TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 14 °C Tuesday 21 May, 2013

Poll: Should certain gigs have ‘airport-style’ security checks?

A Fine Gael TD has called for certain concerts to have ‘airport-style’ security checks if they present a risk of violence – do you think they should be introduced?

Image: David Goldman/AP/Press Association Images

LAST WEEKEND’S STABBINGS and anti-social behaviour at the Swedish House Mafia gig in Phoenix Park have led one TD to call for the introduction of ‘airport-style’ security checks at concerts.

Fine Gael TD Derek Keating told the Dáil yesterday that concerts deemed to present a risk of violence and anti-social behaviour should have more stringent security checks.

Nine people were stabbed during the Phoenix Park gig, while one person died from a suspected overdose.

Deputy Keating said that a risk assessment should be carried out on certain types of concerts, and then airport-style security checks should be mandatory at those of higher risk of violence.

Should certain gigs which might be deemed to be at risk of violent behaviour have airport-style security checks?

Poll Results:

Read next:

Comments (109 Comments)

• Metal detector won’t prevent someone getting a kick in the head. Need for change in behaviours.

• There is no reason they can’t use those hand held metal detectors.

• Only as a last resort, I would rather see a change in the mindset of Irish people,
    That violence is a no no!

• Hand held metal detectors at the entrance like in other countries would be sufficient

• An isolated incident takes place and we all running to government to protect us. Slowly reducing our freedoms to and eventual state of imprisonment.

I vote No.

A spoonful of prevention is better than a bottle of cure!

• What next?
    Strip searches and body cavity searches?
    The sort of fella that’d stick a knife into another human being would think nothing of biting a person’s ear off if he’d left his knife at home!
    Just kick people out/have them busted if they’re off their heads or causing aggro, common sense.

• Well Brian, ever since people started going to concerts there have always been trouble makers going too. It’s up to the promoters to ensure the safety of the crowd. And the only way you do that is by hiring more security for bigger gigs. Anti social behaviour and violence is becoming more common now and if you don’t put certain measures in place more innocent people are going to get hurt. I was at the Sonisphere festival in the UK and everyones bags were searched going in to the camp site and all the day pass ticket holder were searched too, ourselves included. Like I said before, greedy cheap promoters

• After the concert at the weekend, yes!

• So we give TSA style unqualified unveted bouncers the right to take away our liberties. Slow creeping fascism. People be careful what you ask for. Its start in the airport and before you know it you won’t be allowed to do anything or go anywhere without a TSA goon giving you permission

• Pagan. MCD had as much security as was legally required for a gig that size. According to themselves anyway. The problem is they didn’t look at the type of crowd attending, boozed up teenagers.

• Either do it for all gigs or none. Dont stigmatize one type of music ( or if we’re really getting down to it this is really about one social “class”).

• No, I really don’t think we should, what happened in Saturday was tragic in every meaning of the word, but I believe the problem isn’t with what’s not there(airport scanners) but the people who work these concerts. The problem last Saturday was the security staff excuse me French just didn’t give a shite!!!!! They get paid either way. If all security and Garda members did their job properly and in a sufficient manner this concert would have been a success. Yes they say there was enough numbers of security bla bla bla well obviously there wasn’t enough!! How to fix this problem??? That’s a very tough question I do believe if the security did their job from the start we wouldn’t need this pole…. So get efficient people to do a job that they understand and police concerts properly and there should be marked improvements.

• Security dogs and riot police at Daniel O Donnell gigs !!!!!

• One of the only countries that doesn’t employ good security procedures for it’s large gigs.
    The Point has a decent enough setup, why not use the same for all other gigs?

• Tim 12/07/12 #

Would metal detectors detect cocaine!
    More security is required inside.

• Defintely not. It would be impractical for a number of reasons. Firstly, a metal detector doesn’t stop drunk and anti-social behaviour and your ability to start a scrap which are the main problems at Irish gigs.

Secondly, if I was really determined to get a weapon into a gig there are plenty of other ways from getting in via a concession or just throwing it over the wall. Where do you stop? Introduce a Berlin wall around the venue with kill zones? Also people going to gigs tend to wear metal – belts, fashion accessories etc. Add to this the Irish propensity to not turn up on time and you’ll end up with huge queues and the the stuff that Liveline is made up of. So not a practical solution for large outdoor venues. I suppose that permanent venues could have it built in.

Also for festivals you wouldn’t be able to screen punters going into the campsites given the amount of metal equipment that they bring in anyway including knives and forks.

I have heard of some rap acts having metal scanning but I wonder whose benefit it’s for. Theirs or the audience?

Personally, It’s completely over the top and doesn’t match the risk. Do we want to pay the prices of unnecessary security (we already have unnecessary and expensive security at airports). I think not. Gigs would be unaffordable.

• Yea I agree with B Daly, a couple of thousand people turning up 20 minutes before a gig starts and getting searched would only result in public order incidents, stabbings outside the venue, not to mention a crush with people trying to rush in.
      The amount of people stabbed at Oxygen last year and robbed at knife point was unbelievable and there is no way of searching every vehicle.

You have to discriminate- only search people that look like they will cause trouble or that may carry a weapon and then it’s possible.

• If people get into the mindset that you have to go through these checks before entering the gig, like most gigs in the US, they won’t be arriving 20 minutes before the gig starts.
      The use of handheld metal detectors are used across Europe and widely in the US. For the safety of festival/concert goers, these changes need to be implemented. In saying that, in some cases the fist or boot can be just as deadly as a knife and so there also needs to be a change in the way people think it is socially acceptable to be off your face at a gig. Don’t get me wrong, we all need a few pints to truly enjoy the night but there comes a limit.

• I can see it now – ” Ladies and Gentlemen, please remove your belts and your shoes and place all metal objects in the tray”, the gig would never start! :-D

• Correction, the gig would start without you because you were too busy knocking back the pints and couldn’t be bothered going in early to show some support for the support act.

• It should be mandatory for all gigs. Saturday in Phoenix Park was a nightmare for many. I was there the next day – my bag was looked at, not searched. I was patted down by security but not past the knee – could have had an arsenal of knives tucked in my boots. There were a few minor fights and no security to be seen anywhere. MCD needs to shake up its whole approach.

• Scarr 12/07/12 #

So you are in favour of full body searches, pat downs, X-ray and or metal detectors at jedward gigs for instance or did you just post before thinking things through?

• I also heard from a friend that the were very few female security personnel thus females attending the concert couldn’t be patted down before entering. Like most legislation in this country, our event laws are outdated and need to get up to speed fast.

• Scarr 12/07/12 #

I wish there was some way to do an online facepalm on the journal to suggestions like these. Its like this td thought, ‘I know what’ll solve this problem, put a load of drunk people in the cramped confines of queue for what feels like an eternity , outdoors, in the cold and rain, missing a gig that they’ve paid money to see. There’ll be no incidences due to queue skipping at all. Sure people love being in a queue. ‘ let the Garda set up individual drunk tanks for trouble makers. Give them the ability to issue temporary barring orders like they have in parts of Canada, and if you’re too drunk you’re not allowed in. And police the interior properly. No need for this reactionary waffle from a td stirring up the wrapped in cottonwool collective.

• I agree with Dave – Hand held metal detectors and sniffer dogs everywhere!

• No I don’t think it’s a good idea. It would take so much time to screen everybody “airport style”, and would cost an awful lot. If a proper pat down and bag check was administered I feel it would be sufficient, apparently these were not administered to much extent on Saturday. Also greater effort should be made to stop underage drinking and greater age restriction should be enforced, i.e under 18s accompanied by over 25s

• Really, the blame has to lie at the feet of the media companies that promote the violent, drug-addled lifestyle glorified by the likes of snoop dogg and other hiphop artists. These companies are not run for the artists (generous in my description here) or the public, but for the enormous profits they make exploiting, promoting and by extension, creating violence, hypersexuality and hopelessness. These are old, rich, white men who are laughing all the way to the bank while your sons and daughters are being killed by guns, knives and drugs.
    This is the very phenomenon that the Rubberbandits parody in their act.

Search them. Search them all. Turn them upside down and shake the weapons of of their pockets. Terrify them. Beat them. Lock them up. Not the concert-goers. No. I’m talking about the media company executives and board members.

• Why not just set them up randomly on the street, why limit it to gigs?

• Don’t be ridiculous! You are attending a private event and thus, similarly to going on a flight, you are subject to strict rules set out by the promotional staff. Whatever suggestions people have, I think what the SHM concert showed was that a change to event legislation is needed. What that change is needs to be discussed between promotional groups and the government, while ensuring we get a balance of cheap event tickets as well as a safe environment to enjoy the act.

• I was being sarcastic.

My point being that security checkpoints don’t tackle the root cause. They are not the real issue but rather the type of people being produced by society. Something is wrong at a much more fundamental level.

• Yes and until we can educate the youth of this country that carrying weapons is unacceptable there needs to be an adjustment to event legislation. Besides, you can educate young kids all you want but there will always the few who just don’t care.
      For the safety of all attending concerts, I would be more than happy going through a set of “security checkpoints”

• Legislating for something like this is not the answer

• The Willie Casey fight last year had serious security like this. Contents into bucket and full pat down. Took a bit longer to get in but at least you had peace of mind once you were in.

• yes they should

• I think any large organised gathering of people warrants greater security..regardless of occasion..particular styles of music should not be targeted as I don’t feel this is a contributing factor..those involved in negative behaviours last weekend would have done so regardless of where they were or what music they were listening to..

• ??? Are you serious Michelle. You think people are going to get stabbed at Simon and Garfunkel gig? The Boss is coming over soon, so you think there will be any trouble besides a few drunk people.
      Dance music has a culture of drugs( pills and cocaine) where people go wild.
      Simon and Garfunkel also have a small drug culture, hash. Two totally different out comes. So yes different gigs require different approaches

• Just my opinion..I feel that regardless of music genre there will always be those out to ruin the event for others..increased security especially where alcohol is available can only help ensure greater safety for those who want to enjoy the night..

• I know what your saying michelle, and there is no harm in extra security but alcohol wasn’t the main issue at this gig. When people decide to put their jacket, shorts, wellies on and make sure they bring a knife to a gig you know it’s not drink related. Social issue. Any of your mates every been drunk and said” shit forgot my knife, anyone got a spare”

• I agree..it’s scary what our society has become..an event like that should be social one and not a case of fearing for your personal safety..

• In fairness this is a shit poll, it’s not a Yes or No answer.

• I think maybe introducing this for a big outdoor event such as last weekend’s or Marlay Park etc might be something to think about.
      This type of thing simply doesn’t happen at gigs the O2, Olympia or Ambassador.
      Also worth remembering that some of those stabbings were glassings, not done with a knife. Security are meant to stop bottles coming in, but it wouldn’t look nearly as sinister as a knife.

• Will yis go on outtar that, I’ll bleedin start troubidle no mattar wheredere I bleedin go, securdity or no securdity!

• Meaning looking at why such a person would do such a thing. Our society has failed this individual that he feels threatened by it enough to lash out and cause harm to another human being.

• If it saves one life, I say do it.

• Will we only be aloud up to 100ml of toothpaste too. Controlling state here we come. We just need this to make Ireland the most expensive place on the planet to see a concert.

• yes for al gigs thou, if youve nout to hide then why say no… your goin to hear the music & enjoy a day out wit a few drinks at the enda d day.. nt to get stabbed or pushed around by drunken yobs dat act like they havent gt outside in years!

• Aarum 12/07/12 #

Certain gigs yes! It’s a no brainer, we need to learn from mistakes and last weekend was a huge mistake

• Hmmm my vote ‘yes’ didn’t show!

• The problem is alcoholism (and I’m not holding my breath waiting for the day Ireland honestly tackles that problem).
    It’s insane to have gigs of any kind in the Phoenix Park. The poor deer! They must have been totally traumatised. Not to mention anyone living within an ass’s (or a Swedish mafioso’s) roar of the place.

• If it’d stop people from being stabbed then absolutely yes!

• Only if it applied to all gigs, and not just those that belong to a certain genre of music. I feel safer at a Metallica or Rammstein gig than I would at a gig by a dance act.

• Scarr 12/07/12 #

It’s pointless applying this to all gigs as its a waste of time and money in order to save the feelings of people who happen to like a genre of music that has a subculture of drugs and violence right down to their lyrics. Let’s be real, dance music and hip hop is the music that the gurriers in every town across Ireland choose. Why in the name of all that is sensible would you then inconvenience the pink floyd crowd for the actions of a bunch of morons who happen to like a very particular type of music and scene? It doesn’t make sense. Can you honestly tell me, when you’re stuck in a queue missing your favourite rock act because scanner number 2 broke down you’ll think ‘yeah, it’s worth it’.

• Its going to add to ticket cost..thats a given…..and more importantly its going to cause logistical problems that organisers will not tolerate.I believe that it would have a long term effect, leading to smaller safer gigs and festivals,but really expensive tickets.The knock on effect of this would cause acts to avoid Ireland because the organiserst cannot make the ticket sales to cover their costs.It would be more cost effective and more efficient to train and certify stewards to be able to observe people entering at strictly controlled points of entry, for the signs of alcohol and drug use.Trust a politician to offer a solution that he never thought through. An unlikely vote catcher for Mr Keating……Predictable though that one would offer the fruits of his wisdom…..We are all doomed.

• If they did bring this in, how much is it going to cost? It isn’t going to be cheap, and you all know it’s going to affect ticket prices. As to the extent of the price hike, who know but too much of a hike will result in a major drop in ticket sales, which in the long run will mean festivals shutting down left, right and center due to a small group of little pr**ck who can’t look after themselves and act like total prats.

Secondly, if the do bring it in, i can’t forsee them search every single person going into a festival, especially the ones with crowds upwards of 30, 000, and 40, 000 people and more. Do you think people are just going to quietly line up outside and quietly wait to be x-rayed and searched? It will cause more trouble then it’s worth.

Thirdly, are they going to bring in specialised staff to work this, or train security that’s there already?

• Why are people getting so hung up on the idea of trying to find knifes. Do we know how many of those people were stabbed with knifes?
    I large bunch of keys could do just as much damage. Women carrying tweezers in makeup bags. Plastic knifes and forks can do damage also. Metal detectors are not the answer.

Look at prison as examples. Very controlled environment, if someone wants to stab you they will find a way. Regardless of if they have access to a traditional knife or not.

• Wow, the amount of people that clicked the No button already forgot the insane event happened in The Swedish House Mafia gig last weekend. Helloooooooo, ONLY 7 people were stabbed.

• Scarr 12/07/12 #

*facepalm*

• Are you unreal? If someone from your family were there and now dead or something, maybe you would agree. I’m not the kind of person that needs to wait for something bad to happen to me to learn, the wise ones learn from events that happen to other people!

• Scarr 12/07/12 #

I am very much real. And alive. All this despite having attended a multitude of concerts over the years. What are the odds? Even if someone I knew had died I think I would still not be reactionary enough to agree with pointless methods to make people ‘feel’ safe but in reality does nothing to stop actual violence by a tiny tiny minority of people with anti social issues. All this stupid suggestions will do is increase costs and therefore ticket prices as well as inconveniencing people and causing fiasco after fiasco. Utterly pointless. More policing inside and outside as well as barring orders for drunk or aggressive types would be much more effective. But if a metal detector makes you feel better so be it.

• Thay, I don’t have to go to a gig in the Park to get attacked, stabbed or murdered. I can do that any night in Dublin. So why not have metal detectors everywhere. There is no proactive policing by the Gardai anywhere to prevent anti-social behaviour. They should have been policing the approaches to the gig properly.

• Scarr 12/07/12 #

@brian – please take your sense and logic and leave. You’re bringing the hand- wringing, hysteria buzz down.

• I agree with certain gigs having detectors on the doors. The states use them even on city public schools and they work a lot better than human error. Any way, more security costs more money which drives up the price even more.

• Rap,hip hop and techno trance,
    gigs :yes.Definitely.

• You do realise that techno and trance are two different genres don’t you?

I used to be into electronic music.. I liked them both, but trance gigs over here? Forget it..
      Trance has more widespread appeal, it gets in the charts, and attracts a wider range of people.. Over here sadly that meant more skangers..

If I went out over here I went to techno gigs, the crowd’s a bit more mature, they’re there for the music and not the “getting wasted”.. Yeah there was drugs, but not in an excessive way. The Dublin techno scene is a pretty tight knit community, it’s warm and it’s friendly – as noted by most of the techno artists who play here. You don’t get trouble at a Surgeon gig, but he won’t sell out a big venue anyway, a big trance artist like I dunno (it’s been a while) Tiesto, would. Broader range of attendees = higher risk.

• Everybodys fault but the drunk punter who misbehaves and turns up late.

• It is probably time to consider these types of security measures for all public events. Not just for one particular type of music over another type of music. Where an event draws a large public gathering, these measures should be employed on everyone to ensure public safety. Now I don’t want to draw comparisons to terrorism but airport security did jump up after 2001 and a few extra minutes at security is a small price to pay. The exact same mentality should exist when it comes to public events regardless of what form it comes in

• Scarr 12/07/12 #

So if your grandparents are still alive, and I hope they are, decide to visit the Phoenix park flower show, they should have to stand in a queue in order to be passed through a metal detector, frisked and have their sandwiches xrayed? Is it an Irish thing that we cannot be reasonable and say x type of show has a greater risk of trouble at it therefore we need to up security? That unreasonable or something?

• Airport security works because airports are controlled buildings. Public amenities like the phoenix park are clearly not. If somebody wants to, they could easily conceal a weapon at the venue prior to the event to bypass the measures you suggest.

• Jason and Scarr
      It’s preferable to the chaos albeit rare an random that took place last weekend. The location is made sterile before the public are granted admittance then the security measures add to the safety for everyone. Scarr, it’s not about treating the elderly like crap or being rough with anyone. It’s simple about overall safety and enjoyment for all.

• How many died at the Phoenix Park Flower Show? How many were stabbed with pruning shears?

• Scarr 12/07/12 #

@mark- its also about futile pointless exercises costs and resources directed at sections of society where they don’t need to be directed. No history of violence at the flower show but because we don’t want to stigmatise people who like house music we’ll make sure everyone is equally inconvenienced. These measures only make sense if you run a company that hires out metal detectors.

• if the venue is such that people can bury weapons to use later then it would be pointless. having a gig line up like that in an indoor smaller venue would be much safer

• It is possible to have an event with a million attendees and no violence or death. Not to endorse any particular myths, but look at the pope when he visits someplace. No overdoses, no stabbings (well, there was a shooting a few decades back). It isn’t religion that is responsible but the mindset of the attendees.
    I attended the Munster Hurling Finals last year. 35,000 people. A scuffle broke out next to me between some Tip fans, young and drunk. A quantum hole opened above their heads and three Gardai dropped out of it into the fray. Hands on the jersey collars and away the boys went, hopefully to sin no more. It was the very impressive mindset of all the people at the finals that no bunch of drunks were going to spoil their experience. I say if the GAA can do it without breathing hard, then the promoters of the Phoenix Park concert should be down at GAA HQ taking notes and bringing boxes of donuts.
    The pope? Well, that’s not my drink, mates.

• There should be an “I don’t care” choice in all Journal Polls.

• This is typical of FG D Keating to jump on the bandwagon, regarding safety issues. Recently FG called for a ban on smoking in a public place, (for safety reasons of course). Now they are at it again. This is complete hyperbole. No security measures can prevent a nutter from causing harm at any public gathering. Despite all the inference, musical type preference does NOT make someone more or less likely to be a nutter. Soon FG will make all gatherings of the public illegal, for health and safety reasons of course. I wonder will D Keating rush out with his sheep to call for the same security measures at sporting events as soon as there is another violent crowd outburst at a match( I seem to remember a ref being attacked at a football match) but wait I hear you say, these people weren’t listening to a certain kind of music and therefore couldn’t be objectionable.

Add New Comment