TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 10 °C Wednesday 22 May, 2013

Ouch: Tensions increase as Gerry Adams dismisses Fianna Fáil as ‘impotent’

The two parties have exchanged a series of increasingly-harsh criticisms this week as they battle to be seen as the main opposition party.

Image: Julien Behal/PA Wire

SINN FÉIN LEADER Gerry Adams has dismissed Fianna Fáil as ‘impotent’ and irrelevant, highlighting the recent rebellion by Éamon Ó Cuiv as a sign that the party is in ‘complete disarray’.

Adams criticised the ‘recent rash of bellicose statements’ by Fianna Fáil leader Micheál Martin.

The move is the latest scrap between the two parties as they battle to be seen as the main opposition party.

Earlier in the week, Fianna Fáil leader Micheál Martin said he was opposed to the party ever going into coalition with Sinn Féin – a comment Gerry Adams described as ‘presumptuous’.

Yesterday Martin challenged Adams to a head-to-head debate over the Fiscal Compact referendum and criticised the Sinn Féin president for his ‘virtual absence’ from the campaign so far. Adams hit back by saying he was happy to debate Martin – along with all the other party leaders.

“The recent rash of bellicose statements by Fianna Fáil leader Micheál Martin are a clear attempt to make his party relevant at a time when it is in complete dissary,” Adams said at an event to mark the 31st anniversary of the death of hunger striker Bobby Sands.

We are daily witnessing outright defiance of Deputy Martin’s leadership of Fianna Fail by now less a figure than a grandson of the party’s founder.

Adams said that Micheál Martin’s party was ‘impotent in the Dáil its TDs can hardly object to the Fine Gael/Labour coalition implementing Fianna Fáil policies’.

For the Fianna fail leadership this referendum is all about the party. But for genuine republicans it is about the future of Ireland, our ability to control our own affairs and the building of a real republic where the interests of Irish citizens come first.

Martin challenges Gerry Adams to head-to-head debate – but will Adams do it? >

Read next:

Comments (155 Comments)

• we watch the jeering on the tv live from the dail,, its a disgrace on and off screen, this is all they can talk about, what about seeing how much they can do without in their own pockets, do they need a thousand for expenses every month, multiplied by how many of them,, some pensioner may get a little help and not be put to bed at 6oclock in the evening due to cut backs, and stay there till sometimes 10 the following day, if they want to jeer pull up the dirt and jeer about that, think the rest of can read and see how badly they are running this country into poverty, we know cut backs and new taxes have not even started, and they can just call names,, as i have said b4 we have school teachers running this country and that is exactly how they act, just put downs, bullying and punishment,, wish we really had some real politicians, that studied politics and what they are on the seat for, seems each one then has to hire someone who knows what to do, and we pay for that also,,,, but ireland will keep voting for whomever their dad, granddad was in the seat before hand,,, so we will be stuck, as they will never be accountable, and school antics will run the dail to the shame of the irish as other countries look in and observe how a country should not be run,,,,

• If Michael Martin were any more sincere his face would melt of his head.
    He is truly blind and vomit inducing. And Adams is right the Party is utterly impotent

• What a load of B*ll*x, if Gilmore and kenny can make statements on a Yes vote and why we should? Why can’t they just do a leaders debate, never mind what Gerry and michael represent. Get them up there debating, if they want to be leaders and tell us how to vote. Then they should debate, if they dont then they are weak and shouldnt be leaders!

• I have a cunning plan.

Mehole wants a debate with Gerreh. Both sides of the divide, as such. I guess having to share a platform with Mary Lou, as opposed to an actual party leader was a blow to his credibility, the nation didn’t exactly sit up and take notice.

I suggest Gerreh asks Dev Óg to argue the No side in his place. The implosion on FF live on air-the whole country would tune in to that one.

• i think the new sf politicians are well educated and a different class to the old sf that sit on the dail, i feel when they retire the new kids on the block will be a very strong well able to speak and very debatable against anyone of the ff, fg or labour tds, think they know more about ireland and its economics and the rest are just scared of the germans, and are yes men, feel also we dont need a party anymore as it seems if someone has there own brain to use and go against the wishes of the party they are out,,, so much for having ones own mind, and think the people are voting in, should not be the dictorial head of a party to throw them out,,, think when jerry adams and that lot retire sf will give a good run , they are very well spoken and educated and never thought i would say but could beat out all the loosers of ff fg and labour, they are all old school ,, who their daddy was so they get a seat, they tried the back door, with independants and got caught with their dragon, another liar caught for ff, at this stage we need new blood , and not just school teachers, we need politicians and business people who run multi billion operations everyday,,,

• i do agree with the view that this is blatant oppertunism by Martin, mainly for his owns party consumption, in view of O’Cuivs actions. His attempt to drag FF to relevance via the media is surely the last act of a desperate man.

• To be fair if Fianna Fail wanted to be seen in the media they would have opposed the treaty.

The NO side gets equal coverage in the media so FF would be seen as leading the NO side and Martin would have his mug on the telly every evening.

He was anything but opportunistic to back the treaty!

• That is probably the lamest attempt at spin i have ever seen on these pages, and I’ve seen some clangers. FF could not have credibly opposed this treaty. And, even if they did, they would not have been the ‘leaders’ of the No side, they would have ben laughed at.

Jesus david, do you really think you’re helping your beloved fine gael with this crap?

• It’s ironic David, that in the week that FG members of the Yes Campaign give Micheal Martin a severe dressing down over his trying to make himself the news story rather than the Yes sales pitch, that you are defending him to the hilt.

Micheal will be taking a back seat from now on in or Coveney and co. will be down on him like a ton of bricks.

• What is the nasty response for Trueleft? David made a fairly valid point there.

• You are welcome to your opinion about the point being valid. Stick around Fintan. You will see a couple of people constantly attempt to spin, twist and flip every lie, u-turn, threat, blackmail and underhanded deed of this government.

David is a proud member of young fine gael and proudly used a picture of himself alongside enda kenny as his profile photo. You should digest his posts in that context.

• He can be a member of whatever he wants. He’s should still expect to permitted to express an opinion on the site without being slagged off.

• Ha ha. Knew that was coming!

• A former minister for foreign affairs (Martin) coming out against the treaty would be massive news and would represent a radically new approach from Fianna Fail.

The media would be all over it!!

• @ Too True Left: You aren’t so bad at the spinning and twisting yourself mate.

Tell us, what party are you a member of? You criticise David Higgins for being politcally active, yet what party are you a member of?

• I’m not a member of any political party Ryan, and have no intention of being either. I’m of the opinion that people should make up their mind on an issue based on their conscience, not party affiliation.

• Mehole Martin has enough of a job to persuade Fianna Fail people to support the Austerity Treaty without attacking Sinn Féin. As an aside was Mehole in Cabinet when the destruction of this country was planned and carried out so really does what he actually says mean anything to anyone only even dwindling band of lunatics that still believe in him

• FF certainly can get up a round of applause for the likes of Ahern and Pee Flynn still though. Pee Flynn was recently commended by the party for his past deeds.

Not that M.Martin will ask Pee for the 50k back, not that he’ll refer it to the Guards or C.A.B. Flynn might start talking and then a very large no. of FF ex-TD’s and Ministers would have Guards asking them to help their investigations.

Besides all of that M.Martin is the weakest leader in the Dáil, he is woeful, you would have to go back to Alan Dukes to find as poor a leader in the Dáíl.

http://www.advertiser.ie/mayo/article/51863/castlebar-fianna-fail-lauds-flynns-record-of-service-to-mayo

Same old FF.

• Ya so then Micky Martin told Gerry that his beard looked stupid and Gerry called him a baldy b&stard but Gerrys mam overheard it and dragged him out by the ear. Haven’t seen him since.

• he does have a point about it being all about the party and not for the good of the country, but then that’s FF for ye. it always was about the party and it’s members, mostly it’s TDs, first! so good to see FF sticking to type!!!

• And SF seems all about the cult of Adams.

• Your party leader goes on about needing austerity, imposing it on the lowest incomes families, while refusing to cut his lottery salary. …. yeah right… The bastards tried to cut carers allowances.. how sick is that. At least Adams and SF have asked the government to lower their salaries…. But the elite party leaders wont do anything that hurts their privileged position.

• In FF, it is always about the TD, then the family, then the friends/donors, then the party, then Ireland.

Micheal Martin couldn’t care less if the treaty passes, he realizes that most of his gang’s vote went to FG, that is what he is after.

A man who is faced with the thought of never enjoying hotel rooms at 3k a pop, on the taxpayer’s back is going to be erratic.

• Gerry Adams is right. FF complaining about FG/Labour introducing their policies is hyprocrital. FF are not relevent anymore and Martin is scared at the rise of Sinn Féin.

• MArtin afraif of SF?!
      It’s Gerry that’s refusing to go on TV to debate with Martin!
      Methinks Gerry’s afraid of looking the dilettante (again).

• @ Paul
      Did you not read his statement above? He’s happy to debate, just not with an overly biased host.

You can’t possibly be that narrow minded?

• @ Treasa

Yes FF are bricking themselves as are the anti SF people. FF will fade away into the political abyss the same fate as the PD’s.

These anti SF heads are the same people who told us that Bloody Sunday was caused by the IRA. That it wasn’t a peaceful march, that those murdered had guns and bombs on them. SF were the only party in the south to push for the truth and were continually put down and called the political mouth piece of the IRA.

Roll on a few decades, a full inquiry and the truth comes out. Low and behold it’s what SF had been saying for years. The British Gov appologises and accepts it was their fault and they accept that their actions caused the rise in support of the IRA and the ensuing years of what became known as the troubles.

But no people like Mr Ward here and his anti SF brigade can’t see this and will probably go on to deny the facts and blame the likes of Gerry A and SF.

Yes FF are afraid and yes the anti SF brigade are afraid. Not only of SF’s rise in popularity but also facing the fact that their own ignorance hampered peaceful progression in Irish society.

The same happened in south Africa at the end of apartheid.

• I read all the comments above and I cant believe all the bias against Sinn Fein.If the Brits invaded tomorrow it would be tea and cake for them.

• Frank, its not about Brits, united ireland and all that shite. Its about them as a credible beleivable party with solutions to the current crisis. They’re not, and they don’t. It’s easy to throw out the west brit nonsense. Truth is, most of us have more to worry about than that oul republican shite…

• Grow up lads. I wouldn’t expect this kind of Dialogue from a bunch of Junior Infants let alone elected representatves of the People. Can’t they like, get along and you know do their actual jobs?

• B7584 06/05/12 #

Like, totally. Bitchy, much?

• Politics isn’t really about getting along?

• In fairness, Micheal Martin was making the point that leaders of political parties are obligated to debate this treaty honestly & openly.
      Gerry Adams responded by slagging off Fianna Fáil.

Not really fair to blame both of them. Gerry is attempting, quite cleverly, to turn this into a slagging match so he won’t have to debate… And judging by the standard “SF rools, FF drools” type comments underneath, he’s succeeding…

• @Paul Anthony Ward

If Adams has nothing to hide!! and states that he would/will be part of a debate with the other leaders, why didn’t he join in the V Brown one? All mouth no action. Why does he continuously put McDonald forward, is this to make him innocent, of what she states usually for the party? McDonald should step back before she hangs herself because to me that’s what Adams is doing, to her she feels he respects and agrees with what she says. Sadly, she can’t see this. She will end up looking the stupid one, not him.

His words are very childish, ill mannered and unprofessional.

• @Sheila, you of all commentators know why Gerry didnt join the VB debate… Have you forgotten the VB Presidential debate fiasco? Do you think VB is a fair and independent interviewer? Gerry will have no probs debating with the like of Matt Cooper chairing the debate. But when you have the likes of VB who would only use the chair as a means of making himself the most important person at the debate (like he did during the presidential elections), then it totally distracts from what should be the focus… ie reasons why we should vote NO in the referenda. Do you not agree?

• Excellent Paul A Ward & Sheila Byrne.

• @Cal: And now it’s the interviewer’s fault…
      Throw insults at Fianna Fáil, at Vincent Browne at whoever will respond, just to avoid answering the question asked. Does Gerry Adams believe that, as the leader of a political party, he has an obligation to debate this Treaty on its merits & failings without bandying pathetic insults about the place?
      If so, will he accept the challenge to debate it on television.
      All other questions are deliberate distractions.

• @Cal,

Yes, the so called debate held by V Brown during the Presidential election was a sham! Disgusting, disrespectful, unprofessional to the candidates. I have mentioned that Matt Cooper is the best debate Chairman I have experienced. But, to me the V Brown debate is going to be the only one before the referendum.

It would be great, if it was possible for Matt Cooper to chair a ‘real’ debate with only the leaders of the parties, God, I’d pay to be at that one.

• Fagan's 06/05/12 #

This is not going to happen, even if Adams agreed to it, which I couldn’t imagine there being any logical reason to. Simon Coveney is never going to allow Micheal to have that much focus and attention on him. The polls are tight enough without playing chance with this. It’s just Martin on a solo run.

• @ PAW
      Yawn get over it

• @Fagan’s: This is like the 3rd or 4th time I’ve called you out on lies to do with FF…
      You’re either unwell or just a bad liar.

• Some people are missing the point! Our own Taoiseach and Tanaiste refused the debate.. Have they something to hide.. They’re supposed to be Leaders of this Country.. Where’s the leadership in running and hiding?

• Sheila, Fagan et all … This thread should be about the Austerity treaty refernda… Will you both move on into the 21st century, the war is over… You are both only falling into the FFg/Labour/FF Yes camp by bringing historical events from the 20th century. None of you should fall into, or be baited into turning these discussions about 1916, 1922, 1969 etc … The issue at hand is about what is going to happen to our country, if we continue with the failed austerity program for the next 20 years. Kenny, Gilmore, Miceal Martin and Gerry Adams should be standing in front of us debating the pros and cons … If any debate returns to 20th century history, then we are all screwed.

• Aww, Micheal is losing his grip on his party so has to make himself look relevant. Perfect response by Adams. Maybe he’ll challenge Ó Cuiv to a debate next lol.

• Martin lost the grip in the party a long time ago, they slapped him down over the Seanad voting, they ignored him about re-paying to the tax payer severance pay, they talk over him in parliamentary party meetings. It’s a complete shambles but they have no one else to put in place just yet. So he is the leader of TD’s that disrespect him to his face but feel stuck with him. I’ve never seen anything like it.

• Micheal Martin made the point that leaders of political parties are obligated to debate this treaty honestly & openly.
    Gerry Adams responds by slagging off Fianna Fáil.

Just in case there’s any misunderstanding about what happened…

• Political parties are obliged to debate the treaty? Where the fcuk is Enda then? The MAIN political party leader and our Taoiseach should be in a debate. But NO cant be bothered to air his opinion live on TV in case he comes across like the muppet he is !!

• So, Gerry responded to a legitimate call to debate the Treaty with respect to its merits & failing by glibly insulting another political party & that’s somehow Enda’s fault?
      I’m no fan of Enda, but seems like that’s just another example of trying to deflect attention away form the fact that Gerry won’t debate the Fiscal Compact Treaty.

• “Seriously, there are times when I think Sinn Féin should bring back the IRA just to teach you arrogant treasonous pups a right lesson.”

Ladies & gentlemen, the true face of Sinn Féin.

• Micheal Martin has nothing to hide Him and his buddies just destroyed this country for ever
    Lets not forget Brendan Smith was profected by Fianna Fail

• @cal mooney my party leader? how do you know who the F my “party leader” is or what my political views are from me slagging off FF? Maybe i dont have a ploticial view and just have an opinion on d*ckheads who ruin an entire country in their own personal interest and the interests of their sh*t-eating cronies leaving ppl to suffer and perish at the hands of foreign financial governance and people we never voted for and cudn’t give a sh*te about us! i’m not a party supporter and never have been, i vote for the people i reckon have the best chance of doin a good job and i can tell you one thing, it has never and will never be FF! i’d sooner vote for united left or the shinners, feck it i’d vote for the dundons or the viper before that shower of crooks!!!

• Couldn’t agree more with Gerry!
    FF impotent/ irrelevant? Check! FF hypocritical in opposition against what were once their policies being implemented? Check! FF in disarray? Check!
    There is nothing to argue with here.
    However, I do not see the two parties as being involved in some sort of juvenile scrap. Mícheál Martin is the one repeatedly going after them in a lame attempt to score cheap points, SF are busy actually being the coherent opposition to government, keeping FG/Lab on their toes. It just proves that no one “kicks a dead dog” – I’d be worried if FF, and indeed FG/Lab weren’t trying their best to discredit SF. It means they are an effective opposition and a future threat to the status quo.

• Seriously though. Isn’t Adams full of shite? Never answers a straight question. I’d say roll call in school was a nightmare for his teachers. As for a party in disaray, his time is coming. Mary Lou or Pearce Doherty will make their move in time…confine this relic to the history books… As for debate, I don’t think reasonable discussion comes naturally to Gerry. Have you noticed he still sounds like his balaclava is still on?

• mcbab 06/05/12 #

Gerry is so obviously a product of northern Ireland. He nor mcguinness just don’t fit in down here.

• McBab, i am a product of Northern Ireland, do i not belong here either? Take you hatred, and get a boat over to whatever country you like … you can’t be Irish.

• mcbab 06/05/12 #

Cal. I am Irish. Southern not northern. There is often a big difference I find.

• McBab, i find a big difference between Kerry people and Dublin people… So, by your reckoning, Kerry people shouldn’t be in the Dail either??? Get a grip, you are on a loser with this one.

• mcbab 07/05/12 #

You know well what I mean cal. A certain type of northern people are full of bitterness and hatred for anything or anyone that doesn’t agree with them in their ideas. Especially about a united Ireland. Kerry people ,who you mentioned, don’t want to bully us into a united kerryland!! The blind hatred towards Britain and Europe is off putting to say the least. Leave us alone to sort out our own problems and to follow premiership football and watch eastenders and live as we like.

• Sinn Féin is the only party in this country to stand up for the interests of the man on the street. Keep it up Gerry! You show him!

• Fianna Fail are indeed becoming and irrelevance to Irish politics every day. Most political observers look at the party as in terminal decline, old policies that caused this mess and even more worrying for them, old membership that’s also in decline. Sinn Féin are showing what real opposition is about in a clear and coherent way. That’s why FF are on about 14% and declining and SF on about 20% and climbing. MM is a very weak leader, Adams has always shown strong leadership qualities.

• Repay the 50k Aengus!!

• Repay the 350,000 Enda.

• good man Cal!

• That’s a nice fantasy. Now the reality Paul. Opinion polls have a margin of error typically in ths country of +-5% (some of the more accurate ones get that down to 4%) the latest opinion polls have Labour, SF, FF and Independent&Others all within 4% to 6% of each other. ie: for all intensive purposes they are on about the same level of support. Also, historically, the vehement “No, no, no” opposition does better in mid-term opinion polls as opposed to in actual election when the public see that, metaphorically speaking, the emperor has no clothes, the anti-everything parties have no credible policies.

Also the Ógraí/young wings of FF and FG are still by and far more massive than all other parties so your claim that the party is ageing is erroneous at best, deceitful more likely. Ógra Shinne Fine have in fact changed their name to “Republican Youth” because every time they used the term Ógra, people (especially in media circles both locally and nationally) mistook them for the larger and more popular Ógra Fhianna Fáil, the true youth party of real Irish Republicans that seeks to unite Catholic, Protestant and dissenter as well as extending the same rights and responsibilities to all Irish citizens.

• What 350k?

• @ David
      I have to say I do admire your resolve, your unwavering support of your party FG. People challenge you every day when you post comments, in fairness most of which are rebutted swift yet still you go on.

Good on you for sticking to your guns fair play to you.

I must admit the thing I admire about you the most is reminding me/us why we should never vote for FG again. Especially if you ever run for government or for a local position.

• I have unwavering support for Aengus to repay the €50k.

• Gerry Adams talking about “the interests of Irish citizens coming first”. Now that’s hypocrisy.

• Unbelievable 4,500 traitors in Ireland

• Fine Gael are going to have to rein in Micheal Martin if they want to win the referendum. He is becoming a bit of a loose cannon and is doing his best to become the story.

He needs to be called in for a dressing down.

• Desperation from the NO side when all they can do is attack Fianna Fail instead of the treaty.

Karl Whelan’s blog on this not being an austerity treaty has blown the only argument the NO side ever had.

NO side down to desperate name calling.

• FF doing the attacking, while SF asked for a response, as far as I could discern!

• Have to laugh at david ‘karl whelan said…’ higgins.

Karl Whelan didn’t even predict to the crash david, so just because he’s telling you what you want to hear I wouldn’t wave his name around too much to back up your agenda.

• Reality check Ailís. Martin challenges Adams to a debate on the treaty, you know, the thing politicians are meant to do. Adams responds by calling FF impotent.

How did you garner FF as attacking SF from that exactly?!?!?

• And as I asked you before David Higgins – are you really going to support the ESM given that it and its employees are shrouded behind an iron curtain that is not only unquestionable and unanwerable but also above the law? Are you more than happy to create an untoucable financial class?

ARTICLE 32
      Legal status, privileges and immunities

1. To enable the ESM to fulfil its purpose, the legal status and the privileges and immunities set out in this Article shall be accorded to the ESM in the territory of each ESM Member. The ESM shall endeavour to obtain recognition of its legal status and of its privileges and immunities in other territories in which it performs functions or holds assets.
      (a) acquire and dispose of movable and immovable property;
      (b) contract;
      (c) be a party to legal proceedings; and
      (d) enter into a headquarter agreement and/or protocols as necessary for ensuring that its legal status and its privileges and immunities are recognised and enforced.
      3. The ESM, its property, funding and assets, wherever located and by whomsoever held, shall enjoy immunity from every form of judicial process except to the extent that the ESM expressly waives its immunity for the purpose of any proceedings or by the terms of any contract, including the documentation of the funding instruments

ARTICLE 35
      Immunities of persons

1. In the interest of the ESM, the Chairperson of the Board of Governors, Governors, alternate Governors, Directors, alternate Directors, as well as the Managing Director and other staff members shall be immune from legal proceedings with respect to acts performed by them in their official capacity and shall enjoy inviolability in respect of their official papers and documents.

• @david higgins You have a point re ink usage but why stop at that why not only allow people with adverse tribunal findings contact ministers by mail and then no problem about inaccurate conversations.
    Also hanging out with such people is not good.
    NOD NOD WINK WINK Fr Enda

• This smacks of desperation, poor old Gerry!

• Well people are starting to figure out that basic maths won’t hold there economic ideas together and there is questions about where is the money coming from? Does help Gerry’s case when he says suspected smugglers should not be investigated by CAB or Paul Williams says Diesel laundering money is going to Sinn Fein. FF may have screwed up but nothing compares to them apples

• @Jack.

Anybody who quotes Paul Williams, one of the most sued journalists in Irish history, as a reliable source has no place in this debate.

Furthermore, voting Yes to the Treaty forces us to put €11billion into the new ESM mechanism.

Where do we get that from exactly?

• One case thirteen years ago makes you the makes you the worse…. And that case had many other problems with it which include a wrongful conviction.

So your unusual mud slugging from SF… Don’t the the message blame the messenger..

• Yep.. FF are fuc**d, young Dev is their only hope! Martin can find a place in Fine Gael (maybe even a Minestry for being onside) and more importantly for him – preserve his (rather generous) pension.

• @El Cheebo 4,500 delegates at FF Ard Fheis this year the biggest youth membership of any political party the biggest representation at third level FF are going to be around for some time …

• This is typical SF tactics from Baron Adams hd is weak on anything to do with finance so instead of debating the issues and giving people the facts and figures to backup his No vote he starts slagging off FF . Micheal Martin and FF have nothing to hide that is why Michael Martin has called for this debate .. Then again there will be no tweets to save SF in this debate .

• This is one of my pet peeves with the majority of our elected leaders (especially if they are supposedly “educated”). If you cannot maintain a debate without devolving to the school yard tactics of ad hominem attacks and appeals to ridicule then what on earth are you doing there?
    These aren’t some throw away debates, this is the state of the nation, the running of the country, it requires a little more professionalism and respect.
    It saddens me that these parties cannot elect leaders with a little more respect for their position.

• Full marks for observation Gerry. He’s a bit slow.
    the electorate noticed how irrelevant FF were at the last election, over a year ago!!

• FF had a chance to kick out the corrupt and tainted elements in the party, to root out the endemic culture of corruption that defines the party, yes it would have meant forcing a very significant % of the party out the door. They refused to do so, have refused to deal with CAB etc etc. They are clapping and praising Pee Flynn still. They have absolutely nothing to contribute to Irish society or politics at this stage.

• Sounds like Fianna Fáil need a does of Caverject to cure their little problem…

• Full marks for observation Gerry. He’s a bit slow.
    The electorate noticed how irrelevant FF were at the last election over a year ago!!!

• @Frank,

Go away, learn, read and grow up a bit more and then give a real, truthful honest opinion on Sin Fein! My 18 year old could teach you a lot of history and politics and facts. I can only take from your post that you are a troll or just not educated in the history of Sin Fein members and IRA.

• I just don’t get why SF insist on shooting themselves in the foot. They are the only party who haven’t disgraced themselves over the European crisis, they’re building voter support and for the first time in modern Irish politics they’ve a chance of getting into a position of real power come the next election. And then a party member opens their mouth when the sensible thing would be to smile sweetly and rise above the baiting. It makes no sense..

• FF destroyed Ireland … SF know what they did!

• FF is already dead in the water. Can’t Adams just get on with it and engage in debate instead of a slagging match?

• SF and FF are no different to FG and LAB, at the end if the day you know you can’t trust a single one of them but your picking to support the lesser evil. Once we all work hard to pay the huge salaries of the government and it’s opposition, nobody gives a crap!

Irish politics is moving toward drama. The coalition will now sit back and watch as SF and FF attack each other with their handbags at dawn and then the coalition will highlight that while those two are bickering, the coalition are hard fixing the mess that FF made – to get their kick in. It’s all about twisting what you know to fit what you want people to think.

• MM made his point alright, honest is not a word he knows or understands, and speak up and you get shipped down the line,,, if one can not have their own opinion, i think its called communism, mm and ek are both to much with the dictating and bullying tactics, they are so making their own beds and will pay dearly, slagging off is a disgrace on the tv, papers and shows what the irish politicians are made of, laughing stock of any one following politics,, and we pay for that shite,,,, i think if the old school sf step down there is another party in the making and think they are educated and knowledgeable and dont speak as STUPID as the heads of ff, fg and labour,,, pat rabbit should go into child birth,,, thats the only labour he makes me think of, as its not for the working man anymore, they are all on a ticking time bomb and scared shitless of the eec giving them another clout around the ear,,,

• @Markpower you are waisting your time,anyone who supports Sinn Fein are nothing but a shower of thugs and knackers who just likes to blow a few heads of and also do the odd knee capping along the way.

• Sinn fein were involved in killing people illegally and FF killed legally through their policies. 2 sides of the same coin I reckon.

• Get your facts right Sinn Fein never killed anyone .And read your history Sinn Fein lead the way for peace in Ireland.

• Thats right Frank. Sinn Fein/IRA were never linked. NEVER EVER.

• Ciara, it’s a bit objectionable to compare Fianna Fáil’s policies to the murder of innocents.

• Who did FF kill ?

• Through their policies in social protection, health and childcare, and letting the xhurch away with, quite literally murder, theyre responsible for the deaths of children in care and elderly in homes. Through their justice policies they have the blood of anyone who died via assault or murder at the hands of someone who was out on bail on their own hands.

• SF as the political mouthpiece of the IRA may not have murdered anyone, Frank. That may be true. It never stopped SF from being the political mouthpiece & apologist for IRA atrocities. Gerry Adams needs to exit the stage. His time has passed. If SF want to be accepted as a credible political party here, they need to cleanse themselves of their murky past & take that northern element out of it in the ROI.

• @ Finnian: A lot of working class people on hospital waiting lists who would have been treated before the FF/PD led push for private medical cover created a two tier medical system.

• Frank: Sinn Fein praised killers and they still do.

http://www.sinnfeinbookshop.com/ira-undefeated-army/

• @ Declan. Adams is the most popular political party leader in the country at the moment. And although yourslf and the rest of your blueshirt buddies are crapping yourselves at the meteoric rise of Sinn Fein, pretending they’re not being accepted as credible does not make it so and does not reflect the poll numbers.

• @finian

The economy!!

• Paul, FFg/Labour/FF have managed and nurtured a health service that sees 3000 people die unnecessarily every year. People being told to wait 2 years to get appointments when they have life-threatening illnesses … and all you can do is make complaints about a war that ended in the last century … very mature lad… well done

• Too true, just because some of us are anti sinn fein, doesnt mean we are blue shirts. Grow up.

• Too TrueLeft:

Except he isn’t. Enda Kenny is.

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/ireland/2012/0420/1224314969462.html

• Too Trueleft – opinion polls are a mere snapshot of what a certain % of ppl think at any one time. The real opinion poll is the result of a General Election. I argue my points as do u & I fail to see why u seem to think I’m a “blueshirt”. SF have been & still are apologists for the IRA. It seems that those who support SF are very sensitive to criticism. That says more of SF supporters than anyone else. Please play the ball & not the commentator. If u wish to counteract an opinion that does not see SF are the b all & end all to everything, come out with your arguments. But manbagging someone makes no point. I make no bones about it that I detest Adams with a passion. I also have no trust in SF & I did offer valid criticism that if they wish to move on here, get rid of yesterday’s men. Not everyone here thinks a lot of SF & I’m one person who doesn’t think much of them, esp Adams.

• @ Ciara. My post was clearly directed at Declan, who IIRC is a Fine Gael man. Care to confirm for us Declan?

• @TooTrue public v private split in medical treatment there long before PDs were ever thought of. And policies of last 20 years not full reason for growth of waiting lists.

• I am a floating voter, sunshine. For the upcoming referendum I am going to put a big “?” mark on my ballot paper as I really don’t know at this stage. The way things are panning out, I may do the same at next Gen Election as, like u, I am disgusted at what is going on. I fail to see your interest in my voting pattern but I’ve given u an answer. Pardon my ignorance as I am just out of bed, but IIRC ? One thing for sure, I don’t vote SF. But, hey – who knows down the road if they do emerge as a political alternative ?! Always keep your options open, tootrueleft.

• @ Sean. You’re entitled to your opinion. But I think its fair to lay the blame at the door of a government who mismanaged the biggest boom in the history of our state and failed to bolster our healthcare system as much as their buddies bank balances. Cowen, as minister for health, proudly boasted of SAVING money while our sick passed away waiting on lists. As for Harney? Don’t get me started. Her everyone for themselves approach saw the ‘peasant stock’ rotting away in corridors, while the PDs of this world went to the top of the queue.

• Well tell you what Declan, you should ‘float’ over the Fine Gael HQ and pick up a membership form. You may as well get some recognition for all the work you put in on their behalf.

• I find your points re this very disappointing, too trueleft. We all think differently & it seems u can’t take any criticism of SF in any form whatsoever. A common trait with most SF voters. I find that regrettable as I do think u have made a lot of good points over time. We all think differently & I think it is best when we embrace all our differences & not take it personally. However, your points on this thread say this – is this what life here will be like under SF ? “Agree with us or …” attitude ? Who knows ?! Anyway – we’ll agree to disagree & do have a nice day. Heading out myself in a mo.

• Eh, Declan. I’m not a ‘SF’ voter, you do know that, don’t you? Last time out Sinn fein got my number ’3′ or ’4′ vote.

• Sinn Féin sell IRA items on their website such as cups and jewellery etc and Frank Faldo is on here telling us to read our history and that SF have led the way for peace. thats funny I thought that was the SDLP party led by John Hume who did that in any Irish history book I’ve ever read. http://www.sinnfeinbookshop.com/mugs/

• @declan – “take the northern element out of it in the ROI”. What? That’s a pretty backwards statement.

• Read your history Ciara – De Valera’s Fianna Fáil government executed more IRA members than Britain in the 1940’s and even borrowed the UK’s most famous executioner, Albert Pierrepoint, to hang one of them.

• @Keith Paterson,

Hear, Hear!! John Hume played a huge part in peaceful life and talks in the north for many years. Sin Fein/IRA don’t even get close on the ladder to what John Hume did for all in the North. Unfortunately, he’s not well at the moment and he should be recongised by all for the work he’s done.

• Agreed Sheila, I have met John Hume and he really is a lovely guy, hard working etc … When he and Seamus Mallon left the SDLP, that party went to pieces, and SF were the beneficiaries. You cant blame SF for that though. The SDLP snookered themselves by swearing allegiance to the Queen in Westminster, which is a total No-No to the majority of the Irish Nationalists living in the North.

• Consider Keith, that SF wouldn’t be selling cups and badges and flags and books about revolution if there weren’t an abundant source of customers. Irish customers.

• Con im well aware of my history and you cannot compare the IRA of devs era to that of Adams era. Its like comparing apples and oranges.

• Cillian 06/05/12 #

Con, you surely don’t mean the same IRA of the 1940s that collaborated with the Nazis, do you?

• @ all anti SF people.
      Why are you so anti SF?

Can you describe your points based on truth and not usual rhetoric spoon fed to you during the years of propaganda supported by section 31?

SF are a single entity, the association of SF/IRA is media spin from the section 31 era. Designed to stifle any chance of peace in Ireland. They have never killed anyone in fact they have only ever advocated peace in Ireland and campaigned for an end to the armed struggle.

Alas the anti SF sheeplike mentality has blinded you to the actual historical facts and even the simplest definition of seekers of peace through political means vs the IRA who went about their agenda through a campaign of murder and terror. The two are polar opposites yet you the anti SF brigade who profess to be more intelligent than the shinners can’t see this?

You the very same intelligent individuals (most of your other posts seem intelligent/progressive) can clearly distinguish the lies our past governments have fed us for generations, except when it concerns SF. Your logic baffles me.

It seems to me the anti sentiments are so engrained into your psyche that you have no idea why you hate them. Instead just accepting the fact that you do. To justify your beliefs you can only repeat the rhetoric fed to you. Cop killers, murderers, terrorists, bombers etc. Yet none of this is true.

If society was reversed and we were subjected to decades of an invading force and social inequality. Ask yourself what would you do in the face of this kind of adversity? Similarly we would be divided into those who would fight physically (IRA) and those who would fight politically (SF). Therein lies the key difference, in all people. To say they are one in the same is denying the basic facts of life, it’s impossible.

Instead of blindly hating SF what is it about their policies that you have studied yourself that you hate?

To so blindly hate something insults your own intelligence, don’t do that to yourselves.

• @Ciara. The common denominater between the 1940’s and the more recent past was the presence of British soldiers in the six counties, although I suspect Ciara wouldn’t see a problem with that or with queen Bessie’s visit to our shores last year?

• @ Cillian. The only reason for the 1940’s IRA to seek assistance from Nazi Germany was because they had a common enemy in Britain – “the enemy of my enemy is my friend”. Then again, weren’t Eoin O’Duffy’s Blueshirts admirers of Hitler and Mussolini? The Blueshirts – Enda’s predecessors! And Dev, not to outdone sat on the fence and worked with both the Brits and the Germans so there certainly was plenty of colloboration.

• Con, I like the majority of this country had no issue with the Queen visiting last year. I think it was the beginning of something great and a step in the right direction.
      In recent polls, the majority in NI want to remain part of GB so leave that up to them.
      You cannot separate Sinn Fein from the IRA no matter how hard you try especially when people are still being murdered, the RA are still involved in criminality and Sinn Fein are doing nothing to bring that crowd to justice.
      Adams and McGuinness know nothing about whats going on in the Republic. Their interests are north of the border.

• @Ciara. You have a bit of an obsession about Adam’s and Mc Guinness, but Sinn Fein are actually a 32 county party and have more support in the 26 counties than Fianna Fáil. Btw – Adam’s is a TD, same as your beloved Enda. The Unionist “majority” in the North is dwindling fast and will disappear in our lifetime. The people of England, Scotland and Wales would vote for a United Ireland if given a choice!
      The people of Ireland weren’t asked if they wanted queenie to visit, and the people who protested were right, don’t care if some were drinking cans or not – it’s a free country. Better than waving little union jack’s and idolizing an old lady who along with her family has been sponging off her people for years.
      And two things – I have pleny of friends from across the water, and I am not a member of Sinn Fein (or any political party).

• Con, can you please show me where I said I was a FG voter? Oh you cant? Is that because im not and youre just assuming I am? Youre making yourself look like a tool.

• Ciara I never once said you were a Fine Gaeler. Your allegiance though does seem to lie in that centre-right area occupied by Fine Gael, Fianna Fáil, Labour and the Greens (and PD’s). And in spite of your gaelic name you appear to look a lot towards the East. But that is not too unusual, many Irish people unfortunately have a secret “grá” for the former colonial power on the other side of the Irish sea. My own theory is that they are descendants of the Normans or took the “kings shilling” in the past. (e.g. all the Fitz’s) And yes, many of them bought into the PR visit last year and believed all the guff about “building bridges”, etc., etc.

• @Con domhnaill

In case you hadn’t noticed, it is against the law to drink in public places. The Queen was invited to Ireland and accepted the invitation. Her acceptance, laying the flowers in the Garden of Rememberance and her speech that evening was truly a positive move towards real peace. To me, I thought it was very brave of her to come and she obviously felt a need to do so. There has been enough negativity in Ireland’s past, we can do without the crap coming out of your mouth.

Ireland is my children’s future and I will damn well make sure I do my bit to bring some kind of peace and harmony for them and their children before I die.

• @Sheila Byrne. It is indeed against the law to drink alcohol in public places, but the Gardai were too busy shutting down our Capital city for 4 days to notice. The queen, who was invited here to bolster Mary Mc Aleese’s ego could have used her speech to announce Britain’s commitment to get out of Ireland, but she missed the opportunity. She will be welcomed here like any other Head of State when her government ceases to occupy part of our country, but Britain seems to have a bit of a problem understanding NOT WELCOME, be it here or in Gibralter, the Malvinas, Iraq …
      The reason we do not have “peace and harmony” in Ireland and have not had for over 800 years is because of unwecome visitors!

• No Con,, im just not bitter nor do I hold a grudge against people who have done nothing to me.

Add New Comment