TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 12 °C Monday 20 May, 2013

Poll: Have you paid the household charge?

There’s exactly one week to go before the deadline for paying the charge and the government insists there’ll be a last minute rush. So we’re asking – have you paid it?

Image: Niall Carson/PA Wire

THERE’S EXACTLY ONE week to go before the deadline for paying the controversial household charge with recent figures showing that more than 80 per cent of households have still yet to pay.

A rally against the charge is taking place in Dublin’s National Stadium this afternoon with several thousand people from across the country attending. Campaigners say the charge is unjust and are urging people not to pay it.

Meanwhile, the authority in charge of the €100 charge has said it expects a last minute rush in people making the payment by the end of the month to avoid late payment fees.

So today we’re asking: Have you paid the charge?

Poll Results:

More: Full coverage of the household charge >

Three anti-household charge TDs unhappy with national rally >

Read next:

Comments (145 Comments)

• F*ck data protection Phil, take mine outta Bertie’s pension pot!

• when it made a fairer system and they take away the levy then ill pay. high cost of living prsi,paye, stealth tax and 2014 up to 1400 euro for a house tax I would like to ask any minister in favour of this where do they expect us to get the money. Jesus I am sorry I bought a house its much easier to rent don’t have the added cost of maintance and this shite tax.

• Look the deadline is nearly upon us and how many have yet to pay 75/80%. When will they get the picture, people are as stretched as far as possible! I have not paid and never intend to, AND that includes any fines. Send me to jail I will feed my children first!

• I love their logic.

They can’t send bills/invoices to property owners because they don’t have a database to work from (despite the Land Registry Office or whatever it’s called now) so they need everyone to register.

But now they say they’re going to send people round to knock on doors. Despite not having a database of doors to knock on.

• Tom, Herr Hogan is on record saying he could not live on less than 100 grand a year, and he expects us with Paye, Prsi, USC, VAT OF 23% on all our bills, pay for doctors, dentist, eye exams, glasses, car tax, car insurance , life insurance, ( with a extra 2% bailout Quinn levy) uniforms, school books, voluntary school contributions, and still pay normal household bills, food and petrol, on average industrial wages.

• Typical council tax £1100 pa plus £400 water and sewerage. Latter not paid if on private water and septic tank. However weekly bin collection, street lighting and reasonable road repair, subsidised country buses, fire brigade and ambulance thrown in!

• No, and i wont pay it.
    4 kids and a wife to support.
    Busting me proverbials as it is.
    Have saving that are in the hundreds, not thousands.

Hand over 1 hundred to part pay for banks that have lost nothing!!!!!
    or use it wisely on me kids?

Mmmm…

• Yawn

• Dave 24/03/12 #

It’s got to be the banks…

• go ta bed
      back to sleep wit ya

• well dave,
      u can either look at the reality of the injustice going on in society
      and say its getting boring guys, just accept it
      which u seem to have,

or in my case make a stand for what i beleive in.
      Ur choise is urs and my choice is mine.
      terribly sorry that my financial position and social conscience is boring the pants off ya

• Toorkell above, you won’t be yawning next year when Big Phil sends you your invoice for €1400. Doormat.

• As I said before.
      Phil Hogan is getting desperate.
      Desperate because his plans have not worked out as intended.
      His latest idea is to instruct all Co.Councils to literally knock on peoples doors to collect 100 Euro.
      Wow. What a plan.
      Wow. What will this cost?
      Hang in there until the end of the month or possibly a little longer.
      I can see this charge faltering.

• I see banks may be looking for another digout. You better dig deep lads.
      http://www.irishexaminer.com/ireland/spectre-of-more-bank-bailouts-looms-188231.html

• And how easy it is for the ministers to say “It`s only 100 euros, when they themselves are EXEMPT from even paying the household charge!

• I’m just going to jump in here to debunk the thing about ministers being exempt from paying the household charge. It’s something that’s come up quite a lot in threads about the household charge over the past week or so – understandably – but one of our reporters did a bit of digging and found out that it’s not true. Ministers do indeed have to pay the household charge:

http://www.thejournal.ie/government-ministers-homes-not-exempt-from-household-charge-389793-Mar2012/

• Christine, what does this say in Q/A # 142 in this: http://debates.oireachtas.ie/dail/2012/01/26/00111.asp

• That’s what our reporter looked into. It turns out that the answer in #142 is phrased really, REALLY badly, which has led to this confusion.

When it says that residential property ‘owned by a Minister of the Government’ is liable for the charge, what it means is property that comes under the jurisdiction of the Minister – such as army barracks, which is technically owned by the Minister for Defence – will not have to pay the charge. Ministers will have to pay for any personal properties that they own.

Guessing there’s a lot of red faces in the government this week given the amount of confusion caused by that answer in the Dáil.

• Thank you for the clarification on this, Christine… Goes to show that if they can`t phrase something correctly, one wonders about their governing abilities too! Considering that the government is there to serve it`s people, they should be liable for the household charge as well! No exceptions. If it`s good for the goose….

• Ministers may be liable for the charge.. But dies anyone honestly think they ate going to pay it themselves? It will go down on their expenses and won’t cost them a cent!

• @Stray Mutt!

Agree with you! I broke my sides laughing when I heard it on the radio this morning! He honestly thinks that ordinary staff members from the Co Co offices are going to drive into estates, get out and knock on nearly every door to ask for EUR100! He got to be joking. If I was a staff member in Co Co I would tell him to” f . . k off and do it yourself. If you think I’m going to take dogs abuse (rightly so) at doors of houses and also probably have a dog set on me, you can sing for it” That’s what I’d say to him! NOT GOING TO HAPPEN!!!!!

• Do they realise the expense of sending people out to go door to door. you have to pay for their car costs (petrol etc) you also have to get them insured and train them on how to collect the levy and since there is thousands of people gone from the councils what services are they going to sacrafice to send people out. he is getting pretty desperate now!

• #Joseph. Sorry to hear you’re struggling, I had a very tough few years myself. But you or I struggling won’t make your contention that the 100 euro is going to pay for the banks any less true. I posted you a link yesterday clearly explaining that only 5% of our deficit this year was caused by the banks. You read it and you commented on it but you still complain about the banks today. So are you confused or lying?
      http://economic-incentives.blogspot.com/2011/11/deficit-and-banks.html
      “If we do a simple counterfactual and magic away the €62.5 billion we have pumped into the banks, the projected deficit for 2012 would fall from €13.6 billion to €12.8 billion or 8.0% of GDP. Eliminating the effect of the bank payments would knock 5% off the deficit; 95% of next year’s deficit is not related to the bank payments.”

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/finance/2012/0323/1224313766388.html
      “But the guardians of the public finances were as inattentive to the risks they faced as were the guardians of the financial system. They pumped out every cent that flooded into the exchequer with no consideration of the sustainability of revenues streams.”

• Yes it is for the banks and the *ankers who destroyed our country so let those very same *ankers and bankers sink but they are not getting another red cent from me

• #Bernadette.The two articles I linked above clearly show the the vast majority of the money we’re repaying isn’t going to the banks. So unless you’ve got some economic experts that says otherwise I’d suggest you’re mistaken in your belief. It’s important to realise that just because enough people repeat an untruth it doesn’t become true.

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/finance/2012/0323/1224313766388.html
      “Three claims are frequently made:
      * Most public debt is a result of taking on banking debt;
      * The economic and budgetary outlook would be transformed if banking debt could be offloaded;
      * A bailout would not have been needed had it not been for socialised banking debt.

These claims are, respectively, plain wrong, wrong and debatable.”

• they can’t be wrong and debateable,,unfortunately clarification does stand in the way of alot of political hay,,,,and journalistic hay!!

• There are three points, one which is plain wrong, one which is wrong and one which is debatable. Not seeing any logical or journalistic issue with that. Of course I also posted what Seamus Coffey, lecturer in Economics in UCC said…
      http://economic-incentives.blogspot.com/2011/11/deficit-and-banks.html
      “If we do a simple counterfactual and magic away the €62.5 billion we have pumped into the banks, the projected deficit for 2012 would fall from €13.6 billion to €12.8 billion or 8.0% of GDP. Eliminating the effect of the bank payments would knock 5% off the deficit; 95% of next year’s deficit is not related to the bank payments.”

Perhaps those who believe something other than the above would have some proof for it? Very easy to blame the banks on the price of cheese or whatever they are being blamed for today without any proof.

• @ Gary.
      You are correct to point out the government overspending is not limited to the banks.
      The ‘Cantillon effect’ is attributed to aa 18th century Irish economist who described the effect a bubble has on asset prices. He describes how certain areas of the economy expand to unsustainable levels during a bubble. These activities must again return to a size proportional to the overall size of the economy to permit sustainable growth to return. While this has already happened in construction and other property related areas, it has not yet happened in banking or in relation to government spending.
      http://www.theasiamag.com/cheat-sheet/the-cantillon-effect-explains-property-prices

• @Sean. I like how you worded that and ignored most of what I said. The government has pumped money into the banks but *95%* of our deficit this year is nothing to do with the banks… FACT. Yet all we hear about is the banks, no to taxes and no to austerity. But when you realise the overspending is not due to the banks you quickly also realise that there will have to be new taxes and more austerity. There is absolutely no choice. Even if we dropped the banks tomorrow we would still need new taxes and austerity. Some people in here are in fantasy land.
      BTW, I’m curious, you say that there hasn’t been a contraction “in banking or in relation to government spending”. But government spending is down at least 10 billion in the last few years and the banking sector has been heavily cut back. So it’s appears to me your contention is incorrect. Though maybe you can explain to me how you’re against austerity but seem to also want government overspending stopped. As that doesn’t makes sense.

• Easy for the Bastards in power to say it’s only
    €100. The amount of money these gits make on their basic wages is obscene! Let alone their big fat expenses. So to answer the question, no, not a chance in hell will I pay.

• B7584 24/03/12 #

No! Had no intention of paying it all along & after the last 7-10 days soundbites from Phil & Happy Gilmore I without a doubt will not be paying it.

All this rubbish about they can just check the land register, they cant. The government are in no position to collect it or force you to pay it. It will NEVER be collected from utility bills or at source like your social welfare or wages.

Roll on March 31st, i cant wait to see what horse shit they come out with then.

FG/Lab are not a government, they are lying bullies.

• If this tax isn’t supported, you can expect a tax elsewhere to pop up. We’re paying whether we like it or not

• perhaps so paul,
      but until our glorious leaders really start
      standing up for us
      they can get stuffed as far as im concerned.

• G’day, Joe !! Brace yourself for a shock. I didn’t pay so far & after all the bullyboy tactics from the Govt recently over this, they can go swing for it. I detest bullies & the only way to deal with a bully is to stand up to the bully. Nearly 75% haven’t paid so far. from what I read. That is not to say I’m against the idea of it as long as the cost of it is fair, the money does go to where it is meant to go & everyone – no exceptions – makes a contribution. That last point was where I had the problem with it. All the exceptions. But – no. I do not take kindly to having the nation being bullied & handbagged into paying. They messed this up & it certainly does not inspire confidence.

• Declan
      Im proud of ya darling! X x

• No, I won’t be paying. I will see them in court first. Not remotely worried by Hulk Hogans threatening tone. The whole thing is a fiasco. When/If you receive your ”Household TAX” Leaflet, buy a stamp, put said leaflet in an envelope, and post it to Phil Hogan, Grovine, Co.Kildare. Keep our postmen in Jobs.

• No and I’m not paying. Prop up a defunct bank, I don’t think so. Take the pensions from the rogues who have brought this country to its knees over the past decades instead of crucifying the ordinary Joe Soap. Oh……and maybe Gilmore could put in a few quid from his corrupt deal, yeah, I think he €500k for that site!!

• I’d happily pay the €100 if the government was being honest about it. The services that it’s supposedly going to fund are already paid for from other sources (PAYE, etc) – so why not increase those to cover the costs of services? The fact is that this charge is going into our exchequer, part of which will doubtlessly be used to cover costs of those services, but I imagine the majority of it will also be used to pay off our bailout.

People in business will know that notifications in writing are standard practice, especially when money is involved. It surprises me that householders have not been notified in writing about this new charge. Surely there must be a piece of legislation that says that people must get notifications in writing (akin to notifications about upcoming referenda, and so on)? You can be sure that there are some people who do not have internet access, maybe limited access to TV or radio. Are they to be criminalised now? Indeed, I wouldn’t know much about the charge myself if it wasn’t for the controversy it’s causing: I don’t think I’ve seen any advertisement to get it into the public domain.

The law might say we have to pay it, but that doesn’t mean we *have* to pay it. Societies and nations – including our own – grew out of civil disobedience and putting ourselves outside our personal comfort zones.

People not paying isn’t an attack on the household charge alone, it’s a symbolic attack on everything that’s going on.

• after 2 pay cuts, increased taxation, USC, VAT increases, mortgage rate increases, petrol increases, carbon tax, €2200 a year management fees, i have no more money!!! you expect me to fork out for an imaginary tax and bertie walks away with €2080 a week of tax payers money, you can get the boat!! CANT AFFORD IT AND WONT PAY!!!!!

• No, I won’t pay it, or any other property based tax.
    I have paid enough on my property in relation to stamp duty, planning fees (they are a hidden €15k that’s on everyones house bought in the last decade.
    Fund local services? Any other jokes?

• @Gerard Murphy,

You forgot one thing Gerard, your house is now worth about EUR80-100,000 less than when you bought it! Yet, you are still paying a morg. for the worth of the house when you purchased it. Not fair, very unfair.

• I’m on holiday in New York and the the New York Times is well impressed with our refusal to bow down to what has been described as a medieval style tax which the Irish last paid to a british monarch centuries ago!

It’s this simple….. if they want to raise taxes, raise taxes! Increase income tax and then there is no if, ands or buts!

The fact of the matter is the government are being devious and they are treating us with contempt. People are saying other countries pay these taxes. They pay a percentage, not a levy or a charge.

Anyway, we’re not like other countries…. have you seen what our ministers and TDs pay themselves in salaries and pensions.

The big question is “WHO ARE YOU GONNA VOTE FOR NEXT TIME?” If you’re not going to pay, then vote for those who have stood up for us…. FF, FG, Labour, Greens, etc. can kiss non-paying backside!

• The Whole country financially is on its knees. We know who caused it the Government and Bankers, but who do they want to bail it all out the poor working Man and Woman. With our wages going down with new taxes and levys, a private medical system that costs a fortune and Oil steadily raising what are the Government doing to help the Irish Family……Nothing. 100 euro this year what will it be in 5yrs time ????? thats the question.

• No and I don’t intend to.

• if the tds and ministers take a 50% pay cut ill scrape it together someplace

• No intention of paying this unfair, unjust charge EVER, I don’t care NO WAY.
    Enough is enough, they are in no position to lecture or bully us, they lied their way into power, they are the highest paid politicians in the world and the most useless .
    NO means NO
    The only circumstances in which I would pay would be the following;

*The bondholders are either burnt completely or paid back over the next 150 years.
    *The government are held accountable for lying to the electorate in the last election, and this is made a serious offence.
    *I get refunded the huge amount of stamp duty I have already paid on my house in 2006 .
    *The bankers, developers and politicians responsible for this mess are imprisoned and promptly.
    *County councils and government are reformed whereby any wastage warrants imprisonment.
    *Salaries and pensions of our elected elite are reduced to realistic amounts and any inappropriate behaviour by them means forfeiting their salaries & pensions and imprisonment, simple as that.
    *A fairer taxation system whereby those who can afford to pay, pay and those who cannot don’t.

When these reasonable demands are met I will gladly pay my properly designed property tax.

Great to see the Irish finally wake up too btw

• Serious Q,: if it does get scrapped because of mass non compliance, what happens to all the €100′s paid in already by (law abiding, or stupid,??), folk.? Will they be refunded, does ANYONE know answer to that please,?

• Absolutely agree with you Tom, the salary of our politicians are a joke Angela Merkel runs a country of 60 million on a salary half of ENda Kennys with a little nation of 4 m yet they keep increasing the taxes of people in low paid jobs trying to raise families. It was nausating when Enda gave his and Joan Burtons Advisors (God help us) a pay increase of €37,00 when they already had a salary of €100,00 we should all be storming Leinster House with the injustice of it
    who do they think they are. It saddens me to think of the wonderful men who lost their lives for this country only to have it as seen in our latest tribunal run by a crowd of gangsters

• Probably, Tom. Various vested interest groups, have no doubt targeted websites such as this, and others in the past and will no doubt do the same in the future. In the past I have made mention of the” Preacher’s ” warnings of the toleration of things that will affect our children, but to no avail. May I suggest an apt update?. If you tolerate this, your grandchildren will be next.!

• I’ll try this point form…
    1 – We’ve been paying for local government through central taxation for decades. Income tax, VAT, whatever…it goes to Dublin and they’ve been paying the councils.
    2 – The Troika or IMF or whoever it was says, ‘thou shalt impose a property tax’, for whatever reason their twisted little minds concocted up.
    3 – Our Government cuts 160 million from local government budgets and tries to impose this tax to ‘replace’ it.
    4 – We still pay the same taxes to Dublin. This is just on top…to keep the same ‘services’ as before. Nothing changes except for how much we pay.
    5 – Other countries’ local taxes include fees for rubbish, fire service, ambulance, roads, etc.. We pay for them on top of our taxes…both the ones that go to Dublin and this new one (even if everyone paid it). No talk of changing this.
    6 – They are going to try to blame us for any reduction in local services, even though it’s them who’ve cut 160 million from the councils’ budget, while we’ve all paying more tax this year than before…and that’s without this charge.
    And they plan to increase it….still with all our current taxes remaining no doubt.

People telling us to ‘buck-up-and-pay’ should look at other countries and consider average income, total tax paid (both blatant and ‘hidden’), government services provided through those taxes, both central and local and then what percentage income is left over on average. And make cost of living comparisons too.
    I don’t have figures, but I very much doubt people in Britain, Germany and Holland are made to struggle to the same degree as many people here will be struggling if these muppets get their way.

Our glorious leaders don’t seem to have any clear notion of what the end result of their policies will be, even if they ‘succeed’. By that I mean the sort of society we’ll have. They just chase numbers and policies it seems, without considering long term social costs. Or if they have, they don’t seem to be sharing it with us.

Anybody here feel like there’s any sort of long-term positive goal we’re heading towards, or, as I suspect is more likely, have you only a vague feeling of heading towards more and more costs and stress for most of us?
    Too few Irish people have any sense of hope for a positive future, and the government is largely responsible for that.
    And how many of us actually believe that the TDs and ministers are being honest with us and sharing the burden? Suffering anything more than token cuts to their own finances? Not many, I suspect.

If we don’t draw the line somewhere they’ll only keep pushing us to whatever limit they can, while protecting themselves and their wealthy cronies.
    As it says in the song, ‘if you tolerate this, your children will be next’.

• and yet they still enjoy a lot of support, its hard to fathom why, this option of picking ‘the best of a bad lot’ is not acceptable, why vote to to employ someone into a job with a massive salary and pension, when they are just laughing at you behind their hands? its just a cop out to say if you dont vote you dont deserve a say, what about if you dont vote because all the candidates in your constituency are a bunch of slitherins that just want to get paid? in the last election not one candidate approached me to seek my vote, all i was exposed to was the lies that were published and broadcast, its true Tom, our children will be next, but theirs wont…

• True peasant.
      Politicians are crap.
      However how can we get change? Surely by not voting you’re helping the establishment types get in.
      Last election I was in Clare. Nearly all candidates were FF/FG slant (or further right!) The leftie ones didn’t stand a chance.
      Still by voting for a no hoper you show that you’re not happy.
      I hope to be able to vote for the muppet party next time. really hope someone starts that up in my new consistency.

• no i wont be paying it

• not paying

• It’s not for local services. There here already. It a Anglo bank bail out tax. They should call a spade a spade

• It’s not an Anglo tax. That’s a separate issue. We’re paying that on the never never.

We have a gap of 14Bn between what we take in a spend.

Make no mistake about it, all these taxes are propping up the Croke Park Agreement beneficiaries and for paying all the extra social welfare payments.

Anglo is a balance sheet issue

Taxes are a current account issue.

• David 24/03/12 #

So refreshing to see somebody that knows what they’re talking about on here Paul. Too many people seem to have fallen for the lies from the don’t pay brigade.

• Paul I will send you my address and you can pay mine.

• I’m not paying. Leave the system as it is. Everyone should have to pay for sewerage, water, etc – not just property owners like me.

• For the record, I told a porky. I’m a property owner and I have no issue with paying a propery charge. I’ve already paid the 100 euro, in fact.

I’m amazed that what to me is an obviously ridiculous statement got so many “thumbs up”. Through taxes, everyone is paying for these services – even if you’re just renting a house in a rural area where no such mains sewerage or water supply exists.

I assume that this future property charge will take such anomalies into account but for now, just pretending that this is all going to line the pockets of some banker is silly. Read Dan O’Brien’s article in yesterday’s Irish Times. We’d still have a massive budget deficit even if not one red cent was going to the banks.

• u don’t get it do you?
      its not just simply about not paying the 100quid.

its the bigger injustices going on,
      a lot of people are being squeezed from every angle,
      to say nothing of the corruption in the big G,
      to add insult to injury
      the people are being asked to bail out banks?
      would you have believed it possible a few years ago!!
      bailing out the flocking banks!!! the piss is being taken out of us BIG TIME.

oh, just a wee question….
      who’s helping the little man who is in trouble?
      sorry to bother u with such a trivial question.

• Joseph,

You’re the one who’s not getting it. As I already explained, we’d need new taxes to balance the books anyway – bank bailout or no bank bailout.

If you want to make your protest against the bailout in this way, that’s your choice. But hey…! Why just stop at this charge? Refuse to pay your car tax while you’re at it and any other tax you have control over.

What’s this about a little man in trouble? Is there a leprechaun drowning somewhere..? Okay, seriously, there are lots of little men (and women) “in trouble”, some are very deserving of help, some are entirely to blame for their predicament.

I could have been one of those little men in trouble. Instead, I used every spare cent I had to pay off this mortgage and thank God, I got it cleared a few years ago while people I know were maxing their credit cards every month on flash cars, state of the art furniture and weekends here there and everywhere.

So….could you be more specific, please with your “little man in trouble”?

• u don’t know who im referring to?????

WOW!

nothing further to say to you sir

• blind and determined to remain so, doesnt seem to understand that a huge % of the population simply cannot afford to pay it, its ‘only’ €100, sure my kids wont need any food that week

• Eclipse
      You don’t get it..

The amount of wasted tax payers money is unbelievable..
      Why should we pay another cent to these idiots..
      It’s bloody time the people stood up to the political elite of this country..

For example
      Justifying NAMA spending €500,000 a month on property valuations every month from Jan 2010 to Jan 2012.
      With a grand total to date of €13.3 million..
      I mean seriously ?? WTF

Defending the €85,000 spent during the process of hiring an internal candidate to replace Kevin Cardiff as the secretary general of the Department of Finance.
      John Moran was promoted from his position as Second Secretary in the department and head of the banking division.

€5million of tax payers money on accounted for by SIPTU.Of which €4.5 million from the HSE which would build the badly needed unit at the children’s hospital.

Wasting hundreds of millions of “OUR” money on non starter projects like building the children’s hospital in a total unsuitable and in accessible site because it’s cronies are on the board ..
      Paying them selves pensions on top of pensions on top of existing salaries..

Breaching guide lines for salaries in public sector pay again for “cronies”..

I could go on but I actually don’t want to be here all night because that’s how long it would take.

It just never ends..
      I say it’s about time it did

• Behind u all the way Waterford… Great perspective in those wasteful clowns… How quickly many forget

• Joseph,

It was a simple question. If you feel uncomfortable answering, that’s fine.

RP, you don’t have to pay it all in one go. There are options for paying in installments.

• cant pay wont pay, i am already paying esb and bin charges in installments, havnt got any installment money left

• Well, I’ve got 2 euro per week. I’m amazingly lucky that way.

• listen to yourself, we both know you have plenty more than 2 euro a week, when i finish paying my normal bills i have €47 a week left over for food to feed 5 people, when it comes to september and new school year time, or christmas, or birthdays etc i feel physically sick with worry over what i will be able to do, you seem to have no understanding of these conditions, most people i know are in the same boat, this ‘only’ €100 is only €100 that i just cannot pay

• Okay. I’m not on the pig’s back either. I’m a full time carer looking after an elderly parent and have been since May 2010 when I went on leave from my job. But I’m not going to start exaggerating my straitened circumstances. I saved my money in the good times and got on the property ladder. I also have a few thousand euro in savings which I’ve had to dig into lately for a couple of unforeseen and unfortunate incidents. Things will get interesting when/if the savings run out but for now, I’m getting by and I’m sorry but I’m not going to start feeling guilty about that. I think I’ve contributed to society and I’m continuing to do that. Others would have put their parents in a care home and expected the state to pick up the tab.

I do actually think that there should be some means test. People below a certain income shouldn’t have to pay. Certainly, your situation should qualify given that what you describe is comparable to income levels in the Horn of Africa. It’s something that the Government should have looked at beforehand.

• But we do pay for all as is …. It is like the PRSI and then they brought in USC and we are now paying Twice fir our health service and the Along came James Reilly and totally obliterated what was left if it after M.Harney 2out if the same bucket (
      James and Mary)

• I actually have no difficulty with paying a fee/ tax to fund local government services, however, I will refuse to pay this charge while those receiving the most services from the Local Authority ie Council tenants are exempt from this charge. I have worked hard to build my house while others have sat on their arses and got a council house. The majority of these tenants are long term tenants and will have the option to purchase their homes at massively discounted rates. In d meantime they get their all of d council services while I get none (except water which I will be paying for next year (no problem because I use it). God damn it they even get money for furniture from d clinic when I have to save hard for everything I have in my home (which won’t actually be mine for another 29 years. So i will pay it when those getting d council services have to pay!

• Yes starry eyed..
      Why should you pay tax on a house that you stuck your neck out and worked hard to pay for thus taking the burden off the state to supply housing for you..
      While people in subsidised housing paid for again by your taxes don’t pay a cent..

• there are plenty of people living in council houses that work hard too, and btw they pay more rent than private renters in the town where i live, get your facts straight, not all council house dwellers are on social welfare, and many of the older ones went for council housing because there werent any other houses to live in, bully for you that you had the opportunities to get good enough employment so you could work hard and get your own house, it wasnt the same for everyone so give up with the tarring all with the same brush comments

• What I find odd most about the household charge is the fact that if you pay the 100 euro charge is that you do not recurve an invoice. I thought legally that you are entitled to a receipt or invoice for the goods/services you pay for.

• Anybody else get the feeling that FG members are patrolling these comment pages and clicking as many thumbs down as they can….?

• Its just the straw that broke the camels back ! No more!!!

• Nope!! And won’t be paying either!!!

• yeah were all in it together…..except were fucking not this shit of anywhere in europe has this crap fair play but people want to know where the 100euro is going cos we know services and shit are getting cut so the money isnt going towards the people try the 3billion were gonna hand to those bastard bondholders or how about the blank cheques we give the bankers to pay for golf memberships and cars…..oh yes were really all fucking in this together

• not to mention the very high cost of living here, a conveniently overlooked detail when the yes men like to point out our ‘liberal’ tax system, our great leaders like to punish the masses by imposing extra vat while neglecting to increase income tax or reduce their own criminally inflated salaries

• Well we all bought into the green party lower tax rates for cars which was a huge source of income for the local authorities..
    What was going to replace that ?
    So there was a short fall long before the cuts ..

Again decisions made by idiots that can’t see beyond their noses.

And by the way its another unfair tax in that someone who can afford an €80,000 BMW can well afford to
    pay higher road tax but are paying like €160 per year..

Clowns and idiots the bloody lot of them..

• jimbo 24/03/12 #

Get it into your head government fcuk off i am not paying

• Everyone must refuse to pay all unnecessary taxes that have been forced upon people to fill the pockets of rich risk takers that lost out on bad investments. The Government knows exactly where this money is going, they knew what they were doing when they pushed through the bailout, they knew it was a case of “fuck the people, protect our rich buddies”, if people don’t protest then they will never have any control over corruption. I wish there was an expression of anger in the streets, I’d be happy to see political buildings burning, mass resignations and politicians and bankers put in prison. > That will never happen, because capitalism and money are God, greed and deception are his children and politicians, bankers and corporate directors are his keepers. We are all slaves, so stop acting like anyone is going to do a single thing about this charge or any others on the way, there will be another boom then a bust and so on and the people will pay for the next bailouts and their children forever because none of you are more important than money.

• No and I have no intention of paying it anytime soon!

• Get rid of stamp duty and other council/house tax then 100 euro house tax will be viable.

• I dont own nothing so I dont have something so I have nothing too loose…thank god! ;-)

• I am lucky to be paying some But the universal social charge is crippling me and takes away my ability to pay any more.
    They constantly refer to the north and all our ‘neighbours’ in Europe paying local taxes and charges.
    How many of them have a crippling Universal ‘Social’ Charge to contend with.

No I wont pay.

I am paying too much as it is.

• Won’t be paying anymoe tax. It was great to see the support at the Stadium rally give Ireland back to the Irish.

• louise 25/03/12 #

Back to the 80s ;(

• I will pay when its a fair tax ie when EVERYONE pays. We all use the services of our local council regardless of whether we rent, own or have a council house. In my experience its the people in receipt of council housing who use services the most anyway.

Surely it would have been fairer to have a fee of say €50 that everyone had to pay and perhaps allow payment over the course of the year rather than having the deadline at the end of March.

• People around me rent, I have to pay and they don’t that’s not fair so they can stick it up there arse I’m not paying!!!!

• No they don’t have to pay, but the landlord does. And despite calls from the government, in a lot of cases the landlord is passing it on to the tenant. You have a choice, legally or illegally, to pay it. Many tenants have no choice. One way or another, the rented houses beside you will have paid the charge. Saying that though, as a tenant myself, and considering the services supposed to be funded by this charge are available both to house owners and tenants, I think if you have to pay, so should I.

• I also agree, I don’t see why the landlord should have to pay when presumably they’ve already paid the nppr. The tenants are getting the same services so why shouldn’t they have to pay if we do. If the government put this charge on every household regardless of ownership of the house that they live in it would be a lot fairer and a lot easier to collect, but I do also think that ability to pay should be taken into account! You simply can’t draw blood from a stone!

• Thousand of us are waiting to see what happens and at the last moment capitulate and pay the stupid tax, unfortunately it is the Irish way. The country will be split between those who paid and those who didn’t, there will be animosity and mistrust between friends and families, sounds familiar. Think the civil war that almost broke out after Saipan. The country does not need this divisive tax.

• I’m not in favour of the household charge but we just had friends over from the UK and they were gobsmacked that we are kicking up so much fuss about it. They pay over £1000 a year and there are plenty of other charges for water and local services etc. There are charges like this in nearly every country in Europe from what I hear as well.

• Irish people really should go elsewhere in the world to live to see just how good we actually have it here!! Try paying property taxes in the USA. Move to the UK and pay council taxes where I believe the lowest rate is 1500 pound per annum which is the same as France and most other EU countries, most include refuge collection but still an awful lot cheaper, also water rates are a lot higher, everyone is struggling but 100euro is not going to break anyone especially if u you the monthly payment option, we are all in this together!!

• B7584 24/03/12 #

Yes and you GET services in the UK & US.

• Paul 24/03/12 #

Ireland is a very unequal society, flat rates for housing taxes and talking about how much higher rate tax payers contribute to the tax take is all relative to the massive income inequality here. I take home about two thirds of my pay. What proportion of their incomes do the millionaires take home after all the exemptions and dodges? Scandinavians pay half their income in tax and what do they get in return? Free or very cheap high quality nurseries and schools, a year parental leave, excellent hospitals, open government where all members of parliament have to publish their bank accounts, they also get very egalitarian societies with low poverty, deprivation and crime rates. Where’s the value for money in paying tax in Ireland?

These clowns were elected on fraudulent promises, if we bought a product based on the kind of horseshit we were sold before the last election we’d be entitled to a refund. Not another red cent, only this time it’s being said by a million of us, not some liar and/or spineless politicians.

• Mr. Darlington, yer a fine looking WELL FED man, so WHERE exactly are you getting these €2 dinners from, include me IN,!!

• We should oppose all wealth taxes like property taxes! I don’t want to pay capital gains or dirt either! I am starting a down with the dirt tax campaign! Will the united left alliance back the campaign?

• Very true Declan, the croke park agreement will be gotten rid of too. It’s sad but being forced by europe into pulling up our socks is the only thing that will bring us back from the “bad bertie days” of buying votes by doing crazy deals with the trade unions. This European way of broadening the taxation base will allow us pay our own way in years to come. Why in gods name could we have done something about this ten years ago…oh yes, cause we had Bertie!

• Tom Goss 25/03/12 #

‘Broadening the tax base’ is all very well…but slamming more and more taxes onto the lower and middle income earners until they have to decide whether to buy food or heating fuel with what money they’ve got left, while allowing the very wealthy to remain largely unaffected, is NOT the way to do it.

• I have a great idea! Lets all not pay the tax we need to run our country in the hope that €17bn will appear out of nowhere later in the year to make ends meet!!

(will ye just stop the nonsense and pay the charge, its only €100)

• Nicola 24/03/12 #

Finally! The voice of sense!

• 100 euro isn`t the problem it doesn`t all boil down to money, its the principal.

• Only 100 Euro?? We don’t know where its going, and we don’t know how much it will be this time next year or in 5 years time -!!! I certainly will NOT be paying it.

• @ Steve I would agree but we’re not all being asked to pay. Just those of us that decided to work hard and provide for ourselves and not be a burden on the state, while those who are putting the most burden on d state are exempt, many of whom are far better off than I am!

• ive copied this post from above.

“u don’t get it do you?
      its not just simply about not paying the 100quid.
      its the bigger injustices going on,
      a lot of people are being squeezed from every angle,
      to say nothing of the corruption in the big G,
      to add insult to injury
      the people are being asked to bail out banks?
      would you have believed it possible a few years ago!!
      bailing out the flocking banks!!! the piss is being taken out of us BIG TIME.
      oh, just a wee question….
      who’s helping the little man who is in trouble?
      sorry to bother u with such a trivial question.”

• Here’s a better one, lets start by not paying out 8 years worth of household charge to unsecured bondholders on the 31st March. Why? because we the ordinary householders do not owe it!

• Yes Steve, its only 100 euro, but I’m unemployed after working and paying tax for 40 years. 2 euro a week means i’ve got to NOT EAT at least one meal a week So guess what? pay the tax or have dinner? I’m not missing dinner for anybody

• it’s the principal….no and no…. maybe if they invoice me…but not until then

• Glad to know you have 100 euro ready and available. We have a bill of 178.00euro to pay for our refuse collection by April 1, this used to be done by the Council but they gave it to private collectors so we have been paying this for the last number of years, so I don’t see why we should pay 100 for the household charge. We don’t need all the councilors we have, there are so many layers in some counties I wonder how they all are paid. I believe Luke Ming Flanagan speaks a lot of sense regarding county councils, he was part of one and tried to change it but couldn’t.

• @Steve & Nicola re: it’s only €100.
      Well I’m really happy for you both if you have the spare money to pay, kudos to you both. But it is not quite as simple as its only €100 for the rest of us.

Wether €100 or €10 if you don’t have it…it’s a lot of money!! And I quite simply don’t have any spare cash at all. I will feed my children and buy them school books & shoes etc before I ever pay this ridiculous not for services tax.

• I can’t understand some people’s mind set…do ye honestly believe the services can be provided magically without money, or that we go borrow more money from Europe to pay for these services. How short sighted people are ye people?

No wonder we are in this mess…

• Problem is the waste of Billions in excessive public salaries, on far too many senior figures. Croke Park my arse! Reform the spend and I will have no problem paying even more tax if necessary!

• For the record, army barracks are not residential property, the smoking ban prohibits smoking in quarters…

Add New Comment