TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 10 °C Wednesday 19 June, 2013

Poll: Have you stopped eating ready-meals because of the horsemeat scandal?

A survey in Britain has found that a significant number of people have stopped eating the meals as a result of the scandal. Have you?

Image: Lionel Cironneau/AP

A POLL IN Britain has found that almost a third of adults have stopped eating ready-meals as a direct results of the horsemeat scandal, while seven percent have stopped eating meat altogether.

The ComRes survey, for the Sunday Mirror and The Independent on Sunday newspapers, found that 31 percent have given up eating ready-meals as the discovery of equine flesh in products labelled beef spreads across Europe.

Yesterday Tesco said it will introduce new testing to ensure visibility and traceability and the government has said it will work to make sure this doesn’t happen again but is that enough for you?

We want to know: Have you stopped eating ready-meals as a result of the horsemeat scandal?

Poll Results:

- With additional reporting from AFP.

• Share on Facebook
  • Email this article
  •  

Read next:

Comments (105 Comments)

• I was never a major fan to be honest but now I just go to the butchers, at least I know what I’m eating. It may be a small bit more expensive, but I think it’s worth it.

• Never ate them anyway…..disgusting

• Dmc 17/02/13 #

Please Journal, write an article on why meat distributors are importing crap from Europe

• price wars is the only reason they are importing,, same as everything else,, the big boys,, distributors are in so much competition,, tesco ,, dunnes , and so on,, its making things hard on distributors,,, dimplex Ireland had a factory in tralee,, moved it to china,, mary mcaleese went and opened it ,, while 300 people lost their jobs,, that’s progress and Irish tax money spent to put people on unemployment,, this is only the start of troubles here,,,

• True…they’re full of salt with just one serving having anything up to 80% of the total recommended salt in take for one day.

• If the meat factories didn’t import beef trimmings from Europe and just used 100% Irish beef it would be physically impossible to produce the burgers at the ridiculously cheap prices they quoted the big multi nationals for.The cheaper the product is the less you should trust just how ‘traceable’ the product claims to be. Its not just beef products that this applys to, just how Irish do you think your sausage is? If the pork trimmings come from Europe it doesn’t. have to say so on the label. The fact of the matter is people have been eating horse meat for years without knowing it and other people have become very rich on the back of it. Its about time this fraud has been exposed and well done to the Irish authorities for lifting the lid on this giant can of worms.

• As soon as i read the headline of this article i said to myself i bet some really self indulgent righteous person would say ‘ ohh i would never eat these, their vile’ or something along those lines and sure enough the first two comments… the question is has it put people off buying them.. ye defiantly exclaimed that ye dont, (oh the horror) so the question doesnt apply to ye

• I don’t eat frozen food.
      Freezing was only used by Eskimos and other sub zero dwellers,
      to store food during the winter when everything froze over. (where else were freezers available naturally in nature?)
      And say what you like about “If food is frozen directly after being picked/processed it has just as much nutrients as fresh food”
      That “fact” was probably conjured up by one of the same guys that are currently relabeling old worn out/dead nags as “Premium Irish Beef”
      Farmers Markets, Small Producers or Grow Your Own only if you want your kids to be made of strong stuff.
      If not, you can always take your chances with the leftovers and the byproduct lotto in the majority of the aisles in your local “super” market.

• I’ve recently wondered about the new improved recipe labels on sausages etc…

• Spot on Alan.
      If you willing to eat this concoction of leftovers, byproducts, dying, diseased animal guts, offal and product ?????? mixed up with a bit of artificial flavoring and slopped out by criminals and “plain old people” who are willing to poison millions of innocent people for profit.
      The least you should have is “what it says on the tin” and just as importantly the correct amount in which “it says on the tin”.
      Just look at the heads on some of the greedy beef barons and “food producers” in Europe.
      Would you really trust them to feed your family??
      They should be in Jail.
      Watch RTE and Co point the cameras the other way, yet again.

• Bridget 17/02/13 #

We made a decision a couple of yrs ago to stop eating all processed food, with all the GM, modified ingredients in the prepacked it’s very difficult to shop healthy for yr family…
      All the artificial sweeteners flavour and preservative, we know are not good for us..
      Organic, more expensive I know but as someone very ill said to me ” look at the price of cancer”.
      This is only the beginning of what we will hear about what has been added to our food..

• Bouile 17/02/13 #

Exactly – you hardly expect to be eating good quality food when your basically paying nothing for it !

• What are ‘they’? I think this is a bit of a generalization

• Your ignorance and lack of knowledge regarding food preservation is shocking.

• Eating horse meat doesn’t bother me. But what does is the fraud that was going on. All these producers were telling us and the rest of the world that their products were 100% Irish beef. When they knew that this was a blatant lie. They were importing meat from across Europe with no guarantee of safety or quality of the produce from the factories they were buying from. The very least that should be happening now is the advertising authority should be prosecuting every company involved and the Garda fraud squad should be investigating to see if any of them imported horse meat directly and mis labled it as beef.

• If you’re eating processed ready meals, the horse meat should be the least of your worries.

• Julian 17/02/13 #

@Gráinne. I’d be even more wary about chicken than most other meats. I reckon it’s only a matter of time before a scandal related to chicken breaks. It’s not going to be pretty.

• Oh how vile. Well myself and my wife (who doesnt eat at all, she lives on sunlight alone) go to the woodlands and we gather nuts and berries but only those that have fallen naturally as to pick them would hurt the trees. Our children, Cuchulann, Shíofra agus Cáca milis are so in tune with nature… Easter in our house involves bringing them to a forest with an organicly fed pig to hunt for truffles…no choclate allowed in our crannóg.

• Up the local butcher- hope your benefiting greatly from all this horsing around :)

• Butchers don’t do many frozen products anyway so I’m not sure how much their business will have increased because if this! None of the stores fresh products have been effected by this as far as I know!

• Hi Tom,I would think that’s an easy equation no?People stop buying frozen products and start buying meat from a tested source like their local butchers?

• I’ve seen a load of butchers doing these little meal sets where you have a bit of meat or fish with some veggies all in an aluminium tray that you put in the oven.. Although – you can clearly see the cut of meat gone into it.
      They’re usually fresh rather than frozen, but I guess this may be part of a drive to get people off the frozen processed stuff and back to the butchers – even for convenience.

• Liam 17/02/13 #

I never ate them anyway, the local butcher’s is much better quality, and although it is more expensive than these ready meals, the difference is not much. Also the meat that can be bought at the butcher counters in the supermarkets is more costly than what is priced at local butchers.

• never eaten these meals my mother always made her own burgers, chillies, bolognase lasagne etc in the sixties and seventies and still does. i do the same myself. have a mincer at home always trim meat and make burgers from that. have used rabbit meat ,ostrich, venison and horse meat beautiful cheaper than the crap that masquerades as beef in ready meals. there will always people that choose to eat these meals that is what they like and don’t forget a lot of the time it is a budgetary decision that it is the only food they can afford so people should not be too quick to judge people that consume these meals as my granny used to say hunger is a great sauce.

• Broke one of my front teeth on a horse shoe eating a findus crispy pancake in October. Haven’t eaten them since.

• Eating horse doesn’t bother me… I just don’t like being lied too, especially since all marketing spin that was put on traceability post BSE

• I get all my meat from the butcher. I wouldn’t buy that frozen crap even before this.

• Yeah vegetarians are probably laughing in their sleeve at these revelations ….. That is until they start DNA testing quorn!

• A lot of vegetarians laughing to themselves while relying on tofu or soy for their main source of protein.. It’s fine in moderation – like anything else, but it’s full of phytooestrogens, so excessive amounts mess up your hormone balance – which is never a good thing. Oestrogen dominance can have disastrous effects on both physical and mental health.

It’s just as easy to be lazy about a vegetarian diet as it is to rely on processed meats..

• I’m stocking up because I love horse meat buying it like crazy before its it all before its removed.

• Anyone who would eat the mechanically removed slurry that goes into those cheap ready meals would want their head examined. Just go to your local butcher and get some proper meat.

• We make our own lasagne, 100% of it homemade nothing beats it. Well, except homemade egg pasta!

• i am just wondering about the diet meals,, lol,,,, i do go to butchers to get my meat or what ever people are serv ing,, i have another question,, chinese takeaway is that really chicken and beef,,, i dont think i will be getting that anymore either,, as always questioned it never looks like any chicken i have had,, and also chicken breasts never say where they have been farmed,, are they irish in the butchers shop,,, this has opened so many doors to be tested,, lol,,

• It could be rabbit it tastes the same as chicken

• “chinese takeaway is that really chicken and beef?” – very possible it’s dog and cat.

42% say No it hasn’t stopped them and with FF topping the polls again ye all deserve all you get, rats the lot!

hilarious really

• Having grown up around a lot of Chinese people – many of whom were in the restaurant trade I can assure you. If there really was cats or dogs in your food – they would have been shut down.

The Food Standards Authority are very strict on these restaurants, they check them thoroughly and regularly – probably because of these sorts of urban myths.. How many times have you heard of a Chinese restaurant in Ireland being closed for using domestic animals? And they would be closed down, immediately upon inspection, were a dog or cat carcass to be found in their stores..

They don’t tend to use mince, or other processed meats – in an effort to ensure customers that they can trust what they have ordered. You’re more likely to find something you weren’t expecting in an Italian restaurant or as we are now painfully aware – a fast food chain, than in a Chinese restaurant. Perhaps it’s time to stop pointing that finger..

• Quite a few Chinese Restaurants do use processed meats such as tins of Spam ham, etc.

• All I want to know is what else will be found in processed food as the testing becomes more widespread and specific.

• I’ll eat anything

• I’m amazed at the amount of people who SAY they don’t or have never eaten them and yet they have entire sections in supermarkets of the stuff …so someone’s been eating them. Some sort of ghetto snob mentality.

• i’m one of those people who voted , i never eat them anyway as I couldn’t, I was born a coeliac, so all my life i have been reading labels and making home cooked food,( from scratch) but I agree with half your point, as people really dont know whats in their food and the snobbery that goes with it , some people even believe that home cooked foods means getting all the fresh ingredients and then adding a jar to stir fry, or add pkt of mix equals home cooked , it doesn’t its just fresh ingredients with processed taste subsitutes,

• Obviously I’ve eaten rubbish like that in the past, but now I’d skip the entire frozen section when I’m shopping, along with with unfrozen ready meals.

Yu want to know who eats it? Poor people and lazy people. I used to keep a few for emergencies but I now eat most food fresh.

The most questionable product in the fridge is processed cooked ham I put in a sandwich for work.

• Patrick I voted “never bought them anyway” I stopped eating them years ago when I realised I could make them myself from scratch and the food tasted so much nicer and was more healthy, Plus I could control the salt that was in the food. So sorry buddy no snobbery here just a lover of good healthy food. Have a nice day. xx

• Single males and lazy bad parents.

• And Jasnet Dixon, somebody actually thumbed you down.

All my family are brilliant cooks, father to blame for that and he literally engineered food, dreaful fella, trying to sneak liver into home made burgers, we all rebelled, mother was away and it was fish and chips from the chipper beside the Magic Carpet in Cornelscourt. We never got that treat again but he didn’t learn his lesson after that either!!

What dad did do was point out to us over the las 40 years and more, what we were making ourselves into, we took heed of his(boring) advice at the time and it paid off!!

• @ADEBAYO FLYNN a bit of a generalization there single men and bad parents? sometimes parents feed their kids this food as it is the only food they can afford and they would rather them eat this then starve weather it be horse donkey or any meat it has some nutritional value don’t knock somebody because they are forced in to buying this some food is better than no food

• It’s cheaper to cook yourself than buy a ready meal.

People not able to cook is he main reason people eat them. Home economics and cooking should be a life skill thought at school. It’s every bit as important as other subjects..

• I’d eat a horse and chase the jockey !

• Eating a lot more vegetarian home made food..making vegetable Lasagne for the family today, healthy and yummy at the same time.

• I had stopped ages ago because I want control over what I intake, extra virgin olive oil vs. hydrogenated fats, no additives whatsoever, etc. An extra cost upfront into cooking meals, but pays off in the long run. Also I try to have the butcher — yes, I prefer talking to real butchers, and shop in supermarkets with a butcher counter — prepare mince for me from steaks or loins, so I know what’s in it.

• Horse meat is the least of your worries if your eating them ready made meals was in Iceland the other day just for a look bought noting but they had a plate of ready made sandwichs cut into little triangles ready to shove down the kids throats while you watch telly smoke fags and drink coffee. Anyone giving that stuff to kids should be a shamed

• Of course I’ll eat products that may contain horse meat … and I hope the horse thats in my pie is the horse I backed last week in Dundalk which lost me €50.

• Never ate that stuff anyway… Gave up meat as a New Years Resolution and following a few horror stories regarding preparation… The horse/donkey meat scandal breaking was the motivation I needed to stick too it!

• I think people should start hunting their own cows and sheep. How do you turn them into stakes, is their a machine that can be bought in Argos?

• Only eating organic certified meat from now on or ‘growing it myself’. Worked in the food industry so know first hand the sh*t they put in cheap supermarket food. Raised ten turkeys last xmas for own food and gifts for friends.

Hope people wake up to the scandal that is aspartame ‘low sugar’, ‘sugar free’ drinks next. Aspartame the ‘sugar free’ ingredient used is a bio weapon! Non traceable, non identifiable illnesses in the future for those who consume this laboratory produced chemical poison!

• Ready meals are handy when your stuck but overall no and don’t eat a lot of meat anyway, and less processed meat for sure .

• Tara, yellow is a colour not a texture, just so you know but somehow i understand

• Thanks for that. My day is now complete. Have a nice home cooked Sunday dinner as a reward to yourself. It consists of potatoes, vegetables of a green and orange nature. Lean butcher bought beef, red in colour depending on cut and gravy of a brown colour. :)

• Sure have
    Now shopping at a good butcher
    Annoyed that it took this to get me to think what I am putting in myself …..DOH!

• Do people really expect top quality produce when they pay €1.99 for 4 quarter pounders or €2.99 for a big tray of lasagna? You get what you pay for

• I’m vegetarian for 28 years or so, this business is not really affecting me as the only ready made meals I would have eaten were vegetarian ones – so far as the labelling would go anyway. I can see a lot of people turning vegetarian after this. It’s disgraceful that this can have gone on so long without being found out before now – are there no watchdogs to monitor food standards? I don’t believe.something.of this magnitude happens overnight – where were the checks & tests in the last few years?

• Is now a good time to mention genetically modified vegetables?

• Whoever stopped eating them because of horse meat is not brightest if that is the only reason lol…

• So happy I’m a vegetarian at times like these.

• Fair enough that we should know what we’re eating and that if it says beef, we should be getting beef because that’s what we paid for; but at the end of the day, it’s still just another type of meat (that we’re just not used to in Ireland.) There are horse butchers all over France. The meat isn’t unsafe to eat.

• I’m still eating Marks and Spencer ready meals, though rarely of the mince variety.

• Where’s Superquinn? Amazing they didn’t do a huge marketing drive seeing there’s not a peep about them selling illegally labelled food. Either they’re pure as the driven snow or their afraid to stick their head above the parapet. Come on Superquinn !

• The superquinn nearest me has a very small ready meals section. The majority are Superquinn own brand, Cully and Sully, Bombay Pantry and one or two other brands which have not been named in this scandal. These are all fresh meals too – none frozen. They make up one section of the open front fridges.
      I think for frozen meals there’s one small cabinet and that’s it. So perhaps they escaped by not having much in stock to start with?

• Obviously cud be anything in processed chicken but whole chickens in butchers will be fine im still eating meat just put off eating it but have to eat something

• Aine 17/02/13 #

I go to a lovely butcher in rathmines for my meat. Try to make big portions of dinner which I can freeze and defrost for those lazy nights. I don’t like to buy mystery foods,rather make them from scratch myself. More effort but worth it.

• Doesn’t bother me, we probably have been eating them (horse meat) for many years. We are still alive and well

• I got a frozen “lasagne” last week from a well know Dublin supermarket (not located in omni shopping centre Santry ) and it came out of the oven runny kinda soup with layers of pasta. Disgusting. Had to eat it between two slices of bread.

• I voted no. I mean, I have some of the tesco every day value spag bols in my freezer and I’m fully aware it’s one of the ones that’ve been specifically named as having horse in it… I’m still going to eat it.

With cheap ready meals, you KNOW what you’re buying is at LEAST 50% filler and shite!

• ivy mike 17/02/13 #

I personally couldnt give a horses arse whats in them.

• Thankfully we were brought up to eat proper food and none of this processed crap. I’d literally rather starve than eat a ready meal.

• Difficult for some families these day,s to buy in butcher,s trying to feed a family on a low income budget, and there goes the attraction of buying these cheaper frozen food,s im sure this will make everyone rethink there shopping habit ,s …

• I’d love to the monetary difference in cooking home meals and buying ready made meals. I buy mince and manage to get 4 meals from €7.00 worth. I think people have got lazy in preparing home cooked meals. It’s not just the price surely? It’s the convenience too. People just can’t be bothered to peal and chop anymore. We had poverty in the 70′s and 80′s, yet we all appeared to be fed and I don’t remember seeing too many overweight children. Time to get out the pots and pans, throw out the microwave and switch on the cooker.

• It’s a huge con that the processed stuff is cheaper.
      If you have a family then buying ready meals will work out far more expensive than cooking from scratch, the problem is the knowledge and the motivation. Many people actually don’t know how to cook, the idea of it either seems daunting or like too much effort (why do you think Jamie Oliver is doing “15 minute meal” shows?). It’s a pity, because between the fact that the shopping bill is really higher and the medical bills coming down the line from such unhealthy dietary choices will be higher – there’s no saving there at all.

• Tara, is that 4 meals from €7 worth of mince ?

• I loved the taste of tesco value spaghetti bolonase . It’s a shame they’ve changed there contents. I thought the price had gone up today.

• I’m still eating ready meals for this reason http://theoatmeal.com/comics/cook_home

• I am worried to eat any meat now. Chicken is all I can trust.

• Never eaten one in my life ,and never will.

• Wow, 18% of people in the poll have turned vegetarian over this horse meat scandal. Amazing

Add New Comment