TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 12 °C Tuesday 21 May, 2013

Poll: Do you agree with the protesting turf cutters?

The turf cutters are in a stand-off with the Government in a row which pitches assertions of a historic right to cut on their land against bog protection legislation. What do you think?

A protest outside Leinster House last month.
Image: Laura Hutton/Photocall Ireland

THE STAND-OFF between turf cutters and the Government has gotten worse today as the Turf Cutters and Contractors’ Association has claimed it has been “betrayed” after its proposals to allow its members to keep cutting turf for domestic use were rejected.

To get a full explanation of the row between the turf cutters and the Government, read our explainer here from late last year. Essentially, the row is pitching the turf cutters’ assertion that the tradition of cutting turf on their own land is a historic right against the Government’s assertion that they are breaching environmental protection guidelines on protected bog habitats.

What do you think of it? Do you agree with the turf cutters’ proposals that they be either be allowed to cut turf in their own bog, relocated to another nearby good quality bog (if the first is not allowed), or given compensation:

Poll Results:

Read next:

Comments (120 Comments)

• Hi El,
    Thanks for your reply. A couple of facts that you would not be aware of are:
    We own free-hold title 12 acres of land – 5 of which are our family turf bank. – We were not made aware of any designation process in our townsland until 2007 and that information was shared with us from a neighbour from another townsland who had also just found out that his 20 acres were included in the SAC. He found out as his Son was looking for planning permission and was refused due to the proximity of the SAC perimeter. Out of 130 turf bank free-hold owners, about 20% had been informed in 2004, the rest of us NEVER received any notification. If we had, you can be sure we would have availed of the due process to lodge an objection to the designation and would have actually engaged in the designation and site selection process. So basically, all of my neighours who live on the bog, their gardens & sheds are included in the SAC – what happened to the right to own private property? or are free-hold titles as worthless as the paper they are written on???

Elaine, can you really say that if you owned lands that belonged to your family for generations, you would have no problems with an EU Directive telling you that – “well, you still own them, you just cant do anything on them without permission from the Minister”? What about the devaluation of the lands? Even if we wanted to sell them on, their value has been diminished. Our community actually have no problem with a co-existence plan being implemented – we actually suggested one. We have no alternative bog to relocate to, the SEI schemes that you speak of earlier, have NEVER been rolled out or communicated in any fashion to our community. The law of the land is an ass when it does not consider the human socia-economic impacts.

email me fiona.conlan@gmaill.com – PLEASE come and visit me in Kildare. I can show you our bog, 1 part which is actively being cut by same families for generations and another which has not been cut for 40+ years. You can spend all day explaining the scientific reasons as to the differences. PLEASE, PLEASE take me up on this offer, as I have put this offer out to several other environmentalist (Jim Ryan – being just 1 example) & NGO’s Reps and NOT ONE has taken me up on the offer. So it’s your time to visit & educate me.
    Who knows, we could BOTH learn something!!!

• EMD 05/04/12 #

Fiona, I can truthfully say I would abide by this directive because it has affected my own family directly and they just adhered to new requirements. It was a River SAC in our case which is just as complicated in terms of pollution and human health when you are a farmer.

• Quick question, if I find oil under my land, is it mine or the governments?

Do we own the land under a certain depth?

• I will listen El, as long as you also arrive here with a willingness to listen to me. :)
    Again, all I can do is speak from my own experience and we are free-hold title owners and NEVER receieved any notifications from 1997. In fact we have neighbours who still have yet to ever receive any official letters from NPWS. We’re not all farmers either, in fact that’s another thing about our bog, we have very small amount of farmers involved on our bog. There are frustrations at both sides of this argument. email me. :)

• Jaysus. I hate the way ye do this Joirnal. I’ll say it again so…

Our raised bogs are the equivalent to South America’s rain forests. We should not need the EU to tell us to do the right thing. These are ours and we should want to protect them. They are the best examples of raised bog left in the world.

Those that own these bogs should be generously compensated and hailed as heroes. This has nothing to do with EU politics. They’re our bogs and if we had any self respect as a nation we’d be making sure they remained intact.

• Reada, even the South American rain forests happen to be in use by the people who live there. Environmental solutions that don’t account for the people living and working in any particular environment are no solutions at all. Have you read the turfcutters proposals?

• The only reason they are trying to stop people cutting turf is so the oil companies have more control

• EMD 05/04/12 #

Auntie Dote, are you for real? The copy and paste piece of crap that TCCA put out expecting people to accept it, no methodology, no statistics, no references, no authors? and most of all no evidence for claims made. People in rainforests generally tend to practice sustainable ways of live, not all mind you but that whole other can of worms, turf cutters are not living in any kind of harmony with their environment and certainly not sustainable.

Stop reading propaganda from vested interests and read/view some proper information by even googling if you don’t trust my links below.

• My My Réada we’re going to agree on something, wonders will never cease. Bogs take hundreds of years to recover (if not longer) but some rural communities seem to think they can just keep cutting and it’ll all be fine. They are also using studies which show the bogs to have increased in size to justify their cutting. But unless the laws of nature have changed I’ll take it the measurements taken for the different studies were slightly different.
      Though I’m not going to agree with your attitude on the EU. We are the EU as much as anyone is the EU.

• censored 05/04/12 #

Soon it won’t be a problem anymore :D

• Simon, if you have access to email – drop me an email at fiona.conlan@gmail.com, I’m not that far away from you in Kildare. Fiona

• Despite this being ordered by the EU, Bord na Mona have cut in excess of 5 years supply of peat/turf to get around the directive… so they can still produce Peat Briquettes……. That’s right the government/state owned company smashing the law and it’s spirit to keep selling while we ban the little man from his lifetime rights to cut turf…. So typical of this hell hole of a country

• Raised bogs are only about 2% of the total Irish bog. 99% of turf cutting will not be affected. They are being generously compensated, to give up their turf rights in the raised bogs, and can go in most cases to other near by bogs that are not protected.

There is enough bog outside of these ones, to be able to resolve this issue very quickly.

• EMD 05/04/12 #

Bord na Móna are NOT cutting SAC raised bogs so that is why this Directive has not affected them. Futhermore this is not just EU Law, this is IRISH law and has been around since 1997 BUT the government gave an ILLEGAL derogation to the turfcutters on protected bogs so none of this is exactly a surprise!

Bogs are not be cutting by hand with a wee man and a sléan, they are being cut with huge machinery for money and while they provide fuel for homeowners the turf is also being sold at great profit by some of these people protesting their “right” to destroy the small number of these protected sites. This ban isn’t just some crazy whim, other countries abide by this directive as well and are expected to prevent damage to these rare habitats. The bogs are worth far more than fuel, they act as flood defences when they are functioning properly i.e. not drained and not being dug up for an unsustainable fuel source. The bogs filter water thereby protecting water supplies which is pretty important for public health, cutting releases peat into the water system polluted the river, destroys wildlife and when peat contaminated water is treated in our water treatment plants it results in the formation of compounds which are dangerous to human health. So for the sake of a minority the rest of us should have poor water quality, pay for expensive flood defences downstream of the destroyed wetlands and lose some of the rarest habitats in Europe not to mind say Ireland. Well as an Irish person I want a say in this travesty and say Deputy Flanagan and the vested interests of TCCA do not represent me and do not have the right to impact my life negatively due to their determination to destroy this valuable asset.

The turf cutters had 10 years and more to seek alternatives, they chose to assume they were above the law and they ignored all offers of compensation and mediation thinking they could bully the government and indeed the EU into allowing them destroy the last vestiges of the natural of the ENTIRE Irish population. They were offered alternatives & relocation where possible, they have been offered money & fuel so what more do they want? Culture my arse, not a lot of culture in a JCB & Hopper is there?

• Spot the guy who lives in the city, and afraid to identify himself!!! To get a grant you need money in the first place, grants are a con all a contractor does is inflate prices as he knows your getting a kickback from the government. By the way the 2k is not for life what do you do then, oh yes you buy oil, or cut down trees, or we can plant some, how long does it take for a tree to mature? can you remind me?

• EMD 05/04/12 #

Guy who lives in city, again another favourite argument of people like you…town vs country is such an old and overused argument and completely invalid when the issue at hand affects ALL Irish people and not just a selfish minority.

Grants are a con, have you ever spoken to anyone who got grants from SEAI? I know lots of people in cities, towns and countryside who use solar successfully to heat all their hot water, I know people in the countryside using geothermal heating successfully, my own family in the countryside heat their entire house using a wood burning system, insulation also helps with bills.

You could plant some trees now and they would be ready for use as firewood in 15-20 years, until they mature you have €2,000 a year (15 years) and if if you weren’t so resistant you may not even need to spend all of that on fuel should you think outside the box instead of sticking in a rut and refusing to look to the future.

Contractor, kickback, inflate prices….what are you talking about? Turf cutting contractors?

Finally, what guy? whose afraid to identify themselves? Not really making a whole lot of sense there. maybe you need to lay off the conspiracy websites as well.

• Deenihan used the term “breaking the law” in reference to the turfcutters. We seen this term used already for non-payers of the Household Charge! A big majority government can bring in any UNJUST,UNFAIR legislation!why label protestors against what’s deemed very unfair or unequal taxes or charges as criminals?

On the point of the turfcutters, do people realise the small amount of peat used by these people when cutting turf? When compared to Bord na Móna who take HUGE cuttings of peat from bogs every year,to run the power stations,and more! Why go after the little guy? They are not the major culprits here!

• Yeah force the people to buy taxable fules I realy think this the reasoning behind this.

• Bord na Mona are not cutting raised bogs though. They are on the 98% of bog that is not raised. Different type of bog.

• EMD 05/04/12 #

To be fair Fagan’s Bord na Mona were responsible for the destruction of vast tracts of raised bog in the past which is partially why we have so little left and why, now we know how important they are, we need to look after them properly. Bord na Mona do not cut any protected raised bogs which is why they are not subject to this ban, no conspiracy just simple legislation and truth.

• Independent turf cutters do FAR less damage to bogs than Bord na Mona.

• I’ve decided against cutting down our trees for fuel and buy logs instead.
    Will I get compensation ??

• I live in an old cottage in Co offaly. My only method of heating is the range I have in my living room that burns turf. If I cannot burn turf, how am I supposed to heat my house?

• right on simon, we also need our turf to heat the house, our “old” supplier has been told he can’t cut anymore !
      so where to get it now ? we are looking now here in clare to find a new supplier, because we need our turf !

• I voted that bog protecection should come first. I don’t buy the “historic right” issue. At some point traditions have to bend in the light of new information and the boglands are a valuable resource that need protection.

I think the turf cutters should be adequately compensated and perhaps an independent person should assess the value of that compensation. But in an era where the environment is more and more under pressure we should be taking steps to protect what we have.

We should also be trying to promote tourism in these areas to bring in revenue which will also help alleviate the loss of income. There are ways of exploiting this resource without damaging it.

• EMD 05/04/12 #

Well said James, alternatives like EcoTourism have been dismissed on many occasions by TCCA as have co-op energy schemes, SEAI schemes to retrofit houses, coppicing schemes and more. I think these bogs could be amazing community resources for so much more than fuel.

• Why should we give up our land it our right to cut our own bog will it be your farm tomorrow this a fraction of what bord na mona cut but thats all right for the Government .We have been cutting bogs for hundreds of years before any union and we will still cut them , like everything in rural Ireland close us down or lock us in like prisoners .Europe is doing ETHNIC CLEANSING of rural area. Now it war on us and we will fight for our right in every which way to gain that right .Give the people their own land we don’t want anymore .

• I think the government, as they have done with a lot of things, have handled this very poorly. You can’t just simply stop a centuries old tradition in the morning because some quack from the European parliament said to do so and furthermore, a government telling people what they can and can’t do on their own property, expecting them to accept it without question or compensation for their loss, isn’t that just slightly reminiscent of a dictatorship? As like the house hold charge?

• Is there anything the EU isn’t trying to control?

• It would be a very different prospect if this government actually cared about environmental issues. They absolutely don’t, so that makes this a simple matter, yet again, of a gov practicing strong arm tactics, on any pretext, to wear people down and make them compliant.

All over the world, the evidence is in. Environmental concerns are best protected by solutions that all stakeholders can fully buy into. In this case the stakeholders have spent time and care and money preparing reasonable proposals to protect BOTH our environment AND our cultural heritage AND their own property rights, and are getting nothing in response only bullying.

That cannot be right!

• EMD 05/04/12 #

Auntie Dote, Holy God what are you talking about? This has been on the cards for years, some of the stakeholders i.e. turf cutters were well aware of what was happening but chose to ignore it. Other stakeholders, namely the general Irish public, have not been consulted by the TCCA, the Peatlands Council or the government when the wheeling and dealing was going on lately. I’m a stakeholder so why doesn’t my opinion count? Oh that is right, it is because I disagree with the destruction of these sites and the lies being told by the vested interests of Luke Flanagan & TCCA.

Read the BOGLANDS report, check out the internet yourself, look at the videos showing the devestation and then you try to engage with turf cutters who have never, ever entertained any discussion or mediation which may require that they accept the law and move towards a sustainable future.

• There are two separate issues here. On one side you have the total exploitation of vast areas of ancient bog by Bord na Mona, using heavy equipment and railways direct to the power stations and briquette factories, and you have the local man cutting by hand with a slane.

I say leave the local man to continue with his traditional ways, provided he cuts only sufficient for his own needs, not as a business. Bord na Mona should be stopped dead in its large-scale vandalism, the bogs should be re-flooded, regrowth of sphagnum moss encouraged, and the land left sacred for the next 100000 years. The Fuel Board meanwhile can get on with the task of growing willow and other biomass, developing the new technology of torrefaction, and educating people and planners to adopt a lower-energy lifestyle.

The same attitude should be used in the rain forests. This is unlikely to happen. The myth that ancient cultures lived in balance and harmony with Nature is not always true – Man has destroyed his natural habitat and its inhabitants for hundreds of generations. Education about these matters needs to be given top priority, way above investment in technology rich in fossil fuel use.

Dennis Wright Greenpeat

• EMD 06/04/12 #

Denis, have you read any of the previous comments or links provided? This has nothing to do with Bord na Móna who are not cutting protected sites *sighs* Your lack of knowledge on this issue is astounding for someone supposedly promoting a green agenda, please go and inform yourself properly before you comment. Honestly you are the kind of person giving green agendas a bad name when you keep shooting off your mouth without any obvious knowledge of the habitats, ecology or the issue at hand.

Regards,

A seriously frustrated member of the public

• EMD,

Whoever or whatever you are, you really are full of bull. What do you know about what I’m trying to achieve? Have you looked? Have you actually done anything yourself to try to address the whole green issue, apart from filling these pages with caustic and abusive comments against people who ARE giving years of their own time? I never saw you when I was out and about in all weathers physically active in bringing my message to the public, albeit still incomplete and lacking in certain knowledge experience (some of us DO admit that we don’t know it all). I learn more each day, and have had detailed discussion with people at high level in Bord na Mona, the EPA, planning department, waterways and fisheries, Coillte, and too many other bodies to list here.

Fortunately there are many hundreds of people who support me compared with the handfull of sideline knockers who heckle from their comfortable armchairs. Don’t talk to me about lack of knowledge.

• EMD 06/04/12 #

Denis, what are you on about? You don’t know me so you couldn’t know what I do or whether I am out and about. I am making caustic comments, yes I am, because I am pretty fed up of misinformation and poor science being bandied about by you and others. I have never purported to know everything, who does? I am however informed on this issue while you patently are not or you would not be bringing Bord na Mona into the equation. I also know that Bord na Mona have and are engaged in restoration work on some of their properties and I also know that Bord na Mona are not above the law and are currently subject to invesitgations of some of their activities. How you can say Bord na Mona should be stopped and their bogs reflooded and support the destruction of protected sites at the same time is contradictory at best.

I know that Coillte are also engaged in restoration projects, that their working practices can leave a lot to be desired and that the results of the afforestation and felling are multiple and damaging to our environment. However, again, they are not relevant to this discussion.

This issue certains around a small number of protected raised bogs which have been designated as they constituted the best example of what was remaining of this habitat in Ireland. They were designated under the EU Habitats Directive (92/43/EEC) which was transposed into Irish law in 1997, the turf cutters were at that time given a derogation, illegal under the legislation, for 10 years in which time they were to phase out cutting and seek alternatives. The rest as they say is history and have brought us to the point where we are now.

The common misconception that this is a few individual who go out and cut a tiny bit of bog each year by hand to fuel their homes. This couldn’t be futher from the truth as referenced by Valverde et al. 2005/2006, BOGLANDS report 2011 (EPA/UCD), Friends of the Irish Environment report (2011) and by the numerous videos and photos available of the wholesale destruction of these bogs. The black economy surrounding this “industry” is also documented within the BOGLANDS report as are the economic and environmental (negative) impacts as a result of the ongoing cutting.

Denis can you honestly hand on heart say that scientists & officers from environmental agencies agree with your crazy notion of letting this cutting continue on these bogs? If you really have met such people from these organisations they are a) not representative b) incompetent as they work in governmental agencies and bodies and should understand the law of Ireland. 100′s support you doing what? Support your endorsement of the destruction of wetlands through supporting comments like that you have made today?

Finally bog restoration is extremely complex and while it does include restoring species of bog mosses it also requires hydrological expertise alongside practical solutions for actively rewetting the bog and encouraging active peat formation through encouraging plant communities necessary for same.

• It’s an Irish tradition! I hate the bog but it’s a way of life for us Irish. Stupid Government putting its nose in again where it’s not wanted. This goes against our basic human rights to fend for ourselves and provide heating for our families. What the government is suggestion is totally wrong. And on top of that – How in god’s holy name are we supposed to pay for fuel / oil for heating -Has the government NOT seen the price of fuel these days – people are struggling as it is to keep a roof over their heads without having to pay ridiculous prices for fuel. The Government is just enjoying making the innocent pay for their stupid mistakes (which no one has been held accountable for s of yet!). What the Government is offering is a slap in the face to anyone who owns bank rights. Stand your ground on these – don’t let Enda and his petty little muppets ruin more of our country!

• question when was the last time you brought your kids to the bog EMD…………………..Never…………….your kids are probably like a lot of other kids and play computor games, they dont know or care bout a bog let alone where they are……………….so it a delight in this age to see the like of sean teaching his kids something eles and spending time with them thumbs up for you sean

• EMD 05/04/12 #

Sherbet Bell, my kids have been on bogs, in woodlands, on mountains, heaths and farms. They don’t have computers, playstations, Xbox or any of those consoles, the eldest is almost 11 plays football outside all day long every day. The TV doesn’t go on some days at all so I really think you can’t assume because I don’t cut turf I know nothing of the outdoors, positive child rearing or teaching them about the environment. Can your children identify common birds, name plants and discuss reasons why trees and plants are important, maybe they can as I don’t know you but my kids certainly can.

Your argument is pointless here, even if I sit my kids in front of the TV all day it doesn’t make mine or any other opinion less valid. The general public are entitled to benefit from these bogs too, they will benefit in terms of human health for future generations and conservation of these important areas for future generations to learn about and enjoy.

• I agree sherbet…The turfcutters are actually providing a service as they treat the bogs with the respect they deserve.There is no waste generated by the cutting or pollution.The produce a product for their use only.It is city dwellers or greens that have this rose tinted view on what is good for the environment.Turf cutting has been carried out by Irish families for generations without any recourse to modern machinery thus leading to mass production and waste.Its grand for those who just knock a switch on to create heat or energy in their homes.By their actions they are causing more damage to the environment than any turf cutter will ever manage in their or their families life time…

• I think people here are misinterpreting it as all bogs- raised bogs are only 2% of total Irish Bog area and so obviously needs to be protected. This is a valuable ecological and environmental resource that needs to be protected as it is a totally unique landscape and habitat.
    If this was a small hand cut operation with traditional ties maybe i’d agree with a bit more availability- but its not, those that mention tradition are obviously bypassing the fact that most of this is done by machinery and so i would doubt the traditional nature of it.
    Granted the EU and Government have handled this appallingly but the fct remains that this area needs to be protected!

• Would Ireland be better out of Eu?..
    Thumbs up yes
    Thumbs down no
    Be interesting to see…..

• Sean 05/04/12 #

My father taught me how to cut turf, I spent the best days of my youth doing it. I’ll teach my kids the same. It’ll take more than a tree hugging lobby group in Brussels to change that. Eu and fg can go …… themselves on this one!

• EMD 05/04/12 #

It would be a good idea to teach your children about the value of the bogs as wetlands, carbon sinks and habitats before you destroy them completely forever and they are let wondering why their Dad was so shortsighted to allow Ireland’s resources to be lost forever.

• Sean 05/04/12 #

At least my kids will get to experience a bog, it’s wildlife, it character, it’s traditions, it’s secrets. They’ll understand the process, they’ll develop skills with hay knives, slansand pikes, as opposed to developong arthritis in their thumbs from a playstation. They’ll have something very rich to pass on to their kids about OUR heritage and traditions, and will have a far deeper appreciation for our resources.

If you want to protest, tie yourself to the gates of a board na
      Mona plant where more damage will be done to our bogs in 5 minutes than I’ll ever do in a life time.

• EMD 05/04/12 #

Sean, who said anything about protest? There will be no wildlife left for your kids if you keep cutting so you are fooling yourself and that is FACT. Bord na Mona are not the issue here, people like you are who want to keep on looking to the past and refusing to move on into the future as we all have to. You can teach your children far more about the bog by looking after it and teaching them about its value in preventing flooding, for wildlife by taking walks through it rather than draining it, cutting it and burning it.

My children and their children have a right to see these bogs too as Irish people.

• Sean 05/04/12 #

I was being very reactive there and gave you a thumbs down, but I’ve given a thumbs up for balance.

There’ll be no love here I’m afraid, we’re getting bogged :-) down, just disagree and move on, my thumbs are killing me.

• EMD 05/04/12 #

Yerra Sean we all get passionate about our point of view, I actually do understand your comment regarding tradition but sometimes we have to leave old traditions behind and start new ones. It doesn’t mean your children will miss out on loving the bogs if they don’t cut them, perhaps they will just look at them a different way. The bogs are very important to you but they are to me too and I think we as a country cannot just view them as fuel anymore when they long term hold such riches for us if we look after them, stop draining them and cutting them. I must add I don’t like Bord na Mona actions either but this issue just doesn’t have anything to do with them as they are not on protected sites.

Wouldn’t it be nice, if somewhat idealistic, if my kids and your kids were to meet on a bog and share similar views on the wonder of Irish rainforests, our bogs!

• I can think of several other arguments that could be made on the basis that it’s historic tradition and my father taught me. Time change, we adapt and hopefully things get better.

Sadly, your historic tradition won’t continue too much longer as there will be no turf left to cut. I enjoyed many days cutting turf out in the Dublin mountains with my father as a child. All gone now.

• Sean 05/04/12 #

Your missing a major point here, I don’t cut turf for fuel, I cut it as a lifestyle, it’s my heritage, a family tradition….
      My mother gets 20 bags every year, and me the same. We burn Oil, drive cars, and source Power from esb, as im sure You do. (does it not bother you more, that sourcing oil to heat your home and drive your car, has been responsible for the greatest manmade ecological disasters known to date!)

Like I say, bnm do more damage in 5 minutes than I’ll ever do in a life time. There are many more like
      me, we should not have to sacrifice our traditions because of other peoples greed to capitalize off natural resources.

Our identity as a nation is at stake,, traditions define a nation.

• This is not all about allowing a few farmers to cut turf on their own bogs, the way their ancestors have done for centuries. This is actually about contractors who cut a lot of turf for sale, often operating in the black economy.
    There is one good rule of thumb to use here; if Ming Flanagan is against it, the correct answer is probably to be found on the other side of the debate. Of course the camapigners will do his re-election chances a power of good, but that’s just a coincidence; Ming is for the common man, isn’t he?
    With all the geniuses throwing their political hats into this particular ring, I’m amazed that the logical answer to this problem hasn’t been proposed by any of them. If this is all about allowing a few farmers to harvest their own fuel supply, and not about contractors making a pile of money while wiping out the bogs, then there is another way to handle this. Instead of compensation, allow these farmers to cut for the next ten years, and grant aid them to establish a birch or other type of coppice plantation on their lands. If they plant half an acre of trees, in ten years time they will have a supply of firewood that will regenerate as they cut it, and will provide plenty of fuel for them ad infinitum.
    Can’t see them agreeing to this though; as I said, it’s all about the contractors and their black-economy profits.

• Personally I’m not a farmer, but do cut turf, most of the other people I know who cut are not farmers either. Just because you live in the country does not mean your a farmer, get your facts straight!!! Its mainly about not being able to afford oil to heat your house.

• The Turf cutters are just a crowd of bullies trying to impose their will on the people of Ireland.
    The bogs need to be protected and the turf cutters have had 15 years notice. They need to stop whingeing and accept that they are in the wrong.
    15 tons of turf and €2,000 per year seems like a very good deal to me. How much turf does the average house need?

• “crowd of bullies”? For standing up for something that’s been a tradition in Ireland for generations? I don’t know what kind of house you’re heating for €2,000 a year, I can only presume you don’t use oil.

• EMD 05/04/12 #

Sharon, €2,000 a year for 15 years goes towards a lot of oil or guess what you could think outside the box and put it towards solar panels, insulation, geothermal heating, wood stoves etc. But no, you would rather yammer on about tradition, JCB, Hopper, Tractors are tradition now, and generations…..guess what we were catholic in Ireland too for generations and look how that is changing. Traditions become outdated, the tradition died long ago to replaced by large oil guzzling machines, made from well oil base compounds and causing the release of yet more carbon into the atmosphere. some tradition that is? New tradition to be made of an irish nation which has pride in its environment, pride in the health of its people and pride in conserving some of the rarest habitats in Europe.

• Firstly, I don’t recall replying to you, but seeing as you have some innate need to comment on every second post here, I’ll play.

I wasn’t “yammering on” as you so eloquently put it, and I never mentioned the word JCB. I disagreed with the use of the word “bullies” with respect to TCCA members. You, in fact, are coming across as much more of a “bully”. I would very much like to know where you’re getting a year’s worth of oil for less than €2,000, but you are probably opposed to the use of oil too.

Sure – Geothermal heating, solar panels and wood stoves are all great, but how far will this €2,000 per annum go towards installing any of the above in a house currently relying on turf? If you can solve that (without mentioning something that “should have been done” since 1997), then I will change my mind on the issue. I’d also love you to point me in the direction of one case study that proves that domestic turf cutting on a raised bog has significantly damaged the surrounding area and had a negative effect on the health of the local community. This has been going on for hundreds of years, there must be loads of cases? Right?…

I have great concerns about the health of this population, contrary to what you might believe. You obviously feel as strongly about this issue as I do – albeit on a different side. I suggest you put your time and energy into campaigning for what you believe in through the proper channels as opposed to jumping down the necks of other fellow citizens who do not share your opinion.

• EMD 06/04/12 #

Sharon,

I can comment on every post here if I choose to do so, this is a subject about which I am very passionate just as there are/were those posting incessantly about the houshold charge. I am not a ‘bully’ either because I have strong opinions about the subject and continue to present hard cold facts to people. There has already been too much mawkish and misleading spin from the TCCA & Ming around this issue so I’m simply presenting actual facts about the situation.

I have repeatedly referenced articles on this thread showing domestic turf cutting is damaging to bogs, just because something has been done for a long time doesn’t make it right, A long time ago we didn’t have machines, large numbers of one off houses with septic tanks, intensive agriculture, hard surfaces like roads, yards, car parks etc. causing run-off to our rivers and streams all adding to the pressure on the natural environment. A long time ago we hadn’t destroyed the world around us to the extent we have now and man cut small amounts of turf from the large number of bogs available by hand using non-mechanical transport to get it home. Those days are gone, intensification and mechanisation of cutting, draining and the cumulative effects of all the other things I described means turf cutting is not sustainable and on the few protected sites we have it is illegal. It is time for new traditions to be made on the the protected raised bogs, these can have the same community spirit but will not involve the physical removal of turf from the bogs. Furthermore you don’t want me to mention 1997 and time elapsed until now and then you bring up the distant past yourself?

In terms of human health…..effect on ground water, drinking water and effect on flooding on settlements downstream of bogs/fens, the fact that water in this areas, which has had peat released into it, ends up in a water treatment plant and is treated results in carcinogenic compounds called Trihalomethanes being formed. In terms of economy the impacts as described above also apply, flooding is costing the country huge amounts in construction of flood defences in cities and towns, the contaminated waters are resulting in poor drinking supplies which obviously has the impact on health and costs more to try to deal with in our water treatment plants. Then people are drinking this water and so on. I haven’t even mentioned the biodiversity impacts along the way and the value of same to human health and wellbeing.

I am not jumping down your neck, I am disagreeing with you and am perfectly aware of “proper channels” as you put it so why aren’t you taking your own advice and putting your knowledge out there to prove that the turf cutting is not detrimental to the environment, economy and human health? I’d be delighted if someone could come up with a supported argument and solution to allow cutting to continue as at least then I wouldn’t be consistently banging my head against a wall when these articles arise and we wouldn’t be in the shameful position we are in now. I can’t wait for those fines to start rolling in, can you?

SEAI/IEN/FIE proposed a renewable energy package to the government to allow for installation/retrofitting of homes, this would incolve availing of current SEAI grants and using the proposed compensation money. It was suggested that in this case a lump sum payment be made up front for the amount equalling the 15 years and that this should be sufficient to ensure a full refit. I cannot find the link to it right now but will post later if I can find it.

• The bogs are an irish tradition which goes back millions and millions of years. children would be better off if they learnt how to cut turf, than sit on their fat asses on their computers, so sean fair play to you for teaching your kids to cut turf. I think that if we lost this to the eu, we would be absolutely crazy, and we must start to ask ourselves whether we would be better off without the eu. They have taken nearly everything from us, and we must fight to keep this valuable resource of ours. It provides valuable heating to alot of people, which is essential, and if the govt in power don’t like us to cut turf for our fires and stoves, they could compensate the bog cutters and people with money for enough fuel for the year, and it is the least that they can do for us. Last year, I and my husband signed a petition for compensation for the turf cutters, and were proud to contribute to preserving our most valuable of fuels. It is good that we have a public representative in the guise of Luke ‘Ming” Flanagan for the turf cutters to show the eu they won’t take this away from us, when they have already taken away our sovereignty.

• EMD 05/04/12 #

Eu blah blah Sovereignty blah blah

Turf cutters getting compensation

If you really cared about Ireland you would want to look after these habitats without it having to go to Europe. Where is your national pride when you allow a small minority destroy the natural heritage of Ireland.

The EU can’t be blamed here, we had plenty of time to sort this out ourselves but the governments pandering to TCCA and Luke Flanagan means we are now in the shameful position of needing the EU to force us to look after our country. Shame on Deputy Flanagan Shame on TCCA, it is they who are the traitors and betraying the Irish people for generations to come.

• censored 05/04/12 #

So let me get this straight: you want to preserve turf, our “most valuable of fuels” by cutting turf.

Yes, I can see the logic there.

• @EMD – my story….
      My family are 1 of over 100 families that are directly impacted by the designation & we have only ever cut our turf banks as a means to provide heat, hot water and cooking facilities for generations. That’s the practical side of it!!
      The side that is not addressed is the “human face” of our community as a collective. Our turf cutting community are long established families, with the same family names having cut turf side by side for generations. Our turf contractor has never exploited the use of the machine, he has only ever cut enough for the families needs. Turf Cutting has been his main source of income but now he is unemployed. The bog to us is not just a fuel source; it is a life source to our families & our community.

The impact of this designation on our residents (especially on our older retired residents) is a cause of huge concern. It’s not just about cutting turf, it’s the social outlet, the community participation & the mental health outlet that it provides. Our turf cutters from our bog say that harvesting their turf is the best free counselling that you can get. As at various times in their lives; building turf footings was an analogy for problems that they were facing. For those of you who have ever footed turf, you know how back breaking this job can be, so to find it therapeutic is in itself a very powerful statement.

Our families live in or on our bog, we can whistle for our dogs, go for a walk across the bog at our leisure and feel the breeze on our faces and the sun when we get it. Our children have been reared with a knowledge that has been passed onto them by their Fathers, Mothers, Grandparents, Aunts, Uncles to respect their environment. They have a deep understanding of the local wildlife, and can identify, our sparrow hawks, cuckoo, kestrel, owls & snipe, to name just a few. As a result of these traditions, 60 years ago the first of 5 conservation clubs were established to manage game & vermin in or around the towns lands of Mouds Bog.
      In essence our bog is very much a photo album of memories of times past, present & future.

In my opinion, if the history of this is not acknowledged the solutions will not come easily. “We are where we are” because the bodies that were entrusted to their jobs have not just failed but failed miserably. We the domestic turf cutters should not be publicly held responsible for the pending EU daily fines of €26,000 – WE DID NOT CREATE THIS MESS!! – The bodies that were empowered to manage this “project” and who failed to correctly engage with the private bog owners –should be held accountable!

We are not criminals nor do we have any wish to be!
      Thank You!
      Fiona Conlan
      Mouds Bog
      Roseberry
      Co. Kildare

• EMD 05/04/12 #

Dear Fiona, thanks for sharing your story but it does not change facts, you had more than 10 years to change how your community used the bog, 10 years to look at alternative sustainable sources of fuel and sustainable alternative ways of interacting with each other and the bogs.

You may walk the bogs and hear the birds but that will not continue if you keep cutting and draining the bogs. You can keep walking the bogs, that will not change, you will still hear the birds and see bog wildlife, it will increase as the bog is restored and you can make new traditions with the young and old alike. These traditions will be compatible with a modern world where we need to recognise the need to protect such beautiful habitats for our health and wellbeing, to protect our countryside and water and most of all to conserve them for future generations to enjoy.

Your contractor should not be driving his machinery on the bog and taking out huge amounts of this valuable resource, yes I know you said he never took too much but for these bogs any amount is too much. Add in the drainage and the damage done driving large machines over this delicate habitat then the impact is huge and unacceptable particularly in light of their protected status.

You say it is not your fault, well the successive governments from 1997 until 2009 certainly were somewhat to blame for allowing you to continue turf cutting but ultimately you are responsible for your actions and ultimately you can make the choice to live by the law. Yes, the law, the law which Irish people voted for, the law which is Irish as well as European, the law which allowed the government to receive monies which should have been put towards looking after our natural heritage and was squandered instead. You and all turf cutters breaking that law will be responsible for our already broke country paying large fines to the EU, if you were really truly proud of Ireland then for the country you would protect our natural heritage and look to the long term instead of short sighted short term gain.

You are responsible because you are causing this mess because you refused to accept the law of the land, chose to ignore the implications of the legislation for 10 years and chose to thumb your nose at the rest of the country. You are behaving contrary to the law and if you don’t want to be seen as a criminal then you must not breaking the law and behave as a responsible citizen.

€2,000 is a significant sum of money and can be put to good use in buying fuel if necessary or more logically put towards switching fuel sources, reetrofitting homes, investment in community schemes such as coppicing or wind turbine. This is done in other countries so no reason it can’t be done here.

Fiona, YOU have a choice to act within the law and work towards a sustainable future for the best interests of the whole country or you can act against the law and cost us money in fines, cost us the health of our rivers & groundwater, cost us in flood insurance, cost us in flood defences, cost us in human health and cost us our natural heritage. That is your choice but as an Irish citizen I know which I would choose for the benefit of the Irish populace.

• I think your poll is a bit misleading. I was under the impression that they had already been offered relocations and I think it was €2,000 compensation.
    So my answer would be no, they have been offered enough and they should take it.

• Trying again.

If our gov cared about the environment, this whole issue would be framed differently. Evidence from around the world shows clearly that lasting and effective environmental solutions can only be achieved when all the stakeholders fully buy in to the solution.

In this case the main stakeholders have spent time and money researching and proposing reasonable measures to protect BOTH the bogs themselves AND the bogholders rights, and are getting nothing but bullying in return. Both the bogs AND the ancient turfcutting folkways are part of our Irish heritage. We should all be interested in protecting both.

Also it is in our greater interest to resist government bullying, for which they will use any pretext, as a means of making people compliant.

• EMD 05/04/12 #

Ancient turf cutting folkways involves JCBs, Tractors and Hoppers then?

TCCA spent time researching, where is the research because it certainly isn’t within the recent piece of propaganda produced by them. Generally if you publish a document at the very least you acknowledge contributors and authors, show methodology and analysis used as well as acknowledging all sources and references. It was a copy and paste job from NPWS site synopsis, other published works which were not acknowledged and the recommendations made were not based on any hard evidence or study. If so much time was spent researching why wasn’t a sample of the survey questionnaire included in the report along with statistics for each question asked? Simply because TCCA made it up as they went along and are quite simply lying in many of their claims regarding feasibilty of continuing to cut these sites.The integrity of these sites is severely compromised by cutting which is why it must cease.

None of their supposed suggestions or compromises are based on fact or on reality! Simple science supports this, something which this group have repeatedly ignored and lied about.

• Is there anything that the EU isn’t trying to control? Makes you wonder if we are better off in or out of the EU

• I have seen no sound bites from environmental organisations such as the IPCC throughout this debate. the media have devoted all airtime to that crackpot Luke Flannagan. Lately he was trying to say that the government don’t even know what a raised bog is to justify their stance. This is complete nonsense. They have been offered compensation and there are many alternatives to turf as a fuel such as using a coppice system on the birch woodlands that dominate cutaway bog sites.

• Why wouldn’t I be shocked to discover that our esteemed members of government do not know what a raised bog is?

BTW Flannagan while he may be a crackpot said there was disagreement about the status of 2 or 3 of the bogs not all of them. Also if I remember correctly this was one of the things he stood for in the election. Pity that some of those currently in government don’t do the same.

• EMD 05/04/12 #

Do you know what a Raised Bog is Kerry? The definition the government uses is the INTERNATIONALLY accepted definition, so unless you are a scientist with some new information then you should be shocked that Flanagan is making such ridiculous claims.

• EMD, I actually voted for bog protection comes first. All I was pointing out was what Flanagan said and his reasons for acting as he is. Just because something is internationally accepted does not mean that a minister in government knows what it is.

• EMD 05/04/12 #

But he was questioning what government definition is not if government minister knew what it meant! He is now trying to say that Irish experts don’t know what they’re talking about because he thinks the internationally accepted definition of a raised bog is wrong and therefore Irish people (scientists) are wrong. Jesus how low can you sink, ask Flanagan if he knows how to define a raised bog and all you’ll get is some mawkish claptrap about his forefathers etc.

There is no question about the status of the bogs this just more rhetoric and misinformation from the populist that is Flanagan.

• They’re only protesting because the government took away their livelyhood without giving them a viable replacement so yes.

• EMD 05/04/12 #

bull crap

• Most people I know who cut turf don’t use it as their main source of income.

• Wait, thats not what they are saying- they were claiming it was for personal use ie. to heat their own homes- making it a commercial enterprise is totally wrong

• EMD 05/04/12 #

Fiachra, therein lies the reality of this issue…it isn’t about tradition, it isn’t about culture, it isn’t about fuel for the poor wee woman down the road. It is about money, filthy lucre and I daresay oft undeclared income at that. The black economy of turf cutting is discussed within the BOGLAND report which Luke Flanagan has taken quotes from on occasion but not acknowledging that the overall conclusion was that the peatlands needed protection and cutting must stop.

• Forget about way of life, the EU and everything else. Winter two years ago all I thought of was keeping my children warm in the house while it was -15 outside, turf kept us going who can afford oil. And if you do manage to buy some, some btard will try to rob it if they see the delivery. I will cut turf and keep my family warm. The only people I ever see protesting about turf cutting are those who will always be able to buy oil no matter what the price. Or those who have a full time job pursuing different agendas on a weekly basis.

• EMD 05/04/12 #

Again, Bull crap…

You have alternatives particularly if you are on affected bogs, you are going to get €2,000 a year and you could invest in switching to wood, solar, geothermal etc. If you looked into these energy sources then you would probably get grants on top of your €2,000.

This emotive “I want to heat my house and feed my kids” business doesn’t wash, we all have to do that and we aren’t going to get €2,000 to help us along the way either.

• It’s actually €2,000 for this year and then €1,500 for the remaining 14 years if you meet the correct validation criteria. Also that amount is per TURF BANK – we have 2 members heating their home from 1 turf bank, so the amount is split in 2.

• EMD 05/04/12 #

My apologies Fiona as I thought it was upped to €2,000 for the full 15, there has been so much tooing and froing on it that I’m unclear what the final offer was. Look I have sent you an email, hope I won’t regret it. Perhaps we can chat more then?

• Fair play to those men and women who is standing up for our right .The TCCA has put some work into this and i hope where ever Irish people are whether you live in the city or in RURAL IRELAND (Which is a forgotten place right now ) Support those people whether its a few bob or by writing to newspaper or ineed standing with them ,only for we have such Irishmen and Irishwomen like this we would not have the little bit of Ireland left we have ..Connemara and GLOR NA TUAITHE support them .fully and wish them all the best. You can’t forget that rural Ireland kept and still keeping our tradition and culture alive and bog cutting and turf is part of our tradition .See us on__ http://www.mynativeland.info
    Padraic A’Tailliura O Conghaile Chairman

• Where did my comment go?

• EMD 05/04/12 #

If I took you up on this offer, will you seriously listen to me and take on board suggestions and reasons or will you and others continue to ignore me and others who have repeatedly tried to talk to TCCA & Ming about this? Are you really open to working within the law because it can be done? Look I really hate to burst your bubble about co-existence in terms of cutting as it really can’t work in terms of bog protection. I will happily talk to you if I know you genuinely want to talk and will not be using it as an opportunity to intimidate or threaten as has happened to others.

With regard to notification there were adverts on the radio, in the newspapers and letters sent out but you know yourself that turbary rights are so complicated there were bound to be people not contacted by letter. However, I think the governments since 1997 did not have policy in place to deal with this and poor underfunded NPWS workers are being blamed for the incompetence of those governments of sorting this out when they should have had. I am not unsympathetic Fiona but I am pretty angry at the actions of TCCA and Luke Flanagan for dismissing the environmental issue as some fanciful green and EU thing when it couldn’t be further from the truth.

• Its our Bog………oopppss…..lets pause for the angelus…looking into space now…..ah, there we go. Its our Bog, to be sure, Irish Bog, sovereign Irish Bog, the Bog is here, in Ireland, but he who controls the Bog is there, in Europe. You might own the land, but Europe decides what you do with it. Sure isn’t that the same as with anything else, Irish sovereignty has long since departed , not a bad thing really, as we just love nothing more than screwing with it, maybe its for the best, cause once its gone, its gone, Cant fix something you no longer either own or control.

Bog owners will simply have to do as they are told. I know they live on and own Irish land, but it’s European world now and they share it with the environmentalists and together they make the rules. You can’t go on thinking that just because you own land that you can do what you like with it, that is unless your an Irish town council planner, which you are probably not.

• If the, 64 it is now, that don’t care really don’t care, why bother coming onto the poll page and voting.

Actually why bother putting an I don’t care option on there at all?

• no email arrived yet – double check you spelled conlan with the “a” and not an “o” fiona.conlan@gmail.com

• All of a sudden every overweight pensioner is out on the bogs, the way to solve this is let them cut turf the old way and ban the machines.

Add New Comment