TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 11 °C Tuesday 21 May, 2013

Poll: Are you worried about garda station closures?

Garda Commissioner Martin Callinan has said that cutbacks will not affect the standard of policing, but are you worried about the closure of 100 garda station?

Image: Eamonn Farrell/Photocall Ireland

YESTERDAY, GARDA COMMISSIONER Martin Callinan attempted to reassure the public about garda cutbacks, saying that the closure of 100 stations by the end of the year would not affect the standard of policing.

Callinan said the reduction in the number of stations did not represent a diminuation in the force and stressed that gardaí would not lose contact with the community.

However the cuts have been criticised, particularly by groups like Age Action Ireland, following a spate of aggravated burglaries in the homes of older people in recent months.

So how do you feel about it? Are you worried about the closure of garda stations?

Poll Results:

Read: Callinan: Gardaí will not lose contact with community due to cutbacks>

Read next:

Comments (82 Comments)

• I live in the Dublin city centre, so I always feel close to the thin navy line, but I would be worried about anyone I know that lives in rural areas.

• Lisa…
      Yes. The rural area is a different story altogether.
      Even at the best of times it would take a squad car at least 15 minutes to where I live.
      So to a certain degree you have to rely on self preservation.

• Fozz 25/01/13 #

@stray – assuming said squad car was sitting at the station.
      They don’t need a station…they can patrol as effectively without one and if we take the money from the stations and buy more cars then the response times should be better.

Buildings do not stop crime.
      Enforcement f the law should prevent re-occurrence and we need more Garda patrolling for that and a justice system that actually punishes perpetrators.

• JayK 25/01/13 #

Living in Cork city center I’ve never had the Gardai arrive in less than 30 minutes, and that included a call over a potential rape (45 minutes to respond). In the end it wasn’t, but we didn’t know that at the time.

• Julie 25/01/13 #

That’s if they actually spent the money they save by closing Garda stations on cars, they have no intention of doing that, that money is going straight into shite banks or over to our eu dictatorship

• Fozz 25/01/13 #

@Julie, this is true but we are looking here at the consequences and not the reasons for the closures (I think most can agree the reasons are not ideal!).

So I believe we can save good money by closing buildings that we need to maintain 365 days a year but are only manned maybe a few hours a day during the day (when hardly any crime happens).
      Good times or bad there is no reason to maintain these and if people feel that this will increase crime then I believe people don’t understand how crime operates and criminals are in no way fearful of a building that is closed up at night.

Yes, if building closures are paired with a reduction in patrols then this is an issue.
      But the two are not and should not be so strongly linked.

• Julie 25/01/13 #

I think you are wrong, where I live the guard lived in the station there was a house joined at the back, now it is one to be closed down. There are many other ways to save good money and people’s safety should not be one of them! How do you know that the guards were only in these stations for few hours a day , my guards station is on that list and he was there a lot of the time. Save money in other areas before you put people’s safety unnecessarily on the line.

• More cars by the end of it you won’t have enough Garda to man them. They made five units out of four so stretching resources and they want to get rid of more Garda. There is no comeback from this. They will run it into the ground. It is not a profit making organisation but that is the way they are treating it.

• At the risk of sounding a bit over dramatic,It is like turning a light house off. The rural Garda station is more than a building to those who live in the countryside.It is a beacon that provides a sense of comfort and safety to those who live in rural Ireland. It is one of those kind of things that seem to tax the understanding of city folk.You have to live in a rural area to get it.Post offices,Churches and Schools and Garda stations are part of the community at large in rural Ireland and they should be preserved.They are an integral part of the fabric of rural Ireland and Their closure is part of the reason for the depopulation trend that is happening as we debate.You cannot meet someone at the patrol car. You cannot wait at night for your lift home at a patrol car.A patrol car does not provide a safety zone for people who may not have transport and may not be in a mobile reception area and may rely on a friendly neighbour passing by.Taxis are not an option for all due to the expense and the limited hours they are available….the list goes on and it only begins to make real sense if you live in the country,A place a lot of people describe as home.

• After watchng last weeks late late show, I went out of my way to purchase a samurai sword. BTW Im trained in 5 different forms of martial arts (all black belts) and have a phd in tanto fighting from japan, so I should be fine.

• how right you are wood it not be better for the country to get rid of some councilles the senate and cut the number of TD.s for starters. wood that not be a lot better way of starting

• They should definitely get rid of the gardaí guarding the Dáil. In fairness, like.

• Ever get the feeling your being sacrificed for people who think they are a superior to you.Well get used to it because our Government has.

• chilli16 25/01/13 #

Or a Doberman called ‘Harry’ as in ‘dirty Harry’.

• Back in the eighties, I covered Kilmainham District Court for the Evening Herald. There were lots of cuts about then too. Here’s how one of them worked…

…Garda was giving evidence against a drunk driver. He told the judge that he was alone in his patrol car, due to cutbacks, when he saw the defendant’s car moving erratically. He stopped the car and arrested the driver only…
    …well, the driver was a bit aggressive so the gardai didn’t feel safe travelling with him alone in the squad car. So he radioed in.
    A second car arrived, again, carrying only one garda. The plan was for the second garda to watch the prisoner as they drove back to the garda staion only…
    …well, the second garda said he wasn’t comfortable leaving his squad car unattended. So he radioed in.
    A third squad car arrived again, carrying only one garda.
    Garda Three then remained at the scene making sure cars two and three were safe while gardai One and Two brought the prisoner to the garda station.
    Great money saving scheme.
    One drunk driver.
    Three gardai.
    Three squad cars.
    Now, they’re at it again.
    Plus ça change, plus c’est la même chose.

• This is all happening regularly again. My area is covered by a district hq and 2 smaller stations. If the lone Garda in the small station needs to make an arrest he has to wait for 2 guards from the hq to assist him. If the call is a serious one he has told me that he can’t go on his own but has to wait for a car from the hq which is 20k away to assist him. If the hq car is busy with another call then so be it. It’s a joke

• I’m more worried about the decrease in GARDA numbers. And more than likely the decrease in resources available to the dwindled force left behind after all these cuts.

• There is no need to have these stations that only open for a few hours a day. Most of the stations are there since the local Garda cycled to the reported crime. I’d be more concerned about the current number of Gardaí available to do the job.

• Im surprised he didn’t use the auld reliable of “smart, intelligence led policing”…….he’s like Father Jack with “that would be ecuminicle matter”

• I live on the cusp of D7 ad D11, both areas blighted by pockets of antisocial behaviour. Cabra Garda Station is already closing at 9pm due to cutbacks and is scheduled for closure. The area has a very high population of elderly people who are very worried – and rightly so. The local shops are no-go areas after dark because of the little shytebags hanging around outside, taunting the security guy on the convenience store and shouting racist crap at the staff in the Chinese takeaway and, when they have them, throwing fireworks at passing people of any age or infirmity. Station closures mean that this behaviour will not be tackled, the yobs won’t be moved on. People’s patience will only stretch so far and I doubt it will be long before vigilantes rear their heads. Gardai are not allowed to complain about the closures and if they tell someone that they can’t come their aid because they are the only one in the station, they are fined VERY heavily. Shatter needs to wake up. Law and order are clearly abstract concepts to him. He is just Marie Antoinette with a bad dye-job.

• Cutting staffing levels.
    Not replacing staff.
    Asking staff to take a leave of absence.
    Under equipped.
    Unrest in the ranks with threatened pay cuts.
    Garda stations being closed.
    And inspector clueless still says it won’t effect the level of rural policing.
    He is so detached from reality it’s scary.
    He has his 24/7/365 armed Garda security so why should he worry .

• Very worried that ‘Some like it hot ‘, the legendary kebab shop next to quinns in drumcondra has closed and might never re-open :-(

• I’m from the suburbs of Cork and it once took 75 minutes for the Gardai to come and remove a man who had forced his way into our house, in broad daylight, and refused to leave claiming someone was trying to kill him. My brother went outside and there were two vans full of people. The guy said he wasn’t moving, and tempers had to be cooled as we had no idea whether he was armed, a biter, or whatever.

The Gardaí were called several times to explain that this man was still in the house, that we didn’t know if he was armed, that there were people outside after him who might try to gain entry themselves at any moment in time. The only reply given to my mother was that they were very busy answering a number of calls.

75 minutes. In the second most populated city in the state. When they eventually arrived, they knew the guy by name, and he went peacefully once they arrived, and there was no sign of his pursuers at that point.

If you think that people in Dublin or Cork are safer than you because they’re closer to big Garda stations, then you’re seriously deluded. All police response is co-ordinated from centralised Garda stations, and those big urban stations are only big because they are covering a larger population.

Having 2 Gardaí working 9-5 stamping passport photos, with no ability to leave the station for a call out, does not make your community safer.

• Similar story in Limerick when I was teenager. Happened on two guys robbing our house, they took off and I rang the gardai telling them the direction they were running in and that they were probably heading for Cal’s Park.

About an hour later two detectives showed up at my house, when I asked what happened they said they had missed the call cause they were on lunch. Their investigation comprised of them asking me if a CD stack on the living room had been knocked by the intruders, I said I didn’t know but probably not. They took the CDs away with them anyway and that was the last I heard about it.

I wish i were joking about that. Took me about 9 months to get the CDs back too. :-/

• Julie 25/01/13 #

I had an incident like that was minding a house for a friend in tralee and a foreign man force his way into my house I was alone and rang the guards, they had to keep ringing because they couldn’t find the house not too hard to find to be honest, eventually I got the man out of the house and the guard were still ringing this was 15 mind later I was a 5-6 min drive from the Garda station, when they rang I said I had got the man out but didn’t know where he had gone they just orite your grand so and didn’t even bother calling to house to make sure the man had gone still confused about why they acted like that, that really was my only interaction with guards so I don’t know was that a once off thing

• So it wasn’t just us then.

I don’t like to knock the Gardaí as an organization. I’ve found them great when I’ve actually engaged with them. I just find them chronically under-resourced, and badly prioritized and rostered.

It’s not the Garda who arrives late who’s at fault, nor the person who directed them according to the rules and guidelines given to them. It’s a failure of the system to provide enough boots on the ground at the times their needed, along with a failure to recognize personal civilian safety as a top priority in policing.

• Time to buy a gun

• If you’re not worried, you’re not sane. Less Garda stations = more crime.

• Regular patrols at night are more effective than a station open a few hours a week.

• The Garda Fleet is in a shambolic state.. There are over 200 cars not replaced in past 18 months and its getting worse.. Every part of the country needs the fleet updated with modern police vehicles with on board computers to allow data entry and background checks in real time.. GPS tracking and ANPR facilities.. This would seriously cut crime and alleviate the fears of the rural communities.. But rural communities must get there fair share

• Great opportunity for rent a cop business! Get 2 old white mondeos and start charging for patrols!

• following a spate of aggravated burglaries in the homes of older people in recent months…..replace months by years, ….this is just a red herring, the Garda force is being re organised and made to get off their arses,,,,the press forget to mention that the vast majority of these stations close at 6pm anyway,, and its after this time that most burglaries take place, ….the real question lies with the courts, how many of these crimes are committed by thugs out on bail or early release??, while on bail they go on a crime binge knowing that even if they get 20yrs it will be concurrent on the 12 months they will get for the original crime, over to you Shatter!!

• There is an assumption here, is there not, that Ireland has been crime free up to these closures?

• Less Garda stations, means less gardai and therefore more time waiting for the Gardai to get to you if u need them
    Less money for budgets therefore no patrol cars imagine the stupidity of rural stations with no car- call comes in Garda has to wait for another car maybe 20k away to pick him up- how crazy is this-
    Pay cuts means low moral all of the above mean a dangerous situation I believe
    Government speak Is just nonsense saying there is no problem – tell those people to get out of their offices and walk around and meet the victims of crime
    They must think we are all idiots

• Fozz 25/01/13 #

“Less Garda stations, means less gardai and therefore more time waiting for the Gardai to get to you if u need them” ???
      That is nonsense and shows a complete lack of understanding of the issue.

Garda Stations are not storage facilities for Garda.
      Most people want more Garda visible on our streets so the station is only needed to start and end the shift and the Garda can drive to and from them for that.
      They don’t all hang out there like firemen waiting on a call.

• Less rural part time stations does not mean less Gardai, the reality is the one man stations are run by a Garda from the bigger stations who drives over for a few hours a day in his personal car to stamp a few forms. If a crime happens outside of the station it’s not that one man Garda that’s dispatched to it. He’s affectively doing admin work for the day. If the commissioner promised more money to improve the Garda fleet from the savings made from the station closers I think we would all be happy with that because it would mean more patrols could take place. But he isn’t.. It’s all just a cost saving measure and there won’t be any extra patrols

• Two mobile patrols to replace each closed station

• Not worried they certainly wont close the finglas station ha

• If you’re living in a rural area and your local station closes I’d imagine you’ll feel less safe. Take the elderly woman in Donegal who was burgled and assaulted twice since November, for example. There have been lots of elderly people tied up, beaten and robbed of their belongings in recent times.

On that point, I’ve wondered would it be a good idea to have soldiers help with patrols at night in high risk areas. Let them be briefed by community activists and Gardaí in the area they patrol. They can then radio any suspicions activity to Gardaí on their patrol. Surely a decent deterrent. Isn’t part of the army’s job description to carry out extra duties, just like when they assisted with flooding victims in the past?

• Fozz 25/01/13 #

@Noel, that poor woman to whom you refer would have not been at all better off if there was a Garda station next door as it would have been closed at 6pm.

• Close them all and use the money we save to renovate museums.

• I had a serious robbery on my property last week in Dublin, less than a mile away form a Garda station, I reported it and I am still waiting for them to turn to investigate it.

• Depends. If this is fully because of a lack of cash it’s a worry, if they have reviewed each station in Ireland and found that they can keep the standard up and save money by these closures than that’s a win-win situation and should be supported.

The Garda Commissioner is saying it’s the latter so I’ll trust him and say No.

• It is absolutely about saving cash regardless of what the commissioner says. You have to remember that he was appointed by minister shatter so he will say whatever he’s told to say.

• Not worried at all. Looking at the PhoneWatch ads it’s clear the Gardaí work solely for their customers and respond within minutes. Phew, thank god the gardaí are working for free with PhoneWatch

• In that ad they had the phonewatch premium package with the wee blonde girl distracting the baddies with keyholders and schtuff while the gardai arrived. The normal packages don’t include her :o(

• On the bright side though, we could create some much needed employment by buying off a few of the deserted stations and convert them into cannabis grow houses. How perfect a plan is that? Guaranteed there won’t be a cop for miles!

• @dodge
    If it is that easy why not put a Garda sign on every building in the country.
    Applying your formula that would eliminate crime in one simple step.

• Well at the end of the day, I’m voicing my displeasure at stations being closed in general. It’s sad to see it happen. And as I said in a previous comment, out in rural areas Garda stations are a lot fewer, so the closest station could be a lot further away than it would be if a station closed in Dublin, Cork City, or Limerick City.

• Fozz 25/01/13 #

@rs…smart answer..I like it!
      @dodge…Garda do not need a station to do their work as there should be more Garda patrolling as opposed to sitting in a station (that opens a few hours a day at most anyway).
      So the stations are a non-issue regardless of where you live.

If a crime is happening then we call 999 and a Garda gets dispatched.
      Generally they won’t be dispatched from some station where they all hang out waiting for your call – they get dispatched from a patrolling resource.
      So a Garda in a building is a lot less useful to your and your crime than a Garda in a car/on a bike.

But this is all missing the point as people don’t want more Garda,…they want less crime and see more Garda as a means to that.
      But the real means is the courts and the justice (or lack thereof) system that can lock a man up for 6 years for tax evasion on garlic (who should be free but paying back the money + a fine) but let a man walk who has 76 convictions (because his mammy didn’t love him the poor fella)…let him walk out and walk into yer house and burgle it.

This debate on buildings is disguising the issues that we are all really concerned about.

• Ok so what happens when the garda arrest someone for burglary? Do they do the file in the back of the car ? Print it off in the boot? Pee into bottles eat from the glove box? And where the cell area for prisoners? You sure your not a Fine Gael policy planner?

• Absolutely not. Garda stations need to be manned so less Gardai on the beat. We need these stations closed and get the Gardai staffing them out on the beat. Better mobile patrolling meets potentially better response time especially in rural areas.

• The problem with the guards is their priorities. When they closed the garda station in Kealkill in West Cork a few years ago the organised reaction from the guards in the area was to go on a rampage of raiding anyones house who had a poly tunnel or long hair looking for marijuana. From what I know, it was approx 100 raids with dogs against people who were to no threat to anyone. They wanted to make it look like there was a drugs mafia epidemic and get the station reopened and keep guarda numbers up in the area. When I see the guards react in this manner, going for easy targets that does nothing against the real threats to rural dwellers (Burglary). I can hardly sympathise with concerns over reducing their numbers. And don’t even mention how they are also on the rampage with speed traps to sap more money from a public that has none to give. And don’t forget about the Garda army that has been given to Shell up in Mayo costing the taxpayer tens of millions. Close a few more stations please until these blackguards get doing the job the public needs them to do.

• No not less Garda stations more crime, rather less Garda stations = less money spent running them and spent on administrative costs and more money spent on ensuring the Gardai can do their jobs effectively, instead of manning stations. The need for small stations in every town expired a long time ago with the dawn of modern technology. These are an unnecessary cost that we can afford to cut out. In think this move is a good one, and one which should have been implemented a long time ago.

• You live in Dublin Tara ?
      Go to an area in Donegal, Kerry, or Galway or any other isolated area , then you might appreciate
      other people’s anxiety.

• I’m guessing you live in Dublin or a bigger city, but when you live out in the country and you’re nearby station is closing down, and the next closest one is in town, it’s a bit of a bigger issue.

• Eileen, you beat me to it! Great minds think alike!

• Eh, thanks for looking me up but although I study in Dublin I am actually from Galway Eileen, a very small village in Galway. I understand the concern completely but the reality is that most of these stations are not serving the communities needs properly anyway as most responses are coordinated from a centralised station. There is a Garda station in my village yet when an incident occurred Gardai came from a local town because the station was closed. All I’m saying is that if these resources were redirected into ensuring more Gardai could drive around on patrol, show a presence, be on call etc I think it would have the same, if not a more useful impact on small communities.

• Similar situation in my village.
      Guards are in station for a few hours, then vanish. Next nearest station has been (unofficially) closed for years, since Sergeant retired.
      Used to know local guards, now no idea who they are or when they are present. “Community policing” – what is that?!

• Tara
      Don’t be paranoid …. I did not look you up and if you are paranoid you change your privacy settings on you fb a/c Simples :) I asked were you from Dublin . okay so you’re not . My point still stands . .

• I don’t wear a tracksuit or live in a lower Socioeconomic area , feel safe enough , the Gardai never bother me …

• How about introducing special constables like in the UK?

I’m sure there are literally thousands of local busy bodies concerned citizens who would like to help with day to day policing.

• Yehh Yehh Yehh , 100 Gardai stations gone .!! SURE NO WORRIES PEOPLE , They will be replaced with something new and spectacular , Technology out there now a days .!

• Garda stations dont police its gardai on the beat ,,this is 2013 and modern ways have come on stream ,, also its about time that all gardai had guns and were trained to use them. The rest of the world knows force is met with force but its clear our gardai have a phobia and are wrong about stations and guns,,,,,harryprice2@live.ie

• If the police force would spend more time protecting the public from the oppression of a dictatorial government and their corporate and banker henchmen, then they might have more support from the public. Let’s face it they’re on the public payroll, and blindly follow the dictates of an oppressive gov’t. They are paid by them to do their bidding, they serve the gov’t, not the ordinary citizen! . . . They can’t be found when an elderly couple are being tied up and robbed in their own homes (through lack of resources), yet the resources are there to stop somebody doing 5km over the limit to collect revenue for their masters. Now when they’re being screwed by the same shower of dictators (as the public in general have always been), they come looking for support from the same public they have been squeezing for revenue for their masters. I say, go ask the gov’t for support!

Add New Comment