TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 8 °C Sunday 26 May, 2013

Poll: Should Ireland still hold referendum following Hollande’s victory?

Hollande vowed during his election campaign to renegotiate the Fiscal Compact – but Gilmore has insisted that this will not impact Ireland’s plans. What do you think?

Tanaiste Eamon Gilmore
Image: Niall Carson/PA Wire/Press Association Images

IRELAND WILL HOLD a referendum on the Fiscal Compact as planned – despite the victory of French Socialist Francois Hollande in the country’s parliamentary elections yesterday – the Tánaiste Eamon Gilmore has said.

Hollande vowed during his election campaign to renegotiate the treaty, which sets limits on budget deficits for EU states, to include a growth pact if elected.

Speaking to crowds on Paris’ Place de la Bastille in the early morning hours of this morning, Hollande pledged “to finish with austerity”.

However, Gilmore has insisted that Hollande had not proposed to “reopen” the treaty but instead to add a growth agenda – meaning his election should have no impact upon Ireland’s referendum.

What do you think? In the light of Hollande’s election, should Ireland hold the Fiscal Compact referendum as planned?

Poll Results:

Read: Gilmore says Ireland will hold referendum despite Hollande victory

Read next:

Comments (121 Comments)

• Absolutely we should proceed. By cancelling now we would effectively acknowledge France’s view as being superior to ours.

If we want to start making our own decisions again we need to show we have the courage and ability to do so.

• Yes we should. Ireland needs to hold this referendum so that the people can go whatever direction the majority wishes. My own personal belief is that this treaty is a bad deal for Ireland and I will vote no. However it will be the will of the majority that should decide what we do.

• Part of me says No. But another part of me wants to vote and a chance to tell Kenny/gilmore where they can shove this treaty.

• Pretty much my thoughts.

But the balance came down as a no, because we should be taking a lot more time to think about this, as the more people understand the macro economics, a resounding NO vote in the referendum on the present treaty offering would be inevitable anyway ;) (I hope!)

• Finally! Kudos to the French for not listening to the scaremongering of the right , and here’s hoping he fufils his promise to do what an elected official is suppose to do , work for the good of his people all his people and not the conglomorates and bankers who show no social responsibility and cause misery to many..here’s hoping we learn the lesson and reject this awful treaty and its just the beginning of the people of Europe taking their countries back from the elitists..

• Here’s hoping is right. Let’s wait & see how he’ll behave once sworn in. Time will tell. I think our referendum should be suspended for the time being to see how things unfold.

• Well if you look at the First Round result, over 50 % of french people voted for right-wing parties, so maybe they did but just dislike Serkoy ore then the Left

• Couldn’t agree more Frank :)

But I would like to add that the whole crisis is not really about ‘left’ or ‘right’ politics in the way these terms are mostly understood these days. Nor is it about national interests.

The so-called left/right dog & pony show of modern electoral politics is purely there as a distraction to conceal where power really lies, which is the financial sector & other wealthy elites of the top few percent, who often, in fact, finance all of the 2 or 3 mainstream political parties & their leaders. (Either directly, or indirectly.)

It just so happens that the Eurozone wealthy elites are more powerful, politically & financially in Germany & one or two other countries (with support from UK’s powerful financial elites).

The ‘race to bottom’ & beggar-thy-neighbour policies are being applied in all countries, driven by an ideology of enrichment for the few, extracted from the masses. The ‘few’ are still profiting, increasing their wealth, despite the losss the rest of us are experiencing. As reports by bankers to the rich, on ‘High Net Worth Individuals’, amply demonstrate.

Hence the enormous rise of the ‘financialised’ economy over the last 15 years, both dwarfing & providing little or no useful purpose to the real, productive economy. Really, what use to us (the majority) is €700 trillion, 12 times global economic output, in financial derivative (gambling) ‘positions’? Answer, none, it’s purely extractive.

• You can’t starve your way out of a famine,

• Of course we should Vote – as the French Nation have shown courage , we must too!

Eamonn Gilmore has been in more Political Parties then there are in this Country – his principles are non existent – he is a Political opportunist who will ride the race whichever way his FG Masters tell him – like so many Labour Party leaders before him!

Let’s have the Austerity Referendum and win or lose , show some liathroidi and stand up for our Families and our Country !

• Lets show the Germans that we don’t want to be a bit piece in their federal republic of Europe/Germany

• Gilmore, you’re a clown! If this treaty’s changed in any way, shape or form, then we’d have to have another referendum! It’s that simple! Why would the government waste even more taxpayers money by having two votes?

• vote No…!

• Gilmore has disgraced himself and the Labour party by their support of PD-esque penalties on the people of this country. They will be decimated in the next election and just like the PD’s, the bigger party in coalition will all but escape unscathed.

• I don’t agree…FG are in for a fall from a height – a very high fall at that…even Enda is not safe!!! Unless, of course, the Irish electorate are blinkered or just plain stupid.

• I agree Dan. Enda’s got done fall alright, flat on his face!! And I’m looking forward to it!

• I agree with you. FG are just FF in different clothes – but then – who do you elect (PLEASE don’t say ULA or any flavour of the looney left. It’s not that I’m against socialism (I love how they do it in Sweden) – I’m against any kind of fixed dogma and naivety – a la Joe Higgins/RBB.

• censored 07/05/12 #

We need some new thinking. None of the current crop of politicians are up to the job – most of them were there in “opposition” when the seeds of the crisis were sown and are just as guilty as Fianna Failed. The FF Youth and FG Youth look like more of the same. An alternative needs to be created.

• Of course there should be a vote, if this pulled now we will never hear the end of rantings about democratic deficits etc.

• Haa haa … 2 days ago, Norway dumped the Irish bonds, because they knew the Irish Bonds are useless because of the government banking debt support, and people complained about the norwegians for doing what they did (FFg/Labour supporters), and now the French have dumped out a President that tried to force austerity onto their country, and we have the same people in here again, saying the French people are wrong…. When are FFg/Labour going to give up the ghost and acknowledge that this treaty has no hope of getting passed by the Irish people. They are going to give it a big fat ‘No thanks’. After the vote, the FFg/Labour government are going to have to ask for a debt write down on the Banking debt (all 70 billion of it)… We need that monkey off our backs, otherwise, what the Norwegians did last week, will only be the start of 15-20 years of the deaths by a thousand cuts policies being pursued by the FFg/Labour party.

• This vote has nothing to do with a debt write down. We can still default after a YES vote.

What we can’t do after a NO vote is access the ESM and even with our debts restructured the deficit remains and we need that money to keep the country going.

• You could even argue that a YES vote leans us closer to a debt write down as we need to get our debts below 60% of GDP.

The treaty doesn’t say you can’t use a write down to get there!!

• @david higgins its ur poxy party that is stopping us from accessing the esm by allowing the blackmail clause to be put in place and we can easily get it removed and we wud have full access to that fund but kenny the plank wont do it and has refused to look for a debt write down as he PROMISED during the elections

• Higgins FG. This vote has EVERYTHING to do with a debt write off. Your party hasn’t the balls to do anything except bow down to the Germans. Maybe a NO vote will make those clowns realise who voted them into Government and for what reason – “not a red cent”

• censored 07/05/12 #

David Higgins, your “analysis” is getting worse by the day.

Do you really believe that we can vote yes to “have access to the ESM” and still have a debt writedown?
      The whole point of all this maneuvering is to avoid a debt writedown. Pretending that we have some kind of sneaky plan won’t cut it.

Or is it just that you’re facing up to reality a little bit and realizing that a default is inevitable?

• People are deluded if they think Europe will let us into the ESM after rejecting the treaty!

• censored 08/05/12 #

People are deluded if they think “Europe” won’t give us access to the ESM to pay back our “bailout”

We are part of Europe by the way.

• How can we be made to vote for something that will more than likely be changed in the near future?

• Bring it on Gilmore and Im voting NO like the majority in the country.

• How come our politicians can’t bring in an IRISH law to stop future IRISH Governments from over spending. If the public service is costing too much lets cut the public service to bring it into line with revenues collected. Private sector has to do this all the time to keep customers.(except banks), who have the law geared to allow them to avoid risk taking responsibilities.

• Great idea…. however Fianna Fail have consistently won elections by buying off the nation with offers of free stuff. We see where that has led us to. It’s a sad state of affairs that many of us would trust the Germans to run things here rather than our own. Of course this treaty doesn’t actually allow the Germans to run our budgets for all the nonsense being spouted.

• the germans are telling us already, its called austerity, and we will have to keep cutting, but on their terms and having our governments pays not being cut they are of course going to do as told, if we vote no they will have to start at top to show, they keep saying we need this for garda, hospitals, nothing about where most of it goes, to them , there pensions, there numerous tds, to many for this size country to keep paying, but they will not be touched if yes vote goes through, they are scaremongers about their own pockets, why do u think ff, fg and labour together on this,, they could be one government the way they want it passed,,,, its not for the people , we will be beaten down again and again over next 20 years with taxes and new charges, its coming but it wont affect the top partying boys in politics, if they do as told

• Housty 07/05/12 #

Yes. its important to send a message.

• Absolutely ! They need to understand that we are not going to take sh1t any more. That the government really have to sit up and listen to us. Then they have to stand up and tell Europe to kcuf off.

• I want to vote, No! *stamps foot*

• Man, talking talking talking….lets get over with…..

• mcbab 07/05/12 #

Hollande will discover , like every other opposition politician who has been elected, that what you comment on from the sidelines becomes a whole different ball game when YOU have actually take action and make unpopular decisions. The honeymoon is likely to be short.

• Aint’ that the truth. We’ve seen that here time & time again & we are seeing it now from a certain opposition party. We’ll all just have to sit back a bit & see how it all pans out.

• Agree totally. This ‘renegotiation’ will probably take the form of some non-binding statements appended to the treaty.
      It’ll just be a PR exercise so that Hollande can save some face in France.
      So we should carry on and vote on the agreement we’ve already been through, not what a politician in another country says on the campaign trail.

• Would that be similar to FFg/Labour promises befgore the election… as soon as they got in to power, they dumped every promise they gave to get elected in the first place …. So in essence, they have no mandate to continue their destruction of the country’s economy, and the sellout out of its future!!!!!

• I agree with u, Cal. Makes u wonder who actually “is” in charge, eh ? Politicians are like actors at times, it seems. “Memorise your lines & move as directed”. We’ll see what happens en France. Greece is the real worry, tho’.

• Gilmore wants it to go ahead so if we vote NO, and Hollande gets his way, it will be branded as a new treaty and we’ll have to vote again.

• I lived in France and the biggest problems the French have are the trade unions and the overwhelming bureaucracy created by a bloated Civil Service and they’ve just voted in a Socialist!!! I can only assume it’s because Sarkozy was a complete langer.

• Hollande’s election doesn’t change anything. His pre election vow to renegotiate treaty was quickly watered down to “amend”. There is nothing to be gained by holding off…

• really dont understand why we need yes vote, besides politicians looking after their massive pay, pensions and bonus,,, everyone else broke from austerity and so much more to come, why cant we do our own cut backs do we need to be told where to cut,,, where are we getting more billions to buy into this treaty,,, where are we going to get the billions to bring down our loans as part of the treaty we are completely over spent,,, can our government not say no,, its terrible to see ff, fg and labour beside each other as one , knowing they only care about their own pockets and pensions, we are in for a killer budget with a yes or no vote, but let us do it under an irish government as bad as they are, and not a eec german government, am i blinded by what i read and to hear a yes vote ,, either i am mad and should be locked away, or why are so few of us only seeing a no vote the way to bring ireland back, thinking we need a malacia to get into dail and speak for ireland as seems no one really cares, they need to back down with their own spending, not cutting hospitals, garda , teachers, go into any government office , one piece of paper goes thru so many hands, and when u call up they are waiting for a response from the office next door, u walk into office next door and it has been sitting in their out box for a week, no one picked it up,,, its making jobs passing the paper around, 800 euro for travel expenses, for when off on holiday,, ha ha,,,, he should be fired for theft and locked up, how many more are doing same thing ,, thats where the austerity should start,,, they are thieving for so many years , they dont know honesty,,, for all the hiring they do, we should hire private cops to arrest each and every thief in the dail, on county boards, each back hander, set them up ,, have cameras and see where its all going wrong from the top, does a school teacher need that amount of pay and pension, does he deserve more than usa president, we are the size of new york state, not the size of usa, we have no war, does our minister for defence deserve more thank usa minister,,, start cleaning up at the top and maybe people may start to believe in teachers and psycologists can run a country ,,, maybe i need to lay on a couch and talk to our labour minister,,, for a fee, at least his trained for that

• MojoRise 07/05/12 #

Your not on your own jackie…. U feel exactly the same…. Here my not so pure taughts on our spineless TD’S

We are 4 years in and the budget deficit is still as bad as day one….

What the F*ck are the TD’s our representatives aka the clowns doing bout the deficit… Nothing because there bloody only teachers and accountants…. No offense to teachers and accountants who actually work at what there qualified to do…
      To reduce our deficit we need to increase growth and at the same time cut expenses…. Growth we cant really control…
      Now look its simple but takes balls to do it… It won’t be popular but must be done but this shower of clowns just want to be popular…. U must do what is best for your country and not what’s popular.
      We need to reduce the power the unions have in this country…
      Set proper and realistic pay scales for all public and civil servants… Including the entire political establishment…
      Cut our SW budget – cut out fraud
      Make savings in health – by negotiating with drug suppliers rather than cutting low paid nurses… Sort out the administration…
      Stop blowing countless millions on quangos, advisors to advisors, stupid council decisions, tribunals and the 700 or so different benefits to the state employees etc etc
      I can see why there not doing any of the above because they want more than anything to get this treaty passed… But I guarantee that after this treaty over regardless of the outcome the shit is gonna hit the fan…. it’s gonna be cuts cuts cuts IMO.
      I be voting NO because it’s time we stop taking credit when we can’t even afford what we owe already…. We won’t need to borrow more cash if we bloody hell sort out issues above…
      I rather be poor than poor and bitch slapped daily by foreign elites who gonna rape this country of everything we have…
      And finally sorry about the rather strong language but I’m pretty pissed off with our clowns in Dail Eireann and I feel strongly about this. There seems to be to many commentators here who can’t see long term what’s coming down the tracks…..

• Mojo the defecit isnt just as bad as day one ….. it is a lot worse!

• Well said Jackie,
      Well said MojoRise
      We all feel the same way . Thaty is why it is imperative that we get out there with family and friends and vote NO . Our TD’s are turn coat traitors . They have belittled us and have brought us to our knees. It is time for us to stand up and say enough is enough and vote NO. NO.NO.
      I am so tired of listening to the same people on here not only putting us down personally , but putting us down as a nation and these are the same people who govern us through their political parties. Vote NO .

• bring on the vote, and let the people have their say at long last, enda go back to school your a good boy for that but not a politician, just cause your daddy did it ,,,you really dont have to, as you never studied politics we know your calling was a school teacher,,, gilmore,,, psychology,,, is that how you can keep a calm face during labour,,, go back to what u studied,, is there any politician that has studied, politics, as a subject, business, or anything else that could qualify them for the job, is this why we have spokes people in the dail and we pay the professional fees to those behind closed doors that tell them whats going on and what to do, is that why they get miffed when asked something out of their context,,, begging for a NO vote, seems the people of ireland know more about what is going on, and the rest of the world sits and laughs at our leaders choices,,,

• Yes. The Referendum needs to go ahead. Lets see if the Irish people want more Austerity And Herr Merkel running our Dept of Finance for us from Germany.

• “stick it in a pan”

• “Francis Lun, managing director of Lyncean Holdings in Hong Kong, said markets were overreacting to fears Hollande would renege on a pledge by Sarkozy to put the brakes on government overspending.

“Even though Hollande indicated he will repudiate Sarkozy’s agreement with the European Union, in reality he cannot do it,” Lun said. “It is understood that a new government cannot repudiate or renegotiate a treaty signed by the previous government.”

We have been sold out,face up to it.

• GILMORE SHOULD GO BACK OVER THE RAINBOW AND GO INTO PSYCOLOGY FOR THE TDS AS THAT IS WHAT HE IS TRAINED AND EDUCATED FOR ,, HE HAS NOT GOT A CLUE, JUST HOPE THE NO VOTE GETS THROUGH AND I KNOW WE WILL HAVE BAD BUDGETS, MORE TAXES, MORE EXPENSES, BUT ITS TO COME ANYWAY BUT AT LEAST IT WILL BE DONE BY THE IRISH FOR THE IRISH, NOT A FOREIGN CHANNEL, WHO CARES NOTHING FOR THE IRISH, OUR KIDS AND GRAND CHILDREN WILL PAY FOR OUR LEADERS AND BANKERS ERRORS, BUT I DONT WANT ANY MORE SLAP AROUND THE EARS FROM NON IRISH, THINK WE ARE LOOKED AT BY EVERY COUNTRY AS FOOLS, LET US BE OUR OWN FOOLS, WE HAVE NOT HAD FREEDOM IN IRELAND LONG ENOUGH TO SELL OUT AGAIN AND THIS TIME WE HAVE NO ONE TO FIGHT FOR OUR FREEDOM, GILMORE SHOULD STEP DOWN HE IS JUST ANOTHER YES MAN TO GERMANY,

• I read this while screaming inside.

• turn off caps lock….. please
      You are giving me a headache.

• AAAAAAGGGGGGHHHHH!

• You have hit the nail on the head.

• SORRY ITS BROKEN,, I AM STUCK ON CAPITALS,,

• DAS CAPITAL (sic)

• franco 07/05/12 #

a capital speech …..

• CAPITAL PUNISHMENT

• @ Jackie

I understand your frustration, but please understand all this is +not+ about ‘nation vs nation’.

The real villains are the ones pulling the strings above – the financial & wealthy elites, the 1%, if you will.

Political leaders & their parties are the ‘useful idiots’ of the elites. They do not rise to power or prominence without the nod from above. They are there to distract, divide us & rule, not provide ‘democracy’.

It just so happens that the most powerful, financially & politically are in Germany, but the have ‘affiliates’ in every country, lining their pockets (still!) at our expense.

German citizens themselves have seen their wages, working conditions & benefits steadily & deliberately eroded over the last decade particularly. (Former German finance minister, Heiner Flassbeck has conference presentations on youtube about this.)

The key to the elites holding power has been the control over economics thinking & banking. The public, where they are informed at all are fed a bogus understanding of macro economics. Most economists work in the financial sector, long ago ‘captured’. But after 3 decades of debasing intellectual honesty & integrity, academic macro economics is nearly as bad.

The result, besides falsely constraining governments’ fiscal options, has been the rise of the now enormous ‘financialised’ economy that does nothing whatever of productive purpose in the real economy – it’s purely extractive, much operating like a casino where we are forced to back there losses or our normal financial transaction services crash (because they were deliberately integrated with the casino following years of gutting ‘regulation’.).

Professor Michael Hudson offers an excellent overview.

http://michael-hudson.com/

• @Mike – show me a working democracy where this isn’t true……

• @ Paul

Just because it’s pervasive is no excuse not to try & change it. Most especially if we look ahead to the huge challenges humanity is going to face in the coming decades. I think we owe it to our children to make an effort.

If you are looking for some inspiration of a better time in politics, try the the post WWII UK Labour government. Swept to power on a radical platform of unemployment benefits, free education for all & their national health service. All that against the Tory & Tory press scaremongering, the country was broke, in debt, the sky would fall & all the rest. Churchill, the ‘war victorious’ leader was vehemently against it – he lost.

Politics that does represent the interests of the majority, not the ‘few’, is possible. Tho’ not with any of the mainstream ‘leadership’ we have now, perhaps not with any of the main parties. But if we educate ourselves to reject the lies & false economics thinking epidemic of the last 3 decades, & demand change, we can succeeed in creating a far better country than now.

• only other vote is to vote our partying boys in the dail out, thats all they want is a yes vote to party on,, i have no party,,, its sad but half the people commenting on this site in more knowledgable than what we pay those moneys for in the dail,, listen to them jeering next time,, pack of buffoons,,, and we pay for that and a tv licence to listen to that, no wonder our country in trouble,,,

• we should hold a referendum to stop caaark langers mixing with humans.

• I think we should still have a vote to allow people to either give a yes or no to the government. Hopefully a no result will give them the kick in the pants they sorely need and tell them that what they are doubt they do not have a mandate for as they seem to believe.

• Gilmore should get off his high horse and leave it in Europe

• Why the big hurry……sinister!!

• The referendum should be postponed until the EU has a whole has time to digest the French and Greek outcomes. Also as the Spanish banks are going into the debt toilet, a super bailout is on the cards. Italy will join Spain in this case. Instability and uncertainty is mounting. Now is not the time to commit to the Fiscal Compact as the coming gale may blow it away.

• Surely we’d have greater input into a new stability treaty or an ancillary growth compact if we approve the current one … I doubt too many countries will allow the UK to dictate the outcome after giving two fingers to the process … At least if we vote on it and approve it we have standing to reform it

• Why the big hurry………sinister!!

• Gilmore is wrong. Hollande has repeatedly called for the treaty to be renegotated. He specifically said the current treaty ‘will not be ratified’ in its current form. One of his campaign’s demands is to include Eurobonds in the Treaty, and that would definitely require reopening the Treaty.

An important straw in the wind here is Pierre Moscovici on the news todat refusing to say whether or not we are voting on a Treaty that is about to be changed, nor did he call for a yes vote. You might say he is just respecting our sovereignty, but typically we come under massive pressure from France to vote yes to whatever EU treaty is on the table. I regard that as significant, not least given Noonan was reported to have asked Paris for clarification on Hollande’s intentions. That has not happened, suggesting to me that he has no intention of caving into Brussels and the Irish govt.

• I think all us turkeys should vote for christmas because if we don’t they will turn us out into the wilderness. WOOOOOOH.

• Hollande will be haunted by his promises just as much as Gilmore is haunted by Labour’s way or Frankfurt’s way.

The treaty won’t change so the vote should go ahead.

• Any reworking of the Treaty will be superficial in nature. The basis of this treaty is already contained in EU law- it’s just being reiterated here. The rules in this Treaty are good and will bring stability to the Eurozone, which is badly needed, especially when one now looks at the chaotic situation in Greece.

What Hollande should do, and what we should support him in doing, is adding a Growth Protocol to the Treaty- and furthermore pushing growth at all EU Council meetings, as Enda has been doing since he’s been elected! This is what will help Ireland.

• Get a grip! This is not in the best interest of the country! Germany and the federal Europe definitely but not Ireland or its citizens.

• Ryan- the vast majority of this Treaty is already EU law. We are already working towards these targets. What the Treaty does is ensure that ALL Eurozone countries, big or small, have to play by these rules. It makes sure that we balance our budgets- that we don’t spend more than we bring in. That’s the same constraint as is on any household or taxpayer- surely it’s a sensible policy? Furthermore, ratifying the treaty guarantees us access to the ESM- which will help us when we want to get rid of the IMF and go back to the markets.

• Actually Julie, lets be very clear about this. We were getting access to the ESM. Once it became apparent Ireland would have to have a referendum on the treaty, our government colluded with europe to have a blackmail clause inserted making access conditional on a yes vote. You are being blackmailed, the irish people are being blackmailed. And fine gael/labour are allowing it to happen because getting the result they want is more important then us being able to vote on the treaty free from threats.

• This is the greatest load of nonsense I’ve ever read, brainwashed for sure.

• It’s only right that countries accessing the ESM are following rules to pay the money back.

The belief at the time was that Ireland wouldn’t need a referendum so the blackmail argument is nonsense. It was the attorney general who took a very cautious approach and recommended a referendum.

• Julie

Had France and Germany obeyed the laws and played by the rules set out in Maastricht and Niece and not broken the deficit rules then chances are we would not be in the mess we are in. Of course had the rest of Europe grown a pair and insisted on them being punished for doing so, then we wouldnt be needing to have these rules and laws re-inforced in this treaty. Germany (being the Fatherland) move the goal posts whenever it suits them and expects the children to keep their mouth shut about it and not complain.

• censored 07/05/12 #

Julie, as you say – these rules are already party of EU law. So what’s the fiscal compact about then?

• Firstly, the response to the victory of Hollandes by the Market is negative. If Ireland do not ratify the treaty they will have no access to the new funding agency set up by the EU. If Ireland has to go back to the markets they will pay huge interest rates to borrow the money that they are currently borrowing at decent rates. For every 1% increase in the interest rates of Irelands loans there will be a 1bn euro increase in interest repayments. The banking debt is one part of the reason we need a bailout the second reason is the country is spending too much on it’s services. It doesn’t matter if you’re left, right or central because this problem still needs to be addressed. There is no easy way of addressing this issue.

• Well now if we didn’t have to pay the banks we wouldn’t be over spending!! Delusional at best!!

• We could start by insisting that our bank debt is borne by the banks not the people. Since the start of this crisis that has being the elephant in the room. I refuse to pay for speculators and stupid Bankers and their stupid descions based on greed. Before it all went bad for them they were making massive profits. Bankers giving themselves masssive bonuses. Did we see any of this largess, not a single cent.

• Ryan, what part of “we’re running a budget deficit regardless of bank debt” do you not get? YEs or NO doesn’t change that. We need money to keep country running…

• Agreed! But I choose not to enslave my children’s children with the effects of this treaty for years to come, no to a federal Europe run by Germany. I’d rather take the long walk home alone and suffer my consequences than be kicked up the road by the Germans and suffer their consequences to punish us. Look you can’t starve your way out of a famine the policy’s of the EU have failed, game over. NEIN

• A tiny fraction of our borrowing is for bank bailouts. Most is to fund frontline public services and social welfare payments.

That’s what’s at stake if we can’t get funding if we need it after the first bailout and everyone I know on the NO side accepts this fact.

• censored 07/05/12 #

Borrowing even more money is not going to solve the public spending deficit.

• MojoRise 07/05/12 #

Ya ya ya … Bla bla bla still the same shit different day….

Listen up I’m sick repeating it…

4 years in and the budget deficit is still as bad as day one….

What the F*ck are the TD’s our representatives aka the clowns doing bout the deficit… Nothing because there bloody only teachers and accountants…. No offense to teachers and accountants who actually work at what there qualified to do…

To reduce our deficit we need to increase growth and at the same time cut expenses…. Growth we cant really control…

Now look its simple but takes balls to do it… It won’t be popular but must be done but this shower of clowns just want to be popular…. U must do what is best for your country and not what’s popular.

We need to reduce the power the unions have in this country…

Set proper and realistic pay scales for all public and civil servants… Including the entire political establishment…

Cut our SW budget – cut out fraud

Make savings in health – by negotiating with drug suppliers rather than cutting low paid nurses… Sort out the administration…

Stop blowing countless millions on quangos, advisors to advisors, stupid council decisions, tribunals and the 700 or so different benefits to the state employees etc etc

I can see why there not doing any of the above because they want more than anything to get this treaty passed… But I guarantee that after this treaty over regardless of the outcome the shit is gonna hit the fan…. it’s gonna be cuts cuts cuts IMO.

I be voting NO because it’s time we stop taking credit when we can’t even afford what we owe already…. We won’t need to borrow more cash if we bloody hell sort out issues above…

I rather be poor than poor and bitch slapped daily by foreign elites who gonna rape this country of everything we have…

And finally sorry about the rather strong language but I’m pretty pissed off with our clowns in Dail Eireann and I feel strongly about this. There seems to be to many commentators here who can’t see long term what’s coming down the tracks…..

• The single biggest issue we face is being able to finance the countries needs. I totally agree that we have to cut our expenditure and that’s one aspect. If we vote no to the treaty we cut our access to the EU fund. As a result we will have to go to the markets to borrow. The interest rates will be much higher than the current rates from the EU

By doing this we are adding to our debt, if we vote no and we cannot borrow and the rates given by the markets are unaffordable there will be 15bn euros of austerity unleashed within a small timeframe. This would be much more harsh than the conditions required by the EU IMF.

You can keep on about the banking debt for another couple of years or you can realise that boat has already sailed. The fact remains that there is no easy solution to getting this country working again.

The conditions outlined in the treaty will prevent the same situation that we are In at the moment from happening again as we will have to be wise with our money.

• @ Aoife & Mojo Rise

No offence, but you really need to understand that +macro+ economics of whole countries is +not+ like your household.

Mojo is correct to say we need growth. Growth is the long run normal situation & it is this that enables debt sustainability. We, as householders cannot grow indefinitely. We get old, retire & our income (personal ‘GDP’ if you will) always declines. We +must+ pay off our debts. Governments do not need to & over the long run +never+ do. Rather it is the ability to service interest that matters. Growth means our debt capacity can increase, sustainably.

But note, we cannot cut government expenditure now if we want growth. Government is part of the economy & its spending contributes to GDP (& GNP) just the same as private spending. By definition, cut the gov budget, & unless exports or the domestic private sector can pick up the spending gap, the economy +will+ contract, creating more job losses, less tax income & spiral away down.

But with regard to gov debt capacity, the Euro system is deeply flawed in this situation. Countries that have their own currency have much higher debt capacity because they are in control of their interest rates. When they need to borrow more in a dowturn, they can & do set interest rates lower. US, UK, & Japan are all carrying much higher Debt/GDP ratios. Indeed their governments do not even need to borrow to spend (which is why, ultimately, ‘private’ bond markets have no sway).

In the Eurozone, the opposite happens. When we need to borrow to pull out of a downturn, we get gouged by private bondholders (yes, those same ones we bailed out for their reckless lending to Anglo) with higher, soon unsustainable, interest rates.

In the Eurozone, we have a currency issuer, the ECB, which can create money from thin air, just the same as US, UK etc. It has just done so, with €1,000 billion lent to banks at 1% interest. It can do this for us. Even better it can finance, entirely cost/debt free, growth stimulus programs.

The reasons the ECB will not do this are +political+ (the vested interests of the financial elites profiting off those bonds, now & in the future), not matters of +economics+.

France’s new President Hollande has specifically mentioned reforming the Euro system & properly empowering the ECB. We should vote NO in the referendum & demand our leaders support this initiative.

Regardless of whether you think the public sector is too large, poor value or whatever, the loss of real prosperity by having near 20% (in real terms) of our workforce out of work, for decades, is massively greater – €10s of billions per year. Add it up!

On top of this waste, workers in all countries (yes, including Germany) are all seeing their wages fall to be ‘competitive’. It’s a beggar thy neighbour race to the bottom. The only people who gain from this are the top few percent, esp in the finance sector that does little of productive value for anyone any longer.. Guess who’s really running the show?

• Lets vote on the Seanad instead.

• Nothing has changed. The text of the treaty remains the same and hasn’t changed since Hollande’s election. A yes vote is still in the interest of the country

• Actually no its not..its in the interest of vested interests..not the Irish people..

• Which vested interests?

If this is an austerity treaty as everyone claims then no one will be better off by its ratification surely?

• @David Higgins … For starters, Political Leaders who pay themselves more than the President of France, 3 times the salary of the Spanish Prime Minister would be considered a vested interest group … You asked me yesterday (twice about the 350k).. I will explain it to you again.. I have explained it many times, and even one of the journalists here on Journal.ie explained it to you a few weeks back also …
      Enda Kenny, while leader of FG in opposition paid himself an extra 50,000 euro per year from Tax Payer funds for the 7 years immediately before becoming Taoiseach.. That was on top of his TD salary, his ministerial pension and his expenses… So, even in opposition, he was getting paid more than the president of France … Like, come on… if you dont see people like him being in a vested interest group, looking to maintain their privileged position, by living off the loans from Europe, while at the same time, cutting carers allowances etc … then you are more blind than i gave you credit for.

• The 350k was funded by the party.

If you believe that a no vote leads to a cut in politicians pay then the only logical conclusion is that austerity has gotten worse and that everyone else is worse off.

• censored 07/05/12 #

Where did the party get the 350k?

Add New Comment