high profile issue and people are very aware of, also unlike other sexual abusers I’d imagine most people could name a few priests that abused people.

Yes my example is different to this story but it is at the same time related and it would be a interesting case, it may not be as cut and dry as people think I’m guessing…

• @ Depends. The abused could and probably is badly destroyed in their mind and body for many years. Then some day they see their abuser. Kills them. I wouldn’t call that premeditated. I’d call it sad, but justice.

Some individuals here in Ireland have claimed insanity when stabbing someone or shooting them. Gets jail maybe for a couple of years, then let out on good behavior. “I was insane …. but I’m ok now”!

• Fagan's 20/06/12 #

I have heard of a fellow that got the tar beaten out of him, for reporting it to the Guards in the 80′s. They took him off in the car, up the mountains and beat him to a pulp and let him walk about 10 miles home in bloody and torn clothes. As you can imagine his life fell apart after that, with drinking, marriage break up. Now in England.

• Aimar , you are like the one man defender of the Church and the clerics . Although only a small percentage of the percentage of priests were CAUGHT abusing children , ten times that many knew about it and felt the need to stand by and do nothing .

Its fair to say that majority of abuse was in the home but that still does not excuse your constant protection of the clerical animals involved and Gods Rottweiler and all the other top brass in sin city ( the Vatican ) . The hypothetical situation given by the post was fair as we are very mindful of clerical abuse in this country and lets not let the memory go away and remind the organisation on a daily basis , in case they try to forget .

In relation to the story i am on the fence . I am a father and if it was my daughter i would do exactly the same although his death would be more painful but i think i would expect to face a jury of peers . I think the law must still be enforced although i would expect and jury or judge would allow you to walk free due to mitigating circumstances.

The fear when we take emotion into account is that we allow civil disobedience . If a guy tries to rob my wallet at the ATM today do i have the right to kill him and have the ” ah sure he deserved it ” attitude floating around by the judicial . I have mixed feelings on the case really . I don’t believe for one minute he should spend a minute in a cell but i do think due process must take place .

• love Texas. in Dallas, they gave the freedom of the city to a guy who after hearing his home was going to be robbed, lay in wait for the intruders and shot three of them dead with a m16 assault rifle. could do with that here for those who pray on the elderly.

• And rightly so. Shouldn’t have even made it to court. The abuser got what he deserved in my opinion.

• A Grand Jury isn’t exactly the same as court, but is similar in that it looks at the facts of the case and decides whether an offence has been committed.

Do you really think it shouldn’t have been considered by the Grand Jury? Then who decides that the father shouldn’t be charged? If that was the case then anyone could just kill another person and claim they were defending their daughter.
      It is essential to establish the truth before making such an important decision. That is what has been done here.

• Glad to see this man wasnt charged, anyone can see that he was acting in defence,as a mother i would have done the same. Although it was an easy way out for the abuser in my opinion.

• At least the court had a bit of cop on not to press charges. I think most fathers would do the same in his situation. I know I certainly would.

• Good to see basic human decency and common sense prevailing. It doesn’t happen often enough!

• Nothing like a good news story first thing in the morning, especially one bourne from such a deplorable act as molesting a child.

• paul 20/06/12 #

That father would be locked up in this country.

• Fair play. A good father who got protective. His child will always know how loved she is and hopefully this will be the memory of that day she brings with her. Too many parents in Ireland knew about abuse at home and told their children to ignore it or took their advice from the local priest who told the parent to ignore it. There was no suggestion or notion to report the abuser ( usually a family member ) to the Gardai

• Good !

• Dont mess with Texas…

• Marcais 20/06/12 #

Abusing a FIVE year old girl! Someone who does something like this must be already dead. Anyone hearing the poor child crying, even if not related, would have done the same as her father. You could not possibly control yourself.

• I would have done the same thing as that man and there is no cure for these sick types i think instead of wasting time and money by imprisioning these types they should be put down preferably needle straight in the head they are pure evil

• mrnobody 20/06/12 #

A big W for society and common sense

• Is that Boss Hogg?n

• If the man was abusing a child he deserved it.
    However what evidence is there that the victim did anything to the girl? As far as I can see it is the word of the father alone. A child’s testimony in this case cannot be trustworthy surely.

I hope that justice was served in this case but it is worrying that this precedent is set… get you enemy into the same room as your child. Kill him. Say you caught him abusing your child.

• Jacob 21/06/12 #

That man certainly deserved punishment,(if the allegations are true) however… This father went too far and instead of calling the police after interrupting the abuse exposed the child to an act of rage and murder which will scar her even further for life.

Add New Comment