TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 19 °C Tuesday 18 June, 2013

Planning board refuses permission for new National Children’s Hospital

An Bord Pleanála said that the planned hospital would have had a “profound negative impact” on the Dublin city skyline.

The location of the now-scrapped National Children's Hospital on the Mater site in Dublin
Image: Julien Behal/PA Wire

AN BORD PLEANÁLA has refused planning permission for the new National Children’s Hospital which was due to be built on the site of the Mater Hospital in Dublin.

The planning body said today that the proposed hospital would result in a “dominant, visually, incongruous structure and would have a profound negative impact on the appearance and visual amenity of the city skyline”.

A spokesperson for the hospital said that the decision was hugely disappointing.

“A lot of work has been done by a lot of people to bring the development to this stage so the decision is clearly very disappointing,” the spokesperson told TheJournal.ie this morning.

The board of the hospital is due to meet early next week but the meeting may be brought forward to discuss the impact of the planning decision.

The €650 million hospital  was due to commence construction later this year with the first patients due to be treated in late 2016.

The planning decision accepted the overall principle of the hospital at the proposed site but raised concerns over the scale and the impact on the environment

The design would be inconsistent with the existing scale and character of Dublin city and the established character of the local area, An Bord Pleanála said in its decision on the planning application today. It cited the protected structures, streetscapes and areas of conservation value in nearby O’Connell Street and North Great George’s Street in its decision.

It described the proposed development as “overdevelopment” of the Mater campus and said that it would be contrary to the proper planning and sustainable development of the area.

Raising the issue in the Dáil this morning, Eamon Ó Cuiv suggested that the government amend the Critical Infrastructure Act to allow for the hospital to be allowed to go ahead.

Tánaiste Eamon Gilmore said that the government would consider the proposal. He added that the government would consider a smaller high-rise building on the same site and would also have to examine alternative sites.

Minister for Health James Reilly had announced last July that the hospital was to be located on the site of the Mater near Dublin’s city centre and authorised the planning permission application to go ahead.

The Minister had commissioned an independent panel in May 2011 to make a decision on where the hospital should be located.

The group, made up of experts from the US, Australia and the UK, carried out clinical and financial analyses of the proposals before endorsing the Mater Hospital site.

Read the full decision by An Bord Pleanála here >

Previously: Mater site confirmed as location for National Children’s Hospital >

• Share on Facebook
  • Email this article
  •  

Read next:

Comments (60 Comments)

• The children hospital should be based near the m50 for access for everyone in the country not smack bang in the center of Dublin. It is a silly place to put it in the first place thank Bertie and Mary harney for the that.

• “For the that” is bad grammar sorry grammar nazis and spelling nazis hope I haven’t offended yis.

• For people travelling long journeys via public transport it would be better suited in the city. For me at least it would be easier.

• Then you have people who complain you need a car to get to it, who the hell would bring their sick kid to a hospital in a bus I certainly would not, a site near the M50 would be ideal

• Completely agree with 1HumanBeing, to place the NATIONAL childrens hospital in the middle of the city would be just stupid, it should be easily accessible and should make use of the more affordable land that is available in Dublin!

Or if the government was smart they’d use some of the land they acquired to build the now defunct super-jail in North Dublin and build a hospital as big as they want!

• Your only human!

• Alan as someone who has spent a large part of the past 6 yrs in and out of Crumlin, the mater site was a disaster even at 3/4 in the afternoon the traffic is terrible and that’s not even rush hour traffic, on the mater site parents accom was not even on site if you got a call to come up to your child in the ward you would have to walk a portion of Dorset st which at 3/4 in the morning that’s not very safe, a site on the M50 would be the move towards sense

• Alan Harrison

That is why a proper support network of roads, even rail (Luas) and car parking should also be part
      of the planning …So that it will be accessible for everyone !

• To quote a line from the movie Brave Heart “We couldnt agree on the colour of shite”.

• tbh why the hell did they want to build it in the middle of the city.
    It would have made much more sense on the outskirts, if its a real emergency it would be a serious problem trying to get through traffic.
    But the question is how much habe the squandered on this unsuitable site?????

• €28m spent on preparatory work. A further €4m spent on “planning related expenses”. That’s €32m spent on this gigantic white elephant, for what? A Hospital not wanted by Doctors, Nurses, Health Workers or, most importantly, the Families who access the services. No parking, no access save through congested city streets, no green space, no dedicated convalescent units – a box sitting on a crowded city centre location. Hopefully this will end Reilly’s political career.

• howzat 23/02/12 #

That’s not true temple street hospital want it and they by award are the best children’s hospital in Ireland

I for one support temple street outstanding service

• Minister Reilly was against the site but as was said in the report above an indepedent report last year decided that the Mater site was the best site so that’s why he decided to press ahead.

• I have to say that I did not agree with the site it was proposed to be built on … The whole concept of a building site there ,traffic restrictions ,access …..and so on
    Ridiculous idea, BUT , we need a chioldren’s hospital .
    Why in the the name of all that is sensible did they not decide all of those years ago to build this hospital on a green site , to include car parking , bus access, etc., Why does it have to be in Dublin ?? Close to the National Road network…..
    The mind boggles.

• Because you have doctors moving from hospital to hospital,spending a couple if days in one hospital then spending the other days in another, you also have transfers from maternity hospitals based in Dublin and beyond

• Aine 23/02/12 #

Totally agree, we have to top childrens doctors/surgeons in the world based here. I have no problem going as far as dublin to see them. Dublin is the most suitable place just not slap bang in the middle of town. I travel from as far away from dublin as you can get, I dont have a problem with the distance to dublin or it been in dublin. I do have a problem with the doctors having to see and treat their patients in row after row of portacabin. For god sake just ask the doctors/parents/ staff what they want and then do it. We need a decent hospital just build the damn thing

• At last sense prevails! This site was completely unsuitable and the huge size and bulk of the building is proof of that. But it was considered that the development could be bulldozed through and built regardless of the constraints and problems with the site.

A huge amount of work wasted because the original site selection was flawed. That the site was so clearly seen as being unsuitable from so early on makes it all the more disappointing.

No bigger picture. No planning for expansion. No predevelopment of public transport.

Well done An Bord Pleanala!

• How much is all this costing the taxpayer?

• For once I welcome the common sense of An Bord Pleanála. It is a complete joke to try a fit the National Children’s Hospital on the site of the Mater. There are plenty of green fields off the M50 which are easily accessable whether from Nth/Sth of the city and surrounding counties, easier to include essential parking and enough space to build a proper hospital and the support facilities around that area. Let’s just hope the don’t discover a auld helmet with horns or a rare snail when they start digging the site!!!

• howzat 23/02/12 #

You obviously have no sick kids

• howzat, I don’t know how you came that conclusion. But I have to say in this case you are right and wrong! Right in that my kids are thankfully fine and healthy now! And wrong in that you are implying that I’ve no experience with the health service concerning any of my children, the circumstances of which are completely none of your business!! So the fact is I am making my commments in light of being a father and having gone through health service for a least one of my children and have come out the other end.

It only seems lodgical to place the hospital somewhere convenient for those travelling to Dublin and those living in Dublin with room to put all services and support facilities (parking, accom etc…) in an area that has the room to expand if necessary! In this regard the Mater site does not make sense!

In any event this is not a discussion that is exclusively for those with sick children, so cop on and stop jumping to conclusions on other people without any grounds!!!

• The point your missing outside the fact it will be another 6 years at the very least before the children of this country get a proper hospital is this
      The hospital will not be built on a green field site and the majority of the arguments miss this point completely.
      The idea is to build an integrated hospital from maternity to children’s to adult hospital on the one site so it can be a proper university hospital providing best care to our kids
      There are no adult or maternity hospitals on the m50 or in most sites been mentioned already THATS WHY there was the political handbag fighting between temple street and crumlin
      If you build a children’s hospital on it’s own on the m50 you’ll get more of the same but with nicer Walls and Doors
      If people are worried about parking I’m sure the old temple street can be converted
      The real reason is that the planning department has not accepted tall buildings probably the only one in western Europe
      There is a reason for tall buildings that works and sprawling cities don’t
      People wonder why traffic and service in Dublin are the pits it’s thanks to the sprawl the planning committee have created

• I think you may be mistaken in your assumptions about the form of Dublin. If planning had been left up to the planners or a planning committee which u refer to (even though no such body exists) u would find that we would have a high rise city that functions! However planners only get to make recommendations to the administrative level who then, with no education within the field, make the final decision! This is a purely political problem – politics and planning are intertwined this needs to be undone! Planners need to be given the power to make the decisions,with the help of the public, if this had been the case this hospital would have been granted permission. There is a strong case to place this hospital in Tallaght and let it function along the existing hospital which offers care for children. Ok it wouldn’t be that close to the maternity hospitals but there are excellent road connections. In terms of public transport for those living within Dublin and outside it is highly accessible with the luas linking both Connolly and Houston station to the area. I think it’s time to stop placing blame and work together to come up with a rapid solution to the problem that we face. This hospital should be a priority and no more delays can be justified. It’s unfair on the parents who utilize these services to be expected to put up with the crap conditions that exist! The minister needs to get his act together and select a site which has the ability to cope with such a facility. While the board stated that they felt the site was suitable, further examination of the planning inspectors report shows that she found it was not so suitable!!!

• I don’t know if there is any right or wrong site As far as I know it needs to be close to a maternity. Site For extremely sick babies who are diagnosed before birth. I bring my son to both hospitals and it is so much easier to drive to Crumlin. Much shorter and less stressful. But saying that i Meet people every time that come by train from carlow or limerick so what do they do.? I also go to great Ormand street hospital in London . There is no parking and it is in a built up area. There is also no A&E so you can only get access if you are referred by another hospital consultant elsewhere . I suppose most admissions are planned but they still have emergencies . Truthfully I can see every Angle but why did they waste all that money and time for nothing. I look forward to the day when all my sons care will be under the one roof.

• Finally a public service department makes a good decision. Build it out around the M50 and incorporate a luas and/or train line station where possible and make it accessible for the entire country and not just for those lucky enough to live within a mile or two of the Mater.

• about time someone started talking a bit of sense, planning board made right discision.

• This couldn’t have been easier: Pick a big empty field next or nearby to the M50 and build whatever you like on it.

Not try and build a spaceship in the middle of an already overcrowded area of Dublin.

• Clearly the Mater site is daft and the decision probably made for political reasons. As sort of medical Bertie Bowl.

But over a third of the country’s population live in greater Dublin. To put the hospital too far from the centre would create further problems in terms of access for seriously ill/injured children, staff, visitors and emergency services. Public and road transport networks are largely radial in the capital.

The current transport infrastructure mitigates against siting a national hospital outside the centre unless it is decided that private car access should be prioritised. This may be a mistake in the long term. Wherever it’s put, a proper public transport plan is needed to make it, and the capital city as a whole, work properly…

• Aine 23/02/12 #

“But over a third of the country’s population live in greater Dublin” seriously? think you need to get your info from a decent source

• Posted in wrong place first, but…

Census shows 30% of the population within Co Dublin, and 42% in Dublin, Kildare, Meath, Wicklow and Louth.

• My bad.

Anyhow. The bit I forgot to mention is the current wisdom is that the national children’s hospital should be co-located with an adult teaching hospital. So that rules out a green field site near the M50 and, even though the Crumlin site is big enough, there’s no adult hospital nearby. So why was Adelaide & Meath (close to M50, N7 and N81) ruled out?

• “dominant, visually, incongruous structure and would have a profound negative impact on the appearance and visual amenity of the city skyline”. Who in the hell are these people… Get a grip and get the damn thing built for god sake. its 2012 and still no dedicated hospital for children in a so called developed nation..

• You wouldn’t be go gung ho if your child had to go there ! No parking no accommodation very heavy traffic. 4 main sites located in the same area such as the prison would mean the infrastructure would collapsed on a daily bases ……… Some where off the m50 it she best all round. Would make it faster for ambulances to transport serious cases!

• Build it once and build it right. The mater site is already over developed and hard to get to with bad parking. We need a hospital but not here.

• CMD 23/02/12 #

Kevin I understand your frustration but this project on this proposed site should never have been mooted in the first. It was Bertie’s little scheme to garner support in his constituency. It was then stubbornly supported by Harney who was too proud to admit she was wrong against much advice to the contrary. A blind man could see that the proposed site could never support the level of development required to have a proper modern children’ hospital. In order to place it there compromises would be made to the detriment of the overall facility. I was always amazed that James Reilly supported it. We now must move on ASAP and get a green field site and start from scratch. Price of land has reduced, as has cost of labour and materials – if this is managed correctly we could have a world class facility for a lot less than the proposed skyscraper on the Mater site.

• It appears that we have forgotten one of the original requirements was a physical connection with an adult teaching Hospital. The current Minister went with the Mater site I believe due to the considerable sum spent by the last Administration and the advice of an independent committee of experts. Vilifying him now is dishonest and probably reflective of card carrying membership of another Party.
    I recall that the State was offered a site at or near to Newlands Cross and the construction of the building at cost some years ago. A small looping spur could be added to the Luais at the Red Cow and that would provide an element of public transport. Tallaght Hospital would also be relatively close for academic linkage purposes.

• Jambbie 23/02/12 #

How did the Aviva and the conference centre get planning permission?? They hardly fit in with the surrounding historical structures..

• Why does everyone quote the parking issue? Having worked in both crumlin and Temple St the parking in both is beyond awful. A car park is part of these plans so the parking would be better not worse! It’s a disaster. Will never be built now.

• Always got parking in Crumlin and I’ve been in and out of there constantly over the past 6 yrs including a 4 week stay parked my car out the front and the car was not even touched or vandalised, Temple st fair enough it is smack back in the city centre, but if anything goes ahead for logistical reasons and the fact that if you’ve a sick child you go by car it has to be near the M50

• Aine 23/02/12 #

Go to crumlin on a regular basis and always get parking, you might have to wait a few minutes. Do you seriously think that the trading for a carpark is worth it? you say you worked in crumlin i cannot believe you think the Mater a better site.

• @Aine is a daily basis regular enough? I never said I supported the choice just that parking is a stupid reason to argue against it but it is the one that everyone brings up. There are much better reasons not to build it there.

• ‘A lot of work has been done by a lot of people to bring the development to this stage so the decision is clearly very disappointing,’ the spokesperson told TheJournal.ie this morning.

Read that as ‘A bit of work has been done by a few highly paid people who knew damn well that it would never get planning permission but who can now go back to the drawing board, yet again, and draw down huge commissions for being completely incompetent so the the decision is clearly disappointing for all but those people’.

• The site was a non runner from the start..
    That said,is there even one member of this Government with the balls to stand up and be counted..
    Green Site of the M50 with transport infrastructure..
    Just get of your fucking useless backsides and build it.
    For once do the right thing.

• Another Bertie bowl in pieces.If successive ministers stated it was best place for it does this not call into questions all the decisions meanwhile children wait on trollies and what cost to date 50 100 million ?
    Now another lot of retired well pensioned lackeys will form another committee at great cost to citizens to come up with a report that will gather dust.
    How many greenfield sites have we around M 50 surely a good spot as not all sick children line on northside

• Absolutely bloody hilarious …. after 20 years of allowing residential estates to be built on rezoned marshlands where people’s homes suffered severe flooding over the past couple of years, stuck with negative equity houses in flood zones and finally in 2012 our great AN BORD PLEANÁLA now decide to start doing some work and stop progress on a childrens hospital. Unbelievable!

• How about the ‘profound negative impact’ of the sick children sitting on hospital trolleys in filthy dirty hospital corridors??? Get the thing built and STFU!

• howzat 23/02/12 #

Only in Ireland it’s already lookin over Dorset street how could it make it any worse
    This is everything that’s so wrong with this country

Build the bleeding thing for all our children and stop the bull

Idiots

Anyone know who they are

• How about on the Mountjoy site and move the prison as planned! or is the site earmarked for yet another folly?

• tim 23/02/12 #

Why refuse,would it be that kick backs were insufficient ? Old habits,and old men go hand in hand.

• why refuse?? Have you examined the scheme?? Have you been to the subject site and surrounding environs? Have you read the Planning Inspectors report, the professional who does not receive “kick backs”? Its is the most ludicrous scheme, the most ludicrous site selection. This was nothing more than Berties baby – had this been proposed on a greenfield site along the M50 The Board would have granted permission! Educate yourself before you accuse!

• I agree with the decision not to build on the Mather site it is the wrong place forthe Hospital. There so many other good sites to build on that would make it easy to get to. Such a waste of money by the Gov., just to try and have their way.

• The government couldn’t organise a piss up in a brewery. The Mater site is clearly unsuitable and a lot of time and money has been wasted tring to push the idea forward. As it’s a “National” facility it needs to be accessible to all, not only Dubliners, and that should include access by public transport from the rest of the country.

• Surely there must be a NAMA controlled site somewhere off any of the motorways that lead into the city that would be suitable and add any necessary transport links that might be required when it is being built

• DaveC 23/02/12 #

Nothing is getting planning permission anymore. The sooner these people cop on and stop acting the eejits the better. More jobs will be created, especially in the construction industry. It’s all good and well for these guys to sit in their offices and just say no to everything – they still get paid their generous salaries and pensions either way.

• Kathy

Refer to an board pleanala sorry I have no idea what your talking about
    Their remit is to protect the Dublin skyline, when it suits they must gave been I’ll when the aviva was built
    Your comments make no sense, sorry

• This decision is about sick children not brown envelopes, for once the children come before the politicians and vested interests.

Add New Comment