TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 6 °C Friday 24 May, 2013

€92.35 million overpaid in Social Welfare payments in 2011

Overpayments have increased year-on-year since 2007, according to new figures released by Minister Burton.

Minister Joan Burton
Image: Mark Stedman/Photocall Ireland

MORE THAN €90 million was overpaid in Social Welfare payments in 2011, it has been confirmed – almost €40 million more than in 2007.

Minister for Social Protection, Joan Burton, was asked about the overpayments by Deputy Simon Harris in a parliamentary question.

Minister Burton said that overpayments are generally defined “as money obtained contrary to or in excess of a valid decision” and that most “arise as a result of a revised decision regarding entitlement”.

“In general, the main causes of overpayments recorded are means/income not disclosed and concurrently working and claiming,” said the Minister.

She explained that an overpayment is assessed for the period that a client was not entitled to a payment and the recovery of the overpayment is followed up by the relevant section of the department.

Where overpayments do occur, it is the Department’s policy is to actively pursue the recovery of debt in order to maximise recovery levels, with due regard to value for money. Current measures to control fraud and abuse and minimise overpayments include desk reviews of claim papers, home visits, the issue of mail-shots to selected customers, database checking, and medical reviews in the case of illness payments.

The overpayments were:

• 2007: €50.52 million, with the highest overpayment of €10.40 million in Jobseekers’ Allowance
  • 2008: €55.58 million with the highest overpayment of €8.91 million in Jobseekers’ Allowance
  • 2009: €66.81 million with the highest overpayment of €11.70 million in State Pension non-contributory
  • 2010: €83.42 million, with the highest overpayment of €12.09 million in State Pension non-contributory, with Jobseeker’s Allowance a close second at €12.01 million
  • 2011: €92.35 million, with the highest overpayment of €16.61 million in Jobseekers’ Allowance

Minister Burton said that controls include medical examinations for people receiving illness payments, and regular reviews of claims. People receiving unemployment payments are also checked on an on-going basis to verify that they are complying with the requirements and are genuinely seeking employment.

The figures for 2012 are currently being audited.

Read: Social Welfare repayments could ‘force people into destitution’ under new Bill>

Read next:

Comments (58 Comments)

• So if minister Burton could keep track of her departments finances, we’d be able to keep gardai on the streets and still have money to spare….

• Maybe if there was a centralized database across all government bodies this might not happen.

• Waffler . there friends send it over i know this for a fact . Seen it done only last week

• That or finger prints to retrieve information at social welfare offices where you sign on and at the post offices. It would mean that people couldn’t go around to all the different dole offices collectin with fake passports etc (I’ve heard that’s the latest!) also they has started doing spot checks lately in random businesses to make sure that staff are not hiring someone for cash. I think that’s a brilliant idea!! And if caught they are not allowed claim off public funding again to include social welfare, disability benefit and a public pension. That would stop people abusing the system.

• maybe if ye updated the overly out of date ways you keep records we wouldnt have this problem. very easy for those to say fraud fraud fraud but last time i was in welfare office records were kept on pieces of cards in plastic bags and the computer systems look like something from the cold war era. I am wondering if more of the top level staff were laid off in there and the wages from them put to updating the technology would we see less overpay in social welfare

• yeah 93 million overpayed however it does not give the figure paid back, you can’t in most case’s get away without paying it back, so probably 75% of it was recovered.

However as someone who has been on the recieving end of a overpayment its not always people trying to scam the system and in some case’s its just lazyness by employee’s at the social welfare office, afew years back I was collecting benifit and my wife was on allowance, she got a job and I had to inform the local office 5 times over the course of 5 weeks to remove her from my claim, went in twice and called 3 times ( takes 2 mins to do it and they could not be bothered each time I rang or called in ), I finally went in after 6 weeks and got her removed from my claim..and they wonder why there are overpayments with such a lazy work ethic.

• Rkmr 04/02/13 #

I was also overpaid, similar situation to you. My partner got a job I informed sw straight away. Two weeks later I was still receiving the same amount I money as before so I called in again was told they had no record of me declaring partners new job, even though he had signed off!! I took nearly 2 months for them to adjust my payment, I’m still paying back this extra money now!!!

• Same thing happened to us. My husband was on short time for a few years but things improved thankfully and he went back on a full work week the middle of last year. Despite him signing off he still was receiving cheques. Every time we got one I would have to go into SW and try to give it back to them. They would never take them back, instead they told me they would take a small portion off any payments he may receive in the future. I still to this day can’t understand the logic behind it.

• There is a lot of that money going over sea . People have gone back home but still claiming .

• I wonder how much they might have underpaid?

• Sack the incompetent administrators and the minister.

• Way to brighten up our Monday morning….

• These politicians are over paid concentrate on that first then lead by example

• Modern methods of gathering data are a problem across all gov departments. Our recordings systems are archaic and outdated…

• “the issue of mail-shots to selected customers”

Haha, did she really refer to Social Welfare recipients as “customers”?!

• Stories like this make me sick big bird and her cronies are a waste of space there cutting every service to the core and at the same time wasting money there should be accountability along with performance related pay and pensions

• This seqms bizarre cause I can’t seam to get a f**kn cent.

• Irish people are pathetic. Just look at all the comments. The Irish Governemt are still giving Billions to the banks. They are giving away Billions worth of oil and Gas. Enda Kenny gets paid more than the president of the United States a country with over 330 Million people. Why dont you people wake up and find out whats really happening.

• Here we go again. Divide and conquer the people. Only 4% of population was on social welfare upto 5 years ago and then some greedy people broke the banks, lets get the money back off these people first.

• Ryan'O 04/02/13 #

And that good sir, is the plain truth. Fair play.

• well said.

• You’re correct Thomas

• Julie 04/02/13 #

Very true Thomas. Divide and conquer I have been saying it for ages, like the nudge scam on England, there using tactics to keep our attention off them and the useless job they are doing.

• Hey Thomas,

Agree with you in principle but the reality is the middle classes/middle income earners are being crushed from both sides. Pay for the damned bank bailouts (And what process/procedures are being put in place to ensure the state claws back every cent of this for the future? None that we can see).

And pay for social welfare. Naturally social welfare is a vital safety net for families that have found themselves on hard times who have contributed to society but there are those who are milking it and those who are conning the system.

The sooner the better they lighten the load off the middle/coping class the better. Don’t care which side they start on….. largely irrelevant. Would prefer to see banks first but those conning the system should be named and shamed and every penny clawed back.

BTW – They’ll never actually release figures on how much fraud is actually there because it would create too much of a political sh1t storm for themselves to fix.

• Middle Stephen lower paid are paying for them too me for example

• Sorry meant ken I’m on a low wage I’m paying for greed too not just middle earners

• Risking getting flamed here but need to get this off my chest….

I would much prefer to see a Social Welfare system tiered based off contributions that person/family have made. If I don’t pay car insurance and prang my car I get squat, if I don’t pay house insurance and something happens I get nothing, how come with social insurance you get it regardless?

Most things that people moan about the benefits system could be fixed with a tiered system based off contributions made. e.g. benefits tourism, people who stay on the dole as a “lifestyle choice”, those people who say “its not worth my while working”, etc. People not too far away from me have never worked a day in the past 6/7 years (if not in their lives) and they can afford to live in the same area, smoke, drink, drive two cars, while I struggle to make ends meet and pay thousands and thousands in taxes.

Where is the fairness in the system when someone who has paid tens of thousands in tax gets the same as someone who has contributed little/nothing to Irish society? Same argument applies for all the self employed that have been forced to emigrate, they’ve paid thousands and thousands in tax and the system fails them, as does the country.

Fix the broken system now!!!! give benefits to those who deserve it and draw a baseline of “survival level” for those who have not contributed.

• How can pensions be overpaid? There is a contributory and non-contributory and widows pension. Am I missing any others? You get your pension at 66 and a day and it’s one or the other. The widows pension is easy coz they had to pay the Government to get a Death Certificate, they had to have Probate and then get the widows pension. Simples. Someone dies, spouse gets pension. How can they not have proper records?

• Not mentioned in the report is the huge difference in the unemployment figures between 2007 and 2012.

• I wonder how much has been saved due to under payments?

• 56 billion Euro overpaid in bank support and payments.

• Simple – tie intro their bonus…..sorry forgot, this is public sector and accountability is a foreign land

• Its definitely higher than that, social welfare cost us 21 billion in 2011, the government should be aiming to half that this year

• Croke park deal working , now there’s a good laugh.

• Stephen why do you have “MaddieMccann” in your facebook address?

• Dario Fo 04/02/13 #

Joan you failed. Now resign.

• Well the way Joan burton has gone about saving money is to target parents who have kids with disabilities and she is stopping payments without having to provide medical evidence something that parents have to provide in the first place to qualify for the payment take a trip to the high court anyone who doesn’t believe this and see for you’re selves what is really going on

• Well I wasn’t one ,

Add New Comment