TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 10 °C Sunday 19 May, 2013

Poll: Do you think the next Pope can help reinvigorate the Catholic Church?

March should see a new leader to the world’s estimated 1.2 billion Catholics, but can he make a difference?

Image: Andrew Medichini/AP/Press Association Images

AS PRE-CONCLAVE talks begin, March should see the election of a new Pope.

Caught up in what appears to be scandal after scandal, the Catholic Church is in desperate need of a leader who can reassure the world’s 1.2 billion Catholics.

In his opinion piece today, Irish priest Fr Tony Flannery isn’t holding out much hope, believing that the Vatican “militates against change” and that the new Pope will be “rendered ineffective”.

So today we ask: Do you think the next Pope can help reinvigorate the Catholic Church?

Poll Results:

Read next:

Comments (113 Comments)

• The new pontiff should consult with Michael Martin.

If he can get Fianna Fail back to popularity after only 2 years, he could do wonders for the church..

• This would work only if all alternatives to Catholicism (including secularism etc) were just as hopelessly inept as Ireland’s political parties!

• I really just don’t get it. Do all people who call themself christians think they are better or supperior to people who don’t believe in any god or gods, how arrogent. I don’t believe in any gods but I would not hurt a fly.I would do anything for my neighbours.Unlike some of my so called christian neighbours that would barely bid you the time of day on their way to mass
      I really hate the hypocracy of it all.

• Yes they do

• Not all of them. I agree there are a LOT of ‘so called Christians’ who think themselves the best thing in the world and that everything they say or do is how it should be. Bit not every Christian thinks like that. Some are completely normal and don’t think them any higher than their neighbour.

• I hope he’s another dynamic 76 year old .

• Honest question to any Catholics, Why does anyone feel the need to support the Vatican or a Pope? Surely you don’t need a middle man and a corrupt organisation to be religious or believe in God.

• I think the Catholic Church is too far gone in its current form to ever be invigorated. It needs fundamental reform, not reinvigoration.

• Honestly whoever is picked is going to have a tough job. The churches image is rather tarnished at the moment. Also if whoever is picked is as entrenched in the past as some, not a hope. The new pope has to be open to change, New concepts and ideas and ready to move forward in a 21st century world, encouraging congregations to do the same.

• vic 04/03/13 #

Eventually we will find out the real reason the Pope resigned and then we will see that the problems behind closed doors cannot be fixed by one pope whoever he is.

• No – Religion as a whole is becoming irrelevant in society. People see past the nonsense and are increasingly detaching themselves for it. While the “official figure” for Catholics in Ireland might be high – the actual real number of practicing Catholics is dismal, and will continue to be so.

It’s really not that important who they select, because the Catholic doctrine will remain the same. One person doesn’t change a core belief-set.

• Religion is not Faith. Faith is not nonsense. Do you know the difference? Before making sweeping statements you should at least try to learn the difference between these very different concepts.

• “Faith is believing what you know ain’t so.” – Mark Twain

• Irish people were treated like mushrooms, with no access to information (internet) and foreign tv stations (we used to have two stations). The angelus is still on before the news, sigh.
      Unless the church can find a way to shield people from information, and find a way to keep people ignorant, they’re going to become irrelevant. They enjoy big numbers of followers in poor countries where the only book in a families home is a bible.
      Can any body here, wishing to defend the church, highlight a part of the bible where jesus calls for an autonomous, sovereign state, which prioritises wealth, mysoginy, homophobia and bigotry over charity and human rights?
      The Roman empire didn’t fall, it just changed tactics.

• Well said Sean, I’ve long held the view that the human race is finally evolving beyond the need for religion. The need for a god seems to be a primative and deep seated psycological need as every civilisation has crated gods and godesses to explain their world from the caveman to the great ancient empires, who’s religions were around a lot longer than the christian one. We, although this seems to be a predominantly western world thing, are starting to evolve beyond our need for “the magic man in the sky” to explain our world and how it works. And to those that say faith is believing in what you can’t prove is or isn’t there. All I can say is, welcome to the church of the tooth fairy, please leave your wallets on the plate by the door as you leave. The Catholic church is, thankfully, in it’s death throws in the western world. The scandals of the last few years have meant the scales have fallen from peoples eyes about the ultimate confidence trick. It is growing in the developing world in much the same way the cigarette companies are by selling it at the schoolyard gate. (get them when they’re young and impressionable!) There has always been a reason the catholic church have provided schools, young minds are easier to manipulate than those of experience. But as far as the west is concerned, the catholic church is a lame racehorse that needs to be put out of it’s misery. A new pope is only going to be a bandage on a broken leg.

• “Faith is not nonsense.”

Believing in something without evidence is nonsense. Especially when that belief inspires you to do wicked things – like oppose civil rights for same-sex couples, scare children into believing in a god with tales of hellfire, and historically – justifying slavery and other truly odious acts.

• Depends on the pope and the back room staff that are picked. The last bunch were corrupt which many felt was Benedict’s real reason for resigning so the lot of them could get cleared out in one go.

• JayK 04/03/13 #

Saying the Catholic Church can be reinvigorated by a new pope is like saying the Third Reich could have gotten its business in order if only they had a new Fuhrer. It’s fundamentally a dysfunctional organisation, at odds with even the basic decency and values of the modern world. The only way the Church could improve it’s image would be to dissolve as an entity and donate its vaste wealth to charity.

• They don’t change and they’re not about to start. Expect nothing but the same

• I have no idea whether a new pope can help the church but I hope they choose the most reactionary headbanger they have to hasten their decline.

• Pharmyco
      What a nasty contribution. In every part of society today there is a force for evil that is barely suppressed from drowning us and if ever we needed spiritual guidance and moral leadership then the formal churches are the nearest we can get to the correct model but looking at the posts here “daily on both matters political and religious we can see nothing but viciousness and nastiness and negativity and bullying and harassment.
      You and people like you make a strong case for the Churches?

• Yes I agree Peter. If these God haters have their way our world would become a place of horrors and selfishness would be their new God. Crouch’s are made of people. People are human so human weakness and mistakes will always be made. The Catholic Church needs to change radically but then again Jesus was a radical. We have never seen this true face of the church because of corruption and power but that does not mean its founder was wrong. A real Christian is radical. Stands up for what is right in the face of wrong and always has love and mercy in their life. There are people out there who despise any church because they stand up for good in this world. Yes they are human institutions and so flawed but Faith is not flawed. There are people who believe in a good God who wants to change this world from hate to acceptance and tolerance and inclusiveness. For some strange reason this seems to be enormously threatening to those with NO faith.

• Apologies for spelling error. I meant Church’s are made for of people.

• Christopher, I’m not a god hater. I’m a church hater.

I also have to ask god why he allows the vatican to represent him. We cant ignore its history….from the very birth of the vatican it has bathed in shame, scandals and blood. These are recorded events but so many turn a blind eye and follow!

• “If these God haters have their way our world would become a place of horrors and selfishness would be their new God”

Eh? The vast majority of horror and selfishness in the world today is carried out by religious radicals in God’s name.

“We have never seen this true face of the church because of corruption and power”

If we’ve *never* seen it, then there is absolutely no justification for thinking it even exists, let alone that it might be the “true face”.

• Yea im sure there is a cross hanging in every abortion clinic

• Eh? The vast majority of horror and selfishness in the world today is carried out by religious radicals in God’s name”

You can’t be serious. So the church is responsible for all the crime in the world? Those who broke the law as religious or priests are a tiny minority of the Priests and religious. Another sweeping general statement designed to promote the usual myths that anyone who believes in God is somehow evil. To say this is wrong. Many priests and religious do great work and you never hear about them. The reason why we have never seen the truth face of the church is because it is not humble. I was talking about the institutional church Calum and the Hierarchy. The real church,( people doing their best in life because they believe in God) is very visible in the thousands of Christians doing their best daily and who use their faith as the basis for doing good. Not those who parrot simply that they are a Catholic. There is a massive difference. The true face of Christianity is in people not Institutions. Thats what I meant when I said the true face of the church has never been seen. Never in the Institutional church but in christian kindness yes.

• Lads,

God is a myth, did you not get the memo? It was passed around by Charles Darwin. It was fascinating. You should pick up a copy.

“He created the heavens and the earth” Ha! Good one. Bunch of jokers!

• Ruairi I agree with you here i question the vatican totally. If you ask me it should be sold and the money given to the poor. I think the problem is definitions. people are mixing up what the church is. I do not speak for the institutional church or hierarchy. In my opinion they have destroyed peoples faith in Christianity.

• @ Christopher Gardiner “Vatican should be sold”

Who would buy it?

• From Chris: “The real church,( people doing their best in life because they believe in God) is very visible in the thousands of Christians doing their best daily and who use their faith as the basis for doing good.”

People doing ‘good’ work, under threat of eternal damnation in a fiery pit of lava and hooks and sharp pointy stuff. Plenty of atheists do good work, but at least they do it for the right reasons, not selfish (trying to get into the cloudy paradise in the sky, replete with dead family members and other good stuff) reasons.

Have you felt jesus inside you?

• Nasty beats stupid hands down

• If real Christians are radical and the least radical organisations on the planet being the Catholic Church……draw your own conclusion

• I don’t hate god because I don’t believe he exists but you have to agree that the god in the bible is a complete cu*t

• My mother knows more about morals than the catholic hierarchy. She told me when I was 11 there was no such place as hell. And since that day the whole ridiculous edifice has in my mind simply crumbled under some very simple questions. Just as surely as a labour leader on 125k pa can’t call himself a workers activist neither too can an old man in a palace talking to the thin air be the voice of morality, sexual conduct or sense for that matter . As a last thought anyone ever read anything bad about the period when there was an Irish church? They were good days apparently

• censored 04/03/13 #

“Who would buy it?”

Disney?

• I don’t believe the status quo will be changed, just because of a new pope. What it will take is a complete overhaul in thinking in the Vatican.

Every pope in living memory has taken the job at an advanced age and (before the last guy) never retired. How can they have realistically been a commanding authority in the church? I’d say it’s far more likely that the people in the Vatican behind the scenes are the ones really running things, and the pope has for a long time been nothing more than a figurehead, similar to our President.

• No.
    The org is systemic deep in lies and cover-ups rather than expose the truth of its much inner corruption.
    Even now secret reports of deviant sexual practises are even been kept from its own top heads.
    …And this is supposed to change suddenly?

Not a hope!

• With all the talk of Blur and Oasis this morning I think it’s time for Father Damo to step up to the plate and apply for the position!

• Elect a woman pope. Now THAT would be interesting! THAT would raise my eyebrows. Better still elect a black sub-Saharan woman pope.

• The Catholic Church cancer is in every organ now. It had its chance and unfortunately it didnt do anything. Too late in the day .

• It does not matter ,,the church is a cancer and is inflicting its propaganda on people for years ..I personally hope that the people in the church who knew or acted in the sex abuse scandals around the world are locked up the same as any other pedophile ..the church has massive wealth and like any business should be taxed accordingly ..they have had there fun now be accountable for your actions ..this old religion with its homophobic views and anti contraception views can not and will not change where as people have evolved as a society and the need to be part of this organization is dwindling ..As far as I am concerned thats a good thing for people not a bad one ..what will the new pope do lets be honest NOTHING only wear fancy jewels and shoes while many in its parish starve ..

• The next pope should be younger than his predecessors …. Should be more open with everyone …. The next Pope should also hand over all files that are kept secret over the cover up of child abuse to the police and all those involved in the cover ups should be brought before the courts that way the Catholic Church will be able to bring the people back to the church …. I also agree that Priests and Nuns should be allowed to marry if they chose wether they are Gay or Straight

• It’s not going to really matter who get picked as pope, no doubt they’ll opt for some other dry old man with ‘conservative’ (backward/regressive) views of life in the 21st century, that’s assuming Sodano hasn’t already got it all sewn up, scheming away in the background. The bottom line is, the catholic church is a creature of it’s age, unfortunately that age is middle ages. It really has not moved on from a time when the majority of people were ignorant illiterate peasants racked with superstition and subservient to overlords most of whom were bishops or land owning abbey’s. It’s going to take a hell of lot to change the direction of the dinosaurs who run this dysfunctional cult. They would need a reformation akin to the first one to even start the process, something the red clad turkey’s are unlikely to vote for, nothing will change and the catholic church will eventually fade away in Europe at any rate where it’s relevance and power is already in massive decline anyway, most of the developed world has seen it for what it is, a bastion of hypocrisy, self preservation and dogmatic intransigence, the recent events in Glasgow only highlight this where we have O’Brien now more or less admitting he was involved in sexually with men at a priests seminary yet he was the one who was shouting loudest against gay marriage in Scotland, Hypocrisy of the highest order and another nail in the coffin of the catholic church!

• mister 04/03/13 #

Firstly, I think it’s important to acknowledge that the church exists at several different levels. The disconnect between the apparent ultimate hierarchical level in Rome and the humble parishes (the real heart of things in my opinion) is enormous. And there are, believe it or not, many very well invigorated parishes at local level here in Ireland. This is often made much more difficult by much of what comes out of Rome but at local level people feel THEY own their church and not a tiny handful of politically driven ideologues in Italy. I have seen this local dynamic first-hand and it is fascinating.
    I don’t think it is just about who is the new Pope but, as others have indicated, the church would benefit from a complete restructuring at the levels just below him.

• When will you so called “Catholics” learn? The Catholic Church is finished. Finished. Its the most vile & disgusting organisation (Cult) in existence. This organisation has stood by & supported the slaughtering of innocent people all over the world for thousands of years in order to “Force” their “One True God” belief.
    They’ll lay beside anyone who’ll support them. Are you all so blind? Why do you need a man dressed in silly clothes surrounded by crosses & statues (False gods) tell you to go say 10 Hail Mary’s & 5 Our Fathers for your sins (Chanting) ? Are you that dumb? Are you all sheep?

If you’re truly a Christian (Forget this Catholic nonsense) then just go grab a bible “King James Version” & read it for yourself. Let me guess, you can’t make head nor tale of it? It’s all riddles & crazy. But you’ll take some other guys word as to what it means, right? Thats your problem right there & this is how the Catholic Church ruled a thousand+ years with an iron fist.

If you disagree with me the Church wins. I hope you’ve got enough money to splash out on your kids communion or confirmation gear this year. Can someone point me to the part in the bible that instructs this?

They cant & won’t tell you what it means. Why? Because they’re not even following the rule book themselves. They’ve been using this book as a tool of fear against people who couldn’t read or decipher for themselves. Funny though, these days most of us can read & when we need info we go & look for it ourselves.

• The catholic church fails to adapt to the changes in society and has alot of very serious and bad publivity for those reason its only a matter of time before the church is obsolete..

• The next pope needs to be:
    Bigoted
    Homophobic
    Anti-Choice
    Anti-women
    Rightwing

Ian Paisley is your only man for the job.

• Meaningless celebrity news.

• Oh well dont worry they will now be MUCH careful WHO they pick, they will pick someone not as “inappropriate” as the “bad” german pope… who had the guts to get off that political-criminal-corrupt Church Machine! Who the F… needs a pope – they should just close the door and finally accept that their power guilt ruling is over! I am very spiitual but if you look deeper in the REAL history, Jesus was a ‘hippy’ in his time and NEVER ever intended to set up religion. He was a free spirit and Religion is only power – dont let me start, Catholic Church is my fav topic! No Pope – no cry ;-)

• Jesus was the world’s first documented magician. He performed tricks on ignorant goat herders. When David Blaine steps inside a box, and seconds later appears somewhere else, nobody thinks “he’s the son of god!!” Same goes for Paul Daniels.

• The new Pope probably will invigorate the Church, but only in countries in Africa and Latin America, where it still has a stronghold.

In Ireland i severely doubt it.

• I’m not a Catholic so I guess it’s nothing to do with me really

• Good for you. Some of us are Catholic and have to work through all the bullshit in the church but we hold on to out Faith because faith is more important than any church.

• I’m not a catholic anymore but it absolutely has a lot to do with me. In the town where I live, the catholic church controls the vast majority of the primary schools. There is no option such as educate together for parents such as me here.

You don’t have to be a member of something for it to affect you.

• @ Chris:
      You forgot to write the word ‘blind’ before the word ‘faith’.

You’re just angry because we had a wet summer last year, which was terrible for fruit and vegetables. I will ask the spirit of Charles Darwin and the Flying Spaghetti Monster to guide the clouds away from our shores this summer.
      His Noodley Highness be with you.

• Forget about the cardinals voting, these guys are about as progressive as a smack to a 2yr olds ar*e. Catholicism needs rebranding & it also needs a good clear out of its upper echelons. The next pope will be no different from what has gone before him…fact.!

• What about a who gives a damn option. What a both the sun and moon worshipers?

• the pope is just a figure head and just like our Enda he is told what to do and say, so NO nothing will change you might aswell put the popes hat on a monkey.

• Yes I do, if it’s beyonce :)

• Barry 04/03/13 #

Not a chance will it be progressive, the problem is anyone’s that elected is going to be 60+ and has been brainwashed by the church for decades.

• Hopefully not. The more people that leave religious nonsense behind them the better we’ll be. Death to the catholic church!

• Blasphemous comments? Luckily fictional characters by there very nature don’t have feelings or emotions because they dont exist. The same amount of evidence exists for the Christian God or the Pagan Gods or the Norse Gods or the Greek Gods.Provide indisputable scientific evidence of any God and you can have your Blasphemous laws.

People should be more offended by the actions of the religious institutions which proclaim to act of “God’s” behalf
    Faith? 3 out of 4 Americans belief in Angels (replace Angels with Hob-Goblins or Fairies or Leprechauns or minotaurs) and people would be rightly laughed at or deemed fit for the Mad-house.

Faith is blindly believing something based on no evidence. Anything can be justified by faith.If someone tells you to believe in something ask what evidence supports it? If the answer is believe for the sake of believing or faith then be very careful in taking that on board. Grand Claims require Grand evidence. Science and reason the only show in town.

• Blasphemy is what last year’s leaf screams at this year’s bud.

• Well said James….This pope retiring hysteria makes me sick.”Who will be his successor?!”, they shriek excitedly. Who cares?! The brainwashed people of the world who believe in “god” and all the rubbish that goes with the belief, should open their eyes and ask themselves whats really lacking in their own lives that they have to continue deluding themselves.Just accept that when you die that is it.over.nothing.how weak are you that you need to belive that youre going to a better place after this earth?! Crazy stuff.Whats even worse is they are handing down their sick beliefs and traditions to their children and the cycle of lies, guilt and deception continues. I for one have broke the cycle with my own kids.”no you wont go to hell,it doesnt exist!!!!!!!!!!..no youre not born with sin in you-its made up! “etc etc, but it is only a drop in the ocean im afraid. At least by educating my kids,stopping this brainwashing from such an early age and breaking all these crazy catholic traditions; lets me sleep easier at night.

• not in this day and age no!! The days of people believing in a big man in the sky and a red devil down below are over

• Not for me, bored of their fairytales and view’s of women and gay people. Man made religion is not for me but I will remain spiritual in my own way!

• If you read the article in The Journal from yesterday’s best reads section you’d see that the Pope is a figurehead who speaks on matters of faith and morals but who is powerless to change the temporal structure and running of the Vatican state. There are too many vested interests in the Vatican to permit upsetting the status quo.

• There is a paradox here. The hierarchical structure of the Roman Catholic Church is part of the problem. Yet if it is changed it is no longer the Roman Catholic Church. It’s arguable that this model of faith is no longer relevant today. This is why so many Catholics in the westernised world are disenchanted. Not only is the Catholic church haemmoraging numbers of followers but also the protestant demoninations as well. Africa and South America are main growth markets for Catholicism. The religious freedoms permitted in western countries encourage “pick and mix” faiths or no-faiths-at-all, which make it harder for the old hardline church to thrive.
    It would take a most extraordinary leader to change the direction and stop the rot, where is such a person?

• The prophecy of st Malachy is upon us.

• I would like to think he will but realistically I don’t think so

• Lets ask God, he picks the popes!

• close it down get rid of them all
    sell the loot richest corporation in the world
    a law unto themselves not to mention the child abuse
    jail them

• Seriously, is Fr. Flannery the only cleric could be found to quote on this topic?

• This Pope is just a man, don’t look up to men, look to Jesus, he might seem “old fashioned” or not “21st” century thinking but he’s God, he can think what he wants, that’s what makes him God!! Humans can be so “Godlike” in their position but your not God, your human”.

• All Popes have different personalities and approaches. For example Pope Benedict XVI had a different personality to that of his successor Blessed Pope John Paul II and Pope John Paul II had a different personality to his successors also. What we should be doing now is praying for the new Pope who God knows already who it will be. We should not be looking for a Pope that suits our shopping list of personal tastes according to our own personalities, but one that will simply love, protect and guide the church to the best of his ability like his previous successors did to the best of their ability. We should not be looking for a popular Pope but a Pope that will simply give us what we need.

The reinvigoration of the church is badly needed though. However, reinvigoration to most Catholics and non Catholics may seem to be one in which the church changes the truth in order to suit our weaknesses and inability to adapt to that truth. But true reinvigoration of the Church would mean a better set up by the new Pope of communicating the Gospel truths more effectively in order to help everyone adapt to that truth. The second Vatican council was an example of a church reinvigoration which saw the communication of the Gospel becoming better an easier in the modern world.

More reinvigoration is needed also in the area of addressing the spiritual abuse of the laity by priests like Fr.Tony Flannery for example and eradicating heresy from the seminaries by purported doctors of the faith.

• We need to have a reasonably young man…well as young as is possible… to be elected as Pope…..who is not afraid of modern ideas….please God it will happen. X

• Why are blasphemous comments not being deleted? #disgrace

• Hi Khaosan,

Please flag comments as being inappropriate.

Kind Regards,

Paul

• The ones were the paypil are sayin’ that the next Pope should be a wimmin… Haven’t we enough problems an’ all without de naggin’ behind our back.

• My dear fanatical friend…please see my comment above, which states the best definition of Blasphemy: You are last year’s leaf screaming to the new buds. Blasphemy got us out of the caves and is our best hope…no religion can stand up to the laughter of the masses.

• The doctrine of blasphemy is ridiculous. There is nothing wrong with any faith defining what is, or isn’t, “blasphemy” – but the idea that anybody other than G-d can call a person to reckoning for it is possibly blasphemy in itself.
      Of course, if you want to bring back public stoning, floggings, amputations etc. fell free to lobby your Dail representative, I’m sure they’ll be most helpful.

• censored 04/03/13 #

If God doesn’t exist how can there be any blasphemy?

If God does exist then why he delete the blasphemous comments himself?

• Perhaps because we are supposed to live in a tolerant society where we can criticise ideas and the often very different and conflicting beliefs of different religions without getting locked up… If different people’s belief systems contradict one another, then surely criticising the beliefs of anybody else could be seen as sacrilege… If an atheist says that belief in god is a fiction, are they blaspheming or expressing their own beliefs? If a religious person says an atheist’s non-belief in god is wrong, is the religious person committing blasphemy against the atheist? If a Buddhist person says belief in god is wrong because Buddhists do not believe in god, are they committing blasphemy by adhering to their own religious beliefs??? Are dissenters within a religious community also committing blasphemy?

• Blasphemous comments! Oh feck that gave me a laugh :)
      Erm, religion doesn’t deserve any special place and can be criticised just like anything else. Except the Flying Spaghetti Monster and Pastafarians of course, though shalt not blaspheme against His Noodly Goodness.

• It really does depend on who’s picked and I’d be surprised if anybody knows anything about any of the candidates and what their papal agenda might be.

Perhaps their should be a round with Vincent Brown on Vatican TV with the likely candidates before the men in hats start burning paper.

• Stephen. You’ve read that article in the Mail on Saturday which considers options which include honing the no of Catholics to include only those who don’t use contraception and don’t live together ‘in sin’. Don’t be such a fraud and try to think of something original to say. And remember, mental health does not equate with imaginary friends in the sky.

Add New Comment