Advertisement
  TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 12 °C Monday 20 November, 2017

#Operation Thor

# operation-thor - Tuesday 14 November, 2017

Man arrested after gardaí recover two caravans, 4x4 and power tools in Kilkenny

There have a number of burglaries in the area over the last few weeks.

# operation-thor - Saturday 14 October, 2017

Gardaí seize drugs worth estimated €270,000 and arrest four people in Dublin

The operation was carried out as part of operation Thor by members of the Divisional Task Force based in Ballymun.

# operation-thor - Wednesday 11 October, 2017

Gardaí arrest 42 people and seize drugs in Kilkenny and Carlow

The arrests were for a number of different offences including theft, assault and burglary.

# operation-thor - Thursday 28 September, 2017

35 arrested after garda operation in Kilkenny and Carlow

Seven vehicles were seized for non compliance of various road traffic acts.

# operation-thor - Sunday 27 August, 2017

Man in court after gardaí stop car in Carlow and find €1.2 million

The man is aged in his 50s.

# operation-thor - Sunday 9 July, 2017

18 people arrested as part of crackdown at Omni and Pavilion Shopping Centres

The five cars found to be in breach of Road Traffic Acts were seized in and around the shopping centres.

# operation-thor - Wednesday 21 June, 2017

34 people arrested after 72 checkpoints carried out in Waterford

Increased high visibility foot patrols were carried out across 18 neighbourhoods in the city.

# operation-thor - Tuesday 20 June, 2017

Thirteen people arrested after cocaine and cannabis seized in Clare

The two day initiative was part of Operation Thor.

# operation-thor - Thursday 15 June, 2017

24 people arrested during day-long Garda crime crackdown in Co Kilkenny

The day-long operation was part of an Operation Thor offshoot codenamed Project Storm.

# operation-thor - Thursday 8 June, 2017

42 people arrested and 15 charged after gardaí search 19 premises in Kilkenny

The searches were carried out over the past three days.

# operation-thor - Monday 1 May, 2017

Two arrests as €50k worth of stolen industrial and gardening tools seized at Dublin port

Irish men aged 38 and 29 were arrested as part of Operation Thor.

# operation-thor - Saturday 8 April, 2017

Gardaí stop driver for wearing no seatbelt, find fake tax and insurance discs

It’s been a busy day for gardaí checking for valid tax and insurance.

# operation-thor - Wednesday 8 March, 2017

Gardaí seize €850,000 worth of heroin and cocaine in Tipperary drugs raid

A man was arrested and is currently being questioned.

# operation-thor - Sunday 26 February, 2017

Garda crime crackdown: 3 arrested in Limerick and 6 in Dublin

Three were arrested today in Limerick and six people were arrested as part of Operation Thor this week in Dublin.

# operation-thor - Monday 20 February, 2017

Van that pulled over before reaching Garda checkpoint was full of stolen bikes and computers

He was detained after the vehicle stopped on the hard shoulder of the road, to the north of a checkpoint.

# operation-thor - Tuesday 14 February, 2017

48 people arrested after 21 planned searches in Carlow

A total of fifty trainee gardaí from the Garda College Templemore assisted in the operation.

# operation-thor - Saturday 4 February, 2017

Gardaí catch teen with stolen jewellery and jar of coins Wicklow This post contains images

Gardaí catch teen with stolen jewellery and jar of coins

The teenage boy was arrested after he failed to stop his car for gardaí. in Wicklow.

# operation-thor - Tuesday 31 January, 2017

Two young men charged over burglaries in Offaly

Gardaí carried out a number of planned searches at residential properties in the Birr area yesterday.

# operation-thor - Wednesday 25 January, 2017

Fifty-one people arrested after 19 searches in Kilkenny

Heroin and cannabis herb were seized along with diesel, power tools and gas cylinders.

# operation-thor - Saturday 14 January, 2017

13 people arrested in Thor courts crackdown in west Dublin

The series of arrests were targeted at those in breach-of-court related offences

# operation-thor - Friday 13 January, 2017

Stolen power tools, machinery and ornaments worth €150k recovered by gardaí

Gardaí from Kilkenny, Tipperary and Carlow conducted a number of searches today and yesterday.

# operation-thor - Wednesday 11 January, 2017

Operation Thor hailed a success as burglaries fall by 2,320 in the capital

The garda operation is set to continue for at least the next 12 months.

# operation-thor - Saturday 19 November, 2016

Man due before court over €1.5 million cocaine seizure

The seizure occurred in Rathmines yesterday morning as part of Operation Thor.

# operation-thor - Friday 18 November, 2016

Cocaine worth €1.5 million seized in south Dublin

The drugs were discovered as part of a planned search by specialist officers.

# operation-thor - Wednesday 16 November, 2016

Man arrested after 'attempting to sell stolen car he advertised online'

Gardaí have issued advice to any potential car buyers to double check the vehicle is legitimate.

# operation-thor - Saturday 29 October, 2016

45 cannabis plants worth €36,000 seized in Cavan

A man was arrested and then released, and a file is being prepared for the DPP.

# operation-thor - Tuesday 25 October, 2016

Burglars are most likely to come through your front door in the early evening

Gardaí are urging people to ensure that houses look occupied.

# operation-thor - Saturday 22 October, 2016

Man arrested after gardaí search 6 premises in 3 Leinster counties

The man is being detained at a Kildare garda station under Section Four of the Criminal Justice Act.

# operation-thor - Friday 21 October, 2016

Over 30 people arrested and charged after six day garda operation

Specialist officers manned checkpoints across the capital as they targeted transient criminals.

# operation-thor - Wednesday 19 October, 2016

52 arrested, fireworks and drugs seized, in giant public crime crackdown in Kilkenny and Carlow

It is the ninth such concentrated day of action nationwide.

# operation-thor - Thursday 6 October, 2016

64 people arrested by gardaí in massive Thor crackdown in Carlow and Kilkenny

Operation Thor is a multi-strand national anti-crime strategy.

# operation-thor - Tuesday 13 September, 2016

Arrests climb to 45 following huge Garda operation in Carlow

At least 12 house searches were carried out by 70 gardaí, including the mounted unit, dog unit, regional support and 50 trainee gardaí.

# operation-thor - Sunday 11 September, 2016

Gardaí have seized cannabis herb worth €90,000 in Kildare

Two people were also arrested and detained on suspicion of carrying out burglaries, while several road traffic offences were also “disclosed”.

# operation-thor - Thursday 1 September, 2016

# operation-thor - Wednesday 31 August, 2016

Stolen Audi cars recovered in Meath and Wicklow as gardaí target organised crime gang

One man is his 50s was arrested and is currently detained at Tallaght Garda Station.

# operation-thor - Tuesday 30 August, 2016

Gardaí recover stolen cars, a boat and three ride-on lawnmowers

And a regular lawnmower.

# operation-thor - Thursday 18 August, 2016

All in an afternoon: Almost €750,000 worth of drugs seized in Dublin and Limerick

Gardaí in Dublin and Limerick seized drugs, firearms, and ammunition yesterday as part of their crime-prevention operation.

# operation-thor - Tuesday 9 August, 2016

Three teenagers arrested over early morning shop robbery

Gardaí said the teenagers took a quantity of cash and cigarettes from the shop before fleeing the scene in a car.

# operation-thor - Sunday 24 April, 2016

Man due in court after Cork gardaí find gun and ammunition in car

A woman arrested in connection with the investigation was released without charge.

1 2