TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 5 °C Saturday 25 May, 2013

The 9 at 9: Saturday

Nine things you need to know to start your day.

Image: Ross Whitaker

EVERY DAY, TheJournal.ie brings you nine things you need to know with your morning cup of coffee.

1. #ROAD DEATHS: A two-year-old boy from Ireland is among those to have died following a road crash in Devon in the southwest of England which left another man dead yesterday afternoon. The boy’s parents are critically injured in hospital according to BBC News which reports that the family had been on holiday in the area. The other man who died had been arrested and taken to hospital.

2. #HSE: The HSE recorded a financial deficit of €280 million to the end of May as the government has ordered a review of spending in the health service, the Irish Times reports. The paper says the figures are alarming as the situation in the HSE has worsened in recent weeks. It’s now feared that money planned for investment in mental health services could be diverted elsewhere to make up the shortfall.

3. #AIB: A radical overhaul at Allied Irish Banks (AIB) could see some 90 branches closed as part of a restructuring programme, the Irish Examiner reports this morning. The paper says that rural areas are set to be most affected as the banks plans to deliver traditional banking services through An Post. The bank sought 2,5000 redundancies in March.

4. #ULSTER BANK: Speaking of banks, the problems at Ulster Bank continue to affect customers as branches around the country will open today in order to assist those affected. Some 36 banks will open today from 10am to 3pm. Meanwhile we’ve put together the experiences of some customers as the crisis looks set to enter its fourth working week on Monday.

5. #LIBYA: In its first free elections in more than 50 years, Libyans go to the polls today to select a temporary assembly amid fears that violence could overshadow the latest attempt to move on from the Gadaffi era. Al Jazeera reports that federalist protesters have threatened to boycott or sabotage the vote while yesterday a helicopter carrying election material from Benghazi was shot at in mid-flight killing a member of the logistics team on board.

6. #US: A diner owner in Ohio died just hours after meeting US president Barack Obama and serving him breakfast. Josephine ‘Ann’ Harris served Obama bacon and eggs as he stopped-off in Akron as part of a campaign bus tour of the state. The Washington Post reports that Obama expressed his condolences to the family of the Ann’s Place owner, 70, who died of a heart attack.

7. #MINIMUM PRICING: A price war between two cousins running nightclubs in the Donegal town of Bundoran has led to a judge imposing a minimum price of €2.50 per bottle of beer or measure of spirits being sold from any club in the area. The Irish Examiner says that at one point one of the clubs was selling shots at 50 cent while the other was offering free drink all night for €20.

8. #GARCIA MARQUEZ: The Nobel prize-winning novelist Gabriel Garcia Marquez is suffering from dementia his brother has said. BBC News reports that the 85-year-old is said to be suffering from some memory lapses with brother Jaime saying that the disease runs in the family. The author, known as ‘Gabo, is famous for his magical realism and is the author of One Hundred Years of Solitude.

9. #PENNIES: While paying off our mortgage might be a distant dream for some of us, a man in the US who pledged to make his last payment with pennies has done just that. AP reports that Thomas Daigle dropped off around 62,000 pennies in two boxes for the final payment on the Massachusetts home he bought with his wife in 1977. Awh…

Read next:

Comments (17 Comments)

• gina61 07/07/12 #

shocking that money allocated for mental health services will be just taken.when mental health services are already working with little finance already

• Who decided that #mental health should get such a low priority? By ignoring mental health there will be increased costs in the General hospital, A&E etc People who may experience mental health issues don’t need to be drugged into oblivion with drugs. They need support in their communities, as outlined in the Vision for CHANGE document that was written in 2006 but has never been implemented.

Several months ago I wrote to The Joint Oireachtas Committee on Health about wastage of money in the medical card scheme and NOTHING has been done about it. It was a specific flaw in the system that could have easily been rectified. Obviously the powers that be have no interest in saving money in that area.

And to finish here is an article by Dr Pat Bracken from yesterday’s Irish Times. (Thanks to Psychiatrist’s Pat Bracken, David Healy, Peter Breggin, Ivor Browne et al for speaking out and telling the TRUTH): http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/opinion/2012/0706/1224319502806.html”

• I don’t seem to be able to change my profile picture on here. It stems from a bad experience with mainstream Psychiatrists in our ‘mental health service’ almost 4 years ago that severely affected the last 4 years of my life. I won’t elaborate here. Here is an extract from Pat Bracken’s article: “There is evidence that a significant section of academic psychiatry, internationally, has been corrupted by its links with the pharmaceutical industry”.

Meeting Professor Ivor Browne a few months ago was a turning point for me in some ways. He has helped me a lot. I also follow the work of Professor of Psychiatry David Healy and Peter Breggin. Never stop or change any medication without consulting a doctor, due to withdrawal.

Here is a recent lecture Dr David Healy in Trinity College: http://www.nursing-midwifery.tcd.ie/events-conferences/events-schedule/

I developed symptoms of Manic Depression/Bipolar while on an “anti-depressants”/SSRI for Panic Disorder (at the age of 38).

And finally, GlaxoSmithKline ‘guilty of fraud’. Drugs firm GlaxoSmithKline will pay $3 billion (€2.38 billion) in fines after admitting to the largest healthcare fraud in US history. Some of these “anti-depressants” were been given to children. http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-us-canada-18673220

• So instead of targeting vulnerable people in cuts in mental health can they not tackle some of the real problems in overspending. For example, http://www.irishexaminer.com/ireland/ghost-medical-card-bill-costs-us-210m-192190.html

• take from mental services, but 600 a nite for luxury hotel, 800 for travel expenses,, its ok for tds to drain this country dry, but hse get the short hand, its ridiculous having leeches running our country for their own pockets, not one of them should be making over 100 thousand including expenses, they are no more than glorified school teachers who also took their paychecks from the state, have never employed anyone, paid taxes for business and staff, are we so stupid to let this go on, when will it all stop, it has to start at top, i just got letter from bank i am in arrears on my mortgage, and that they can reposess my home, or it can cost 2500 in fees , should i care,,,,,,,,,, i could get rent allowance as i am a single mom who lost her job, try paying bills on 200 a week, thats house insurance, mortgage insurance they dont care about the people, only themselves, bloody leeches and we are laughing stock of europe, india , china,, they think our government are bigger dictators, they live rich while their people go hungry,, but it did happen before but then we were under english rule, ,, now we are under irish that are not for the people, just pay back the foreigners loans that were not insured, every other country got back in market faster than we are after going bankrupt and now have no debt, we will just have debt and pay back, come to kerry, we have no room in schools for kids within district, no bus service to other schools out of district, so drive your kid 12 miles to nearest school, now try and get a job with picking teens up and dropping off,,, ireland is a beautiful country with idiots selling it out to famine once again,, and yes i am mad as hell

• I feel and hear everything you have just said Jackie..
      Seems the people are great at given out about what is going on but yet too stupid to organize themselves..
      There are so many little groups demonstrating and making waves but yet they wont organize to join up in to one
      big group because they seem to be blinkered vision with their own agendas.
      Government brainwashing is at its best as they turn privet and public sectors against each other.
      I feel shame to hear Irish people still stating to be staunch FF, FG, and Labour supporters.
      These parties are so big membership wise (right down to the last canvasser) that they have a large percentage
      of the vote before an election is even thought of.

(As for the subject of Schools)
      I feel sorry for the parents that are expecting big changes after hearing about the hundred million borrowed yesterday for the schools..
      I seen all the top politicians on the news boasting how wonderful they are to have sealed this deal.
      ‘Its just another loan the will be diluted by administration fees and suspect tenders including lots of brown envelopes for the ones at the top..

• Obviously our Government think that mental illness is a choice. It’s certainly not a proper sickness like cancer. Mental illness can’t kill people not like a real disease. This is patently wrong. It’s time to take mental illness seriously.

• @Doc Benway…
      Everyday we see the red flags and yet vote the same crooks in for the money..
      A hotel stay at €600 a per night appears on a TD’s expense’s return as the government announces a cut in mental health!
      I cant speak for every Irish person but i for one feel both shame and anger being an Irishman in these times.

• Hi Jackie; The bank can reposess your home because (They Own It) until you make the final payment. Based on that fact, I hope you did not volunteer yourself to pay the household charge which should be paid by the owner of the property “The Bank” Sorry to hear they are giving you grief. Is anyone paying attention to this con job household charge. Ask the Bank to give you a receipt to say that you own the house, they will not so, they own it. Let them, the legal owners, pay the charge.

• ephen i did not, if i could afford it i may have but where i am is sort of limbo, trying to keep elec and food is good enough for me at the moment, and if they provided adequate schools i may not have to drive kids there are over 20 kids in this predicament, and i am not going to become a taxi driver for others and get extra insurance to cover them, think things are so out of touch and the bullying aint working by the government, we do need a change over in politics, i feel if they had 5 business people from each town having meetings , that would meet with one or two politicians to say what is really going on , that would be better than having all these councillers and no idea what is going on on a daily basis, business in tralee is so bad, we have more 2nd hand shops and empty buildings, but the government are renting out about 50 percent of them from ce shemes, seems to me thats all they produce is work for nothing schemes that wont hire you as they can get next person in for same deal, 3 years and your out, they are off unemployment roll but still being paid the same for a scheme for government, its a big horrible circle, the cut backs by the hse are crazy, do the government not see how many people are keeping elderly at home with a few visits to make life easy , gettig patients into and out of bed and shower help, but they would prefer to put them in nursing homes, which is 4 times the amount, i dont see any reasoning to how they operate,,, i will end up in home for bewildered if they carry on, , i really dont mind if they take my house as i have kids and they are not going to let me sleep in the park or outside the garda barracks, they will then give help to those who need it to late, they will house me, with cheap rent, a cheap buy out plan or give me rent allowance lol,, which i think is a joke, why do people get rent allowance, and get same money as myself,,,, i get no mortgage allowance every week, and its the rich landlord who benefits with his 20 rental incomes,,,, and i loose my home to rent from a rich landlord whom the government once again pay,,, is it me,, am i seeing something wrong,,,,, and then the legal bill we pay out, how come nothing said about that,, same people up in court week after week, get legal aid,,, i can see having legal aid once or twice in a life time, but we pay expensive lawyers week after week for the same thieves, druggies, that should be stopped straight away, then see lawyers not acting as leeches also, and go do an honest days work,,, ok i better shut up as i am not the person to be talking as i am unemployed lol,, and sick of looking for a job and giving out cvs, but tomorrow is paper day so will go circle and try again,,,,#

• Jackie, We live in a very corrupt state run by despots who rip you off in a civilised manner and we have been taking this shit for decades. Partly to blame are those who oocontinually put these arseholes into office and then do everything they demand, like voting yes when they are told to, what a bunch of Fcukin eeeeejits we have in this country. That is why you are in your current predicament.

• why the hell are the good people of this country not up in arms about all the crap and austerity we are taking from this shower of gombeens and their European masters? not one day has gone by in the last 4 years without some threat of cutbacks or removal of essential services, while all the time the likes of Kenny , Gilmore and their cronies grab more and more in expenses and benefits ,the swine are supping at the trough while the peasants search for crumbs.

• So, An Post will be doing Mortgages for AIB.

• gina61 07/07/12 #

well Jackie

Add New Comment