TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 3 °C Saturday 25 May, 2013

Poll: Are drink-driving laws fair to those in rural areas?

A coroner in Kerry has said older men in rural areas are becoming more isolated because even one pint can now put them over the limit. Have your say here…

Image: Leon Farrell/Photocall Ireland

A CORONER IN south Kerry has stated that the current drink-driving laws are leading to older males in rural areas feeling more isolated – and that some of them were taking their own lives as a result.

The remarks by coroner Terence Casey were carried in this morning’s Irish Examiner. He said that older men who live alone in areas could no longer go to the pub for even one pint as that quantity could now put them over the limit.

What do you think of the application of the drink-driving laws? Do you think it is fair that they apply equally to those in rural areas, where public transport is not available, as they do everywhere else?

Poll Results:

Read next:

Comments (144 Comments)

• My 74 year old Dad who lives in the country, drives to the local, drinks coffee, plays darts and socialises!

• My rural pub owners drive people home. It’s good for business, you drive to the pub have a lash of drink if you want and you always have a spin home.

• I live in an isolated part of Clare serviced by a taxi. Simple as, its there if you want to use it, not expensive. Loneliniess isnt caused by pub withdrawal.
      In fact some of the pubs here are the most godforsaken places on earth, with proprietors that make Mick the Barman look like Nelson Mandela.
      My suspicion, enhanced by the kerry origins of this story, is that this is more Vintners bullshit.

• Also, it points at the sad state of public transport in this country. Most rural areas don’t have buses – as opposed to a lot of other European countries.

• exactly

• That is exactly the problem, although buses probably aren’t the answer. Minibuses, each covering a small area, would be much more flexible. They should operate like taxis so you phone them up and they give you an estimated time when a minibus will be with you. This gives the operator the chance to do multiple pick-ups/drop-offs and prevents the wasteful driving around that buses do just to keep to a schedule. Of course, they could also offer scheduled runs for particularly busy times/routes.

And it would still be a commercial service, albeit subsidised (perhaps subsidise the cost of the vehicles). Ideally it should be run locally and not by a large or semi-state body so they maintain some sense of community responsibility.

• Spot on there Jamie. Perhaps they (‘government’) will use some of this new household charge towards subsidising more public transport schemes in rural areas seeing we’re told this charge will go towards paying for ‘local services’…..doubt this will happen though

• Aydo 06/01/12 #

Great idea Jamie! Would create employment and lower road fatalities, plus all those people would get to not their pints without worry about the trip home.

• Aydo 06/01/12 #

‘Enjoy their pint’ I meant! Doh!

• For the first time in years publicans have to work. Get a minibus, give the boys your number, collect then and drop them home, have a jar for a few euro off the boys for petrol (so u won’t need to change insurance types) simples. Poor publicans have to work to make money now :(

• Jessie 06/01/12 #

The laws on drink driving shouldn’t be changed but rules on taxi/cab licenses should be less restrictive in the rural areas where the driver only works the pub run. Obviously vehicles must be road worthy but the local garda should be able to oversee these things without the pricey licensing regulations. A local being able to make a small bit of extra cash could provide a valuable service to the isolated and help boost trade in the local pub.

• The last three times I have gone to the pub with my partner I was driving and didn’t take a drink as much as I would have loved one. It’s simple, I can’t afford to have my licence taken away. It goes back to the same old thing. If the guards stop all the cars leaving pub car parks at random times over six months this problem would be gone at the end of those six months. No excuse for drink driving and if you ever had to bury a friend or relation who was stupid enough to do it and then have been scrapped off the road you just might agree with me

• They can go to the pub and have the 1 pint if they want. They just have to wait an hour or so before driving back, have a tea/soft drink in the mean time. That’s if socialising is with friends is what they want..

The real problem is they want to drive to the pub and have a rake of pints.

Drinking != Socialising

• I live in Dublin and drive whenever I go out. I drink non-alcoholic beer so that I can enjoy a drink and still drive. There are a good selection of non alcoholic bears now so its not like people can say that they taste bad.

If the point of going to the pub is to be social then go and have a non-alcoholic beer or a coke or a tea. You’re there to chat, not to fall off the stool.

• We all know that people still drink and drive especially in rural areas, where perhaps the Garda presence is below par. Now we hear that Garda cars are not going to be replaced in certain rural areas like Clare ! I can see both sides. Living alone in the country, the pub offers much more than mere alcohol, but if the new law saves just one life, then it is worth it. With so much unemployment, a few publicans should come together and buy a van and transport these people home after a night in the pub. It’s not going to be easy, but it is do-able

• Alot of rural publicans do this already either with a mini bus or their own car.Their business would not survive otherwise.But some people just refuse to give up the car no matter what.I live in the country go to my local 2miles away and if i have few beers leave the car behind,collect it next day after been dropped home by pub owner.A neighbour over 60 has his few beers refuses a lift and drives home regularly.

• Very expensive to get that done as the van would need to be licenced as a limousine by the Taxi Regulator at €1,045 for the first licence and insured as a hackney which is another €1,500-2,000 a year as well as yearly NCT’s regardless of age of vehicle. I don’t think the rural pub trade is busy enough to afford that outlay…

• I’ve a horse outside!!!!!!!

• Pretty surprised that a coroner of all people is coming out with these comments.

• This is another argument against one-off housing in rural areas. If they lived in a village they could walk to and from the pub and drink as much as they liked. Also, it’s crazy how dependent we are on alcohol in this country. A choice between getting langered and suicide? Give me a break.

• Nobody is forcing these people to stay at home in their isolated cottages. They can still go to the pub, meet friends, have the chat, play cards or whatever. Just stay off the booze, or better still take turns with their friends to be the designated driver and bring everyone else home. That way they won’t kill anyone on their way home either. Result!

• The drink drive laws must apply equally. If it’s a social issue that affects a relatively small number in isolated areas, then let them pay a small fee, subsidised by the publicans and the Dept to have a minibus pick them up and drop them home. Or ask neighbours or relatives to car pool them maybe couple nights a week.

• kyp154 06/01/12 #

Same rule nationwide, drink driving kills. Sadly alot of people don’t understand this until a drink driver kills someone dear to them.

If you want to be sociable drive to the pub by all means but have a coke.

• Pretty surprised that a coroner, who directly sees death first hand, is coming out with these comments, might be a Kerry thing.

• Lets see, do I want already poor drivers on poor roads to be given an exception to drink driving laws because they feel a little lonely?

No.

• The problem here is not the drink-driving laws but the number of people who can’t conceive of going to the pub and having a non-alcoholic drink.

Drive down, have a cup of tea and talk to your mates, drive home.

• Aydo 06/01/12 #

People go to the pub to have a drink, an alcoholic one.

• I think I’d prefer to go to the pub and NOT drink if the only other option is to sit at home alone (and I do regularly). Also have people in rural Ireland never heard of designated drivers.

• Michael, It’s hard to find a designated driver up the side of a Kerry mountain!

• John, if one is to decide to live “up the side of a mountain in Kerry” as you put it, one has to assume that there be a certain amount of isolation and lack of services associated with such a lifestyle, that should not excuse someone from the abiding by the laws the land.

I think you may have missed the point I was trying to get at. There are many other solutions to the problem of socialising in rural Ireland, I know of towns where groups of publicans have gotten together to offer shuttle bus services to their locals, and one pub in particular where the owner and his wife will drive people to and from the premises at any time.

Relaxing of our right strict drink driving laws is not the answer, especially if one must drive home “up the side of a mountain”. I’m sure those roads are none to safe at the best of times.

• what a stupid poll…………if there were exceptions then rural would soon become urban! and would love to see the evidence that the coroner based his comments on.

• I’m sure if someone’s nearest and dearest was struck and killed by an elderly gent/lady on their way home from having a few pints, they may not be so sympathetic. Personal responsibility is a must. No matter what age you are. I’ve seen first hand the devastating effects that deaths caused by drunk driving has on the families, both the victim’s and the driver’s. Some don’t think twice about cycling or walking the short distance home after a few bevvies either.. Accidents waiting to happen, alas.

• I think to be honest Yvonne the vast majority of people agree that we need the drink driving laws to be implemented and I certainly am not justifying anybody drinking and driving, I think the bulk of the discussion here is about rural people getting home from the pubs in a safe manner for themselves and more importantly all other road users. I don’t think the coroner was suggesting that the law be changed to facilitate people in rural Ireland-it isn’t clear from the piece above exactly what the point he was making was, but I personally believe that it is a question of providing some sort of a transport service in rural Ireland, whether that be done privately by the publican, the local community or the government is what should be up for discussion here. I live in rural Ireland and I know many elderly people who’s main outings are Mass and the pub. I’m not talking about people getting legless here but just having a few sociable drinks a couple of nights a week, I find it amusing when I read the posts suggesting the pubs provide proper coffee machines snacks etc, the likelihood of a 70 or 80 year old man giving up his pint of Guinness for a latte and some tapas is about as likely as I winning the euromillions tonight.

• Mary, “I’m not talking about people getting legless here but just having a few sociable drinks a couple of nights a week” is pretty undefensible talk. The whole point is that you don’t *have* to be paralytic with drink to be a danger on the roads. You ‘just’ want people to be able to drink-drive twice a week (104 times a year!). Well, *that’s* okay, then!

Yes, I think we’re all agreed urban transportation needs to be improved. But the current deficiencies in the service provide no excuse or justification at all for drink driving.

• That coroner is crazy, so will the new drink driving legislation be amended to Section 4 of the Road Traffic Act 1961/2011(excluding older men in rural areas) as amended!! Lunacy the law is the law and applies to all whether we agree with it or not!

• Believe it or not, but ‘drink walking’ is by far more dangerous than ‘drink driving’. Read this article by the ‘Freaknomics Economist’ Steve Levitt

http://www.freakonomics.com/2011/12/28/the-perils-of-drunk-walking/

• I used to go out and drink normal drinks but over the years I’ve just found it more convenient to drive home rather than get public transport (and this is in Dublin). For that reason I have switched over to non-alcoholic beer. In fact I now drink it at home too as the taste is as good and there is no groggyness.

The solution to getting people home safely is for them not to drink and drive. The government is never going to commission a bus service to go through the countryside so that people can have a couple of pints.

Saying that people are too old to change their habits is of little consolation to a bereaved parent of a car accident.

• The drink driving law is fair, it’s the lack of affordable public transport that’s not fair!!

• Rural publicans should be legally obliged to provide a bus service, say for the price of a pint, to all the local drinkers.. It might even boost business…

• Its too late now the law is changed. Its unfortunate for anyone in rural areas who would socialise and doesn’t have anyone to stay sober and drive.
    I often visit pubs up to 25 miles from my doorstep. Luckily I like strong black filter coffee and don’t drink alcohol often. Unluckily, too many pubs don’t have decent coffee available, they think instant coffee will do. It won’t.
    Pubs need to adjust as well as drivers.

• here.here…well said. publicans need to move with the times instead of moaning that laws designed to save lives are costing them.money! coffee non alcoholic beers..promotional prices on minerals for designated drivers.

• Non alcoholic beer…

• Nothing wrong with non alcoholic beer but the reason most people have a few drinks is because it makes them more relaxed and sociable and I know that, if an elderly man in particular, has some worry or problem and goes to the local pub to meet up with a few pals in all likelihood he will talk about his problem AFTER a couple of drinks, that is a fact of life………drink makes us more chatty and more likely to talk to others. I’m not talking about somebody getting legless here, just having a few sociable drinks. I know people who’ve never drank find it hard to comprehend why anybody would actually want to drink, well I believe for most moderate drinkers it is the social aspect and the fact that it allows people to be more open and perhaps talk about things that they feel they wouldn’t be able to do without the extra little prop that alcohol gives. Maybe that is a good or a bad thing who knows? but it is the way life is and surely instead of trying to change everybody living in rural Ireland to become teetotalers-which in turn would mean there would be no pubs to go to anyway!!! wouldn’t it be much better to try and work from where we are and find a solution to the problem of getting people home safely?

• Just as a side point, Mary, recent studies have discovered that the “relaxed and sociable” effect of alcohol is all in people’s heads. Where people were given non-alcoholic drinks but led to believe they were alcoholic they behaved in that relaxed and sociable way; while people given alcoholic drinks but led to believe they were non-alcoholic suffered the impairments of being drunk without actually becoming more sociable.

Now, I say that’s a side point, because there’s no *easy* answer coming out of that. But it does point out that there’s no physical need for people to be getting drunk in the pub to have a good time — it’s the cultural norm of “I need a drink to relax” that needs to change (a long and difficult task)

• tryed that and after 3 bottles it gives you the shits

• Yes its fair. Its just unfortunate that it affects rural people. They can go to the pub and not drink if its about getting out and meeting people. The idea that you must have a few alcoholic drinks to say hello to friends is absurd.

• WOW, 37% of people believe that if you’re killed by a country drink driver then somehow you’ll be less DEAD…. Muppets

• like the men in dingle in ireland,no socialisation,suicide can start to rear its ugly head!!!after sitting home all day,a man should b allowed a pint in the rural areas,they should put a few taxie van stops,afternoon evening and nite,and give them a shout after a wee drink at the local,

• Why would they receive special treatment? I don’t drink and drive, nor do I expect anyone else to. If they want to go to the pub, they can drink a coke or lucozade. Those rural roads are woefully dark, and dangerous at night as it is.

• At least 99% of the cars in Rural areas have lights on them !!!

• @Jimmy, that’s not the point… The fact is that rural roads are far more dangerous that one’s in urban areas… mainly because there’s often no pathways for pedestrians, or streetlamps. Also, the speed limit is higher outside of towns. Therefore, there definitely should not be an acception to the drink driving law. However, there should be something done as for a lot of people its simply not possible to walk to their nearest pub. A good solution might be if there was an organised- cheap shuttle service that could bring people home. Regular taxis in rural areas cost so much more than in the likes of Dublin.

• Strangly enough the most people walking dark country roads at night are those walking home from the pub. I do not want to be seen to be promoting drink driving, because i don’t.

• Rural publicans should create a more sociable atmosphere for people who cannot drink by providing decent coffee and other imaginative non-alcholic drinks and snacks, who knows they might even increase their turnover !
    One of Michael McDowell’s better ideas was to create a bistro atmosphere in pubs attracting clientele of all ages and sex.

• So whats the question here that we should sacrifice a few valuable lives so people in rural Ireland can get plastered?

• The vast majority of people are covered by a taxi service of some sort. There are not many places in Ireland that are not within 20km of town with a taxi service. So if you are prepared to spend €25 on 5 pints you should be able to find the dosh for a taxi.

What is the argument for rural pubs being a special case?

Your less likely to crash into someone because there are fewer cars? No
    The publicans need the money? Ridiculous
    I am being discriminated against because I chose to live in a remote area? Think of all the fresh air though.
    There is puck all else to do in ballygoarsehole? Buy a play-station or move to blanchardstown
    Them in Dublin don’t understand our country ways?

I can’t think of a single argument that is worth taking seriously.

Let’s bear in mind that rural politicians very often use the Machiavellian “them and us argument” like this one, to bind themselves to their weak minded constituents.

• The coroner has made a reckless comment, surely the same coroner has sadly had to deal with deaths due to drink driving yet he seems to be making a small case for it?!

• Oh no, of course it’s not fair to people who live in rural areas to have to obey a law designed to save lives.

Presumably they also don’t require seatbelts, carseats for their kids, speed limits etc.?

I imagine we’d all feel extremely comforted at the death of a relative to learn that they were killed by someone who had no other way of getting to the pub, and yet decided to drink anyway.

• Maybe the rural communities should organise a’get safe home’ service where every week another person is the driver who collects and takes people home, or something like that.

• There is only one answer to this, as the laws are probably for the better and safety of others i am inclined now to think that the responsibility of the persons who give out these laws should also provide transport cabs at sceduals to the rural community,it is only fair that the freedom of having a pint at the we local pub is not taken from people in rural areas,i am sure they have other interests other than drink,but after a tough days work or even sitting at home all day with age,,a pint and a bit of craic with the other locals is a good way to unwind,a service should b provided

• The drink driving laws as good as they are can be extremely hard on people in isolated areas with no means of socialising other than over a few drinks. Most country areas have no bus service and no regular taxi service.

• You’re right, but the problem isn’t the drink driving laws but the lack of acceptable rural transport. Fixing that problem would have a host of advantages far beyond bringing old fellas home from the pub.

• There is too much ‘reliance’ on drinking this country. We live in a drink culture which destroys lives both from addiction and road deaths. If people live too far from the pub to walk then get in your car and have a cup of tea there. To suggest that people (old or otherwise) are entitled to ‘have a pint’ so that they can unwind is ridiculous and quite frankly selfish. And lets be honest are they just going to have one? Why on earth is that an entitlement in rural Ireland or otherwise?! Say that to the relative of someone killed on the roads by a drink driver see how they react. Drinking and driving should absolutely under no circumstances be tolerated. These older men should join the local older persons social club in their area but they probably won’t because it generally involves activities like social outings or trips away that don’t involve drink. Im sure it’s just as isolating to live in the middle of a city and have no visitors or living relatives as it is to live in rural ireland too far from the pub. Sadly yes maybe there is a need for more outreach groups for the elderly but in the current financial climate that’s not possible. Maybe in rural communities more effort should be made to include the isolated elderly in everyday life and not just buy them a pint in the local. Am i the only one with the opinion that part of the problem here is that we have an older generation of functioning alcoholics who thinks it their right (because they can ‘handle’ a few pints) to drink drive because that’s always been the way?

• Easy question to answer, what’s more important? Social life of old men or the safety of the entire population?

• This is another argument against one-off housing in rural areas. If they lived in a village they could walk to and from the pub and drink as much as they liked. Also, it’s crazy how dependent we are on alcohol in this country. A choice between getting langered and suicide? Give me a break.

• They should find a way to socialize that doesn’t include alcohol as a must :) “We live sad and alone because we cant get drunk on the pub with our friends” sounds funny.

• Your a sad individual you’ve never had a drink yourself or had friends………………

• I think you do not what you are talking about, if you were a sixtysomething farmer, single and living in rural ireland you might find life a bit more limiting than it is currently. The pub is the way Irish people socialize, like it or not, other activities are on the fringe, hopefully that will change sometime soon.

• So, Frank & John, the options are – go to the pub for alcohol. Or stay home, get depressed, take your life. What kind of strange reality is that?

• LOL Michael option 1 for me….opt 2 is too depressing to think about

• Give me an example of something that can be done in rural ireland, socially, by old lads, living in places where the local amenities likely consist (in their entirety) of a pub, a post office/shop, and another pub then.

“Do something else” is a bullshit solution used by people who’se heads are completely up there own arses, because we’re talking about situations where there’s nothing else to bloody do.

I’m not in favour of drink driving law exceptions, but I’m not going to belittle these people. The lack of viable and extent social alternatives to sitting around and getting drunk is a major problem in this country. I would be surprised if most of those people who suggest ‘doing something else’ didn’t spend at least one evening in the pub per week.

• Barr freak accidents, Drink driving is the lowest cause of deaths in the country= Fact. 57 percent are single car crashes where only the driver is killed= Fact. 1 of 3 crashes is alcohol related which to me would indicate that bad driving is twice as likely to get you in an accident as drink driving. suicide is a much bigger problem than drink driving.
      Quote-They should find a way to socialize that doesn’t include alcohol as a must. what happened to free will. if they have a fuckin pint or ten they should be allowed if it makes them happy. this is slowly becoming a complete nanny state.
      i feel sorry for anyone whos lost someone to an accident but every smoker is risking their life, every fat person is risking their life, driving your fuckin car is killing the ozone etc and naturally their risking their loved ones happiness aswell. thats life. welcome to earth.

I’d rathe die young and free than old never having been free.

• I don’t think that the coroner is suggesting that there should be an exception of drink-driving laws for rural Ireland, rather that maybe the government could have an initiative to improve public/pooled transport. Many of the comments below are appalling, so ageist and discriminatory towards people from rural areas it’s disgusting. And it seems that many of them come from young people, it’s so disappointing. The lack of empathy a lot of people here feel towards older people suffering from social isolation is quite shocking to me. This lack of understanding and compassion is possibly feeding into the high suicide rates and marginalisation.

• With a personality like yours Paul Kealy,the only stars you will see are the ones you get after someone knocks you out!!!!!

• Harsh…very harsh. I am a man of love, not violence.

• @Louisa….I am not ageist, I concur. However, I do not think that social integration or any societal shift in attitudes towards the elderly can be found in the bottom of a glass. There is a whole periphery to be examined, not just the transportation of the elderly to pubs. However, on that point, perhaps making it clear to publicans (legally) that transport be made available to drive people to and from the pubs in rural areas might help matters. The industry is on its knees, why would they resist?

• Easy way to stop any drink driving, put an alchometer in each and every car… if over the limit the car doesn’t start… Make it mandatory .. if removed or tampered with a automatic 10 year ban… problem solved but the government deosn’t have the balls to do it

• Anyone wish to propose a law that would define those who should be exempt from the general drink-driving limits. Intrigued…

• It’s fair if you’re living in a city with taxis and buses every 15 or 20 minutes.. We have nothing on the country anymore and it’s killing the Irish culture .. No characters coming to the pub anymore .. So sad

• Most road deaths are in rural areas, because they go faster and they’re brutal drivers sober!!!

• I would imagine that most people commenting do not live in an isolated area.

• Why don’t the Gov give incentives for publicans in rural areas to have a mini bus maybe give a motor-tax exemption or something like that. You could possibly extend that buses use for the school run in the mornings? would take a few cars away from the morning rush hour. Just an idea…

• I suppose that it is inevitable that most of the comments that are not sympathetic to a more relaxed attitude are made by people from urban centres. You have one commentator who thinks that one off housing should be eliminated and that we should all live in villages. Another few want publicans to go out ad buy mini buses and do school runs. Jaysus it must be nice to live up in the big smoke with all the services and surrounded by people 24/7. It might be worth bearing in mind that the people who live in the country CHOOSE to live in the country because they were born there. Not everyone wants to live in a town or a city.

I live in a large town so if I want to go for a pint I’m only 5 minutes from my local. If I go down to relatives in W Cork I have to drive about 2 miles so it’s lucozade for me as it’s a lot cheaper than 2 pints. I sometimes bring people home and I know that some of the local publicans do as well. I also know of people who will go out and have 2 pints and drive home even though they are still over the limit. These are the same people who have been driving the same road for years and only ever had 2 pints, yet they are now criminalized by the law.
    I can understand the need for drink driving legislation but I can also understand the need for community policing. I would be more worried about some people over others when I see them down the local at times but I also know that the local cop’s know what they are doing.

• I think if you think about it, you’ll see that’s your own pre-judgements about people coming out. Most of the people on either side of the discussion make no reference at all to where they live.

I think drink driving laws need to apply evenly to everyone. You’d probably assume I live in a city because of that, but I don’t.

• Peter I looked up peoples profiles to see where they were from so I couldn’t be accused of pre-judging people, I guess that didn’t work out! This debate is very simple for urban dwellers as it is black and white for them. To throw in some generalizations not everyone in the country goes out 7 nights a week and they don’t all insist on getting rat arsed when they do!.. There does seem to be a perception that it is impossible for anyone to go out and have 2 pints for example. If they want to drink they are told “get a taxi”. The nearest taxi to my relatives is 7 miles away so I think he charges a call out fee because my local is only about 2 miles from home. So it’s not worth him doing a 28 mile round trip for my 2 pints.

It suits me to drive because I can have a pint where I normally live as I live in a town, so in effect I have the best of both worlds. I can also see it from both sides as well and there simply is no excuse for drink driving in built up areas. Rural areas are different because of distance, weather etc.

Actually here is one for you Peter….

Lets ban public transport in all urban areas for one month, even just for weekend nights, and we will see how many urban dwellers like that! Not only would they get fresh air as someone pointed out earlier but they would also get fit when they had to walk home the odd mile or two! It would also save on carbon emissions, cut down on road accidents (don’t forget high viz vests) and people could walk home together and have some quality conversation on the way home. I just hope it doesn’t rain though.

• The local cops who turn a blind eye if it’s someone from a “good” family is it?

• No Michael, the local cops who know who is doing the fool and who isn’t. I saw this in action in another part of the country some years back. A local young lad who was given warnings didn’t heed them with the result that he was stopped in front of me one night on his way home. I found out after that he had been told that he was being watched and that there were complaints about him. He didn’t listen and so ended up getting bagged. The locals on the other hand knew that there was a certain line not to be crossed that wasn’t set down in law. This meant that people could get on with their lives with no more nanny interfering, anyone who had too much to drink was brought home and people were still able to socialize.

• Except Brian, that most people don’t list that information so you’re still using incomplete and irrelevant assumptions. Besides which, several of the comments agreeing drink-driving is always wrong specify the poster lives in a rural area.

And your point about urban bus services… so what? Should rural transport services be improved? Of course they should. I’m not arguing that they shouldn’t. As far as I can see you’re attempting to mount yet another ‘us vs them’ fallacy, where people who drink-drive are excused from it because life is oh-so-hard for them and people who disagree just can’t understand their plight. But, let’s face it: “Drink-Driving: Right or Wrong?” isn’t THAT complicated a moral question, is it?

• And, by the way, Brian; that “Ah, sure, we know who’s a grand lad, really” attitude hasn’t, historically, worked out that great for the Gardai in other areas of criminal investigation, has it? That’s exactly the sort of petty corruption that firm laws are needed to stamp out.

• Yes Brian. And I know someone in that same situation. Committed 2 offences. Killed someone in a head-on. Then got convicted for the first 2 offences. Then got convicted and imprisoned for the fatal. Someone has to die to satisfy your approach to law enforcement?

• My publican is sound.I live about 0.5km from the pub so I usually drive there and after I’ve had a good scatter of pints maybe 12-15 my publican drives me home in my own car. Then I drop him back to the pub and tip off home it’s great!!

• While I agree on the law it is not as simple as has been purported in some of the comments. Just having a tea or coffee is something 50 to 80+ men in rural Ireland are not used to. These are not insurmountable issues at all or would they be even considered significant to most people including most of these older men. The coroner is referring to those who may be the least sociable, the most vulnerable, those for whom nursing a pint is the only way to bare awkward silences in the pub. Teaching an old dog new tricks would be an appropriate phrase. I look forward to the day every old man pub has a barista and a fine selection of herbal teas though.

• @ Paul typical them and us attitude!!!! for your information I pay every tax going, I’m a PAYE worker, I paid a huge sum to have access to public water, I have my own septic tank so no cost to the exchequer there, I pay to cut my own roadside hedges etc etc. It is opinions like yours that create the divide between rural and urban dwellers. I have no problem with people living in towns and cities and the problems that can cause which we in rural Ireland don’t have, I don’t have any problem my taxes going towards public services etc in urban areas either as I believe we are all living on a small Island and should respect each others right to live where we wish. If everybody moved from rural Ireland into towns and cities what would that solve? Anyway I doubt if all the farmers living in rural Ireland would fancy abandoning their land in favor of trying for jobs in the cities!!! We all contribute to our country in various ways and as such we all deserve respect from each other. I believe you have a very unrealistic view of what rural Ireland is like, of course there are people living in extremely remote areas but there are also large areas of the countryside where you have quite a substantial population in a relatively small area. Where I live is an example of this, over the years more people have built houses in this area, some of them young people whose parents already live in the area and others people who have moved from more urban areas as they prefer the more relaxed lifestyle of country living, in actual fact the local primary school has more kids attending it it at the moment than any time in recent memory.

• Paul 06/01/12 #

I don’t have any problem with you living in the country. I just pointed out that it is unrealistic for you to expect the same levels of services e.g. public transport, in the countryside. It does cost more to provide services to dispersed populations. We all pay tax but you would have to be paying a lot more to cover the extra costs of providing these services in dispersed communities, it’s just a fact. Live where you like but then you need to quit whining about poor public transport, community facilities, internet speeds etc., spreading these services throughout the countryside is never going to happen.

• Problem with this type of poll is that we do not know the makeup of the respondents. 90% could be all young and city dwellers which would give a distorted result.

• What has the makeup of the respondents got to do with anything. the simple facts are that roughly 10 years ago people were dying on our roads at the rate of 1 a day, in 2011 186 people died on Irish roads, that is a drop of almost 200 a year, and despite the growing population and number of cars on our roads. Some of this can be put down to the increased quality of our roads but it is also down to the changing attitude of the Irish people to drink driving. I am a young city dweller don’t know anyone who finds it acceptable to drink and drive. If you are suggesting that older people living in rural areas are more accepting of drink driving, well then they need to take a good long look at themselves.

• How would it be distorted? That’s based on the presumption that rural dwellers have, or should have, a greater say than anyone else. They don’t, and they shouldn’t.

Besides, for all you know, 90% could all be rural pensioners and the 39% result in favour of special treatment is down to that.

• The purpose of the poll is to find peoples attitudes to drink driving laws in the context of the article. This type of poll is not accurate in that we do not know from what sector of society that the results are returning from.
      I was commenting on the possible inaccuracy of the poll and not suggesting anything in relation to drink driving laws.
      I personally agree with our current laws and would advocate and support strict enforcement of the same.

• I don’t drink and drive but id still be in favour of a system where certain people in very special circumstances who clearly don’t fit the demograph of what make up the statistics of road accidents be allowed a license/exemption to have one pint, or pint and a half. Its very easy sit back and say tough luck when you’re not thrown into their situation.

Put it this way, can you imagine there was a law brought in that made all roads 30km speed limit. Would it save lives? Big time. You couldn’t argue with that.

Would there be uproar? Absolutely, and it would be the very people that claim they can drive safely at faster speeds that would be moaning.
    Stop making it so black and white for God’s sake. Put yourself in the boots of someone who has been nothing but cautious their whole life, and now can’t even have one pint, because of all the idiots getting pissed and crashing.

• So if your child is killed by a drunken driver in the country side, it would be less bad as when it had happened in the city, because, hey, at least the driver didn’t feel lonely…. dear oh dear!

• I know, some people are against drunk driving, and I call those people “the Gardaí .” But you know, sometimes, you’ve just got no choice, those kids gotta get to school!

• Why are comments disappearing?

• yes i should spell like you paul kealy, and write kids, instead of children,and gotta,i mean where did you get educated,what does gotta mean, you should go and get yourself another dram,your obviously in need of one,and get yourself a life ,after you drag yourself from the gutter.

• Well that certainly put me in my place. Have you ever heard of full stop? What is a ‘dram’? As Oscar would say, some of us may be laying in the gutter Louisa my darling, but we are looking to the stars .

Have you got Twitter, or as you would write it twuvvbe?

• Teri…you make a very valid point. You are very pretty but that in no way influences my change of heart. You are correct, I can not disagree with your conjecture. Sorry Louisa.

• @ Paul O’Brien, what a foolish statement, people have the right to live wherever they chose be it rural or urban, I have always lived in the county and wouldn’t change it for anything. There are people around here who’s families have lived in this area for many generations and they shouldn’t have to move out of the place they love for the sake of being able to get to the local pub. I don’t agree with drinking and driving but I think there should be some form of public transport that takes into account the needs of people living in rural Ireland. We are lucky in that we have a “local” withing walking distance, also the publican in question do take people home sometimes but there are still a certain number of people who do drive home after drinking and that is what needs to be tackled. I believe that publicans have a duty here to maybe organize a taxi on certain nights to drop people home for a small charge, all it would take is a little bit of planning by the publican and encouragement to the erring customers to avail of the system, for it to work, I know you’ll always have those who will insist on driving after drink but I do believe most people are sensible enough to decide against it if there is an alternative that works but please do not just flippantly think that it is as easy as people upping sticks and moving to the local village or town, that would actually cause much greater problems for a lot of the people involved as it would totally break their hearts to leave the place where they grew up and have lived all their lives, these are human beings you know and deserve the respect of governments and public alike so as to ensure that their lives are as comfortable and happy as possible and that should ensure that some form of public transport is available to them the same as it is to their city counterparts. We in rural Ireland pay our taxes etc also you know.

• Paul 06/01/12 #

You don’t pay enough taxes or use public transport regularly enough to make it sensible to provide these services in the countryside. If you want to live in the middle of nowhere that’s your choice but don’t expect there to be all these services laid on for you. One off housing makes supplying these services for you more expensive, e.g. empty buses trundling through the countryside, up this lane, down that, around the world on the way to the village… you’ll have to organise it yourselves i’m afraid…even to surface your road and my road may cost the same, the different is thousands of people live on mine, a couple of dozen on yours

• So to follow your logic Paul i don’t need to pay either a household charge or property tax as a rural dweller i don’t recieve the services you speak of.

• Paul 06/01/12 #

Norman, I pay €2,000 annually in management fees to pay for the kinds of things local councils provide and I pay for public transport on the luas, which makes a profit so no need for extra funds there, so your €100 is going to the same alleged services as my €100.

• I’m living in a rural area with no transport except my car — I drink and drive — I have no choice. Don’t forget, because i live out in the sticks, I have to pay for my own water pump, I have to pay a farmer to cut ditches as the county council wont do it, my own septic tank, to get my pure flo septic tank serviced by “bord na mona”, I firstly have to pay a 150.00 service charge per year, next they will want to charge me for having a large garden..why wouldn’t I drink with all that shit…………….

• “I drink and drive, I have no choice”. What a load of horsemanure. Ever heard of personal responsibility? You chose to live in the back of beyond, you should accept the consequences.

• Surprised you can afford to drink with all that expense.But if you do can you not get a lift off the owner.

• Of course you have a choice. There’s ALWAYS a choice. What you really mean is “I drink and drive – the choice is between drinking (which I really REALLY like to do) and not killing other people on the roads”

Seriously, now, if you actually feel that your ‘need’ to drink is more important to you than your own life or the life of other road users, you need to closely examine your relationship with alcohol.

• If i had to drive on a main road with drink..that would be a different story..”but i don’t”…If i see a tractor or traffic on my road (during the day) that would be exciting .. I like socializing and why should I stay at home and be like all the other sheep in this country ?????? bring back to good old days when drinking and driving were over looked unless you crashed or worse…. Baaaa

• If you had to drink-drive on safer, better maintained roads it would be different? It’s only because you’re only driving on poorly maintained, unlit, back roads that you do it?

To be honest, you sound as if you’re determined enough to create a scenario to excuse your drinking that common sense goes out the window. Same with your assertion that the moral consensus that dangerous driving is wrong is just people being ‘sheep’.

• The above message got a bit mixed up in the copy and paste but hopefully people get the gist of it anyway

• Does that mean there would be a law for people in the country and over a certain age and then a law for the rest of us? I don’t think so

Add New Comment