TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 10 °C Wednesday 22 May, 2013

Poll: Is the new social welfare ID card a good idea?

The new Public Services Card is due to be rolled out nationwide this month in a bid to reduce social welfare fraud. But is it a good move?

A mock-up of the card from the Department of Social Protection
Image: Department of Social Protection

A NEW ID card to track people claiming social welfare payments is set to be rolled out by the Department of Social Protection later this month.

Around 7,000 people in parts of Dublin, Offaly and Sligo have already received the new Public Services Card, which will use facial identification software and an electronic signature to verify the holder’s identity.

The Irish Council for Civil Liberties has previously dismissed  the ID cards as a “costly political stunt”, while the estimated €24 million cost has also been criticised. However Minister Joan Burton has said it will reduce levels of social welfare fraud and make it harder for people to use false identities.

So here’s the question: Is the new Public Services Card a good idea?

Poll Results:

Read next:

Comments (102 Comments)

• Could we not stick people’s drivers license details on this as well and finally have a do all card.

• It will cosy money in the short run – but in the long term, will save much more.
    I’m all for it.

• Why didn’t we have this 10yrs ago!

• Great idea!! Now also give us proper drivers licences!

• yes. it will expose the people who abuse the system.

• paul 09/05/12 #

Why not just tell people to bring a passport with them while collecting their money or any form of photo i.d. That’s 24 million saved isn’t it

• You already have to do that. I always get asked for my photo ID. Problem is if you’re serious about defrauding and have numerous ID’s, it’s easy to claim multiple benefits. I’m not saying it’s a good idea or anything, just saying you already need ID.

• the few weeks i was on it i just needed the card and no id, once i got my sister to collect it cos i was feeling unwell. Says a lot that they didnt even put the gender thing together…

• Not everyone has a passport. Those cost 80 euro. Also, not everyone drives, or can wait the years it takes, or spend the money it costs to get one.

The cards are free to the user.

• I don’t have a problem with the photo ID card but and I’m amazed that they werent brought in years ago. However I do have a problem with facial recognition software as I feel it goes against civil liberties.

• @ Ann I’m against facial recognition software too, because in my experience it doesn’t work. We use it to clock in and out at work. Out of curiosity though how is it’s use against civil liberties?

• Both passports and national ID cards are easily forged. Well see how these work but a move in the right direction .

• Civil liberties my butt,
      where are my civil liberties as one of the coping self employed classes that have no rights what so ever. so what if one has to identify themselves as the correct claimant. About time fraud was tackled from all areas. Remember the fraudulent claimants are putting their hands in your pocket.

• A bit late but yes, a great idea

• Sean 09/05/12 #

Why not have ONE card which would serve as ID card, Social Services Card, Medical Card, ID travel card allowing travel within EU (as other EU countries have) and maybe drivers license too? Although incorporating driving license could be difficult but all other services should be straight forward. I think spending 24m is crazy if this card is going only to be used for social welfare.

• why not? if it saves money its a good idea is it not? But i’m guessing if they save money here they’ll find another way of wasting it elsewhere? But thats an ignorant viewpoint on my behalf, i mean who knows what they have in store for us? YIKES : (

• How could anyone think this is not a good idea?? The only people that will be subject to any “negative” effects are the ones who are defrauding the system.
    And plus one with passport comment… A lot of people do not have photo ID. Not everyone holds a passport or driving license.
    It has to save the state money in long run. We can give out about the government and bankers who got us into this mess all day long but that won’t save any money. At least SOME positive action is being taken right now.

• I don’t defraud the system and I’m against it. That’s the standard “if you have nothing to hide” rhetoric that usually comes out when the government try to exert more control over their citizens.

• As an unemployed person I hae no objection but then I’m not doing anything illegal.

• The card’s not a bad idea.
    Wait til you hear where they’re going to swipe them.

• I don’t see the issue as long as the data is kept in adherence with Data Protection legislation.

• It is badly needed. In these fiscally strained times it is important that the people who need help can get it.

• As long as there’s no requirement to keep the card on your person or show it on demand of law enforcement, I’m all for it.

• This is a great idea. Be really interesting to see what happens to the numbers once it is fully rolled out.

• Agree with the passport/other photo ID comment. Names are on current social welfare cards, name and face is on passport, face is on the person. Saves all that money no? Or am I missing something?

• It’s not just the photo but the digital signature, at present it’s up to staff in a post office to refuse a payment if they think the passport(other photo id) is not the person presenting it, iv seen this happen and the abuse the post office staff get is unreal so I can see why they wouldn’t question someone

With the new system which is already partially in place you swipe your card, look at a camera and sign on an electronic pad, if your signature is not correct or your face doesn’t match the photo on the database you don’t get your payment, it’s not 100 foolproof but so much better than asking some post office worker to tell some gangster he can’t have his sisters payment

• Also missing that passports cost 80 euro. Welfare recipients are not always able to afford that.

• I dont buy that, if the person drawing kicks up a fuss and gets abusive, call the guards, they wont be back next time. Post office staff are uncomfortable because they’re refusing people they’ve been handing the money over to for years with no questions, and are now being asked to follow rules. I do see that some people cant afford a photo ID. So just spend the money on putting just a photo on the card. This would probably be less expensive than including all the digital signature and photo recognition. We’re not trying to get into the US!!!

• Digital Signing? My signature changes almost every time I write it.. And writing on those digital pads makes it even worse.. How’s that supposed to work?

• Yes and it should also be used to combat electoral fraud.

• The dept of Social Welfare have been sending people out at the early hours of the morning doing roadblocks, stopping traffic and taking peoples PPS numbers, WITHOUT the assistance of the Gardai! Supposedly have been very forceful in getting PPS numbers and questioning where people are headed to at early hours of morning. I understand their logic in probably trying to catch people working while claiming social welfare, but one must wonder, it’s an awful pity they weren’t chasing bankers or the church as much as this. Surely not legal either to be forceful in getting peoples personal details at roadblocks without presence of Gardai!

• The poorest in society lads do not have the 80e to spend on getting a passport and many would not have photo ID except a bus pass so factor in the cost of either supplying this card to everybody versus either giving everybody a passport. It’s a great idea, bring on ID cards for everybody else while they at it ones that include your driver licence details if you have them, E111 details, medical card, etc, what is the cost of all these separate cards we have for accessing separate gov agencies?

• I must Copyright my image. And then they will have to pay me to use it.

• About bloody time…

• Deary deary me, some folks could do with a harsh dose of reality. This ID card is costing the state a fortune, we live in a country with a tiny population yet the powers that be can’t manage the SW system.
    Which in itself is a disaster. What was the administration doing during the “boom times” of low unemployment to address make their and our lives easier? The previous and current administration are to blame, this is what they are extremely well paid to do. Don’t think that if any of you experienced what I have, that you wouldn’t say exactly the same. As far as I’m aware the ERSI published estimates of fraud cases and they aren’t as many the government is making it out to be.
    There are far bigger issues facing unemployed people, none of which the previous or current administration want to know about and they pick what makes headline news and makes us out to be dishonest and dodgy. I am so used to having my intelligence insulted and reputation ruined at this stage that I actually don’t know why this bothers me.
    Personally I can’t wait till I’m called into to sign for the card; the first thing is data protection act, which our government seems to think it is exempted from.
    And the Department of Social Protection do stop people on the street and ask for ID, I’ve known a few people that has happened too. Plus, the those public servants are now being posted in airports to stop “welfare travellers”, no idea how that is going to work other than random checks.

• I think that this card is a very good idea, as it will cut down on welfare fraud, which is a good idea overall, as obviously we need to save money, now in these straightened times. It will prevent people from flying in to sign in for their social welfare, which will be a very good thing. Why it wasn’t put in place in the eighties puzzles me.

• It a great idea… The sooner the better.

• Facial recognition will you have to inform the social if you don’t shave for a week or so :-)

• Ann Hand 09/05/12 #

It should be done through fingerprint recognition, not facial recognition

• The poll is showing 89% for and 10% against.
    I am the 1%.

• Why dont credit and debit cards have the same format? It would cut fraud at shop outlets.

• They need to make ID cards like this for those long term dole scroungers such as bailed out bankers, speculators, developers!

• it is an awful pity the same level of scrutiny isn’t applied to themselves as they do for people who have lost their jobs due the state mishandling the economy. If it had, we might not be in as much of a mess as now.

• Should they not just make it a national I.D. Card.

• That is exactly what it is but under another name to avoid privacy issues. Everyone living in Ireland will have to get one because at some point we all have to deal with public services. It’s then just a tiny step to make it mandatory to have it to show the Guards etc.

• It’s to stop the foreigners claiming here while working at home, they send friends back here to collect for them and the money is then sent home. Same thing happened with the children’s allowance they were claiming for kids that were not going to school here. So everybody had to give their kids pps numbers. I’d say it stopped a few of them.

• No reason why not. Pity it’s expensive to set up in the first place, otherwise its no different than having athe present Carta Seirbhisi Soicialach in yer wallet with the American Express Goldcard.

And why would you worry so long as you weren’t on the fiddle? Just as Ger says above.

• New card licence to roll out next January !

• Years too late. Imagine the amount of money they would have saved if it has been in force 10 years ago! They will save 10 times the 24 million € spent and have access to a dedicated database WITH photographs to match the faces so now all someone needs is a photo of someone ‘working’ and someone from the DSP can easily check………..

• I’m for the idea in principle, but I’m concerned as to whether or not this represents ID by the back door.

I would like any legislation around its introduction to make it clear that there is no requirement for any citizen, whether in receipt of state benefits or not, to carry this ID card and show it upon request.

• But in fairness why is a national id bad? I’ve no problem if I have one it’s easier and not everyone has a passport/driving licence and you need some kind of photo id, 17 yrs ago most people I knew only got the provisional for id purposes and it’s harder now as you need the theory test

• There is an all-purpose ID for the purpose of basic identification, supplied by the Gardaí.

I have an issue with people being stopped on the street in a free country and asked to produce a national ID.

• biometric identity systems like this are a nightmare… I bet it will be binned millions later just like our fantastic e-voting machines…. Surely it would be less risky and more cost effective to insist they all get Garda ID cards, or use passports/driving licenses???

• Is this not a bit serf like. Surely everyone should be required to have one or none. It’s just getting worse and worse for civil liberties.

• Interesting how we can argue logically and sensibly – for the most part – about a subject like this ID card; blame the governments for lack of action previously, etc. etc. – yet we also let those governments get away with all sorts of action and inaction for so long. And, typically, as soon as the government of the day decides to attempt to rectify a situation, we’re very vocal indeed. On paper. No offense intended here……

• Is there on for nixers ?

• “I’d like to rent this dvdvd, please, Mr. Xtrabuster.”

“For sure! Have you got you membership card?”

“unfortunately, i sent it into the civil liberty council as a proof of address for my membership renewal.”

“Hmm. We seem to have reached an impasse in the quagmire that is the perennial dvdvdvd rental sitchyashun. Perhaps sir could have some other form of i.d.?”

“Why sure. Here’s my driving licence, passport, household bill, student card, fial of blood, negative naturally, and some d.n.a. ”

“That’ll do nicely. Here’s your copy of Free Willy”

“Byeee! I’ll be sure to have it back tomoorow. I wouldn’t want another fine. I’ll drop it in on my way to the Household/water/flavour of the month anti-fine thingummy on occopy street tomorrow.” – starts car and drives away, meeting an oppressive checkpoint.

“Good evening surr. It’s the ould headlight, you see. Sure isn’t it broken, begorra. Is it having the driving licence on you you’d be having surr, be the hokey or one of them national i.d. cards, like what even my own poor sick mother has? We’re looking for a few bowsies, in case it’s wondering you’d be at.”

*Our hero starts car and takes off avec grande vitesse*

“You won’t infringe on my rights, copper! See ya!”

• This looks like the first step to a cashless system. It even has “chip & pin” technology. Do we really want to give this much power to the government ?

• The government already have records on you, where you live and a number that stays with you all your life. I think we’re too late to argue against these cards…

I wonder what happens to the card after you’ve found a job.

• it was cashless for years (as I remember from my 4week stint on the rock n roll years ago), they changed it to collect in the post office to stop people getting it lodged to their account and flying over to sign once every 3 months…

• No, I think you have both completely misunderstood my point. I mean its moving towards a “cashless” welfare system in that welfare recipients won’t be given cash but instead given credits with which they can buy food, clothes and pay bills.

• It should act like a iPhone make calls too and surf the web. It would be really great if the card could answer your questions too!

• How many cards are needed!! 1,000,000 approx !!!
    thats a cost of 24 euro for each
    Seems like a lot of money for an id card

• ……..great talkers, alright

• Is this being sent out to people who are working full-time as well? Or just those claiming social welfare?

• I’m not opposed to it and I doubt many would be. I’m willing to bet that the implementation of it will be a complete screw up as usual.

People will have to supply their own photos and get them signed at a Garda Station adding to the cost of it. You have to do that to apply for a lot of things in Ireland so if the new card prevents having to go to Gardai several times, even though you have adquate photo id, then I’m not opposed to it.

Add New Comment