TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 14 °C Monday 20 May, 2013

Obama assassination plot uncovered in US murder case

Prosecutors say that four soldiers had planned to overthrow the US government.

Image: Carolyn Kaster/AP/Press Association Images

US PROSECUTORS say a murder case against four soldiers has revealed they formed an anarchist militia within the US military with plans to overthrow the federal government.

One of the accused troops, Pfc Michael Burnett, pleaded guilty today to manslaughter and gang charges in the December slayings of former soldier Michael Roark and his girlfriend, 17-year-old Tiffany York.

Burnett told a judge that Roark, who had just left the Army, knew of the militia group’s plans and was killed because he was “a loose end.”

Prosecutor Isabel Pauley says the group bought $87,000 worth of guns and bomb-making materials and plotted to take over Fort Stewart, bomb targets in nearby Savannah and Washington state, as well as assassinate the president.

Read next:

Comments (61 Comments)

• Remember every time you make a typo, the errorists win!!

• Nonsense…..gun related deaths are 8 times higher in the United States than its equivalent economic counter parts around the globe , it also has by far the highest number of homocide and suicide deaths with guns for young people (under25) in the developed world. The facts just do not back up any claims that the USA is safer because of gun ownership.

• What are the numbers like for vehicle related deaths and heart disease?

• David, it is the culture in America that is the problem and not the gun ownership. There are plenty of other countries with just as easy access to firearms (Canada and Switzerland for example) and their ratings for gun-related crimes are far lower than that of the US.

The problem is that people in the US don’t respect firearms. I love to shoot and am beginning the process to buy my own, but I would never store it in my own home. They were invented to kill yet Americans either do not recognise this or they do and have an extremely low value for live.

So I would ask you to look at the whole picture instead of just outright blaming guns. Also I would add that many US states have just as restrictive firearms laws as many European states.

• Well said Jason ,but hey don’t shoot the messenger ;) , again for clarity , I was contesting the statement made here “American is one of the safest countries BECAUSE of the fact civilians own guns ” ……I don’t agree at all with that and the facts just don’t bear that out , regardless of weather it’s the gun “culture” or hit , it’s simply not the case .

• @Jason – Suicide rates by firearm in states with high gun ownership are way way higher than those with lower gun ownership.

While you’re encouraging people to look at the whole picture I think you’ve missed some of it yourself.

“A study of 626 shootings in or around a residence in three U.S. cities revealed that, for every time a gun in the home was used in a self-defense or legally justifiable shooting, there were four unintentional shootings, seven criminal assaults or homicides, and 11 attempted or completed suicides” (Kellermann et al, 1998)

It’s not about gun ownership versus culture – it’s about gun culture.

• Whats the movie called?

• Is this the plot for the new series of 24?

• Terrorists! Better spend a few billion dollars on Homeland Security.

• I’m an ex police officer who lives in NYC I had a successful career and clean record. Not even a traffic violation. It’s is nearly impossible for me to get a hand gun permit and a long gun permit is unaffordable. So the good citizen is punished while any thug can buy a weapon within minutes on the street! This is the problem with gun control!

• Gun related deaths in the US for kids under 15 is twelve times higher than the next 25 industrialised nations …we were talking about guns and their impact and the buklshit assertion that the US was allegedly safer because people carry guns , it’s nonsense and changing the issues won’t change the facts.

• You mentioned suicide with guns. So I was wondering how many people, i.e.humans, brothers, fathers, sisiters, mothers, aunts, grandmothers amd grandfathers die unnecessarily, isnt that the overall concern that people should live healthy happy lifes and die of old age/natural causes surronded by their family.

• From my cold dead hands!

• Are these guys ‘rebels’ too?

• @ Brendan LOL+++!!!
    Seriously, though Roibeard, if you truly believe what you posted, then I feel deeply sorry for you – and for the USA.

• Roibeard, they should make it illegal in Cork for 6-7 men to attack one man, outrages act of violence.

What about the house that was shot in Clara last week? Did the unknown suspect throw the bullet through the front door with his/her hand or was a gun used to force the bullet to penetrate the door? If so they should ban all guns in Ireland. Im sure that hall door did not deserve that type of abuse, can’t imagine the home owner was very pleased either.

There wasn’t too many comments on that story, I wonder would it have gotten more attention if the door was American.

• Are these guys ‘rebels’? It’s just AP calls people like these, in other words terrorists, freedom fighters and’ rebels’. This stuff is going to become more and more common in US. They pay their soldiers next to nothing. It’s Rome and it’s generals waiting to happen all over again. The US know this too, that’s why they sought and we’re granted permission to have 200,000 soldiers stationed on home soil for civil disobedience. The founding fathers would be turning in their graves.

• Associated Press who owns them….

• The whole topic of suicide is a tragedy for sure , but the assertion in the forum by RMZ was made that America is safer than anywhere else because people carry guns , I think that’s a wholly inaccurate , false , badly misunderstood point by RMZ and i think the stats and facts sow that to be the case.

• murdoch, face and hanibal are still out there. ba turn his life to protect america. they will take down the whole army. 82 grand on weapons. they bought lightbulbs and consulted with magiver. deadly film on the way.

• Hello Daithi,
    Sorry I can’t bring you home. I haven’t worked there for quite a while. I work with guns. 20 years as an army officer. Now past 12 years disarming rebel groups in post conflict in area. Disarmament, Demobilisation and Reintegration of ex- combatants is my business… in Africa, Asia and Caribbean Wasn’t too successful in the few years I spent in Haiti. Couldn’t compete with the NRA outlets in Daid County. My interest in gun control in the US hasn’t a lot to do with the US . If you want to subvert a 200 year old context concerning the right to have organised armed militias to protect the state, to permit crazy people to access the arms to shoot your kid in the US, that’s your business. I see the impact of absence of gun control on the proliferation of the illicit trafficking of small arms across the world… and I’d like to see control in that context. I read the NRA publications and even am related to members. I see the commitment of the NRA to generate fear so that you’ll spend your money on guns. That’s you’re business. NRA is a huge political lobby group pushing the business of selling guns and ammunition, to anyone, anywhere … and it doesn’t give a dalm who those weapons kill. Small arms are just tools for killing people. In civilised nations, the monopoly of armed force is retained by the state. That has been subverted in the US. However, don’t worry about your passport. You probably wouldn’t like it there.

• Desmond, my hat is off to you, I would not like your job and am very impressed with the overwhelming task at hand which you must tackle. I would like to talk to you off line, about your experiences if possible. Take care of yourself Desmond.

Sorry about the double post, typing on the iPhone and the spaces in the paragraph did not show up.

• So many bloody “experts” on here. Oh, I use the term “experts” very loosely. Never have I seen a pack of eejits talking through their hats like this. I love how it’s all “mark my words…it’s the fall of the US….this will become more common” etc etc.
    Maybe you should all put your “expert” opinions into fixing ur country there. It’s in a wee bit of a mess, in case you haven’t noticed, ;-)
    Tell u something, I’d much rather be in US than in Ireland with the state it’s in, glad I got out when I did.

I think I’ll have to delete the journal app…there is only so much moaning and begrudging I can take reading thru the comments on the various stories here.

Experts, my eye.

• Roibeard. I think you may have shot yourself in the foot talking about guns imported from Russia which are not weapons grade and so on. Fact is, assault rifles are legal in the US and it doesn’t seem to matter where they’re imported from (unless for trade sanctions). Anyone can go into a gun store presumably with a permit and buy one of these weapons perfectly legally. I really find it difficult to believe that that’s a very safe way of diing things.

• Mary it all depends on which state one lives in, for example a resident in New Jersey can not purchase an assault rifle in New Jersey or in any other state. However, next door in Pennsylvania one can if they do not have a criminal history and pass the requisite background checks. Each of the fifty states has totally different laws, that’s why the ATF investigate “straw purchases”, when a person with a clean record purchases a weapon in a state with less stringent laws and then sells the aforementioned weapons to criminals who transport them across state lines. So in a state like NJ an honest person is restricted on the type and amount of weapons he or she can purchase, but the criminal who is not afraid of the law can purchase whatever they want with the right contacts and right amount of money.

• Suicide rates by firearm in states with high gun ownership are way way higher than those with lower gun ownership

• RMZ, I am well aware of what goes on in the states. I was being sarcastic to the fact that there does not seem to me much outrage on violence committed in Ireland, only gun violence comitted in the USA, thus referencing an American door.

• So if the people who commited sucide with guns did not have access to a gun, they would still be alive? They would not of used pills, rope, razor blades, knifes, glass, trains, bridge, or drive the wrong way on the motorway to end their lives? (poor souls, it never gets any easier to know somone who takes their own life!)

• @Daithi – suicide “success” rates are massively higher with firearms than with most other methods.

I hope this doesn’t sound tasteless but for those committing suicide a quick and painless method is what they would prefer, so using a firearm is seen as very quick and direct.

Look at it this way – take 1000 suicide attempts and apply a “success” rate of 85% to that 1000 versus 50% – that’s 350 more people who can get help.

And that’s not to mention the 150 people who did not “successfully” commit suicide with a firearm who will live with massive injuries.

People will often say that those who want to die will manage to do so one way or the other. But that is to assume that help is not available after an “unsuccessful” attempt and that everyone who makes an attempt to kill themselves will keep trying until they are “successful”.

The decision to commit suicide is often not one that is made by a person when they have a true view on reality. Having a gun around during these dark times means the person is more likely to die than by any other method.

• Gosh! Amazing to see how many people the NRA has following and commenting in Journal. Are they on salary? Kills more American than foreign terrorism ever did.. NRA

• It is great to see, I am ashamed to say I let my NRA membership lapse, just like my Irish passport. Desmond can you bring me home if I get my passport renewed. I want to live like you.

Desmond I’ve been carrying a gun and badge for the last sixteen years and it’s not getting any easier. However, since I took an oath of allegiance to protect the US from all enemies, both domestic and foreign, that includes the 2nd amendment. I will keep that promise, because that is my job.

I know this has to be very difficult for you Desmond to hear someone from Tallaght use these words. However, if you can bring me home and get me a job so I can support my wife and two children with an honest living, I’ll start packing. Until that time I’ll have to uphold the promise I made to the country that does provide me with gainful employment and a very comfortable lifestyle.

Can you believe my four brothers have all sorts of guns they like to shot for fun and they are not even police officers and they’re not criminals either. Plus none of us have ever killed or shot anybody.

Desmond I had four opportunities to use deadly force and the suspects would have died. I could of got four medals, but I choose not to. On two separate occasions my lieutenants criticized me for not killing my assailants, but all’s well that ends well. I am content with the end results, I just hope those criminals learned from their mistakes and became productive members of society.

I wonder will they ever know how close they came to dieing. I know that felling Desmond, it is indescribable and sometimes comes back to haunt me in my dreams, I definitely appreciate life Desmond. Bring me home Desmond I want to be like you, it’s not easy making life and death decisions in a matter of seconds.

Well thank God I have a nice desk job now and very rarely have to go to dangerous neighborhoods anymore, but when we do there’s lots of us and it’s very organized, at least it feels safe.

Not like the days when I rode around in a patrol car by myself, I use to bring my shotgun on most shifts, very effective tool. I always get jealous when I see the Gardai riding around Dublin, three deep and they don’t have to carry guns. Bring me home Desmond.

But for the most part I was always surrounded by great guys, so if sugar went to shit in seconds, as it does, they always seem to show up in time. I don’t even think any of those boys were catholic, some of them were not even white, but we cared about each other and made sure we were safe and went home at the end of the shift in one piece.

What a job Desmond, “a front row seat to the greatest show on earth”, the best education I’ve ever received. Rapes, child molestations, drugs, homicides over drugs, strangers killing strangers, shoplifting, auto thefts, burglaries, pedestrians killed crossing the road, motorists dieing in collisions. Desmond you can’t imagine the horrific things people are capable if doing to each other. I can remember some of these things like it was yesterday. Bring me home Desmond, I want to live like you.

Desmond I hope you can find it in your heart to forgive someone like me, but this is my confession of an Irish immigrant in America. Would I have been better off if I stayed in Tallaght? I often lay awake at night and wonder is this really my destiny?Desmond I still go to mass, it helps a lot.

This is my life, I’ll be forty next year please God. It has been an amazing adventure. I am very great full for the opportunities I have been given in this country. I just hope I don’t have to pay for them with my life. I am that American who likes guns and the second Amendment, and as long as I live here I will continue to do so, because I don’t think you can bring me home Desmond, but thanks for trying.

• It is great to see, I am ashamed to say I let my NRA membership lapse, just like my Irish passport. Desmond can you bring me home if I get my passport renewed. I want to live like you.

Desmond I’ve been carrying a gun and badge for the last sixteen years and it’s not getting any easier. However, since I took an oath of allegiance to protect the US from all enemies, both domestic and foreign, that includes the 2nd amendment. I will keep that promise, because that is my job.

I know this has to be very difficult for you Desmond to hear someone from Tallaght use these words. However, if you can bring me home and get me a job so I can support my wife and two children with an honest living, I’ll start packing. Until that time I’ll have to uphold the promise I made to the country that does provide me with gainful employment and a very comfortable lifestyle.

Can you believe my four brothers have all sorts of guns they like to shot for fun and they are not even police officers and they’re not criminals either. Plus none of us have ever killed or shot anybody.

Desmond I had four opportunities to use deadly force and the suspects would have died. I could of got four medals, but I choose not to. On two separate occasions my lieutenants criticized me for not killing my assailants, but all’s well that ends well. I am content with the end results, I just hope those criminals learned from their mistakes and became productive members of society.

I wonder will they ever know how close they came to dieing. I know that felling Desmond, it is indescribable and sometimes comes back to haunt me in my dreams, I definitely appreciate life Desmond. Bring me home Desmond I want to be like you, it’s not easy making life and death decisions in a matter of seconds.

Well thank God I have a nice desk job now and very rarely have to go to dangerous neighborhoods anymore, but when we do there’s lots of us and it’s very organized, at least it feels safe.

Not like the days when I rode around in a patrol car by myself, I use to bring my shotgun on most shifts, very effective tool. I always get jealous when I see the Gardai riding around Dublin, three this is my confession of an Irish immigrant in America. Would I have been better off if I stayed in Tallaght? I often lay awake at night and wonder is this really my destiny?Desmond I still go to mass, it helps a lot.

This is my life, I’ll be forty next year please God. It has been an amazing adventure. I am very great full for the opportunities I have been given in this country. I just hope I don’t have to pay for them with my life. I am that American who likes guns and the second Amendment, and as long as I live here I will continue to do so, because I don’t think you can bring me home Desmond, but thanks for trying.

• Nothing is ver going to change in the States unless the gun laws are changed.. Obama, I hate to say it, is too much of a coward to address it as he knows it would be political suicide. So until he does, the massacres, high school shootings and random killing sprees are just going to keep on happening. Condemning them alone is not going to change anything.

• wake up and smell the conspiracies

• ok you say until obama addresses it. but you know nothing about American policy. obama is just an elected bum. he can’t do anything without congress. not to mention. you think if some how they change the gunlaws in America and ban people from owning them that its going to make a difference? most the people with guns here that do stupid ignorant stuff have illegal automatic rifles that are flown in or shipped in from other countries like Russia. they aren’t going out there with military grade m-16s or M4s its Russian ak-47s. get your facts straight before you start talking about gun control. cause truthfully America is probably one of the safest countries in the world because of the fact civilians are allowed to own guns.

• Roibeard, are you serious?!

• naw dexter i just said it cause i felt like seeing myself type to myself. yes im serious. Tell me a thief or pick pocket would steal from you if he knew that there was a possibility that you could have a legal firearm on your person. Ya’ll moan and groan about that poor lad and this and that. Like that fella in Cork that got jumped by the 6 or 7 guys that came into his flat and jumped him and sent him to the hospital. You think they would have done that had he had a loaded firearm in the house? its the criminals that you have to worry about. not the common citizens that own legal firearms.

• and yous can give me the thumbs down all you like. but you know its the truth.

• LOL! I doubt Roibeard would recognise “the truth” if it kicked him up the ass!

• Well if I was a criminal and know a house had guns inside yea I’d break in to get better guns that might be stored inside or to have those weapons to sell on the street to my criminal friends. I’d file off serial number, I’d cut the barrel from the shotgun and go rob a post office.

Oh and as I know there is guns in the house I’m taking a gun in with me and anything I see moving gets a bullet.

I can tell you now in Ireland if there is a firearm in a house that house is far more of a target.

• Roi… You give the example of the guy in cork who was jumped by 6 or 7 fellas he would probably have been shot dead if guns were legal dumbass argument. America has one of the worse gun murder rates in the western world think its summit like 10000 + per year. Reason mmmm it’s difficult but maybe summit to do with any nut bar as long as they haven’t been caught before can buy a gun.

• @Roibeard – absolute tripe. People who defend gun laws in America are absolutely blinded by the right to bear arms.
      You’ll look at whatever statistics you want but the truth is that:

“for 2010, there were 31,513 deaths from firearms, distributed as follows by mode of death: Suicide 19,308; Homicide 11,015; Accident 600.” (Sherry et al, 2012)

“A study of 626 shootings in or around a residence in three U.S. cities revealed that, for every time a gun in the home was used in a self-defense or legally justifiable shooting, there were four unintentional shootings, seven criminal assaults or homicides, and 11 attempted or completed suicides” (Kellermann et al, 1998)

“regardless of storage practice, type of gun, or number of firearms in the home, having a gun in the home was associated with an increased risk of firearm homicide and suicide in the home” (Dahlberg, Ikeda and Kresnow, 2004)

“Individuals in possession of a gun at the time of an assault are 4.46 times more likely to be shot in the assault than persons not in possession” (Branas et al, 2009)

• * doing. Damn. ffsy (fat finger syndrome!)

• Thanks Daithi,
    The respect in the job done is mutual.
    You’d find me on Facebook or LinkedIn …
    Des.
    Currently in Hiroshima.

• @ Mary. What you don’t hear is that there is a full criminal background check done on each individual that purchases a firearm but homeland security. Also it is illegal to purchase or own any assault rifle that is fully automatic without having a federal firearms permit which is a lot harder to obtain then a regular gun permit. It also means that the ATF can enter you home at any hour day or night and ask you to produce said weapons. I live in the states. I have all my life. I’m not as dumb as you all think i am.

Someone above said gun related deaths are 8 times higher in the United States than its equivalent economic counter parts around the globe. that’s probably because of the fact that we are 8 times the size of our global counterparts. We have more city’s and more gangs. If Ireland or Northern Ireland or The UK period had the amount of gangs we had here in the states you would be wiped off the map and the gangs would own your community’s just like they do here.

Either way I’m not trying to have a political conversation with ya’ll. I’m just simply saying its bollocks to condemn our right to keep and bare arms because a couple people that buy illegal firearms and start shooting the place up.

You know Ireland was once a country that fought for its rights and its freedoms and its independence. So whats happened to you people on thejournal that made you lose that fight inside of you?

• @ Daithi Homer no it wouldn’t have gotten more because it probably wouldn’t have even been in the newspaper. Theres alot of stuff that goes on in America that you don’t hear about because the News doesn’t care. The media and the government control the states. not the people.

• Then in that case Daithi. Your audience you should be speaking to is above. I can speak about it all day long but ya’ll are the ones that have to live with it everyday.

• Nice timing as Romney catches some momentum with the appointment of Ryan his running mate.

• test

Add New Comment