TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 10 °C Sunday 26 May, 2013

Poll: Do you think Fianna Fáil will return to government in the next election?

A new opinion poll shows the party are back on top, but will they move across the Dáil chamber the next general election?

The boys (and girls) are back in town...
Image: Julien Behal/PA Wire

AN OPINION POLL published today has shown that Fianna Fáil is once more the country’s most popular political party.

The Ipsos MRBI poll commissioned by the Irish Times puts party support at 26 per cent – one percentage point more than Fine Gael. The poll also places party leader Michael Martin in a comfortable position with a satisfaction rating of 29 percent – level with Taoiseach Enda Kenny.

Less than two years after leaving government, Fianna Fáil seems to be back on top.

But we want to know what you think: Will they return to government in the next general election?

Poll Results:

Related: New opinion poll shows Fianna Fáil is Ireland’s most popular party>

Read next:

Comments (244 Comments)

• I didn’t realise we had such a short memory or a stupid population

• why didn’t you realise that? it’s been glaringly obvious for a very long time

• Stupid population, how do you think that FF kept being returned to power? Only a bunch of idiots would keep doing that.

• as I’ve said in another comment; Einsteins definition of insanity: “doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results” ….

• The big losers here are Sinn Fein. People are angry with the government and where do they go? Over to FF not Sinn Fein, a result that astounded me as much as anyone else. If Sinn Fein can’t gain support at the moment then when are they going to get it?
      Whether they like it or not Gerry Adams is too big a hump for a lot of people to get over, Mary Lou or Pearse Doherty would present a more acceptable proposition & the other parties will be very happy to see Gerry stay in charge as he is presents such an easy target.

• Will someone please think of the children FG/FF/L .Cheese on a truth cracker… when the kids grow up they will hate our guts ye understand that dont ye the sophisticated clowns of Ireland.Do we ever look past our noses in this country.I feel sorry for the kids who have parents in this country i really do lets not fool ourselves anymore we are doing a terrible job looking out for them.Worse than our past and present governments no wonder they dig the whole deeper we are condoning it .SHOCKING SHAMEFUL .Look in the Mirror.

• We are a very gullible people. A crack-smoking Robert Mugabe would do a better job than ANY of the clowns we have at the moment.

• censored 09/02/13 #

All part of the master plan – get all the kids to emigrate, maintain the status quo. We’ve seen this dance before.

• What exactly has Fianna Fail done to warrant this popularity rise?

Sometimes Irish politics baffles me

• Oppositions don’t win elections, Governments lose them.

• It takes “deals” of all sorts to win this one. Remember the time FF surrendered their position to the over-70′s medical cards (when someone reaches pension age, they are usually loaded with money). The elderly voters and parish politics.

• @Ben Gunn, That about sums it up. Even with a reduced popularity from the last election FF will probably succeed 1) Because people will not get out an vote as they feel there’s no point as the parties in question with few exceptions are “all the same” 2) The other parties i.e. SF IND etc don’t have enough tds to form a government unless they form a collation which is unlikely to happen any time soon. With reduced turnout at election these people will be re-elected with about 10% of the overall population voting for them. FG were voted in last time with a 40% (As has been reported before) which equated to 18% of the overall population. *Overall population is the total number of people eligible to vote at the time of an election.

• Well, if the Irish people vote Fianna Fail into government after the mess the FF governments made of the country, then they can expect another crisis down the road – and no sympathy – as it is I have no sympathy for the FF voters from past elections! The current FG/Lab government has been picking up the pieces (very well) and getting Ireland back to credibility on the international stage.Remember Einsteins definition of insanity: “doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results” ….

• @tuppence. “picking up the pieces (very well)” LOL. Don’t you mean “continued digging” after they took over the shovels from FF.

• @Kathy: they weren’t given much of an option, and though things are tough, they are a lot better than in Greece, and I’m sure with FF still in Ireland would be pretty similar to Greece…. by the way, I suppose the thumbs down on my comment came from those embarassed FF voters !!!

• The red thumbs are for your belief that –

” The current FG/Lab government has been picking up the pieces (very well) and getting Ireland back to credibility on the international stage”

I would imagine that you got a couple of laughs out of that aswell – ever thought of a career in stand up comedy?

• @ tuppence. They had plenty of options, the main one being that they make decisions in the best interest of Irish citizens which they DID NOT, WILL NOT AND WONT IN THE FUTURE.

• No, please.

• If there was a choice between that Ming creep and his colourful colleagues or ff I’m afraid I’d have to chose ff.

• I think they will simply by default.

Fail have tried to rebrand themselves, the majority of those that caused this whole mess didn’t get re-elected or run for reelection,

Labour admitted that they knowingly lied in their manifesto to get elected

Fine Gael are worse muppets than Fianna Fail when it comes to Europe. They pledged no more payments to the banks or promissory notes. They lied.

And so who do you have left? Sinn Fein and a bunch of useless independents who are scrabbling for media attention.

This current government is targeting the public service and their families. That’s over 300,000 votes alone excluding spouses and family members that will go to anyone but Fine Gael / Labour.

I expect Labour to suffer that same fate as the Green Party in the next elections. They are all liars.

I don’t believe Fianna Fail deserve another crack of the whip for years to come but Irish politics is too small with not enough parties to chose from.

• Well put, youve just hit the nail on the head

• Scarr 09/02/13 #

@falstaff – I think you’re right, and I’ve always maintained that FF will be back in, albeit in my opinion as a junior partner to FG. FG will have some sort of deal on the table, economy will be steady and people won’t rock the boat in that respect. Lab will be hit hardest with people deserting them to vote for SF, FF.

• I Agree Scarr. Further to your points, neither FG nor FF will want to see SF on the podium for the 1916 commemorations so I expect them to suck it up and form the next government. If push comes to shove, i’ll be voting for whoever keeps SF out.

• Well said Falstaff Oldcourt.

• Its a no brainier, anyone but FF, FG, or LAB. And throw sinn fein onto that list too. A new party made up of individuals who were not involved in leading our country in the past is what required!

• fair play to you for copping that figure, you could add in another 185,000 public sector pension holders. That brings the figure upto about 900,000 votes give or take between ff fg and labour. We wont get any change.

• Why Brenda?

• Appearances can be deceiving, the pic suggests sharp, driven, educated people, when in fact we know they are below average in terms of intelligence, moral iq, and are downright liars, parish-pump merchants an gravy train riders. How anyone can actually be of the opinion that this shower should be re-elected is beyond me. Can we please have smart people, with morals, form a new party and start a new beginning in the political landscape in Ireland?! Is it too much to ask?

• Seriously, a magic 8 ball would be better than FF.

• Irish politics badly needs total reform. I mistakenly believed that some effort would be made with the huge majority the current government has but alas no. FF possibly form part of the next Government , but in coalition with whom , SF, Greens , Labour, from bad to worse I think

• I think you will see a FF/SF coalition. While some might think this impossible log at F who swore they would NEVER enter a coalition at one point.

• Yes it is too much to ask of Irish people, because we moan and groan and whimper on that we have no choices and options and yet not one person will actually do anything! Just look at this thread to see how many people are calling for a new political party, and we all give it the little green ‘like’ then move on and read the next story hoping someone else will do it…

• New political party!! Anyone for a resurrection of the PD’s, remind me who did they turn to for a seat a in power,
      oh and dont forget the Green’s

• They need to! I have actual faith in Micheal Martin and his fresh party.
      Anyone but Kenny and Gilmore!

• Whoever abolishes the Household Tax and equalises the daft Car Tax will win the next election.

http://www.HomeTaxPetition.net

The Irish will put up with a lot, like invasion of their minds, and even invasion of their wallets to pay for bank debt, but not invasion of their own Family Homes – demand for tax/rent by Government “Landlords”, treating them like tax fodder.

• Yes because people are silly

• It won’t make a difference who is in government. This country will just have to sit through this recession.

No matter who is in government, people will always moan about them.

But I do think we are past the worst of this recession. Just personal opinion ;)

• Civil servants are making the real decisions. Can we vote them out?

• Do I think Fianna Fail will return to power in the next election? Yes
    Do I want Fianna Fail to return to power in the next election? NO

• Why were they allowed to poll so many estate agents?

• I am shocked and puzzled to why people are seemingly forgiving and forgetting what the Fianna fail party had done to this country…… The present government is now cleaning up the mess of Fianna fail and they are flying down the polls while the lads who made the mess are getting all the glory??!

• mister 09/02/13 #

What a fickle and forgetful people we are if this poll accurately represents us all. That there is a chance that the party that gave us the promissory note and walked us into the arms of the IMF in the first place could come back in just one election is unbelievable.
    FF is now led by the same failed ex-health minister who sat through all of those bad decisions and voted for them at cabinet. Not all of the FF faces from that shameful era have gone away and until they have then that party should have no place in government.
    This is in no way a case of me cheer-leading the present lot, far from it. But in my opinion, this poll is sickening beyond belief.

• I know Fine Gael are not great BUT the last time they were in government they left the country in the black (thats a good thing) Fine Fail SCREWED this coutry over.. if the people of Ireland vote them back in, they are bloody idiots!!!! And as for that rediculous photo.. its like a bad parody of a bad American politics movie!!!! Stop copying America.. they have their own issues! Get your own identity!!!

• Emily it depends on how this government performs FF in government totally blew it we all know what happened from that. This moment I would say if there was a election FG would do well at the expense of LB but we have very short memories and who knows if this government carries on the road of cuts well FF may come back. I hope FF stays out of government for a long time to come.

• In 2016 FG’s message will be simple enough: this is where the country was when we took over, this is where we are now. Do you want to risk the recovery? And it’s beginning to look like that will be a good story for them to be able to tell….

• FF are a joke – if they were serious about repairing their reputation they would have cleared the decks of any and all faces associated with the last Government…it’s galling to watch them taking the high and mighty position with the current Gov over the Magdalene survivors – these women didn’t just appear overnight!!

• They probably will on the basis that We as a Nation of People are as thick as 2 short planks as this party who brought Our Country to its current state are rising in the polls again. Incredulous are We really that stupid to think that there is only 2 parties fit to govern Our State as We see where this has got Us for the last 90 yrs. Emigration levels never sen since famine times & yet this party grows Our People have short memories well 26% of th anyway.

• @Monaghan- I think you need to look on the other side of the aisle from the “two parties” and you might understand the electorates reluctance to put a different party to Government. Terrorists, a plethora of crazy independents and a left wing perpetually engaged in civil war.

• @monaghan, I think the problem is people are afraid of uncertainty, instability. The default switch of the Irish voter is “better the devil you know”.

• We Irish fought long and hard to dispel the idea that we are stupid.We shouldn’t have bothered!!!

• “Shure didn’t FF get me brother the job in the Garda and me all seeing granny the blind pension. Ah yes a few of them made a few million on the sly and yeah they destroyed the economy but De Valera was a good Catholic !
    Shure everybody deserves a second chance so I’ll vote for them.”
    Any half sane person would get to f..k out of this country if that gang of criminals bet anywhere near the reins of power again.

• We are being governed by Europe now, financially at least. They tell us what to do and we have to comply. I would be sickened if the Irish people forgot who got us into this mess.

• Richy 09/02/13 #

Shower of bastards. Simple as

• Given the astounding level of ignorance I read through the comment’s section on this website every day, it does not surprise me to see their resurgence in the poll. Shur dey fixed da road afterall ! We deserve them.

• Clearly you don’t read the comments section, seeing as most regular commenters here can’t say enough bad words about parish pump politics.

Nice try though, maybe someday you’ll get a bad word in that’s actually true.

• Not just parish pump politics I refer to, but general sheer ignorance and tripe populist comments.

• everything that isn’t fg lapdog type supporter comments is ‘populist tripe’, but its not populist when fg get elected by default due to public backlash against ff, which by they way is the only way they ever get elected, then they invariably mess everything up, some day you fg sycophants might realise they arent popular for good reason, goes to show just how much they are messing up when a party that made such a mess as ff did, are over taking the blueshirts in the polls again, the day all 4 of the main parties in this country disappear cant come soon enough

• Isn’t there enough evidence lying around that could be used against FF so as to ensure they could never run for election again? I mean couldn’t what happened last time they were in power disqualify them from even running! Hey, it’d be great if we could get them declared as an illegal organisation. That’s actually no more than they deserve. Unfortunately that won’t solve our immediate problem of how to run out the treacherous bunch that hold power right now. I’m sure something will come along fairly soon though. Something big enough to bring them down.

• censored 09/02/13 #

Wow, an erudite and clearly thought out comment from OShea … or maybe not.

• if people vote them in goverment again after screwing the country over the 11 years of power and especially on the night of the bank crisis. well your idiots. ff should disband as an apology for what they have done, both brian cowen and charlie mc creavey should thrown in jail. yeah ppl blame fg atm but ff put this country on its knees, at least remember that next time voting. personally i’m goin to spoil my vote as there is no one that deserves it atm.

• Why do people forget Bertie?

• Never in my lifetime would I ever vote for FF again. The irony of the whole thing is, Ahern, Cowen, McCreevy and the rest of the FF Mafiosa are set for the rest of their lives while for the rest of my life and the rest of Irish taxpayers lives will be paying for it. For F**k sake will Irish citizens ever wake up and grow up. FF were useless, are useless and ALWAYS will be useless.

• As was said in the main article last night, there is a major health warning for this poll. 34% undecided.
    If these are included, it would leave FF on 19.4%, FG on 18.6%, SF on 13.4% and Lab on 7.5%. The scattering of Independents would be on 14.9%.
    The undecideds obviously come from the 2 Government parties. As the results above aren’t that much different for the opposition parties, apart from a 3-4% increase for SF, since the 2011 GE.
    So the question is, where will former FG and Labours soft support go at an election?
    Answer that question and you can do my lottery ticket tonight.

• Bi88les 09/02/13 #

OMG! Are people a load of ignorant goldfish with no memory at all? That shower should be in jails awaiting trial for economic treason, not topping polls.
    If they get back in, you all deserve it!

• Obviously – havent we found oursleves being led again by a FG/LAB Coalitoin. I remember them in the 80s and have never voted for either of them. At the moment FG/LAB = FF no difference. As for those saying that we need new political parties – check out both of these

Direct Democracy Ireland, and, Sli Nios Fear both on FB.

• People’s memories are very short. A party filled with corruption and lies that ran the country into the ground…. Wait a sec… I can’t remember what party I’m on about…

• Every country gets the King it deserves!

• FF has proved itself repeatedly to be unfit for government ….. Its endemic corruption has very nearly destroyed the countrys soul …..Ireland deserves better.

• Depends on when an election is. Have one tomorrow & I think Sinn Fein could have strong support. In a few more years unfortunately yes FF will definitely be back in power. One thing we know for definite is that history is bound to repeat itself.

• if ff get back in to power ireland well be a third world country with in 6 months god help us

• Until every Fianna Fáil ex-minister or TD associated with the Bertie and Biffo administrations has left the party I would never even consider voting for them.

• Here’s to a new political party come the next election…

• What is the difference between FF and FG?….they are the same.

• Harry C 09/02/13 #

Does venting our frustrations and anger at politicians give us as a society a mechanism to avoid the real question? For ten years or so this country was riding on the crest of a wave and collectively nobody was shouting “stop this madness”. It runs a lot deeper than just politics. The politicians were reflecting a lot of what society wanted and in the end the country got severely wounded.

• If they do, I’m leaving.
    It make it real clear to me that things will never change in Ireland.
    Austerity and emigration is the only thing we are guaranteed under either FF or FG.

• It probably doesn’t matter anywaY they will be told what to do by there bosses in the e u . end of story.

• Irish turkeys say the would prefer to vote for Christmas according to poll.

• Yes because history will repeat itself, short memories, in brief FF ruin the economy, Fg Labour step in as part of rainbow goverment and make really unpopular decisions to balance the books.people are so disgusted that they re-elect FF who repeat our political history

• Has nobody ever heard of Direct Democracy Ireland ?
    You can vote for them if you can’t stand the others .

• Of course they will, contrary unfortunetly to the comments on the thread. There are a mainstream of muppets that will swing from one bunch of tw@ts to the other every 5 years. The funny thing is a lot of these people aren’t as badly affected by the actions of the right wing governments as the people who don’t vote. There needs to be a concerted effort by the lower/working classes to get out and vote next time.

• Wouldn’t be surprised by a FF and SF coalition next election, not that it will make FA of a difference. We need some new parties.

• directdemocracy.ie

• No chance. It doesn’t matter who is in power. The task to restore the country to any sort of normality is monumental. I really don’t think the average citizen realises the damage that has been done by successive governments. The figures don’t lie. When one looks closely and ignores the propaganda and spin the picture is grey at best, but probably closer to black. Just to get our % of debt to GDP to 60 from 120 over these next years is probably not achievable. But hey! Whoever is in power can try, but the rest of us are going to see our lifestyles eroded even more. Sad Sad state of affairs.

• No unless we’re complete morons in this country.

• No they will NEVER see power again. Crooks

• @Mike Clinton – yes, a big difference. FF runs the country into recession, the coalitions then take painful measures to get us out again. This is the second time this has happened.

• Valerie – fool me once shame on you, fool me twice shame on me. Did you get a special “deal” done by your local FF TD/Councillor? Never mind, lets re-elect them and endure pension cuts, fuel allowance cuts, free travel cuts, etc.

• Fianna Fail, Fianna Gael, Labour, Sinn Fein Who cares? same bullshit different party! moan moan moan!

• Over my dead body they will!

• I’ll be voting for SF the only party who stand up against the banks who FF/FG/Lab just seem to lay down to. Plus SF are pro jobs and oppose austerity. FF/FG what’s the difference? one was pro treaty and one was anti treaty. What logic is there in voting in a party who are essentially the same except for small differences in their views on minor issues? Wake up people!

• Swings and roubdabouts.

• On the whole Fine Gael aren’t doing to badly. Yes, I think differently when I see the amount of tax I pay every month but the cold, hard truth is that we’re more financially stable as a country than when they took over.

• Really Paddy ?!! – I suppose that is why Noonan came out today and said that he cant rule out the possibility of us needing another bailout!! Check his comments out on breakingnews.ie

• Will vote Direct Democracy Ireland or Independent next time.

• FF dug us into the hole we’re in through not having a clue what they were doing. The promisory note is proof of that! However, FG/LB were going to do the world when they got in before the election. They were going to tell the EU this, that and the other… Joan Burton attacked from the oposition day after day about the cuts to low income families, you’d have thought she was going to don a tea towel and do a mother Theresa then and there in the chamber at times. And what happend, they got elected. Enda Kenny etc showed they had all the backbone of a slinky when it came to standing up for us against the Troik, IMF, ECB etc… and mother Joan did a Jeckyll & Hyde and threw the poor and vunerable to the wolves. None of them deserve to be in power. From now on I’m going independant. At least, if nothing else, they’ll be a thorn in the backside of whoever gets in. Whatever the powers that be want is usually good for them and bad for us.

• Speaking as a member of FF (before someone else points it out thinking they’ve unearthed a massive secret!), I voted NO.
    Generally speaking, FF is still in the midst of a long-term renewal & polls don’t change that fact…
    Tbf, while some of the comments above are mean-spirited (& politically expedient) in their tone, they’re not wrong. FF’s recent poll success says more about the current Govt than anything else & every FF member I know would prefer if FF were voted back in on its own merits & not the incompetency of this Govt.

• Ger 09/02/13 #

Where’s the “I hope not” option?

• Is there a difference ??

• If we want change,we have to do it ourselves.Instead of running down a new political service,at least check them out first.directdemocracy.ie Have a look at their mission statement,then decide,but ffs,dont write them off,without at least having a look.Will that be too much of an effort,for the change you all seek.?

• Ben Gunn 09/02/13 #

The opinion poll will have been influenced by Reilly’s interference with the HSE over the primary care centres as well as Hogan and Howlin’s gombeenism with their local hospitals. Furthermore, everyone will have seen, for the first time, the effects of the budget on their pay packets and benefits.

This will have been forgotten by the time of the next poll. Fine Gael will be hoping for a positive response from the IBRC promissary note deal.

Longer term the Coalition will have a more serious problem in getting re-elected. Labour are toast. They have completely sold out every sector of their natural constituency. At best Fine Gael will never exceed 35% but that will be a very big ask after four years of tough budgets with no prospect of a dramatic all in unemployment.

So Fianna Fail/ Sinn Fein coalition anyone?

• The Galway tent is making a return….not that it ever left

• Lol

• No

• The Irish people are looking for someone to stand up to Europe and stand up for the people of this country. Sinn Fein sliding up the rear nicely.

• As a young woman, I have committed to not leaving this country in spite of knowing I will probably not be able to afford to have children for a very long time. I justify this decision by telling myself that the people of this country are not stupid enough to vote the same w**kers back into government again and that by the next election we will be open to new solutions and radical reform not in the interest of elite corporatism but in the interests of the people. If FF are elected again in 2016 it will break my heart, and I will probably end up reneging on my commitment to stay. Other solutions do exist, they just lack media attention. Direct Democracy Ireland is a promising example of one, a political service as opposed to a party whos model reflects that of the direct deocracy system in Switzerland. I would suggest that the journal.ie and other media outlets start focusing some attention on these solutions instead of pigeon-holing the electorate into thinking that they have rigid and limited choices when it comes to who to vote or poll for. Anyone who doesn’t act now to educate themselves on a better way forward for Ireland only has themselves to blame for their childrens enslavement.

• directdemocracy.ie At least have a look.

• directdemocracy.ie
    It’s a new party check out the website.

• …let’s try that again…take 2…swings & roundabouts…

• A leopard may disguise itself well amongst its background but out in the open, it’s still a leopard and they NEVER change their spots!

• 26% of the country suffering from amnesia it seems

• And the poll of one has it! So that’s a yes :-)

• Bertie says go raibh mile mile maith agaibh for the pension

• with healy rea as teashop, and mattie mcgrath as minister for finance, ming flanagan as minister for health god help the irish for he definitly made us mad.

• I think they will. Fine Gael and and labour have had major pitfalls this year with their desire for abortion and refusing to apologise for the magdalene laundries they really are driving themselves to the political graveyard to RIP with the many other garbage politicians we have had in the past.

• macca 09/02/13 #

It doesn’t matter a jot whose in power! Not one iota!

• I never thought i’d vote Sinn Fein. They are the only party standing up for the common person. The fact they aligned with an organisation that defended Nationalist & Catholic people when the Irish State wouldn’t, somehow makes them terrorists. I’m not trying to move this into a debate about a United Ireland etc etc… But Sinn Fein are the only party that have the island of Ireland interests at heart, which is why I’ll be switching my vote to them.

• That comment has been used verbatim already in this thread. Have you some originality per chance?

• Maybe its worth reiterating because it just might be true?? However, it would still be supporting party politics. And party politics is one of the root causes of our troubles, because the elected representatives put party before people every time. The kind of reforms we need go much further if we want proper democracy and a true republic, rather than the farce which has thrown away sovereign nationhood.

• how much did fianna fail pay the journal for articles like this one? maybe if I pay you the same you might write an article on how my feet don’t smell as much as they used too.

• All you have to do is look at the trend from the beginning of the Free State to realise that sadly FF will be voted in to power again despite the sh*t they have put this country through. That is why I voted yes. After that FG will be voted in, after that FF again and the cycle continues :(

• Going by the latest polls and some of the comments above I would compare a large part of the Irish electorate to a domestically abused spouse who keeps returning to the abuser thinking they will stop their lying, cheating and slapping them about. The Irish electorate would need to liberate themselves from their a users FF, FG and Labour once and for all.

• Why dont you check out DDI before putting them down.It has worked in Switzerland for years.Bailiffs unheard of there.No corruption,cronyism,because the people have the power,and not the politicians.Anyone standing for DDI will be fully accountable to his/her people who put them in office.

• No wonder the 6,000 Canadian Visas were snapped up in a record 3 days! It’s a bleak future ahead on the Emerald Isle.

• The only good thing that can be said about FF is that they are not SF.

• not a hope of them returning to power, this latest poll take with a huge pinch of salt!!

• I simply cannot believe this poll. Do the Irish people have no respect for themselves to think they would vote back In the shower who got us into this mess in the first place. Don’t get me wrong I am not jumping up and down about the current crowd and if there were another way of choosing the right people I would be all for it. But let’s face it Michael Martin is no doubt a very nice man and certainly doesn’t come across as as much of a sleeveen as his predecessors however a Political parties ethos does not change they will always be associated with big business and moneyed individuals and shame on the Irish voting public if they let themselves down at the next election by forgetting the legacy Fianna Fáil have left the next generations and how can we hold our heads up in front of them if we vote them in again. Shame on you who do.

• @ Steve, can’t agree with you about Charlie McCreavy. I didn’t like him but he did tell us we were spending too much. We have him to thank for the SSIAs and if he had been let stay on as Finance minister, we might not be in this mess.

• Stupid comment. He famously stated “if we have it we’ll spend it”. Also, his legacy of tax breaks on the top per cent created a gaping hole in our public finances. Vote with your brain, not with your back.

• Mc Creevey wasnt the worst (compared to the rest of the FF crew). When he pointed out that we were spending too much and the giveaway budgets had to stop the government exiled him to Brussels because they didnt like what they were hearing

• Mickey Martin will be the next Jack Lynch. Just remember that you.heard that first from this professor.

• I’d consider voting Fianna Fail if they got rid of two of the biggest chancers in the party, Micheal Martin and Willie O’Dea.

• I thought about liking your comment for the getting rid of Willie ODea and Meehaul Martin, then I re-read that you would vote Fianna Fail.

• I blame Martin & O’Dea for forcing my kids to bail out fraudsters and criminals as they are still in Leinster House. They’re the last of the greedy to benefit from Berties power trip, so they should go. FG & Labour have done nothing but lie to us since they gained control. As for SF, I would never be so desperate to vote for a party still involved in terror and intimidation.

• But vote for parties involved in economic terror and political intimidation. FF/FG/Lab/SF no difference, none capable of governing at the moment.

• M Bowe 09/02/13 #

Has this 26% forgotten already that FF voted with labour/FG to pass the IRBC bill. Cronies together to legalize their illegal promissory notes and
    But Anglo firmly on our backs for next 40yrs.

• At least give sf a chance to see what they are like!!

• Not a chance, SF lie through their teeth about their pay, and are the worst for party political games. Disgusting party!

• Sinn Fein disgraced themselves yet again the other night with their populist, caricature fantasy economics politics.

• Hard to believe I’m gonna say this but I fully agree with you joe, SF are on a different planet when it comes to policies and economics. (Let’s not make a habit of this)

• SF successfully opposed water charges up north, SF successfully defended health and education up north. SF are providing a constructive opposition to hold this government to account. FF supported FG’s recent bank deal (unlike SF)

• I never thought i’d vote Sinn Fein but I 100% agree Regonald. They are the only party standing up for the common person. The fact they aligned with an organisation that defended Nationalist & Catholic people when the Irish State wouldn’t, somehow makes them terrorists. I’m not trying to move this into a debate about a United Ireland etc etc… But Sinn Fein are the only party that have the island of Ireland’s interests at heart, which is why I’ll be switching my vote to them.

• Bombs don’t check your religious or political affiliation before exploding.

• And turning a blind eye to human rights abuses doesn’t help either. In an ideal world it would of been the Defence Forces on the ground, but they were to busy on duty abroad whilst there was problems at home.

• same shit ,different party.

• TBH whoever gets in they will have their own interests central and not the peoples

• I was gobsmacked when I heard this about FF, how can we be so utterly stupid. I really feel full of despair. There is truly something lacking in us, we are a dysfunctional people.

• Can we somehow agree to get the S.N.P to run here?

• The question is not do you think Fianna Fail will be in the next Government The question is do the Irish people have the intelligence to know exactly what their voting for.We are now finding out more than ever and not only through our drip feed media the level of incompetence and airbrushing that has gone on under countless FF governments they have created an electorate that does not think rationally but only gets carried along in a wave of public opinion orchestrated by the media who are still and always will be FF backers.I ask ye a simple question have FF ever really considered the fact they sold the country to the E.U for nothing the Soldiers of Destiny have surely decided our Countrys and its people and its unborn childrens Destiny and if they were’nt happy with the complete obliteration of Irelands self determination they are wholeheartedly assisting FG/L campaign of treason .Remember this the Irish people had no say on the TITANIC debt surmounted by these 3 parties in the late hours of the night TWICE.You decide but think and think twice and the picture becomes alot clearer put this scenaro into an everyday day problem we all face and you would not only tell them to leave you would beat them from your neighbourhood .

• The poll released in the press can only have been skewed by abortion debacle also fumbled by Fine Gael and Labour. The lesser of two evils still remains an evil. The further away from party politics we get, the closer to democracy we get! And that’s not what we have at present! A direct democracy approach is the only future for this ailing country. They all had a go and all royally failed! Time for a fresh fair new approach without sgpin, deceit and double standards! Rant over!

• Has to be a scam such a poll as people openly discuss that FG/LAB agenda is the same as the last FF government.People may say they vote FF but secretly will vote for SF and ULA plus Joe Higgins will gain in any election as more cuts in services and taxes bite a larger section of society.remember MM was a minister in various FF governments that destroyed the very fabric of the country and families by joining a IMF agenda to save FF above all other circumstances were a secondary including the states finances. Bank Guarantee deal like the latest deal by FG/LAB this week was a reincarnation of the underhand smoke filled back room deal and to protect FF. FF in power well its time to leave this kip and let the gombeens Irish live in splendid isolation of a lifestyle choice of their own making.

• Aye, unfortunately there are a lot of sheep out there

• Michael O’ Leary would sort it all out in a few weeks. Why can’t we get someone with brains like him to run the country.?

• Merkel was right. We really are a nation of pixie heads

• what difference anyway

• Remember what Liam Cosgrave once said” The electorate are 90% thick” of coarse the will vote FF Back in at the first opportunity . The political party’s put up their own hacks and you have a choice(No choice) but to vote for Dumb or Dummer We have no say on who we vote for,that is why we need a new political system, this one is corrupt and is not working and it can’t be fixed. We need to educate the public on political matters,they are watching too much Coronation Street and reading too many Red Tops. You would be surprised at many people think that we got a good deal on the promissory note, not understanding that there should never have been a promissory note never mind a deal on same. they believe everything they read in papers and hear on the news, and don’t realize that both are part of the same corrupt system. I despair.

• If they did you’d have to put democracy aside for the good of the country and ignore the idiot vote unfortunately.

• I hope they will be back. People thinking FF are to blame for the global recession are a tad dim. FG have not yet bridged the country’s debt to revenue ratio which is now 120% even after this weeks “heroics”! CP agreement still in tact. Job in the public sector still a job for life. I think the new leaders of FF are a tad more honorable and caring for this nation.

• I have reported your comment because it is just too crazy, sorry had to be done.

• ahahahahahahahahahaahahahahahaahah that would make a good comedy sketch

• jaysis, someone as deluded as the fg supporters on here, didnt think it was possible

• Paul 09/02/13 #

They’re not to blame for the recession but they are to blame for the banking and fiscal crises. They are responsible for inflating the boom: we had Norwegian visitors at work in 2008 admiring our stupidity for building infrastructure during a boom, they stash the cash for the next recession and then build. Their stupidity and corruption blew the boom and wrote blank cheques for their mates.
      On a human level, they are responsible for the fact that my parents have three clocks on the wall to keep track of what time they can call their kids. Watch the heartbreaking footage of the parents seeing their kids off after Christmas. That’s FF handiwork.

• Yeah blame the “global” crash for FF policies, gavin. Like it wasn’t FF who sanctioned tax breaks on the top 10 per cent, like it wasn’t FF who ignored the advice of experts on blanket guaranteeing banks. Instead of skipping the guarantee, like it wasn’t FF who created a budget deficit of 32 per cent of GDP, or a high pension system for quangos.

• I’m going to report your comment too and I’m not sorry!

• We are all in debt for life living in this country. How else do you want me to spin it. FG were giving a job to do. Are they doing a good job? This is where opinion divides. The idiots wanting to report this comment are part of the problem. We should all have our own subjective views…

• Paul 09/02/13 #

The job they were given to do was to clean up the FF mess. Now lots of us are annoyed at how they’re going about it, especially considering what they promised and how they’ve broken those promises, and criticism of FG is well deserved. But putting FF, the people who made the mess in the first place, back in? It just beggars belief. They caused the disaster. What are the merits of putting those gobsh!tes back in? This isn’t even the first time they’ve brought the state to bankruptcy. FF spend and create debt then we’re broke again and then we have to put FG back in to fix it, this is the swings and roundabouts of Irish politics.

• ‘A tad more honorable’ is not gonna cut it. Take responsibility for yourself instead of placing you power into the hands of muppets who 1) you dont know and 2) dont give a shit about you. All of the resources exist now for us to be responsible and represent ourselves. Shying away from this fact will only cause more pain.

• They all lie and promise to get elected, we fall for it every time. We need the best and most successful business men to come in and actually see where they are going wrong

• We already have a business class in government (Fine Gael). Most FG TD’s are entrepreneurs but the one problem is their policies are anti-people in terms of property tax and water charges. I personally favor cuts to spending in return for repealing water charges and property tax. I also favor a wealth tax on existing and retiree Quango’s, high earners, an end to tax breaks, standardize discretionary tax reliefs, etc.

• The boys are back in town! ‘Hon Fianna Fáil!

• If this bunch is the best we have then we really are in worse trouble than I thought! I don’t see any new ideas. But Miceal Martin would make a better Taoiseach than Enda Kenny. I do believe it’s time for a new generation to rise up and sort out the problems we have inherited from this generation of morons.

• I will vote Fianna Fáil in the next election. Because the Fine Gael elected representative here hasn’t been heard of since been elected.

• It’s the old age pensioners, they are a greedy bunch and are bought by FF policies. We’ll have to wait another 10 years at least, when they’ve all gone to the pearly gates with the pockets on their shrouds!

• I detest them but the reality is that they will most likely form the next government with FG as their partners…..That is why I voted yes to this poll…Sinn Fein wont enter government with either FF or FG unless they are the bigger party…Labour are in wipe out mode so that leaves FF/FG….no difference between them anyway…

• I am at least heartened by the sheer number and the level of lucid argument being exhibited on this post!

• Can’t see results of your poll michelle

• MrBuzzB 09/02/13 #

Supporting the same political party time-after-time rewards the bad of that party. Voting for the best party at the time rewards the good work of that party.

• Direct Democracy all the way !

• Not a ……. Hope

• So we’ve forgotten who put us in the s@@@ .. They don’t deserve a second chance.
    In fact there is not a party out there who actually cares about the people of this country ,, to much rub my back bulls@@@ going on..
    Easy pensions should be taken away and each politician should be paid on a performance rate on how well the country as a whole performs ???

• The Unionists from Ulster would be more honest, As for SinnFein, ??? , If the Irish people want total isolation from the rest of the world and end up living in dire poverty with mass emigration ,Then, yes vote Sinn Fein.

• The irony of it Fianna Fáil in when most of the crap is sorted, surely not!

• The last thing we need is for any of the present parties to be in government. Looking back on the track record of all of them there’s a long, long history of graft, corruption, greed and self interest. The party political system is toxic and against the public interest. There has got to be a better way’ Fianna Fail may return to government on foot of the present shower being unpalatable in the extreme. But it won’t be in the public interest, far from it.

• FG/FF Rightwing supremacy. #seemslegit

• To hell with the lot of them. What we should do is bring in foreign politicians to sort out this mess. It seems to me that the only jobs done right are the jobs done by foreigners. That’s why we hate them so much.

• They will not be getting my vote nor will FG Labour I will be looking for a strong independent

• Not a chance !!! Who in their right mind would vote for the corrupt gangsters that put us here In The first place and also how could anyone vote for them knowing Mícheál Martin is the great TD that has done everything in his Power to ensure that Irish water is kept fluoridated !!!! Mass medicating a population with poison way to go Martin you cretin !!! FF/FG labour & the greens , traitors to the Irish people

• Yes because we are suckers for punishment

• The damage is done. The economy will limp along for a time but Ireland will eventually have leave the Euro. The burden of national debt is far too high to be sustainable and we need to position as a feeder point to ensure that the next generations move out of Ireland as soon as possible for their sake, not ours.

Yes, we will hear that the recession is ending, that the green shoots have been spotted and that inflation will take care of the national debt. That is all harmless. It will make us feel better and, if anger is not a policy, then perhaps delusion and illusion can be.

I assume that our long maturity are designated in euros. I asked the Department of Finance and the CBI but it is not their policy to reply except to FoI requests.

• The point being that it is not especially important who holds the reins of power from now on because the damage is done. When the patient is finally terminal, the physician is only relevant from a palliative care perspective.

• bless them feel sorry for the rest of us

• it will be to late for a change of politicians,, our promissory note will not be one huge mortgage on Ireland,,, they should not be allowed to sign away our future for our kids,,, there was not one word when all these people made money off the bonds but as soon as they lose , the people of Ireland have to pay dearly,, they did not even try and negotiate these bonds,,, these are wealthy Germans with money to spare that took a chance,, sorry they should have to pay some also,,, if our government were strong enough and said no,,, then negotiate to half,, that’s what negotiation is,,, they are just selling us down the liffey,, i am the sorriest person for voting fg in and now realise why they have not been in power,, they only line the pockets of the rich,, their own pensions,, and a pay hike,, omg they are ruthless

Add New Comment