TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 11 °C Thursday 20 June, 2013

One in five unemployed in 2011 were non Irish nationals

Figures from the CSO show unemployment rates were highest among Nigerian, Romanian and Russian nationals living in Ireland.

File photo
File photo
Image: Sasko Lazarov/Photocall Ireland

One in five unemployed people in the country last year were non-Irish nationals, according to 2011 Census figures from the Central Statistics Office (CSO).

There were almost 80,000 unemployed non nationals in Ireland last year, up from some 30,000 in 2006.

According to the CSO the rate of unemployment among non Irish people in 2011 was 22 percent compared with a rate of 18.5 percent among Irish people.

Nigerians had the highest unemployment rate amongst non nationals at 39 per cent while nationals from the Nordic countries had the lowest rates.

Among Eastern European nationals Lithuanian had an unemployment rate of 24 percent while the rate for Polish nationals was slightly lower at 21 percent.

Over 53,000 people moved to Ireland in the year leading up to April 2011 and of these 47,111 were aged 15 or over, with just over 37 per cent of this group being Irish.

Unemployment among these Irish immigrants stood at just over 33 per cent compared with a lower rate of 26 per cent for non-Irish immigrants.

Accommodation and food services sectors had the largest number of non nati0nal employees in 2011 with the wholesale and retail and IT sectors close behind.

• Share on Facebook
  • Email this article
  •  

Read next:

Comments (218 Comments)

• Immigants! I knew it was them! Even when it was the bears, I knew it was them.

• So 4 out of 5 were Irish then…

• Eh, so why can’t welfare just be a percentage based on the amount of tax paid?

So, no tax ever paid = no dole, while loads of tax paid over years = more dole.

Wouldn’t that be fairer? Maybe even incentivise work!

…just my two cents.

• Are you seriously comparing Irish people in their own country with foreigners here on the dole. This is Ireland, you would expect there to be more Irish people on the dole. You would expect there too to be a fair share or Irish criminals in Ireland.
      What is staggering is the proportional amounts of foreign people on the dole and in our jails here.

• According to the CSO the rate of unemployment among non Irish people in 2011 was 22 percent compared with a rate of 18.5 percent among Irish people.
      To say 4 out of every 5 are Irish unemployed rather distorts the figure given that the population difference is not taken into account.

3851490 Irish Population
      675791 Non Irish population.

• Michelle you are hottest at journal.ie .

• So the best way to cut unemployment by 20% is to send them packing!?

• I’m currently sharing a house with an EU national and a non-EU national. The non-EU national has been living, working (paying taxes) and studying in Ireland for the past 10 years and does not qualify for any social welfare payments, so has to work for every penny. The EU national is on the dole and spends his days playing games online, living comfortably here and doesn’t intend to find a job or return to his home country. Something wrong with the system I think!

• Tommy C 26/07/12 #

So most of our unemployed non Irish nationals require visas to work here in the first place?
    If they dont have jobs, then why are they still here?
    If an Irish person loses their job in Aus, NZ, the US etc then we have to leave if we cannot find a job within a certain amount of time and as for those people who are saying that these foreign people cannot claim as they are from outside the EU, well theyre managing somehow and its unlikely the jobs they had were that well paid that they managed to save.
    Time for people to go when their job is gone unless they can get a new employer.
    I know people wont like this but in general, African people here dont work. I have met a handful of African people in the work environment. Most are on some sort of welfare. Time to go.

• Those are the rules. Very few non EU citizens are here on visas which allow them to stay without work or claim benefits.

• Tommy C 26/07/12 #

Nick, I work in a maternity hospital. I meet people who shouldnt be here every single day who are still claiming welfare while the government tip toe around the issue for fear of being called racist.
      I know foreign students here scamming the system too. I have reported some of them and nothing has been done.
      The irish taxpayer is being screwed from all sides.

• I’m certainly not saying that rules shouldn’t be enforced. What I’m saying is characterizing all students, even the majority as breaking the rules is ridiculous.

And where the racism accusations (I would assume) would come from is I think it’s laughable to assume the government will crack down on the Americans and Australians in Ireland illegally just as much as people from other states. It will never happen. Unless it did, the enforcement system would be a mockery.

• me too Tommy, i know a few venezuelans still here after studying, working for cash. i’ve reported 2 already.
      Some even manage to get the college stamp for their visa extension even though they’re no longer studying.
      my mates ex was from pakistan and he was working 40-50 hour week but still a student AFTER 5 years!!!
      Give me an immigration officers job, i’d clean up!

• Non Irish nationals should have a time limit set on welfare payments and suppliments, if by a certain amount of time nothing has changed for them they should be made sign off all payments stopped and given the chance to return home, why would we want them to remain here and suffer

• I’m baffled by the level of ignorance in the comments on this articles. Non EU nationals (unless here as a spouse or family member) are not entitled to benefit payments. EU nationals who have never worked in Ireland are only entitled to 6 months to a year of benefits by EU law.

EU nationals who have worked here for long enough (3 to 5 years) are treated similarly to Irish citizens. It’s really not that all these people are on the dole.

• Glad someone making sense here Nick. COmpletely misleading article trying to stir up anti-foreigner sentiment. The Russians and Nigerians mentioned above do not get dole/social welfare, and that should certainly have been mentioned in the article!!!

• This is the internet. It’s full of trolls, extremists and nutcases.

• Maybe other countries should repatriate the 70 million Irish who left for economic reasons back to Ireland! As a country who have had the pleasure of migrating to other countries to work we are not very tolerant of the reverse.

• Michael Browne

Irish went to European made political states that we helped found, design, build, fought and died for, we have every right to go to countries we were a part of helping to make. We did not go to Africa or Asia or other European countries in our 100s of 1000s and change the very nature of the population of those countries out of all recognition. We are a very small country and will be no longer be Irish in a very small amount of time.
      There is no comparison with small amounts of Irish people going along with other Europeans to European made countries and Africans, Asians and large amounts of Eastern Europeans coming here.

• Non Irish granted refugee status get dole ,houses ,cars integration money. Irish born children and parents to 2003 got dole and houses .Interesting to see what percentage are on welfare.

• Aedín Clynes states that Nigerians are not on the dole ?? What about the 39% on the dole mentioned in the article . Did you read it !! Stand in a dole queue ..

• I stand in a dole queue. It’s mainly white Irish Derrick, at least in my Intreo Centre. You’ll also find refugee’s are placed in accommodation in specific asylum centres, may receive up to 20 euro a week in personal welfare payments.

Over the last four years the applications for asylum is declining alot, (stats found at the office of refugee applications commissioner). Refugee figures stand approx 10,000 not of all which would be the working wage. Regardless those who are seeking or in asylum are not allowed to hold any paid employment.

There is an ignorant racism which seems to be rekindling, under false pretences and lack of education. I feel that the media are not portraying the situation in an objective fashion either, but rather stoking the coals in order to generate revenue.

• and still 35k people came here for work in the last 12 months, even though we have nearly 500k unemployed. For the bottom 50% of the workforce it is a cut throat market, of replacement, ever lower wages and massive competition. That is not going to change and it is going to be the same for them all, whether they are born here or not.

If your 38 and a labourer from Limerick,working with a 38yr old from Lithuania and you are going up for work against two 25 year olds from Poland or Brazil, who would you hire, the fresh arms of course. If you are a plaster from Portlaoise but from Latvia originally, with a family and mortgage how can you compete with your country men who are here for 2 years, and are just saving and working. How can you beat the price they’ll work it at. This applies to countless sectors.

The immigration free for all was about cheap labour and filling Celtic Tiger houses. Internationalism has become the new tool in suppressing wages and workers rights, the key block in fact and it is backed by the left without little dissent. No legislation or human rights charter will ever compensate workers for that or protect them.

It is just another manifestation of Middle class concerns differing from the working reality of most people. Cafe en Seine Socialists.

• Just a shade under twenty thousand coming for work vs seventy six thousand emigrating. Characterising immigration as a problem is simplistic at best.

It does however increase pressure on lower paid jobs as many migrants start off in their new countries at the bottom of the labour market before accessing employment appropriate to their skills. Perhaps better mechanisms for integration would be one way of easing the pressure at the lower end, to encourage this access sooner so that instead of 300 applicants for each of these jobs, the individuals in this 300 with other skills in other areas such as medicine, technology etc would be looking for appropriate employment. Perhaps the minimum wage could be stratified by industry to safeguard against wage erosion.

I share your concern that any constructive legislation will be slow to come if at all. The other issue is that the emerging economies of India,China and Brazil are leading the way in terms of job creation and the migration that has been essential to maintaining the workforce across the EU is slowly directing itself elsewhere. That will lead to problems down the line when the population has aged and there is no one of a suitable age to do the jobs that are left and create the money to pay pensions. Surely now is the time to be investing in appropriate education and promoting new industries in Ireland.

• Fagan's 26/07/12 #

Fine response. Nice one.

• Spot on 100% Fagan, many fools can’t really grasp that and its these fools who are also feeling it.

• Cafe-en-seine Socialists, like that one.

Yes, old RC church out, new multicult church in. Same snobbery and clambering for social standing and who can outdo the other in the pillar of society stakes. I am more anti-racist than you….no, I am more multicult than you. It is the new religion, the new piety, the new holier-than-thou-ness.

Limited people never change.

• Any Non nationals from outside the EU should be paid at the rates their own country pays social welfare…!!!

• To everyone saying non EU members can’t claim benefits – are my eyes deceiving me on Dole day when I see countless people of African descent in the PO?
    How exactly are these people affording to keep their kids, cars and houses if they receive no benefits?

• Actually I will just point out that the last census showed 766k non nationals living here. So based on these figures 400k of these are kids?

• “If you are a non – EEA national you must have a valid immigration status in order to be eligible for a social welfare payment. If you are an employment permit holder and you terminated your employment involuntarily you may be eligible for contribution based payments if you have paid sufficient PRSI contributions.” – MRCI

People of “African descent” as you put it could also (shock horror!) have actually been born in Ireland!

What would happen I wonder if the UK decided to send us back all the Irish people claiming social welfare over there or who are clogging up their prisons?

• Fon Ellard
      Born in Ireland. Yes the anchor people who came here fully preggers knowing the loophole in our immigration control system. Soemthing they took advantage of and the Irish people were taken by surpirse on. This policy was never brought to the Irish people, we were never consulted nor asked about it. So being born here under those fraudulant circumstances does not make them Irish.

Irish people have a distinct ancestral and cultural heritage, and no modern piece of paper, especially one brought about without our consent, and under EU pressure directives (not the sovereign Irish people) can change that.

As for Irish in Britain, British and Irish are closely related ancestrally and culturally, there is no question of us changing the nature of those 2 aspects of the unique character of the British people out of all recognition, we are related and from the same family tree. Most Irish people in UK are not on welfare or in jail in the same proportions as immigrants are here.
      Any comparison with like ancestral and cultural peoples moving in small numbers to their cousin countries is invalid to Africans, Asians and east europeans moving in overwhelming large numbers that change the very nature of our populations and culture out of all recognition. Your comparison is invalid.

• The Germans only give payments for 6 months to non nationals and make them leave straight away.
    Again it’s not something we should be talking about here,let the troika sort out this,if they think we can save money from it,then so be it,change the rules.
    The Irish didn’t get too many favours while building the gas works in London or the train lines in America,no dole there,work or leave. You had no choice about pay or conditions.

Personally I am more concerned about the amount of benefits non nationals are getting,they are far more educated about our system than most Irish people,hence that needs to be looked into.

I have heard this argument before regarding paying a non national their home rates of benefits,while I agree with it,if they were better at home,then they wouldn’t be here in the first place.

Do what the Germans do,pay them 6 months upfront and tell them to kindly leave,free to return when we can afford it!!!

• If you read the report (which I somehow doubt the author did) it says “unemployment as recorded in the census is examined throughout this report”. It does not say that people who are described as unemployed are necessarily receiving state benefits. It just means that they ticked “unemployed” box in their census form under Occupation.

It’s misleading to show a photo of people in what looks like a dole queue next to the article. In fact I would question the intention of this article in the first place – the report covers some really interesting trends such as the rise in employment in the Education sector, and the impact of education on working mothers’ employment levels – but the author chose to ignore all that and focus on this non-story instead. For what? Controversy? Or a more sinister agenda. At BEST this is lazy and irresponsible journalism.

• They took our dole

• Mah … Not getting dragged into this one

• I agree on that Finbar, Ireland is turning into the welfare state. This is however, the Government’s fault, like any other EU state, Ireland should put the time limit on dole payments for everyone ( 12-24 months) and stop paying the dole after that.

• Tabloid headline worthy of the worst of the red tops.

• “I’m NOT one for skin head marches but…”

Classic!

• Disappointingly sensationalist headline from the journal, the only non nationals entitled to claim dole are those who have paid tax here long enough to build up entitlements. This is the same as for Irish living abroad, headlines like this attract biggotts and trolling of the worst kind and create resentment to honest people in the country who are or have contributed greatly to country.

• I think journal.ie have been taking swipes at all aspects of society over the last while. Doing all the kite-flying for the likes of Varadkar etc. Call centre guy on minimum wage, you’re up next!

• Sure the journal is only good to you when not publishing facts that go against your own world view. It is only righteous when publishing articles about the ‘coolness’ of your multicult and immigration, isn’t that right. And it is only good when people who make comments contrary to your world view are censored and shut up. Brainwashed much, thought controlling others much?

• Birdie 26/07/12 #

I think our welfare is abused by the non Irish as on numerous occasions I have seen some driving to the post office to collect the welfare , now sorry but am I missing something , probably driving around thinking what a great country and how fecking stupid our system is .

• And the Irish you see driving to collect their payments?

• @ Tony: what we do here is our business, and our business only. its our country. it never ceases to amaze me the amount of criticism that comes into this country. “why is it like this?” “why do you have this in ireland and not this?”
      i don’t f**king know, go ask our government. One thing we don’t do is go to other countries and complain.
      Who gives a f**k what we do here, how much we earn etc, its none of their business. The amount of times i’ve been asked by a non-national “how much do you earn?” i mean c’mon, you wouldn’t even ask your best mate that!

• I asked a question which I hoped would prompt the thought that the impression turning up in a car to collect any benefit should be the same whether you are an Irish national or not. You’re rant is misdirected.

I am struggling to see why it is that someone would point it out as a bad thing for one group but not the other.

An awful lot of these comments are based on assumptions – The census is about unemployed – and not about those collecting benefits. Also, those who came here, worked and paid PRSI can often be claiming jobseekers benefit, based on their PRSI payment.

I’m not saying that this is right one way or the other but if anyone who works in the country they pay PRSI. If they pay it, they are entitled to make use of the purposes it is paid, which includes jobseeker’s benefit.

• *Your*

• The problem isn’t freedom of movement within the EU. Freedoms or trade and movement in the EU are the two best things about it.

The French and the Germans want to stifle those, for populist reasons of nationalist protectionism, and keep all the worst aspects.

• Damn those “French and the Germans want to stifle those” because that’s what their electorate want!

Why can’t we get rid of that blantant populism of having elections! It’s appalling! Imagine, anyone could get into Power! Even those with the wrong beliefs.
      Far better to decide over cigars and brandy behind closed doors, like the EU does it.

• Damocles 26/07/12 #

Or possibly we could keep the two best bits of the EU and shed the nonsense bits that would help the long term success of the countries in Europe.

• 39% of Nigerians are unemployed. What are they doing here in the first place? What do they bring to Ireland, other than divisiveness and foolish people calling everyone racist, because you don’t want them in your country? Look at what has happened to England; London, 45% native white, the rest from the four corners of the world. Well, the African immigrant responds, we are taking back what you took from us. What can they say in Ireland? Where its youth are still having to go abroad to live, and Ireland is taking in thousands of immigrants.
    Kick them out, all of them, and hold your Irish identity close to you. Let those that cry racist go to England and see what has become of that identity-less country. Or better yet, go to Africa, India or a Muslim country and try to open a church then see the locals respond.

• Right-wing attempt to distract ordinary people from the real robbers in this state (the banks and political elite) by blaming people who get a pissy 186euro a week.

Rupert Murdoch would be proud of the Journal with this “atricle”

• If I could like this comment as many times as we’ve been f@€ked over by our ‘elite’ I would!

• @ Kerron, that was about the only intelligent comment I’ve seen on this non story. Must be lots of Daily Mail readers on here.

• Kerron,

I am neither left nor right wing. But you are extreme left. You think it ok to just focus on the banks and not any other societal problems. Multiculturalism and it’s social engineering program of forced immigration upon this sovereign people is probably even more serious.
      We could solve the international debt slavery system in the morning, but immigration into this country is a destruction of the Irish people and is already having serious harmful effects on the Irish people and nation that is irreversible. You have blood and suffering of Irish people on your hands for supporting multiculturalism and immigration.

• Its great craic in ireland, while every other major country in europe is debating and actually looking at capping foreign nationals coming into countries and looking at deporting some and theres little or no problem, over here its treated like some sorta inhuman racist movement. No more than theres so called racists in ireland theres also a breed of smug make the irish suffer cos we got greedy in the boom years crowd who think we should be taking in foreign nationals and leaving them on welfare and paying 18million in welfare to kids not bothered living here as some sorta punishment……………Sorry but we need to wake up people yes the irish are abroad but no country I know of besides maybe england and is certainly not giving them dole,welfare for kids,houses,taxi plates etc etc in most countries like USA and Oz if your not working your told to leave and are cut off from state help!

• Your so right, in OZ new zealanders can work in oz no visa restrictions pay taxes but if your out of work tough no welfare entitlements. The same goes for any Irish living here too unless you have PR and have passed the 2 year waiting period and your not getting PR if your not a skilled worker to fill a position in Australia.

• Irish went to European made political states that we helped found, design, build, fought and died for, we have every right to go to countries we were a part of helping to make. We did not go to Africa or Asia or other European countries in our 100s of 1000s and change the very nature of the population of those countries out of all recognition. We are a very small country and will be no longer be Irish in a very small amount of time.
      There is no comparison with small amounts of Irish people going along with other Europeans to European made countries and Africans, Asians and large amounts of Eastern Europeans coming here.

Irish and other western Europeans are extremely closely related both ancestrally and culturally, there is no question of a massive change to our ancestral and cultural norms from people who we were originally related to on the European landmass.
      Comparing that to African and Asian influx, is absurd. We have no connections to these populations whatsoever other than being human, both as far as the survival and preservation of our culture and ancestral heritage goes, it spells disaster.

• Tommy C 26/07/12 #

No Nick, what we really should do is apply the Dublin convention which means asylum seekers would have to claim asylum in the first country they arrived in. There are NO direct flights between Ireland and most of these countries. If they are proven to be genuine, then we could take a quota. If Irish people cant find work then why on earth would you think that we could find jobs for asylum seekers?

• Most other EU country’s pay the dole for a set time , it’s a simple thing the Irish government go to the eu and claim the money off the EU . If the ppl want to live here that’s fine let them but let Brussels pay for them .two years tax and PRSI on a low wage will not pay for 20 years SW and rent allowance

• I know a Nigerian man who is on the dole and admits he won’t work,he has 8 kids and wants 4 more and was laughing about it. He is getting over 900 euro child benefit every month plus over 500 euro per week plus a nice big council house as well. He said he doesn’t have time to work and he will lose most of his benefits if he does

• Nappy 26/07/12 #

once there credits are up kick them out Sorry

• Off home with them I say…

• Birdie 26/07/12 #

Probably a trend that will grow , how long can non Irish stay on our welfare system for before they are removed from it ?

• sadly as long as they don’t gain any assets and remain completely dependent on state they will continue to be supported indefinitely, those who know how the system word know that if you spend everything you are given you will be able to keep getting indefinitely. Protections put in place for truly needy are being exploited daily by large amounts of people, our system is completely broken

• Wow, for a nation with your history you’re all so very, very ignorant towards people that have had to go through the ordeal of immigrating! If the American, Australian, English or Canadian news ran something like this you’d all be up in arms calling it discriminatory. Its shameful.

• Abbie, the difference is we have worked everywhere we went! SOME of these people are simply here for the benefits. I knew of a nigerian family that where taking in nearly a grand a week in benefits between them and not one drop of work been done by any of them and no intention to do any! We do not mind people that come here and give something towards the economy but come to ireland to sponge get back on the boat/plane!

• At Joe Hunter,(a good Irish Name by the way!!), I’d love you to arrange for me to meet with this Nigerian family that you know well enough to know they take in a grand a week, so that I can check the veracity of your story. You spoofer…….you’ll probably tell us next that the man of the house told you this because you’re best drinking buddies…..though somehow that doesn’t ring true.
      You’re just one of the many liars spreading untrue gossip about immigrant groups…..

• @Abbie. Not all of us. These stories bring out the riff raff.

• Ahh John, I can see by the way you referred to my name that you are probably a bit of a bigot,

Lets do the maths because I doubt your capable yourself

Mother and father claiming (@ 2011 rate €188) – €376pw

Son & his wife claiming (@ 2011 rate €188) – €376pw

The fathers brother & Wife (@ 2011 rate €188) – €376pw

That’s a total of €1128pw

Are you keeping up or am I going to fast ?

Now add a couple living in shard accommodation for rent supplement which is €200 per month x 3 = €600 per month

Can you manage the rest of the maths.

They were able to claim this because they where able to prove that they worked in an EU State.

I know this because I rented them the house they are living in and I would have known when they got work because they would have had there benefits suspended. That was 2 years ago and speaking with my former employer they are still there and still on benefits.

• And why do you begrudge Nigerians more than EU nationals?

• Nick i dont i just dont like spongers of any nationality, irish, english polish whatever!!! As i stated in my origional post i dont mind if you come to ireland as long as you contribute to the country not become part of its problem!

• And before the rest of you kick of by spongers i mean people who have no interest in working not people who are actively seeking work or sick or single parents that cant

• @Joe Hunter
      Unfortunately I agree. I’ve worked with plenty of talented and well-educated Nigerians, who I’m fortunate to call friends. But I also rent out to Nigerians who don’t work, nor do they have any intentions on doing so.

Each race has its good and bad I’m afraid.

• Tommy C 26/07/12 #

Joe, I met an African woman with 14 kids a few weeks back and another pregnant with her 9th. Neither women worked and neither did their husbands. They contributed nothing to society and cost the tax pater thousands every month.

• You look at the statistics on the CSO website .There is a whole section devoted to travellers and the numbers on the dole 85% . Yes shocking but you do not get people complaining of racism on the publication of such figures.
      How is it that if you mention anything even slightly negative about Africans you are branded racist.
      Do we feel guilty that African countries are in a shambles and we must help them to such an extent.
      We never had colonies so we are not to blame for their exploitation.
      They are racist too.I worked with Africans found them aggressive rude and devious.

• we need an open debate about this, not just ireland but europe we all know why the door was flung open to the likes of the countries mentioned and newer eu countries, it was simply greedy politicians and employers wanting to end the case of ordinary folk earning decent wages and instead drive down wages and costs in the hope of bumping up profits which intern meant juicy brown envelopes to people in power. It was admitted in britain by the last government that they allowed 1million eu and non eu nationals into the country in an attempt to do drive down wages and costs and believe me our lot were no better. But now cos we have a huge recession, people are questioning whether these that were allowed in should remain, if like many they worked for a great long period of time clocked up taxes then fair enough pay there stamps but things like allowing former hotels be given to non eu nationals and having them drive out with taxi plates on there cars has gotta stop we all know its going on as much as the irish lad who does the black economy work. This all requires a pair of balls and a willingness to stop listening to one side of the debate more than the other and just do whats needed popular or not!

• Second of all luka iv had to take a pay cut of 50% in construction mostly because of cheap labour from eastern europe even though there is a government set rate of pay so if I’m a little bitter I have a right to be . To try and bring up kids and pay for a home with all the cuts going on .I have friends who are working in Poland and they can not go out at night for fear of being attacked for taking polish jobs . not too long ago there was signs in sites in Poland say Irish need not apply ..

• Finbar, All EU countries pay the dole to all EU citizens for a specified time only and no country differentiate between citizens and EU nationals ( it is in fact illegal). Ireland is an EU exception as they don’t set the time limit. The matter regarding cheaper workforce from EU is a classical example of capitalism and supply and demand principle. They are cheaper and possibly more efficient so employers favour them , i see absolutely nothing wrong with that. If you were the employer you would be doing the same thing. Your comments regarding the Irish working in Poland and Europe is exaggerated. My partner ( Irish) teaches English in Poland and loves every minute of it, goes out every night etc I know a lot of Irish people working all over EU and no one has had any serious issues. You cant have only benefits of EU membership and it applies to every country. If not for EU, Ireland would be a poor country today. Besides , how many Irish people do you know who would settle for a job in Spar? Probably not many coz the dole pays just about as much, those bloody non nationals work there to serve ya your breakfast roll before work! I work in finance , got the job through my knowledge and qualification ( first class honours degree) and not my passport

• There was also a site in Australia pointing out that Irish need not apply as well. Irony of fate, the advert was published by an Irish employer based there.

• Paul 26/07/12 #

Give the foreign national a determined time to find gainful and self sustained employment and if not found by the allotted time it’s ryanair back where you came from

• or restrict the no’s that are coming in, there is still very large numbers coming in to a severely depressed economy. Why is this, how does it benefit any worker here. Get the people off the dole and working where ever their from. Until the immigration rate is based, like most countries on reality and need. Much of the policy now is driven by a fear of being called racist. Better for the D4 brigade let thousands of immigrants rot on the dole with the rest, rather than risk that.

• @ Fagan: It’s Shattter and Co’s great scheme of things to dumb us down, get rid of us – we’re a cost. look upon it as cost cutting in business replacing it with a more efficient cheaper model. the rich get richer and the poor get yea thats right. Get rid of Shatter and his gang at the next election.

• Well John it’s ifionbrra ,, if I was a cork man I’d have two R. But I’m not from cork . When I work away from Ireland I work for the rate that payed in that country nothing lass . As to your comment that I might Be a little bit in educated don’t think so my german is quite good . If you go to a construction site in Ireland or the uk you will find cheap labour just like some of the house’s in this country built by cheap labour by cowboy irish and east European labour . you will find that most so called tradesman from easteurope never worked on a building site in there life .yes there were good lads but more chancres that were cheap

• As a non-national I don’t enjoy taking your dole but after having worked here for 6 years i’m just as entitled to it as any Irish national. Probably even more given the fact that there are so many Irish nationals who have never worked and claim it’s their right to get the money.
    If you want a solution ….here’s one. In my country you only get the dole if you work. the more you work the longer you get it for up to two years. if you only work 6 months you can claim it for 2 or 3 months. and so on up to two years. Cut the dole and people will try to find a job. Now that the crisis is here and i have the ‘wrong’ nationality nobody wants me so i don’t stand a chance. Why don’t I just get out of this country? …I’ve been here for 6 years it feels like my country now. Therefore I’ll stay here until I find a job.

• Well said.

• Frank,

The Irish never had a say about immigration, and were lied to about leaving our borders open to all other EU countries. The policy is illegal and those who promoted it and supported it are liable to prosecution for treason. Just as the bankers are.

So no, you are not as entitled as any Irish person is, this was a state in which the indigenous people and their descendants fought for the entitlement of unfettered access to the resources of this land, for themselves and their children and descendants, not any other. You have your own country, it is up to you and your people to fight like we had to, for whatever imprvements you want.

Mass immigration is a policy of the super rich.

• Why dont the Irish Government gather up all the illegal immigrants and put them on a plane back to their own country. They have no right to be here. They are a burden on Irish Taxpayers.

• Are you that stupid to still believe illegals here are collecting the dole!!!! What a pity. I can’t understand how you could have dared thought of an illegal foreign national in Ireland going anywhere near the authorities(any of them), without being unmasked and hence increase their chances of being removed from this country!

• The comment wasn’t posted twice but was submitted twice due to my thumb clicking twice inadvertently on the “submit” button twice.
      Now, your reply is just irrelevant to my comment(s).

• John F 26/07/12 #

Where were all the Nigerians before Fianna Fail increased the dole ten fold? Can’t remember too many been here in the 80′s or 90′s
      Changes to the constitution as part of the Good Friday agreement in 1998 opened the door and provided a loop hole that once they had a child born here the parents and immediate family were automatically entitled to an Irish passport, the constitution was amended in 2004 to close this loop hole but it was too little too late. An interesting question would be how many Nigerians in Ireland actually came here legally?, i.e. applied for a visa? I’d say less than 5%. I’ve no problem with Immigration in fact it can improve a society, what bothers me is the scheming and lengths some of these people went to get around the rules that were in place for a reason!

• Tommy C 26/07/12 #

John, what society has benefited from immigration? Please dont say the US, Canada, etc as their native populations have been destroyed thanks to immigration. Time to put our own first and those who dont have a job should be sent home.

• As an American transplant, I’d agree if you’re talking about the native Americans being screwed over by immigrants. Otherwise, immigrants to America are (in the majority at least) people doing backbreaking work for disgustingly low pay to try to give their children a better life.

As I’m guessing you’re Irish, you don’t know what you’re talking about. Immigrants, including Irish ones, made America a better place, they didn’t take away our culture.

• Tommy C 26/07/12 #

Nick,all migrants to the US decimated the ‘Real’ American culture but if youre happy with modern American culture then good for you but being Irish, my culture is rich and vast. Id like to keep it that way thanks so I’ll stay here. You can always go home to US culture if thats your preference but mine is my own.

• “Real” American culture? What, the cavalier landowners in the 1700s or the New England Puritans? So I’m again going to assume you’re talking about the decimation of the native American population.

And if Irish culture is unable to withstand other people, you’re in trouble. I have a bit more faith in than that.

• Nick Beard

Immigration to America destroyed the white european solutrean indigenous natives, then later Europeans destroyed the Oriental American cultures. Immigration destroys. The US was built upon European migrants, it was a second founding poltical European made entity.

Ireland is not the US, we were already a settled, native indigenous people, we are not a country of migrants of peoples from around the world. You are talking about the destruction of the Irish people and culture.

• Look at this this way ,many came here illegally and by devious means now claim welfare with a grin.
      They laugh at this countries stupidity.

• A stampede here .!!

• Not sure if I can reply but want a stampede here Nick

• Yes this is news, Germany and France want to close free movement within the EU . 400 million people moving around is way too much .so for your comment it’s not news your very wrong

• Think their is some far right agenda creeping ino the journal. More and more articles and comments are completely bigoted and racist as the weeks go bye. Disturbing and sad reflection of irish society today that this crap is allowed to grow.

• alan 26/07/12 #

i think that the journal is fast becoming a place for bigotry. i suppose, given the open nature of the forum that this is almost inevitable. it is a shame really as the journal is a good idea and the ability to comment is too.

but i use the journal less and less now because i have no interest in reading the kind of commentary that is becoming all to commonplace here

i would be inlcined to agree that the journal itself is invting this kind of involvment with some of the headlines and some of the articles. but there you go. good while it lasted but going nowhere unless oemthing is done to address these issues before they ruin things altogether

• I don’t think it’s fair to say the journal has a right wing agenda… There have been loads of editorial pieces in the last while on pro choice, gay marriage etc. Fair to say there are some shockingly ignorant right wing comments on here, but you can’t blame the journalists for those

• Sure the journal is only good to you when not publishing facts that go against your own world view. It is only righteous when publishing articles about the ‘coolness’ of your multicult and immigration, isn’t that right. And it is only good when people who make comments contrary to your world view are censored and shut up. Brainwashed much, thought controlling others much?

• Settling down on the dole .?

• I know did you ever here such rubbish because the Irish that left to foreign lands did so with the dream of living on the dole someplace else. People came to Ireland in the boom lined their pockets. Paying taxes was their duty to have the chance to earn money in Ireland. It was not to bank up credits for when times went bad. That is how NZ & OZ governments put it. If you have no job tough!!!

• Thanks

• So the non eu person is studying in Ireland for 10 years , something wrong there

• That depends on what is being studied and to what level. Also, any non-EU resident studying in Ireland will need to be either very wealthy/ well subsidised by their own country or spend a lot of time working to pay for fees, food, accommodation etc.

• I’m a non-EU student in my seventh year of studying in Ireland and the UK (undergrad in Ireland, advanced degrees in the UK).

I’m simply going for a higher degree and have received no social welfare payment of any kind, I’m contributing to the economy here. What on earth is wrong with that?

• Nick Beard

Nothing Nick, no problem with a very few staying, but most should go home and then put into their own countries the skills they picked up here, it might just help solve 3rd world poverty.

• Well was post in many Irish papers at the time ,, and to you comment on wages in construction is bullshit there is a set rate of pay witch is ran by the construction industry for different trades no matter were you are from with benefits ,, most sites have a lot of non nationals working for them because they are cheap nothing else . Is there 1 in 5 on the dole in austraila Canada USA Germany or anywere in this world I don’t think so

• 30% of German nationals are originally from Turkey and roughly 25 % of French are migrants from Africa and Muslim countries, many of those on welfare, grow up Finbar :) seriously

• Tommy C 26/07/12 #

And Turks in Germany will always be Turks and Africans in France will always be Africans. Multiculturalism is a failed experiment.
      Time to cop on and exploit our tourist industry. Tourists want Irish culture not Nigerians and Poles on the dole.
      Its time to have some pride in ourselves and our own abilities and learn from the mess that is England these days.
      They made a mess of immigration. We are doing exactly the same for fear of being called racists.

• I think the main fact to come out of all this is that the other EU countries place a time limit on the Dole whereas Ireland doesn’t, and it’s the poorest.
    I think that liberals do not appreciate that Ireland, being now a junk economy, can’t realistically pay any more immigrants considering our plight.
    I do not think there is anything racist in this but it is highly suspect that so many thousands are still pouring into Ireland despite the fact that it is known widely that this country is broke with no jobs.
    Many are pouring in from the UK for the higher Dole here. I know several like that, two amongst my friends who I have coffee with every day and who admit that they are here for the better social welfare. They’re nice people but they should try to do something other than just live on the Dole here.

• Paul 26/07/12 #

What the hell is a non-national? Do you mean someone who does not have a nationality? There is no such thing. A stateless person perhaps? Only a stateless person and a ‘non-national’ are not the same thing.

• Absolutely. Wish people would stop using the term non-national incorrectly. If you must, use non-Irish national or foreign-national.

• Actually the report makes no use of the term non-nationals, this is only used in this article. The CSO uses the term “non-irish” so the 80,000 stated at the beginning of the article includes people from other EU countries. Scaremongering perhaps?

It’s also worth noting that of the 47,000 of working age that entered the country in the last year, this includes over 9000 irish nationals and a similar of number of people coming to study. And many went non-irish went straight into the workforce in highly skilled areas, IT for example, where there are a skills deficit. And there was a substantial number of the non-irish that were retired or listed as carers i.e. not unemployed.

The numbers and terms used in this piece are misleading to say the least.

• no mention of the 36% of 18 to 25 year olds out of work then??

• …but what a wonderful multi ethnic melting pot we have now since the influx of Roma and Nigerians to our shores, surely our beautiful country can only benefit….welcome, welcome one and all…….

• I would wonder at what role racism plays in the ability of “non-nationals” (I hate that term) to actually access the job market and find employment.

• I met an Englishman a couple of years ago who told me that he had moved to live in Spain because there were too many foreigners in England! Absolutely true. And his attitude matches that of many of the ignorant, bigoted commentators here who think that the Irish should have a right to emigrate to any country on the planet,( ” because we all work”, which I very much doubt), and yet we should keep Ireland free from “foreigners”.. The hypocrisy of it all…….mind- numbing….

• I am outraged by the journal is highlighting this statistic, it should be swept under the carpet and anyone who dare’s to mention it be browbeaten with accusations of racism. You must not mention this particular elephant in the room as it is a sacred white elephant which we will cherish even if it ruins us all

• franco 26/07/12 #

Now who would have thought that !!!!!

• Just came across this well balanced and truly journalistic reporting example from a truly qualified and job-conversant journalist from the Irish Times, from whom I suppose the author of the current piece of “news” has partly copied from, to make this wholly sensationalist, bigoted and one-sided article, without considering the CSO report in its entirety. Seem she has written the present article with only one thing in mind…I’ll let you all guess what it is, as there’s no need to be Einstein to decipher her thoughts and intentions. Maybe am wrong but…..who knows.

http://m.irishtimes.com/newspaper/breaking/2012/0726/breaking35.html

• The reason that there are so many ‘foreigners’ in this country is because for years past they worked at the jobs that Irish people wouldn’t dream of doing; cleaning toilets, vomit off hospital floors etc.
    That said, I don’t think it’s right that they can claim child be benefit for kids living in their home country.
    The welfare system here is a joke anyway and there is little incentive to work, especially where there’s children.

• You are 100% correct. No way would I ever work in McDonalds or cleaning toilets.

• John F 26/07/12 #

Thats a myth that Irish will not do these jobs, a decent man or woman will do any kind of work to put food on table and keep a roof over their families heads. Who do you think did these jobs before we had mass immigration to this country?

• Tommy C 26/07/12 #

John, how many of your friends are applying for toilet cleaning jobs?

• Ah yes the other far-left and D4 new multicult church state religion dictat no.3.4.

They did the jobs the Irish did not want to do.

Jobs like, luas drivers, dublin bus drivers, bus eireann drivers, train drivers, security door men, shop security men, post office workers, dhl etc delivery drivers, grocery and small supermarket workers (jobs valued before by many part-time Irish workers, students, and retired older people could do and did do). The fallacy of the far-left and new multicult state religion never ceases to amaze.

• Btw, in my local McDonals more than half are Irish people working there, and it is a joy to deal with them, they are bright and bubbly and good humoured. And I wish them every success. They thoroughly deserve it. And we deserve to be consulted and asked what we want, re: immigration and this multicult state brainwashing religion.

• None because there are no toilet cleaning jobs .

• Is this news? Honest to God! Is thejournal pushing some sort of nationalist agenda? The information in this article is entirely pointless and it’s only purpose seems to get a rise out of racist readers.

How many of the unemployed like apples? How many are 6ft tall? How many of them read the newspaper on the jacks? Utterly pointless information.

• And the Irish Times are reporting it too!
      Has there been a coup!?
      Are there Nazis under your bed?

• @Ruth You’re dead right. This current piece of “news” can definitely be compared to that of the Irish Times.
      Maybe you’ve read only the headline in the Irish Times, but not the article itself. You’d have noticed the difference. Correct me if am wrong, I think in the Irish Times’ article there’s only one paragraph on the current topic, while the journal has converted this same small paragraph into a whole article.

• they took our jawbss

• So , don’t get your point there , the Turks were let into Germany because they stood beside Germany in the first world war that’s why there are so many there second France ruled most of northern africa that’s why there are so many there . England the same with india and the west india , they had a open border with them . When the wall came down in Germany in 1989 the east germans were only getting half of what tge west Germans were getting that was the law I know because I lived there

• My point is that todays Europe is multinational and you dont seemto be able to come to terms with it

• Finbar, the Turks came into Germany in the 60′s or 70′s and later. The first world war ended in 1918. In WW 2 they joined the allies on last days of the war. Where did you get your history lesson?

• Lukaksz

Europe was always multinational and had far more diversity of each nation being different than today, where every country now looks more and more the same.

Nobody asked us about whether or not we wanted this new multicult state brainwashing religion and its policies of mass immigration. It is bad, harmful and destructive, and we can say no to this backward policy, on to the future and progress by halting and reversing this madness. You deal with that Lukasz

• Every country looks more the same thanks to Globalisation. We get more influence from the UK and the US. If you wanted a source as to the decline of a national identity, there you go.

• finbar m 26/07/12 #

Oh yes john with a small j it Fionbarra . People from cork spell it with two R but I’m not from cork . If your going to have a dig please do a little better please cos your kinda boring me here

• My sentiments fotocrat!

• our government has always supported and complied with a tyrannical,imperialistic policy in the middle east in modern times…right wing comments on this article make me laugh about how we are the ones being invaded by evil foreign forces here to rape our resources!

• Hey Nick want a stampede here.

• finbar m 26/07/12 #

And as to you comment of free movement with in the EU you should check you facts there was a large amount of time of the last meeting between France and Germany over migration I’m sure you can google it

• And to your comment Frank you will stay here for 6 years shame on you

• And Pyne…yet another good ol’ boy from the mist of Ireland’s past….

• Hold on there you made a comment about what I put up here , first when you live in a other EU country you get the dole for a set time . That’s what I said nothing else so don’t give me that bullshit about the Irish abroad ,,,a lot of ppl are here for the high rate of WS you know it and I know it. I

• finbar m 26/07/12 #

Well a least we agree on something

• Finbar has a capital ” F “. Perhaps if you capitalised Finbar, you wouldn’t have to chew yourself up hating that Pole/Nigerian whoever, and their evil spawn, who, because of their qualifications and experience and, probably, their command of three or four languages, got that interview ahead of you. Imagine…. Easy I hope, hope how the American, Brit, Aussie feels when an Irishman gets a job ahead of them….And by the way, I believe the original spelling is Finbarr.

• Tommy C 26/07/12 #

John, the Americans and Aussies dont let the Irish in unless they have a shortage of people with a required skill.

• *** correction:
    wouldn’t

• I would at all be surprised if Michelle use the word “poxy foreigner” one day. She got the guts. Poor her

• One cannot talk about the various flavours of ice lollies here in Ireland it makes no difference if they are orange or lime flavoured , you will offend someone , as for the government of the day they are too busy shouting about new tax increases coming up, they should look at where the moneys taken in is going , Dublin airport should not be only for the Irish been forced abroad.

• Finbar m, they can be talking about it but it is never gonna happen, what really surprises me is the fact that there are by far more Irish people living all over the world than in Ireland and they all want to be entitled to the same level of benefits (rightly so) as citizens of those countries, yet the Irish in Ireland seem to have a problem with legitimate Eu nationals settling down here, it can only be described as utter ignorance but well some people are just knobs (all over the world)

• Lukasz Windak

Firstly you are incorrect, there are not far more Irish people living all over the world.
      1) you are talking about Irish descendants to European made countries like the US and Oz, these people regard themselves as Americans of Irish descent, not Irish natives.
      2) we did not go to African or Asian or Eastern European countries and change the nature of their populations out of all recognition, you are talking about the destruction of the Irish people and culture. It only takes a small amount of immigration to end the population of 4.5million Irish.

Irish went to European made political states that we helped found, design, build, fought and died for, we have every right to go to countries we were a part of helping to make. We did not go to Africa or Asia or other European countries in our 100s of 1000s and change the very nature of the population of those countries out of all recognition. We are a very small country and will be no longer be Irish in a very small amount of time.

• Tommy C 26/07/12 #

Get a grip Foto.

• Very well said John F

• Well there’s a surprise!!!!

• I’m guessing you haven’t read the Dublin Convention? It has specific reasons you can apply asylum in other countries than the one you first arrived in (visa to the other country, a specific relationship with that country, family members), so it wouldn’t necessarily.

Second, it’s currently illegal for us to send people back to states that are overcrowded (you read the NS case, right?) Piling asylum seekers up in a camp in Greece with no running water is really not going to help anyone and if you were aware of the conditions in some of the places, I hope you’re humane enough to be appalled.

• This has set a cat and mouse game in operation. You come here seek asylum say you came from Greece act .
      The electronic fingerprint machines have not been put into operation for over 2 years industrial dispute.
      There is no real co operation with the UK on the issue of first country not mention the EU. Dublin Convention ?
      The single procedure to shorten waiting times for asylum seekers has been put off for 2 years.
      So when you are shopping around for a country with a nice welfare and loopholes .

R.I.P
      Choose Ireland

• Well, what we should do (and what asylum seekers would love) is if they were allowed to work. Most of them would appreciate the opportunity to be gainfully employed, rather than being forced to sit around camps and depend on the government.

Add New Comment