TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 14 °C Thursday 20 June, 2013

Sinn Féin down, Fine Gael up in new opinion poll

The Sunday Business Post/Red C poll found that support for Sinn Féin had fallen by three percentage points – but no change for Labour or Fianna Fáil.

Image: Julien Behal/PA Wire

SUPPORT FOR SINN Féin has dropped in a new opinion poll, pushing Fianna Fáil into the position of the second-most popular party in the country.

The Sunday Business Post/Red C poll published this evening found that Sinn Féin dropped three percentage points to 16 per cent. Fine Gael was the only political party to register an increase in support, with an increase of two percentage points bringing the party to 32 per cent.

There were no changes for either Labour, which remains at 15 per cent, or Fianna Fáil, which stayed at 18 per cent.

Independents, Green and other candidates, including the ULA, increased their support by one percentage point to put them at 19 per cent altogether.

More than 1,000 voters were surveyed for the poll which was carried out by Red C on Monday, Tuesday and Wednesday.

Respondents were asked which political party or independent candidate they could give their first preference to if a general election were held tomorrow.

Sinn Féin’s Martin McGuinness to meet Queen Elizabeth >

• Share on Facebook
  • Email this article
  •  

About the author:

Read next:

Comments (116 Comments)

• I genuinely feel sorry for the people questioning the integrity of the survey when the very same people were celebrating the results of the same survey when it showed gains for SF. Some consistency gentlemen, please.

• Bang on Wolfgang. It’s funny, ad soon as a poll shows an alleged spike in SF’s support, the Shinnerbots are all over it like a bad rash. When a poll states there is a decline in support for SF, the bots are screaming that polls are not to be trusted or believed. Thankfully the Irish electorate can see through their manure….

• Where did that happen? Is that another Fine Gael illusion?

• Read above posts Tim. I have to say I’m looking forward to and hoping for a spectacular one liner from Prince Philip when Her Majesty Elizabeth the Second, by the Grace of God, of the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, and of Her other Realms and Territories, Queen, Head of the Commonwealth, Defender of the Faith meets Martin the wolf in sheeps clothing, bomber of the innocents, member of the Army Council, liar.

• http://www.thejournal.ie/support-for-coalition-parties-down-but-up-for-sinn-fein-and-fianna-fail-449270-May2012/

Again, genuinely embarrassed for SF celebrating the results there and now questioning the integrity of the very same survey now because it doesn’t suit them. Although reason and logic seems to escape those who support that … “party” … most of the time.

• Agree, Wolfgang & Toorkeel. Anyway – the only real poll is the result of a General Election.

• Unsecured, ‘unguaranteed’ bondholder payments.

“Unsecured”, that is, not secured against specific assets, “unguaranteed”, that is not covered by the September 2008 Irish Bank guarantee or its extensions. Fine Gael will pay €1.1 bn next week to unsecured bondholders.
      Quit trying to change the subject Wolfgang, toorkeel and Declan. Your commentary displays no relevance; no context; and thus no sense!

• Tim, you asked “Where did that happen?”, got an answer you didn’t like and decided to discharge some unrelated bull sh1t about bondholders. You then sat there and accused others of irrelevant discussion?

Everything so far has been relevant to the article we’re commenting on, except for the crazy rantings you’ve posted in reply to almost every comment about something that has nothing to do with the article.

Get a grip.

• Um, I’m not sure what people expect. There’s a large number of swing voters who previously voted for FF (but now deny it), who then anger voted for Labour (but now deny it), temporarily decided they’d vote for SF for no real reason but discontent (but now deny it) and are now swinging back towards FF (but will also deny it).

C’mon people, the Irish electorate aren’t great but they’re not utterly retarded. The spike for SF was a temporary one and was in reaction to some changes being introduced at the time. It was protest support and not much more.

Regardless of what the other parties are up to, most people with an ounce of sense just aren’t going to vote for a party with absolutely no viable policies, who contradict themselves on the different sides of the border and who are deeply linked to a bunch of violent knackers. Those representing SF on canvases tend to be people the average person just doesn’t connect with, young, rougher lads with little political knowledge and just a bunch of misdirected anger.

I’m sorry to those on here who defend SF so intently on here, but if you think SF will ever be a meaningful presence here then I’m sorry but your heads are firmly in the clouds.

• I’m sorry to burst your bubble but Sinn Fein have credible alternatives to the handover of 32% GDP to Bondholders.

Rich and wealthy people oppose Sinn Fein because they are running out of offshore bank accounts to hide their money. Why should ordinary Irish people be forced to fill the tax gap for the rich who don’t pay any tax?

That was selfish thinking and now you will soon have to pay your fair share.

• Tim, that sort of comment rather ignores the fact that it’s *ordinary* people that aren’t voting SF. 84%: that’s the percentage of Irish people not voting SF even when SF is the only political party on a platform of cutting taxes and increasingly public services.

Maybe in your world 84% of the electorate are wealthy elitists with offshore bank accounts, but *in the real world*…

• Peter,

Yeah, if one believes in superstition. We all know the rich cannot hide for much longer. It will be interesting to see this new chapter of Ireland unfold. So far, no one has changed the main drivers of decline, bondholder payments and tax breaks. Where was this call for austerity when Kenny was squandering the futures of our kids and grandkids on his “jobs initiative”? If you conservatives would just PAY for those bloated civil servants and tax give-aways, we’d be in good shape.

• Tim Jackson. nCapitulation is difficult to stomach. nWolfgang Weisen is way ahead of you in his conclusions and reasoning. nI would be one of the first to depart this country if sinn fein got to power.

• Is it any wonder we Irish as classified as stupid if FF in back in favour again.
    It’s a true saying,you get what you deserve.

• Yeah stupid to vote for sinn fein

• Well the criminals and traitors of FF are still only at 18%, virtually the same as GE11 18 mths ago. That is not a comeback , that is just flat lining.

This poll will be taken by all with a dash of nothing to see here. For FF, it means no renewal but core still holds, long term viability still in question. Labour, will Thank God they are still in Mid Teens, ULA/INDO’s can say we’re not going to vaish anytime soon. Shinners will dislike drop, but it is only 1 poll and they seem to be going from strength to strength in org. and performance. FG chuffed that early 30′s seems to be new home.

• @ Alex Simon

Your definition of “stupid” remains abstract.

Considering the €1.1 billion un-secured bond payment next week, these “stupid” people continue to support Fine Gael’s mafiosi.

• @ Tim and sinn fein have been consistent is showing they are incapable of doing any better.. We would end up the Venezuela of europe with them in government

• As opposed to the laughing stock of Europe.

• @ Alex Simon

Oh please! You know …. if I hired someone to turn around my tanking sales and the best they could come up with after 1 year is to blame the guy before them …. I’d fire them!!! Unlike how blueshirts prefer to think, it’s about performance. In this world, there are winners and loosers. You either produce results, or, you’re replaced.

• Ugh…..Fianna Fáil??

• The only real news to take from polls are the levels of consistent support. Average the support of parties and adjust for the expectations of those voting for them and you have a reflection of society generally. Not being biases now but half the middle and rural/agricultural class is voting FG. They aren’t necessarily wealthy types BTW, but rather are the bulk of people who crave stability and normality. The rest of Irish voters are divided amongst the other parties. SF has a solid working class vote with minor %s of middle classes flirting with them, on the assumption of solidarity (declining though). New SF voters are generally attracted by the desire for a shake up, though not necessarily anything socialist.nLab are getting a smattering of middle and working class votes but nothing sizeable. They are ultimately a Lib Dem type force, and I see no real gains to be had while in Government as their core target voters are not madly enamoured with status quo politics. FF are taking FG’s dregs, amongst some of their old support base, which has always been inexplicably devoid if class based profile.nnJust my two cents.

• mcbab 23/06/12 #

Yay! Great news but not too surprising. Sinn fein support was only ever going to be an aberration. Sanity once again prevails! .

• Three more years of Kenny and the country will be in armageddon.

****€1.1 bn un-secured bond payment next week under Fine Gael***

KENNY FOR EX-TAOISEACH 2012.

• (throws eyes to heaven and slaps hand against forehead)nnn Tim you’re right I’m sure nnAnd all those sensible suggestions you made for alternatives will take us all ages to analyse !!!!!!nn

• For those putting their hopes in to the hands of SF … For a party that is trying to re-evolve as a bastion of morals and being at one with the people they are incredibly bad at living up to this image. Public support for Common criminals and murderers of a Garda, election materials stored in the boot of a car with tools of serious crime, shenanigans like Inkgate, the new face of Pearse Doherty mis using tax payers money to strengthen his political machine .. And then claim some sort of compliance by virtue of an accident. nnSF are not the breath of fresh air that the ill informed and Sinnerbots on here would say they are …. And until Adams has the balls and integrity to stand up and admit his past he should have no place in the Republic of Ireland … As long as he denies it he is going totally against the grain of everyone else involved in the peace process, the road to conciliation can only begin with honest and trust .. nnVirtues seriously lacking in the Sinn Fein ranks n

• Dave,

As for Fine Gael, we’ll talk in three years on whether or not they made a good choice. Here are some things you just know in advance, like don’t jump off a cliff, don’t drive your car into a brick wall, don’t swim with sharks, don’t elect a school teacher as a taoiseach.

• Hey Dave any sign of an apology to the Irish people from the criminals in Fine Gael, that defrauded the irish tax payer of hundreds of thousands for over 9 years. Shame on anyone who votes for these lawbreakers.

• Dave Looney …
      Mmmm… Common Criminals…………
      Michael Lowry
      Charlie Haughey
      Ray McSharry
      Bertie Ahern
      Liam Lawlor
      Which one of them is in SF ??

• @martin @dec I haven’t shown any allegiance to any party in this discussion and I am no denying the dodgy past / present of the like of LAB / FF & FG .. what I was trying to get to was the the notion that SF are purporting to be the credible alternative in irish politics exhibiting higher morals and levels of integrity.

However, as I pointed out when their leader denies his ‘colorful’ past and some of the newer generation of the party have been found out the are proving they are just as untrustworthy as the rest of the rougues that have milked kildare street for their own benefits.

• I honesty dont know one person that said they have took part in a Red C poll.

• Forgot to add this the reason I dont trust them or pay attention to them.

• mr x 23/06/12 #

Obviously you never studied statistics either try googling standard deviation and margin of error in relation to sample sizes. 1000 respondents is a perfectly acceptable sample size in overall proportion to the size of the electorate. If you don’t understand something try reading up on it instead of arbitrarily dismissing it as some form of witch craft

• mcbab 23/06/12 #

I have

• No I havent studied statistics. I was going to get a book on the subject just out of interest but was to busy with a engineering math book that reminded me of a cavity brick in weight and size.

• I have too. So that’s two people now just off of one comment from you.

• FG seem like self loathing individuals with pretty nothing positive to say about anything that affects their blaoted cash cow.

FINE GAEL recently sanctioned an extra €27,000 expenses to ministers.

FINE GAEL are about to handover €1.1 bn to Bank Bondholders next week:

This is equivalent to theamount of new taxes raised in 2012. So in one day, we will be handing over all our new taxes to “speculators”.

• FG seem like self loathing individuals with pretty nothing positive to say about anything that affects their bloated cash cow.

FINE GAEL recently sanctioned an extra €27,000 expenses to ministers.

FINE GAEL are about to handover €1.1 bn to Bank Bondholders next week:

This is equivalent to the amount of new taxes raised in 2012. So in one day, we will be handing over all our new taxes to “speculators”.

• @TimnGet back to ALDI. The real adults who haven’t got budgets from fairyland have to figure this out…

• Tim. If that information you’ve given pertained to Sinn Féin there’d be blue murder. But instead because it’s nice respectable blue shirted and tied Fine Gael you get the thumb bashing from hell. I despair at times re the electorate in this country. It’s said we get the government we deserve. What about our children. Are they getting the debt they deserve?

• I have taken part in RedC polls, unfortunately none of them have been about politics.

• 1000 people were polled in the RTE canteen

• Probably Fine Gael supporters in disguise.

Ireland will sink much quicker under Kenny than it would under Adams.

The rich are running out of places to hide…

• Hide from who? For a moment I thought I was in Stalin’s Russia. . .

• Tim Jackson. nYour comment must be viewed from a comical angle. nOr are you indeed serious?!nThe day sinn fein gets to the helm will be the day all investors will pull out of Ireland. nThis country will be a desolate one.

• @ Stray Mutt

You think investors would pull out? Ireland will be forced to increase corporation tax under Kenny’s mafiosi. Kenny is willing to sell Ireland’s financial sovereignty to Europe. So why are you blaming the opposition? It’s Kenny you should be directing that towards.

• Stray Mutt

(and off topic, sorry) I’m really curious to know what is with the “n” at the beginning of every sentence?

• When the increasingly risible Grisly Adams does the decent thing and steps aside SF will become much more popular. Take it to the bank!

• He doesn’t need to step aside. He has good debate skills, honesty, and does a much better productive job than intellects like Kenny, Gilmore or Martin. We need Mr. Adams. There is a snobby middle class who need to shake-up.

• Cheers for that, Tim. I needed a laugh.

• Gerry “I’ve Never Been In The IRA” Adams honest ?!! Jaysus !!!

• @ Declan Carroll

Is that all you got???? Man, come hard and strong (under relevant and constitutional constructs) or stay at home!! Weren’t you the one, in a previous bit of commentary blather, who stated that we needed a general election? Well, ‘Oh Great Scholar’ I say bring it on.

• G’day, Tim. Let me clarify my comment re the result of a Gen Election being the only result that matters. What is an opinion poll only a brief snapshot at any given time taken from a random number of people on any given subject. 1000 people doesn’t represent the entire electorate on this & any other matter. I am no fan & supporter of SF & I agree with the commentator who said that SF will never be taken seriously here along as Adams & Co are in the picture. I also agree with the comment that SF speak one thing in the ROI & another in NI. SF don’t impress me any at all. If you are a SF supporter, fair play to you. You are entitled to that & I accept that. As regard the comment that Mr Adams is “honest” is a comment I disagree with. I personally detest him with a passion. His time to move on has long since passed & if SF wish to be taken seriously here in the ROI, they also need to drop the old guard & move on.

• @ Declan Carroll

I’m sure the readers here will take your views as superior to the impending collapse of FG & LAB. Confused chronology do not make a logic good. That’s why learning history is of the essence when trying to gather some logic.

• @timnWhy elect a teacher when a terrorist will do!!!! nnTim .. I never once mentioned FG in my comment … Why don’t you deal with the points raised in my post rather than going off in tangents? Afraid of addressing the truth?

• When a society rewards no effort and takes from those who make an effort, that society will go downhill and die. A lot of people won’t recognize that until the sky falls on them.

• @tim Yet again you avoid dealing with issues raised … … Typical

• Dave. There were two recent issues worth addressing. Inkgate is running out of steam at this stage. Worth mentioning that I’m glad it’s all you’ve got to talk about re Sinn Féin from the past year. It amounted to €50k. A lot more has been siphoned off the tax payer by Fine Gael TDs. And Pearse Doherty’s expense fiddle was up on his website for the whole world to see. Hardly trying to deceive. Had he been a member of FiannaGaeLab he’d have had plenty advisors advising him how to employ the wife, cousins etc without it getting noticed. Worth mentioning also that the 2 people he employed were not members of the Sinn Féin party.

• @réada .. you say that Inkgate has ran out of steam .. ah sure it was only €50k .. what does it matter .. that is my point exactly .. brush it under the carpet. Anyway, my bigger grip with that individual TD is the company he keeps – remember the balaclavas, fake garda uniforms etc in the car with the election posters ?

As for Pearse Doherty, he claimed TRAVEL expenses and then decided that he was in a position to decide how and where that could be spent when he didn’t require the TRAVEL expenses .. that is the sense of entitlement that the other parties have been harboring for generations and is what SF claim to be against.

• Seriously?!

• Sinn Fein are a bunch of thugs. They have no right to be in politics. Shame on them.

• Opinion poll lol? Journal why don’t you put a online poll on this news story saying have you ever partaken in an opinion poll? I’d say the results would be hilarious

• Just goes to show how bad things are! Support the least crooked! What a Kip this country is! I’m ashamed to be Irish!

• Because Fine Gael supporters would go into an aggressive snit. The Irish seem very slow to change until it affects their cash cow. They did that under FF and now FG is headig the same path. The Irish people remain placid until it hits the fan.

Why are people afraid of voting Sinn Fein? To date, nobody has given any sane answer other than the intellect rejoinder “because my parents voted for the traditional party line”. One has to look inside the mentality of the Irish electorate.

• People aren’t “afraid” of voting for Sinn Fein, they’re just smarter than to.

The rest of the parties may not be great, but SF offers nothing positive to this country.

• @ Wolfgang Weisen

What you write is utter tosh. Off course, ill-informed are always the other ones (you). May I correct your false perception that SF wouldn’t offer anything positive. The naked truth is that SF DO. The Irish state is teetering on the verge of a second bailout under Enda Kenny. FG have always protected and will always protect their interests only. Enda Kenny doesn’t give a sh#t about Ireland or its future. People are seeing that too and Kenny cannot be gone soon enough.

• Oh? People are seeing that too? Is that why this poll shows a drop in support for SF and an increase in support for FG? Because more people dislike FG than ever?

As of this poll, FG have TWICE the support SF do and are supported by almost 1 in 3 people. Does that hurt? Do facts and reality hurt that much that you’re driven to spamming this page with nonsense that has nothing to do with the results? It clearly does since you’ve been at it for quite some time today and in what is clearly a quite animated fashion.

Like all of SF, your head is firmly in the clouds, Tim.

• Wolgang,

A blueshirt who eats veal.

I’m sure Frankfurt would like him.

• Tim and Wolfgang, can you both please stop posting antagonising comments aimed at each other. A few posts have already been removed from this thread for personal abuse, which breaks the Comments Policy for the site. If it continues then the thread will be closed for the rest of the evening.

Cheers.

• Hrmm, well, if you want to talk about liking and disliking things Tim, I did a little tally and it appears that thus far in this comment thread you have received
      196 green thumbs
      and
      367 RED thumbs.

Maybe you should do some work on being liked yourself?!

I know, I know, you guys hate facts, figures … reality in general … but I tallied the figures and as of posting they’re correct. You get 1.82x the amount of red thumbs for your posts than you do for green posts, so you get almost twice as much people disliking your content as you do people liking it. On the flip side, twice as many people support the party you’re ranting about than the party you support.

Aren’t facts and figures fun!?

• Folks, I’m sorry about this but the thread is going to be closed to give people a chance to cool off. This should be a straightforward discussion about an opinion poll but there’s been far too many personal attacks and a small number of users have dragged it off-topic.

I’m happy to discuss this further with anyone who wants to email me about it.

Just a reminder that if you ever see a comment which you think may need to be taken down, press the Report this Comment button which you can see above the green and red thumbs on every post. It’s the fastest way of getting the attention of someone here who can deal with it.

• I suppose people see that the old corrupt FF heads are nearly all gone, which cannot be said for FG old boys!

• FF have broken the economy 3 times, FG have broken it once. Both have set global records for economic collapse, with FF really holding the 1st prize here.

FG have it in them, to break Ireland’s economy one more time. I think they deserve that change and am glad that 32% feel the same way.

• @wolfgang … I thought he was waiting on word back from Parnell Square as to what the official answer was ;)

• the common theme of SF supporters responses to criticism the use of deflection or drawing similarities with others.

Its as if they are trying to defend something like shoplifting based on a theory that it was alright as long as they don’t steal as much as someone else.

• FF, FG, Labour and Greens have destroyed this country! I don’t like SF and wouldn’t vote for them. I’ve said it before and I say it again, this country needs a new honest party – one for the Irish people and Ireland!

• What is your rational reason for not voting SF? The Irish people are either delusional or so politically self-interested that they don’t care about future generations.

• Usually when sinn fein’s popularity rises in similar polls there is a negative story concerning them in the press. I wonder will we see a positive story now that they’ve seen a dip in popularity.

• The media is controlled by wealthy people who oppose the redistribution of wealth for a fairer Ireland.

They live in a world of take – it’s a much easier place to be than the world of earn.

• @Tim Jackson, & Wolfgang Wiesen

You cannot become paranoid (Tim Jackson) which I fear many in Sin Fein are and take these polls personally. As some posts mentioned above, Sin Fein were quite happy and actually arrogant with the last poll that was shown, which gave them the unfortunate empty hope that they were gaining votes.

I don’t believe in the polls but what I do believe in is that the media put these figures out there to get people talking/discussing/arguing. Fortunately, I also believe and agree with ‘Wolfgang Wieser that there was a ‘swing and anger vote against the main parties where many of the electorate voted Sin Fein. Thankfully every time M Loo McDonald, Adams and Mcguinness, Doherty opens their mouths the truth is always seen.

Whether you like it or not, I said before, until Adams and McGuinness agrees to taking a back seat, Sin Fein will never get any further in politics. They have and bring too much horror, hate, murder with them and the electorate that actually think about it before they vote will never vote for them. Too much rotten baggage.

• @ Sheila Byrne

Perfect example of how right-wingers just dismiss the facts that they don’t like. They don’t need a reason to do it and don’t even bother to make a counter argument. Instead, they engage in name calling and say “I don’t want to hear it” whenever they are presented with facts that disprove their flawed ideology.

• Plus the negativity SF & others constantly come out with. We all know what happened & we all want a way out. Negativity by any party is simply off putting & SF excel in that, in my opinion.

• I honestly don’t no what to believe, I feel very sorry for this country if the people are willing to vote back in FF, FFg or labour. There never will be change if we continue to forget the recent past.

• Ireland is again is repeating the same thing and expecting a different result.

FF are incapable of being honest, SF are a pack of malnourished right wing bully boys pretending to have a social conscience, and FG have deluded themselves into thinking they can get us out of this mess.

That leaves us at the mercy of Labour and the so called social left. A corner of Irish politics so middle class, so
    mediocre they make Crystal Swing look like The Ramones.

Ireland unfree shall never be at peace. Sure, but we can’t blame this one on the Brits.

• And then when Fine Gael fail?nPerhaps the electorate should change.nOn another top I suggested Jimmy Carr should have paid his tax. I got 3/1 red thumbs. Why?nSo much ‘wouldn’t you do the same’.

• Insane people support Fine Gael considering the €1.1bn un-secured bond payment next week…

• Sam 23/06/12 #

‘No, it’s a wind-up’ pathetic comment…

• How could any sane-minded person support a €1.1bn un-secured bond payment next week????

• What kind of idiots are doing these polls. Unfortunately sinn fein are the best outta a bad bunch. Beggar’s can’t be choosers.

• The ULA are far more principled than SF. SF will sell out as soon as the prospect of coalition beckons.

• ‘Sinn Fein are the best outta a bad bunch’- you’ve completely lost it. Also the people doing these polls are the ones who did the polls which seen SF in second place. Fortunately, people have lost whatever temporary satisfaction they had with them.

• have proof of that mr nokia charger….didnt think so …i say give them a chance and then u can judge them

• Fine Gael Labour are heading the same way as Fianna Fail and the Greens, you guys all know that sticking your heads in the sand aint gonna help yee , David Higgins Mcbab all know Sinn Fein will rise and fall slightly in the polls until the next election, But when the people are paying 10 times the house hold charge they are now and we sign over the last of our powers as a soverign state, A coalition of independents and Sinn Fein will be the only really alternative to these idiots presently in power. Sorry lads !

• €1.1bn un-secured bond payment next week…

• Has anyone on here ever been asked to participate in one of these polls because I certainly haven’t.

• Sorry, when Sinn Fein has failed.

• Sinn Fein would not only fail in trying to govern the country, they would leave office having left the country in an irreparable state that would condemn the nation to generations of suffering and emigration.

They offer no solutions to Ireland’s problems and have the potential to cause more problems for us than any other entity in the country’s history.

• Wolfgang,

You keep mentioning SF would “cause more problems” – Explain in detail what kind of problems please.

I look forward to your follow-up.

• @Wolfgang , While painting a picture of armageddon under Sinn Fein rule you’ve just described the current state of the country under Fine Gael.

• Wolfgang. Are you some German bondholder petrified at the idea of losing your YES men? And please tell me you’re liking your own comments. :(

• @ Tim Jackson,

Answer me this, how on earth can Adams, McGuinness, M Loo MacDonald own 2/3 homes and be on ‘the average industrial wage’? Bullsh1t if I ever heard of it!!!! Homes in Belfast, Derry, Donegal, Dundalk. One of them living in a 6/7 bedroom, electric gates in Dn 11? How, pray tell? How many ‘rich’ people does Adams think there are in Ireland when he says he’ll get the country running on taxing the rich? Someone with a pass maths in Junior Certificate could work out that his plan is not possible.

His agenda and/or financial plan is a fairytale. He will put this country in deeper darkness than we have seen since the ’50′s. He is promising the world to working class type of person in this country and unfortunately, some of them will believe him because they don’t know what else to believe in any more. I get so angry when he stands there in the Dail, being a complete verbal diarrhea like Higgins and Shane Ross. Shame on them to promise the gold at the end of the rainbow, when in fact what there is at the end of his rainbow is cow manure! Everyone of them in that Dail needs to stand and be counted and answer to all the poor souls in huge debt and crisis, their families destroyed for at least the next two generations, some of us losing family member from suicide and not even caused by themselves, but caused by greedy, selfish, self centred lying, money grabbing bas@ards.

I hope, prayer and wish some day soon, some of them will find their conscious and correct this sooner than later.

• @Sheila Your decripition of the working class as “Them” says a lot about ya! We need a policy of growth stimulus not lip service to it or more austerity. I’ve never heard Shane Ross spout anything but the truth and good sence, something this government has failed to echo.

• Does anyone doubt that the ULA are the real opposition in and outside the Dáil??