TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 18 °C Wednesday 19 June, 2013

Poll: Are you satisfied with the government’s progress in job creation?

As news breaks of the second big job announcement this week we ask: Are you happy with the government’s progress in job creation?

The Taoiseach and Tánaiste were pleased with themselves at the Kerry Group jobs announcement this week...but are you?
Image: Laura Hutton / Photocall Ireland

TODAY THE TAOISEACH is due to announce the creation of 600 jobs by 2015 at the official opening of Paddy Power’s new headquarters in Dublin.

This follows an announcement earlier in the week that Irish firm Kerry Group will create 800 jobs over the next three years within its firm and a further 400 construction jobs in the building of its new research and innovation centre in Naas, Co Kildare.

In the last month month there have been more than ten job creation announcements by various companies around the country. However the most recent figures from the Central Statistics Office showed the unemployment rate remained at 14.8 per cent in September.

We want to know what you think: Are you satisfied with the government’s progress in job creation?

Poll Results:

• Share on Facebook
  • Email this article
  •  

Read next:

Comments (133 Comments)

• Irish Unemployment in June 2011 was 14.8%, now it is 14.9%, this doesn’t seem like much of a jump however this does not take into account the thousands that have left these shores in search of a job.

Is the government doing a good job? Don’y make me laugh!

• I don’t know if it’s as straight forward as that. Economic experts might advise the government to give tax breaks to the wealthy so as they may hire extra employees but that’d be right wing and extremely unfair as the normal joe would have to make up the shortfall. Plus there’s no smart businessman going to take a huge gamble in this climate.

• The number of people at work is decreasing. The govment said it would do much more than it has done. Where is the new bank for credit to smes? Allowing cost of fuel to rises is anti jobs, talk of employers paying for sick leave is also anti jobs, talk of increasing employers prsi is anti jobs, cutting the spending power of the less well off, is anti jobs. These are just examples.
    Their biggest sin is letting the morale of the country sink by their lack of drive, deception and selfishly protecting their own overpayments.

• paddy power 800 jobs and no help from the government… answers that question

• While I’m delighted for those who’ll get those jobs, we have a huge problem with gambling addiction in the country.

• We also have a big alcohol problem and a big obesity problem, let’s stop selling food and drink too. Personal responsibility is the key not nanny state.

• Is there a niche in the market for prostitution? Cos I’m sitting on a gold mine ;)

• Keith my point was that the Paddy Power jobs may be good for the government coffers but is it a sign of the times worth celebrating? If everyone took up smoking the tax take would swell but that’s not neccessarily a good thing; there is a cost down the line with health that someone has to pay for. Simarily when people get into debt due to gambling addiction the debts don’t just dissappear they become everyone’s problem.

• Anne, I really don’t care where the jobs come from, as long as they come, companies like Paddy Power should be praised for their achievements. Ireland is a very small part of Paddy Power’s business, the majority of it’s business is done abroad, should every country in the world ban gambling? I don’t think that is realistic, and I fail to see why we shouldn’t capitalise on that. Like all things that can have a negative impact on a very small percentage of people, there should be facilities to help these people rather than stopping the activities for a larger percentage of people who enjoy responsibly.

• Governments don’t create jobs, they provide a sound economic grounding so that those who are able to create jobs can create jobs.

• Create-to cause, to exist ,to bring into being,to give rise to ,to produce through artistic or imaginative effort…export the young and put the rest on FAS courses .

• What job creation?

• What jobs have they created, seriously??? I was let go from the IT industry, started a course in accounting to broaden my options job-wise and I’m still looking for a job after 1.5 years! I may be 40 but I am not ready for the scrap heap yet….It would be interesting to see how many people are there in their 40ies plus unemployed?

There is a huge huge need for more front-line staff in the public services…. why can’t the ministers cut a quarter of their salaries and put this money towards in hiring extra staff (ideally people aged 40 plus with experience) thus reducing the unemployment figures??

• Just so you know I am not disagreeing with what you are saying but I think it is is really short sighted to suggest that there should be some sort of preferential system that was biased towards those in their 40′s. Everybody in Ireland should be able to have a job and earn a decent living.

Irelands youth should have a bit more focus put on it. They are not gaining valuable life experience through earning their own wage while studying (if they can even afford to go to college) There are no jobs in the service industry for young people to work in….every single bar or restaurant I go to has a significant majority of EU migrants working in the compared to Irish. I’m sure someone is going to try make what I just said into a racist statement but seriously when the older generations voted on opening up Ireland to EU migrants, you basically sold your children’s futures away for some colourful new money and making it easier buy a holiday home abroad.

Even if you did cut the ministers salaries by a quarter…I don’t think you could find 166 people who are 40+ with experience who would work for less than 24k per annum in a front line public service job. We need real solutions….not gimmicky solutions that are more about venting your anger against ministers.

• Would have thought the IMF last report would point to the fact that they are not doing a good job? Governments job is to create the environment for increasing employment. They’re not doing that,

• One step forward and Two steps back…
    Do not forget the emmigration …
    The live register is at 14.8% ….. Facts do not lie !
    They have to Create Jobs . they are not doing this .
    Local jobs to support the local economy !

• It’s raining…its windy…its cold outside….Eileen is giving out…Irelands permanent winter.

• I am not giving out !
      I like the sound of the rain .
      It is clean and refreshing !
      I am sorry if you are feeling so miserable toorkeel,but I am happy.
      All I am doing is stating the obvious and if you are being deluded by Government spin
      and are happy to accept it then …..so be it . But for me I enjoy sharing :) :)

• Considering the economic climate – and that’s the global economic climate – I don’t think they are doing a bad job. I’m a kid of the 80′s who had to emigrate when unemployment was at 19% and interest rates over 20% – things are defo picking up, slowly (but surely) – I do have to agree though that it seems that with every step forward, we do seem to take a partial step back

• Well ok , i could ask you the same of you ‘.Eileen is giving out…Irelands permanent winter.’ ” and what you mean by that comment ?
      However leaving that aside we agree that there is very little or no improvement in job creation here. Where ire the figures which take into account EMIGRATION ? A thousand jobs a week are being lost and the same numbers in emmigration is keeping the figures static.

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/breaking/2012/0927/breaking31.html

I find myself amazed by people who can justify this governments ineptness .Seriously ? They are a disgrace.

• Euhhhh….Sorry Eileen, you are giving me the flu…..please stop….sniff….sniff…cough!

• Ah Toorkeel
      You too !

• Declan, the population has increased by over 25% since then.

Funny enough…
      19% of 3.5m people is 670,000 people on the live register (1980s)
      14.9% of 4.5m people is 665,000 people on the live register (now).

Emigration isn’t an option for so many people without income, in negative equity, with families, with mortgages and other debts and with a cost of living much higher than it was (fuel, bills).

• Don’t be like that Eileen…a little bit of sarcasm on this dreary day, I’m not having a go at you.. Agreed, the country is in the pits. I honestly believe that my nearly three year old son will be starting Secondary School before this country is any way right, that’s approx 10 years. I have to be honest, (By the way I am not a supporter in the true sense of the word of any party), but there seems to be a lot of job announcements lately which has to be positive, however on the flip side there is the emigration of our brightest and best, the backbone of our economy…yet unemployment figured remain pretty much static…I have my own theory on that, but that’s another argument. I believe the Government are doing ok with the poisoned chalice they were handed, trying to remedy the blunders if the past 15 years…but more needs to be done…a lot more….

• ..and just to flog a dead horse… the statistics show that it actually only rose to 17% at the height of the 80s unemployment. So that’s less than 600,000 people.

• Well Toorkeel ,
      What is your take on the numbers remaining static ?

I have been through recesssion before ,in the 80′s when
      Mortgage interest rates were in the double figures. I had young children
      then and now they are adults , well educated and devastated,no work and emigration is
      a constant threat!
      Are you rearing your son to emigrate? I do not mean a lifestyle choice in travelling ,but, emigration ? I have a young son still in National school ,
      What have we to offer them . Education too is being decimated ,
      our health services ? I have an elderly mother who needs 24 hr care . She is medically fit but is disabled due to Arthritis and is in a wheelchair ,she is also getting confused over recent years and cannot be alone.
      They are cutting services,yet my mother worked and paid her taxes all her life .
      Life is a ”bi**h” and we must get on with it . But this government are carrying on the legacy of the last appalling administration . BTW I voted FG number one( and didso all my life ) ,but my eyes have been opened since ”NOT ANOTHER CENT” . All I can do is apologise and make amends by highlighting how bad this government is and make sure they never get elected again ! .
      I have a sick child here hoping it is not serious as I do not have a medical card , but if my son needs a doc I will bring him , that is what we do … try and cope .

• Toorkeel would you care to engage in proper discussion instead of smart remarks? Eileen’s been providing arguments to support her claims, I think you’re showing very well the government position…

• @Chris…..Ahhhmmm….ill think about it….honest….!
      @Eileen…lot of anger there. I’ve said what I have to say on the matter. As I said I have my thoughts on why the same static figure is claiming welfare yet thousands are emigrating…it should be declining. That’s an argument for another day. Believe it or not we are probably in agreement on a lot of things…

• Don’t feed the FG troll, deflecting away from the point of the article which is nobody is satisfied with this government’s pathetic attempt at creating employment & running the country…..running it into the ground more like!

• Just for those who aren’t aware the Unemployment rate is not based on the population its based on the workforce which is not the same as the total population. the current workforce is approx. 2,100,000 so unemployment is around 311,000. I don’t think its fair to almost double that figure when you use the wrong information.
      I think they’re doing the best they can although i think they need to become more creative, perhaps looking at the cooperative sector to create jobs or giving a 2 year commercial rates break to all new businesses to help the domestic economy.

• Actually, the challenge is not creating jobs. You cannot create jobs, not sustainable ones anyhow. You need to create the environment where businesses can operate within the available economy.

Right now, Fine Gael and Labor are failing hand over fist because they insist on terrorizing the economy. While pure logic dictates that every ten euro you pull away from the working class is ten euro from the economy, in reality this can turn out even worse because of coping mechanisms within that economic crisis. For instance, if I have say €50 spare for the economy – buying coffee for the family, or taking the missus for lunch, or buying a game for the kids, etc. Then you come along and add another €40 to my taxes. I only have €10 to spend on the economy. This isn’t so bad, and it’s the calculations that the IMF did. The problem is that FG/Labor went overboard: instead of taking €50 from those that spent €100 in the economy, they currently take €100 from those who were spending €50. With the result that the extra €50… must come from somewhere. Is it any surprise that there are one in five mortgages in more than three months arrears? Worse, now they want to take €150 from those same individuals that only had €50 with new taxes and charges.

So the problem, in my humble opinion is NOT creating jobs. It’s creating an economic climate that can create the jobs – and the stimulus to do so is typically found in charges and taxes that are crushing the workforce out of spending habits needed to recover.

Erm.. just my humble opinion in any case :)

• Aaron 11/10/12 #

Job creation is one part of the problem and realistically there’s only do much they can do. I’d like to see them do more to save the jobs of the people where companies are in trouble. Olhausens and Target Express being prime examples where they could have stepped in and helped to save jobs.

• I was thinking the exact same thing. There may be some new jobs on the horizon but it’s not changing the national unemployment rate because of the businesses that are closing far too regularly.

• Did you actually use Target as an example??? As in some way this was the Goverments fault….Give me a break… The socila landscape of Ireland is changing and thus many of the small and medium enterprises that people go on about are actually not viable because people….not the Goverment dont want there products or service… A great example is small town shops closing day in day out while Kildare Village opens new outlets every day!!! The Goverment can change what people want to spend their money on….

• Granted, the landscape is changing and some businesses are products of the past but a lot of businesses are forced to close from back taxes being harshly pursued. I know someone who was told by a sheriff that the government wanted them to close regardless of the amount of people he employed, because he owed fifty grand or so in old taxes. This is the stuff that doesn’t get much attention. And any business owner will tell you that extortionate council rates are killing their companies.

• Announcements are just that…announcements. While I prefer to hear of jobs being created than being lost, the focus must on actually implementing the proposed jobs.

• They are having a disastrous time in power, the jobs Paddy Power and Kerry group have announced have little to thank the Enda sham government for. Just a nice photo op for him and his spineless henchman Gilmore. They have no plan and if they do it’s all spin.

The only jobs they have created is for PR agencies.

• Paul 11/10/12 #

How could anyone (other than the leeches in government) be satisfied when for every 100 Euros they steal from the people for their banking buddies the damage the economy by a further 90 – 150 Euros, thus destroyed the prospects of recovery and truthful job creation.

• So, what’s your solution?

• What’s yours, Tom?

• Several solutions have already been said Tom, but you’re too blind to see it, take the Fine Gael rose tinted shades off for a while. If the banks were doing what they were supposed to be doing, then there would be more jobs. If upward only rents and unjustified rates were tackled there would be more jobs.

• :-) Jim! I can’t say I have the solution i’d start with reducing public spending, tougher and tighter laws on bankruptcy to stop these “business people” getting away without paying debt! Tax incentives to help people set up their own companies. That’s just for starters…. Oh, reduce the number of TDs and senators. Transparency on public expenses. You have any thoughts on a solution?

• Fair point on the Rents Keith…

• Paul 11/10/12 #

Its very simple Tom. Stop paying ransoms to the international financial terrorists, thus allowing the ordinary man and woman in this country to have more than enough money to spend on basic living. This would stimulate the economy and thus encourage job creation. I also like your suggestions, especially about cutting public spending Lets start with the TDs. Cut all allowances, give them the average industrial wage and cut out all the perks. None of them should be profiting from their jobs. Being a politician should be a vocation, not a career move. This is the only way to get the best and most dedicated people. They have tried paying them ridiculous salaries to get ‘the best people for the jobs’ and it clearly does not work.

• Spot on Paul.

• That is a really good point Keith about the upward only rents. This should be a top priority to sort out. A client I was doing a job for last week was telling me how the landlord for their office wanted to put up their rent by €7000 a year. His reasoning on it is that because the offices are in a prime location in Dublin 2 that he could have the someone moved in within a couple of weeks if the client didn’t agree to it. It was just a veiled and empty threat though as two of the other floors on the building have been empty for at least 7 months with no sign of anyone willing to rent them.

It is pure greed.

• Richard 11/10/12 #

Given that Ireland’s economic policy is premised on internal devaluation, which is to say, job destruction and deliberately high rates of unemployment, this is like asking me if I am satisfied with the efforts of burglars in keeping crime rates down.

• Congrats on the choice of photo for this article. Two guys under pressure, I don’t think. The journal picks great photos from time to time.

• the above two announcements total 1600 jobs created over 3 years…(yesterday the Irish Examiner said that 2000 jobs were to be created by the Kerry group)….nice to hear of job creation…but I have lost all confidence in the “default” taoiseach, quite literally he is an Embarrassment, so I am very suspect about whatever PR he spouts

• Is there any indication of how involved the government was in this?

Would these jobs have happened regardless of who was in power?

I’m in my current role because of departures of previous employees and someone being on maternity leave, for instance, how was the government involved in that?

• Well I doubt they’d have been created if Sinn Féin or Fianna Fáil were in power.

• Typical FFg/Labour response to a serious question being asked …
      Attack SF, its all their fault. For Christs sake, some people/ Government party’s are unable to put forward constructive arguments in their defense to support the job they are doing. Their only defensive argument is to attack SF. Get a life.

• @ dave higgins do you seriously think that these businesses said to themselves ” oh f.g are in government so we’ll create some jobs and give them the credit “? these firms would have created the jobs no matter who was in government , both firm are genericly Irish and therefore it would make sense that if they were going to expand they would do so here, what i find strange is that one of the few growth industries in this recession is the gambling industry.,

• “A HIGH-LEVEL meeting between senior ministers and executives from the country’s flagship food company was key to a €1.25bn jobs coup.

The Government had to fight off competition from Britain and mainland Europe to secure the deal with the Kerry Group, which will create 1,300 jobs over the next four years. A further 1,300 jobs are expected in employment spin-offs.” – Irish Independent

• Tommy there is one word in what you wrote that describes it perfectly – SPIN.

• @David Higgins Good man David, highlighting the obvious lack of ideas and creative thinking within your party!
      Keep it up buddy!

• would love to know what was promised at this ‘high level meeting’ probably some deal where they could pay little or no tax, for the next x amount of years, or the promise that they could pay their staff at below minimum wage because the government promises to slash that in the next budget .

• Does jobs for the boys/relations/friends/spouses count becasue they’re getting top marks for that.

• No, the mass regulation of so many industries has brought industry to its knees in terms of job creation, lower taxes, less regulation and lowering commercial rates will create jobs

• Absolutely not. The government needs to take more control of the banks. We all know of viable businesses that should have gotten off the ground and had excellent prospects for potential jobs creation. But because these small businesses have no access to loans and overdrafts that are available in every other country, they go under.

Same with the olhausen sausage factories that closed down. There was a buyer ready to purchase the company and continue production, but Ulster bank put its foot down and wouldn’t allow it because the buyer was planning to pay off the debt owed to Ulster bank in a relatively short period. All this because the bank was after more money than it deserved.

Fine Gael / Labour really are not much better than Fianna Fail. As a matter of fact they are worse. You knew where you stood with FF…it was obvious for all to see what was going on but we didn’t care because the money was good in the boom.

Fine Gael / Labour have come into power on the back of lies and broken promises. Labour have shed every last ounce of dignity they had in order to suckle at the teat of power. I believed their crap at one point but they have sold their souls and they will go the way of the Greens in the next election.

• What happened with the so called “5 point plan”?

• Job “creation” really means that there are foreign companies taking advantage of the corporate tax rate and requiring highly skilled staff for new or expanding premises. Are people here skilled enough for these jobs or are they hiring people from abroad to fill these new roles?

To effect the live register significantly, there has to be a significant amount of people in these industries on the live register in the first place. There are not – they always had jobs. For the people on the live register who once worked in industries that have now disappeared (or all but), retraining and subsidised education is essential.

• Despite ones political persuasion people need to cop on to reality. Cannot understand that almost 49% who voted in the poll believe that the Government is doing a great with job creation when all the stats indicate the country is in a crisis situation in terms of severe unemployment and lack of opportunity.

• The taxpayer should fine them one billion for every broken pre-election promise.

• who are the 79 plebs that think this government has done enough to create jobs in Ireland?

• Martin 11/10/12 #

Create employment, well they can’t its not in their cabability unless the hire more public servants. But they could create an invoirment for job creation instead this government are the enemy of small business they have destroyed thousands of jobs by their in-action There are hundreds of jobs a day being lost around the country with small amounts of workers being laid off but with the business themselves still ticking over. RTE under labours control report only the closures of big companies like these are the only jobs lost that day, and highlight all new jobs created as headline news. Its one thing to be positive an another to lie to the people.

• Well if they keep cutting and taxing, the householders budget and leave them with no money to spend in the economy. Then they will be creating circumstances, where more jobs are lost and less created. They have hammered the middle and lower classes enough already, its time they got hit and the rest of the elite at the top!

• how do you create jobs when you are jumping through all the hoops that the euros are setting out. Charles haughie ( not correct spelling.) when how to give good incentives to get theses big company’s in as bad as it sounds most of the world works on back handers and that’s a fact but by being in to eu we are restricted as to what we can offer

#jobsfortheboys

• eoghan 11/10/12 #

Anyone read the piece in the independent some guy was trying to put 1million into the olhauason company ulster bank rejected it.the government needs to get involved in cases like this The banks making the decisions

• Sibhs 11/10/12 #

The only jobs created by this crew are for consultants, friends, cronies and family.

• They should employ or deploy some extra staff (under the Croke Park Deal) to Longford as the invalidity section in the department in Longford is at least 6 months behind in processing their applications. Again the sick and vulnerable are irrelevant to this government. If it were the TDs expenses they would be paid promptly. The good people who work there are under pressure and again if it were the passport office for holiday passports the problem would be addressed instantly.

• Problem is people in the civil service don’t want to be relocated. Remember the grand auld idea of decentralisation to provide centres of work outside of the capital?

• What about the disabled in Dublin or Galway or Kilkenny….You are after giving a perfect example of whats actually is rotten in Ireland….Basically Parish rules and everyone else can go to hell…..Im all right jack!!!

• Declan – presume that was aimed at my comment not Frank’s?

I was criticising the problem I highlighted, not defending it. I believe very strongly that the rest of the country should receive a great deal of investment. Any local politicians who are touting industry abroad to come there instead of Dublin – because of cheaper prices, proximity to access and communities that you would actually want to become part of – should be acclaimed for their efforts. However it is just such places that suffer from parish pump politics too.

At the time I found that I was the only person I knew who thought that decentralisation was a good idea. Everyone else seemed to think it was daft .

• Leigh,
      Comment was directed at Frank… As for your thoughts on decentralisation…I see your point…Problem is that all over the world…Not just in ireland society is becoming more urban…What should have happened in this country was to make proper size cities out of Galway, Limerick, Cork, Waterford, Possibly Athlone, Sligo…and service them properly…supporting them with smaller towns… Sadly in ireland there was no appetite by Goverment of people for such a development and thus we have have…about 2000 small parishes who really only care about their own patch…

• How about they set aside 100m EUR and request business plans. 100K EUR could be given out to anyone with a business plan up to scratch in exchange for the government getting 50% collateral. A sort of governmental dragons den.

You could even go reality TV with it. People love watching that sort of shit.

• Martin 11/10/12 #

But Enda would tell us they have no money for such risky endevours. Plus Dragi wouldn’t entertain logical ideas like that because his bank buddies wouldnt be making any profit. Everthing comes back to the banks, they caused this crisis and are maintaining it the world over.

• Damocles 11/10/12 #

What about the stimulus proposed in June? They can divert some of those funds.

• I think credit for jobs created lies with the companies concerned, not with government. They may have more substantial support available to them than the thousands of self-employed people but ultimately it was management and staff who created the need for the roles. Our government are wonderful at praising themselves on job creation, pity they couldn’t focus a little more on the small businesses who keep the country going.

• work in the public sector and we will find ways to cut your pay continuously , small print but if you earn more than 100 thousand a year, we can give you increases, no you don’t have to do shift work or unsocial hours or weekend your in the golden circle now and can’t be touched. Tired of been an ordinary public sector worker and a target for everyone on both sides.

• Emmet 11/10/12 #

If unemployment is remaining static, more or less and so many people are leaving(presuming in search of work not a lifestyle change) surely something’s wrong somewhere. If figures are true should the amount of people on the live register be coming down drastically with the amount leaving

• Let’s see 100′s of jobs created here in Roscommon, somewhere other than Dublin, its’ environs, Galway Cork etc and do ministers have to attend these announcements? Haven’t they anything beter to do than appear to take the credit. Mind you, the jobs are being created over a number of years, not today or tomorrow so after the budget and the deepening recession that the IMF is predicting, the jobs will not appear – not in that kind of number anyway.

• It does seem that most job announcements recently are for Dublin and the pale (eg Kerry Foods in Kildare). There did seem to be a few job announcements for Galway and Cork earlier in the year, but (with the exception of Northern Trust announcing 400 extra jobs for Limerick), it seems to have gotten very quite for national job announcements for outside Dublin. What worries me is that when we do eventually get back to real growth, and the resultant reduction in unemployment and emigration, that most job seekers and college graduates will end up being employed in Dublin based companies with a further resultant increase in population in an already overpopulated part of the country.
      I agree with a lot of the comments above that government can influence job creation by establishing an environment that encourages companies to set up here. One such example is our motorway network and access to international airports. I think (if the government gets a deal on our bank debt), and makes real savings under Croke Park, that it is vital that capital expenditure on the Western Corridor (ie continuous motorway link between Cork and Derry), gets up and running thereby helping address the East/West economic imbalance.

• Jobs created by multinationals do little for the figures as they are generally low paid language roles in customer service and these go to non nationals (not a racist comment) Other jobs are tech related and the MNs tell us Ireland dont have the skill set. Enda or Eammon turning up to make an announcement is pure political posturing. As a poster said above job creation is about creating the right economic environment for companies to grow and create employment and austerity is not the way to do this. It is impossible to tax our way out of a recession only stimuli and incentive for growth can lead to an upturn in the economy.

• Job creation. Are you being funny here it what?

• what goverment needs to do now is drop the phrase ” what we inherited from the previous administration “.
    get the fook of your arse and do what your been over paid to do.
    get jobs for the unemployed
    stop licking merkel and co
    or get the fook out of goverment and let europe take over

• They aren’t doing too badly, but not as well as they were shouting about before they got elected. Nearly all of the jobs that seem to be created are in IT and Technology, which are areas which we are struggling to fill. It’s not just the fact the numbers of available workers is less than the number of jobs on offer, the talent isn’t here.

Basically, Irish students aren’t being taught well enough, or as nearly as well as our foreign counterparts…

• eoghan 11/10/12 #

The only reason the likes of the Kerry group created more jobs is because the corporate rate which helps the government to look good they won’t save the the jobs that need to be saved the small Irish companies

• It’s a load of propaganda ! They are causing more small business to die every week with red tape , indirect taxes , vat increased. Rates, water, waste disposal, roads in a terrible state, 3rd world broadband .

• I am very unhappy with THE GOVERNMENT.Period.

• Lets be real here,they continue to drive down the available spend of most ordinary homes ( not referring to homes with a net take home pay over 120k ).. Thus driving down the real daily demand in the economy.. And they continue to fudge ALL the big issues relating to the cost of business in Ireland.. Namely- rates,insurance, fuel costs.. All at ridiculously high levels and increasing the costs of doing business here and thus creating jobs!

If I put up 20 posters in my town tomorrow saying Im going to create 100 jobs, doesnt mean the jobs just happen.. But that seems to be the mantra of this government

• Are people really that naive that the mess that the previous government left behind would be sorted within 2 years? Governments only create the environment for job creation and unfortunatly the environment (mainly down to volatility in the european market) isn’t stable enough yet. Although we have returned back to growth for the first time since 2007. Jobs will follow once the economic climate is sorted but it does take time to claw back a debt to GDP ratio of 25% in 2008 to 107% as we speak. Progress is being made though.

• I am puzzled. Why is a government still in power with the unemployment rate that high for that long? Anywhere else in the world and they would have been out on their hineys. Well, maybe not in Zimbabwe, but most other places, you must agree.

• I read all your comments and i think we should sack the government and go to the zoo pick a few monkeys they would a better job,

• Haha that’s the stupidest thing that was ever asked.

Of course people are not happy!

Since they got into government there has been nothing but job losses.

Have a look at the croke park agreement this wants to reduce the public sector a lot more and they intend on sticking to it.

Wow he,s going to create 150 jobs for the next three years.

Am what exactly happened to his 5 point plan in which he was to create over 100,000 jobs over the next four years.

They a forcing us into depression recession and everything else.

We pay more than 17% on items in this country than others in the eu.

17% more for 100% less.

I’m sick of it and they are no where near doing their jobs in respect of the men and women who died for our freedom.

http://www.change.org/petitions/supporting-the-irish-nation-step-down-from-government

• @Colum 11/10/12 #

is this a trick question?

• Read what Countess Markievicz wrote in 1924, and think for a moment. “All the small businesses here are heading for ruin and the farmers are in a bad way. The list of bankrupts is appalling. The list of Highly paid officials for whom jobs are made by those at present in power is daily increasing. To meet these expenses, the old age pensioners have been docked 1/- per week of there pensions as well as there bag of coal per fortnight. Taxes are awful, food prices rising and rents are wicked”

• Z? 11/10/12 #

ME ANGRY!!! HULK NOT LIKE PUNY GOVERNMENT PEOPLE’S! PUNY GOVERNMENT MAKES NO JOBS! PUNY GOVERNMENT MAKE TOO MANY PS JOBS! HULK NOT LIKE TAX! HULK LIKE BIG SW PAYMENTS!! HULK NOT LIKE WATER CHARGES!! HULK NOT LIKE TO WASH. HULK LIKE SHOUTING!! HULK LIKE BREAK THINGS!! SMASH SMASH!!!! – this has been a joint party politicial broadcast on behalf of The Just Us and the United Lefty ( not a very stable ) Alliance partays.

• We are well on track to an extra -100,000 jobs.. Great job…

• The government are doing a good job given the huge challenges they have. That said they have loads more to do.

• My God. As John Mc Enroe used to say ”YOU CAN NOT BE SERIOUS”

• I am. It’s a s€&te job they have to do, sure they won’t get everything right but they are doing as good as they cam given the country is in serious debt. What’s your answer, stick your head in the sand and complain?

• No one is sticking there heads in the sand @Tom Keating except and your lot !
      Have you even read this article ? 14.8% unemployed and this does not reflect
      the numbers who have emigrated in their droves !!!
      I feel sorry that you are so blind to the tragedy that is now Ireland .

• Eileen, I’m not sure what you mean by “my lot”. Yes, unemployment is very high and people are leaving but do you really think after just a few years this whole mess in Ireland would be sorted? I’m not saying it is, things are still bad, I just think the government are making progress, slow progress mind.

• Sorry Tom, but for the hundreds of thousands of people with no income other than a state handout things are not improving one iota – all very well if you’re surviving (and no harm to you if you’re “better than surviving”), but I think there’s a case of a pot and a kettle and a degree of blackness regarding you’re statement about unsatisfied people sticking their heads in the sand.

In fact, it’s kind of disgraceful to allow any defence of the current situation. It’s not a matter of blaming one party or another, it’s a matter of principles. Capitalism failed at source (not the end users) and this government doesn’t seem to be dealing with the major issues that are burdening the tax payer and welfare recipient alike – that of a bailed out banking system. They still profit despite their losses and the poor are getting poorer.

• If you lived in the forgotten city you would have a different viewpoint mate. 400 jobs now announced as I type. Place your bets, either cork Dublin or Galway will get these too

• this question does not need to be asked…

Add New Comment