TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 6 °C Thursday 23 May, 2013

Poll: should parents be allowed take children out of school for holidays?

The Education Minister says no but what do you think?

Image: Jeff Moore/Jeff Moore/Empics Entertainment

EDUCATION MINISTER RUAIRÍ Quinn has said it is critical that the trend of parents taking children out of school for holidays is stopped.

The comments, reported by the Irish Daily Mail today, come as the truancy watchdog revealed that the average primary school pupil misses 11 out of 183 days.

Reports have shown that some children’s attendances are suffering as parents want to take advantage of off-season deals.

“If they want to take a holiday and they are tight on cash, you can understand the pressures they may very well be under,” said Quinn. “But those pressures are compounded if they don’t particularly put a value on education. Simply giving out to them because they are availing of a holiday is not necessarily going to be effective – it’s a; much deeper problem than that and it’s not just confined to Ireland.

The Minister has tasked the National Education Welfare Board’s Home School Liaison Officers to cease the practice.

But what do you think? Should parents be allowed to take their children out of school for a holiday?

Poll Results:

Read next:

Comments (149 Comments)

• If you can afford to take your kids on holiday do it, Travel is one of the best forms of education and I dont mean leaving the kids in a pub with a bag of crisps and lemonade while you get twisted with cheap booze

• That’s a lovely platitude, but it leaves your child at serious disadvantage in school. They’ll be 2 weeks behind and that may mean they spend the next two weeks without a clue about what’s going on because they missed the start of the chapter. There’s plenty of time for travel. It’s not like school holidays are short.

• The Travel Agents use the school holidays to screw customers, you can only get a bargain at winter time! You know how the Irish love to rip their customers off, we’re our own worst enemies and greedy little feckers!

• Kevin, who says 2 weeks, travel agents sell 1weeks hols too plus long weekend breaks, so a child can go on a hol and if worked out right only miss 3-5 days of school which can be easily caught up on wit a little extra work at home or take a little work on hols for an hr a day

• JayK 27/10/12 #

I reckon I’ve got a decent enough understanding of primary school-level academia to cover the missed subject matter with the kid myself. Maybe not in Irish but that’s a price I’m willing to pay.

• I think you’re all thinking of the best case scenario, where your child is in primary school and you’re an attentive parent who is bringing them on a holiday to broaden their horizons and who will make sure they catch up. That’s not the reality for an awful lot of children. In fact, it’s the attentive parents who are the most likely to have reservations about taking their kids out of school. For the rest, it will mean a sun holiday by the pool and no pressure to catch up.

• Not to mention if your child is in secondary school. Try missing a week of honours maths and see how easy it is to catch up and keep abreast of your current workload.

• It’s like going on the hop by proxy.

• Its not the end of the World, If parents take kids for a well earned break. All work and no play, makes Kev a dull boy!

• “dear sir,

little tommy was in Spain with us for a week. but he’ll catch up on the fluid dynamics and thermal conditioning he missed out on.

he’ll also catch up on the mechanics he missed for football matches

by the way, why isn’t he getting an A. you must be a bad teacher

• Take a chill pill Kevin, most parents know what’s best for their kids not some flute of a Minister. Is the world going to end with two weeks of no school? I think not….

• Yes, parents know what the best educational practices for their children are… cause they’ve been to school 20 years previous and thus are experts!

• Risteard, I never said parents are experts in the education system, what I said is that most parents know their own children and whether or not they can afford to miss a couple of weeks of schoolwork and then catch up later.

• Well, i have professional experience that shows that it’s not the case.

• Congratulations Risteard, if you have professional experience then I bow to your higher power. Professional experience of raising children and knowing what is best for them or text book experience?

• You’re not doing the child any favours. You’re actually being quite selfish. You want your holiday and you can’t leave the kids home alone. Instead you’re going to take them out of classes and set them back a week or two behind their peers. You’re then putting the stress of catching up onto their shoulders. It’s not like it’s you who’ll have to rush through all the extra homework.

• No textbook experience about being a 2nd level teacher. And it’s not just textbooks and exams. We’re the ones who foster the environment for them to develop their social skills. We’re the one’s who foster the environment to give them opportunity to get involved take initiative and do things they like. We’re the one’s who regularly have those “awkward” talks about drugs and sex. Granted the parents are the primary care givers but don’t know the profession and the minister who’s worked with kids for longer than most parents changed nappies.

• **don’t knock the profession**

• Being quite selfish Kevin eh? I have never taken my kids out of school and have no plans to. If you read my original comment I have said that parents know their children best and not Minister for ineptitude Ruadhri Quinn ,nor any other randomer who feels the need to lecture parents on what is best for their children.

• maura 27/10/12 #

What about the rest of the class that have to wait, while the teacher helps the student that takes a holiday to catch up, any thought for them.

• Life is short. Too much time is wasted in school that could be condensed by a large degree. It’s more important in life to build a solid family and strong experiences. When you leave school and the education system, no one cares if you did pass or honours Irish. What matters is the level of practical experience you have built up. You don’t build experience from sitting in a classroom but from pursuing one’s own educational interests and experiences in the real world. School is designed to be economical, not to maximise education.

• Oh wow, you’ve got a bad attitude..Your obviously a teacher by the sound of it..-’no dark sarcasm in the classroom’- That’s Pink Floyd by the way,Should be obvious ,but people like you are usually quite uneducated outside of your own four walls..-What a brick!!

• Risteard – you arrogant fool!! You seem to believe that you! are rearing these kids, and that the parents are no more than a bad influence on their own children.!! You’ve been brought up in the and by the system.You are brainwashed.Now you want to brainwash our kids.You are diluting the respect that children have for their parents.Who do you think you are?!!! RISTEARD YOU FOOL.

• This popped up in an email update… but seriously!!!! Trying to troll on a 6 month old article. Grow up child!

• james 27/10/12 #

I said no. But holiday companies do tend to increase their prices during the summer breaks including mid-term.

• as the mom of irish filipino kids, in order that they can meet all of their cousins we would have to remove our kids from school, however we will go for a week before and after easter so they could have their time with their other relatives and not miss that much school…however while we would be there, i would be asking what would be taught while they were gone, and would continue to teach so they wouldnt be behind…if you decide to take your kids out of school for a holiday, you need to make sure its for the right reasons, you also need to be ready to ensure that your kids are not behind, and you need to work with them

• Surprised at the high no vote, obviously ppl shouldn’t be pulling them out for a month over the year, but would a week out do their long term educational goals any harm? Didn’t do me any, (double checks for spelling mistakes)

• It’s a moot point anyway because he has ” tasked the National Education Welfare Board’s Home School Liaison Officers to cease the practice”. Saw a piece on TV about this a couple of years ago. The NEWB had one person to cover two counties and she said she didn’t have the time or resources to even look at people who’d missed less than 60 days, never mind the 20 days absence after which the school have to inform the NEWB. I doubt their staffing levels have improved in the meantime so chasing people for taking their kids out of school for a week’s holiday is not going to rank very high on their to-do list.

• i am taking my 5,16 and 18 year old children to the USA for a family wedding in December there is no way those idiots in government are gonna tell me how to bring up my kids of which i have five one uni grad with honors and none of them has been arrested or warned about antisocial behavior and how does the government and the so called responsible leaders of industry (well banks) reward us? my kids now face living in a no job shit hole for the next twenty years or emigrating just to get a decent job. When they start to lead by example maybe then i will listen just more soundbites by a government trying to distract us from the real problems that exist i do agree there are some parents who are irresponsible but why punish us all hire more officers and use technology to target those at risk and while your at it cut the wages and perks of those ineffectual morons in the government and civil service and i am not saying all are but there are enough of them some of whom i know personally who years ago freely admitted they were in it for the money and security which is ok except when you are not doing your job

• Well spoken, Niall. I second that. Enjoy your trip to America and may your children learn much more in that short trip than they’d learn in a year spent in crappy, boring school! http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YR5ApYxkU-U

• I don’t have kids, but I think this is entirely the parents decision to make! Not some jumped up TD.

• In the past I would have always said no . They should not. However I kinda changing my mind. One week is not going to do any harm. But the underlining problem is some parents attitude to there children going to school .” O we where all at grand parents house late last night . The kids will be tried we not send them.to.school “.”O the older brother has a doc appointment and not going to school and the younger bro think its unfair for him to go to school sure he can stay at home too.” It’s when these all add up is the problem.

• Educate the living brains out of them and then tell them their obselete before thy even get started is it.Education of the mind is more than lugging back breaking bags of books around .Ive a kid there that is happy in his own self i dont pressure him and his doing just fine been free to cultivate his mind at his own pace that is who he is and Ruairi sellout Quinn has no say in the matter he can not be taking serious anymore promising kids one hing and doing the opposite.What kind of educator is he.He’s a joke and my young lad is already far superior in his education than mutterrer Ruairi.

• Article 42 of our constitution: “The State acknowledges that the primary and natural educator of the
    child is the Family and guarantees to respect the inalienable right and duty of
    parents to provide, according to their means, for the religious and moral,
    intellectual, physical and social education of their children”. Surely therefore if the ‘Family’ believes that a holiday would provide one or more of the above types of education they should be able to?

• And yet they want us to vote yes in the children’s referendum… take the role away from ALL families and give it to the state….. think I’ll be voting no… all the guidelines are there already in our constitution they just have to be acted on.. :) it’s amazing when people start to educate themselves outside of schooling systems that they no longer are a sheep.

• Taking a child out of school 3/4 weeks a year is taking the piss but they should at least allow 1 week holiday leave. Most families simply can’t afford peak holiday prices.

Quinn should put more emphasis on getting disadvantaged regular truants back into school….

• If you can’t afford to go on holidays without taking your kids out of school, then don’t go on holidays.

Holidays are not a right.

• tom 27/10/12 #

what do you mean not a right.
      family holiday should be encourage

• What about teachers taking time out of school? My youngest lads teacher went missing for over a fortnight last year. “To get married it seems”. Can you believe that? 14 weeks a year off, yet she needs over two weeks on top, to get bleedin married!

• If i can afford a standard priced holiday but not the extortionate prices aimed to rip families off during school hols then it shud be my right to choose to take my kids out of school for max of 1 week thru the year. I wud be happy to take school work with me and spend some time while away covering whatever they might be missing but 1 week a year wont make any difference long term. Plus peak summer time is too hot, may/end sept is a nice time in terms of heat abroad for kids

• Paul 27/10/12 #

@Rodrigo, that’s total BS. Teachers can have up to 5 days off if they get married during term time including their wedding day. Probably from a time when women might “fall pregnant” and need to get married pronto, considering the ethos of their employer, who is still legally allowed to discriminate against people in such a situation. Anyway, are you allowed to choose when you get married? That’s nice for you.

• incontinent simian that is the most moronic statement i have heard you obviously have lots of money and no brains hope your children don’t inherit the latter typical of someone who wont use their real name

• Capital ‘I’ Niall.

• Sorry Paul, but I agree with whatsisface. Teachers get ridiculously generous holidays. Taking additional holidays on top of the scheduled ones is just jaw dropping greed.

• Yes. Going away while the schools are open is the only financially viable way many families can possibly have a holiday these days.

• Travel agents hiking up prices during school holidays is what the minister should look into. I know its not his department, but if he could liaise with the relevant government department that could put much needed pressure on travel agents, then, maybe it would be just as affordable for parents to take their kids on a foreign holiday when school is off, therefore reducing the need for children to be taken out of school.

• I get so pissed off when ministers make these kind of comments. Irish people are really struggling to survive and a nice holiday is all they have to look forward to in the year. Of course there going to take advantage of the deals.

• Took the kids to Spain for 10 days. They swam, ate spanish food, picked up some of the lingo and visited the Picasso museum! Can’t teach that in school! there was ?1700 difference in the price of waiting the extra 2 weeks for school holidays! No brainer!

• Ministers take months off during the summer and are currently off again. I get 2 miserable weeks in a job i dont get paid enough to do to. We will go 1st 2 weeks in September if we want to

• What happened Ruairi Quinn is he gone to the darkside the picture above says it all .Love happiness.Our so called leaders are becoming communists.

• I have no problem with parents taking kids out of school a week or so early before the end of term, it is not like they will be taught much more information in that week. I do not see a reason for punishing parents for taking advantage of cheap holiday deals.

• Average sick days % for kids = 6%
    Average % for employees at Dept. of Social Protection = 6.3%

When the kids have better attendance than civil servants and can still squeeze in 10 days in Orlando, you know something is rotten in the state of Denmark.

Look closer to home Quinn!

• I will have every intention of taking our child out of school a week before normal school finishes, big difference in ferry prices to France, we will also use that time for cultural awareness, language study… I’m aware that there is a certain amount of schooling needed but feel that there is also a lot more education situations that be taught outside of the classroom. Our seven month old has attended with us to various talks on nature, biodiversity, bat conversation, and continue to do so throughout her preschool days.

Schooling isn’t a 9-3 5 days a week… it’s the groundwork for their future and I have no problem if time away from the classroom is used to teach, encourage learning.

• Some families wouldn’t be able to afford peak time holidays. Taking children out of school for 5 days to give them a week away in the sun creating precious memories is the only way many can afford it.

• Life is short. Take them and screw the politicians.

• I didnt do my confirmation in 6th class so we went on a family holiday the week of the confirmation because it was cheaper and there was very little point of me being in school that week (except for the teachers to try and convince me to do my confirmation last minute as they had bern trying all year!)

• Big feckin deal when they’re young!

• I find coming up to school holidays the class’s are more ‘relaxed’, work books are finished and everyone is getting into holiday mode and a week earlier wouldn’t make a Hugh difference but taking kids out for a week in the middle of a term well, that wouldn’t be a great idea.

• Nydon 27/10/12 #

A week at the start or middle of a term ? -No.
    A week before the end of the school year to save maybe €5-600 on travel costs ?- of course yes. Only thing my kids complained about was missing the School trips and the break-up parties which we agreed to stay around for in their final year. (These can cost another few hundred Euro. by the way to take a bus or train trip a short distance up the road)

• A few years ago we took the kids out of school a few weeks early in may. Went to assist a South American indigenous tribe to build an irrigation system and sustainable eco friendly recycling plant. How rewarding!

• My kids, My money, My decision….

• I’m one of those people who had bad experiences regarding my own schooling but I wouldn’t dream of taking my son out of school for a holiday, the summer holidays in particular are long enough as it is. However, the mark-up in prices of holidays and flights during school breaks is shocking and something should be done about it.

• My sister got married in Canada this summer she deliberately waited until summer holidays in order for her nieces & nephews to go but we were punished for it by paying way over the odds! This included price hikes for her also due to the time of year. I think there was regret on everyone parts for not pulling them out of school! Though it was a special occasion an expensive one for sure.

• Hmm well now should this thing not apply to teachers my daughter had 7 free classes out of nine last week her teachers were all gone on courses ?

• My daughter is on her third teacher this year!! First one was in for 2 weeks left on maternity leave, second was part time and got a job in another school, so now she has another until the one on maternity leave is back, I’d see this as more disruptive to her education than my daughter taking a week out.

• Paul 27/10/12 #

Selfish teachers! One depriving children of the opportunity of a practical and real biology lesson on human birth and infant nutrition, another selfishly taking a full-time position instead of a part-time one, couldn’t he/she just cut corners and put up with a temporary /part-time position? Some people eh

• And I suppose women don’t deserve a right to vote either JP?

• Thanks for your comment but you need not have bothered Paul. No need to get smart, all I was saying is 3 teachers in 2 months is more disruptive than a week off school.
      But thanks for your comment, such a great contribution.

• Rob Jones, eh what ??
      I’m simply talking about staff planning or lack of being disruptive to pupils. Not for a second complaining about a teacher being out on maternity leave, why on earth would I ?? But you knew that already.
      Just better planning by the school to cover such instances would lead to less disruption in this case.
      But it’s off point and your obviously picking up on things that aren’t there in comments hoping to start a debate over nothing so ill let you get some more sleep.

• Paul 27/10/12 #

What better planning would you suggest? Employ fewer female teachers of reproductive age? Employ a teacher to cover the entire year rather than just the maternity leave? Paid for how exactly? From the voluntary contributions or a bake sale?

• Paul. What I said in my post is fact. I’ll name the school and teacher if you want me to!

• Paul you obviously have no school going kids my kids teachers take more time off for courses sick leave or to become politicians all of which we pay for one teacher was an alcoholic who rarely showed up on a Monday about time adults started taking responsibility and stopped trying to shift the blame on struggling families thankfully there are only a few of these selfish b**stards but they are messing with a lot of children’s future’s

• Niall, could you start adding some punctuation to your posts please? I’m getting quite out of breath reading them.

• Paul 27/10/12 #

@Niall do you notice that your kids bring home all sorts of colds and sniffles once they start back at school? Well, is it surprising that people who work there also catch these? It’s always amazing how public service bashers get irate about nurses and teachers taking time off sick. D’uh! Where they work is crawling with sickness and people who don’t know yet how to limit disease transmission through good personal hygiene. About the alcoholic teacher, alcoholism is a disease, if it’s affecting performance it is regrettable but what solution do you propose? Firing someone for being sick is a bit harsh, although I agree a solution should be found I don’t know what it is. People who leave their teaching posts to become politicians no longer receive a paycheque for being a teacher, although I suspect this was just a “while I’m ranting might as well throw the kit hen sink at it” point.
      @Rodrigo, check out the regulations online, there is a maximum of 7 calendar days (incl weekends) allowed if you get married during term time.

• Continuous upskilling is part of Education. Most of the time teachers are sent on these. For example, if you teach sex ed…you must first be trained..you cannot go into a classroom guns blazing without fully knowing how to approach such an important lesson. New changes in the Junior Cert require upskilling…it’s part of the fabric of education.

• sorry robin my education was limited because i never attended any school long enough to settle, two years tops and have only recently started writing ,plus mixing UK and USA schools got very confusing .@paul my kids never came home with sniffles or sick stop talking sh*** head lice yes but didn’t take time off school just tied their hair up .Alcoholism should be treated not a firing offense just like any other addiction .Also i did not know the salary for teachers who become politicians no longer exists .One last thing I have made sacrifices to make sure that my kids attended same schools for their entire education and all have passed leaving with enough points for uni which i can not afford and being self unemployed am proud my eldest has graduated with honours from UCD maybe she will get a decent job but it wont be in this country

• Travel is educational, it broadens the mind. We’ll be going to France again next year. While there, the children practice a few words of French, mix with different cultures and learn. We do things with them.For eg we’ll be visiting a working windmill and a working salt marsh where you get to see how everything works and the end product. You could read about it but I think it’s better in reality. The same holiday in the summer holidays would cost me €1,500 more! Also I feel the schools wind down come June anyway.

• The solution lies with the travel companies. Dont let them put their prices up in holiday and mid term times.

• I don’t see the problem as long as its less than 5 days and homework is done before and after so kids won’t fall behind. I don’t see the problem once its done in a responsible way. Maybe they should be focusing on getting rid of the days and hours wasted on ramming the catholic education down our kids throats?

• This is becoming a nanny state. It’s up to the parents to decide for their children. Each case is different.

• @Frank my dads a doctor and he took us to France, we missed the first days starting secondary school because he thought we had the same holidays as primary school. I still get flash backs!

• Just wondering, how many of the people that took the poll are parents??

• Ha, it’s nobody’s business but the parent’s. Perhaps cap the amount of days a child’s allowed to miss (barring sickness, of course). Or perhaps the good minister could do his job and separate church from education finally.

• Holidays are not a right but school is not an obligation either, according to the Irish constitutions parents have a right to decide, and with a YES vote in the referendum children hopefully will soon have the right to be productive in ways they choose themselves. Children learn more outside of school during days off than they would had they stayed put, my children go to Moldova and life in their grandparent’s village put life in perspective big time, if that’s not (practical) learning I don’t know what is

• Do you vote no to keep the right with the parents. Vote yes and it’s up to the child and or the state… I can see that happening “dad you vote yes to change the constitution so its my choice not to go to school” or I’ll as the government what’s best for my child…. again it’s a reason to vote NO… it isn’t broken just not implemented..

• Ruth 28/10/12 #

I don’t agree with all ye ‘teacher haters’ both my brother and mother are teachers – my mother just retired after 33 years! She has 7 kids and the length of maternity leave has changed right since she had her first child to last, that is just a sign of the times!! And the reason why some teachers are back for a week or two and then go on maternity leave is not their fault that is all got to do with the Department of Education and the way their system works!! In all the 33 years she worked she has had maybe on average, if even 1 personal day a year for a wedding or funeral and I am sure no matter what jobs ye work in ye have taken days off or them too and more than likely the day after – unlike her!!!!! It is the same as everyone thinks oh teachers get paid loads and they get weeks and weeks off – they work for their money just as much as me and you do.

• If a child can be out sick from school for a week without any adverse effect on his/her education, why not a week soaking up important vitamin D, picking up a few words of a different language, learning about the local history, learning how to snorkel. Education is much more than the tuiseal ginideach and “preparing” for your communion/confo!

• I said no but I think fair enough last week of school, we all know nothing’s really done then but random weeks during term time not a good idea.

• once again this is using middle class parents as a soft touch. parents do not do this in exam years. in my experiance both in primary school and secondrey the last week or 2 is spent on outings, videos and walks to the park. I can also remember being told once that half the day would be spent in the local church getting ashs. fair play thats what i signed up for, however, Is the minister scared to look at the real child abuse that goes on when depriving kids of education. what about the ones that neaver or rarely get to school. what about the kids that rarelyl get to school because the parents are too stoned, pissed or feckless to get out of bed on time or at all. would time and resorces not be better spent on this.
    I also have a big problem how the minister wants to stop the subsidy to private schools after he himself has enjoyed the benifits of Blackrock college. this move will only cause even more inequiliy in the system and then only the “rich” will be able to afford this service. once again screwing the middle.

• leanne 27/10/12 #

They don’t learn everything in a class room!! Parents should be allowed take there kids out of school for holidays, they prob wouldn’t be able to afford it during the summer as prices go up,it’s great for kids to get away and see different places and experience different cultures! My family often went during the school year and it didn’t make much of a difference in the end, our school work didn’t suffer!

• Constitution says parents are king and therefore get to decide on what the child ultimately needs. Sometimes a family needs time together away from everything. If this can only be done in term time then so be it. Apart from which how many days did my own children spend sitting being minded because their teacher was out or on a course … ? These were wasted days in the schoolroom. So I had no difficulty taking them out for a week here or there to spend time with them .. The zoo , travelling And even some times just a duvet day together to bake , chat etc.

• So far we haven’t taken them out during term time, but I wouldn’t rule it out ever either. We put emphasis on education, but a few days in the scheme of fourteen/fifteen years in school is not going to have a material impact. And as teachers are allowed a few days, think 5 in the school year then surely kids should be too?

• If my earnings and holidays matched that of mr Quinn I’d never need to worry about holiday prices. However I live in the real world and bust my hump to earn a living and if I want to take a week off during term I will.

• Ruth 28/10/12 #

Oh and I do agree that parents should be allowed take time off to take their kids on foreign holidays as the prices during ‘peak’ times are unaffordable these days..

• Parents should have the right to decide when they will take a family holiday. Many are actually working throughout the summer months. Many are self employed and can only consider taking holidays at certain times of the year which don’t always coincide with school holidays.
    I find it strange that some of the teachers commenting here are so quick to judge parents for taking their children out of school for a week and argue that these children fall so far behind with their work that they may never catch up! However there are many instances when children miss school such as in the winter if there is snow or frost on the roads, schools have closed for a week or more at a time and those days are not given back to the children. Why don’t these same teachers offer to work those days back in the summer or at Easter if their concern is really for the children’s education?
    Most of us lead hectic lives theses days between work if you’re lucky enough to have work and between budgeting to stay afloat. An affordable family holiday is important on many levels.

• Maybe if the school year wasn’t so short it wouldn’t make such a difference.

• My son missed about 6 classes last week because of teachers coaching teams and gone to matches, what’s the difference?? I’ve taken my kids on hols a couple of times but always made sure they done all the missed work

• Just an observation but surely the economic principle of supply and demand applies? The more people do this the more the off-peak prices will approach the peak prices, thus negating any financial benefit of depriving your child of a portion of the academic side of their overall education

• John Mack,just wondering what bat conversation is like,I might get my own kids involved,sounds very interesting!!

• Just back from Umbria in Italy with twin boys 6 and 11 year old daughter … – 4 school days missed
    Spent time with international friends. Built a den in the trees… searched for porcupine spines and mushrooms in the Woods to make a fairy house ….. Much better life Education than colouring in workbooks and repeat spellings …. Oh and learning how to negotiate a Ryan air flight without priority boarding essential learning

• Anyone living in Ireland needs to get out of it for a little while. It is a truely awefull place to live. Why get ripped off doing this in the same way you get ripped off doing everything else? I will take my kids out of school from now on for a holiday

• Spain, Portugal France and Orlando tut tut I went even better SunShine House eat your heart out;)

• Yes they should. Just to spite Ryanair and their “screw them at half term” policies.

• Of course they should be allowed to. My years in (secondary) school were a waste of my life. School (as it is currently organised) is profoundly over-rated.

• we went away for a week to Spain second week in September, our first ever sun holiday. didn’t do our child any harm, school had no problem with it and he caught up with his school work in no time.

• Don’t forget the poor unfortunate teachers in this scandal, they always have to pay the expensive holiday rate. For this imposition if feel they deserve a big pay rise!!!!

• Parents have every right to take their children out of school for a holiday. The children will likely get more education from going on holidays for two weeks than a year at school. Where does Ruairi Quinn think he is? Sweden? As a father, the only thing stopping me from educating my daughter myself is that I have to go to work and I have every intention of taking my family on holidays if they happen to be in the middle of the academic term. Most of what we learn is self taught anyway or else we can just watch Bear Grylls for the essentials.

• Receipt of childrens benefit should be made contingent on full school attendance. Provisions to be made for medical appointments & certified sickness, force majeur and so on.

• Ruth 28/10/12 #

I mean give their kids the time I off

• One easy way to avoid the problem is to claim the child is sick. We were always taken out of school in mid June because the ferries were cheaper than after the schools finished. You learn nothing important in primary other than social skills and basic schooling and less in the last few weeks.

• At a young age socializing is very important and keeping kids doing such in primary school is a necessity which must be realized.

• I agree with Alan.
      Most of my family are homeschooled. I was not homeschooled and I envy my younger sisters. They study whatever they want as well as the essentials like English and writing, Maths and geography, astronomy, art, the natural world…the list goes on. Mostly they are self motivated because they have autonomy over what they learn as opposed to sitting in a giant bacterial culture being bored half to death by a complete stranger.

• my kid needs a break from being slowed down by the stupid kids. lol no seriously I think weddings abroad, family occasions etc are fine to skip a few classes for. Just make sure the work is made up.

• Child abuse. Simple solution – parents should be brought to court. I bet the doctors and other professionals don’t take their children away from their education.

• Couldn’t agree more. For parents to pretend/convince themselves that the “cultural awareness” gained on holidays equates to a contribution to their childs education attainment in a state exam, is a farce. Parents should never seek to restrict their childs education and should never be allowed to restrict their childs education. Catch a grip people – take them on holidays whenever you want and take them wherever you want, but don’t pretend to the world and to yourself that you are giving them the exam focused education that our education system requires.

• It’s the narrow suppressive, exam-focused system that has ruined education. Years and years are spent sitting at a desk being force fed what someone else decides you should know to be the perfect little citizen. The real education begins the day you walk out the door of the school and out into the real world. Is this the taste of things to come- well paid government ministers, who are well cushioned from any hardship in life, making decisions about what parents should or shouldn’t do.

• Aurfur 29/10/12 #

Kids should have the same school rights as working adult rights. If an adult had to take work home, then he wouldn’t be doing his job properly or his boss was overloading him.

I always hated going to lessons or on courses cold and strongly feel that written modules which are available in advance enabled me getting the most benefit. Religious education is a parental choice and should not be in school. Use this time in personal study for catch up.

I am strongly opposed to kids having homework but modules to read through would enable parents to help struggling kids. Modules would enable catch up for kids taking holiday.

Kids need school holidays because they are kids, but also should have a right to take holidays the same as adults when their parents want.

And at the end of the day any parent can home educate if that is their choice.

• People who can afford family holidays obviously don’t need children’s allowances.

• jesus 27/10/12 #

I remember in school that the kids who performed the worst in exams, or had the most difficulty with learning, were the ones who would be taken out for holidays at the start of term.

• Poor attenders perform poorly. In general, the poor attenders are not the ones going on holidays, they are the ones whose parents allow them to skip school two and three days every week because they don’t have any respect for education and have little education themselves.

• Resel 27/10/12 #

Most comments I have seen on a story.
    I voted yes. Why not give one floating week?

• Absolutely not, if they have such money then they should be spending on the health, welfare, education and socializing of said child rather than putting the child at an educational disadvantage so the parents can have a few cheap beers in the sun.

• What a nasty mean-spirited thing to say. I suppose you in Fine Gael will be thinking of some way of getting your hands on any holiday money we have saved to give to your banker pals.
      A week in the sun in December or January, when it is most needed and appreciated, is half the price of a summer break. We’ll be in Grand Canaria; it will help the kids as they are doing Spanish at school.

• Exactly what the children will get on a holiday, Fine Gael Fan – a sunny climate helps generate vitamin D and assists the growth of strong healthy bones; the change of scene and time spent with family will definitely be good for a child’s welfare; travel broadens the mind and is more educational than being stuck at a desk and there’s great socialising on a holiday. Children meet loads of new people from all over the world and can keep contact with them after the holiday is over. If mum and dad manage to have a few beers on top of all of that, good for them! Parents need a bit of fun too!

• Sean C 28/10/12 #

Yes parents should be allowed to pull their kids from school, if all kids had equal educational opportunities McDonalds would struggle to find employees.

• Damocles 28/10/12 #

Yes, as long as the parents pays a fine of 50 quid per child per day.

Add New Comment