TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 12 °C Saturday 25 May, 2013

Man arrested over plot to blow up Federal Reserve in New York

The man believed he was about to detonate a car bomb outside the Federal Reserve – but the FBI had been closely watching him for some time and foiled the attack.

The Federal Reserve Building in Manhattan
Image: AP Photo/Frank Franklin I

A BANGLADESHI MAN who moved to the United States to wage jihad has been arrested in an elaborate FBI sting  after attempting to blow up a fake car bomb outside the Federal Reserve building in Manhattan this morning, authorities said.

Before trying to carry out the alleged terrorism plot, Quazi Mohammad Rezwanul Ahsan Nafis went to a warehouse to help assemble a 1,000-pound bomb using inert material, according to a criminal complaint. He also asked an undercover agent to videotape him saying, “We will not stop until we attain victory or martyrdom,” the complaint said.

Agents grabbed the 21-year-old Nafis – armed with a cellphone he believed was rigged as a detonator – after he made several attempts to blow up the bomb inside a vehicle parked next to the Federal Reserve.

Authorities emphasised that the plot never posed an actual risk. However, they claimed the case demonstrated the value of using sting operations to neutralise young extremists eager to harm Americans.

“Attempting to destroy a landmark building and kill or maim untold numbers of innocent bystanders is about as serious as the imagination can conjure,” said Mary Galligan, acting head of the FBI’s New York office. “The defendant faces appropriately severe consequences.”

Nafis appeared in federal court in Brooklyn to face charges of attempting to use a weapon of mass destruction and attempting to provide material support to al-Qaida. Wearing a brown T-shirt and black jeans, he was ordered held without bail and did not enter a plea. His defense attorney had no comment outside court.

Federal Reserve Plot

A Federal Reserve police officer stands in front of the Federal Reserve Building today. (AP Photo/Frank Franklin II)

The defendant “reported having connections” to al-Qaida, prosecutors said. But there was no allegation that he received training or direction from the terrorist group.

Prosecutors say Nafis traveled to the U.S. in January to carry out an attack. In July, he contacted a confidential informant, telling him he wanted to form a terror cell, the criminal complaint said. Nafis was living in Queens.

In further conversations, authorities said Nafis proposed several spots for his attack, including the New York Stock Exchange — and that in a written letter taking responsibility for the Federal Reserve job he was about to carry out, he said he wanted to “destroy America.” Other communications took place through Facebook, the complaint said.

The bank in New York, located at 33 Liberty St., is one of 12 branches around the country that, along with the Board of Governors in Washington, make up the Federal Reserve System that serves as the central bank of the United States. It sets interest rates.

The Federal Reserve is one of the most fortified buildings in the city, smack in the middle of a massive security effort headed by the New York Police Department where a network of thousands of private and police cameras watch for suspicious activity.

The Fed is also home to “the world’s largest accumulation of gold,” according to the bank’s website. Dozens of governments and central banks store a portion of their gold reserves in high-security vaults deep beneath the building. In recent years, it held 216 million troy ounces of gold, or more than a fifth of all global monetary gold reserves, making it a bigger bullion depository than Fort Knox.

Read: Belgian militant reportedly killed in Pakistan >

Read: Victim remembered on 10th anniversary of Bali bombings >

Read next:

Comments (61 Comments)

• I know this is serious but could you imagine the terrorist shouting for Allah and the police shouting “surprise”…
    I’ll get my coat.

• Where is Bruce William when he’s needed?

• Good work FBI!

• Whoever has to do the paperwork on this case is probably cursing him heartily and will have writer’s cramp!

• bane..batmans nemesis, clearly hasn’t learned!

• “Quazi Mohammad Rezwanul Ahsan Nafis ”
    of course its a hoax,sure his name is an obvious anagram of..
    “lets pretend were under attack during the presidential campaign so whoever wins will double our budget and we can kill more afganis for the craic”

• Jim corr was heard blaring from the radio I heard

• Actually holds more gold in reserve than Fort Knox

• B Lowe 17/10/12 #

The Federal Reserve has no gold. It is a private bank with no gold that simply prints money out of thin air. It then lends this money, which of course can never ever be paid back.
    Why is the article saying it has lots of gold in storage at Manhattan?
    Help someone.

• There’s too many conspiracy theories flying around these days, somewhat like the 1930’s… a time when one of the most insane conspiracy nuts actually took power in a European country. It’s sick and unhealthy.

• Where is mr niazi today

• Go to Netflix if ye can and watch “end of the road” interesting documentary about what happened when the dollar was no longer backed by gold… blowing it up may not be a bad idea!

• So they stopped a guy who is incapable of doing anything from doing nothing. Hmm

• Derek 17/10/12 #

A case of entrapment if i ever heard of it, the FBI probably provided the inert explosive material and everything else, the young guy was most likely not fully there like the underwear bomber who was walked onto the plane in Schiphol airport and tried to light his “package” with a lighter when it required an electrical charge. Right genius like.

What is worth looking out for now however is any new changes or upgrades to security procedures. These events have usually to-date been a precursor to implementing new regulations or a scare on congress into passing some new bill.

• Go and look up what entrapment really is before you claim it in this case. If the criminal act is something the guy would have done/attempted anyway without help from undercover agents then it is not entrapment.

• Derek 18/10/12 #

Well, where did he come across inert material for explosives and a dud mobile phone trigger and the police admitting to state that his plan was never going to pose any danger!
      I’d wait for more information to come out before saying it isn’t entrapment to some degree. Was he directed to where he could acquire such “explosive material” not knowing it was inert, the detonation equipment supplied with a dud phone trigger.
      I could be totally wrong, I’ll be the first to admit it if so. The only thing I can think of now is that the FBI made contact early in his plot and circumvented his plans by guiding him to using fake material, if thats the case how did they persuade him that they had contacts for such devices and materials? Entrapment gets murky from there.
      That, or the lads really dim :)

• Derek 18/10/12 #

Ok, entrapment isn’t what this is called my mistake, but if the lad had intent and they supplied the material and means, there has to be a name for it? If i wanted to rob a banks safe and the cops got wind of it and made contact as say a disgruntled bank employee and was willing to supply door codes/patrol patterns or such. I would not have had this access without their direct involvement and may NEVER have attempted or gained access to inside the bank without their assistance so they facilitated my crime. I’m not fully versed in criminal law but think theres a defense case for something in there.
      It’s late and my mind is wondering, apologies.

• @Derek You could very well be right.This just in from RT http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PLHI9ythR2w

• Derek 18/10/12 #

It all seems a bit odd whatever the case. He has some mouthful of a name I’ll give him that though!

• Derek, I believe that he got the inert material from the FBI! It was a sting operation. Do you know get it?

• Derek 18/10/12 #

I do Declan, the lad had intent but no means it seems without FBI assistance, they supplied everything for him and now are happy to fire a string of terrorist charges against him, the wee apprentice terrorist.
      My question that nags me at this hour is would he have even acquired anything remotely like a bomb not to mind a 1,000lb inert one without this sting operation or just continued to rant on social media like where they found him and be left counted as just another loon?

• Derek, I still don’t think you get it. He was looking to blow something up. He sought out a bomb and they probably asked him what he needed. He asked and they gave. He could have turned them down. I think that it’s all about intent. He had what he thought was a 1000 lb bomb. He tried to use it.

• Hahaha people referencing Russia Today is hilarious. Idiots basically, who think they’re going to get the real story from Putin. The fact of the matter is this man intended to blow up a bomb in the middle of New York. He had no problem killing innocent people. If you want to defend him and say it’s entrapment then you’re a disgusting, horrible idiot just like him.

• Derek 18/10/12 #

Christ, no ones disputing he had intent and did what he did, I only stressed the question of how far would his actions have gone without the sting operation? There are plenty of loons out there with plans and ideas but when someone reaches out to that person with access to what they need and possible skills or equipment, I have to wonder with all the intent in the world, would he still be at point A, no threat to anyone but a lad with grand designs for bringing down America until someone who approached him with the means to do it and supported his ideas to completion to get him to Point B when he finds himself really outside the Fed trying to trigger a huge dud bomb.

I never said/suggested I support or think he is innocent, I just don’t agree on the methods used by the FBI. Would it not have been enough to arrest him for intent to cause destruction or commit a terrorist act with intent to endanger lives but to actually supply him with the means right up to the point of pulling the trigger and then adding further crimes to his list. It feels like they baited him along, that’s is where I’m coming from and makes for good headlines on the effectiveness of such sting operations. He could have been arrested months ago!

• JayK 18/10/12 #

It would be entrapment if he had no intention of attacking the Fed, but the FBI approached him and convinced him to do it. It’s a sting if he already has the intention and approached the FBI (probably posing as a jihadist with access to the explosives). The intention was there, and he pro-actively attempted to progress his intention, then the FBI got involved.

That’s the theory anyway. There’s been record of the FBI on jihadist websites being a bit too rabble-rousing, which could be conceived as encouraging otherwise passive readers. I’m not losing sleep though,

• ah wake up, clearly a scare tactic from the government, typical scaremongering, lets see what measures will an taken now by the wonderful American government to control, i mean, protect its people.

• It’s good to see all commentators on here see this for what it is

• Ah yes, false flag attack I presume you are referring to? So this was Obama or Romney? Can you please back up your claims with some proof? Didn’t think so. Noam Chomsky and the rest of the loons would be proud.

• Belly Up 18/10/12 #

Yeah you’re right. It’s definitely not a real terror attack. Because there aren’t thousand of people who would do the exact same thing as this guy. Have any of you idiots actually thought that this kind if attack is entirely within the realms of possibility??

• We are led to believe that Al-Qaida destroyed the twin towers a huge amount of intelligence, training covert surveillance, etc etc etc and now we are supposed to believe that this complete idiot which is the only way he could be described, goes to America, acts alone makes contacts over the net and assembles a dud bomb and tries to detonate it!! Is this the best the FBI have to offer its nothing only propaganda another reason to go to war!

• D Griff 18/10/12 #

There are 300m + people in America. In 15 mins the FBI could find hundreds of people with the motive and none of the means.
    this was a public relations piece pure and simple. “the threat hasn’t gone away you know”, terror is big business.

• * I’ve seen them on ID Channel, I meant to say.

• @ Derek. That’s exactly what I thought! Seen one or two of of this kind of operations and I have to wonder at the tactics used.
    This one will probably be on FBI Files in a year or two, I daresay.

• Who wrote the original version? Was it Sherlock Holmes?

• A bit like saddams WMD’s ??

• At least he got his target correct. The private banking company known as the fed is the ground Zero of all Americas and the worlds economic problems. It would be great thing if someone drove these snakes out

• “came to the United States”? Gee whizz, I hope not. I rather fancied that I was reading this article from Ireland…

• Gee whizz? mind your language!!

• The F.B.I. did a good job, it may deter other foolish religious fanatics from trying to get to Paradise on the cheap, by blowing “Infidel’s” to pieces , If they don’t get the means to do it from the first source, they will keep trying.
      After all 71 Virgins await.

• The F.B.I. did a good job, it may deter other foolish religious fanatics from trying to get to Paradise on the cheap, by blowing “Infidel’s” to pieces , If they don’t get the means to do it from the first source, they will keep trying.

• I don’t care if it IS entrapment, just get these fanatics off the streets, there are plenty of fools trying to get to Paradise on the cheap, if they can’t source the means to do it one place,they will keep trying, After all,72 Virgins await.

Add New Comment