TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 11 °C Tuesday 21 May, 2013

Poll: Should government fund a national childcare scheme?

Do we need to give parents more time for business pursuits?

Image: Portrait of happy playing baby via Shutterstock

IN HER COLUMN this morning, entrepreneur Sarah NicLochlainn argues that Ireland needs a national childcare scheme so women can help rebuild the economy.

“Enterprise Boards are great at offering women support, and they will even help out with some funds towards childcare, so that you can at least hammer out your idea in peace for a few hours a week,” she writes. “But it really is only nominal. If we want more women to enter into business, a national childcare scheme is needed.”

There has been significant investment in childcare since 2000 but a full and free scheme is still not available to parents. Do you think this should change?

In today’s poll, we ask: Should government fund a national childcare scheme?

Poll Results:

Read next:

Comments (121 Comments)

• In other northern European counties the state has stepped in to take over some of the duties that have normally been done by family (childcare etc.). The burden of this has disproportionally been on women. Those who choose to stay at home should be supported as well, but it should be a choice.

The reason childcare is so expense is because it is run on a private, small scale for profit model. A nationally integrated approach to public childcare would allow more people to re-enter the workforce after having children and remove the excuse used by some in society for not working at all.

If the government are going to means test child-benefit, I hope they invest the savings in something like this. it would be expensive but pay off in the long term.

• Of course. Lack of childcare is the main reason that many people can’t work, and can’t get training – FÁS schemes used to have schedules that were impossible for people minding schoolgoing children, for instance. Even at the height of the boom, people were prevented from working by the cost of childcare.
      And a government-run scheme would, hopefully, be properly inspected and run to a high standard.

• It’s a great argument for other countries. Who have at least semi-competent government. Here, however…

• In ireland you get the offer and when the women take up the course places they’re told within weeks that there won’t be any jobs at the end of it. great fcuking craic isn’t it!!

• Here’s an idea. Find 4 or 6 other families in the same situation. Each of you picks a day not to work where you will mind the children of the others while they do. You have no childcare costs and the kids grow up with friends.

Stop relying on the state to be your nanny.

• How can you have an effective, modern and productive economy without having something like this.?

• Daisy made a great suggestion and it got a load of red thumbs.

The article’s title should be changed. The only money “the government” has comes from tax payers. The title should be: “dear feckless parents, would you like the government to take money from the pockets of your fellow citizens to pay for your kid’s childcare, with a substantial amount of the collected figure going to fund generous pensions for the collectors”. That would be more honest at least.

I’m sure that some will now argue that state funded childcard is a social good. Maybe. But that’s not how this article is written. My advice to “entrepreneur Sarah NicLochlain” is to set up a childcare business.

• “dear feckless parents, would you like the government to take money from the pockets of your fellow citizens to pay for your kid’s childcare, with a substantial amount of the collected figure going to fund generous pensions for the collectors”

Oooo, yes please. I mean, before my kid was born I paid enough in tax to send ten kids through four full years of college each and I didn’t get out of doing it because I hadn’t fathered them, so now it can be your turn to help out :P
      (After all, I’ll wind up paying far more in tax in the years after child benefit stops so it’s not like I’m done with the tax thing forever).

:D

• LOL No thanks, I don’t feel like helping you out. Try the troika.

• Trying to find this study to post here but haven’t had any luck so far, if I do I will.

Basically, an American group thought to combine the need for affordable childcare with the lack of attention residential care homes for the elderly. The results showed that this was of massive benefit to both the kids and the elderly, as the kids enjoyed the attention and the knowledge they were receiving and it made the elderly carers feel worthwhile once more.

The study was designed to show how society should not push people to one side once they hit retirement, how retired citizens still have lots to offer (especially in life skills), but it also showed the financial benefits for all involved, as money was saved by the parents, money was earned by the carers and money went back into the residential homes for improvements.

Instead of just throwing money at problems constantly I think more innovative ideas like this are needed.

• get real

• Completely agree Niall. That would be such a beautiful solution.

• Sandra maybe you should get down off your vitriolic high horse an come up with something constructive. So far the only suggestion you have made is that only people who can 100% afford to pay for everything associated with raising a child, should have kids.
      Using this logic only the extremely elite would have children. Is that what ulu want?
      Every society in the world provides for their children from communist china to capitalist America. If you believe truly in what you say then you are dangerously deluded. Children are the future of society and we must provide for them, progressive ideals like the use of the elderly should be welcomed not dismissed without a moments thought.

• tom 20/02/13 #

grand parents have being filling this role for many generations.

• Modern grandparents probably won’t be sticking around. When my kids are raised I’m planning to be off seeing the world…that’s if I have a cent to my name at that stage. It is an imaginative suggestion though.

• Cut Children’s Allowance…. Instead of payment, parents should not have to fund any education costs for their kids, no voluntary contributions, no school uniform costs, no book costs, as for childcare costs maybe some sort of discount and an extension of the pre-school scheme to two years. At least that way childcare becomes affordable, fraud claims would be virtually eliminated and the child would get the full benefit which in turn benefits the mother/father/economy

• parents should not have to fund education costs?????! are you for real???! as I said before DO NOT have kids if you can’t pay for their education, health and welfare out of your own pocket.

• Sandra I can’t fathom why you got so many red thumbs? I agree, people should not be having children they can’t afford to clothe or feed. Certainty not several children if you & your partner have never worked a day in your life.
      But I do think the government should be helping with childcare and doing more to help parents (not just women) stay in employment and contribute to the economy.
      While I agree with your sentiments it’s not realistic to say that no one should consider having a child unless they are wealthy enough to cover every facet of raising them. Because that’s a very small minority.

• Ryan'O 20/02/13 #

Jeasus cruella devile is a princess in comparison to you Sandra. God forbid you should open your heart to the warmth and unconditional love a child has to offer. These children you speak so vehemently of are our future…..applying your logic it would be a bleak and dire future.

• Ryan O, it seems Sandra is a troll and we fed her…. silly us.
      Just checked her twitter account, 0 followers 0 following.

• ryan I’m not a horrible person like you think..I would love to be able to have a child of my own…but if I did I would pay for them one hundred percent and not expect any state funding! except for their education…our future as you say and I agree.

• At Sandra:
      Who will pay for your pension one day if there aren’t enough young people around to generate the funds?
      Nobody’s expecting to have absolutely everything paid for them but something’s got to be done about some of the crazy costs involved here.

The world is not black and white….

• abbi it is a small minority I know, I just cannot agree with some of the expectations some people have from the state with regard to their own children. I would never like to see a child go hungry or without a proper education but responsibility for a person who chooses to have a child should lie with them…no? why am I wrong? sorry to offend any parent here.

• a troll? I just joined twitter today…why would you check me out?? weird

• Ryan'O 20/02/13 #

Agree abbi. Trolls get a bit put out when you call it. Lack of sunlight and all. Must be great living under a bridge with no kids.

To clarify we are not related and share different views.

I’m happy for my tax to be given to children as an allowance to safe guard their lives (especially now) its better than paying into a black hole of banks and bondholders. But that’s just me.

• I agree ryan- prefer money going towards children than the fat cats in government and Anglo etc…sadly this is not the case.

• At Sandra…
      I understand your point better now. There is that minority alright…Continuing to have them without any regard for how they will be fed, clothed or educated and fully expecting the tax payer to provide what they cannot. I can see why you would argue that it is not up to you or I to support them in the way some like to expect.

In the meantime people who actually did give the financial impact of having children some consideration before embarking on that journey are finding themselves squeezed quite severely these last few years. Shocked to see what went out of the paycheck in USC charges alone….that was money we still had available for spending/saving before it was brought in. :( And when I compare child care costs in Ireland and elsewhere in Europe, I just want to cry or laugh hysterically.

By the way…anyone remember there being talk that Irish Childrens Allowence was among the highest in Europe and that that could not possibly continue??? Eh? Well, in Germany, it is around the 168Euro mark for the first child (and possibly second). Food for thought? I think so. :/

• I won’t argue with you there Sandra.
      I’m horrified by people whose career choice is simply to have children and live off that. Never thinking about how they’ll pay for those children.There has to come a point where there is proper accountability.

• Stephanie.. I feel so much for parents who are suffering in the current economic climate that never foresaw how much their family would have to endure. u just feel that a new blanket of free child care is not the answer. way too many spongers of the state that would take advantage of this. would be great if instead the tax contributing parent gets tax relief to help pay for their children.

• Did any of you ever hear of the very generous children’s allowance that already exists in Ireland?

The “oh won’t somebody think of the children” argument is ridiculous.

• siobeli 20/02/13 #

The govt should offer tax credits for working parents using crèches/registered childminders.
    Mothers can stay working, more employment for childcare workers, therefore more money being spent in the economy.
    As a working mother, i feel the subsidised childcare scheme in community crèches are often abused by those not working or training, and with no intention of doing either. I have experience with a community crèche where full time and part time morning places are taken up by mothers who are not working or in training, it’s extremely frustrating.

• It shouldn’t be focused on women though. I actually found that slant in your argument highly sexist. The scheme would need to be open to fathers too as the amount of stay at home dads is constantly increasing!

• Gill B 20/02/13 #

At first I was quite shocked to see the results of the vote. Seriously questioned why people would vote No to a child care system that would put women (Single fathers) back in employment. Do the results of this vote highlight how we value women (single fathers) and children? Quite shocking if it does, have we really moved on as a nation from the Madeleine laundries?

Fact state benefits to women (single fathers) who do not work, cost more than any state funded child care system, please research nearly all of European models of state funded child care systems, cheaper than state benefits, more importantly Children are taken out of Poverty, when a parent or both parents can work, hence better quality life for children in Ireland, while utilizing the skills of women (single fathers) workforce.

So before you vote, ask yourself this, how do you value children, women, (single fathers) ???

• Why are you putting “single farthers” in brackets all the time. are you trying to point out that they are not that important compared to women and children. ?

• Why do you say single fathers considering lots of men are saying home looking after there children not just mothers or single fathers.

• Gill I agree that in concept it is a fantastic idea, unfortunately I know that the Irish Government will just make a complete mess of the whole thing. I know that their (certain) failure to provide a good service which provides a value for money service to mothers and fathers of this country is not really a great reason to not pursue this but I just dread to see how badly they would mess up.

If they could provide a good child care service to those who needed it (and only those who need it) without creating millionaire creche owners along the way (probably relatives of key cabinet personnel of course) and ensuring that those who don’t need it can’t take advantage of it along the way then I agree it should be implemented. Unfortunately I don’t trust them to get a single part of it right so I’d rather the money wasn’t wasted.

• stay at home mother’s reap benefits more so than mother’s who work and struggle to pay child care. any woman who chooses to stay at home being state funded should be ashamed of themselves.

• shocked??? the people who voted no live in the real “self paid” world love. go back to your knitting.

• I am not sure if it really is a better quality of life for an infant to be in full-day childcare to be honest. If they could speak I think they would vote for being with their mother or father rather than have a bigger house or nice stuff… I think, given the benefits to the emotional security of the child, we should be supporting mothers and fathers to be at home with their infant children, instead of pushing them to be available for work before their baby is even one year old – what a sad society that is. Those countries people are speaking of also have much much longer maternity and paternity leave arrangements that recognise the irreplaceable role of the parent in the very early years for the child’s well-being and the need also for parents to at least part rear their own children. Can we not just support the poor children to have their parents as their main caregivers for just one or two years of their whole life for god’s sake?

• Pamela 20/02/13 #

Family friendly, flexible work environments should be incentivised. If all members of a family/community were available as a pool of childcare on top of a quality state funded service then we would see women taking part in all levels of employment.

• Why do I get the feeling that some people have the opinion of “it’s not my child so why should I pay”! Do these people not understand that children are an investment for our future. Who do they think will be paying the taxes when they are no longer able to?

• I get the feeling that most people will be paying taxes long after they should or are able to.

• I just don’t see why…I’m sorry but if I have a child then I would not expect the state to pick up the tab for that choice I made. please explain why they should other than ” they are our future” …if they are smart they will succeed…regardless of whether they the state paying benefits for them.

• There is definitely a strong argument for govt funded childcare, education & healthcare. There is a balance though.

If things are within govt control & funding then they need to run efficiently or be taken advantage of by private companies.

Human capital is a fairly one dimensional way to look at people but the balance in an economic argument is cost benefit analysis of what is achievable.

Personally, I have no kids but see education as invaluable to the health of economy and of society and therefore have no problem with my taxes having gone there. I do think though that childrens’ allowance should be about those who are most at need.

• censored 20/02/13 #

State provision for “other people’s children” is very generous in Ireland.

The idea that “children are an investment for our future” seems like a rather repulsive notion, but it does explain why so many are happy for the kids to pay the promissory note.

I’d prefer to see our kids inherit a functioning country where they can build a life. This over reliance on “the government” is not going to deliver that future.

• It would be a way of creating jobs, more tax going back to the government, more people with extra money to spend, think about it if the government are paying people to look after children, where is the money they earn going to be spent? Here.
    It will help get people back to work as they would be able to afford to, i dread when my wifes maternity leaf is up, we won’t be able to afford childcare and she may have to quit work to look after our child, ill have to pay a mortgage, bills and everything else. Or else i could take the easy way out and say she a single mum and milk the system for a free house and all.

• Something needs to be done. Talk of taxing child benefit means that only those working will lose out so the people having to fork out for childcare because they go out and work will lose out. My husband is probably being made redundant this year. It will be cheaper for him not to work unless they do something about childcare costs. Also in other countries it has been shown that a combination of paid parental leave and cheap childcare makes for better educated children. Seeing as.how we need them to be in good jobs in the future, we should invest in them now!

• 20/02/13 #

then invest in them yourself!!!! don’t have kids if you can’t pay for them yourself! why in gods name should any part if my tax pay towards any benefits for your children??

• Ryan'O 20/02/13 #

Correct me if I’m wrong but taxes go towards the paying of teachers….who teach children. Your taxes also fund many national children’s hospitals…..you’d want to stop paying tax if your that bothered about paying for other people’s children.

• your dead right ryan…I am bothered about paying for them. I am 100% behind paying tax towards their education etc but child benefit is unfair as I personally think that if you can’t afford to pay for your own child then don’t have one. why should I pay tax for someone to have a child…? and now they think we should pay for their babysitters???

• Ryan'O 20/02/13 #

Awww booo! Sandra has a chip on her shoulder.

• Why should i have to pay tax to pay for someone who has to have a testicle removed due to cancer? I dont have testicles! I do pay for my own childcare but if they want to boost they economy, people need to work! Making people better off on the dole than working isn’t going to help that!

• siobeli 20/02/13 #

Sandra…im guessing you have had a lovely life, with no tragedy, upset or change?
      Marriages break up, Sickness and death can turn a “planned” family that could afford children to those reliant on benefit for a time.
      My neighbours partner contracted meningitis last year, sadly leaving him badly brain damage and in need of 24 hrs care, with 3 children under 7. She has been forced to give up work, with her and her children dependant on welfare.

• censored 20/02/13 #

That is an extreme case. You need to stop plucking at the heart strings and using the extreme cases as general examples. They are not.

• @ siobeli, Tell your friend to look up her local “county childcare committee” there are at least 1 for each county and ask about the Subvention grant (CCS) for childcare. Your friend should be eligible for the grant and hope it’s of help to her. all the best
      link for info on the grants http://www.kkccc.ie/dcya-funding-schemes.html

• The government should Create a tax credit for people using a proper childcare provider it would be quiet simple, to apply for the credit you must give revenue the childcare providers ppps the credit should be give 50% for each parent, this would then encourage all childminders to register thus creating more revenue for the government

• In Sweden, the max childcare one pays is 140 a month.
    In Ireland, you could be paying 800 or more.
    So it’s hardly worth it for many people to go out and get a job so they draw the dole.

If a woman wants to have children, she shouldn’t have to quit her job.

• I would gladly welcome something being done about the cost of child care. I work full time, have no kids and pay scandalous amounts of tax. If I was to have a child I would seriously have to consider the financial benefits of going to work and paying child care fees versus giving work up and hence no more tax from me for the exchequer!!! Child care fees are a serious barrier to women continuing to work after becoming a parent :(

• If the goverment provided such a care system then not only could qualified carers get employment but new graduates could find training places and also the parents could find employment and therefore create a larger tax intake for the state altogether it sounds like a great idea and it should have been done yrs ago

• How about not letting entrepreneurs run it. Take suitable candidates off the dole and train them up. Make it a public enterprise, funded by the government.

• I highly doubt we could afford it

• As if! Right wing governments don’t do things like this! They’re trying to do away with child benefit as it is. So why would they even consider a scheme such as this? This crowd are trying to wipe out the less well off in society. Schemes like this would only encourage us to have more children. Anyone that thinks there’s a possibility of more free childcare anytime soon is completely deluded!

• Forget the cost, does it give noone pause to be considering the notion of the government proposing that they look after our kids the day after they finally apologise for the Laundries?

• They look after our kids for six or so hours a day already. In these things we have called schools.

• Er, Rob. About that… you did read the Ryan Report, right? And the bits in there about schools?
      It’s not like the state has covered itself in glory with them either. You certainly can’t use them as an example of everything going right and being perfect.

• Yes I am reasonably familiar with the contents of the Ryan report and the fact that the majority of abuses in schools were committed by members of the clergy. The reason reports like that are published is to prevent the likes of that happening again.
      If you honestly believe that governments of now or the future are not to be trusted with the care of children because of atrocities that have happened in the past then we may as well not argue, our views are so different.

• I totally agree with a funded childcare system. It’s good social and economic policy. “Clear educational, labour market and social benefits, seen as important for the development of the Smart Economy, accrue from quality ECEC (childcare) programmes. Further to this, ECEC in general provides good return on investment – with an Irish estimate putting the return at up to €7 for every €1 spent.”- Oireachtas Library & Research Service. According to the ESRI Ireland is the envy of Europe with it’s high birth rate as these are going to be the future taxpayer of our country. This is why it’s so important to give the best start in life and why the government need to invest in quality early years care and education.

• Anyone who has any doubts that this is a good idea should look at the French child care model (Maternrnelles) – an initiative that has been used in France for almost a century.

This system is run by the government for children from three months to school-going age, is heavily subsidised and run by highly trained teachers. It has been a huge success. So much so that parents rush to enrol their children as soon as they’re born. Most French mothers work outside the home. Child care isn’t as expensively prohibitive and haphazard as it is here.

The maternelles are very well run with children eating healthy, well-balanced meals that are carefully chosen by a team of chefs that meet once a month.

I think a model like that is the way forward here, creating employment, high quality, dependable child care for parents and happy kids.

Would post a link but can’t find an English one.

• It is a good idea Denise…
      …for other countries.
      Leave our government run something like this and you can be pretty sure that in thirty years time, there’ll be yet another tearful taoiseach apologising to yet more abused people while yet another report is published that skips over the worst of the abuses.

Besides, if we hiked the child benefit payments and regulated the industry better so that every childcare facility was like Cocoon or Giraffe, we would solve the problem using existing systems and boost private sector employment at the same time.

• censored 20/02/13 #

France is bankrupt, according to the French minister for finance.

• Almost sounds like home- happy children, mom’s healthy home-cooked food and the place where children spend most of their time. I don’t know why we don’t adopt this system- deliver our babies into the hands of the State and collect them 18 years later when they’ve been nourished, fed and are ready to take their place as productive cogs in the wheel of the economy.

• If we can afford to then yes, anything that makes employment cheaper has to be good for the country

• The problem I see is that an entrepreneur is proposing this.

I am know of a childcare facility that raised its prices by the exact same amount the early childcare supplement was when it came in first. When one parent questioned the price rise the owner said you will be getting the money back from the Government so what do you care. Pure out and out greed from an “entrepreneur”?

As I see it we have the following issues.

1. Entrepreneurs control most of the childcare market who no doubt will challenge any state run national childcare scheme unless they can make additional profits.

2. Based on the past history of this states involvement in childcare, do we really want them involved in providing a national childcare scheme?

This to me is a catch 22 situation we have here.

• And why were at this sort out the national scandal that is the cost of retirement homes. How many NAMA hotels lying empty or subsided. Versus the ever growing cost of elderly care and homing. Read last year of one place in Dublin being 2500 per week.

• Were supposed to be cutting spending so we can cut taxes , this will not help

• Any tax payer paying into the system now, expecting a decent state pension a few decades down the line should be able to do the maths and realise that inflation would make their input to the system almost worthless by the time they come to draw down their pension. In order to draw down a comfortable pension and enjoy medical/travel benefits when you are retired you are relying on the kids of today to be the tax paying workers of tomorrow.

Your taxes need to fund today the parents prepared to bring up the workers of tomorrow. If you’re not prepared to pay for children (they are the future, it’s not just a schmaltzy song!) you need to realise that it will have a direct financial impact for you down the line.

Call it a giant ponzi scheme if you will…

• censored 20/02/13 #

And there we have it. A giant ponzi scheme for public sector workers. Sounds like Ireland alright.

• If people have children and stay at home caring for them, do we not have the same effect? They will still be the tax-payers of tomorrow whether there’s paid childcare or not.

• censored 21/02/13 #

Fair point, but that’s not the way most of us live these days (worse luck).

I don’t like this idea because we’re already pushing too many of our problems onto the next generation. Now we’re saying the government (Joe taxpayer) should fund childcare, even though “the government” is broke. The money either comes from increased taxes or more borrowing – either way, creating an even worse situation that these kids have to deal with when they grow up … and they have to look after us as well. I’m not sure they’ll be too disposed towards our generation :D

• We already have an oversupply of labour and a budget deficit. Why would we spend more money to get more people into the workforce when unemployment is already so high?

• wait till they get to third level education….you loose the child benefit no tax credits and have to work every hour you can to fund just the fees and accommodation as sometimes there is no choice but to leave home , colleges are not allways on our doorstep…. and they say education is the key to our way out of this mess we are in.

• Then you do what my parents did – try and save a little bit each week from the day your child is born, and by the time they get to college then you have 18 years worth of savings to help pay for fees. And then your child does what I did – get a part time job to help pay for themselves.

And before anyone says anything, my parents struggled when I was a child and they still managed to put a little bit by each week for my education. It was not the governments responsibility to pay for me and my brother, my parents decides to have us and they made sure they had savings to help pay for us.

• Smiley 20/02/13 #

Okay, so the state funds childcare to allow more people to work. Pardon my ignorance but, surely with the unemployment rate being so large already, more people in work is going to exacerbate the problem.

• People need to take more responsibility for their own personal choices and actions, and the consequences of those actions – even if they are mistakes, unplanned or bad choices. The government/tax payer is constantly being pressurized to support, fund, partially pay, make allowances for…etc all manner of personal decisions. The results of individual choices are not essentially the responsibility of society of a whole. They impact on society but society does not have to constantly shoulder the burden, emotionally or financially. We must teach people to understand they have a obligation to take ownership of their decisions. Personal responsibility needs to be separated from the financial cost to the government/tax payer for what people do in their personal lives. Obviously the intelligent readership of The Journal will realize I am not simply speaking of long term planning of childcare but many other facets of life for which people expect and demand the govt/tax payer to step in and pay. People are wrongly conditioned into think that someone else (i.e. govt/tax payer) will take care of it – or should.

• Be clear , “the govt” won’t be funding it , the Irish people will , so in reality people who choose not to have children will also end up paying towards the costs of childminding through some direct or indirect tax , anyway look at the track record of governments running anything and explain how this could be good.

• …..you know how taxes work right?

Are you really saying that because the government in the past has run stuff badly that its pointless to try and set up any scheme ever again.

Talk about the Irish mentality.

• I agree with you Dave. After having funded myself through college, paid my own childcare – ALWAYS. I possibly was the exception in that as a single working mother (still working luckily) I’ve never had the luxury of hand outs, and for the brief period I was on welfare, even though it paid me more, I chose to work, and pay my own childcare, and do without myself. If you choose to have children, pay for them yourself. The system needs to change, not people. If its costing too much for childcare, either don’t have more than one child, or find a cheaper alternative. I could barely afford my own child, why should I pay for someone else’s, who probably will abuse the system anyways! Any decent working folk are ‘plodding on’ doing the best they can, not expecting others to pick up their tab.

• People who don’t smoke fund the healthcare of those that do, people who don’t drink likewise…
      If you’re not sure whether to have children or not, I wouldn’t make the decision on the basis of “if I don’t have children I’m not getting value for money out of my tax”.

• You can’t exploit it if is available to all!

• The children of today are the tax-payers of tomorrow so children are actually good for an economy, although I agree with you about state child care. To me, it’s the state interfering with parental choice and it will discriminate again the stay-at-home parent.

• Well said Dave!

• well said Dave and Tara. these people are so greedy

• obviously this is a kinda divisive topic ,clearly if you have or want kids you might prefer the country to provide child minding and if you dont you would prefer it doesn’t. But please spare me the ‘do i know how taxes work’ nonsense , yes i do thanks i pay plenty of tax and i can avail of the health services and roads etc in return , but as someone who happens to be of the unpopular and seemingly un-pc view that I do not want children – i am not in favour of a country that is already broke having to come up with what is sure to be a new expensive government funded system that will need to be paid for and logically will need tax increases to pay for it.

• Where is the money going to come from? And where are the job vacancies that these women are going to fill?
    When is the country going to take a reality check, we have no jobs, no money and government austerity measures are nose-diving us into a triple dip recession.

• Sandra you obviously don’t have kids … Phew

• Buy contraception. It’s cheaper than childcare.

• At present some women who work in lower paid positions are not encouraged to continue after child birth due outrageous childcare costs. Many in single parent families end up on social welfare and stay there. This is incredibly sad and hopefully this proposal will address this.

• The Government already fund places for families on low or no income. Children with special needs also get free placements before school age. There is also the free pre school year gor children.

• Pay for your own damn children or don’t have kids. Stop asking me to pay for your mistakes!

• If both parents are in full time employment (contributing to society & paying tax) Yes

No : to more free loaders & work shy foreigners bleeding this country dry

• censored 20/02/13 #

They should pay for it themselves. For example, with their children’s allowance.

And you didn’t have to mention “foreigners”. We have plenty of our own free loaders.

• The most valuable work ever that a woman can do is to stay at home and raise a child. A child that will grow up to know that it is wanted and loved, not dumped in a kid-bin all day. It may seem an old fashioned idea, maybe it’s time to think if it isn’t better than the way we live today. Capitalism and consumerism has failed. Examples of traditional communities exist in other place where quality of life is better than what we have gained through working long hours and spending money. The earth has finite resources and they are being squandered. Why should the many become slaves to make the few filthy rich?
    The red boxes will confirm that we’ve lost the plot and are serfs of the great god money.

• Having kids and being able to look after them is not a privilege …. A truly disgusting attitude

• No, no, no. Why should I have to pay for people to have kids and work at the same time? That’s a privilege, not an entitlement. And the absolute last thing the world needs is more humans. Our pensions might need them, the planet certainly doesn’t.

Add New Comment