TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 10 °C Wednesday 22 May, 2013

PICS: Thousands gather for Waterford Regional Hospital rally

Thousands gathered to protest the proposed downgrading of the hospital to a county hospital.

AROUND 12,000 PEOPLE converged on Waterford city centre today for a rally against the downgrading of Waterford Regional Hospital to a county hospital.

Sinn Féin Waterford-based Senator David Cullinane, who marched today, told TheJournal.ie that people are saying “save our hospital services, save our cancer services, save our regional hospital”.

The photos below, taken by Colin Shanahan, show the scale of the protest.

PICS: Thousands gather for Waterford Regional Hospital rally
1 / 14
  • Waterford rally

Photo by Colin Shanahan
  • Waterford rally

Photo by Colin Shanahan
  • Waterford rally

Photo by Colin Shanahan
  • Waterford rally

Photo by Colin Shanahan
  • Waterford rally

Photo by Colin Shanahan
  • Waterford rally

Photo by Colin Shanahan
  • Waterford rally

Photo by Colin Shanahan
  • Waterford rally

Photo by Colin Shanahan
  • Waterford rally

Photo by Colin Shanahan
  • Waterford rally

Photo by Colin Shanahan
  • Waterford rally

Photo by Colin Shanahan
  • Waterford rally

Photo by Colin Shanahan
  • Waterford rally

Photo by Colin Shanahan
  • Waterford rally

Photo by Colin Shanahan

Read: Thousands attend rally in support of Waterford Regional Hospital>

Read next:

Comments (56 Comments)

• Thanks for posting my photos. Let’s spread the word that the people of Waterford won’t give up without a fight :D

• Resel 10/11/12 #

More showing up for this than the voting booths.

• More, more and yet more of this. The sooner we as a nation get out on the streets and tell this government that we as a people and as a nation have had enough of th crap they are happy to shovel on us to keep their (not our) European friends happy. Well done Waterford..let’s all take a lesson from them. Btw..this was organised by two people on Facebook…

• Duewest 10/11/12 #

Well done to people of the south east. Great to see such a big turn out. It sent a very clear message. Enough is enough.

• Brilliant photos.

10-11-12 the day the “ghost town” came back to life.

• Brilliant pictures! Now all we need here is someone to actually listen and I don’t think the people of waterford & surrounding areas will go down easily!! :D

• about time ..well done waterford :)

• sid 10/11/12 #

I disagree Barry , waterford is bleeding to death and it’s not down to any single reason. it’s an unemployment Blackspot with nothing been done.
    the march is about total frustration before it’s too late , and maybe it is

• Barry 11/11/12 #

The March is frustration I’d agree esp when it comes to unemployment in Waterford, however may I point out one very important thing that everyone should have remembered when it comes to protests in Ireland?

Have the pensioners when it came to the medical card. Teachers when it came to pay etc and farmers when it came to payments thought people nothing?

A big protest is a good idea, but it’s location wasn’t, would have been 100 times more affective in Dublin where it can be seen and could have ended outside leinster house.

Perhaps something to keep in mind ?

• @ barry, i think the most effective way would be for organised marches coinciding throughout the country. i cant afford to travel to dublin to protest but i’m more than willing to march in cork, my nearest city. i love the idea of ” (insert region) gives a shirt” , its non political and has the potential for all groups to come together under one banner. well done waterford, ye should be very proud of yerselves.

• So when the people of waterford start to stand up for themselves, there is nothing but bitching about it. But when it is anywhere else, ie Dublin, Nothing said!!

• To echo alot of others,well done Waterford is this a sign that the ordinary Irish people are saying enough is enough?

• WELL DONE Waterford . Thrilled to see such a fantastic turn out . Take a bow . Now you have to bring that crowd to Dublin on Nov 24th . Meet up with like minded groups and take it to the gates of Leinster House.

• Emmet 10/11/12 #

What’s happening on the 24th?

• Boycott The Property Tax / Anti Austerity March @ 1pm starting at the Garden of Remembrance Parnell Sq., on Nov 24th . Everybody is welcome to come along with your groups placards and anti austerity messages . Needless to say it will be a peaceful protest march . Organise lifts / buses from the area you live in . Get onto your local CAHWT committee , go to your local meetings. Hope to see you there Emmet :)

• Looking forward to being part of this.
      This should put the nails into their coffin.
      I see kenny & co’s supporters are awake and trying to throw their wet blanket personality’s onto the fire started by the Waterford folk.
      It’ll take more than a few trolls to stop this.

• Barry 11/11/12 #

Eileen, so you want to hijack people from a very separate issue for your property tax protest? Nice.

In case you missed it, the protests today was an issue specific to Waterford,

• Barry pretty sure Eileen won’t be able to force a group of people to travel to Dublin and protest.Could be wrong but it is wrote as a request.

• Emmet 10/11/12 #

Fair play to all involved…. More like this needed…

• well done waterford!!! the rest of the country needs to follow suit. i love the ” waterford gives a shirt” idea. this could become a nation wide protest. finally a protest movement under no political/union banner. i wouldnt be the best person for organising a protest but this sounds like something i would like to be involved in. i hope that those who started it would be prepared to help other areas around the country to do the same. once again , well done waterford

• Unreal lads! Was a great day yesterday! And fair play to the Journal. Certain other news organisations – and I use the term news very lightly – seemed to go out of their way not to report the issues! Thanks for the coverage.

• Is there anything to be said for saying another mass?

• Yesterday’s march was a powerful show of support by the people of Waterford and the South East in favour of our Regional Hospital. The message is clear. Hands off our Regional Hospital.

• Maybe if the hospital wasn’t charging stupid prices for the car park, when these inspectors arrived, they might have had second thoughts on trying to down grade the place….

• Barry 10/11/12 #

Seems some protesters are confused based on photos and banners I’ve seen today,

Which do they want more? wrh to remain with its services or do they want to stop Waterford city and county councils merging?

Seems many in Waterford are confused and actually paranoid about the councils merging, many claim its Waterford being attacked,……. What they often forget is Limerick is also having its councils merged for cost savings, as such its not just about Waterford like they want to claim or believe.

Last week it was announced that kilkenny was getting 5.5millon for tourism, many in Waterford claimed once again that Waterford was being ignored….. They however forgot about the 9.5million Waterford got in 2010 and the 1.5million is getting this year.

To put this whole paranoid nonsense into content to its best to remember that many (not all) Waterford people have a chip on their shoulders about kilkenny,

Shame really as they fail to see the much bigger picture of the viking Triangle in Waterford city and the upcoming tourist attraction of the medical mile in Kilkenny City as being two major draws to the south east as a whole. This is good for everyone!

• No confusion really speaking as a Waterford person we do not want either the hospital downgraded nor out councils merged. At the moment the Hospital issue is taking priority as it is to do with health and well being of the entire region but we will fight another day on the council mergers. The Limerick situation it slightly different to ours, but no need for you to worry about this we can fight our own battles here. ;)

• “Seems” like Barrys sole contribution is a comment on the journal website which “seems” to be primarily comprised of speculation about the motives of people with the balls to take action in the real world instead of on the journal website comments section. “Seems” like you really have your finger on the pulse of what’s going on in Waterford Barry. Well done Barry. You’re a one man revolution waiting to happen.

• Bit of whisht Barry – You worked here in Waterford for years, much like thousands of other people from Kilkenny. Keep that in mind next time you try to have a go. The march was a protest against cuts to services in WRH. Anything else was done in jest. Wise up.

• Barry 11/11/12 #

Sean, not having a go… I’m merely stating facts. Many in Waterford have a very unhealthy mindset where they think the government and others are out to get them, they also have an awful chip in their shoulders when it comes to people outside Waterford .

As you’ve said I worked in Waterford for years so unlike your self I’ve experienced this odd chip people have against others from outside Waterford. It’s not productive and is frankly sad and even your posts has a level of it.

I’m not anti Waterford I’m merely pointing out a very negative attitude some have in the county, this attitude gets in the way of even stuff that will benefit them…. the tourism thing is a perfect example,

• The march was solely to do with WRH.
      We had a collection of shirts for the waterford gives a shirt campaign which is totally against the downgrading of waterfords city status. 2 different campaigns. Ours is moving to leinster house in about 2 weeks.
      I hope his clears up any confusion you may have. Congratulations to Andrea and Gillian for organising the march today which we wholly support.

• @waterford givesashirt, i’m sorry but i confused the 2 marches, while i am totally in support of saving the wrh i beleive that the “……. gives a shirt” could be a national movement. do ye have any plans to move this outside of the south east. i think its something we could all unite under

• Send us an email. Contact details are on the website http://www.waterfordgivesashirt.com

(Hope it’s ok to give out the details journal)

• you know what , i will. i dunno if im the right guy for it but i’ll certainly give this a shot

• where is waterford ?

• The people who use children to push their agenda in such marches disgust me.

• Flatulence of the highest order.

Add New Comment