TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 6 °C Friday 24 May, 2013

NWCI chief quits over Govt’s ‘scant regard’ for women’s rights

Susan McKay said Budget cuts to Women’s Council funding had made it impossible for her to do her job properly.

Susan McKay, pictured in 2005
Image: Graham Hughes/Photocall Ireland

THE CHIEF EXECUTIVE of the National Women’s Council of Ireland has resigned, accusing the Government of showing “scant regard” for women’s rights.

Susan McKay said “drastic” cuts of 35 per cent to the organisation’s funding in the last Budget had made it impossible for her to do her job properly.

She stepped down following a meeting with Minister for Justice Alan Shatter nine days ago, at which she said he ruled out any reduction of the Budget cuts. Last night McKay said:

It is my personal view that the Government has shown scant regard for women’s rights and my resignation is a personal protest against this indifference. I wish the NWCI well in these difficult times.

She added: “The scale of this cut makes it impossible for me to do my job properly as Chief Executive of a national organisation striving to bring about equality for women.”

The chair of the NWCI, Clare Treacy, said the board had accepted McKay’s resignation from the post she had held since 2009 “with much regret”. She added:

On behalf of the Board and staff of the National Women’s Council of Ireland, I thank Susan for her drive in promoting the rights of women, her leadership in stimulating legislative change and vigorous work tackling inequality and discrimination against women in Ireland.

Just over a week ago, McKay – a former award-winning reporter for the Sunday Tribune – declined to attend a high-profile seminar on How To Elect More Women, in protest at the cut to her organisation’s funding.

More: Irish system has failed to provide higher number of women TDs – Taoiseach>

Read next:

Comments (38 Comments)

• So she gives up…?

• Your comment is justified, Jay F. Women aren’t shy about slating men. If women can dish it out, be prepared to take it back. She is childish & foolish to do what she did. U can argue the thrust of your point. It’s avlid. Throw a hissy-fit isn’t going to achieve results. Everywhere is being cut back ( unless u are a special advisor to Leo V !! ). A sad fact & reality of life at the mo. Deal with it, do your best & move on. She has let women down I believe. Hope our respective comments aren’t deleted.

• Should read – “it’s valid” -

• Catherine are ye dithering, mad or just being silly when you call this woman a ” voice for the voiceless ”
    Whatever women suffer from at the hands of men I do believe your description here is absurd.
    I am also tired of bankrolling all of these quangos and consider it appropriate at this time that organisations such as this become entirely voluntary and consultative.
    We’re there a Council for men’s rights I would have the same comment to offer!

• Um there isn’t much need for a men’s council, what with men pretty much already running the world’s governments and all major religions etc

• We also do the most ridiculously dangerous jobs in the world. I’m all for equality in the workforce – I’d love to see more women in construction, oil drilling, mining, armed forces, waste collection, road maintenance, manufacturing, fisheries…

Agree Miss McDermott? Of course you do.

• I’m curious. I checked and was surprised to find that there is a website for the National Men’s Association of Ireland, I wonder how does the funding for women’s websites and groups compare to mens websites and groups? I’ve found some women want equality, they just want more of it. Many years ago at a union meeting this topic arose, some women wanted to enter roles traditionally held by men and, despite it being pointed out at the time that it involved some heavy work, they insisted and were welcomed. Within a year, at another meeting, one woman asked if she could have a man help her with lifting certain equipment, a union rep asked if she agreed with the principle of equality in the workplace, equal work for equal pay. She said she did. So he replied that she was either asking to do less work for the same pay, or more pay to do less work. Which was it? She sat back down and shut up.

• Very sexist & prejudiced towards men, Shauna.

• Come on… lets be honest!

The present government don’t give a frak about any Irish persons rights – just German bondholder ones!

• Is there a men’s council? Cop on and get yer job done as the funding for everything is being cut.

• hey Gerard, will we form the NMCI? u can have the top spot at €150K, i”ll take the measly part time €100K spot!!!

• >She added: “The scale of this cut makes it impossible for me to do my job properly as Chief Executive of a national organisation striving to bring about equality for women.”
      >striving to bring about equality for women
      >equality for women
      >for women
      >for
      >women

Y’see, that’s your problem right there dear. It’s only equality when it’s FOR women isn’t it? No talk of father’s rights, equality of standards in the Defence Forces or increased paternity leave, is there? That’d only make us nasty villains more equal wouldn’t it – and who wants that?

• Woman quits job and blames someone else. Newsworthy?

• Ms McKay might run for the Dail.

• I wonder how much she was being paid per annum at our expense. This postscript is unrelated to the original comment!

• Women’s council is just another Quango that we can do without. 35% is too small a cut! 100% please!

• ummm didnt know this xouncil existed if i must be honest…dont particularly see the need for it either…..if im not being treated equally as a male counterpart i’ll call whoever on it…in all fairness men and women are treated differently in some things…

• Why use a 7 year old image of Ms McKay for this article?

• Stupid waste of money.

• Shauna my comment about a Men’s Council was more than tongue in cheek ……………but quangos are still quangos and if you are concerned at the gender imbalance in Public life either build a bridge or go out there and get involved!

• David 28/01/12 #

What about mens rights?

• At last a person of principle in a senior position in our country. I wish to god many more would stand up for their beliefs and resign from government like the whole labour party. Quinn and co will keep taking the cash as long as it lasts the less well off are bled dry. Well done and best wishes for your future I say.

• Ahem.. Mary Harney, need I say more? When is it going to get through, people don’t elect male or female politicians, they just elect politicians, regardless of gender and lets be honest about it, they’re all bloody useless? You can’t seriously believe that it’s just the male politicians who’re crap and the female ones are somehow doing a marvelous job?
    Men and women ARE different, yes there is no reason why both can’t be useless politicians but there are just as many gender imbalances in other jobs that nobody gives a damn about. At my daughters Nursing Graduation ceremony I noted there was just one man in her class, so much for gender balance, nobody rushing to correct it though. I remember some years ago in my hospital when student nurses did their maternity rotation, two male nurses were’nt allowed do “hands on”, as this was a female only domain. How many male midwifes do you still see? We don’t give it a second thought but there are hundreds of jobs out there which are still traditionally held by women, if the roles were reversed there’d be Hell to pay. I still think women want equality, just more of it, just ask men who’ve been through the family courts system?

• Is it not inappropriate that the taxpayer has, and continues (albeit at a reduced level), to fund an advocacy group exclusively representing women’s issues in circumstances where there is no corresponding advocacy group representing men. Moreover, in a country where women have attained the positions of President, Chief Justice, Attorney General, Ombudsman, Information Commissioner and Chairperson of the Revenue Commissioners is there an objective need for such an advocacy group, let alone at a not insignificant cost to the State? Indeed, there is an inherent danger in permitting advocacy groups, who by definition represent sectional interests, to influence government policy as the resulting legislation may not necessarily reflect the views of the majority of society. Consider Rape Crisis Network Ireland’s attempts to seek a diminution of a person’s constitutional right to a fair trial in sexual offence prosecutions: http://www.oireachtas.ie/documents/committees29thdail/child_protection_submissions/document2.pdf

• Laura………..a wonderful contribution……thoughtful and honest……….great……thanks.

• healster 29/01/12 #

“If you want something said, ask a man…if you want something done, ask a woman.”

stop bitching and moaning, 15% representation when we are 50% of the population is not acceptable. If the men in our political parties were doing a fantastic job would this really be an issue…

• Shame on ye Declan Neil & Michael male specimens of humanity – Susan has been a voice fr the voiceless – Ni Beidh a leitheid ann aris

• Biggins I think you’re on the wrong page or smoking something that may be causing you an upset!

Add New Comment