TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 6 °C Friday 24 May, 2013

Poll: Should Katie Taylor become a professional boxer?

Ireland’s Olympic champion is weighing up her options about a professional career – do you think she should take the plunge?

Katie Taylor admires her London 2012 Olympic gold medal shortly before leaving Heathrow to return home last Monday.
Image: INPHO/Dan Sheridan

IRELAND’S OLYMPIC BOXING champion Katie Taylor is set to make one of the biggest decisions of her life, as she weighs up whether to turn professional or stay amateur – or maybe give up the sport altogether.

The Bray superstar is reported to have held talks with professional promoters earlier this week ahead of a family holiday during which the 26-year-old is likely to make a definitive decision about her future.

Her father Peter has openly shared his hope that Katie would quit the sport entirely, having won all there is to win – and has previously described the professional game, where pugilists go without protective headgear, as a significantly more dangerous sport.

Taylor herself has not closed the door on turning pro – but has said that if she does give it a go, she’ll want to remain based in Bray instead of moving to the UK or USA. She has also said, however, that she would love to defend her Olympic gold – meaning she’d need to remain an amateur.

What do you think? Should Katie, who has already proven herself capable, try to make a career out of her abilities? Should she keep going as an amateur to defend her world and Olympic titles? Or, having won everything she can, hang up her gloves for good?

Poll Results:

Read: Katie’s future? It’s up to Katie, says Billy Walsh

Read next:

Comments (58 Comments)

• Katie should do whatever she wants, she’s more than earned the right.

• Absolutely – its her decision and hers alone. Interesting and all that a poll is, I would hate to think of her getting to hear about it and feeling under pressure either way….

• I agree. it’s none of our business.

• I think she should, she single handedly popularized women’s amateur boxing, imagine if she could do the same with professional. I would love to see her get involved with Golden Boy and appearing on the undercards of the major fights. She could become incredibly famous and financially set herself up for life. The distain people have for the professional game is shortsighted. Word of warning… she should stay away from the path Darren Sutherland went down with British promoters.

• Your a perfectly right , it is her decision and she’s earned the right to make that decision but pro boxing is a different ball game . I would never watch a boxing match as I think it’s a barbaric sport but that’s just my opinion. I hope for her own sake she makes the right decision.

• Damn iphone ;-) when will there be a facility to edit a post and fix the typos .

• John 19/08/12 #

Professional female boxing is non runner, it doesn’t really exist in any true sense. Professional female boxing is very unpopular, empty halls, seedy promoters, no money…nobody even watches it, there is no demand. Did RTE and the Irish media not tell you that?

• Katie has earned the right to do whatever she wants. But I hope she retires I would hate to see her get hurt or used by money mad promoters.

• She shouldn’t need to even consider it. The sports council should offer her a package commensurate with her position as the most popular sportsperson in the country. Pro womens boxing is nasty business, and although she’d be well able for it, we should do all we can to hang onto her talent and undeniable value as a role model for our kids.

• I’m looking for the “it’s not my place to say” option.

• Colm – The poll is merely a platform for a vox-pop; it’s not as if we’re expecting Katie to bow to democracy in how she conducts her own affairs!

She is, of course, entirely free to do as she wishes – this is just a soundboard to canvass general opinion.

• You can’t win, Gavan.

You’d need to add 100 options to cover everything.

• you beat me too it.
      the poll is just an excuse to give a bit of work to an office junior on a saturday.
      its an irrelevant poll and issue.
      we dont know katies views on the commitment, ethices, rules, regulations, business dealings etc on pro bixing.
      if there is gonna be polls to enhance the nations knowledge sjd understanding of world events lets have pills on issues affecting real
      peoples lives.
      not silly polls designed to create internet traffic and in crease a webpages Internerlt Search returns and by doing so increasing its value as an advert platform.
      every one click i dont know

• There isn’t much money in female professional boxing unfortunately. I think Katie has accomplished everything anyone could accomplish in amateur boxing – my wish would be for her to retire on top. Ultimately, it’s up to her – and whatever her wishes are, we should support her.

Professional boxing is just full of shady promoters who would be more than happy to exploit her.

• After reading the kind of figures in terms of money that the British athletes stand to make after their success I think Katie should stick top amateur. She mightn’t make the same, but surely she could earn enough to give her a wealthy lifestyle while remaining amateur, plus she wouldn’t have to make any big moves out of Bray etc

• @lauren. good for you. the apathetic voice who enjoys participating in opinion polls. now thats irony! or is it a paradox

• I would hate to see her retire, I’d also hate to see her get hurt but it’s not a tickling competition it’s boxing and she has all the right attributes to turn pro. Solid defence, good power, instinct and a boxing pedigree. I hope she turns pro, makes some waves in the sport, earns herself some good money and gets out on time after only a couple fights and no harm done. GO ON KATIE YE LEGEND!!

• Doc benway- how is not caring vile?

• I tell you something, if Taylor went pro she would be battered, there is no doubt about it, no pussy headgear no 3 round bouts , she would come up against some rough streetwise kid from some hell hole of a city who would knock 7 sorts of shite out of her. The level in the pro game would be waaaay out of her league she simply isn’t tough enough, she has been very sheltered up to now and she should stay that way.

• At the end of the day it’s up to Katie… but as a father of daughters myself I can see where her dad is coming from. She’s done it all and has nothing more to prove, so she may as well go out on top. I think what her dad wants her to do now is settle down and have a family; maybe I’m wrong but that’s how I read it anyway.

But if she does decide to carry on, more power to her.

• There is nothing left for her to achieve as an amateur. She has proven that she is the greatest female amateur boxer in history.
    It would be great to see her continue to build her amazing legacy, as it would be a shame to retire such a great talent. However the fact that she wants to remain in Bray as a pro-boxer is a bit of a concern as she may not get the right level of coaching and sparring as she would in the US. Would be a shame to see her not realise her professional goals on that basis. Then again, that may not stop her succeeding either.

• I couldn’t see her being successful as a pro. Corruption in that level of sport, her own personality and concerns of her ability to take a punch.

• What would Jesus do? :))

• i reckon the 37% who suggest she should retire are ehibiting justa tiny amount of latent sexism. they want to protect “our” little girl. if a male boxer of 26yrs just won gold that stat woyld be close to zero. katie can protect herself. rock on girl

• Maybe your right, didn’t think of it like that. Its just that female boxing isn’t as established as male boxing and the purse is tiny in comparrison. She could be dealing with small time promoters and thats not good even some of the big male promoters are seriously dodgy. But we may be a bit over protective just coz she’s a woman as you say.

• I’m going to vote don’t know because I can’t see the result unless I do.
    She’s done herself, her family, her club and the country proud and it’s her call what she should do next.

• She has won it all on the amateur stage, if she wants to go further than she should go pro

• She has done this country so proud, no matter what road she takes from here on in.
      For the amount of effort she has put in,I think she should try get as much money out of her gold medal as possible. She could even do a film at this stage!!
      She is a winner no matter what and best of luck to Katie,I know she will give more than 100% to whatever’s she decides to do.

• Niall 18/08/12 #

37% think she should retire altogether??? What the hell is wrong with ye people??

• Professional boxing is a different story altogether, she’d be boxing for money without headgear and at the mercy of dodgy promoters.

• alan 18/08/12 #

becasue she has achieved everything. given a great boost to womens boxing, showed that amateruism beats professionalism every time, won all possible competitions

no doubt she is capapable of starting a new career and being just as successful in that

how many people get a chance to begin a ‘second ‘ life?

• Is god on the side of professionals too???

• Dont do it!! Theres no guarantee that she will even make it big time dogy promoters and not a huge demand stay ametur. Rake in the money doing endorsements and be the face and spokesperson for women’s ametur boxing. Sorted

• She should go out on top. She doesnt have to prove anything to anyone anywhere. she is the bests female boxer in the world in her division. Nobody stays on top forever, but retiring as world no.1 is nothing short of astounding. her call, but the job has been finished. G’WAN KATIE!!

• where’s the “I don’t care” option?

• bob 18/08/12 #

Nope,she will get hurt even if shes winning and she has great itellegence.look a Ali,great brain turned to mush.Katie is and always be a champion! all boxers me their match eventually.But her call.

• I agree with the comment made earlier that Katy should do what’ever she wants too. But on a personal opinion I think retire as she is. The wee lass has done everything possible towards her great and noble sport. The pro game is a mine’field of hard’faced money men who do not do say they should for people of Katy’s qaulaties and commitment. So I think ‘retire’ or defend as an amateur in the next Olympics. God bless you Katy you are a credit too your country and it’s people. Well done young lady. Hail hail. Tal.

• RE Katie Taylor Poll

Katie should turn professional, Katie should continue as an amateur, Katie should retire altogether, I don’t know

Why is her continuing to box the only option, she is an inspiration to a generation of females around the world with her faith, achievements and modesty. I would say going on with boxing and especially going pro would be the last of her options.

• I dont know, but I know she could lose all her respect of being best because pro is different world almost like different sport. I think many asian pro women could have battered her easily.

• She should cash in and get well rewarded for all her efforts….go pro Katie. It will be hard for her to resist the lure of the airgead

• Jesus wept! what a ridiculously stupid poll!!

Add New Comment