TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 11 °C Sunday 26 May, 2013

‘Operation Focus’ targets high-risk areas in push to prevent road deaths

New road safety campaign will focus on key areas in each garda region around the country.

Gardaí operating a checkpoint in Dublin city today.
Image: Sam Boal/Photocall Ireland

THE GARDAÍ HAVE launched a new road safety initiative aimed at reducing the number of road deaths by targeting high-risk areas around the country. So far this year, 22 people have been killed on Irish roads.

Gardaí will concentrate on high-risk locations around the country for 24-hour periods at a time.

The focus will switch from garda region to garda region throughout this year in a bid to focus road users’ attention on ongoing garda enforcement of speeding, driving under the influence of drink or drugs, dangerous driving behaviour, the non-use of seatbelts, and the illegal use of mobile phones while driving.

The operation kicked off today in the Dublin region, and will extend through all other regions throughout 2012.

Speaking at today’s launch, Assistant Garda Commissioner John O’ Mahoney said that “while the continued downward trend in fatalities is to be welcomed, we appeal to road users to continue to ‘focus’ on road safety in order that we can continue the reduction in deaths and serious injury and spare families the pain and grief associated with such sudden loss of a loved one.”

“Enforcement continues to be a high priority for An Garda Síochána,” he added. “The objective [of this scheme] is to remind people that it doesn’t pay to take chances on our roads. As a community, we all have a duty to ensure that no family should lose a loved one on our roads as a result of reckless behaviour.”

The Road Safety Authority welcomed the garda initiative. RSA CEO Noel Brett said he felt “confident that it will lead to the prosecution of people who still refuse to acknowledge the dangers associated with inappropriate speed, driving under the influence and other breaches of the Road Traffic Act that can cost lives”.

Read next:

Comments (78 Comments)

• overall its good the presence is there. if lives are saved It’s worth it. my problem is some of the roads are lethal with pot holes etc which could easily cause an accident. then we also have roads that are either to fast or to slow for there standard. I know the dept of transport plan to look into this soon so fingers crossed. the main thing is the gardai are being proactive instead of reactive. we need to grow up in this country about driving and stop thinking its an automatic right to drive.

• David 25/02/12 #

Well said Eugene, Alot of roads in rural ireland more over are death traps. No hedges trimmed and holes and uneven surfaces all over the place. No local authority will be prosecuted for negligence though!!

• Ciaro 24/02/12 #

The next checkpoint is the Leinster house footpaths, watch out Mary Mitchell O’Connor!

• Of all these political spokespersons on road safety, Gardai, RSA, Dept of transport not one of them has the balls to stand up and push for a ban and heavy fine on those caught texting while driving. For anybody killed or seriously injured a by tx driver some of these experts up top should be held partially responsible

• It’s not about the money, money, money we just want make ye drive safe….drive safe, tax, insurance, backlight.

• Correct and right Sean, rural Ireland is the place to target, unfortunately there are little or no guards left in most parts of rural Ireland today. Whoever made the previous comment about house alarms is also spot-on, 20 houses in a housing estate and 19 have an alarm, guess which one the burglar goes for? It’s not rocket science

• Paul, you beat me to it. Imagine The pain and suffering of losing a loved one without the chance to say goodbye.

• The only real deterrent is the fear of being caught.

• Strange that they are targeting Dublin as a hot spot as on the news Dublin was a ‘white’ are one of the safest city in Europe. And we are to not to think it a money making exercise?

• One life saved is a result.

• Sean 24/02/12 #

Why would they not target ‘high-risk’ areas all the time?

• I agree with the latest purge against dangerous/drunken drivers. But I would appreciate a similarly resourced purge against burglars who are now breaking into houses at will. Random checkpoints in housing estates hardest hit by burglaries should be the order of the day.

• Revenue collection check points. The motorist pays the most tax, so why not screw them more. Sure everybody knows the only place people die in Ireland is on the roads.

• try telling the families and friends who have lost loved ones on the road or have to live with the daily reminder of seeing their loved one struggling to make a new life for themselves having being seriously injured in an accident or the trauma caused to these family, friends and the emergency service crew who have to attend the scenes of these horrific accidents and the one who have to break the sad news to the families, that this is only a revenue generating stunt and I guarantee they will have a very different view on it. after all 1 life saved is worth more than all the revenue that can be collected

• Put a bloody alarm on your house and make sure your windows are closed and your chances of becoming a burglary victim decrease greatly. Take responsibility for your own actions and stop moaning and blaming the Gardai of you get caught speeding or you get burgled. Moan, moan, moan!!!

• There has been a significant drop in road-deaths to date.
    But it appears that the overzealous Gardai are attempting to acheive a zero number of victims on our roads
    This is not physically possible.
    In view of serious Garda cutbacks the available resources should be applied in a more balanced fashion.

• It’s the management at the top making these decisions! To be fair traffic corp wouldn’t know the first thing about crime or how to investigate it! Just standard issue revenue collectors!

• Surge targeting Dublin is a real lazy approach to improving road safety.
    Rural roads are the real hazard.

• I bet if all these zero tolerance Mother Teresa’s of driving were asked the question… Do you think those caught texting while driving should get the same penalty as those caught “Drunk Driving” ( between 80mg -100mg per 100ml of blood) A 6mth ban and a 400euro fine. They’d all give thumbs down

• What a joke, why not target high crime areas

• Ciaro 24/02/12 #

Graham thew, this checkpoint was set up on the north quays just after o’connell st bridge. The only unfortunate people who die in this part of town throw themselves into the Liffey.
    This is a publicity stunt, the checkpoint was manned by gardai and staff from the taxi regulators office. Purpose of checkpoint? Revenue collection.

Word of advice, don’t use stupid acronyms like IMHO. They make you sound like an idiot.

• Brilliant ciaro!

• Agreed revenue collecting. How is it the people that get the most points are the professional drivers. Yes they do break the law but they are still the safest drivers. This is just bull & I will never be convinced. Want to talk about road safety lets talk about road maintenance.

• You obviously don’t remember the young lady who lost her life on a bicycle on the North Quays so. A skip lorry and its driver committing a host of road Road Transport Offences ploughed clean over her. Her life might have been saved through an operation like this. Or perhaps the elderly gentleman hit by a car in Dorset St, he might’ve wanted to live another few happy years.

• The stoping on quays today, a revenue hunt noting to do with saving lives, stooping to do motorist for no tax, yes stooping! They just doing what there told though! No offence lads, lucky ye got a mild day

• I touch myself when I’m driving, I feel I save on fuel because it releases that pressure on the accelerator @ David seriously if you were on planet Ireland you would see that the state of the roads is crumbling.

• Hi Sam,could you please point me in the direction of the published evidence of these allegations?

• Its no secret im a big supporter of the police prison service etc, however i do get riled up with police managements obsession with traffic. They give them the best cars and equipment when crime is rampant and ordinary crime officers get nothing. The Ira are are still acting the maggot as are all the organised crime gangs, Its time to resource the crime officers and take down these thugs. Forget about tickets.

• Exactly.

• Randy hate to burst the illusion but traffic corps cars are no differant to regular patrol.cars apart from tge battenburg markings.and anpr kit. also traffic corps are roads policing..criminals use roads too. there are NO quotas..there are no drivers being ticketed for couple k’s over a limit…those things exist only in.urban mythology. we are consistently looking for similar patrol cars to our UK colleagues…bespoke fir police work but as yet no.word on.ANY replacement vehicles this year and that woukd be 2nd year in 3 that that would be the case. yhe fleet nationally is in a precarious state as regards the mileage limits. and m/bikes……

• So the guards are told to clamp down on areas of the country with dangerous roads that have resulted in 22 deaths so far this year. Why start in Dublin? How many of these deaths occurred in our capital, and, having their checkpoint on a straight road( not a twisting turning country lane with no space for two cars to pass and a speed limit/target of 100kph) does not make sense. Setting up on the quays is easy fine revenue, traffic is forced down the quays from town, sit there long enough and they’re sure to catch someone. Do it right and sit on the small meandering roads that people use as rally tracks

• @ sean mc. You can find out if im bluffing. Check out the internet for convictions in the uk. You have been warned. Its coming here. They will not stop. I have experienced it.

• @Michael. I do believe you and it doesnt surprise me. It just goes to show you the stupidity of these so called experts as they contradict themselves when they tell us it’s ok to stick your hand out the window to send signals to others, not mentioning the danger this would be for cyclists, yet they say it’s dangerous to have a smoke.

• David 25/02/12 #

How bout they just concentrate on the people that can’t drive for a change. Make everybody do a driving test everytime they want to renew their licence and make the test tougher.

• @ David. What planet are u on. ‘ make everyone do the test when they renew their licence. ‘ as if it doesn’t cost enough money to do the test in the first place. More screwing of the motorist and perfectly competent drivers who have already passed the test

• David 25/02/12 #

@ Brian. I’m living on planet Ireland where the majority of people cannot negotiate their way around a roundabout correctly, don’t know how to use indicators or don’t know how to drive on motorways. When you drive in other countries you really notice it. Also when you fail your test here you can drive home from the test centre. It’s about time this country took road safety seriously instead of hitting the same few easy targets all the time like talking on your phone or exceeding the 50 kph speed limit on a dual carriageway. How come you can still light a cigarette and smoke it but you can’t talk on a handheld phone for instance. The amount of people you see doing makeup, shaving and eating their breakfast in traffic is unreal while they laze around the road oblivious to what is going on around them. It doesn’t cost that much to do the test unless you need lessons and if you need lessons then you need lessons.

• Ann Hand 25/02/12 #

I couldn’t agree more!! The standard of driving in this country is absolutely atrocious!
      I also strongly believe that if anyone fails their driving test 3 times they SHOULD NOT be permitted to drive. We have a rubbish driving education system, and as we all know knowledge is power. If the knowledge was there perhaps these deaths wouldn’t be happening, but instead the Gardai believe punishing will have the same result… Foolish.

• Ann Hand 25/02/12 #

Just to clarify, i don’t think anyone who fails their test should be able to drive home afterwards. But more than 3 times then you clearly cannot drive, and are therefore a danger to yourself and others – in my honest opinion.

• @ David.I still think your wrong about having to resit the test every time u renew ur licence. Whilst u raise some good points about people’s driving which I agree with, resitting the test is not the answer. I drive about 60000 miles per year for the last ten years, and have never been involved in any incidents or have any penalty points. So I don’t see why I should resit my test. If anything I actually am a better more experienced driver since I sat my test 20 years ago.

• A Garda and two qualified driving instructors once told me there’s no advantage in using lights at daytime. You wouldn’t expect that from professionals who try to educate us on road safety!

• Fucks sake, thousands of homes burgled and this is what the rossers are doing?

• I feel sorry for anyone who thinks this is anything other than a milking machine for euro dollars. they like shooting fish in a barrel, it easier than chasing the crims. they are just pawns under orders, but they will have targets and quotas. dont be surprised if theres a miraculous rise in fines and prosecutions with no corresponding safety enhancement. im all for road safety by the way, never got points etc. these guys are after the readied, end of.

• I haven’t seen a speed van around my way since last October, before that there were 2 on rotation 24/7 and road users were obeying the speed limits.
    What’s going on?

• this is to rake more cash in for the government!

• @david. Good point about the ciggy,however police in the UK have prosecuted people for eating bananas & such while driving & ciggies are soon to be targeted. As the rsa & certain,members of our trafic corp are trained by the UK police & vosa its not too far away here. The more complient we get the more they will up the ante so they can get their stealth taxes. I have seen it happening here where we are following the UK model.

• Barty 25/02/12 #

The next time I see a Garda driving a marked or unmarked patrol car using his phone while driving who do I report him to ?

• Spot on Ciaro. We all know they’ll do it for a little while and then we won’t see them for another year to eighteen months

• Road deaths are a statistical inevitability, and fortunately the levels are dropping globally. In my opinion police time would be better used going after real criminals rather than people doing 120 in a 100 zone. There are far worse things happening in this country than speeding, using mobiles, and country people having a few pints and driving home.

• I read a comment a while back from some bright spark on here. I thought it was a gem. Got loads of red thumbs though.
    Where are the rozzers when ya need them? Well, Mick might be gone to his dinner or else he’s down on the motorway shooting fish in a barrel.

Boom Boom. Well it worked for me.

• No bankers or developers prosecuted for their role in wrecking the country. None of our former Fianna Failed overlords prosecuted for treason. Gardai and legal establishment of Ireland be proud!

• Or maybe it was just dinner time…well anyway.

• Tailgating ! Try driving the M7/N7 north from Kildare to Newlands X between 5.30am & 8am and they actually try to shunt you out of way in all lanes and won’t even apologise when you meet them at lights at Newlands.

Add New Comment