TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 7 °C Saturday 18 May, 2013

Poll: Should Ministers meet with TDs criticised in tribunals?

Government ministers have faced criticism for meeting with Michael Lowry following the Moriarty Tribunal findings but they argue that they cannot refuse to meet with elected public representatives. What do you think?

Image: Photocall Ireland

CONTROVERSY HAS ARISEN in recent weeks after it emerged that at least three government ministers met with independent TD Michael Lowry following the publication of the Moriarty Tribunal report.

The report made adverse findings against Lowry, formerly of Fine Gael, saying that he had an “insidious and pervasive” influence over the awarding of a second mobile phone licence when he was communications minister. The Tipperary TD has rejected the findings.

Though some have raised questions over government ministers meeting with political figures who have been the subject of negative findings by a Tribunal, others, including Lowry, argue that there is nothing wrong with Ministers meeting with elected public representatives to discuss constituency matters.

So, we want to know whether or not you think Ministers should meet with TDs who have been criticised by Tribunals?

Poll Results:

Read: Shatter will not say whether or not he met Lowry after Moriarty findings

Read: Fine Gael ministers defend meeting with Michael Lowry

Read next:

Comments (63 Comments)

• Better question would be “Should those TD’s were adverse findings have been made be thrown out of Leinster House”

• This is essentially a ‘whatever they do is wrong’ situation.
    However they are not equal wrongs.
    If they meet with him, they and other people may not like it, and they are criticised for meeting him.

If they refuse to meet him they are subverting the fundamental foundation of representative democracy which raises important constitutional issues and essential questions about they type of “democracy” we choose.

The real question is not if they met him, but why was he elected in the first place?

• I love this country, we are all press followers, first the press decide Fianna Fail have to go and Fine Gael should be in power, guess what Fine Gael are in power (i have never and never will vote Fine Gael), then the tribunal ends and even though the tribunal did not find any corruption dealins with Bertie Ahern, the press made him public enemy number one and of course the Irish followed. Now we have a Fine Gael Td who was found to be corrupt and yet I did not see his face on the cover of all papers saying out out out. The simple fact of life is that mistakes were made, not just by government, we also have to take responsibility, the WHOLE world is in recession, in each country the last government are being critizied for the mess, Obama etc, but at least these countries will vote in a government based on their prowess and ability to pull us out of trouble, and not do what the press tells them. Ireland voted Fine Gael in, they were kept out of power for 15 years, why, because they do not, never have and never will care about the little man in Ireland. So while I pray everyday that my children will have a future to look forward to I am slowly losing hope, that Ireland has sunk so low as to vote them back in scares me, one year on and we are broken.

• I agree with your absolute sense of frustration Marcella….but looking back it seems that the vast majority of the voters went to the last election to vent fury on FF….and in doing so were led up the garden path by the only alternative, now Enda thinks he is the messiah, surely long before the next election we will have seen a party formed where we can steer a new course and jettison those civil war political parties as drift wood…..we need a new beginning, we owe it to our next generation that we do not give them the present corrupt culture of this rotten state!!

• Reg 12/04/12 #

Marcella, if you are referring to Lowry Fine Gael kicked him out many years ago. Fianna Fail on the other hand knew about their dodgy TDs for many years and did feck all.

• Reg

they only kicked him out because the public were made aware of the dodgey dealings he had with O’Brien. If that piece of information had not come to out, chances are he would still be in FG and the rest of them would have kept their mouths shut knowing quite well what had gone on and we would be none the wiser.

• The only people meeting with these TDs should be the Gardaí and quickly. We are sick to the teeth of the blatant disregard for fairness and justice in our country. I have rang Castlebar Garda Station to ask why Padraig Flynn. If I were reporting he had no TV or Dog Licence he’d be behind bars by now!

How much more do we have to take before we say enough?

• The people of North Tipperary have a lot to answer for. They elected him and will no doubt elect him again.14000 votes on the first count in 2011!! For shame.. No doubt these are the same people complaining about parish pump politics.

• Going by the close vote above Reada I’d say Irish people will take an awful lot before shouting stop. Thats why the establisment keep shoveling all this crap on us………. because we take it.

• Yvonne
      People are standing up and finding our voices . Did you not see the protests around the country ?

• Yvonne
      You may be right about Lab , However they have lost my vote ( even if it was 2nd choice) forever.
      I agree wholly with you that people should treat the local elections with more concentration and choose
      carefully

• Susie do you not remeber or should I say are you old enough to remember the failed GaeLab coalitons in the 80s. I wasnt old enough to vote in the early 80s but I remember everything they did and the effect their draconian budgets had on the people of this country, and by the time I was 18 I had made a concious decision to never vote for either party, EVER!
      They were liars and self serving back then and it appears nothing has changed. Phill the blacks sacks Hogan has decided to park the investigations into more recent planning application irregularities because it serves him (in particular) and his government well to do so, particlarly given that they held the majoiry of seats in the Councils, over the past decade. Fine Gael ministers had meetings with Lowry before Mahon released his findings, knowing quite well that he had been involved in corrupt dealings with O’Brien. As the saying goes “the dogs in the street knew” he was corrupt and there is absolutely nobody on this island that was shocked by Mahons findings. Its the same old same old, nothing changes.

• Ann
      I had a longer reply written but it disappeared ….. Suffice to say that I am indeed old enough to remember the 80′s. I voted for FG then too . Why ? They were not FF/ Lab.
      I was reared on civil war politics …. Anyway I am not alone at this present time to be goiung through this transiton / epipheny ( Spelling ! ) and it is a fantastic sense of freedom. I will accept that my lack of moral courage , by voting for them has brought us here , BUT. and this is significant to me and many others , we will stand aside no longer. I will stand with the rest of you and shout out loud Enough is Enough . It is a fantastic sense of self worth and freedom . .
      Ann Speaking of which …….http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WLrrBs8JBQo

• Yes, visiting times are Monday to Saturday, 10am to 12 noon and 2pm to 4pm in Portlaoise Prison were the whole shower of them belong, crooked politicians, bankers and developers alike – traitors.

• Ministers have a choice. They are not obliged to meet with any and all public representatives. The bigger question, however, is not about ministers meeting with Lowry, but rather why those criticised in the McCracken Tribunal (and now the Mahon tribunal) are not already subject to a Garda investigation.

• They wont meet residents of Priory Hall , but will meet and advise ,people who are deemed crooked.Lowry was kicked out of the party .They said above^ ”there is nothing wrong with Ministers meeting with elected public representatives to discuss constituency matters.” BUT we were also told that Lowry said NOTHING at that meeting with the Hog hogan . They are a shower of lying bas**rds. I am as sick of them as I ever was of FFailures . Time for change me thinks . Surely there is something in our constitution that get rid of this lying bunch of monkeys , if only Labour had the where with alls to get out …

• Change to what? I see no viable alternative. Do you?

• Yes I do :)

• Susie, you give out about FG apologists in one breath and then in the next breath lament the fact that Labour are not in power on their own. Are you for real?? Labour are part of this government too and are dying by their own sword. For years we have listened to Labour’s blue-sky fiscal policies and now when in power they go down the same road as all the other parties.

• Ha ha , Where have I ever said I wanted Labour in Gov on their own .? I ”lament” the fact that I gave them my 2nd vote in the GE …. I regret that daily too. I did say that Labour should get out . In other words fall on their own sword , and take fg with them, which will not happen . They are worse than not being there because they are doing less than nothing .

• Susie Lab will pull out but not for another year or so. They know that if they stay in power for the full term that they will go the way of the PDs and the Greens. So they will pull out in time to rebuild the party before the next election. In the meantime they will try to win as many seats as possible in the Local Elections in 2014. So we need to treat and use our vote as carefully in the local elections as we would a General Election. We can’t afford to treat the next Local Elections as a relatively non event.

• Yvonne
      I answered this comment but it went ^ above :( , but I agree with you , except to say That Lab , have lost my vote .

• Here’s a simple answer to the question posed:
    If the minister believes that the Tribunal has any weight or importance or legal standing then he/should not.
    If the Minister believes that the tribunal holds no weight or importance, then they should meet said persons but also publicly state that they believe the Tribunal is a waste of time and of zero consequence!
    Simples!!!

• This is not an issue solely about one TD or a Minister’s preference. This is a critical matter of the credibility, import and status of a finding of a Tribunal established to inquire into matters of public concern by the Oireachtas itself. It is extremely inconsistent, to say the least, to accept the findings of a Tribunal on the one hand,whether it be Mahon or Moriarity, and then to behave in a fashion as if that Tribunal never happened. Being an elected member of the Oireachtas does not automatically give a TD or Senator access to Ministers or the absolute right to lead or attend on delegations. Quite often Ministers refuse to meet TDs or delegations at all, so it is a myth and disengenous to suggest that Ministers were obliged to meet Michael Lowry (or anyone else for that matter) merely because they were elected by their constituents. It seems a bit Irish to me that one one hand the Dail spent two days harranging and censuring Deputy Lowry, calling on him to resign (a matter in which they had no authority) and then rather hypocritcally and in a two-faced fashion meet him within days on delegations – it doesn’t stack up and no wonder the public are cyncial about politics and the merits of expensive Tribunals when senior politicians themselves appear to undermine their very findings. It seems to me that one very simple rule of thumb would be for the Cabinet to take a joint decision that no Minister will in future meet with anyone – TD or otherwise – against whom an adverse finding has been established by a Tribunal of the State. That at least would be consistent and offer some tangible censure for coming off the wrong side of a Tribunal. For what its worth my vote and view is that Ministers should not meet with or facilitate those who have adverse findings before Tribunals made against them.

• So Senator Whelan

why wont your party leader, Eamonn Gilmore put it up to Kenny and FG and tell them that this situation is not on and that the majority of the electorate in this country find this type of behaviour unacceptable and unethical not to mention farcicle to the tune of 300million euros?

• Lowry is a snake, but he’s also elected to the Dail. Unless he is found guilty in a court of law he shouldn’t be ostricised by Dail colleagues. They all have their jobs to do, we don’t know what the meetings were about, i think the debate here could be ‘Should we know what ministers met Lowry in connection with’

• Reg 12/04/12 #

I think ministers are between are stuck between a rock and a hard place when it comes to meeting dodgy TDs. I think the focus should be on the red necks who vote for these dodgy TDs in the first place!

• Desmond it is simple, 90% of them were all part of the *fu*k you until I’m ok* politics. 100% of them knew what the culture was & not one of them had the bravery to shout about it. They are sad bast*rds & they all could do with a good kick up the boll*x & that includes Joan.

• Couldnt have put it better myself and I would say Joan needs the hardest one. The only thing she is interested in “protecting” is her new wardrobe and pay packet. And really it makes no difference to any of them wether this admininstration falls flat on its face because they have a nice big fat pension to look after them, I would say in their twilight years, but as we all know it will kick in the minute they retire from politics.

• Michael Lowry – great for North Tipp; shite for Ireland.

• Written submissions only then every body is in no doubt what the issue is.
    Or is that too sensible to be a good idea ?

• Respect must be earned !
    Which is contrary to what you sa about him ”has to be respected”
    So how come that at a meeting with the Hog hogan , he didn’t say anything ?
    Who would have a meeting with any one and say nothing ?
    You seem itelligent ,can you answer me, that ?

• Leaving aside the issue of whether Lowry should remain a TD or not, a blanket refusal by Government Ministers to meet with him would disenfranchise the people of North Tipp.

• The obvious thing is that no Media Savvy politician… and any minister is media savvy- would meet with a disgraced guy like Lowry UNLESS he was being blackmailed; or an idiot. either way it’s a dodgy situation.

Looks like we live in a country where the criminals pull the strings and call the shots.

• He’s absolutely no influence now. Wonder what way Tipp would vote in the next election. Don’t see why ministers wouldn’t meet him, they’d get more satisfaction refusing him any requests.

• Some of the should be in jail would the ministers be expected to visit and meet with them in jail ?.

• As much as I despair of the way the N Tipperary electorate seem to keep voting him in, once he’s been voted in that has to be respected. He still gets his vote in the Dail, he still gets to make speeches and put forward motions, and he still gets to make representations to government on behalf of his constituency.

It’s probably fair to say, though, that *within* that framework he should no longer have a lot of influence: I can’t imagine ministers are falling over themselves to do him favours! And, certainly, if we were in a position of a minority government, they shouldn’t be entering into support pacts with such scandal-ridden independents. But then we’re NOT in that position, and there’s been no suggestion that Lowry has been granted any special influence or favour at all.

• It is quite improper for Ministers to refuse to meet any T.D. doing the public’s business, unless they have been expelled from the Dáil, following due process. Tribunals are not courts and, essentially, do not carry out due process.

• They can say they are busy or just ignore him like they do with Priory Hall reps

• “due process” used to be the FF mantra, now FG have taken it over! Neither seemed to worry about it when Michael McDowell hid behind Dail privilege to attack Frank Connolly.

In the 1980s FG and Labour ministers refused to meet SF councillors or attend any function, however harmless if a SF councillor was present. Do not councillors have a mandate too?

• Lowery is exactly the same ad the Dublin City Councillor Oisin Quinn – Raoire’s nephew of the Labour party – - corrupt !!! They keep getting away with it and people vote for them just like they voted for Haughy, Lawlor, Healy Rea’s etc. Irish people like to be able to have access to corrupt politicians. End of story.

• Fair play to Senator John Whelan for giving his views on the Journal but Idont agree with anything he wrote.Abolish the Senate then we will know you dont speak with self interest.

• TIFFOS

Add New Comment