TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 6 °C Friday 24 May, 2013

Poll: Are you more hopeful for Catholic Church after Visitation findings?

The Vatican-sent panel of Catholic officials say that there are “signs of hope” for the future of the Church here. Do you agree?

Image: Press Association Images

A SUMMARY OF the findings of a panel of high-ranking Catholic officials sent to Ireland to study the aftermath of abuse scandals here has been published this morning.

While the report acknowledges with “great sense of pain and shame” the suffering that abused children endured, it also said that the Catholic Church’s progress in recent years towards safeguarding children and the “continuing vitality of the Irish people’s faith” were “signs of hope” for the future of the Church here.

Do you agree with the Visitation’s findings that there is a renewed sense of hope for the Catholic Church?

Poll Results:

Read next:

Comments (148 Comments)

• I have no problem with people wanting to have faith in something whether it be god by any name or fairies even. I always loved the stories about Jesus Christ the revolutionary but how anyone cam reconcile his teachings to the Vatican is beyond me. The best thing Labour did in government was to close the Vatican embassy.

• Let’s face it. Most of my generation are completely disillusioned with the Catholic Church and will not return to the fold regardless. This number will only increase as the older generation dies. There may always be room for Catholics in this country but the stranglehold has been broken, thankfully. Peace and may your god be good to you !!

• Barry 20/03/12 #

Agreed, as the older generations die off in Ireland the church will be in a massive crisis as there is no longer a large percentage of believers left in this country.

The age of the catholic church trying to run our country is coming to an end and they’re is nothing the Vatican can do about it anymore.

The figures and changes speak for themselves, church closing, not enough people joining the priesthood, numbers in churchs down in a massive way. People wanting religion out of schools.

• For gods sake – dont they get it that they can not rule anymore, their time is over THANK GOD!!!!!!

• This is the Church that sheltered the rapists of children, those who poured boiling water on little girls, who tormented and terrified toddlers, and (as now emerges in the Netherlands and I’m sure will later emerge in Ireland) castrated boys in their ‘care’? This is the Church that continues to try to wriggle out of responsibility for these rapes and tortures, and whose weasel words continue to poison Irish life with a culture of lies?

• Why wasn’t there an option “Who gives a damn”?
    The sooner that particular evil organisation is consigned to the distbin of history, the better!

• The Catholic Church is pretty much dead in this country, which is a good thing.

Hypocritical hate mongering power hungry shower of $%£$^’s

• Ive lost the faith. I had a good relationship with the Church as did my family but Ive lost faith in the heirarchy. Im still an avid Christian and I try to live by those values but it’s sad to say I havnt been to mass in a long time.
    I see no future for the Catholic church in Ireland. Some wounds run too deep… I also think that there is a lot of people for whom religion no longer plays an important role in their lives anyway, scandals or no scandals.
    I actually like Archbishop Martin.. he’s a down to earth guy.. he spends his time apologising for the mistakes of others above and around him and he’s swimming against the tide.

• I think perfectly summed it up for most people! The Catholic Church is a corrupt and oppressive organisation. People can still be Christian and have Christian values but not be members of the Catholic Church! There is a massive difference

• The church has been rumbled at last – they can’t have it their own way any more. Priests being treated like little gods, young children being raped and girls sent to the Magdalene Laundries. If Jesus came back to earth, he’d be the first to tear that disgusting organisation down. People are now sick of the fear it breeds – and thank goodness for that. Spirituality has been lost as religion has prospered.

• Barry 20/03/12 #

Hope, of course they want hope!

The catholic church needs numbers in order to have power so they are scared right now as they fear a loss of any power they have left in this country. They need people to believe in their religion or they will have no power anymore.

The sad fact is they are not in touch with the average person in this country and clearly only wish to ignore how people view them in the hope that it will blow over and be forgotten like all the other things they’ve down throughout history.

• Why are posts being removed that are not abusive???????

• No mention if we can finally leave the church again?? The process is still closed in this country right?

• Sorry Joe, but that’s just nonsense.

The assumption that organisations like Vincent De Paul or Trocaire would cease to exist is rubbish. There are plenty of charities that are not church-affiliated and no reason for similar work not to be undertaken by people without a Catholic connection of any kind.

There is absolutely no reason why good people could not continue to do good work, and to think they would only do it because they are members of a particular church organisation is insulting not only to the individuals but to others who do tremendous work and are not associated with this church or with any church.

• How any BUSINESS like this catholic church is ( & thats simply what they are a “BUSINESS”) could have survived this long with a disgusting history of buggering and abusing little children is simply astonishing…..this CORRUPT BUSINESS should of been closed down a long long long long time ago.

• @Joe: By your own admission, the congregations who took part in and agreed with the rounding up of unwed mothers both catholic and protestant to be sent to institutional workhouses, are equally as guilty. Most of you had some idea what was going on, like the german people after the discovery of the death camps you are equally as guilty. The catholic church has never done anything to better man kind only itself. They need to go away.

• The Vatican is an empire built upon greed and power. I sympathize with people who dedicated their lives to doing what they thought was good and were deceived by the vatican and its henchmen. It is now time to move on and learn from past mistakes, the vatican has been exposed for what it really is and it should be treated with the contempt that it deserves.

• Hopeful me Bollocks. I’m hopeful that they will piss off back to the dark ages where they belong. But that won’t happen because of all the “ritualists”. These are the hypocrites that are catholics only for the rituals, so they can have a party, and so their precious little darlings won’t be different to the other ritualist children in the school run by the ritual providers.

• “I love the Pope, I love seeing him in his Pope-Mobile, his three feet of bullet proof plexi-glass. That’s faith in action folks!”
    Bill Hicks

• while the church is still involved in the schools Ireland will still be catholic. i am sick of people church bashing but not having the courage of their convictions to leave the church. Most kids are still christened a d make their communions and confirmations while the parents bitch about the church and religion. if you don’t like it don’t enforce it on your kids for goodness sakes.

• Joe, get real… The only reason you’re supporting the RC Church is probably because you were indoctrinated as a child by your parents, so you believe because they believed and similarly back for generations……… Had you been born in…………. Iraq, Iran, Saudi etc you be a muslim….. Israel you’d be a jew…….. The thing is that you had no choice about what you believe in when it comes to religion as you were the child of a believer……… May be you are TOO OLD to have imaginary friends, may be not…. But one thing is for sure the RC church is about control, power, influence and most of all MONEY…… They abused children for years and would still be doing so if they hadn’t been caught… They should NOT be allowed have any involvement in schools as would you let an ex rapist run a rape crisis centre??

• The RCC is finished here but I would agree with some of the comments that not all priests were abusers of children but they were nearly all abusers of the people. Walking around telling people how to live when they clearly were in no right to do so considering their own very limited life experience. Telling women they were unclean after child birth, that they should fulfil their ‘duties’ when their husbands demanded…loveless, violent marriages. And quite frankly compounding guilt on us all for natural human behaviour. And heaping so much sexual and emotional guilt on us that I’m surprised we got this far!
    Finally though, I have no idea how the priests and clergy who weren’t doing anything except preaching were able to reconcile what their fellow priests were doing with their faith and how they could look at themselves in the mirror…nor the lay people, because even the dog on the street knew what was going on. Or at least something was.

• @Aidan. In the past people lived in fear of the priests. The younger generation simply have no idea what it was like to live in a country where the local PP could strike fear into most of his parishioners. The notion that one
      might speak back to this Man of God was unthinkable. In many quarters it was considered “unlucky” to have an argument with “a man of the cloth”, who might inflict a “curse” on the family!! I kid you not!!!! :(

• As long as people use the roman catholic church for christenings , communions , confirmations , weddings and funerals , the people are supporting the system. I left the RC church in 1987 because of what was going on and I will not pick and choose the bits i like. My children are not baptised as RC but I never had a problem with schools sights not an issue. I chose CofI or non denominational schools where possible button one occasion we didn’t live near another school so had to go to a RC primary. We just avoided the religion lessons and ceremonies . As long as we support the RC church we are all responsible in my opinion. I’m glad the tide is beginning to change, but they would have to do a very good job at apologising unequivocally , no excuses, before i would consider darkening the door of a RC church again.

• I did the same as you Regina. I knew by my teens that I couldn’t be part of church that treated women as second class citizens even before the abuse issues came to public attention in the 80′s. I ensured where possible that my children were not indoctrinated by the RCC especially in their younger years but with the shortage of school places now an issue and preference being given to Catholic children I can’t blame a parent who goes along with the system. I just hope more demand the system changes.

• Well said Regina. Attendance and participation is enablement of a misogynistic, pedophilic organisation. I feel sorry for the truly decent priests who are left within the confines of a seminary they do not sincerely believe in.

• Well said too Sandra-
      the treating of women as second class citizens is another major reason why the church is doomed.

• This document is about the renewal of the Catholic Church, not the victims. I was baptised, communion etc. and am now 16 but i am not a Catholic, I’ve said this to people and the response was one of shock and almost disgust, even from people who never go to Church. The problem in this country is society, if we are to be free of the RCC we need to all admit whether we are or are not Catholics. Ireland has a chronic problem whereby we say we’re something we’re not, we conform to social norms (i.e. baptism, communion etc.) even if we dont believe in it and until we change that nothing will change. Education, however, is the single most important thing we can do. Secularise our school and teach more Sciences and Maths, get rid of RE and possibly replace it with Philosphy or a teaching of ALL religions. Again, however, we have the problem that people send their children to Catholic schools (apart from the availabilty of other schools) so they can fit in with social norms. Ireland needs to grow up and speak out- If your not a Catholic, admit it!

• As much as people say it’s dead, a huge majority of parents still baptise their kids and do the whole communion thing etc I just don’t get it?

• Cause it gets your kids into some schools for FREE in some situations. Thats the only reason.

• Most parents don’t have a choice Orlaith, if they want their kids to go to school.

• Barry 20/03/12 #

If they don’t baptise their kids then often they have next to no chance of getting the kid into the local STATE FUNDED school because its catholic, ok there is educate together schools but that could be 30-40miles away with no public transport.

Essentially its a monopoly and one that is funded by our taxes, if we are going to fund catholic schools in this manner then its only fair we fund Muslin, Jewish, protestant schools also…..this of course won’t happen.

Easiest way to fix this is take all religion out of school and leave religion up to the parents, priests or pastors and to church or so called sunday schools. Teaching a faith is not the job of any government, unless of course they are going to teach all faiths equal.

• Personally speaking, one of the reasons I had my child baptised and will have no qualms for communion or conferring is that it makes life easier Ito the future for him, even though I’d rather not be accused of hypocrisy. I do not want my child to feel isolated or victimised at any point in the future simply because I refused to let him make partake in any of these catholic rituals (?), based on my beliefs. He deserves to feel included in anything his class mates are doing ..

• Orlaith, the lads reasons aren’t the only reasons. They are old pagan ceremonies that were hijacked by CC. Most people believe in something whether it just be life, Mother Nature or the good in Humanity. Those occasions are family/community celebrations and we Irish like a bit of craic. ;)

• what is there to get??? i baptised my children… they will receive communion and confirmation and hopefully if they wish get married in a church….am i to be condemned for being a catholic… which i am by my own choice…. who is anyone to tell another person that they should not have a religious element to their lives…. i thought the day for ethnic cleansing was gone…… don’t judge others…like in turn you wouldn’t want to be judged….

• People still believe in their faith, they just don’t believe in the organisation who’s over their faith.

• This is the part I don’t understand.
      By allowing a child to be baptised into the Roman Catholic Church, you are undertaking to raise that child as a Roman Catholic. Further, during the ‘rite of baptism’ you promise to follow the teachings of said Church and to ensure your child follows same.
      Anyone who does this, despite having lost faith with the R.C.C., is nothing short of a hypocrite.
      If enough parents make enough fuss about their child(children) not having a local school (non denominational) to attend then maybe, just maybe, the government, however incompetent, might just fast-track the process of claiming back the majority of schools that the Roman Church has been allowed to use as a primary means of indoctrination.
      Either stand for something or fall for everything!

• No Michael. We are rule breakers and we inherently know that the Church and our Spirituality belongs to us. As I said these are ceremonies that we like to fulfil. It’s time we took our Spirituality back too as well as our churches and schools. The wealth of the CC in Ireland belongs to us. It should be used to compensate those that paid the price of the Church’s absolute power.

• @ Reada
      “ceremonies we like to fulfil” – why?
      Baptism – you can have a ‘Christian’ baptism without the need to be part of the Roman Church
      First Communion – you are allowing your child to partake of the MOST divisive ‘sacrament’ of the Roman Church (which teaches that only it’s Communion is valid, i.e. it alone has the monopoly on God)
      Confirmation – by it’s very nature you are allowing your child to say publicly ‘yes, I am a confirmed Catholic and I believe in the Roman Catholic Church’………….do they? do you?
      To me it’s akin to a husband/wife taking the marriage vow but really not meaning a word of it!

• I know what you mean Michael. We’re gas. I’ve said already that I don’t mind people having their religious beliefs. My main problem is with the Vatican and their rules. I’d love if people would carry these ceremonies on a hill top somewhere. ;)

• @Martin Mac – I’m not even Christian, never mind Catholic, and my kids are not baptised. They are educated for free in the local Catholic school. Even if what you say is true, then that’s a scandalous state of affairs, and should be addressed. Ordinary people are propping up the RCC because they count everyone they could ever get their claws on at whatever age as members. They then use these inflated, false numbers to muscle into positions of power all over the world.

• Tis more of a cultural thing. I did my confirmation at 12. All that money. It was great. I have nothing but disbelief for Catholic doctrine and they will no longer allow us to defect. If I die my parents would probably have a church funeral. Why? Because it’s kinda the norm. Neither of my parents are religious.

• Kop,
      Its not you or your faith people are upset about, its the way the church is run by corrupt leadership that is the problem

• I see that its in decline but I also see a lot of people still worship and go to Church, I don’t understand why anyone would want part of an establishment that has caused and still causes so much suffering, believe what you want to believe but don’t give support to an organisation full of hate, abuse and blatant discrimination.

• I sorry Joe I not reading all that !

• The Pope will never recognise his role in all the various scandals. Gadaffi, Hussain, Pol Pot and any other despot in history have never apologised. They never kiss and make up. They meet their end by the mass rejection by the societies that once revered them.

• EVIL ROTTEN ROMAN CATHOLIC CHURCH get out of Ireland

• Another bunch of arrogant so and so’s, giving themselves a pat on the back. I hope people can see, that political organisations like the Church/FG/Labour/FF think we are all idiots to be milked for funds. So they can stay in power and abuse it, they should be ran out of Ireland along with FG/FF/Labour and we make a new start!

• About time 4 these USELESS Ghouls 2B thrown in the compost heap,They have been ruining true Spirituality for 2000yrs too long,

• I’m not anti bishop as such, but it may be good if we heard less from the bishops, esp in papers such as “Alive” and much more from the priests on the ground.

• Joe,
    The church leaders have destroyed the church themselves. As an institution it has lost credibility to be an authoritative voice on ethics and compassion.
    Individuals, such as Sean Heally, and Archbishop Martin, definitely do good work and I hope they would find another avenue that would allow for that. There are other secular organizations that would fill the void, who work in similar areas.
    Also, if the church is made of 1 million people, as you say above, could they not organise themselves independent of the church?
    Come to think of it, do any of the church organisations receive financial support from the multinational church? As far as I know some of them, like St. Vincent de Pauls, receive money from the state (i.e. the citizen)?

• Joe,

I urge you to find at least one member of your extended family who suffered under the Catholic Church. I don’t think that will be a hard task. Every family has at least one if not dozens. Take some time and sit down and talk with them…REALLY talk with them. Find out how they suffered. Then put yourselves in their shoes and imagine how you’d feel. Then come back and chat with us and let’s see how “strident” you think we are.

You have clearly never been raped, abused, tortured, enslaved, had your children or identity stolen, lost your personal freedoms or were otherwise traumatised by the Church. So honestly, you have no wind behind your sails. And as far as all the “good work” you state these charities do, clearly if they closed shop tomorrow, a dozen secular NGOs could ably fill their shoes. Don’t even get me started on the St. Vincent de Paul’s. This was the same organisation that would not assist a women or her children unless she was married. It’s all grounded in nastiness and subjugation of the human spirit — certainly not what Jesus would do. It all needs to be torn down to the ground. Then, if good, honest people want to slowly rebuild, have at it. But how about we stick to Jesus’ game plan this time.

• @Susan Somehow I don’t think you will get a cross section of Irish opinion on this site on that particular question

• Organised religion has had its day. A general following of the christian tenet is laudable if only to avoid widespread anarchy but there is no longer a need for society to be controlled along religious lines. The Catholic church in Ireland has run its course, a little like the Roman empire which after its many years of majesty dissolved into a swamp of decadence and impotence.

• The report is nothing but further dishonesty from a criminal Vatican. For the victims it was just more insults and Deja Moo – the feeling that one gets on hearing the same old bullshit repeated!

• @ Dublin Tech guy,

Yeah like Kony2012, charity for profit.

• The only thing this poll tells us is that there is still a sizable minority of people out there who fear the Catholic Church . Sad really, you’d think they’d have gotten over it by this stage.

• I think its time we got rid of the dinosaur exhibit we call the church once and for all kick them out . If this was any other organisation or company what would happen

• Baffled. Who might be experiencing this renewed sense of hope? I don’t think I’ve come across these potentially hopeful people…

• The conclusion I draw from the visitation report is that these people (Church leaders) are more deluded than I thought they were.

• It’s nice when everyone writes about how much they disagree with the catholic church and like to say how it’s does not belong in this society any more.

A good pole to have in my opinion would be, how many of these catholic church haters still take there kids to be baptised in the catholic church, and how many still fantasise about having there white wedding in the church. Am sure some of the commenters so far have done both of the above but to they care to admit it??

• Good point, Paul. But not me! I formally defected (when you still could) and have never had my children baptised. They have, however, been exposed to all manner and form of religions as they grew up and I’ve always believed calling to a particular faith or dogma should occur when one is a fully mature adult. I only set foot inside a church these days for the odd family or close friend funeral, and that reluctantly! I do agree one should walk the walk and not just talk the talk. I think the real silent majority are the “2-percenters” who still do the minimal shtick to appease families and whatnot. And that’s a shame. If you don’t buy into it, don’t be a hypocrite. Walk away.

• Much as I’m heartened by the majority sentiment here, the reality is that the RCC is flourishing – just try, as I am doing, to get a child into primary school without a baptism cert. We’re bottom of the list and there’s no room at the inn for her. The local school is full of its first preference Catholics. They’re the offspring of thirtysomethings!

• After reading a few of these posts, I’m wondering if the day will come when Catholics will have to hide their Catholicism out of fear of hatred and bigotry. I also have my doubts about the result of the poll. Given the inflammatory nature of a large number of responses here, I’m inclined to think that the views are far from representative.

• Maria, your post made me think of the old hymn we were taught back in the 60′s, “They Will Know We are Christians by Our Love.” And it reminded me of the current battle cry of Catholic Church leaders in the US that they’re being “persecuted” because the government wants to insure that women’s health and reproductive prescriptives are provided by US insurance companies. Anyone is (or should be) free to believe and practice as they see fit and not be persecuted. But there’s a difference between true persecution, or “bigotry and hatred” and simply calling the Church on its own history of abuse and persecution. Or in the case of religious leaders fighting against women’s healthcare (blurring the lines between separation of Church and State), not getting everything their way. What you’re seeing here are the posts of those who hate what the Church has done to them, and to their families. If you live your life as Jesus would, show compassion and love, tolerance and understanding, no one would ever show you bigotry or hatred. But that also means your spiritual leaders must act the same way. And it is up to good Catholics to call their leadership on the carpet when they don’t. In fact, it should be a moral obligation on the part of every Catholic. And if they can’t, then absolutely they should and will be rooted out like a bad cancer, and good riddance. If anything, given the sparse weekly attendance at the Pro Cathedral, I’m surprised the numbers aren’t higher for those believing there’s no hope.

• I’m not sure if you’re right, Mari- Jesus himself led a life of compassion and love, but was subjected to bigotry and hatred. There are people who want to discuss issues that they have with the Catholic Church, but there are definitely others who view religion of any sort as just so much rubbish and are not slow to spew their vitriolic derision.

• The R.C. old boys club is a deeply depraved, misogynistic and arrogant institution. It has nothing to do with true Christianity. There was true Christianity up until the fourth century, when the Roman Emperor Constantine (a murderer and pagan) took over the running of the church. The real true Christians had to flee, and go underground for fear of being executed, or face imprisonment by Constantine and his bully boys. Then a few centuries later came the infamous Inquisition, which wiped out hundreds of thousands of innocent “heretics” and scientists. They could not tolerate competition of any kind, like the tyrants they are. What is known today as the Roman Catholic Church, is a continuation of the corrupt Roman Empire … not Christianity. The original christians of earliest times had women preachers, who went around in twos with the men, and took a real part in the organisation … but of course we never hear of them, this information has been overlooked and buried by the misogynistic Roman Catholic organisation. Why people who support this organisation, are unwilling to study the (true) history of Christianity, I cannot understand. Maybe the truth is a bitter pill to swallow.

• For those who wish to formally leave the Roman Catholic Church, it CAN be done!
    1. Write to the priest of the parish where you were born demanding your name be removed from the Church’s register of Baptism (and register of confirmation if applicable).
    2. CC the letter to the diocesan bishop with a covering lettering stating your desire to formally leave the Church becasue “…………………….reason…………………………”.
    3. Enclose a stamped, addressed envelope and ask them to issue confirmation that what you have asked for has been done.
    4. If this fails, write to priest & bishop again and formally defect from the tenets of Roman Catholic Faith (e.g. the bishop of Rome has no authority over the Church). In doing so, you incur an automatic excommunication.
    Play them at their own game.
    I also think every parent who doesn’t want their child to go through the R.C. school system really needs to write to the Minister for Education and demand a change in the patronage system. It will only happen if enough people show they’re not happy with the status quo.

• We don’t need any church to tell us who to hate. Thats all they did in the past. All the time they took millions from poor irish fools giving in their last shilling to light a few candles under a statue in the hope of a better life but Priests were abusing adults and raping and terrorising innocent children in homes. Its justice this so called church has crumbled and whent he last remaining old bitter men running it are dead and gone a new community will emerge.

• Aggh. Direct replies till not working! “Best. Reply. Ever.” goes to Mark Dennehy above in responde to Joe Gantly!

• This is good news and hopefully we’ll see the continuation of renewal in the Church so it can be an active part of Irish society once again.

Personally I’m feed up with people using the child abuse scandal as an excuse to spout their christianophobia. The Church has been handling this excellently, especially in the Archdiocese of Dublin. But instead of getting on board the aggressive atheist brigade would rather have a go at the Church. Show what their real motives are… makes me sick.

• Dermot martin is a breath of fresh air but he has had to publicly bring the rest of the hierarchy kicking and screaming into the 21st century. He is a man of morals but he is in the minority. With regard to ur comment on being fed up with people using the child abuse scandals to spout their christian phobias, I think the word is anti catholic sentiment. The memories for the people who were abuse d don’t just go away to ensure that you don’t get fed up. These people have to live forever with the memories of what they went through. Would you prefer it if all the abuse scandals were kept quiet just to prevent you from getting fed up?

• Sean, you’re only still a wee lad; not a fully-formed, thinking adult. I have socks older than you. Give yourself time. You didn’t grow up in an era when paedophilia, child-selling, rape and torture was rampant (lucky you). The last Magdalene Laundry closed just two years after you were born. I’d recommend a bit of catch-up reading on your Church’s history before spouting off about “christianophobia.” Your self-righteous outrage is based on nothing but a sheltered life, lived comfortably far away from the zenith of the Church’s abuse in Ireland. Stick to the Justin Bieber boards, where your comments may have some gravitas.

• Sean,
      The child abuse scandals are only the beginning of the problems. After that biggie there is the treating women as 2nd class citizens, an unholy fixation on contraception, actually an unholy fixation with sex altogether, not to mention the extremely bloody history of the church.
      Then there’s the fact of a huge shortage of priests and the age of true believers is getting older and older.
      People have stopped believing in imaginary friends in clouds

• What happened was absolutely disgraceful and unforgivable but knowing several priests personally, there are thousands of them who do great work in their communities that never gets any attention. For very many priests, it’s rare they are in at night due to being at various community meetings etc. Also, there are many aspects to the job that are at best, unpleasant. They minister to the dying and deal with families. Can anyone here imagine how hard that can be on an ongoing basis, or what about the fact that they could be called out at 3am to a crash scene to minister to whatever is left of the victims? Why is it that we never hear about this stuff?

• Fergal
      I was an operational Fire Officer for 15yrs and never saw a roman catholic clergyman at the scene of a road traffic accident.

• Working for their communities is fine but doing so while part of that corrupt state is not. They should speak out and say they no longer can prop up the Vatican State.

• Barry 20/03/12 #

I feel for the local priests that do good work I really do, the problem is they will only be seen as part of the problem unless they speak out and distance themselves from the actions of the Vatican,.

The underlying problem is is that their faith is in the pope and vatican so thats sadly not going to happen, such a shame that some very good and smart people won’t get away from such bad people that run the organization.

• One of the striking features of modern Ireland is the strident anti-Catholicism of many contributors to social media and to the national debate generally. Whenever the pope or a bishop speaks out, or a priest or religious expresses an opinion on an issue, no matter what it is, the attacks are immediate, predictable and vicious. Invariably they go something like this: “No priest (or bishop or pope or church person) has the right anymore to comment on anything ever again. Period.”
    This response, of course, is a reflection of people’s anger at the church over its handling of the abuse scandals. But it is much more than that. It is a statement of naked hostility towards the church, a desire that it be extirpated from every dimension of Irish life.
    Which is fair enough, so long as those who advocate this position are fully aware of what it would mean in practice.
    For if the Catholic Church were to withdraw from Irish life, if church people were to shut up shop and slink quietly away, as the secularists demand, then some of the best organisations and people in the country would have no option but to stop what they do and slink away quietly, too.
    The Society of St Vincent de Paul would have to cease operations. The Society may be doing extraordinary work for the needy throughout the country, it may be busier now than ever before, but that wouldn’t matter, because the St Vincent de Paul society is a Catholic organisation, and as such could have no role in modern Ireland.
    Trocaire would have to disband. It may be working with the poorest communities in the developing world, helping them to help themselves, but Trocaire is the official overseas development agency of the Irish Catholic bishops, which would automatically deem it unacceptable.
    Br Kevin Crowley would have to close the Capuchin Day Centre in Dublin’s Church Street. The centre serves about 200 breakfasts and 500 hot lunches a day, and hands out about 1,000 food parcels every week, which is really wonderful. Still, its doors would have to close, because Br Kevin is Catholic.
    Fr Peter McVerry would have to abandon his ministry to the young homeless of Dublin’s inner-city, and Sr Stanislaus Kennedy would have to disassociate herself from Focus Ireland and Young Social Innovators and the other organisations with which she is involved, because both of these individuals, as members of religious orders, belong quite clearly to the Catholic Church.
    Ditto for Fr Sean Healy and his colleagues in Social Justice Ireland. Fr Healy may have been a defender of the poor and cogent advocate for a just society for more than two decades, but no matter how sound his arguments or passionate his commitment, he would have to hold his tongue, because he is a Catholic priest.
    Accord would have to throw in the towel. Many couples may be benefiting from its counselling and advice service, but it is the Catholic marriage advisory agency, after all, a body set up and supported by the Catholic bishops, which means that, no matter how good or vital its work, it would have to discontinue.
    The same goes for Catholic Youth Care and every youth outreach activity of the Catholic Church. Even if these are providing services that otherwise would not exist, reaching out especially to marginalised and disadvantaged young people, the fact that they are Catholic means they should have no right to function in our most enlightened country.
    Church groups involved in the hospice movement and health care; those who minister to people caught up in prostitution or drugs, those engaged in educational outreach, or who work with Travellers or the immigrant community – all these would have cease, too. For being publicly Catholic would mean automatic disqualification from any engagement with Irish society.
    It’s easy to fulminate against the church and demand that popes and bishops and priests not speak out on issues of the day. But if that’s what the anti-Catholic secularists want, then they must know, too, that it means also the silencing of the St Vincent de Paul Society and of Fr McVerry and every other church organisation and person involved in the work of justice or charity or community-building. Because these, too, are the Catholic Church, and to demand the silencing of one dimension of the church is to seek the silencing of all.

• Joe

Other countries have a flourishing charitable sector while allowing the Catholic church to slowly wither away. It’s totally untrue to say that there’d be no charity in Ireland if there were no church.

In fact, if the charities you listed became less bound to the Catholic church, they might find new volunteers and flourish even further.

Silencing the church would also allow more diverse voices to be heard.

It’s time for the Catholic Church to leave Irish society and allow a more diverse, more caring and more responsible civil society to take its place.

• Weird, my comment went in above rather than below your’s.

• Thats all very well, but nothing you say negates the fact that the Catholic church in Ireland as an organization is in the last stages of decomposition. You guys all sat silently whilst your church facilitated in the rape and buggery of thousands of children. Now that your church is finally on the way out, you somehow manage to have found a voice to defend your institution.

Where were you guys when the truth finally made its way into the light of day?

As a congregation you sat silently, and now you want public support. It’s not going to happen I’m afraid. You had your chance and you guys blew it.

• I have to agree with you there. unfortunately the church plugs the massive gaps in services that exist in the provision by the goverment. The daughters of charity for example provide an excellent counselling service for families in distress through suicide or bereavement. That service is just not provided by the goverment (hse) and the hse will actually refer families to this service despite the fact that they are voluntary and underfunded but they provide an excellent service.

But the problem I have with the abuse scandals is not only was there horrific systematic abuse and cruelty but those in charge covered it up. These children reached out for help, they were vulnerable and often had no one else to turn to and they were ignored at best or told they were lying at worst and returned to the abusers. That is what bothers me. They protected themselves and not the children.this is why I have turned my back on the catholic church. They have proved themselves to be morally corrupt.

• replied to you but for some reason it went down to the end. Anyway see below ;)

• So basicly, we can’t protect our children because otherwise services that that state is supposed to provide (and which in the case of groups like Trocaire, other states *do* provide – because I doubt UNESCO is run by the Vatican), wouldn’t be provided by people who shelter paedophiles.

Joe, you’re defending the indefensible. If good people want to do good in the world, they don’t need to do it from within the folds of a group that does evil with the left hand and good with the right. They don’t need to choose between not helping the poorest communities in Africa or helping them but not giving them condoms to prevent the spread of AIDS; or between not educating children and only teaching them what the Church allows; or between not helping the poor and only helping through the mechanisms of the Church.

Your entire argument is emotional blackmail designed to protect a bunch of predators. Shame on you.

• The separation of Chuch and State is very different to the abolition of a church. How can that happen when there are so many devout and committed Catholics anyway? Ireland has changed and It is also worth noting that there are many secular variations of the charities and services you describe. It is disingenuous to imply that the removal/collapse of the Catholic Church would essentially mean an end to charitable works, marriage counselling etc. There are more than Catholics doing good works. what is important is that faith is personalised rather than institutionalised. I am not Catholic, so why should *your* religion be the basis for the laws of the land that I also inhabit and which I support with my taxes? Why should my children sit quietly at the back of a class while yours are prepared for their religious rites (communion/confirmation) during school hours? Why should a devoted teacher fear dismissal is s/he is gay or if she is an unmarried mother? In the latter case, she is likely to be teaching the children of *other* unmarried mothers and, in the former, will be teaching children who will grow up gay. As for that being down to the Catholic ethos of a Catholic school then why isn’t the church paying the teachers’ salaries ?

Faith and spirituality are very important to very many people. But giving one faith dominance over every other is unacceptable and unfair. Why can’t parents take responsibility for the indoctrination of their children in their faith? Surely it would help build family relations too. And while you are right about the knee-jerk reactions of some people whenever the (catholic) church is mentioned, you must surely understand the anger at the heinous crimes that were perpetrated by the few, covered up and enabled by the hierarchy and for which there seems so little redress.

• So basicly, we can’t protect our children because otherwise services that that state is supposed to provide (and which in the case of groups like Trocaire, other states *do* provide – because I doubt UNESCO is run by the Vatican), wouldn’t be provided by people who shelter paedophiles.

Joe, you’re defending the indefensible. If good people want to do good in the world, they don’t need to do it from within the folds of a group that does evil with the left hand and good with the right. They don’t need to choose between not helping the poorest communities in Africa or helping them but not giving them condoms to prevent the spread of AIDS; or between not educating children and only teaching them what the Church allows; or between not helping the poor and only helping through the mechanisms of the Church.

Your entire argument is emotional blackmail designed to protect a bunch of predators. Shame on you.

• That’s all very well and dandy Joe and you have a point.
      However secularists such as myself would take the view that the teachings of Christianity are about charity, morality, being humble and contrite etc. and that, in keeping with their choice, should be their way. This, though, is in direct contradiction of the corrupt, devious, criminal behaviour of the institutional church in it’s dealings with matters in which it has been caught out.
      Secularists like myself also find it a unacceptable that the same corrupt institutional church uses it’s power and influence to dictate matters through supporting laws that adversely affect my life and choices.

• Marcas 20/03/12 #

The fallacy behind this impressive list is the “is/ought” one – the way it is, is the way it ought to be. Yes, these are great services, but they need not be provided by the RCC. The fact that they are is a consequence of history.

• Joe, every single one of those organisations can easily transfer to a secular model, which is more transparent and more accountable. When religion is taken out of charity, it works better. Altruism has nothing to do with religious convictions, and people will NOT stop being good to others just because the church has stopped being involved.

You’d insult the Irish people if you claimed it’s only the church’s big stick that moves them to take care of the vulnerable in our society.

• @joe The price that the Vatican demands for its “charity and services” is far too high and we cannot afford to turn a blind eye to child rape and abuse.

• You’re absolutely right, in many ways secularism is merely the religion of state and as we know state doesn’t give a f**k about people unless they’re wealthy. Socially minded Catholics including clerics like Peter McVerry need to take back whatever is decent about their religion and tell the Vatican to get stuffed. The current pope will be reintroducing the Latin mass soon he’s that conservative.

• Joe, I think that’s a ‘cart before the horse’ argument. You seem to assume that these organisations exist because the Catholic Church created them.

It is the people who created these organisations. It is the people who work hard to improve the lives of the neighbours. They may have used the catholic church as a crutch or a support to start these movements, but that’s because these people were products of their upbringing, before the moral authority was shown up for the sham that it was.

If these people had grown up without the smothering effect of the catholic church, they would still have found a way to help their fellow people. If the good and committed nuns and priests and lay religious who have supported charitable works and organisations hadn’t joined the church, I think they would still have found a way to help their communities and neighbours.

To me, the proof of that is in the huge amount of charities that exist in Ireland without religious support. People will find a way to help others. If they’ve been brought up in the church, they’ll use the church, if they have been brought up free of the church, they’ll still help others. It’s not that the church has created these, or caused them to be created, it’s that the people who wanted to help used the channels they know best to help. For some, that’s the church.

Remove the church, and the good people are still there, possibly with a stronger moral mandate because they’re not associated with a church that has horribly abused it’s position in society around the world for so long.

• Im sorry Joe
      Do you really think that the catholic church has a monopoly on charity?
      Do you think that if the catholic church disappeared every charity in Ireland would just go away? Im sorry but that is plain wrong and rather naive

• Or these organisations could secularise? Anti-catholic sentiment is all part of the cut and thrust of any pluralist society. No harm. All good stuff Joe…

• Headline asks are you more hopeful after Visitation, question above poll is do you agree with Visitation’s findings. I am confuse.

IF visitation’s findings are implemented then there’s slightly more hope than there was before but at present there isn’t much sense that the Church can grow.

The quote “continuing vitality of the Irish people’s faith” is completely untrue.
    The Church needs to face up to the reality that it is in decline!!!

Most people don’t suspect priests now because the bad ones have been rooted out and no one would get away with abuse nowadays so in many ways these measures are solving a problem that isn’t there anymore but are welcome and needed nonetheless.

• The Catholic religion has alot to answer for and they’re being expected to answer for it now, in the same breath however as Joe Gantly outlined they have alo to be proud of and for us to be proud of them for. It is similar to most organisations that weild a great deal of power, there will always be wrongdoings and there will always be flaws and corruption. I think rather than condemn the entire organisation and run with what the media have decided to concentrate on we should educate ourselves on the negatives AND the positives. I myself am agnostic but I do believe that alot of the teachings of the church are good, perhaps we should try and focus on the positives that we can glean and weed out the negatives rather than throwing the baby out with the bathwater as the old saying goes.

• Problem is sophie that the church themselves have been very slow to admit they were wrong, they still haven’t actually said the word ‘sorry.’ When the church can actually take responsibility and not try to wriggle out of it at every opportunity then they will have begun to change.

• I would like those people who are so keen to demonise the Catholic church in Ireland for the abject failures of a few hundred members to remember that the church here actually comprises over 1 million people. The church, which so many are so keen to excoriate, is not just the clergy, it is also those ordinary people who try to live by the precepts set down by Jesus. So please, no more generalisations that blame all the members of the catholic church..

• Nobody blames the members Joe. That was the group that was victimized by the organization. It would be helpful if they’d stop paying their salaries, however.

• When people speak of the RCC they generally mean the institution rather than it’s individual members. Those who actually do try to live by the teachings of Jesus would do well to ask themselves how much admiration Jesus would have for such a corrupt institution – one that continues to discriminate against half the worlds population and even aside from abuse is as we speak trying to undermine the provision of basic contraception services wherever it holds sway including even in a first world country like the US. There are other more tolerant and egalitarian religions which adapt to contemporary society and people who need religion in their lives might think about how wise it is to continue to prop up the RCC.

• Very well put Sandra

• Its individual members have sat in pews for generations turning a blind eye while their leadership raped and tortured women and children. And lest we forget, it wasn’t just the State, “cruelty men” or religious orders confining women and children in institutions and Magdalene Laundries: it was their families. A few hundred members? How about the RCC brainwashed generation upon generation of Irish citizens into incarcerating their own, then continued (and continue today) to support this filthy, evil and corrupt institution. It’s about like accompanying your friend to the local shop and standing by while he robs and shoots the shop clerk, then attempting to say you had nothing to do with it. Then why didn’t you stop it? It’s doesn’t pass the smell test. You can be a Christian and follow the precepts of Jesus — you don’t have to be a baptised, tithing member of the RCC. If you choose to follow evil, evil will follow you. If you are guiltless, no worries: you’ll have no problems on judgment day. But don’t try to make excuses for the crippled organisation to which you decided to belong.

• Joe, if you want to stand with these child abusers I will happily condemn you. The abject failures of ” a few hundred members” has been compounded by the cover-up perpetuated by the rest, including the so called innocent church goer. I was baptised as a child and as an adult I have resigned from this evil empire, as I could not in good conscience allow this criminal organisation to claim to represent me in any way. Until your catholic church earns respect, it will get none. So tough, if you are uncomfortable with being in a gang of peadophiles. It’s your choice.

• @Joe i do blame any members who are not actively demanding full disclosure and accountability, as long as you put 1 cent a year into a church platter you are contributing to the continuation of the institutionalised aiding and abetting of child rapists, so when i blame the church for hiding rapists (which they did) i am not only blaming the hierarchy but all and any member who either (a) tolerate or (b) contribute to this criminal institution. Had the church (both clergy and congregation) acted appropriately then i would not blame anyone but the ‘few hundred’ bad members, but they colluded to put their own good name before the welfare of innocent children, i am extremely angry with people like you Joe who refuse to take off the blinkers. No doubt you will be outraged but i hold you as equally responsible as anyone else that continues in the state of denial.

• Joe, of that million how many actually go to church? How many are elderly? The church will fade and all but die out in a generation and the ignorance and arrogance of the church’s leadership are to blame

• The R.C. church have been responsible for demonising themselves, Joe. The ordinary members of the church have been duped. People who support the Vatican, are by default also supporting a corrupt and unjust organisation. An organisation that has been responsible for torturing and burning hundreds of thousands of innocent people over the centuries (so-called “heretics” – the Inquisition). An organisation that has a deep contempt for women, by excluding them from ordination within the church, and who have the audacity to make insane rules that ban women’s self-determination and human right to control their own fertility. An organisation that has tortured, raped and killed thousands of children, all over the world. An organisation that has unjustly imprisoned innocent single mothers against their will, in the Magdalene Laundries, resulting in a large number of them being abused and beaten to death, with some of them going insane from grief after their babies were stolen. An organisation that pretends to follow the teachings of Jesus (“Take all that you have and give to the poor, and come follow me”) … instead the popes, cardinals and bishops live in luxury, dressed in silk and gold ostentatious garments. The Vatican, full to the brim of priceless works of art, gold, silver, marble palaces and churches, and they own acres of land everywhere. The corrupt Vatican Bank, worth trillions. Is this behaviour what Jesus meant his “servants” or followers to do? An organisation where one of their popes (John Paul 1st) died in suspicious circumstances in 1979 (poison?) because he refused to toe the line, and was intent on revealing, the next morning, the list of corrupt officials who were to be fired, and was about to reveal the corrupt practices in the Vatican Bank. Shame on this organisation, it has nothing to do with Jesus, or Christianity. And those who support it, are supporting evil. “All it takes for evil to triumph in the world, is for good people to stand idly by and do nothing” (Edmund Burke).

• I think if I were an eleven year old alter boy or any other child or adult of any age being raped by one of those revolting creatures I would be happy to blame anybody and everybody who fuelled this organization into its position of power whether it be by donations or voluntary work or at present by giving them power by sending my child to one of their schools where there was an option not to. Why would I not be obliged to take the blame. If you are a shareholder in a company and it is fined for mismanagement you suffer through your dividend. Well as the Catholic church is so arrogant as not to pay its shareholders any dividen out of its profits the shareholder must take the blame by standing up and being counted for being party to the misdemeanors.

Add New Comment