TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 16 °C Tuesday 21 May, 2013

Ó Cuív lets fly at Merkozy ‘usurping’ the European Union

Éamon Ó Cuív outlines some of the reasons why he may not back the fiscal compact – and there are few kind words…

Image: Leon Farrell/Photocall Ireland

FIANNA FÁIL’S former deputy leader Éamon Ó Cuív has taken fire at French president Nicolas Sarkozy and German chancellor Angela Merkel for their “usurping” of the European Union.

Speaking on radio this morning, Ó Cuív outlined the behaviour of the two major European leaders as one of the reasons he had reservations about supporting the fiscal compact in the forthcoming referendum.

Ó Cuív was speaking on RTÉ’s Today with Pat Kenny after yesterday resigning as the Deputy Leader of the Fianna Fáil party, saying he had a fundamental policy difference with the party on whether to back the fiscal compact.

“In the last year, two members of the European Union – that is, France and Germany, and that’s Angela Merkel and Nicolas Sarkozy – have been usurping the architecture and the rules and the treaties of the European Union by usurping the position of the [European] Commission.

Under Europe the whole idea, with big and small countries being there, was that the Commission proposes the policy, and the ministers dispose of it. What we’re having now in the last year is the two powerful members, meeting together and saying, ‘Sorry, we’re going to take over from teh Commission here, and we’re going to propose the policy.

That is anti-every rule, and every treaty, that we have signed.

Ó Cuív also revealed he was “flabbergasted” when he learned that Fianna Fáil planned to back the fiscal compact “hook, like and sinker, without condition”.

“I think a lot of people thought – and I certainly thought, as Deputy Leader – that in calling for a referendum, that we would not be supporting this unless the issues I am talking about were dealt with,” Ó Cuív said.

He further added that European leaders appeared happy to offer further financial regulations on member states, but that such regulation should instead be concentrated on the banking sector.

“We all bought light-touch regulation, let’s be honest about it,” the Galway West TD said, adding that the universal subscription to such practices “brought untold misery to millions of people”.

He added:

We didn’t have Budget deficits during the good years – what actually was the problem is a banking problem.

It seems that Europe is more than willing to regulate countries – but totally unwilling because of their competition policies, because of the absolute God they’ve made of the free market, because of the absolute God they’ve made of the free market, are unwilling to regulate the banks.

The former communications spokesman and Social Protection minister also said he did not anticipate having to leave the Fianna Fáil parliamentary party, which he would have to do if he was to break ranks in any Dáil votes.

Although he had reservations about the compact, Ó Cuív said he would vote in favour of the legislation when it came through the Dáil because he did not oppose the idea of putting the paper to the public.

“On what basis would I vote against holding a referendum? I have no problem in putting this issue to the Irish people,” he said.

Read: Éamon Ó Cuív resigns as Fianna Fáil deputy leader

More: FF parliamentary party holds crunch meeting after Ó Cuív resignation

Read next:

Comments (43 Comments)

• The exciting, “together” EU we all knew once is dead and gone. I want nothing to do with this new EU that’s emerging. It’s two tiered and a massive source of division of the continent. This is the exact opposite of what it was founded for. At lest O’Cuiv pointed this out, and it’s something me and FF can agree on.

• I don’t think yer agreeing with f. fail, there Matthew… thats why O’Cuiv resigned. FF will want to send the message to Germany and co that they will be good dogs, in case Merkel decided on a general election here

• I just recall “Vote Yes” to have our say in European matters and lets be more integrated in the EU, “Lets be at the heart of Europe”. All these treaties, being told we would not lose sovereignty or control over the running of our country and within a few very short years we are operating like a local CC, getting funding and orders from those two foreign unelected masters.
    What treasonous son of a bitch told us we would all be more democratic if we voted yes and went along and did everything we were told to vote on.
    Who are they and why are they not hanging from the gates of the Dail?

• Good ole Eamo! The Soldiers of Destiny are lining up behind you… Forward march! But watch yer back.

• The point about France and Germany usurping the commission is valid and will ring true with the voters

• “We didn’t have Budget deficits during the good years – what actually was the problem is a banking problem”.

Lies, lies, lies. We had an incredibly unsustainable tax base, overly-reliant on stamp-duty revenues fuelled by a property boom on cocaine. You and your Fianna Failure counterparts’ fiscal policies were as much part of the problem as the banking system (which you failed to regulate). Stop trying to re-write history Éamon, and face up to the fact that you’re a spent has-been.

• Reg 01/03/12 #

Nail on the head there Conor!

• No matter what you’d like to believe Conor, the problem was, and still is, a banking problem – not a political one.

• Read my comment Seb; I never for a second denied that the banking sector wasn’t at fault either. It was nonetheless the responsibility of our Central Bank and policy makers to ensure that the banking system was properly regulated – self-regulation doesn’t work! And yes, part of the reason why our public finances are in the state they are in, is because the revenue that was coming in during the boom years wasn’t sustainable. Revenues from the likes of stamp duty flooded in because of the over-heated property market thus allowing Fianna Fáil to fool themselves and the electorate into believing that we could continue to increase public spending by double-digit percentages every year. However, as soon as recession hit, a €20 billion gap per year emerged as those temporary revenues dwindled to nothing.

• We didn’t run large deficits during the boom. In 2006 we ran a significant surplus. That’s a verifiable fact. This treaty wouldn’t stop a repeat of what happened in 2007.

• Nobody is saying that we didn’t run surpluses during the boom. However, O Cuív is once again denying that the previous three governments, all Fianna Fáíl led engaged in reckless, pro-cyclical budgetary policy that partially has us in the mess that we are in now.

Did you ever hear the parable about the two men who built themselves houses. One built his with deep foundations on solid ground, the other built one with no foundations on sand. as soon as the storms came, the second house collapsed. Thanks to Fianna Fáil, Ireland is that second house.

• Yes, actually, our budget deficits were one of the lowest in the world during the boom. Unfortunately, that changed and FF are to blame for failing to regulate and keep a hold on things, but as regards the budget deficit, it was practically non existant

• Reg 01/03/12 #

Seb – How can you say that the problem was not a political one. In a ten year period Fianna Fail doubled public spending on the back of a weak and unsustainable tax base. This is a fact.

Conor is 100% correct in all of his statements here. It’s amazing the number of people who are still in denial by the damage caused by Fianna Fail.

• mattoid 01/03/12 #

Sorry to be pedantic, but what EoC said was technically correct, we didn’t run a budget deficit during the boom years. He never claimed it was sustainable…

• The FF hierarchy have already decided that the referendum vote will go in favour of the government and they are hoping to get some of the credit for it.
    If people vote ‘YES’ to this treaty, it will be the end of Ireland as an independent partner within the EU and will relegate us to little more than a vassal state for the French and Germans.

If you want Ireland to have any chance of a decent future vote NO.

• Good for O’Cuiv!

• I doesn’t really matter anymore what your little party does. Yourself Martin, and O’Dea should hang your head in shame after what you did to our small country so carry on and fight among yourselves. The independents even have more support than you lot @ that speaks volumes

• It’s official Berlin is now the capital if Ireland, not Dublin or Cork…

• Tim_h 01/03/12 #

So he is not going to oppose it in the Dáil.

He castrated Micheal Martin yesterday, now he decides to do the same to himself.

• Well said.

• 3 years too late Eamon.

• Why does RTE give this criminal airtime? He has consistently abused taxpayers money in the pursuit furthering his own agenda which includes the promotion of the Irish language which is a real luxury at a time of crises. If people want to speak Irish them let them pay for it. Are we supporting Chinese schools here ?

• As far as I know, we are not in China. Whereas, Ireland/Irish? Any resemblance?

For your reasoning, go to England

• That’s right Frank2521 – let’s stop the funding of Irish. It really is a luxury we can’t afford. Let’s also, while we’re at it, stop funding for the arts – another luxury we can’t afford. Let’s close down the National Museum of Ireland – another luxury we can’t afford. Let’s close down RTÉ and TG4 – more luxuries we don’t need. Let’s close down the Road Safety Authority – another luxury we can’t afford. Let’s stop providing funds to the Irish Olympic Council. Let’s stop funding the GAA, the FAI and the IRFU. Let’s stop the funding of St. Patrick’s Day festivities. Actually, while we’re at it, why don’t we just stop funding everything, and instead, simply take all of our tax intake and plough it into our debt. We’ll be debt free soon enough, but we’ll all be a miserable shower of b*st*rds when it’s over. Cop on!

• Dead right Frank! Brian, why should people’s taxes be used for these things? If you want them, you pay for them. Simples.

• I do want them Eric, and I am paying for them – through my taxes. I don’t want to pay off other people’s stupid gambling addictions – yet through my taxes I’m also paying for them. Or am I right in thinking that you view taxes as something that should be paid for by everyone to satisfy your own personal wishes and to hell with everyone else’s? I mean, where do you draw the line. Do you stop funding special needs assistants? I mean I don’t need or want them personally, so why should that funding come out of my taxes – why don’t the parents pay for it entirely themselves? I don’t need or want public transport in Dublin, so why should that funding come out of my taxes – why can’t Dubliners pay for it themselves? I’m finished with my education and I don’t have children – so why should my hard-earned money be used to pay for the education of other people’s children.

• Frank. We may as well come out with our hands up if we give up on our language. Will you change the bloody record. You’re turning into an awful
      Moan.

• Reada: Irish is a useless language spoken by about 80,000 people outside of education and even they speak English anyway. I don’t even know if you’re a man or a woman. The majority of Irish wouldn’t know either based on your first name. We spend a billion euros a year teaching Irish. A billion euro is useful money to be had during a fiscal crisis. I always believed that Ian Paisley was just as Irish as Peig Sayers. If it wasn’t for physical force Republicanism we would have a politically united Ireland today. Instead we have a divided Ireland between the Irish and “The Brit Traitors” today, thanks to the post 1916 Sinn Fein movement. Returning to the Irish language, it’s time to give up the ghost. And why do we have bilingual signs?! Everyone can understand the English version anyway. It’s time to revisit the land of logic.

• Paul. You’re working hard on me, granted, but you still haven’t convinced me to turn Ireland into mini-China. Give up now please. You never will. :)

• I was reading up on your hero, Patrick Pearse. Here’s what he had to write in 1913: “Bloodshed is a cleansing and sanctifying thing’. And in 1915 he said this: “the old heart of the earth needed to be warmed by the red wine of the battlefield”. Well, I suppose Patrick Pearse didn’t do human rights violations. He didn’t have slitty eyes after all.

• @ Paul – are you really so naive as to think that if the teaching of Irish stopped that that €1 billion would suddenly become available to the state? The answer, sadly, is no. The teachers currently employed to teach Irish would simply have to be redeployed elsewhere. The €1 billion would simply be paid to them to teach other subjects in other schools. Considering approximately 250,000 people are either directly or indirectly employed as a result of the state’s policy on Irish, and considering it would cost €2.5 billion per year (minimum, but probably much closer to €5 billion due to lost revenues and other ancillary benefits) to pay these people dole payments as a result of your fine logic on the state’s treatment of Irish, even your economic argument falls flat on its face. Your policy regarding Irish actually has a name – it’s called “linguacide” – the forced extermination of a language by insulting it, insulting those who speak it (including their names), denying access to services in that language (and despite popular belief Paul, there are still monolingual Irish speakers alive in Ireland today), and forcing its speakers to speak a different language.

• Paul. I’m assuming that comment was addressed to me. You’d be more likely to have seen hero in the same sentence as Connolly or Hume, while I am willing to acknowledge that Pearse was worthy of the same distinction.

Last thing, your argument at the bottom of this thread is pathetic.

• Brian: I wasn’t insulting Reada’s name at all. I was merely pointing out that I didn’t know whether Reada was a man or a woman on the basis of his/her name and that I think the majority of Irish people similarly would have no idea based on his/her Irish name alone.

• Reada: I wouldn’t consider Patrick Pearse or James Connolly in the same league as John Hume. Patrick Pearse was a physical force Republican. James Connolly was a tool of the physical force Republicans of the IRB. John Hume, by contrast, was a peace-maker throughout his political career. James Connolly and Patrick Pearse ended theirs by embracing violence as a means to resolve political disputes and they both rejected the idea of pursuing dialogue to resolve conflict. John Hume rejected violent means totally, recognizing, like Daniel O’Connell did, that violence only begets more violence and that it only makes a bad situation worse.

• Niall 01/03/12 #

Cough ‘populist rhetoric’ cough..

• O’Cuiv says we didn’t have budget deficit during the good years. Yeah, for 5 years up to 2007, we even ran budget surpluses, but that was on the back of the property boom! Up to a third of our receipts came from that ultimately unsustainable boom which Fianna Fail encouraged since 1997. If our government had encouraged productive investment since 1997 rather than building houses, we wouldn’t be needing a bailout from the IMF/ECB/EFSF in 2010 and, possibly, another one next year. It’s the Eurozone’s fault? Get real people! It’s Fianna Fail’s fault. Vote YES.

• You can always tell a Shinner from the comments when he/she writes about “traitors” and “treason” and he/she wants to hang some of politicians by the neck from the front gate of the Oireachtas.

KEEP SINN FEIN AND FIANNA FAIL OUT IN ELECTION 2016.

Add New Comment