TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 12 °C Sunday 26 May, 2013

Older people ‘living in fear’ over reduced garda presence in their communities

Active Retirement Ireland says growing numbers of older people are frightened of criminals acting with “impunity” after cuts to policing presence.

Image: absolut via Shutterstock

OLDER PEOPLE ARE “living in fear” of being attacked in their own homes because of reduced policing presence in their communities, according to Active Retirement Ireland (ARI).

Speaking after a home invasion in Co Donegal in which an 84-year-old woman was assaulted and robbed, Maureen Kavanagh, ARI’s Chief Executive, said that members of the organisation were more apprehensive than ever before.

“It’s a desperate situation for many of our members, especially those living alone,” Kavanagh said, “There are fewer Gardaí on our streets due to station closures and cutbacks, and older people are reduced to living in fear of being targeted by criminals.

“Violent home invasions are unfortunately becoming more common, and when a 96-year-old woman was brutally assaulted in Buncrana last month, we received several phone calls from concerned members all over the country.”

Kavanagh stressed the concern felt by older people was not limited to rural areas such as the north-west: “In urban areas, even those unaffected by station closures, there are still fewer Gardaí on the beat and this makes older people quite frightful of criminal elements of society who seem to act with impunity.”

Kavanagh said more must be done by the government to allay the fears of older people. “We saw with the recent cuts to the Seniors Alert Scheme that bottom line figures are being prioritised ahead of people’s welfare. It’s a positive move that those cuts were reversed, but with 100 Garda stations to be closed this month, and fewer and fewer Gardaí present in communities, the government must take steps to allay the fears of older people in all corners of the country.”

Read: New lead for police investigating murder of pensioner
Read: 96-year-old woman attacked in aggravated burglary in Donegal

Read next:

Comments (37 Comments)

• Take the police men away from the ex Taoiseach’s and let them look after the elderly
    The ex Taoiseach’s have enough money to pay for their own security out of their pensions

• Phil 15/01/13 #

The punishment for crimes on the elderly should be so severe as its getting out of control.

• If they shut down all the “cash for gold” shops, burglaries will drop very very quickly.

I was told by a gardai that they went up 800% in my area when one opened nearby!

They closed the head shops pretty quickly when it was an embarrassment for a judge……but when us common folk are being beaten and robbed…….it takes years of discussion……..

• Even regulate them. If the seller had to give id and an address and the gold had to be held for a period that allowed Gardai enough time to investigate any robberies it may not be necessary to close them. If that won’t work then they should be closed.

• There you go Mr Shatter – Do something about it and make them feel safer. While you are at it put a heavy police presence in city centres , I rarely see a guard on the streets esp at night in Dublin.

Alan Shatter you are a complete joke as the minister for justice, what would a posh boy like you know about the reality of crime? This ministerial role should be for an experienced hardline garda.

• The role of the minister for health is to act as a lightening rod for misdirected, generalised public hate.

It’s a complex mix of budgeting, old contracts, unions, HSE and hospital management but if you try to do anything about it whatever section you try and reform will savage you. Usually with full public support.

• shatter is the (so called) minister for *lack of* justice.
      He should hang his head in shame.

• Just older people? I think there’s more than the elderly frightened…. !

• When I was a lad my da and a couple other men from our estate used to walk around the area making sure no one in our area came to harm, have a cup of tea in each others houses and that then do one last lap of the estate when most were in their beds. Maybe an hour or so most nights. Neighbourhood watch kind of thing, plus other neighbours would join in if a couple couldn’t make it. A shout through an oap s letter box, hi ye Mary made them and everyone feel safe. I grew up in a decent estate but even better cos everyone felt safe and bonded doesn’t happen today.. Bring it back. Knock on a door ask a pal and I bet in a week it would be a tight knit community.

• Older people should receive an allowance for the upkeep of a dog – great protection and and also good company. Living in a country village without a Garda presence is the norm – it is the attitude of the bastards who prey on the old that has altered.
    Punishment should suit the crime and prison should be punishment not a home from home.

• If any town or townland organised a commitee of vigilantes, they would be swamped with gardai in a week.

• Anyone who attacks and robs an O.A.P. doesn’t deserve any civil rights or rehabilitation .

Put them down permanently!

• Absolute shame on you Shatter and an absolute shame on this bunch of wasters in government. What sort of society has their elderly living in fear so they can please their euro bosses by paying unsecured bonds to faceless bankers. Shame on you.

• The fact of the matter is this…. During the Celtic Tiger the government squandered loads of money, they paid themselves outrageous salaries and they have and given themselves outrageous pensions all the while the voters of this nation sat by and watched. The Celtic Tiger has ended and little has changed, except that voters are loosing services (ex. garda hiring freeze, closing of gardi stations). The government is still top heavy. Politician s continue to pay themselves huge salaries and pensions agreements are still being honored (does Bertie deserve his pension?).

Come on… What does it take for the Irish people to say enough is enough and force change? When will you organize yourselves and fight for honesty, integrity and transparency? How many victims do there need to before the ROI as a cohesive unit of voters organize and confront the old vanguard and systems?

You want the Troika to leave… How can they leave? We can’t govern ourselves. We are unable to sustain ourselves financially.

• Seamus, An Garda Síochána’s own unions have expressed their concerns at fewer beat Gardaí in certain areas, and they are in the process of augmenting this diminished presence with community-based measures, but these are still at pilot stage.

The Gardaí are trying to police smarter, and they’re doing the best they can with more limited resources, but there are fewer community liaison Gardaí and fewer Gardaí on regular foot patrol and drive-by in many areas. There are certainly plenty of able and willing officers ready to respond to crime, but proactive policing has taken a massive hit.

• SOLUTION:

About 20 years ago, the city where I’m from in the states had the same problem that we are now faced. Less funding, too many police officers working in admininstration and too many police officers in police cars. They found that the way of doing business was not effective.

As a result, they “did” close police stations, they froze police recruitment, they redeployed police officers and the brought in the new concept of Community Oriented Policing. What is Community Oriented Policing?

Community policing is a philosophy that promotes organizational strategies, which support the systematic use of partnerships and problem-solving techniques, to proactively address the immediate conditions that give rise to public safety issues such as crime, social disorder, and fear of crime.

Community Partnerships
    Collaborative partnerships between the law enforcement agency and the individuals and organizations they serve to develop solutions to problems and increase trust in police.
    ◦Other Government Agencies
    ◦Community Members/Groups
    ◦Nonprofits/Service Providers
    ◦Private Businesses
    ◦Media

•Organizational Transformation
    The alignment of organizational management, structure, personnel, and information systems to support community partnerships and proactive problem solving.

Agency Management
    ◦Climate and culture
    ◦Leadership
    ◦Labor relations
    ◦Decision-making
    ◦Strategic planning
    ◦Policies
    ◦Organizational evaluations
    ◦Transparency
    ◦Organizational Structure
    Geographic assignment of officers
    ◦Despecialization
    ◦Resources and finances
    Personnel
    ◦Recruitment, hiring, and selection
    ◦Personnel supervision/evaluations
    ◦Training
    Information Systems (Technology)
    ◦Communication/access to data
    ◦Quality and accuracy of data

•Problem Solving
    The process of engaging in the proactive and systematic examination of identified problems to develop and rigorously evaluate effective responses.
    ◦Scanning: Identifying and prioritizing problems
    ◦Analysis: Researching what is known about the problem
    ◦Response: Developing solutions to bring about lasting reductions in the number and extent of problems
    ◦Assessment: Evaluating the success of the responses
    ◦Using the crime triangle to focus on immediate conditions (victim/offender/location)

In essence, Community Oriented Policing puts police back on the streets, walking up and down streets, getting to know neighbours by name, helping with loca\community events out of uniform, adopting a community and allowing more visability.

Once the neighbourhood and the police realized the benefits of working together for the betterment of the community. The community changed almost over night. Crime of all sorts decreased by double digit percentages.

The question is… Why hasn’t this concept\philosophy been introduced to Ireland? I know they know about this concept\philosphy. If they don’t then there is a huge problem i our police force.

• The more fearful the elderly become, the more likely they will move to retirement homes. Privately owned ones. The very ones which TDs and their families invest in.

• We all have to make sacrifices so that our Lords and Masters can live in comfort and privilege.

. It means that the elderly will not live with reasonable security, they will receive inadequate care and support and receive no dignity.

Our Government and senior civil servants, including to ranks of an Garda Siochana receive wonderful salaries and will have munificent pensions. That is the clear priority policy.

• i bet their plenty garda where td live

• What a load of hysteria.

Many of the stations being closed were already mothballed.

I live in a rural area whose Garda station is still open. I have no idea who the Gardai are or when the barracks is open: neither do my neighbours. If we needed police we would call the county town.

• While I have every sympathy for this women she was robbed a month before hand and yet again she kept a considerable amount of cash at home! That’s just stupid put it in a bank and stop making yourself a target!

• Banks are being closed as well Andrew. Maybe she doesn’t have access to a bank or transport to get to the bank or even local access to an ATM? While it is easy to say keep your money in the bank for some people especially the older members of our society it may not be straight forward to do that.

• Maureen Kavanagh of Active Retirement Ireland does raise some very serious concerns, and indeed the attack on an innocent 96 year old woman is absolutely disgraceful. But there is a lot of misinformation allowed in this article by the journal.ie. A simple call to the Department of Justice or the Garda Press Office would have provided a fact based response on some of the issues raised. For instance Garda Commissioner Martin Callinan has consistently stated in his opinion that there would be no diminution of service by An Garda Síochána. In fact with the centralisation of services, reformed rosters and a new patrol system there will be increased visibility of Gardai in communities and more patrol hours. Thus more Gardai on the beat and greater flexibility to respond.
    Having a vast network of stations is not keeping with current times, many of the current stations have been in operation since before the foundation of the state. It is much more beneficial in these days to have gardai patrolling communities in vehicles as opposed to occupying buildings relying on a few visitors a day. As an example for a city region Dublin has around 40 24 hour Garda Stations while Greater Manchester of similar size has 13. Being close to a station has shown to be no advantage in regards to crime prevention as shown by the attack last year in Sligo. A changed policing model means more gardai on the streets of the cities and roads of rural Ireland.

• Less Gardai in the job does not mean more Gardai on the street. Think before you write

• Did you read what I wrote? A changed rostering system puts more Gardai on the beat and less Gardai sitting in stations puts more in patrol cars or walking the beat in cities and towns.

• Seamus some of what you say I’d agree with. But when you say in the Commissioners “opinion” there will be no diminution of services it all falls down.Living in a fairly rural area I can categorically say that Garda visibility has dropped significantly since the new roster was introduced and that is before one of our local rural stations will be closed.

• @Kerry, I live in a fairly rural area too and I would disagree with what you say, I can speak for my area where there has been no reduction of service, if anything the Gardai are more available to respond with an extra patrol car since a local sub station was closed and thus no longer needed to be manned.

• Seamus you obviously live in Dublin, rural villages even villages within what would be the commuter belt from Dublin are being left high and dry. 2 gardai at night time to cover half of county Meath is a joke

• Dawn, I think I know where I live in rural north county Cork. But I believe too that more Gardai should cover rural areas but in patrol cars and based in larger hub stations. Having Gardai in small rural stations is no use to you and me, we need them to be mobile and ready to respond instantly.

• So a garda car waiting to respond from 30 miles away in a hub station is more use to you than a garda car sitting in the town you live

• Seamus, An Garda Síochána’s own unions have expressed their concerns at fewer beat Gardaí in certain areas, and they are in the process of augmenting this diminished presence with community-based measures, but these are still at pilot stage.
      The Gardaí are trying to police smarter, and they’re doing the best they can with more limited resources, but there are fewer community liaison Gardaí and fewer Gardaí on regular foot patrol and drive-by in many areas. There are certainly plenty of able and willing officers ready to respond to crime, but proactive policing has taken a massive hit.

• Reg 15/01/13 #

I agree with the police stations, with improved communications, mobility, roads etc there is no need for the number that we have. We need gardai out and about, a visible presence, detecting and preventing crimes. You can’t do that sitting in a station drinking tea.

• I am with you on this one Semus. It appears, based on the responses, that forward thinking is not rewarded in Ireland. When the government trys to do something that would potentially benefit us all. Folks can only see what’s different… And different is akin to bad!

Add New Comment