TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 19 °C Wednesday 19 June, 2013

Poll: Should we ban fracking in Ireland?

Clare County Council has agreed a total ban on fracking and is urging the government to implement a national ban on the process, but what do you think?

A rig that drills for shale gas in Washington, Pennsylvania (File photo)
Image: Keith Srakocic/AP/Press Association Images

CLARE COUNTY COUNCIL has in principle agreed a total ban on the process of ‘fracking‘ and has urged the government to ban the practice of extracting shale gas nationwide.

In short, fracking is a method of pumping water and chemicals deep underground at extremely high pressures in order to break-up or fracture rock formations and allow pockets of naturally occurring shale gas to escape. Read more here >

Proponents of the practice argue that there is a serious economic benefit to extracting the gas from deep beneath parts of Cavan, Leitrim, Roscommon and Sligo in terms of revenue and jobs but those against have raised concerns about the possible contamination of water supplies.

Energy and Natural Resources Minister Pat Rabbitte has already ordered that the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) carry out a review of the process. But do you think fracking should be banned in Ireland?

Poll Results:

Column: Never heard of ‘fracking’? You will soon

Column: Want to boost the economy and create jobs? Drill for gas

Everything you ever needed to know about fracking

• Share on Facebook
  • Email this article
  •  

Read next:

Comments (119 Comments)

• Fracking was introduced by FF on their last day in power, says all they you need to about this.

• We cannot allow fracking in Ireland, first because of the environmental risks, second because of the nod and wink cute hoor brigade who would probably pawn the prospecting and extraction rights for a few pieces of silver a la Corrib gas, and third because this shale gas is only viable now because of the price and demand, so its big business who finances and pushes it, you probably find their sponsored environmental impact reports to be amazingly positive, same is happening in Canada with the oil sand industry, go ask some of the native camnadian indians who live there about the spike in cancer rates and the dioxins found in the rivers there

• I’m not one to side with the Rossport rent-a-crowd, but fracking has too many unknowns to make it viable. The idea of altering the pressure structure of large swathes of underlying rock, for whatever reason, makes me very uneasy. It’s like reaching your hand into the bottom of a mound of rocks and weaving your hand about in there. You might be alright, or you might dislodge the upper rocks to fall on you.

The amount of information you’d need to get on pressure distributions down there is beyond today’s technology to get. Fracking is too dangerous and should be banned until we know how to do it perfectly.

• Please find out about fracking, if it was allowed it would completely ruin our beautiful island of Ireland, there is so much evidence now that it pollutes ground water, causes earthquakes, causes health problems, the list is endless. Watch Gasland yes but there is a lot more less emotional evidence, although once you start to educate yourself about this, it is impossible not to be emotional about it.

• The damage done can never be undone, its not worth for the sake of enriching a few.

• No fracking way!

• It has caused a lot of problems, sadly the companies don’t care about our environment,
    Money, money, money!

Does anyone else feel that it should stay in the ground where it belongs and that we should work with renewable energy? For our well-being, rather than for profit?

Or have people lost all sense of what is really important?
    Your health is your wealth . .
    One Love

• At exactly what point are people going come to terms with the reality of energy. Hydro is the only renewable that works the rest are just gimmicks. We are importing 97% of our gas at the moment. This technology gives us an opportunity to pay down our debts and get out of this rut. Cman cheer up, this is a good thing.

• “Hydro is the only renewable that works the rest are just gimmicks.”
      Explain to us Joe why wind and PV are gimmicks!

• Wind generation on supply has added at least 3.5 cent per kw hour to our bills because it’s intermittant nature forces thermal power stations to run on standby to cover wind flucuations. The Danes are paying a whopping 29 cent per kw hour. PV may work on demand side and hopefully will improve as time goes by. New model gas turbines can produce electricity at 3 cent per kw/hour.

• I live in county Leitrim and have spent the last seven months researching hydraulic fracturing. For those who maintain that anti fracking activists are exaggerating the extent of environmental damage caused by fracking, I suggest that they educate themselves a little better before making such accusations. One gentleman was daring enough to suggest that images of people setting their tap water on fire due to methane contamination from gas wells are fake. This is simply not true. The documentary from which these images were taken is called Gasland, a film by Pennsylvanian fimmaker Josh Fox. Gasland was nominated for an Academy Award and is acknowledged as a superb and fact based investigative fim. Moreover, such stories of methane contamination were broadcast on American news so to claim that this never happened is negligence of a widely accepted fact. If anybody believes the nonsense being spouted by individuals on this page that Big Gas has our interests at heart, I recommend an article in the Huffington Post by environmental lawyer Robert F Kennedy Jr who is assigned to advise New York state on the viability of fracking in the state. The New York Times has also carried out some superb investigative journalism on this subject; the “drilling down” series of articles on hydraulic fracturing are entirely fact based. Any information on the internet which denies that hydraulic fracturing has been responsible for contamintion of water supplies by toxic chemicals and methane gas is the propaganda of oil and gas companies. Having done so much research on this subject myself and as a native of the area to be destroyed should fracking be given the green light, I can safely say that my mind is irreversibly made up: No fracking way!

• Frack off to the Frackers!

• Fracking has potential in places like Canada or America where there are vast spaces larger than Ireland that are hardly populated.

In Ireland it will be an expensive disaster, given that it will benefit a small few at greater cost to the taxpayer, then I presume it will be enthusiastically backed.

• Great piece on Fracking in Pennsylvania by the New York Times http://goo.gl/jqcSa
    – rise in animal deaths and elevated levels of arsenic and other industrial solvents like benzene and toluene found in the blood of some of the locals since Fracking began.

• Christ above I had to read the headline twice before I saw what it said!! phew!!

• Oh no, please let us prevent this. If you google ‘fracking’ you will find many reasons why this is just more rape and damage to the planet and we don’t need to go back to the money argument…
    Let us demand the clean energy technologies that have been repressed ever since GP Morgan pulled the funding for Tesla and he was prevented to make it available. They exist – some people re-invent those generators right now. Let us support them, create a new industry instead of just looking for saving on your energy bill – let’s do the right thing.

• . on that note my partner has just told me . that fracking. is not good . as it don’t serve any purpose . as when it was done in Lancashire .uk. it caused a mini earthquake. he worked as manager for ICI. in the uk. . and knowing about this . it could be a disaster for Ireland. if it went ahead .

• Fracking has potential in places like Canada or America where there are vast spaces larger than Ireland that are hardly populated.

In Ireland it will be a disaster.

• Fracking should be banned here its banned in a most states in the US and its being scrutinized all over the US its totally banned in New York most recently in Ohio, Geologists have stated it has caused 6 earthquakes since it was given the go ahead the most recent earthquake was in December. look an you tube Fracking Hell the untold story. Some of the main chemicals used in Fracking are waste water, Benzine, formaldehyde, sand and hydraulic fluids most other chemicals are unknown. this form of gas extraction pollutes fresh drinking water the chemicals get into the fresh water system including gas leeks its not safe and has no benefit to the Economy.

• Absolutely noway, it would contaminate our whole water supply animals and the nature around would die and for what a few greedy corrupt politicians to get a brown envolope from Shell or the like sand the people not to gain an iota from this, no to fracking no to the sell out of our beautiful land!

• If anyone is interested watch a great documentary called Gasland.This deals alot with fracking.

• kyp154 10/01/12 #

Better to learn the facts in an unbiased way I reckon

• Oh Inn 10/01/12 #

Gaslands is a good introduction to the issue.
      But you should not base toot opinions on anything which is so biased.
      Gaslands is a very biased film.

My gut feeling is against fracking but it is a big field, I will need to learn a lot more about it.
      For example: when done using just water and sand what effects does it have?

• @ Oh Inn,

I don’t think it’s ever been done where just water and sand is used.

They are telling us that this method will be used for the first time in Ireland but i’d still be very apprehensive if I was living near by.

• Jury is still out on this a lot of BS being put about the scene where the guy sets his tap water on fire was rigged and completely bogus,but the gas companies arnt to be believed either would love some independent info for once, sick of propaganda when it comes to these important issues.

• This is Ireland. You’ll say no, they’ll do it anyway. Meek old Irish, never stand up for themselves

• Fracking will create a minute amount of jobs and undo all the hard work done in this area to promote it as an eco-tourism destination. The EU poured a lot of funds into that project and it is now beginning to work. All that will be lost.

Not to mention the water contamination…one of the mapped proposed drilling rigs Dowra 1 and Dowra 2 on Boleybrack are right beside the lough that feeds our group water scheme. Oh, yes!

And with house prices plummeting 7% in County Leitrim last year you don’t really see us able to try and leave to areas with potable water, do you?

It simply cannot happen!

• I have first hand experience with it in Pa. The Lake ASSOC. sold off rights to co. to frack in area as did many of the surrounding folks who need income.,well say goodbye to your pristine hills,your water and your children’s health. There are several in the area who can turn their kitchen faucets on,light a match and see the water burn. Where do you think the chemicals they are forcing down with the “air” dissipate to. All who signed up regret it, the lake is drained at the dam,everyone told dam needed to be fixed (not) and everyone who owns at the lake can’t sell. Yes, they all said “Gasland” was overdone. Not saying it now, asking for help from state…. If ye let this happen,will regret it forever..

• Try http://www.endocrinedisruption.com/home.php for an independent opinion.

• Yes, yes, and yes – ban it nationwide please. If Clare County council want it banned it can’t be good because they have learneda lot through the years about protecting the land. But of course, we say yes to the ban, if we had to have a referendum on it they’d keep coming back to us until we give them the right answer. Same ole tactics, frighten the people out of their wits that this is a way of us benefiting financially – and then charge us extra for our stupidity while blowing up our beautiful island.

• I believe that most Scientific studies are usually commissioned and paid for by the people who need them to come up with Desirable results. If you want to know what is really going on you need to speak with the people who are directly affected by the disastrous almost non existent environmental policies of greedy oil and gas exploration companies. Backed by the “Experts Say” Brigade who personally gain not one iota and loose more than they know all to espouse their non productive academic and intellectual prowess. Gulf Oil Spill anyone!!! Just one small Example

• I live in regional Queensland Australia, Our whole countryside is being taken over by CSG ( fracking,) It is highly toxic and poisons the underground water. Animals are also poisoned from drinking water and eating the grass. The earth releases carcinogenic chemicals from the “cracks” created from Fracking, aside from the ones used in the process. Once the Gas companies get on the land , there is no stopping them. Watch the Irish film “THE PIPE” and you will see how MERCILESS they are to ordinary citizens.
    We have an organisation here called LOCK THE GATE .If you Google it , you will see what is going on here, AND ALL OVER THE WORLD.
    PLEASE BAN FRACKING IN IRELAND. If anyone can do it ……THE IRISH CAN. bless

• Surprised at so many people prepared to accept what the EPA says – why not read the information for yourselves and make up your own minds? Look up Fracking on YouTube – there is NOTHING positive to say about it. Its a method of extracting gas, but at ENORMOUS costs to both the environment, particularly our rivers and water systems, and the impact on surrounding landscapes, towns and villages. It has also been cited as a cause of earthquakes and is now being banned worldwide. Do the Irish have to be the gobshites who sign up to the destruction of our country? Are we not bad enough already without some moronic Government Minister signing away not only our environment but the sole rights to our own resources – just as they did in Corrib?

Cop on people. We all have a responsibility in this. Its about time the citizens faced up to their responsibilities and stop letting these bloodsuckers ride us to hell.

• Despite the obvious dangers associated with using hydraulic fracturing to extract the gas, of which they’re many, one also wonders why we are letting a foreign company pillage our national resources. Richard Moorman, CEO of one of the companies involved in North Leitrim, Tamboran resources, reluctantly agreed with Pat Kenny that the gas extracted would be sold at market prices to the highest bidder.
    We could be in a perverse situation of allowing foreign corporations to put at risk our environment so that they can extract the gas and sell it on the open market to other European countries. Mr Moorman attempted to pull the wool over the eyes of Pat Kennys listeners with the adage that the gas will be transported to that European market in Bord Gais pipelines, implying some sort of ownership of the gas by Bord Gais. Lets be very clear about this. Tamboran have complete ownership of all gas they intend extracting from Leitrim and surrounding counties. All Bord Gais will get is transit fees for the gas in the pipeline. All the Irish Goverment will get is tax on the profits of Tamboran, as well as any benefits created by the 200 or so jobs the project will create over 20 years. (we should all be aware by now how easy it is for multinational companies to set up tax avoidance schemes, reducing the benefit to our exchequer). Estimates by Tamboran themselves say the gas reserves exceed 100 billion euros at todays prices and the project is worth 6 billion to the exchequer over 20 years. So, 6 % is our cut…? over 20 years ….!
    When you compare what is at stake should anything go wrong environmentally, it seems we will pay a very high price for little benefit to the nation.
    This project WILL NOT MAKE GAS CHEAPER here in Ireland. We will pay market price for it… We don’t own it, they, Tamboran and other mineral prospectors do (We can thank Sean Lemass for that as his was the signature that naively sold the mineral rights to our lands in the 1950’s for 250,000 punts). However until they come up with a safe way of extracting the gas, we don’t have to honour those minerals rights. So why are we even considering putting our environment and assocciated established industries of tourism & farming at stake …? Both of those industries are worth 6 billion a year
    To those of you who want to wait and see what the EPA say on the matter before forming an opinion ,without wanting to disrespect the epa, all they will be asked to do is come up with recommendations to make the threat of environmental destruction less likely. Regardless of what they say, there is no way of safeguarding a project as large as this especially when you are interacting with forces of nature…
    We should be acting now to stop this juggernaut gaining speed and rolling into the glens of North Leitrim

• absolutely agree with you! don’t be fooled by the manipulation by the big corporations and the media that CSG is in any way going to benefit anyone other than the multinational companies and their shareholders. your land will be laid to waste and your air and water contaminated … FOR EVER. look at all the growing evidence everywhere overseas. there are multiple examples of “accidents” happening throughout the world where CSG is in operation, and most times the operators try and cover up the incident and not report it. lies lies more lies and coverups. say NO now and save yourselves.

• It seems the typical thing here I see, those for it are the ones believing the propaganda and are delusional, with so many other countries and states stopping this technology and some placing out right bans on it, how can some on here be so pretentious and so self assured that the majority against it are all loony lefties where the only sources of pro-fracking are sponsored by energy or exploration companies or their shill’s of ill informed politicians. The “genuine scientific peer-reviewed publications” are the ones backed and sponsored with big money and therefore needs to be taking with a pinch of salt. biased reports are the norm when it comes to these sorts of things and when there is a the usual minority to gain substantially from it.

And at the end of the day, WE the public will see sweet fuck all of this billions/trillions of Euro.
      It go’s into the pockets of the energy giants and therefore have every reason to have reports highlighting on only the positives of fracking while down playing the negativities. These foreign companies wont be living here or suffering the consequences of the damage after they have gotten the gas and sold it to us for full market value.

Next Govt proposal is that cyanide pills reduce the risk of heart attack and should be taking by all citizens. Each tablet costs 15 grand and genuine scientific peer-reviewed publications have shown remarkable results. Ministers are calling for it to be mandatory after Joe Public has paid in full for this wonderful heart attack prevention miracle drug. Critics are labelled ill informed scaremongering loonies and should not be taken seriously. “We wouldn’t lie to you about your health! ;) “

• And our EPA said they were going to consult with the University of Aberdeen to learn about fracking and its effects…

http://www.abdn.ac.uk/news/archive-details-8754.php

Possible chance for corporate corruption??

• Nearly 4,000 signatures at the moment please sign to Ban Hydraulic Fracturing for natural gas in Ireland
    http://www.gopetition.com/petitions/ban-hydraulic-fracturing-for-natural-gas-in-ireland.html

• It is beyond doubt that hydraulic fracturing causes pollution and earthquakes my family in New Zealand have suffered great loss due to earhquakes which are now being blamed on fracking and a study is being undertaken there, Family in Australia had their water supply contamibnated and the gas company involved had their operations shut down, Those who say they can frack using only sand and water omit to mention they will also use chemicals used in the food industry which are known carcinogens and that the silicon sand is also a known carcinogen also this method has never been used anywhere in the world, Drilling is proposed on a major fault line using a method known to cause earthquakes ( as proven in Blackpool UK) and close to the source of the river Shannon and risks the contamination of the water supply and beautiful areas from Leitrim to Limerick If vast continents like Australia and America are experiencing pollution problems due to this devestating process think what it will do to this beautiful little country so unique on earth, and for what very few jobs if any and no financial reward or lower fuel prices for the Irish people. I know first hand that this process causes problems have seen with my own eyes for Gods Sake dont let it happen here it is madness driven by the greed of foreigners who will rape this beautiful land.

• as a geologist with a lot of experience working in new zealand (on fault zones) i cant assure you the recent damaging quakes in the south island have nothing to do with fracking. they are a completely natural event associated with living astride a tectonic plate boundary.

• apologies that should have read CAN assure not cant assure. (this prob means i will end up being misquoted by anti-fracking activists)

• It would seem that most any place that has allowed ‘fraking’ then turned around and tried to ban it. Ooops too late.
    They’ve got earthquakes and poisoned water – let ‘em eat and drink the dollars/euros.

• Because the gas gets mixed into the local water supplies making tap water undrinkable. Also planned for meelin rockchapel Newmarket area in north cork. Watch Gaslands on YouTube. The fishing clubs on the Feale and Blackwater would want to get political.

• amsol18 17/01/12 #

1. Everywhere fracking has gone into effect, it has had negative if not disastrous effects on the environment;
    for instance, it is not considered that the entire water supplies to Philadelphia and New York cities will be
    endangered if a ban does not go into effect.
    2. The environment that Ireland has going for it is becoming more and more a rarity. Its value is beyond words,
    and the decisions made today will impoverish future generations of Irish people permanently. Not to mention
    “precedent”.
    3. No one has mentioned this. But once a precedent is set that the tourism, agriculture and their related
    industries are no longer important in Ireland, or that the environment is compromised, where will our argument
    go that we want to save it? Once it’s gone, it’s gone. And our vision of a clean environment will be foreign to
    our children, who will no longer remember a clean environment. From an ecological AND legal standpoint, we
    will lose our power to even argue the point. And last, but not least…
    4. How much do YOU trust our government to protect us? They did a great job on the banks, the golden
    handshakes to corrupt departing CEOs, broken promises on health care, etc. I can’t help wondering who got
    a brown envelope to let this go through. Maybe, maybe not, but I wonder. Where’s the investigative reporter
    with the courage to really go after that possible story?

• Its absolutely shocking that so many people are in favour of fracking. I can only assume that the people who voted “yes” are not fully informed about the facts of fracking. I would urge everybody to inform themselves and watch the documentary “Gaslands”. I can assure you that after watching “Gaslands” all rational people will vote “NO” to fracking.

• Fermangh council had a majority vote last nite against, Roscommon co.council voted for a ban two months ago,Leitrim voted for a moratorum (5yr ban) before christmas, Donegal/Cavan and Sligo are in the process of doing the same, Antrim councils have too called for a ban, it was also voted down in the Northern Ireland assembly recently.
    Will this and the fact most countries in the world are now looking for a ban or have a moritarium in place or like France a total ban in place change anything in ireland?? We as a country are im afraid to say brainwashed into functional stupidity, we have been takin over by coporations a log time ago, with regards of gas and oil production rather than clean agriculture which i might add has gone through the roof in the last two years because of global climate change, are at a crossroads in regards to Irelands future health and well been. Looking at the sick comments been made about our neighbours in mayo who have had to live through Hell because of one murdering coporation called Shell, well dont worry to those who snigger and have no truthful education on their plight, to call any human who helps in their struggle as a RENT A MOB further degrading their protest, you are in the same boat but you just cant see it and you too will be persecuted in dear olde Ireland. Back to the fracking issue ask Dick Roche or better still educate your selves on how OIL AND GAS companies can do whatever they wish, we are talking about twelve counties in the republic and half of northern ireland could possibly be affected not to mention talk of water from the shannon been pumped to Dublin “frack water” .
    We are not a small village and we will not be bullied by Ignoramus Irish in any shape or form, the parties against this are all but one guess which one i give you a clue Mayo, thats right FG no surprises there in regards oil or gas!!!! spend 2 hrs on the net and you will get the global message about fracking the world cant all be wrong about this toxic hazardous process or can they???

• By doing a general google search of fracking you will undoubtedly be exposed to the typical scaremongering, selective quoting, misinformation and general twaddle you usually find on the internet. Try a general google search for something like “evidence for extraterrestrial life” and tell me how much of the web pages you read that you actually believe. Type what you want on the net and someone will believe it. Try refining your searches by using “google scholar” or a web page like “sciencedirect” and read the genuine scientific peer-reviewed publications on fracking. Fracking is “potentially” an excellent exploration method for Ireland (where our natural resources are limited). This decision should be taken after thorough research, not just because of things people have heard on the internet grapevine. (a good example is the videos of natural gas coming out of peoples kitchen taps as a result of near-by fracking, these videos were proven to be fakes made by anti-fracking activists).

• Eddie, please refrain from posting such sensible replies in future. Emotive, extreme, biased and uninformed opinions are required, not logic and common sense.

On a more serious note I know there are major concerns about the nature of, and damage done by fracking but perhaps it might be better to wait for a full and detailed report liek the one the EPA are doing before we rule anything in or out. If there was a possibility that this technology could provide results without long-term damage then we should proceed with it.

At the same time I’d like to see us also look at more renewable sources of energy as well so that we’re not behind on the curve. In the longer term our energy needs are going to have be served by renewable sources unless we’re prepared to move to a nuclear option (which I think there would be even less support for) so now would be a good time to invest in this area.

• Good post Eddie yet so many thumbs down ?why Are people from one side of this issue so dead set against normal educated folks seeking the info to make an informed choice its not about a belief but science or is it?

• say NO now before it is too late. there is already so much evidence around the world that Coal Seam Gas mining and fracking are destructive to land use and to water sources. and remember that it is also just another fossil fuel in finite supply (just like coal and petroleum) so if we pursue this so-called ‘ clean’ (it is NOT clean or green!) energy source, then we are just digging ourselves another great dirty big hole to fall in to. our efforts and resources should not be wasted and diverted to dead-end projects like CSG (which only offer very short term benefits, and most of the revenue goes to multinational companies anyway with little real financial gain for the people and govts whose land has been exploited), but instead we should focus all our attention on developing and implementing true clean green renewable energy industries right NOW!

• @Alan the Gulf spill in truth came from a Practice that should not have and should never be undertaken i.e. Extremely High Risk Deep water drilling for a biotic oil

• http://rt.com/usa/news/fracking-ohio-quake-earth-165/

“Ohio lawmakers have put a temporary ban on fracking after experts say it is certain that recent fracking in the Buckeye State caused an outbreak of earthquakes.”

http://earthjustice.org/features/campaigns/fracking-across-the-united-states

Have a look there to see what fracking has done to places in America. I hope Ireland will not share the same fate.

• Just watch this if you want to see what fracking could do

Upper Green River Valley after Fracking
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=n992EofYEX4&eurl

• Mr. Quinn needs to watch his language – I seem to remember that ppl opposed to banking misconduct were called ‘unpatriotic’ at the time too . . it’s too late to find out just how wrong thing are, after its done.
    Do we really trust large corporations/governments to tell us the truth – look how long it took tobacco companies to admit the risks to health.
    Ireland’s water supply is too central to contaminate. Wake up and smell the benzine . . .

• Ciaro 10/01/12 #

Wow, there are so many experts on fracking posting here. An informed decision should be easy.

Fracking companies need to look at the Corrib field before they invest, 15 years trying to get gas ashore thanks to the looney protestors.

The same applies to renewable energy companies in Ireland. There will be objections and protests to electricity pylons, wind turbines, and any other means of energy production and distribution.

There is one exception, dig up the turf boss!

• The ‘looney protestors’ of corrib as you call them are quiet country folk trying to protect their lives. If you read the facts behind corrib you’d know that. The pipeline that Shell will be putting in will be the highest pressured pipeline in the world, running through unstable bogland prone to landslides and the gas will be refined onshore instead of off shore, meaning if (and it’s quite likely) a leak is to occur people have about 20 seconds to evacuate from the whole area or be blown up. Hardly looney I think? They don’t protest against gas in general they’re protesting against the lack of safety measures – if more people backed them up we could ensure that these companies weren’t given the right to walk all over the people of Ireland and stop them taking short cuts to make profit and instead put people’s safety first. Would you want your kids playing just yards from a pipeline that has a strong potential to explode? I think not!

• Great news about yesterday’s announcemment that Clare Council are banning fracking

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/ireland/2012/0110/1224310052415.html

Despite it’s flaws, the Gasland Movie is a great way to raise awareness around the issue in your community. Local anti-fracking groups have made significant impact already. Here’s where you can organise screenings:

http://popupcinema.net/films/gasland

• Poland’s Internal Security Agency (Agencja Bezpieczenstwa Wewnetrznego or ABW) has detained seven individuals in connection with alleged corruption in the awarding of shale gas licenses.

http://www.naturalgaseurope.com/poland-shale-gas-corruption?utm_source=Natura

• @Eddie Dempsey I did read the question and I still cannot believe that so many people voted no to banning fracking. Lets not be too hasty before going all hysterical and negative.

• frack away .we fracked anyway .

• Precautionary principle should apply until the i’s are dotted and the t’s crossed. Wait for the EPA report. Btw I pity the guy whose desk that job landed on: he/she is going to be in for some abuse by all the loonies out there…

• NO NO NO

• Fracking is going on at this very moment right under your noses and you don’t even know this, I am surprised, it has been going on since the start of Rossport in co mayo from 20005 onwards, why do you think that a lot of people in the country side are actually a much higher cancer rate ever since 2007, 300 thousand people from the country have died of aggressive skin cancer, bowel cancer, and lung cancer, and about 60 per cent of those people were none smokers and the other 40 percent smokers.
    Wake up guys this is a true fact, you need to do your research it’s a fact, the shell company and the Irish government including Bertie Ahern & Eamon Ryan and John Gormley and other FF 7 FG member and the green party were all involved and it is still going on, get the film the pipe and you will see how they tried to put pipes down in to an ocean and the people had fought and how the garda brutality beat the people down in a peaceful protest no trouble from the mayo people only the garda and the shell security company enforced their own law by bully tactic and beat on anyone who dare say a word to shell or ask a question
    Miss Ireland

• Most of the anti-fracking comments above, as usual, are greatly exaggerated.

What’s the definition of an “earthquake”? An earthquake of magnitude of less than 2, which is as much as we can expect (very rarely) from fracking, is extremely trivial. There are over a million per year like this. 5 just about might cause some damage, 2 has about 30,000 times less energy. It’s like comparing a fart to a hand grenade! The very rare earthquakes that might result in Ireland will be completely irrelevant.

The pollution is also trivial. About the only issues are the ugly buildings, yards, tanks and well heads but that’s a small price to pay for our energy.

Furthermore burning gas is far less damaging to the environment than imported coal or oil. Burning coal releases Uranium, Radon, sulphur, particulates, soot etc, burning gas doesn’t. It’s amazing that people are calling for gas wells to be banned who obviously haven’t read any scientific analysis of it whatsoever.

This is why we have a parliamentary democracy. Most of the people are fools most of the time to misquote Mr Lincoln.

• But how?

• I don’t know much about fracking. Ask me anything about building supplies newmarket but when it comes to fracking I don’t think I fully understand what it means. Overall I get the vibe that most people don’t see it in a positive light. Thus I think that they probably should ban it in Ireland. I will have to do more research though.

• amsol18 17/01/12 #

Sorry, correct on point 1 above: It is NOW considered that water will be compromised …

• I’m surprised TheJournal.ie has no link to this page http://online.wsj.com/article/SB10001424052702303936704576398462932810874.html

Fracking when done right is good and we need it.

• If you all say no… You negate the ability to complain about your rising energy bill. You must be prepared to pay for the consequences of such a stance.

• “You must be prepared to pay for the consequences of such a stance.”

er, likewise if you think it should go ahead.

You trust the Irish Government to regulate things all of sudden?

• Nothing is worth forsaking your health and the health of your children over. Fracking is simply not safe in populated areas. Bring on the high energy bills if it means protecting our health. Besides even if the Fracking led to a find the situation would be the same as it is with Shell in Mayo i.e. we’d have to buy the gas/oil back on the markets at full international price given the current rules regarding natural resources that Ireland has in place. Don’t be fooled into thinking there are any benefits to this. The only people that really benefit from it are the companies involved and their mates, and the people living close to it will have their lives put in danger and ultimately destroyed. Ireland is a small country with a high rural population levels – fracking should not even be an option in this country, the consequences far outweigh any short lived benefits. A little bit of foresight wouldn’t go a miss.

• I joined with Airtricity and paid more (at that time) for my electricity. I simply devised ways of using less. I’d be willing to pay more if it meant less destruction. In fact it did me good because I looked hard at my electricity (and other services) consumption The bill for our B&B per month is now €65,- That’s not by complaining about it – it was by doing constructive things. In our case less IS more. We spend less on electricity and have more to spend on other things.
      ps Our heating bill is <€400,- annum yet the B&B is open year round.

• As I understand it, fracking in Ireland would not be as deep as in North America and the nature of the rock here would only require water at 30 pbi and no chemicals. If that is true then why not?

• If there is so much damage how come it’s all undocumented? All the negativity is not backed by the scientific evidence.

• Thats because its been let go unregulated in the US with no monitoring. Basically a large section mainly rural dwellers of the Americain population have been engaged in a field study. God love them. They had nowhere to go except lawsuits before with their first hand evidence. The Americain EPA are only now in a state of catch up and are in the process of a large scale study that the results wont be out til 2014. The Irish EPA cannot come up with anything of real substance without that evidence so at the very least their should be a moratorium out on it before then. And some information is already coming out albeit rudimentary from the Americain EPA which isnt good linking water and ground polluton in Pavillion in America with drilling.
      http://www.epa.gov/region8/superfund/wy/pavillion/EPA_ReportOnPavillion_Dec-8-2011.pdf
      And then theres the evidence of ground tremors in two areas , in England as we all know but also most recently on New Years Eve in Ohio
      http://www.newscientist.com/blogs/shortsharpscience/2012/01/ohio-earthquake-linked-to-frac.html

We cannot afford to displace two of our thriving indigenous and sustainable industies for something short term and unproven. And thats real economics. Our local tourism will be decimated by the visual impact of the land mass that this industry is proven to take up, and that is before the debate begins on chemicals and public health. Our clean repution in our farming industry and for example our baby formula exports would be ruined with just a hint of this type of polution particluarly of product such as benzene.
      The European Union in a recent 2011 report have already said that there is not the proper regulatory systems in place to monitor this and advised urgently for this.

For us to go down this road at this time would be nilhistic. I would like to think we have learnt our lessons on speculation from our recent past. We have too much to lose this time.

• Fracking is a fantastic technology the U.S. is now independent of gas imports because of it.
    Oh and it has nothing to do with earthquakes pleasr stop telling lies.

• Frack on, sure why dont we just ask all multinationals to leave the country and go back to the De Valera era of dancing at the crossroads and being self sufficient ie, not having a pot to p##s in.

• There’s a difference between development and progress at a measured and reasonable rate and the rape and pillage of natural resources. Why do you think so many US farmers are willing to give back the money gained from the ‘frackers’ and want to return to the ‘way it was’.

• If it is likely to create a lot if jibs and contribute to reducing energy costs, I am sure the Corrib mob will mobilises against it.

• “my family in New Zealand”

“for Gods Sake dont let it happen here it is madness driven by the greed of foreigners ”

You sound like a foreigner yourself Mrs Yappa. We need this resource as we are importing 97% of our gas.
    We also need the revenue to pay off our debts and we ned the jobs. We are a progressive people if you don’t mind we would like to progress. Cheers.

http://wattsupwiththat.com/2012/01/11/dallas-earthquake-not-caused-by-fracking-and-neither-was-the-ohio-quake/

• “Gasland” has been thoroughly rubbished. If you are against fracking you have to quote something more reliable. I am still doing research and am still open minded on fracking, but know for sure we should waste no more time, money or any other resources on useless industrial wind turbines.

Add New Comment