TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 14 °C Tuesday 21 May, 2013

Garda in hospital after off-duty attack in Limerick

Gardaí say the attack was unprovoked and has no links with the victim’s occupation.

File photo of St Patrick's Road
Image: Google Streetview

A MEMBER OF An Garda Síochána is currently in hospital after being assaulted while off-duty in Limerick over the weekend.

The man, who is believed to be in his 20s, was seriously assaulted on St. Patrick’s Road in the city at about 3.30am Sunday.

A spokesperson for the Gardaí said the victim was getting out of a car in the residential area when he was approached by three youths. He was struck by one of them and fell backwards onto the ground and hit his head.

He was taken to Mid-Western Regional Hospital where he remains. His head injuries have been described as serious. It is understood that the garda does not work in the area.

Gardaí at Henry Street are investigating all circumstances of the incident and have appealed for witnesses. No arrests have been made.

Read next:

Comments (51 Comments)

• Thoughts and prayers with the lad and his family!

Fact he’s a guard shouldn’t come into it, seems like a random attack which is shocking enough on its own. Really sad that this sort of thing happens.

• it is shocking, but i’d hazard a guess that since it happened in the residential area where he lived, his attackers knew him, and probably wasn’t a random attack (If i was the kind to go around attacking people, I’d probably learn who the guards in the neighourhood were)

• Wasn’t aware it was his residential area as the article states “as he got out of his vehicle in the residential area…” so if that is the case, it would make it less likely it was a random attack. Not necessarily worse than any other attack in that case but would add an extra vicious element.

• mike 16/09/12 #

You can be sure that the lads who did this have about 50 previous convictions each and are still walking the streets. America has a 3 strikes and your out rule, we need this here.

• 3 strikes are u go to jail for twenty odd years is a law in certain states to oppress the working class and it doesnt work.if someone has been found guilty of two relatively small crimes,how do u think they would react when they were facing their 3rd arrest.id imagine theyd do anything to get away such as murder or kidnapp.shut up u fool

• Third arrest?? Why would any decent minded citizen require to be arrested more than once to learn a lesson, three strikes is more than a sufficent warning for persons irregardless of the crime, thinking like that might would sort out a lot of criminals here

• I love their 3strikes rule should be introduced everywhere. as you said, normal people fit to be in society shouldn’t need more than one slap on the wrist. hope this poor young fella recovers speedily.

• Micheal 16/09/12 #

Look at the Norway prison system.
      People there are basically rehabilitated to become fully functioning, respectful, law abiding on their first entry. The stats in terms of reoffending show that their system works. (practically no reoffending ever occurs).
      It’s not necessarily about teaching a lesson, it’s about showing them the manner of their ways, and turning them into something better. Ain’t no amount of sitting in a prison cell looking at the wall opposite going to do that for you. The system needs to be dealt with properly. If you think there are Mountjoy’s all over the world, you are thankfully mistaken.

• In Norway assaulting a public servant has a mandatory minimum jail sentence. This might stop mindless yobbos from violence against guards, nurses, firemen, etc

• A young lad has been seriously injured in an attack .. Simple as that .. Garda or Not who cares about their profession .. A family is by a bedside tonight and a nice big disclaimer by AGS to keep the public assured that everything is okey dokey.

• mike 16/09/12 #

we have such a high rate of repeat offenders because we waste 65000 euro per prisoner a year. it’s like a summer camp for them with even play stations in their bedrooms. then they get early release. prison should be so hard you would never do anything that might get you sent back again. also think of all the money we would save not having to provide free legal aid for every repeat .

• I would have no issues with halving (or quartering) the amount we spend on prisoners. But there is no evidence that that would lessen the number of people committing crimes. In fact, if you do the research, the opposite is true.

There’s a saying that common sense isn’t as common as it should be.
      But it’s also not always as sensible as it should be.

We have to act based on what we KNOW from international research works.

This isn’t an area where you can just do what feels right.

You’re gambling with the safety of our society.

• My best wishes to the poor man, this incident further highlights the dangers and aggression members of the force face on a daily basis, whether on duty or not. The perpetrators of this heinous act will hopefully receive quick and decisive punishment. Perhaps if assaults against Gardai were dealt with more severely in terms of custodial sentences, we might see a decrease in such acts

• it said it wasnt related to his occupation so what ya talkin about?

• That doesn’t negate the risk members of the force face on a daily basis, and whether this attack was related to his occupation or not the sentences passed in general for assaults on Garda members are not sufficient enough, that’s what I’m talking about now grow up and have a little sympathy for the man

• What sort of people are the 25 citizens who red thumbed ur comment, they are not of the ilk who perpetrated this shocking act, as they I’m sure do not read the journal, so who are ” you”. Will one of you ( the 25) be brave enough to give your reasons in print, I’m saddened but sadly not surprised by it.

• @gerry my guess would be that he specified heavy sentences for assaults on gardai & not assaults on people in general.also there are sados who like to go onto comments here and thumb them down anyway so i wouldnt get too bothered about it.

• Micheal 16/09/12 #

What about higher sentences on frontline medical staff? They too have the risk of something like this happening. Or those who collect taxes. Or should we not extend sentencing for anyone who commits a crime against anyone in the PS?
      It’s not higher sentencing that’s needed, it’s bringing children up with respect for others, regardless of what their occupation. It could’ve been me or you getting out of the car, his profession has nothing to do with it.

• paul 16/09/12 #

I gave it a red thumb because the article clearly says the attack was unrelated to his occupation yet Richie says it highlights the dangers the Gardai face whether on duty or not so his point is not relevant. Also his point about assaults against Gardai being treated more severely, well I feel that assaults by Gardai should also be treated more severely

• johnny 16/09/12 #

@christ87 where does it say it wasn’t related to his occupation?

• johnny 16/09/12 #

See it now in the heading sorry christ86

• you would only hear a comment like that from a guard or someone who thinks there better than everyone else. why the hell would it matter if he was a guard or an everyday person what makes the guards so special compaired to everone else. an assault on a guard or an assault on your average person the sentance should be the same. i hate people who think there better than everyone else. and i think you need to get your facts straight the article clearly says it was a random attack on an of duty officer in an area he wasnt from and didnt work so how was his profession anything to do with it. It could have happened to anyone copper or not.

• johnny 17/09/12 #

Sarah, every single country in the world affords extra protection to Police officers because of the fact that they are called to deal with violent situations so it’s acceptable to afford them extra protection and that goes for all emergency services, firemen, ambulance personnel nurses the lot they should be afforded proper protection. Am I saying them people are better than me, no I’m not but the day we don’t haven we are in trouble

• Good Lord I humbly apologise I missed the small sub heading in smaller text than the main body of the report, of course that’s a good reason to think Gardai believe they are better than anyone else, for your information I don’t believe any Garda believes that to be the case, perhaps we should concentrate on hoping the guy recovers rather than take a pop at the profession he serves, whether his assailants knew his profession or not this was a vicious assault and that is a fact that will not change

• What’s your badge number Richie?

• Apple core that is neither relevant nor none of anyone’s concern, I have the openness to put my own name to my comments that should be enough

• Well it’s quite pertinent really considering you made comments that were of no relevance to the story. It would explain a huge amount considering the general proficiency of our ‘guardians of the peace’. Back to collecting stealth tax now.

• Ouch, original stuff there, come back when you have the common decency and where with all to debate under your own name instead of a fruity alias

• Come back to me when you’ve a better command of the English language Richard. I am using my own name by the way.

• I’d say that’s a good quality , fine sour, green apple u have ranting there.

• paul 17/09/12 #

I gave you my reasons for the red thumb Gerry. Tell me if I’m wrong

• mike 16/09/12 #

oh Chris . Don’t be so pedantic. We don’t have to copy their law exactly. Would your liberal conscience be happy with a 50 strikes and your out rule.

• Nice bitch slap there Mike

• You can’t say ” has , we need this here” and then go on to call someone a pedant for pointing out the problems with that law.

And you haven’t said HOW you’d make it different, it’s either you go away for a long time after the third strike (regardless of what that third strike is, which is what most people find so problematic about this system), or you don’t (in which case it’s, what exactly…. three strikes and you *might be* out?)

• mike 16/09/12 #

I’m all for educating prisoners. but that is while they are serving adequate sentences not instead. Also if they don’t avail of the education provided and continue to reoffend then they should be removed from society for a longer period.

• Wish you a quick recovery and also hope you get those cowards for 99% of the public will support you and turn a blind eye.

• peter 16/09/12 #

Nothing to do with his job, that’s a load of Crap anyway. Thats Crap spouted by the Garda management so the young Garda cant make a claim or claim that it was an occupational injury. Poor bloke will be expected back into work asap or he will start receiving threatning sick letters.

• mike 16/09/12 #

Robert. One method is to assign points to each type and severity of crime. you then set a max. if a person accumulates enough points to reach the max then they get a mandatory lengthy sentence.

• When will the judicial system in this country grow a pair of balls and start imprisoning gob shites who clearly give the fingers to the system. I would be a fan of the 3 strike rule.

• Kevin. there are currently about 4500 people in the Irish prison population. How big do you think that number should be?

From a fiscal point of view, this costs the taxpayer €65,000 per prisoner per year.

Source: http://www.iprt.ie/prison-facts-2

I am in favour of reducing the crime rate, however best the experts in this field deem that to be done. Very few people argue in favour of increasing prison populations and prison terms (just look at rates of recidivism). The only group that continually argue for this are prison wardens (who obviously have a vested interest).

We need to spend MORE money on educating and training the prisoners we have, so they have opportunities when they get out that aren’t McDonalds (and in todays economy, if that) or crime. Regardless of your personal views, there’s no point doubling the number of prisoners, you’ll only end up with a huge bill and twice the number of hardened ex cons who can’t get honest work.

• Hmmm. I replied, but think it disappeared. Briefly:

You’re just taking discretionary power from the judiciary. There are too many examples in the US of prisoners who had two strikes, were trying to turn their lives around, and then get busted for something minor like carrying personal amounts of drugs.

Your suggestion would have exactly the same issue as this, where guys who are close to the barrier, and are genuinely trying to turn their lives around, get arrested for something very minor, and get major prison sentences because of it. If for no other reason than cost to taxpayer, this makes no sense

• @robert
      I down know how many criminals you know but educating them will not help. If anything it will only make them better criminals. Crime is about lack of morality as much as lack of education. I know plenty of people who left school early but none who feel the need to attack people randomly on Saturday night.
      I agree prisons cost too much to run but that’s because prisoners are treated like hotel guests in them and surely the cost of the carnage these people cost on the street is higher???
      If you think these people who have made parts of Ireland nearly no go areas (including parts of the city centre in Dublin, a tourist hub) need more support then you’re the reason along with others like you why things like this happen.
      Random acts of violence by youngthugs who even if they get caught won’t get any kind of punishment and they know it well.
      More education?? I bet the three mentioned here all left school before 15 to become artists (draw the dole). A favourite joke among these types.
      Some people will always see them as victims though….

• John. Read up on the effects of education among prisoners.

https://www.google.ca/search?q=effects+of+education+among+prisoners

Like I say, I’m not pro-prisoner, I’m anti-crime.
      We have to do whatever we have to do to get the crime rate down.

The research has been done all over the world. There is agreement.

Education works.
      Nothing else does.

• @ Robert I agree that the prisons are overcrowded I believe that offenders of crime on the lower end of the scale should be forced to do work in the community. What I mean is wear a bright orange boiler suit and sweep the streets,pick up litter in public parks etc… For what I know about criminals they would hate to do an honest days work. Failure to partake in this type of work would activate a custodial sentence.

• Kevin, on that we’re in full agreement.

• peter 16/09/12 #

If their locked up for longer they cant commit as many crimes. Do gooder bullshit is all that is

• johnny,
    i agree that public servants need protecting but so does every one else. who are you to say that a copper should be above every day citizens and be protected more than the rest of us when its us tax payers that pay there wages but yet were below a them in sociaty just cuz they wear a badge. and a lot of the police force are corrupt and criminals themselves but because they wear that badge they get away with it and thats a fact.

• I think what people mean by affording extra protection to guards/firemen/nurses is that they deal with people who may or may not want their help or who may bear a grudge afterwards.

This leaves them open to threats and actions that are firm rectory related to the profession they choose to work in and as such may leave them vulnerable in an off duty capacity. Should any person have to look over their shoulders when entering their car/home to see if they are being followed or have to put up with aggro outside work?

• Paul, fair play, point taken.

Add New Comment