TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 12 °C Monday 20 May, 2013

Poll: Do you welcome a minimum sentence for assaults on emergency workers?

Fianna Fáil will table a bill today which would set a minimum sentence of five years for anyone convicted of assaulting an on-duty emergency worker.

A fire officer demonstrating how not to put out a chip pan fire
Image: Niall Carson/PA Archive/Press Association Images

FIANNA FÁIL IS to publish legislation proposing minimum jail sentences for anyone convicted of assaulting or threatening the life of a frontline emergency worker on duty.

The Assaults on Emergency Workers Bill 2012 has been tabled by the Fianna Fáil Spokesperson on Enterprise Dara Calleary and will be debated in the Dáil today. It would introduce a minimum sentence of five years for such assaults.

The bill may raise questions about whether there should be different sentence lengths for assault depending on the occupation of the victim.

Do you welcome minimum sentences for assaults an on-duty emergency workers?

Poll Results:

Read next:

Comments (114 Comments)

• If I could throw another one into the ring

My other half is a nurse in a Dublin hospital. She’s a quiet gentle girl, and weights about 65kg.

She got punched in the face 2 weeks ago by a “patient”.

And this week the same patient (yes he is still there) threatened to kick her in
    The face if she came near him.

Nothing happens except she has to file a incident report.

It’s not on

• You are correct bandara boy,and that is why I am right.

• But are you right Dale!?! You said above your friend physically accosted a member of the Gardai! So what’s your issue with Gardai, as part of all Emergency Services workers, being given extra protection under the law!?! Is it more to do with your views that your friend was a ‘professional’ and is above being arrested where the law is only to be obeyed by the peasants!??

• Correct Louis Jacob,if it was a scroat it would be different,as it is my job to tell both apart,and furthermore,the scroat would be back doing the same within the hour,as they have nothing to offer,by way of compensation.Also the police have the SAME job of telling one from the other and in my mind the cop dealing with the matter had no doubt of what was going on.All I am saying is that the other services are there to fix what has happened,the guards are there to prevent what happens,and are geared and prepared for it.No need for the arrest,court or stress for the individual.For the scroats,well it means food and a bed,then back to Tara st to the gang.A never ending circle,and us taxpayers have to pay for it.what do you know anyway?

• Nuffsaid,I didn’t say it was a friend,and I was the person having the altercation with him.Also I know the cop too,and knew he was angry,AND I if grabbed from behind,especially whist agitated will construe that as somebody assaulting me and lash out,as all people would when caught by surprise.It was a silly thing to be honest,not worthy of an arrest or court,and nothing did come from it,but who is to say it might not happen to you or your friend.

• If you’re basing your views on a single subjective experience then it’s pretty loose anyway.

• Also – how does Bandara’s post prove your situation right in any way?

• So Dale you don’t actually know if he went to court or if he just got a caution would that be right?

• @ Dale. Are you going to watch ‘What Richard Did’ open in all cinemas from today?

• @dale please crawl back under your rock until you have a valid point. This ‘decent’ bloke YOU were having an altercation with. Didn’t end up in court or a fine or a conviction? Well then how does that result in someone being wrongly convicted if an assault and subsequently being imprisoned for assaulting an emergency worker. See the thing is he probably wasn’t arrested for assault. He was probably only arrested for public order because to be honest, no one gets prosecuted for assaulting a Garda unless there’s a proper injury to stand beside. It’s just not worth the hassle.

• Long overdue.

• Seems reasonable to me, depending on the wording. Any no voters care to elaborate on their reasoning?

• I didn’t vote no but I was tempted to. For firemen and paramedics it seems quite reasonable but for the gardaí I’m not too sure. Their job is to essentially get into physical altercations. I’m not saying they should expect to be assaulted (hence why I voted yes) but many people don’t react well to getting arrested and while struggling may unintentionally “assault” a garda (you may say this is nonsense but I’m just putting it down as a possibility). This also brings up the question of what constitutes assault? If some drunk idiot gives a garda a light kick up the arse should he get five years in prison!? Then there’s the possibility that the gardaí might abuse this e.g. they don’t like you so they make it look like they were assaulted and then say it was you! Finally, there’s the idea that they are somehow better than the rest of society. If I get assaulted is it not just as serious a crime? Why not mandatory sentences for everyone convicted of assault? However, I would say that assaulting emergency workers may put others at risk because you are preventing them from carrying out their jobs so it is not necessarily the same.

My yes is with the caveat that the wording would have to be right.

• Not that the individual is better than everyone else, but attacks on these workers may hinder people being saved from dangerous situations!! Firemen and woman regularly he assaulted in certain areas and eventually without a strong deterrent like this they may stop serving certain areas,putting innocent people at risk!

• I said that Brendan. I was just playing devil’s advocate.

• i think it’s a shame that you accept it as the norm that Gardaí should have to put up with being assaulted as par for the course. Why should it be the norm? Why should a fella get off on an assault because he didn’t appreciate being arrested? Why should a Garda be expected to break up a fight when he is given no protection should the fighters turn on him? That’s when Gardaí need the protection.

I think five years is too high though. 6 months minimum would be fairer.

• @ Sean Beag

Keep in mid that part of that 5 years will be cut due to parole/good behaviour etc.
      So if someone is REALLY in for 5 years full, I’d say they more than likely deserve it.
      I’m glad to see this move in new laws being made.

• Does this really need to be asked?? Should be a given. People trying to help you and you deside to sing a dig instead? No brainer. 5 years.

• Red Ed 05/10/12 #

This was a long time coming, nobody has respect for the frontline services anymore and it is getting out of hand. I might not agree with the 5 years maybe a manitory 1 year + would suffice and allow the matter be dealt with in the district court, otherwise a case like this will take years to convict.

• eoghan 05/10/12 #

What they need is a short time in prison and a long time community service it cost money to have them in prison have them out cleaning the motorways

• No point in debating it here now, the Government voted it down anyway as expected. It related to ‘Serious Assaults’, not just pushing or bumping off a Garda/Nurse/Medic/Fire personnel. The Government reckon that there’s enough legislation to deal with it, and new laws would only take the discretion away from Judges…. and that’s actually what’s needed. FF finished with asking where was the Law to support Gary McLoughlin and Robbie McCallion, the two Gardai killed on duty? Years on after everyone condemning the incidents, they vote down the introduction of legislation that might protect front line emergency service workers.

• I have read the majority of comments relating to this article. I have read the arguments for it and against it. We ask these men and women of our, and I do mean our emergency services to stand in the way of harm. To fight to protect us, to run into a building when all are running out or to put us back together. Emergency service workers see all aspects of life. They meet ever class of citizen and they do their level best to help us in our hour of need.

I have read comments stating that Garda would abuse the system, why? Because they are a Garda? Every system is open to abuse by any person.

The majority of members of our emergency services are honest, hard working men and women. They themselves know who are the problem children in their respective jobs and try to avoid them. In my experience we have a very low level of corruption amongst these services and that is something to be proud of! So yes they deserve this protection because without them who would protect and save us?

• “Frontline”
    You will NOT get more “frontline” in a violent situation than Gardai. All emergency service workers should be covered.

• Doesn’t matter, it was rejected by the house….they feel the public order act is sufficient….tell that to the guard who had his nose broken in a court room and the person who did it only got the probation act.

I’m a full time nurse and a volunteer Emergency Medical Technician, so call on me to provide pain relief, fix you up, save your life, hold your hand etc. We are called upon to help people when their lives are at their worst, often exposing ourselves to great danger while doing so, so go right ahead and punch me in the face while youre at it, might make you feel a bit better.

Always nice to know your employer (the government) has your back…..and isn’t increasing your workload to dangerous levels, making every cut imaginable, leaving you with less and less take home pay and to top it off wont convict someone who attacks you.

Ah sure arn’t we lucky to have jobs……….

• “Always nice to know your employer (the government) has your back…..and isn’t increasing your workload to dangerous levels, making every cut imaginable, leaving you with less and less take home pay and to top it off wont convict someone who attacks you.”-
      Indeed! Why are we putting up with it? Why are the people in charge bending over to the pressure, instead of standing up for their employees?

• assault is assault and its highly degrading to any victim, regardless of their profession. Where would the line be drawn anyway? it was suggested previously that it should only apply to fire brigade and ambulance personnel. So if a person is brought to a&e it’s ok to assault the nurse but not ok to to assault the paramedic as that would be dealt with more harshly in court?

• This was discussed and debated before and it went nowhere. It makes perfect sense that it should be in place but Ireland is slow on justice for the tax payer AND emergency workers. It simply won’t happen. It’s a disgrace

• Who would vote no to this!!?

• As it has been rejected by our legislators it shows what contempt they have for all Frontline workers.

• Dave! 05/10/12 #

Alan shatter condemns behaviour in ballyfermot, Gardai have man in court in two hours, shatter and co turn back on the very people they expect to come to their aid. You couldn’t make it up.

• the emergency services provide a huge contribution to the saving of lives as many would attest. any assaults on these services should be dealt with rigorously and big fines should be the norm coupled with community work in the emergency sector cleaning up the detritus form the emergency where possible. generally it is people who are drunk or on drugs and in a normal course of events would not involve themselves with interfering with these services

• Tell that to the personnel of the fire services who are targeted when they answer a call to something like a bonfire at halloween or to deal with injured people at a ‘protest’ and are then assaulted by other protesters. The simple fact of the matter is that no one, no matter what capacity they are working in should have to go to work facing the risk of assault. If a shop worker or bar worker is attacked during the performance of their duty society is rightly disgusted by the act. However people working in the emergency services or in hospitals are regularly exposed to abuse and even assault when they carry out their jobs and some people have now adopted the attitude that ‘they knew what they were letting themselves in for when they joined up”

In my opinion an attack on any emergency service or the Gardai should be seen as an attack on society and treated as such.

• Who does this cover? Prison officers, guards paramedics and nurses??

• Since when are prison officers and nurses “emergency services”? Are you really that dim?

• Perhaps nurses who work in an accident & EMERGENCY department Sean?

Who are indeed covered.

Henry, in the spirit of being helpful and not resorting to childishness here is the bill which outlines those who are covered:
      http://www.oireachtas.ie/documents/bills28/bills/2012/6212/b6212d.pdf

• Tomy – read section 1 – nurses are not included – it’s ambulance services only, firemen and gardai.

“emergency worker” means:
      15 (a) any member of the Garda Síochána as provided for in the
      Garda Síochána Act 2005;
      (b) any employee of the Health Service Executive providing
      an ambulance service for the transportation of seriously
      ill people to hospital or between hospitals;
      20 (c) any employee of a private ambulance transport service
      providing an ambulance service for the transportation of
      seriously ill people to hospital or between hospitals;
      (d) any member of the Civil Defence Ambulance Corps;
      (e) any employee of a Local Authority established under the
      25 Local Government Act 2001 and who are members of a
      fire crew travelling to or from the scene of a fire;
      (f) any medical practitioner or nurse providing medical care
      in the Accident and Emergency ward of a public or
      private hospital;

• Sean – try reading what you have posted – especially part (f) there. You may not have noticed in your rush to try to put your thumb up to your nose and say “na na nanana” that nurses working in A&E are indeed included.

• Bollocks…. fair enough. haha.

• Would they not be covered under (f)? That bit that mentions nurses?

• Gerard 05/10/12 #

@ Sean Herbert

Fail of the week right there fella, great to see somebody put in their place like that.

• That’s your fail of the week? Slow week, Gerard?

• Gerard 05/10/12 #

Please stop embarrassing yourself young man. The fact that you have used your photo and what would appear to be a real name would indicate that you are not trolling. That would then make me believe that you either can’t read properly (your own post) or that you are, indeed as you have called somebody else here, dim. Now don’t come back here with some schoolyard quip which I’m sure will deeply hurt my feelings. Take my advice young fella, just bow out graciously.

• YES. The last thing you should need to worry about when going to work is someone attacking you, these jobs carry enough strains without that fear added to it, however in the case of a Garda being convicted of assault on a member of the public what should their sentence be? IMO 5yrs also

• A quick google on convictions for assault in Ireland.. a Garda being convicted of assault was given 4 months suspended, but also faces the possibility of loss of job. Did you know you can punch a taxi driver in the face and only receive a 800 euro fine.

Where will we put all these assaulters of emergency workers?
      A crude costing based on 800 convictions per year at lets say 50,000 euro per head per annum…shit is that 4 Million or 40 Million ?

• What makes you think they are 800 different people assaulting them? Often one person can be responsable for multiple assaults on multiple occasions.

Anyway, you must be using google wrong. That case in Waterford had minimum two year prison sentences for the Gardaí involved.

• @Paul – there would be less assaults if the penalties were stiffer. So do the maths.

• minimun sentence for all asaulters.
    and a community service system where the public actually sees the service being done.

• The Law’s an Ass anyway, stiffer and harsh sentences would result in people thinking ltwice before committing any crime. Life should mean life, 5,10 and so on should mean exactly that. Treating prisons like an Accountants books, doesn’t deter crime!

• 10 years.

• This Bill has been rejected by the government, Then a man is arrested for throwing an Egg at Eamon Gilmores Car… Where do the priorities lay..

• Few points. Think this was referring to serious assaults(upper level of section 3 to section 4). These are assault when serious injury, broken limbs to lose of limbs. If it carries a penalty of 5 years that means its been tried in a circuit court. So that means
    A) it’s not a push or kick. It’s a serious assault resulting in injury.
    B) it would be up to the jury to decide guilt
    C) it would need more that just a guards word to get DPP directions which are needed for all circuit court cases

Some poster made a point bout some assaults been part of the jobof a guard. What people fail to notice is if we made a claim of assault every time someone kicked out at us there would be 1000’s of complaints. It happens weekly and with a majority of arrests. But a vast majority of guards will not report these case no injury was sustained.

And I voted no in this poll. I think min sentencing should be 5 years for serious assaults (section 4) not just emergency services.

• Yes , lets get the hippies all locked up for attacking gardai

• Protests are a completely different issue. The Gardai should not be covered under this law.

• hippy, non hipy, scanger, career criminal, fella too drunk to know, all the same

Hit a Guard/fireman/paramedic

Do time.

End of.

• With the Gardai the issue isn’t as cut and dry as with the rest of the emergency services.

• Since when is protest synonomous with assult? The right to protest does not mean you can go out and physically attack who ever you want.

• @joy herron – try telling that to the swp and the other left wing “solidarity” groups

• Of course it doesn’t, but the law could be manipulated to make it easy to lock up protesters under false pretences.

• Paul – can you outline in what situation you think it would be okay to assault a member of the Gardai?

I’m all for legitimate protest but violence at such protests does little.

• @ Paul Mallon
      Gardai shouldn’t be covered under this law!?! They’re the first group going on the list of those needing protecting! 800 reported assaults on Garda members last year! They’re always the most at risk of all Emergency services because they can arrest & thus remove you of your liberty (I’m not talking about court sentence / prison here!) and because of this people resist arrest & think it’s perfectly okay to head-butt a Garda to aid their escape! Is this okay!?! What do you work as yourself Paul!?! Any fear of being head-butted at 4:00am on a Sunday morning!??

• JayK 05/10/12 #

Gardai beat the shit out of members of the public frequently enough, often excessively and without justification. The idea that they get this all-encompassing protection sounds extremely dubious. A Guard need no proof of assault except his word, and now his word will carry a 5 year jail sentence? Do you trust the Gardai that much?

Consider this; drunk gets arrested and gets a hiding from a few guards. If you don’t believe this happens nightly then you’re living on another planet. The drunk threatens to go to the police ombudsman, but is told if he does he’ll be done for assault with a mandatory 5-year jail sentence. If it’s his word against theirs, he goes to jail and to guards are acquitted. Obviously, he’ll drop his complaint. It’s a carte blanche for the guards. Don’t think the police are above this.

• Court cases are usually adjourned pending the outcome of the Garda Ombudsman’s investigation so can’t see how your comment makes sense! If the Gardai breached discipline then this will have a bearing on the Court proceedings!

• @Nuff said – I’m not saying the Gardai don’t need some sort of attitional protection, I’m saying as they have the ability to go on the offensive then this isn’t as clear cut as it is with the fire or ambulance services.
      I agree with JayK, it could easily be manipulated by the Gardai should they feel the need.
      On the other hand, I think all Gardai should have guns, I think it’s a bit silly they they’re working without them.

• Who would vote NO the people doing these assaults …….
    Plus also big big fine which they probably won’t pay too so take their warfare away too and no free legal aid too …

• This would be ok if it were matched with raising the minimum for assault on civilians also. It seems you can get away with rape pretty easily here, a year or two, and if multiple accounts, you can just serve concurrently, like as if your short time in jail is going to be proportionately worse.

• This is a real problem, but I oppose mandatory minimum sentences in principle.

Furthermore, the flip side of a law like this is very dangerous. While it sounds great for locking up scrotes who call ambulances and throw rocks at them, what about a situation where, for example, someone gets caught up in a scuffle, started by trouble makers, at a student protest against fees. A garda testifies that the person pushed/kicked/hit a member of the force and bob’s your uncle – a garda has been assaulted in the line of duty and that student has to have the mandatory minimum imposed.

One should always think of the various applications of a law before considering it. We don’t know where we’ll be in a few years and this would be an excellent tool for imprisoning political protesters if we default on our debt, cash machines empty, and the mob goes Greek on the streets.

• My thoughts exactly.

• Being in a protest isnt a licence to attack gardai. If the situation gets rough then remove yourself from it. Simple. In any case, when is the last time you saw someone convicted of assaulting a Garda in a protest?

In actual fact very few people are prosecuted for it. Most are charged with public order offences. When a person is charged with assaulting a Garda it usually means the Garda has received an injury

• I’m not aware of any obligation to assault someone when your protesting?

• I think you missed the point that not all gardai are the most honest folks.

• The point is that it’s open to abuse, that someone could be thrown in jail for a minimum sentence on the say-so of a Garda. In cases where a Garda is assaulted, and someone is convicted, it is typically on the say so of a Garda. I’m not saying there’s anything wrong with that.

What I am saying is that it could be used as a political tool to suppress dissent in the future. Imagine if we defaulted, left the euro and returned to the punt. Imagine then that the value in your bank account is halved, and the price of food and petrol has doubled as a result. You’re a public employee and the value of your pay has halved overnight. You stand at the gates of the Dáil with 20,000 others demanding to know why your quality of life has degraded while bondbolders were paid for the previous 5 years.

A line of young, nervous Gardaí are being verbally thrashed by anarchists to your left. You don’t see what happens but all of a sudden there’s a scrap and the Gardaí are following their training and charging to maintain their perimeter. You’re trampled/punched/whatever, and all you were doing was conducting a peaceful protest. You end up in plastic handcuffs even though you had nothing to do with the scuffle.

There are 100 arrests, and a Garda, through no fault of their own (it was mental down there), has wrongly fingered you for an assault on an officer, mixing you up with another person with the same build and brown hair as you.

Do you want the judge to be able to consider the mitigating circumstances, or do you want him to have no choice but to impose a mandatory minimum sentence?

• Your example doesn’t make sense. If a person is found guilty then why would a judge accept the “I didn’t do it” excuse in mitigation? The issue of guilt and the issue of sentencing are not related.

• See this is where you need to get your facts straight…. No Garda can decide to prosecute someone for assaulting a Garda. It’s under the direction of their superiors and ultimately the DPP. So what I’m trying to say is there is a system in place to root out the ‘rogue’ Gardai who want to prosecute these peaceful protesters. I’m sorry if I sound sceptical but I just think the current legislation is a joke. Read in the paper this week a chap gets a €250 fine for breaking a Garda’s nose. Is that fair? Is it f£$k!

• “whether there should be different sentence lengths for assault depending on the occupation of the victim.” Why?

• No in a democracy it’s the judiciary who make decisions on sentencing not politicians. Politicians should only legislate, the two must be held separate

• This should only apply to paramedics and firemen,as I have personally been there when a guy got wrongly arrested for assaulting a policeman.This was when a Garda came from behind him and grabbed him,subsequently he lashed out not knowing whom it was,and he went white as a sheet when he saw whom it was that he was shoving.(Instantly apologetic)Obviously the Garda was not in a good humour and arrested him for assault without even trying to get to the bottom of the story.This guy was a little drunk and loud,and got a little out of hand,what we see every weekend in the city.Plus he,to my untrained eye did not hurt or even appear to nearly hurt the garda.It could have been very different if the Garda made himself known at first.All I am saying is that,he didn’t deserve prison as he was,again to my eye a working professional person with drink on him,and definitely not a person deserving a sentence in prison.Also it was the fastest I have ever seen a patrol car arrive to a scene to give backup.

• Ah leave it out!

• A lot of the discussion here is centering around the Gardaí. But will Gardaí be considered emergency workers in the new law? Like, is some lad acting the maggot on the street after a night on the beer an emergency? I think we’d have to see the wording of the law.

But obviously, if a paramedic or fireman is trying to rescue someone in immediate mortal danger, and they are attacked by a third party and prevented doing their job, that third party should be done not only for assault on the emergency worker, but also for endangering the life of the person they’re trying to save.

Add New Comment