TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 12 °C Monday 20 May, 2013

Poll: Do you jaywalk?

A new garda campaign to reduce road fatalities may see people who cross the road at ‘unofficial’ points interviewed and prosecuted.

Image: Seth Wenig/AP/Press Association Images

GARDAÍ HAVE LAUNCHED a major campaign to try and reduce the number of casualties on the capital’s roads – and have said that pedestrians are the single most vulnerable road user group in Dublin over the last 10 years, accounting for 1 in 3 fatalities.

Under their new road safety plan, pedestrians who cross roads at ‘unofficial’ crossing points may be interviewed by gardaí and possibly face prosecution. Under the 1997 Road Traffic regulations, you must only cross a roadway when a green light at a pedestrian crossing signals that you can.

Do you jaywalk?

Poll Results:

Read next:

Comments (99 Comments)

• Jesus!! The whole of Cork would be licked up in a week!!

• speaking honestly I get really frustrated with traffic when I’m walking – and really frustrated with pedestrians when i’m driving – maybe I need to join some sort of travelling anonymous group ? :o)

• Jaywalk the odd time, but if there’s a set of lights I usually wait (although there are a set by my house that don’t seem to go green for pedestrians).

What bugs me as a driver is not the individuals who cross when possible, it’s those that lead with a buggy, that’s just stupid, and it happens far to ofter

• It’s not like I walk out in front of cars. Or if traffic is at a standstill, I’m hardly gonna wait for it to disappear to be escorted across by the green man.

It makes perfect sense to consider going after to people for crossing a road when “they shouldn’t be” and not consider prosecuting the real criminals in the country. Anyone stupid enough to cross the road in the path of an oncoming vehicle is gonna be punished by the car anyway.

• Never = Liars

• Well seeing as theres nearly always one broken set of traffic lights where I walk, yes I do. Its the only way I can get across the road. Its hard to get where you need to on time relying purely on drivers letting you cross the road.

• I visit Dublin quite a lot with my son as he visits st James and temple st hospitals on a regular basis. The biggest problem I find is that drivers don’t take heed of pedestrian crossings. Nearly got ploughed down by drivers running red lights on a regular basis. It’s the drivers should be monitored by cameras when the break red lights like in the states.

• That zebra crossing in James is completely ignored by most drivers. It’s unbelievable, I’ve seen taxis speed up to cross it when there’s a load of people coming off the Luas. When you consider the fact that it’s in a hospital where people aren’t exactly quick on their feet it’s even worse!

• Agree , but there are plenty of existing fines and penalty points for cars breaking red lights ,and Garda do enforce those laws if the catch a car breaking red lights , but pedestrians break red lights so often in the city that there’s an acceptance that it’s fine to cross whenever they can , that’s the problem the Garda talking about

• Barry 02/10/12 #

Rarely, I will say though Dublin compared to say Waterford or Kilkenny is insane when it comes to motorists.

If you jaywalk down the country the motorist will generally slow down/stop because they are smart enough to realise that hitting somebody isn’t good for them, their insurance or their car…..oh and the person they hit!.

In Dublin it appears motorists in alot of cases appear to get a kick out of actually speeding up, they def don’t appear to want to avoid hitting the person all that much…certainly not on the same level as down the country anyway.

Now back to the actual news story…..why are they introducing new stuff???
    For the past decade the Gardai have been able to fine people for jaywalking…..I’ve never once heard of it happening though.

• Barry
      i agree with you about drivers in Dublin but dont forget about cyclist,s here in Dublin they seem to think that they have a devine right for not only the use of the road but also the footpath as well.
      most seem to have absolutly no manners at all and if you try crossing at either a controlled or a pelican-crossing you may as well have a target painted on your back and if the law as it stands for 1 road user(i include people who cross the road in this) is to be enforced with renewed vigour it should be enforced for ALL road users alike
      please note i do not drive i,m a lowly pedestrian.
      i would also like to add that when i was in Enniscorthy recently i found that both drivers&cyclists alike were among the most well mannered road users i,ve came across in a very long time.
      B.T.W I am a dub

• It is a victimless crime unless your stupid enough to walk out in front of vehicle….more garda time spent on stupidly.

• One of the first things I learned when I made the move to Germany a few years back was: you DO NOT cross the road until the man is green and god help you if there are children around! It’s come to grow on me now and there’s nothing I enjoy more than spending a few seconds standing still and staring at the people across the road!

• Yes, due to poor town planning across the whole of Ireland it’s impossible not to jaywalk, it’s also relatively safe to jaywalk in most towns if the person doing it has some cop on, unfortunately there seems to be a national shortage of cop on these days.

Dublin is of course an exception to the rule and jaywalking should be clamped down on hard in the city, elsewhere there’s no real need.

• Surely there are other areas of traffic law that should be addressed? – like people jumping on bandwagons?

• I will jay walk if its safe to do so . I not blindly wait for a green man to tell me . I wont cross however if a car has to stop or slow down .

• I moonwalk across the road, why? because I got it like that ;)

• While I may not always use official crossing points (mainly cause of bad placement or lack of enough of them) I the still follow the safe cross code when I cross the road. Fine people who cross without looking but don’t fine people who cross safely even is it isn’t an official crossing point. We don’t need to go down the American nanny state route with this, why in gods green earth would I wait for a green man to tell me to cross when I can see that the road is empty of traffic and to fine someone for that is crazy.

• I don’t think the point is to have guards trying to find people crossing on very empty roads and fine them ,it’s the busy centres like Dublin that are out if control , the general habits is for pedestrians to just ignore the lights altogether , cross where they like and at weekends it’s particularly bad , added with drunken people walking on the roads randomly , the stats are unreal , 12000 pedestrians injured adding massive pressures on a and e services , motorists get points ,there’s ramps , 30 zones and plenty of red lights to be obeyed and you face fines etc for breaking , pedestrians need some deterrent to force them think a bit more

• I’m aware of that Dave but it could be a very soft way for Garda to issue fines, the rules have to clearly set out so that a fine can only be issued if the person acted recklessly rather then just for technical breech of the rules. In America certain states can issue a fine to a person that crosses an empty road at an unofficial crossing point, that sort of thing is what I don’t want to see happen here.

• Agree Jason , I lived in the states or years and wouldn’t want Ireland to copy their somewhat excessive police state mentality , but actually it was when I moved back to Dublin I really noticed the dublin city centre pedestrians are kinda outa control a bit , especially late night weekends , do need to try get people to think about what they are doin , I’d hate to see it become into a father ted skit where a Garda is stopping someone on an empty road , but I’m all for trying to get some semblance of normality into pedestrians crossing as I say especially city centre , at the moment the vast majority just cross when they feel like it but when they end up in accident and emergency the car “came out of nowhere “

• I used to do it a lot more before I learned to drive!

• Yes

• Poll is up there love…

• That it is!

But i have no other option other than to jaywalk as the nearest official crossing is 2.5 kms away.

Even after that one the next is another 1.5 kms away.

• Then it’s not Jay Walking

• But i also cross when the man is red, of course i dont see any cars coming when i do… I’m suprised that in ireland your not supposed to cross the road within 15 meters of an official crossing but I can see why that is the case as even on a busy road there are few and far between official crossings most places have a 50 meter or 100 meter rule.

I have noticed in the last few years more zebra crossing are being put up but cars will still drive over you on a zebra crossing and look at you as if your in the wrong…

• Karla…It’s only ileagle to cross the road within 15mtrs of a crossing if a crossing is present, So if you cross 20mtrs from the crossing you’re ok or if no crossing is present you can cross where you like. Under Irish law a pedestrian has right of way on the road. This is why a driver needs a licence which is speicial permision to use the roads.

• @Francis, sorry to hear about your sick bird.

• Aaron t 02/10/12 #

in Limerick often times when I push the button for the green man, the light will just switch off and allow the traffic to stay moving, leaving you no other choice but to cross illegally. the junction in st. mary’s is a great example

• John F 02/10/12 #

Hooray for more Americanisms!:-)

• Sometimes I jaywalk because those ridiculously expensive new roads we got here in Galway have lights that are configured to make walking across the road needlessly complex and time consuming. However, I have noticed at the times when I wait for the little man to go green, if it is *technically* possible for me to cross the road, both pedestrians and drivers look at me like I’m some sort of simple-minded crazy for not having the balls to just go for it. It’s kinda like how Irish people don’t respond properly to fire alarms if we can’t see the fire. This fear of looking silly for waiting like a fool to be told to cross the road appears to be part of our DNA.

• you should try luxembourg, the most law abiding country in the world, they would have you could start a country-wide panic there if you were to cross without the green man, certainly you would risk being committed

• Another potential avenue to allow the Gardai to randomly interrogate you as you go about your business. Jaywalking might be dangerous in certain circumstances but it should not be a crime.

• Maybe not a crime but definitely should be spot fines and there should be no issue with police handling pedestrians the same as motorists , you get points in a car f, but idiots are forever walking in front of traffic , sometimes drunk , often in dark clothing late at night and separate to pedestrian deaths literally thousands every year end up in accident and emergency , Ireland has a shockingly bad attitude to walking on roads especially in city centre like Dublin with some crappy myth that pedestrians have ” right of way” , it is not an issue of making it a crime it’s an issue of creating some deterrent ti get people to pay attention…

• Dave…This is not a myth. This from the rules of the road.

As a driver, you must not put a pedestrian at risk. In particular, you must give way to pedestrians:

on or at a zebra crossing (even if they are only waiting to cross),

on or at a pelican crossing, when the amber light is flashing,

crossing the road, if you are moving off from a stationary position (for example at a traffic light or a parking space), and

at a junction, if they have started crossing the road.

• That’s precisely the point Francis , these are the perfectly legitimate listed situations that pedestrians cross where the have a right of way , but there are an equally longer list of times and places where pedestrians are not suppose to walk across the road for example at red lights , as ive said esoeially in dublin city late at night , or when they see a break in traffic where they act as if they have a “right of way” , something like 12000 injured pedestrians a year , not because its always cars that break red lights and knock them down , but because many pedestrians don’t follow the rules of the road , that’s what the Garda are talking about , trying to get pedestrians to pay attention. In my experience in Dublin , they are right.

• Orly 02/10/12 #

Maybe, and I’m just saying this for argument’s sake; I don’t necessarily agree with this… just maybe a certain amount of people are supposed to die in accidents like ones on the road… so that the population isn’t constantly growing and growing. I mean, most reasonable people will go out of their way to not die. If you’re walking in front of traffic, maybe the world doesn’t need your genes to continue?

Just playing devil’s advocate. I don’t actually think it. It’s just a perspective I’ve been working through, it’s not at all my perspective. I’d obviously prefer that people didn’t die just because they were a bit careless.

• Hey Colin, next time you’re in that situation, stick your tongue out and rub both legs above the knee, trust me!

• Also the RSA advise to pedestrians is pretty clear in relation to Zebra Crossings but as u said often misunderstood or misquoted

“You do not have the right-of-way over other traffic until you actually step onto the crossing. Never step onto the crossing if this would cause a driver to brake or swerve suddenly.”

• Also the RSA advise to pedestrians is pretty clear in relation to Zebra Crossings but often misunderstood or misquoted

“You do not have the right-of-way over other traffic until you actually step onto the crossing. Never step onto the crossing if this would cause a driver to brake or swerve suddenly.”

• Damocles 02/10/12 #

As long as it doesn’t reach the absurdity of Denmark where, if you’re crossing a road not at a crossing at 1 in the morning in the middle of nowhere a police car miraculously appears.

• NOTHING CAN STOP ME FROM WALKING WHERE I WANT! NOTHING! MUAHAHAHAHAHAAAAAAA

• I was off drink for 6 months so had the car out with me more often at weekends than usual and I was completely shocked at how crazy Dublin city was to drive through at 3am , I had noticed the way people cross during the day but in the drunken hours the amount of pedestrians crossing wherever they want , its out if control , I understand why there is a move to try get people to think and behave a bit different when it comes to pedestrian injuries

• If they’re going to do that could they please also clamp down on drivers entering box junctions they can’t exit, i am sick of threading my way through them when the lights are green and especially on cyclists braking reds, in fact I don’t think I have ever seen a cyclist stop at a redlight at a pedestrian crossing, it’s disgusting.

• It’s good practice for when you go abroad to those countries where jaywalking is mandatory!

• In many cases at pedestrian crossings don’t give enough time to cross safely , point in case the pedestrian crossing at st Vincent’s hospital only gives you about 10 seconds to cross. Don’t know how many times I have had and seen so many near misse

• In some places you would have to walk miles to the nearest crossing. Its a new campaign to collect fines and revenue for Government. Everything they do is about money and what they can suck out of us.

• I see Gardaí cross the road when it’s red all the time.

• I have to thank The Journal for this article. I saw it before lunch and went off down town. Was just about to cross the road (break in traffic), when I remembered this article, next thing I look at there was two Gardai on the Pedal Bikes stopped at the lights…. But then four people crossed and the Gardai couldn’t’ have cared less

• Might help if they built & maintained pedestrian crossings etc. in convenient places. So you dont have to go on a ten minute walk to cross on a zebra crossing JUST to turn around and get back to close to where you started.

• Fantastic,a rehash of an unworkable law.Has the country really gotten to that stage,where we are all out of good ideas ???

• If the traffic light control centre had a bulls notion how to configure a traffic light network properly well then people might not j walk.

• My dad was done for jaywalking about 20 years ago, at the Jervis street/Mary street crossing in Dublin! If anyone knows it, it’s laughable! Needless to say he went mental at the guard! Told him if your doing me your doing everyone else lol I think it was the bit we’re my dad refused to give him his name that got him summonsed to court!! My mother told him to give his name so he did but still had his day out in court for giving cheek!

• Maybe they could enforce this law after they put pedestrian crossing lights in locations that obviously need them, Mountjoy Square and where the Ranelagh Road meets the canal being two examples familiar to me.

• I agree , for a city that has out up so many traffic lights there’s a lot of places that need pedestrian crossings or facilities for pedestrians and they don’t have them , that said pedestrians here generally cross whenever it suits them weather the lights are red or green

• Jaywalking? Are we in America now?

• In some cities it is pedestrians have to wait ages for the red man to go green. I generally wait eventhough most other people will check trqffic and then cross.
    It irritates me to see Gardai and traffic wardens crossing when red man is indicated. bad example to kids and others.

• As a driver I always am vigilant for pedestrians as I always Jaywalk myself and am aware that I take a risk but it is my body at risk and personally don’t care. In view of the reduction of gardai it would be hard to enforce. The roads crossing for the pedestrian is few and far between and a long wait as cars are given the first option. I think we Irish have little regard for personal safety and even less for the ‘nanny state’ telling us what to do.
    As a footnote:-
    By the way I a gripe I hate pedestrians / drivers who dawdle walk /drive obstructing others and also generally middle aged men who think women shouldn’t be drivers on a road ( younger male drivers are used to seeing their mothers drive). That’s my moan. Mary Anne

• G 02/10/12 #

Surely a clampdown on cyclist using the roads would be more appropriate, they don’t abide by any laws and cause all sorts of havock. Of course most of them are green party, environmental PC tree huggers so we couldn’t be seen to tamper with their rights.

• How many people die from jaywalking a year? 5? 10? WHO CARES??? Crossing the street is not such a dangerous thing, unless you’re a moron! This is another one of those mega-ultra-ridiculous things we constantly have to put up with in Ireland on a daily basis.

• Do it all the time , yet it really annoys me when I’m driving , if I break a red in a car I get a fine and points yet if I break one crossing the road I get nothing . Suppose something has to be done

• I said sometimes I walk everywhere but cos there so many traffic lights in Naas now – think they got a backhander from council- you don’t need to, the lights never take that long & why risk being killed or injured just for sake of a few extra minutes waiting

• You’re reading of the Road Traffic Regulations for pedestrian road users is wrong! The law states:
    “On a roadway on which a traffic sign number RPC 001 [pedestrian crossing] has been provided, a pedestrian shall not cross the roadway within 15 metres of the crossing, except by the crossing.”
    IE: it is only within 15meters of of a crossing that you are obliged to use it to cross the road. Also its impossible to answer your question as there are now Jaywalking laws in Ireland making it impossible to Jaywalk no matter how you cross the road!

• jaywalkers the bane of a truckers life ……….and a law should come in if you’re hit while jaw walking ….well tough shit

• What is jaywalking? ;-)

• As a matter of interest what about those speed bumps with a dash of white paint … are they official zebra crossings? There’s no flashing lights, just pedestrians who walk in front of you because you’ve slowed down for the speed bump.

My other pethate is people who opt to jaywalk in the space I’m parallel parking into …

• Another law for the poor people to obey. It will have to be done because the plebs will all have to walk soon and sure the rich don’t want to be slowing down.

• sara 02/10/12 #

No I don’t you can never be in that much of a hurry that you would risk your life, as a child you learn to cross the road safely that should stay with you as a responsible adult, I teach my children how to be road safe

• It’s almost impossible to not jaywalk in Ireland as the so called safe crossing points are more dangerous as well as being few and far between.

• I have no objection to ppl jaywalking, i just have an objection to ppl walking straight out in front of me, and then wonder why you are getting irriatated with them…i do wish that the traffic warden in our town would do his job right. One of the pedestrain crossing (its a raised black and white one no traffic lights) is a nail biting experience getting over as 95% of the time there are cars parked on it, and a lot of ppl expect you to see them even though your view is obstructed!
    Had a man walk out in front of me last week, stand in the middle of the road so that he could get his friends across the road, still trying to figure out the logic of that one as i would have stopped and let them across as it was raining

Add New Comment