TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 13 °C Wednesday 22 May, 2013

Police shoot dead 15-year-old pupil at US school

The teenager refused to drop an airgun which looked like a dangerous weapon, officers said.

Parents take their children home after the shooting yesterday
Image: BRAD DOHERTY/AP/Press Association Images

POLICE IN TEXAS shot dead a 15-year-old boy because he would not drop an airgun in his school hallway, officers have said.

Jaime Gonzalez was apparently brandishing a pellet gun which closely resembled a real firearm at Cummings Middle School in Brownsville, Texas. He was declared dead at around 9.15am yesterday morning.

Police said they fired “at least twice” when he “pointed the weapon at officers”, the Houston Chronicle reports.

But Jaime’s family have demanded to know why it was necessary to use lethal force.

“Why was so much excess force used on a minor?” the boy’s father, Jaime Gonzalez Sr., told The Associated Press outside the family’s home Wednesday night. “Three shots. Why not one that would bring him down?”

Interim Police Chief Orlando Rodriguez said the teen was pointing the weapon at officers and “had plenty of opportunities to lower the gun and listen to the officers’ orders, and he didn’t want to.”

Shortly before the confrontation, Jaime had walked into a classroom and punched a boy in the nose for no apparent reason, Rodriguez said.

Police are currently awaiting results of an autopsy, CBS reports.

- Additional reporting from AP

Read next:

Comments (53 Comments)

• Those air guns can look and feel very authentic. The officers had no choice considering the surroundings. The parents should be asking themselves a few questions.

• I think the bigger issue here again is the mass proliferation of hand guns in the us . Had it been in Ireland and a pellet gun been pulled , the kid would not have been shot. It would have been assumed it was a toy gun. There is no room to assume such in the USA and therefore we end up with a situation where leathal force almost becomes acceptable. it should never be acceptable to shoot a 15 year old and therefore tighter gun controls and a wholesale attitude to guns is required. Can’t se it happening anytime soon tho, so expect more sad situations like this one instead.

• But had in been in Ireland and the kid had of had a real gun, there could now be one or more dead guards, and the debate about the gardai carrying guns would be opened up again. I’ve been to countries where the police carry guns walking down the street and quiet frankly, would rather move to an uninhabited island than live in that sort of enviroment. The kid should have had more common sense.

• If you point a loaded gun at someone and pull the trigger, your intention is to kill. The whole idea of shooting to wound is Hollywood fiction.

• “why not one to bring him down” Why did a 15 year old have an air gun in a state notorious with gun culture? Put yourself in the officers situation. Teenager in a high school with what they thought was a firearm!! Told to drop it and he didnt. Think his dad should ask different questions.

• A product of the gang culture in American where every firearm toting clown need to be “respected”

Unlike Ireland the states have a history of kids going on the rampage with guns in schools, what should the cops do? Wait til he shot a few kids first to make sure his intentions were deadly? If he was stupid enough to bring a weapon to school and start using it then there are going to be consequences…

• He brought a gun (albeit an air gun) to school with the intention of intimidating people. He was aggressive to a fellow student. He pointed at a police officer. He refused to put the gun down. He was shot. He died.

I personally think that he should of had the fucking cop on NOT to bring the gun to school. And How about a mention for the parent of the 15 year old -Ask yourself where did he get the gun and how did you not know he had it?

• Plus the cops responsible now have to live with the trauma of having to shoot our witness the shooting of a 15 year old boy. He didn’t drop the weapon….what did everyone expect? The line has to be drawn. They would be asking very different questions if it was a real gun and he had shot his classmates.

• Dope. Don’t point a gun at police, don’t get shot.

• How many times have we seen something like this before school kid goes into school and shoots his classmates! He got his chance to put down his weapon and he didn’t police were right to shot him!!

• Rob 05/01/12 #

seems clear enough to me that this is “suicide by cop”. he created a situation where he knew they’d shoot him!

dont think anyone would argue that this isn’t tragic! but anyone who wants to stand in front of an armed man / woman / child and say that the police acted badly are either crazy brave or plain stupid!

• How bout the drop the weapon and dnt b shot at ????
    Im sure he was given fair warning

• Stupid idiot, a country notorious for school shootings, sure you could argue about non lethal force, truth is the kid was a punk. If an officer, points a gun at me,asks me to drop gun and I dont…well, fool me once,shame on you, fool me twice….no wait,id be dead. Stupid idiot.

• He raised a gun and pointed it at a police officer. Clean kill in my mind

• Minor or not. Why can’t they just shoot them in the arm instead of killing them.

• So how do you nominate someone for a Darwin Award again…?

• It’s seems to be like a “suicide by cop” tragedy. After the amount of horrendous school shootings and fear surrounding them, surely the boy couldn’t have expected any less of a reaction to him by bringing a look a like gun into school with him along with the unprovoked violent attack on another student?

• Could have been a real gun. The police didnt know that. In that situation, when someone points a gun at you, being a police officer or not ceases to be a factor. You’re instincts kick in and it becomes a case of either you or him. Young fella should have had more common sense.

• I have to say that if any one pointed a gun at me and I had a gun to defend myself , I would shoot first and then ask questions. I also think that the parents should be hanging their own heads in shame and question why their son would be bringing an air gun to school in the first place …

• Aydo 05/01/12 #

Why didnt they shoot him in the legs? Or stomach? They obviously went for kill shots.

Fucking guns breed guns and more violence. 200 million guns in that country. That’s not the problem though.

• There are countries that have gun ownership just as high. It is the attitude that is wrong. Look at the Swiss, most of the men there are in the reserve defense forces, the country is awash with military guns and yet they never have incidents like this. Guns are only the tool, America is a fucked up society.

• Aydo 05/01/12 #

Interesting point Tim.

• Police are trained to shoot “central mass areas” (the body). A pistol is a fairly inaccurate weapon past 25 metres, except in Hollywood. Aside from all of that Canada has a similar or higher rate of gun ownership/person without the gun murder rate. Yankland is the world’s biggest, and worst ratrace, no wonder people go nuts. Glad thats off me chest

• Aydo 05/01/12 #

What happened to the non lethal bag of pellets from a shotgun?

• Doesn’t get used when you’re in Texas holding a gun. That’s a bit glib, I know, but it’s a known factor. No different than me threatening somebody with a punch and then crying no fair when they hit me first. I accept comments made below that the gung-ho attitude of some American police forces is over the top. That said if the gun in question was a real loaded rifle, using a bean-bag would look unnecessarily foolhardy with people’s safety

• True the US and Canada have the same percentage of fire arm ownership. I would argue the main difference in cases leading to gun crime is poverty though. Far less people living in poverty in Canada, far more people struggling to put bread on the table in the US, and with relatively easy access to weaponry thats only asking for disaster.

• If they’re doing this in their own schools imagine what they got up to in Iraq !

• EM 05/01/12 #

Too many people here with the same American thinking…kid was stupid and deserved to be shot. It’s a scary attitude imo!
    There’s a very real chance that the kid would have just dropped the gun if a single warning shot was fired or if he was shot in the legs. And no, shooting someone in the legs is not Hollywood, you can be very accurate with a pistol out to 20-30m or more. Unfortunately after Columbine and Virginia Tech the police just won’t take a chance and would rather shoot first and ask questions later.
    There’s no proof yet that this was deranged kid about to commit a massacre (would be hard to do with a pellet gun) but ppl want to assume the worst; maybe he just had issues and needed someone to talk him through it. At the end of the day a 15 yr old kid was killed. Most ppl don’t seem to bothered by that.

• Sorry i have been trained to use a handgun in the military accurate up to 25 metres ok in practise environment but out in the field under stress you go for the largest target which is the torso thats just the way it is.The kid done a stupid thing should dropped the gun when told.Armed police do not fool around.

• @EM – Nooone is saying the kid deserved to be shot. Simple fact is the police were put in a position where they were fearful of their own lives. The didnt have the full lot of information available to them at the time i.e. they didnt know it what a bb gun. Of course he doesnt deserve to be dead, but he should certainly have known better.

• People are bothered by it, EM, but they also realise that he left the police with no other option. It’s a terrible situation, but when someone aims what looks like a firearm at police, they have no option but to shoot immediately. Nobody has any right to ask them to put their own lives or those of the public at risk by delaying, or trying to shoot the suspects limbs first, where there is a high chance of either missing or failing to debilitate him, giving him the chance to kill. This has been examined and teased out by ballistics and tactical experts the world over and they’ve all come to the same conclusion: the lesser of two evils is to shoot for the torso and just hope it’s not fatal.

• Ah for God sake. Shoot the child in the bloody leg if you must but jesus killing him!! What a f***ed up country.

• Considering they were up against a child in a school, would a tazer have been the better choice?

• If they had the chance to fire warning shots and give him “plenty of time” to drop his weapon surely they had enough time to search for a way of ending the situation without killing the 15yr old. if it becomes acceptable to shot to kill 15 yr olds then how long until its acceptable to do so to 14 yr olds and then younger. Sad story on so many levels, that kid needed help and intervention before this even happened.

• kyp154 05/01/12 #

You don’t fire ‘warning shots’ at someone with a gun it encourages the subject to shoot back! As has already been said a 15yr old pointing a gun is the same as a 25 or 30yr old pointing a gun, the tragedy is that he had a gun in the first place and could bring it into a school, if you aim something resembling a firearm at an armed police officer or soldier the consequences are pretty clear universally I would think…

• Wow way more people siding with the police, I’m surprised. I think the most important thing here is that a child has died, and yep, he brought this air gun to school and refused to lower it, but he’s 15, so young and stupid. Tragic that he was not injured instead of killed.

• Remember the Red Lake massacre? 16 year old killed 8 people. How about Fullerton? Iowa, Virginia Tech, Columbine.

The police have all those incidents in their minds when they are called to these. They were preventing this kid from shooting other children.

• The important thing is that the 15 year old idiot brought a gun to school. It was an air gun but these things are indistinguishable from the real thing. In America, this is only going to get you shot dead. A 15 year old with a gun is just as capable of shooting several people dead as a 25 year old. Not taking sides, just being realistic. America is a bloodthirsty country.

• wow linda!!!you must live in the perfect world with butterflies. a world where 15 year olds play with action men figures.the reality is that 15 year olds these days are committing gangland murders on the streets of dublin never mind texas.

• Used to be police had to be fired upon before shooting but now its shoot first ask questions laters all because of this fear culture that is enforced upon us. Life is cheap, especially in Texas if u are a ethnic. Most American cops are power tripping bullies and are armed and dangerous.

• An ethnic in Texas… I guess that means American then. So what you’re saying is that life is cheap in Texas if you’re American? Sounds fun

• My brother is a cop in LA if someone points a gun at him he is duty bound to require them to drop the weapon if they refuse he is duty bound to protect his own life and the life of others.The only way to do this is to shoot the offender.The torso is where they are trained to aim as it is the biggest target.Wounding is hopefully the outcome but if you point a gun at the Police and refuse to drop it never going to be a good outcome.To the kid RIP but you were stupid.

• Seriously the use of lethal force in the US is far too prevalent. They developed the bean bag firing shotgun as a non lethal alternative for use in prisons. These policemen are also issued with air tasers, the idea of non lethal shots is not Hollywood. However the idea of an effective American police force that aren’t shootemup cowboys sadly is.

• kyp154 05/01/12 #

You don’t shoot a beanbag at someone armed with what can reasonably be considered a genuine gun!! That’s just stupid, so the bean bag knocks him to the ground, and he still has a gun and can still shoot at the officers or civilians…same goes for the tazer- Less lethal devices are for a specific scenario, as are lethal ones

• I agree that lethal force is far too prevalent in the states. Less than lethal alternatives should be utilised wherever necessary. However, firing a gun at someone is use of lethal force. No police or army in the world train people how to maim with a firearm. You aim for the centre of the body because that’s the biggest part. It also happens to have all the major organs inside.

It is a tragedy here that a 15 year old has died, and the police that were forced to fire that fatal shot will also have to live with that decision. My sympathy to all involved. Unfortunately there are no winners here.

• It was said if this happened in Ireland they would have presumed it was a toy. Sorry to tell you but as an owner of several R.I.F. (realistic imitation firearm) if u brandish them in any way in public the armed response unit will be sent to deal with you. Iv had them confront me a few times.
    You can get a gun here easyaly if u have the cash don’t fool urself

• Only in texas..

Add New Comment