TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 17 °C Wednesday 19 June, 2013

Norris: Who’s supporting him now?

Senator David Norris and his remaining campaigners say his bid for the Presidency continues – but many of those who were to nominate him are staying quiet this evening.

David Norris with some of the supporters who said they would nominate him for the presidential race on 21 July.
Image: Sasko Lazarov/Photocall Ireland

SENATOR David Norris has said he is determined to continue his campaign to be nominated for the Presidential election.

However, this weekend’s mass exodus of many key members of his campaign staff and revelations that he sought clemency for his former partner after Ezra Nawi Yizhak was convicted of statutory rape have left his bid on shaky ground.

This evening, only five of the 15 Oireachtas members who had pledged their support for Norris’s presidential bid have confirmed they are still on board. These are:

• Stephen Donnelly, independent TD
  • John Crown, independent senator – he told RTE News that he wanted the Irish people to be given the choice on whether Norris should be president. On Twitter, he said that “cutting and running” when he had always said it should be up to the people to decide “would be dishonest”.
  • Maureen O’Sullivan, independent TD
  • Mick Wallace, independent TD
  • Sean D Barrett, independent senator

These other nine (Norris, as a senator, can also nominate himself) have either not yet decided or have not been contactable on the issue of their support for the Norris presidential bid:

• Fiach MacConghail, independent senator
  • Katherine Zappone, independent senator
  • Finian McGrath, independent TD
  • Catherine Murphy, independent TD
  • Luke ‘Ming’ Flanagan, independent TD
  • Mary Ann O’Brien, independent senator
  • Marie Louise O’Donnell, independent senator
  • Thomas Pringle, independent TD
  • John Halligan, independent TD

• Share on Facebook
  • Email this article
  •  

Read next:

Comments (73 Comments)

• I’m speaking of someone who used to be a fan of Dorris for his work for gay rights, among other things, before the infamous interview where he spoke of pederasty with almost dewy eyed romanticism came back to haunt him. I had thought, prior to that, based on what he’d done for equality in a very different Ireland, that he’d have made a fine president.

My tongue in cheek comment above will no doubt lead to accusations of homophobia among the clamouring hordes rushing to vote him in to show their progressive attitudes and how open minded they are (despite the fact they condemn anyone who raises so much as a questioning eyebrow as right wing, homophobic, and, shock horror, Catholic-the worst of all slurs in post Ryan report Ireland!)

I for one couldn’t give a monkeys if he likes transvestite hookers marching up and down his back in heels while playing the Horst-Wessel-Lied on a kazoo, once he displays the discretion expected of anyone in public life, and once such activities are consensual and legal. In fact, given the path it led him down (the decriminalisation of homosexuality, and pursuit of civil rights), his sexual preference was, to me, an asset.

Until that is, not through any right wing conspiracy (some armchair, yet vocal loons even tried to blame the Daily Mail!), but through my own research, I learned quite a bit more about him. I don’t propose to rehash the Magill interview here, or the infamous letters to Israel, which in themselves contain multiple reasons why he is unsuitable for even a Seanad seat, in my view, but one other fly in the ointment, and which adds to what even the most radical armchair liberal must see as a pattern, is his support of that deviant O’ Searcaigh and his abuse of his Seanad position to promote said individual’s defence, and denigrate the makers of the Fairytale of Kathmandu documentary.

If it were a priest he wrote in defence of, or a hetero man pushing on for forty, who had been convicted of the statutory rape of a fifteen year old girl, the same crowd would have the gallows built already.

• Speaking *as*, apologies.

• #1. Who is Dorris?

#2. Your comments about the documentary appear to be unrepresentative.

First, here is a link an overview setting out the dramatis personae on all sides (including Eoghan Harris as a supporter of Nirris later position as I understand the piece, not one who’d spring to mind when support for alleged pederasts is mentioned)

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fairytale_of_Kathmandu

Senator David Norris defended Ó Searcaigh in Seanad Éireann: “An attempt has been made to create such a firestorm of hostile publicity that justice may never retrospectively be done.”[19]

Second, the ‘full monte’ so to speak -

http://www.senatordavidnorris.ie/blogger/2008/03/order-of-business-11th-march-2008.html

Of which the relevant excerpts appear to be as follows -

“I refer to the film, “Fairytale of Kathmandu”, which purports to document the exploitation of young men in Nepal by the Donegal poet Cathal Ó Searcaigh. Having seen this work, I have grave concerns about the motives and methods employed. It is proposed to transmit the film on RTE tonight. As public money has been spent on the film, we are entitled to know the truth wherever it leads. Therefore, I call for its exhibition to be postponed until a full investigation by those qualified in the analysis of film has established the truth or falsehood of the techniques used in its production and the conclusions reached in it. The correct forum for such an investigation is the Joint Committee on Communications, Energy and Natural Resources.”

“While it has been denied, it is clear that systematic creative editing has taken place. For example, the most disturbing image in the film is a sequence showing Mr. Ó Searcaigh lovingly straightening the tie of what appears to be a 14 or 15 year old schoolboy with a satchel on his back. While Narang is indeed boyish looking, he is a 20 year old physics student in a third level college. His words need to be heard. He was over the age of 18 when the film was made. In an interview voluntarily given, he alleges he was told he had been abandoned by Cathal Ó Searcaigh. He was naturally angry. He claims to have been pressurised into giving the answers the film-makers wanted. He has since said: “They make me say things, they twist their questions and make me say Cathal was not a good man”. Is Narang’s voice to be smothered?”

“I call for this film to be referred to the Joint Committee on Communications, Energy and Natural Resources so that the truth can be established with the assistance of experts.”

———————————–

Only an incredibly stupid right wing religious homophobe would declare there was anything wrong in preventing such a defamation taking place on television in Ireland.
      To allow such a defamation to occur could have prevented any court case taking place in this jurisdiction as it would have unfairly biased the jury.

If people genuinely want to bring pederasts to trial, they need to understand the pitfalls of the airwaves.
      The very exposition they seek may taint a latter meaningful legal action, however well founded in fact.

Norris, in preventing the screening of what sounds like a biased documentary, actually paved the way for a legal action should it go forward.
      People repeating others’ comments should do their research and understand the legal implications of what they are alleging.

——————————————-

BTW, a word about David Norris actual work.

From the same day as the above comments, the Seanad Order of Business
      http://www.senatordavidnorris.ie/blogger/2008/03/order-of-business-11th-march-2008.html

15. ‘‘In the light of the European Parliament Report on Extraordinary Rendition which
      calls on the Irish Government to establish a Committee of Inquiry into the role played
      by Shannon Airport in this illegal process, that Seanad E´ ireann immediately
      recommence moves initiated in 2006 to establish a Special Committee to look into
      this matter and that in the light of further disclosures about ‘CIA Rendition Flights’
      to torture destinations and the involvement in these practises as victims of women
      and children, condemns such activities in the most unequivocal manner; and calls for
      the establishment of an International War Crimes Tribunal to determine the guilt or
      innocence of the most senior US and British personnel.’’
      —Senators David Norris, Ivana Bacik, Joe O’Toole.
      [13 September, 2007]

His consistent and insistent line on human rights is the main reason why I have supported and will continue to support David Norris for president.

• If this was a bishop condoning /defending a priest convicted of rape how much support would he get….also what kind of person thinks another person convicted of rape is a great guy?????

• As an Irish citizen I feel very let down by D.N. I had hoped he could be president. But the fact of the matter he used his government title to sign a character letter was in one way letting the Courts know that this pedophile friend had friends in the Irish Government. Which let’s not be foolish, was an abuse of power and tarnishing the Irish government’s view of pedophile’s. If it’s not the IMF in the news it’s pedophile’s what must the worlds view if Ireland become?

• It appears that tomorrow’s Daily Mail has more damaging revelations on Norris. That is why none of the other nominators is going public right now.

• As a gay man, I’ve been a supporter of Norris for years and I have the utmost respect for what he’s done for gay rights in this country but after these revelations I could not possibly vote for him. Yes he was in love, yes he pleaded for his partner as many might do but at the end of the day he vouched for the “good character” of a rapist. He even appears to have suggested some blame lay on the victim, saying his partner was lured into a trap. Even if the boy in question was involved in some ploy to “honeytrap” Norris’ partner there is still no way that a man in his 40s who has sex with a 15 year old is of “good character”. I know it was nearly 20 years ago and I feel for David Norris as he must have had his heart broken at the time but we can’t cry foul about the Cloyne Report and the Church and at the same time elect someone who has defended the “good character” of a rapist to the highest office in the country.

• mr g 31/07/11 #

Gay or straight no excuse for supporting under age sex pedo’s or child abuse mr norris should withdraw and resign public office

• I’m disappointed with this. Was looking forward to having a President that would represent a new secular Ireland but I can’t support someone that is ambiguous about the legal age of consent. Now what have we left? The usual shower putting forward candidates, most of whom I dint know and some that represent an Ireland that is dead and buried. I like Michael D. because he is compassionate and intellectual and I think he would make a good President.

• I’m leaning toward the Michael D camp myself. He’s a bit left wing for my taste, but that’s no bad thing for an office which should be inclusive anyway.

He’s also unfettered as far as I know by any taint of the usual grubby political stuff; but then again, I thought the same of Norris a few months ago…

• Michael D is an unambiguous supporter of human rights and I am certain had nothing to do with recent revelations about David Norris. He’d be a president Ireland could be proud of. Imagine that… Actually proud of a public representative.

• He should resign from the Senate; never mind his Presidential ambitions.

• My information is that the others will all say that they continue to support Norris as they don’t want to be seen to have supported a flawed candidate. However behind closed doors they have told Norris that they expect him to do the honourable thing, admit that he won’t get the nomination and to withdraw.

• Such hypocrisy!! Was really surprised to hear that Maureen O’Sullivan and Stephen Donnelly were still supporting David Norris – they have to know that he does not stand a chance of being nominated now! What are they playing at? Who do they think they are fooling?! I have far more respect for those who declared that they needed more time to find out the truth about the situation!! Blindly supporting a colleague out of misplaced loyalty – I thought that had gone out with Brian Cowen!! How naive of me!!!!

• Norris won’t make the cut… Norris shouldn’t make the cut.

• So sick of all this media hype for president of Ireland…. It’s like the royal family , antiquated and so ” last century” I was talking to a chap today who cannot getting state funding because he had a small business which sadly failed, he is in a place where I would hate to be and I can tell by his tone he feels that he is useless and has nothing to live for, no social for him or help in any fashion …. Mean while the bourgeois of Irish society do not give a flying fuk about him or 10′s of thousands others.. Time to take our country back and even bring the guillotine to Ireland… Let the upper class eat cake.

• The IT posts the following in relation to the Oireachtas members willing to nominate Norris: “A number of Mr Norris’s supporters expressed concern at the way the information about the letters sent to the Israeli authorities came into the public domain.
    “I would deeply resent it if there is anybody out there, whether in Israel or in the Irish political system, who is trying to undermine Irish democracy by influencing the course of the campaign,” Mr McGrath said.
    Labour Party presidential candidate Michael D Higgins said nobody involved in his party’s campaign had anything to do with the disclosures. “I don’t approve of or indulge in that kind of politics,” he said.”
    What on earth is their problem with having a well-informed electorate? Are we not entitled to have the full facts presented to us before we make our decision?
    I for one am encouraged by the fact that someone such as the blogger, outside the cozy media cabal, has been able to raise his very legitimate concerns about someone who is less than honest about their own behaviour while holding public office.

• Very few comments on this topic. I thought there’d be a sense of outrage at the attempts to intervene in a case of the statutory rape of a child. I think David Norris should step down from the campaign immediately.

• Either the site is being its buggy self, or comments have been removed, Maria.

I share your surprise, however.

• @Maria
      I totally agree with you, I initially supported DN, but this just takes the biscuit so to speak. It’s disgusting carry on, regardless that he’s gay, that’s nothing got to do with it for me, someone who is guilty of raping a minor, is scum full stop. Clerics included!

• I think you’re blowing this very much out of proportion. What senator Norris did, was make a plea of clemency in a personal capacity to a foreign states judiciary, as was his right, and to vouch for the otherwise good reputation of his partner Ezra. He wasn’t trying to have the case overturned or quashed, and would have had no authority in a foreign court to do so, so there isn’t really an argument for the abuse of power. The portion of the letter that was addressed to the judges was not written on seanad headed paper, so I don’t see any indication there that he is trying to use his position as part of the legislature to achieve his goal, or that the rest of the seanad or government were supporting his plea.

Ultimately, this looks more like the actions of a lover and partner asking a judge to show mercy to the person that he loves, because although he has committed a crime, Norris still believes that he is genuinely still a good person.

• I am deeply saddened by these revelations about David Norris and his appeals for clemency for his former lover/partner. Part of me can understand why he did what he did, but we all know there can be no defence for paedophilia or child rape. As a gay woman who ‘came out’ in the late 70s, I met David Norris on many occasions and always found him to be extremely erudite, moral, entertaining and humane in his dealings with people. I still believe he is a person of great integrity but I do think he needs to clarify his beliefs in certain areas. Sometimes I think that his integrity and broadmindedness have walked him into trouble! Not many people are half as honest!
    However, no other candidate for the presidency is even close to his stature!

• I still cannot understand why the Gardai have not still checked his computers to find out whats going on with this man.He has denied being associated with Cathal O SearchIgh even though he vehemently defended him in an Oireachtas debate..How could a person who calls himself a defender of the underdog in society make a clemency plea for someone who had sex with an underage person.He should have turned his lover Ezra over to the Authorities instead of trying to cover up for him.He should have been concerned for the victim of his lovers crime,if he is such a humantarian .He is not fit to be a Senator.Why should our taxes be paying to keep him in the luxury he is in.If a priest did this the media would storm the heavens to have him hanged drawn and quartered.His campaign is very media driven,I wonder why,particularly the Sunday Independent,and most RTE presenters are pushing him so much for Presidency.

• I am struggling to understand why some people cannot grasp a few simple points:
    - a convicted person is entitled to a plea in mitigation;
    - character references are used every day in courts and have been written by teachers, sport coaches, employers and many many TDs (on Oireachtas headed paper);
    - most people would write such a character reference for friends and family regardless of the offence;
    - few have actually read Norris’s character reference but feel free to comment on it;
    - the original source of this story is suspect but it appears that the 15 year old consented in fact (he could not as a matter of law).
    It is silly season drivel and many stupid/lazy people are falling for it.

• mr g 31/07/11 #

@conor can u not understand he tried to protect / support a pedo under age sex is against the law full stop nothing that anyone can say can change that it’s wrong and sick that a grown man would first of all have sex with a 15 year old and then his partner would support that! I do not want my kids growing up with a prez that supports this. It’s sick and if mr Norris supports pedo’s he might as well join the church than run for prez

• http://www.rte.ie/news/2011/0730/norrisletter.pdf

just in case people were looking

• What I’m struggling to grasp is the inability to see David Norris’ intervention as much more than a mere character reference. His address to the judges was almost like a legal defence. He quoted from Canadian law on sentencing with mention of mitigating circumstances where the victim consents or may even be the instigator. Have we not heard this sort of line before- a predator claiming that he was seduced. I abhor any attempt that would even try to put any hint of blame on a 15 year old victim. A 15 year old, by any stretch of the imagination is a child and, in my book, all sexual abuse of children should be condemned without reservation. As Fergus Finlay mentioned today on Newstalk- a young teenager cannot consent to having sex with a much older, more mature adult. The effects of this sort of ” consent” can remain with a child and result in emotional or psychological damage. Our primary concern has to be the child, not the efforts of an individual to become President.

• Absolutely Conor – the allegations of “pedo-supporter” shows just how damaging a case of statutory rape can be once its on the statute books. While I do not condone sex with fifteen year olds – even with other fifteen year olds – I support Norris right to offer evidence of his partners otherwise good character and humanitarian works. The fact that he at no point sought to influence the case and instead offered his plea for clemency on unheaded paper via the defence counsel shows he not only understood what he did but also the correct way to do it.

• The chickens always come home to roost. Do we need a president like that? Or do we need a president at all. As Snake Plisken said: “President of what?”

• President of Ireland. You should perhaps examine the complexities of political power and governance before simply dismissing the office. Bad enough that the Government will not reform the Senead and instead proposes its removal (and thus the additional oversight) but now are we to lose a position that, though not powerful, has and remains quite outside of the executive-dominated house, the guardian of the constitution?? The executive has already taken much of the power and parliament is already ineffective enough.

It is up to us, the citizens, to do what we can with whatever time we might have to spare to engage in politics and bring about what change we can through collective effort. No more deference!

Again and again people rush for the easy option, abolishment. Indeed just as people were happy with the easy option of electing , in 2007, a government which was already under severe question because it was the easy option.

• @mr g: have you read the character reference or are you relying on others? What was the precise offence the accused was charged with? What sentence did he receive?

• It’s become apparent from this episode that one is no longer permitted to provide a character assessment of another individual. That that, other, was David Norris’s former partner, is neither here nor there. He is entirely entitled to petition for clemency. The process of justice does not cease upon a sentence, if we prescribed that notion, then the campaign for the reassessment, re-trail, release and pardon for the Birmingham Six and Guildford Four, would under such a notion, have been null and void, by the original verdict and sentence of the Court. But that’s not the system that any civilised Nation worthy of the name ought to aspire. That his crime was so grievous that the justice system should be circumvented to deny him any avenue for recourse. David Norris’s judgement is brought into question, it’s appears to me, on the basis that Oireachtas resources were used in his petitioning of the Israeli Court. That this event occurred almost 15 years ago, is not an excuse, but is the necessary context in which these events unfolded. That David Norris is being compelled by some, to relinquish his bid for the Presidency, on the monumental pivot, of the paper he used, all be it Seanad Eireann headed paper, appears farcical and ridiculous, some people are so willing to destroy his chances, that they in this instance, appear to over-reach even their low standards. He deserves a fair hearing in the first instance, and from his explanations this morning has, I believe, satisfied many peoples concerns including mine. I hope that he takes increased devotion, form all of those who have doubtlessly contacted him over the last few days, affirming there confidence and support in him. To Senator Norris, I say, maintain your campaign, deploy your intelligence, affability, good-humour and charming personality, in your continued ventures up and down the country. As you have done up until this point, present the Irish people with your vision for the office, with all the abundant passion and conviction that we have seen on display, since you first entered the public sphere. You have already secured a debt of gratitude from an entire generation, and I add my thanks, to that large chorus of young Irish men and women. And from one Senator to another, “The work goes on, the cause endures, the hope still lives, and the dream shall never die.” Ted Kennedy.

• Now Pringles gone this is probably it tbh

• Both Finian Mc Grath and john Halligan gone it will be hard to see a comeback from this

• Once it was fair-weather friends….now it is fair-weather senators!..

• Mr g your an idiot.

• It should be remembered…the man at the centre of this controversy is NOT David Norris but an individual with whom David Norris had an apparently “more than just friends” relationship. (for legal reasons, I should also point out that my assertion here is allegation)

So…if there is love, there is loyalty.

Who among you can honestly say that you would not do everything you could to lessen the pain of someone you care about?

From a “skim” read of the letter Mr. Norris sent on official Irish paper, I gathered that Mister Norris made a legal argument in favour of his friend and made no attempt to morally excuse the actions of someone he evidently felt very close to. Honourable loyalty, if you think about it!

While I do think David Norris must make some kind of statement relating to the events in question, I have to admire his sense of loyalty which, if we could be assured of such loyalty in favour of Ireland (David?), would make him a most excellent President of this amazing country and possibly the best person to represent just how fabulous, interesting and diverse Ireland really has become.

Rock on David. You have my vote!

• In support of what I have said above, I quote from a comment on another article regarding Mr. David Norris. Elaine says:

“1/ In his letter, Senator Norris asked for the judge for the most lenient punishment within the Israeli penal code, i.e. there is a tariff that the judge can choose from, ranging from non-custodial to custodial sentences. He did not ask for Ezra Nawi *not* to be punished.

2/ His letter was written on Seanad / Leinster House notepaper; of course it was, it’s ridiculous to suggest that he wouldn’t – to be facetious, there’s little point writing a serious letter on one’s niece’s ladybird note paper and referring to one’s vast experience in marble collecting & or one’s role as Minutes Secretary for the Musical Society. Of course Senator Norris referred to his background, his experience, his research, his campaigning etc. It’s preposterous to think he shouldn’t.”

The plea was not against the verdict but a plea for leniency in relation to the punishment. And it was made to a government and, by extension, a nation that seems to be, at least, behind when it comes to matters relating to homosexual male relations.

For the record, I am not gay and neither am I a big fan of Israel. I do however, respect the choices that Mr. Norris has made in this instance.

• If I was in love with someone I might indeed do everything to help them, even if they committed the most heinous of crimes. However having abused my position, I would have the common sense to then give up any aspiration to being the Head of State.

• No abuse occurred. The appeal text was on plain paper and submitted to his partner’s defence counsel. Politicians regularly write in support of all kinds of people in trouble, including convicted criminals. Learn the realities of life before you comment.

• It’s a disgrace the way David Norris has been torn apart, personally I think it’s because of his sexuality. Note to Ireland It’s 2011……..

• …yes it’s 2011 and hey! that means it’s OK to make special pleas for rapists of boys? God, I wish it down with the cool kids.

• I thought it was illegal to use your position to try gain leverage in the way he did, he should not have gone about it how he did and he let his supporters down. Nothing at all to do with sexual preference.

• mr g 31/07/11 #

@Racheal just because he is gay does not mean he can use it as a get out of jail free card to be honest I’m sick of gays and blacks using the race/sexuality card wake up it’s not because he is gay it’s because he supported a rapist/child abuser and has funny ideas about under age sex, do u want a man who supports this in office as prez? If a straight white man done this, it would be totally different or would it?

• Gerard – how exactly is he using his position to gain leverage? As a member of the seanad he has absolutely no authority or influence in the Israeli judiciary.

• I see the right wing, defamatory, religious homophobes have been busy through the night clicking the “dislikes” on the pro-Norris Comments.

How worried they must be that Norris will get on the ticket and a democratic vote will occur.

it will show what a reactionary shower of spineless craven inbred gombeen men scumbags we have in elected positions if he cannot get onto the ballot paper.

• Too late now, he’s gone!

• Where to start. Im one to give David a break Im sure he wishes the ground would open up an swallow him over that life mistake in taking pen to paper. He could have been better advised. As regards these so called supporters jumping ship – spare me ! what a crowd of lackies ! Same old same old. What a weary place to be ! I wish him well

• Norris is an erudite and intelligent man. Common sense is another matter I won’t go in to.

Point being, he made no mistake, in that he knew exactly what he was doing, and like most of us, he is the captain of his own decisions. The decision to make that plea was his own, and fits perfectly with his wooly approach to the age of consent, and pederasty in general, as can be cited in this case, his own recorded opinions, and his high profile support of the likes of Cathal O’ Searcaigh.

In one part of the communication to the Israeli court, he makes the assertion that the age of consent has a different bearing in a homosexual context. I fail to see how.

His charm and well spoken nature bely what is at the crux of it, a very sinister and opportunistic attitude to minors.

• Audrey we all like to give people a chance, but he is up shit creek without a paddle…

• @ Audrey as you can see the Labour supporters and pseudo-Homophobes trying to derail the Norris campaign are infesting the Journal.

This is clear from the disproportionate amount of negative comments here about Norris and the results of the pole taken this morning which puts Norris in a commanding lead.

These people are making political capital and smearing Norris because he has defended gay rights, not because they think he’s actually unsuitable, but because even now, if he gets on the ticket he’ll win by a landslide.

Its simply a dirty tricks campaign for another candidate and given the revelations about the provenance of the leaks, it seems to be Labour-related, but this could be a clever double-smear by another candidate trying to blacken Michael D Higgins chances also, who is the second runner in some poles.

Look at the dark horses in this campaign to see where all this crap might be coming from.

• mr g 31/07/11 #

It’s amazing how all the gays back each other up they can do no wrong, the world is gone mad

• Great to see so many perfect people here to judge another….. No wonder this country is screwed… Take a bow guys… Its your fault… And as for giving me grief about it, your opinion isnt worth bothering about…. We live in a democracy your morans. The people should be allowed vote for who they want and not be dictated to by idiots like most of you. Crawl back under your rocks and let decent people have our country back.

• I would just like to add to my previous comment on David Norris,about how widespread the support for pedophilia is in our society considering so many people are jumping to his defence because of his association with a convicted pedophile and his thoughts about such things in The Magill magazine.

• Learn the meaning of “prepubescent” before you allege that someone is a pedophile or a supporter of pedophiles.

People are defending Norris because of his qualities as a senator and a man, not his support for his partner.

Deliberately twisting the facts as you have just done seems to be typical of the Anti-Norris Campaign.

• Darragh O’Brien’s attempts to canvass support within in FF to give Norris nominations went pretty unnoticed by this website. The thought of someone from FF doing something right is probably too unbelievable for most of the journal’s readers.

Anyway, it seems he struggled to get support before this controversey so I cant see it happening now.

• It’s not clear that what O’Brien was doing wasn’t right. There’s a qualification threshold in place for a reason, to eliminate any dubious, populist candidate becoming head of state. Let’s not forget that the constitution was drafted when fascism was rife and populist candidates were coming into power all over Europe.

Thankfully out system which means all candidates need to have the support and a set number of people with a democratic mandate is in place and has worked on this occasion. If Norris had had his 20 nominators, the whole campaign would have disintegrated into a mud slinging battle about child abuse. The fact that he won’t be, is a good day for the country.

• I wonder when the outrage over Gay Mitchell’s clemency letter appealing for a reduced sentance for a murderer in America is gonna come out

*twiddles thumbs*

Add New Comment