Welcome to our Public Beta Site - What does this mean?
Dublin: 13 °C Thursday 24 May, 2012

Poll: Should Ireland bother entering the Eurovision any more?

Jedward were highly fancied to win the Eurovision in 2011 - but only managed to come in 8th place.
Image: Frank Augstein/AP

THIS FRIDAY Irish TV audiences will decide which of five acts – including last year’s entrant, Jedward – will go forward to represent the country at the Eurovision Song Contest in Azerbaijan.

Ireland has got a good pedigree in the contest – and with Ireland’s cultural scene consistently thriving, many see the Eurovision as a great chance to show off our wares (and, potentially, as way of roping in some tourists if we happen to win it.)

But hosting the Eurovision itself is an expensive business these days – and that’s after the costs of sending an act and their entourage to the contest in the first place, for a competition which it’s almost impossible for an island nation to win.

So – is the Eurovision just harmless fun, or an expensive distraction Ireland could do without? Should Ireland still take part in the Eurovision?

Poll Results:

VIDEOS: Which of these songs should be Ireland’s Eurovision entry?

Read Next:

Comments (70 Comments)

• Roseanne ÏŸ 21/02/12 #
    Report this comment

sure it’s only a bit of craic.

• Patrick Mooney 21/02/12 #
    Report this comment

We just have to take it as serious as our European cousins do.

• Robert Craven 21/02/12 #
    Report this comment

knowing our luck, we’ll win the f*cking thing

• Fiachra KME 21/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Well theres no point pulling out just because we arent winning… and to be fair the quality of music has improved these last few years- at least its the end of the cheesy dance songs

• Report this comment

It’s all just a bit of craic just like Roseanne said! If we were to bow out of the contest forever I think it would be a huge shame. It’s that bit of harmless craic that this country needs more of to keep us from falling into the doom and gloom pit that the media seems to be focusing on more and more. We need things like this to lift our spirits. We’re Irish, we’re not supposed to be wallowing in self pity. Things are tough for so many people right now and if it costs a few bob to keep people entertained and amused and to keep their minds of the reality of our economic situation then it is money well spent in my view.

• Gavin McGuinness 21/02/12 #
    Report this comment

sure it gives us something to laugh at! Wouldn’t be as fun if we weren’t in it!

• Cora Kearney 21/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Yes to Eurovision, No to idiots representing Ireland.

• Damhsa Dmf 21/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Rock and Roll kids and The Voice, beautiful and haunting music, those were in a time I’d sit and watch it but for the last 15 years when we actually didn’t want to win it (sending Dustin proves that) it’s just painful. Sure it’s a bit of craic but is its also sad to see the shite nominated by so many countries like our own who in all likely hood also didn’t want to win it. We know what standards it takes to win, yet we choose to send all manners of clap to represent us. For reasons like that I stopped watching years ago

• Darren Burke 21/02/12 #
    Report this comment

We’ve the best record in it, it still has a huge fan base and is always great craic, one way or the other. Why on earth would we stop? If you’re not a fan, don’t watch it!

• Christine Downey 21/02/12 #
    Report this comment

how can 222 and 228 both equal 48 %?

• Gavan Reilly 21/02/12 #
      Report this comment

The system has an issue with rounding up numbers – it treats 48.1% and 48.9% as both being “48″. One of the many things we’re working on!

• Inda Kinny 21/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Sounds like the floor function rather than the round function is being used there on the percentages.

• Stadler Waldorf 21/02/12 #
    Report this comment

We just need to select an immigrant from Eastern Europe to represent us, singing a type of song that will appeal to the Bloc voting countries. Simples.

• Report this comment

Yes, but not with those 2 muppets like last year.

• Andrew Byrne 21/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Think of the ad revenue RTE pull in each year with the Eurovision, regardless of how well the Irish act performs. It’s consistently the most watched TV show of the year.

• alan 21/02/12 #
    Report this comment

if this is peoples idea of craic then we are well and truly sunk!

• Aileen Treacy 21/02/12 #
    Report this comment

But what if we misjudge the bloody thing, and end up winning it, could you face having Jedward or maybe worse plastered all over the telly, And yer man Whelan or Arsey D’Arcy …….. Please No. Its not as simple as turning off the TV , Id have to be anesthetized for the duration. ;)

• Jonathan White 21/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Watching Eurovision combines some of our favourite pursuits: being pass-remarkable about people’s appearances, being pass-remarkable about other countries and televised vote-counting. What’s not to like?

• Jason Tiernan 21/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Of course we should, it’s hugely entertaining! What is the real purpose of this poll. Seems a bit ridiculous, trying to start a debate about an annual light entertainment programme. Scraping the barrel eh?

• Dee Mac 21/02/12 #
    Report this comment

How much does it cost for us to make global eejits out of ourselves ???€€€€

• Eileen Gabbett 21/02/12 #
    Report this comment

We always loved the Eurovision in our house ….Then Dustin happened ,
    then Jedward. Now to be honest I would not be interested any more .
    If people want to watch it ,fair enough. I will be watching paint dry in
    preference that night.

• Report this comment

We should decide to be all arty and send over 3 minutes of silence.

• Evan O'Leary 21/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Should we keep sending the Irish football team anywhere? When’s the last time they won anything!?
    Anyway, the Eurovision retains a consistently huge viewership and I thought last year was particularly brilliant. Jedward brought a great sense of fun to the event, and to be honest, it’s one of the few things that year that made me forget what a barren place Ireland has become. Would I rather watch an Ireland match where they just hoof the ball down the pitch or Jedward prancing around a stage at Eurovision? I’d take the latter actually…

• Ken Bishop 21/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Sure we should give euro 2012 a skip so and the next world cup in soccer and rugby as well. Seems fair seeing a we’ve never won any of these.

• howzat 21/02/12 #
    Report this comment

If there was a proper voting system it may be meaningful but with the block voting that happens it just makes the show a lemon regardless whether the songs are good or not

• Figo murphy 21/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Anything that gets jedward out of the country for a week is a positive!

• bren 21/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Should we stop having polls on the Journal? Just think of the work hours lost each week with these things! :-P

• Michael Fagan 21/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Its not a question of winning or losing,
    But just being part of the game, harmless bit of entertainment

• Neil Richardson 21/02/12 #
    Report this comment

More Rock and Roll Kids and less Turkeys and I’d say yes.

Ireland has been responsible for some truly brilliant music at these, get back to that frame of mind and make a real go at it.

• James Cosgrave 21/02/12 #
    Report this comment

waste of time and money. bin it

• Darren Parslow 21/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Waste of money, eastern block countries ONLY vote for eastern block countries!

• Fiachra KME 21/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Well we cant really talk- Us and the UK exchange 12 points nearly every year. And to be fair people from the same cultural regions usually have similar taste in music

• Francis Stokes 21/02/12 #
    Report this comment

The thing about euro vision it brings different cultures together. Ireland’s chances of winning this contest were gone since the current system of voting was introduced. Also text voting. The euro vision has changed a lot in the way it is presented over the years. I suppose the contest gives artist the chance to interact with their fellow artists in other countries with other views. It is the taking part that is important not the winning.

• Yea guys , Ireland have done the best out of EVERY country. And Jedward are amazing and will kick ass this year. So hah.

• kayleigh 21/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Obviously they should go in. They got 8th last year whereas other years we’ve come last/ 2nd last? They’ve done their tour around Europe now they are going to get votes ! VOTE JEDWARD WATERLINE FOR EUROVISION 2012 ON THE LATE LATE SHOW 24th FEBRUARY !! =:D

• Ru Ni Digs 21/02/12 #
    Report this comment

In fairness,it would be keeping in line with what’s happening with the rest of the country.So sending out another two of our talentless gobshites,to represent Ireland is not going to make much difference.We are already a laughing stock.Jedtard are just the icing on the cake…

• AitMaria Eva 21/02/12 #
    Report this comment

no matter what you all think of Jedward nobody of you can deny that they are the most successful act for Ireland on ESC since over 10 years+ that they have now a huge fanbase all around Europe(Sweden/Germany/Austria/Russia/Estonia…) who will vote for them like crazy. Send an other act this year but be not surprised when the other act ends up like the other irish acts in the last 10 years before 2011

• Colm Wally Doran 21/02/12 #
    Report this comment

I love the way the article says only came 8th…eh that was a good result like

• secred girlfriend 21/02/12 #
    Report this comment

John and Edward are two wonderful people. their personality and their way of seeing life is anything but common. The way they treat fans makes me cry. I know what they can, they will set fire to the entire esc 2012 and will win the whole thing. What you guys say that they’re stupid or un smart, they are very smart and wise. You are stupid if you do not realize it. VOTE JEDWARD ON THE LATE LATE SHOW 24th FEBRUARY

• secred girlfriend 21/02/12 #
    Report this comment

John and Edward are two wonderful people. their personality and their way of seeing life is anything but common. The way they treat fans makes me cry. I know what they can, they will set fire to the entire esc 2012 and will win the whole thing. What you guys say that they’re stupid or un smart, they are very smart and wise. You are stupid if you do not realize it. VOTE JEDWARD ON THE LATE LATE SHOW 24th FEBRUARY

• Juliet 21/02/12 #
    Report this comment

I can honestly say the amount of disrespect shown towards those two young lads who got your country the best result you have had in ten years is a little bit sickening.
    I watched Jedward perform Lipstick last year and thought they were amazing, I also love their new song Waterline, which I think is am excellent tune, I have only ever seen the boys handle themselves with good grace, good mannors and good humour, If I was Irish I would be proud to have them represent me, sadly I am not…but if they get to Eurovison with their song, you can be sure I will vote for them to win

• Karl Doyle 21/02/12 #
    Report this comment

If its so hard for a nation like us to win it(according to summary on home page), how come we’ve won it the most times?

• Ru Ni Digs 21/02/12 #
    Report this comment

OK let me break it down for you. It’s the Eurovision “SONG CONTEST”.Jedtard can neither write music nor sing.Anybody that think’s Jedtard are good knows absolutely “NOTHING ABOUT REAL MUSIC”They are a novelty act,a freak show.You should be supporting real Irish musical talent,instead of these talentless eejits.For a country that produced some musical greats in the past,they are an embarrassment to that legacy…

• dechecho 21/02/12 #
    Report this comment

The UK hasn’t announced what act they are sending yet – they are waiting until Friday so that if you lot are crazy enough not to vote for Jedward, then we can have them.,

• Eimear Lavery 21/02/12 #
    Report this comment

I wouldn’t watch it myself but I have friends who would consider the Eurovision as one of the highlights of their year & I don’t think it would be as good if we weren’t in it.

And it is just a bit of craic, so turn it on, listen to Marty there having the sneer & pretend you’re not only loving a bit of it!!!

• Ailbhe Murray 22/02/12 #
    Report this comment

It’s going to be either Jedward or Donna Mc Caul

• Sean Mc Avinue 22/02/12 #
    Report this comment

With the crap songs are out today, a rap version of The Holy Angelus stands a great chance!

• Bridget Whitehead 23/02/12 #
    Report this comment

If Ireland cant stop embarrassing itself NO NO NO

• Francis Stokes 25/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Not in the current envoriement. RTE are in the red who is going to pay for it. It is past its sell by date.

Add New Comment