You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Political Animals

QUIZ: Which rugby player is Michael Noonan most like? Test your knowledge of the week...

In which the finance minister sported a black eye and James Reilly was threatened with being sued…

1. What country did Finian McGrath compare the Independent Alliance to?
TheJournal.ie
England
South Africa

Switzerland
Cuba
2. When will the same-sex marriage referendum be held?
Photocall Ireland
12 May
16 May

22 May
28 May
3. Who does Transport Minister Paschal Donohoe have "utter sympathy" for?
Oireachtas.ie
People who have to commute a long distance to work
Water charge protesters

People who get clamped at hospitals
Phil Hogan
4. The Oireachtas Justice Committee was told that more young people are selling drugs because gardaí are busy doing what?
Photocall Ireland
Protecting ministers
Monitoring water protests

Dealing with burglaries
Looking after the President
5. By when does Irish Water hope to have reduced leaks to 20%?
Shutterstock.com

The 12th of Never
6. Who is threatening to sue James Reilly?
Photocall Ireland
Smokers' rights group Forest Éireann
The INMO

Tobacco giant JTI Ireland
Leo Varadkar
7. What dig did Enda Kenny level at Gerry Adams?
PA Images
"Sinn Féin will never be in power in the Republic."
"Mary Lou would make a better leader than you."

"The trampoline must be having an effect on you."
"Your beard has nothing on Mick Wallace's."
8. How much have referendums cost us since 2001?
Shutterstock.com
€83.7 million
€118.6 million

€172.5 million
€234.9 million
9. Which rugby player did Michael Noonan compare himself to?
Photocall Ireland
Brian O'Driscoll
Ronan O'Gara

Johnny Sexton
Mathieu Bastareaud
10. Which TD died their hair pink to raise money for Shave or Dye?
Shutterstock.com
Joan Burton
Mick Wallace

Ruth Coppinger
Dara Calleary
Answer all the questions to see your result!
Photocall Ireland
You scored out of !
Taoiseach Enda Kenny
Your knowledge is good enough to run the country. As a prize, you get to spend the weekend at home in Mayo for your party's Ard Fheis.
Share your result:
Photocall Ireland
You scored out of !
Michael Noonan
Black eye or no black eye you're running the country's finances, damn it.
Share your result:
Photocall Ireland
You scored out of !
Leo Varadkar
You have the potential to lead your party, but you're not ready just yet.
Share your result:
You scored out of !
James Reilly
Your knowledge needs to be brushed up. Careful, or you might get sued.
Share your result:
Fine Gael/Flickr.com
You scored out of !
John McNulty
Your 15 minutes in the political spotlight will be, er, controversial.
Share your result: