TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 10 °C Saturday 18 May, 2013

Poll: Should we close more garda stations to save money?

The Minister for Justice has warned of further closures, but what do you think?

Image: Liam McBurney/PA Wire

THIRTY-ONE GARDA stations have been earmarked for closure this year, but Minister Alan Shatter told the Association of Garda Sergeants and Inspectors yesterday that further closures should be expected.

“Can anyone plausibly argue that we absolutely need 703 Garda stations in such a small country?” he asked, saying that improved transport and communications means that there is no longer a need for this many stations.

However, some have expressed concern that if their local station closes, they will have to wait longer for a garda response in an emergency, while Age Action has warned of an increased sense of isolation among older people with station closures. The Garda Representative Association has warned that the closures will seriously change the nature of policing in Ireland.

What do you think? Should we cut back further on the number of garda stations to save state funds?

Poll Results:

Read next:

Comments (97 Comments)

• Our local Garda station is closed at night and the guards have to come from the next town 20klms away. There is a local car on duty but if there is a problem u have to call the next town, they call The car and if they are not already at another crime scene, they will turn up. If the arrest somebody they have to take them to the next town which means they are out of action for at least an hour. The guards themselves are hard working , but is a stupid arrangment. Our town is not some nice quiet town, there is a lot of crime and social problems. It’s ridiculous. Don’t close the stations.

• It might not affect you Minister Shatter, where four people were arrested within days of attempting to burgle YOUR house, but it would sure as hell make a difference in some parts of the country

• dont close anymore stations,all they have to do is half the number of TDs & ministers & close the seanad also half the number of councilers as there is no need for half of these parasites.this will save millions of euro.

• We have Garda been used to keep an eye on the likes of Berties house what a waste of taxpayers money, someone should have been keeping an eye on himself down through the years it would have saved the country 300 million in tribunal costs.

• feeling safe in a country is a huge thing and now with the crisis criminal actions will rise so we NEED garda! Wrong end to save on – what about the wages and pensions of politicans??

• Eh they’re cutting stations not guards….

• hmmmm shutting down garda station does mean less gardai available in some areas means less security right????? thanks :-P

• SeanS 03/04/12 #

It means a longer response time. I’m not sure how much of an impact that’ll have any considering that they usually only get to a scene “after the fact” anyway. Can’t see that it’ll make much of a difference in terms of security.

• yes gavin they are. there has been close to a thousand guards retiring in the last year and theyre not replacing them.

• Longer response times due to gardai having to travel from further away effectively leaves areas as criminal safe havens.

• Response times….did u ever call the guards and tell them u have a burglar in the house, on the premises…..you’ll see no sign of them for at least an hour however, if u call from the shop to say theres some deli stuff left over at the end of the day, they’ll be there in 10 mins. Same distance to cover!! True story.

• @RP – Yep, I did. They were here in about 5 minutes, and got the guys, so you can’t generalise about that. Might be a different story if the station they came from closed though.

• Put it this way, would 703 doctor’s surgeries seem like too many?

• SeanS 03/04/12 #

In what way does it leave areas as safe havens? All it means is that they may be slower to respond, not that they will outright ignore areas. As for the comparison with doctors surgeries, apples and oranges.

• Apples and Oranges is it SeanS? Well we have 1,400 petrol stations in this country and I don’t hear people suggesting this is a ludicrous number to service a country the width and breath of Ireland yet according to Mr Shatter 700 is an implausible number of Garda stations. This was not considered an implausible number for previous generations who built these stations, feeling they were a necessary measure at time when Ireland had less money, less of a population and even less of a crime problem.

• Response times are not the issue. A local presence can be a deterrence to anti-social and criminal activity in rural areas. It’s too late once you’re talking about response times. Response suggests something already happened. If the nearest Garda station is 10 miles away and the Gardai are busy dealing with goings on in the local town, the surrounding rural area is left to its own devices…

• SeanS 03/04/12 #

So now the comparison is between private firms and public services? The difference between the two is that one is privately funded, and the other isn’t, so of course, if some person or company wants to spend their own cash on petrol stations or otherwise, then people will tend not to complain about it.

The logic is that today, in comparison to when the barracks were first built, transport and communications are much better meaning that the overall coverage of a single barracks is much more extensive than it might have been even 20 years ago.

Any issues of rising crime rates are more to do with Gardai numbers than that of barracks, which is a different issue.

I’m not saying that this is right or that’s wrong, I’m just giving the logic behind the decision, and in fairness, it’s not as completely unreasonable as some people on here seem to be suggesting. Personally, although I realise it will have some sort of impact, I can’t imagine that it’ll have impact that some of the sensationalist posts on here might have use believe.

• Petrol stations have deli counters. Put the Garda stations there. Problem solved…

• SeanS. Would you say that those behaving anti-socially or criminally will be looking at this logically? If like you they are, maybe they’re thinking “no Gardai for miles around”. Community policing is surely part of the role in rural and urban areas. That requires a physical presence…

• The town I live in has a population of 10,000. The garda station closed this week. Now the gardai have to come from the next largest town which has its own demands on an already understaffed service. Now any scumbag who wants to cause a bit of trouble can go ahead safe in the knowledge that they will be long gone by the time the gardai arrive….now what would you call that? Its a safe haven to commit crime.

• @Michael Cuthbert I thought about what you said about putting gardai in local petrol stations, initially I thought this was a good idea but having thought about I changed my mind. All garda stations need detention areas, cells if you like, they also need interview rooms and secure areas for files etc While I’m sure all this can be provided to some degree and a small building built in some petrol stations, if space is available, this would be expensive and time consuming. If we were to go down this road surely it would be easier, cheaper and quicker to just reopen the existing garda stations?
      If we reach a stage where we send a carrier pigeon to call the gardai or send them a letter in rural areas and the response time is measured in days then we have to concede its a field day for the bad guys and closing garda stations is NOT the thing to be doing in these circumstances. We need to find other , maybe creative, solutions to the obvious problems we have.

• Very good Brian. hank you for your careful consideration. My neighbours have a pigeon loft. Maybe the Gards could move in there. The chipper’s just down the road an’ all. Think we’re getting somewhere…

• @Michael Cuthbert Now the pigeon loft idea has a few things going for it, lets be honest if its big enough and has enough room with ample parking (not that our feathered friends would need it) this could work. Lets face it a couple of hours in there with all that cooing up to their neck in pigeon crap and most bad guys would crack. Plus I’m sure most gardai would find it a bonus to be close to the local chipper. The only downside I can see is cleaning all the pigeon crap off the garda cars but I’m sure the local criminal fraternity can be called upon for that job. Your neighbours could be making some rent money there Michael, I think you’re on to something.

• @Niamh, I don’t believe there is any town in Ireland, with a population of 10,000 that does not have a garda station.

• @Niamh, example, Roscommon town, around 6,000 Longford town around 7,000
      surely these towns have Garda Stations, Would love to Know which town of 10,000 has none ???

• Tom I can assure you on both facts, our town has (as the census 2011) 9971 pop, and as of sunday…april 1st no less, with all joking aside, our garda station closed its doors full stop. Now I won’t say where I live on an open forum apart from its north county dubin and you can absolutely take my word on it.

• The country has a crime problem – people don’t feel secure. The gardai are stretched due to the recruitment ban. No, this should b one of the last things that are cut

• Jay funk 03/04/12 #

the crime problem is not a lack of garda, but low morals, and with the likes of corrupt bertie getting away with it, it no wonder that others think they can too.
      more garda will not solve this, education and a change to or corrupt system starting at the top is the only way

• The criminals are laughing now

• Jason 03/04/12 #

There’s 3 big problems to this 1) 2,500 Gardai are due to retire this year which leaves 3,500 in less than two years who are not being replaced. 2) is justice system a lot of cases(not all to be fair) require files for dpp , they drag on for months in the court for a serious offense ( legal aid given) and the judge gives them slap on the wrist/ probation act. 3) is alan shatter he like Phil hogan is nothing but a overpaid, jumped up bully, who has no idea of the real world. Elderly in rural areas, senior Gardai who know people/area for the last 30 years. Experience and knowledge can’t be replaced.
    These station that are closing the Gardai from them will still only work 9-5 in most areas.

• Irish people have a right to have access to an efficient and competent Garda force 24/7. Regardless of the location of stations.
    Start a campaign of crime prevention,! instead of using all the resources after the crime has been committed

• The saving is measly on these little country station closures, but it will have a detrimental effect on policing. Shatter asks can we plausibly need over 700 stations what with improved communications etc, but he completely ignores the human aspect of policing, which is people knowing and understanding other people. If a Garda is called to Ballygobackwards once in a blue moon from his station fifteen miles away, how can he/she ever get to know the place and develop a decent relationship with the people. Its a young force at the moment but these young Gardai need the opportunity to settle in and get to know people. This will not happen effectively if they remove their presence from the rural areas.

• I’m all for closing police stations, but it needs to go hand in hand with banning crime to even things out.
    It’s well past the time when criminals should be doing their patriotic duty and stop their activity.
    At the very least they should only carry out crime in policed areas or at times when there us a Garda car in the area.

• No, dismantle some quangos and re-open some of the closed Garda stations! Quite a few of the quangos are not necessary, but police protection is a fundamental service in a modern society.

• Not good for rural people. Living near Crosshaven in Cork we have F all Garda presence!

• By ‘near Crosshaven’ do you mean in a smaller village/town nearby, or do you mean that you have a one-off house on a road with grass up the middle of it? If the later, then you made your decision with respect to local services and can’t expect an hourly patrol.

• Jeez. The rural/urban divide. There’s a lot of people living along roads with grass up the middle have been there for generations. Point is, everyone can reasonably expect a proper service from State agencies, regardless of where they choose to live…

• Who said to close them?
    Are these people actually serious that they believe it to be a greater good to save a measly amount of money in place of their security?

There are people out there that would take advantage of such a situation and I am of firm belief that if any of these ‘Yes’ people were to be mugged in the street or their car stolen or their house then they would quickly change their choice.

• If stations are to be closed then more gardai should be recruited and more cars should be on the road, doesn’t make sense to me to reduce both gardai and stations !

• No more closures please, Its hard enough esp in rural areas as it is . A lot of these stations already cover very big areas as it is.Dont make it any worse

• Better roads. Really. The rural stations that will be closed do not have better roads in their area. This is a disgrace.

• Yeah…let’s close some stations, and while we’re at it, let’s privatise the police force, that’s bound to save some money.

…Or we can target the better off and stop cutting things that directly affect the worst off.

• The Minister in his wisdom should buy a fleet of camper vans and caravans to house all our Gardai, Inspectors and above would have deluxe models of these.Then we would not need any Garda stations and, we would have a truly mobile police force. Any chance of it happening do you think !!??

• jimbo 03/04/12 #

No there is not enough as it is..

• censored 03/04/12 #

Sure we don’t need any gards at all, since the people of Ireland are generally so law abiding. How would you feel about that Mr Shatter?

• There was a new Garda Station built in Castlecomer north Co.Kilkenny and was opened about 5 years ago, which could cater for at least 20 Garda. It is a quite large station for a town of its size. The station its self is only open for about 2 to 3 hours a day with 4 staff max at any one time. Waste of money.? Will that “New” station be closed.?

• jrbmc 03/04/12 #

Close up Garda stations ? Why not ! Everything else is !!!!!!

• Well, if there’s nothing particularly decent on the old ‘Auntie Nelly’ that night, what better than to be out doing a bit of Burglar Baiting or Housebreaker Hunting? Vigilante groups could bring a community together. Get back to the old days and ways, I say!

• the minister for justice needs to be sacked TODAY along with the rest of the irish government.

• No – their response times will only get worse if they have to come from even further now!
    Crime once again will benefit – and professional crooks knowingly WILL take advantage of any further opportunity to get away with something.

• Why not close the stations to reduce overhead but set up manned facilities in post offices and community facilities. At the same time increase human presence.

• Aaron t 03/04/12 #

This could lead to vigilante behaviour, in some communities. Last thing we need is people running around dishing out knee-capping punishments.

• I was against this idea until it was pointed out to me that for every station that opens that is at least 2 Gardai off the street. Their time is better spent in the community, patrolling and watching over us.

• Yes but for every station that closes that’s at least 2 Gardaí away from your area, with longer response times to get there. Their time is not better spent in the community…. in stations they are easily reachable.

• Michael 03/04/12 #

that is not necessarily the case Theresa. The stations that are closing are the country stations that may only have two/ three gardai attached to them. these stations are not open 24 hours so they do not take two gardai off the street to keep them opened. the station doors may only be open for a couple of hours a day when them gardai are working. what they do provide is a local garda who knows the country district and the people who live in it. absolutely valuable knowledge that will dwindle with time if these stations close and it is gardai from further afield stations that are dealing with matters as they arise in these areas.

• Jay funk 03/04/12 #

@ El, in theory it will increase response time, if say you live in town “A” that at present has a garda station that has only one garda on duty when you make a call , that garda cant leave the station so you have to wait for a garda from town “B” and if their are 3 garda on duty in town B, one has to stay in the station and the other 2 are out responding to other incedents, so you have to wait until one of thoes garda is free,
      but

If you local station closes, your garda would be transfered to station “B” where he would be free and able to respond to you,

So in the above you would be 33% more likely to have garda able to respond to you in time be closing the local station.

Some simple maths models could prove for definite if your town would benefit from the closure if the raw data was available this could easily be done in a few hours, but I’d guess no one in government has ran the figures

• Jay funk 03/04/12 #

sorry at start was meant to say

it will IMPROVE response time

• No money for new equipment or vehicles.No recruitment til 2017.Current vehicles have 300k plus km’s and this minister talks about improved transport……..Closing four Dublin Garda stations at night is pointless. The Guards will still be working in the closed stations.They’re closed to the public only. Who calls to Garda stations between 12midnight and 8am anyway.So why not just leave them open?

• Obviously years ago in the fifties when when had all this cash to be squandering on building police stations in local villages we had a much larger population and greater crime problem. Good move Alan Shatter seems like common sense to me, reduce spending and local crime by reducing local police stations. Why didn’t any government previously think of that?!

Hey here’s an even better idea Mr. Shatter, why not just get rid of the Gardai altogether and replace them with local vigilante groups, like a more assertive neighbourhood watch – you can even give them blue shirts to wear like the police, and they can stop strangers and foreigners at road blocks coming in and out of towns and villages?!

• God no. Response time. Stupid idea to begin with.

• A lot of stations are satellites to larger stations. We learned this once when an intruder burst into our house at 7pm on a Friday evening, refused to leave as there were people outside ‘trying to kill him’. My brother looked outside and sure enough there were vehicles parked outside with people looking in at us. We waited 90 minutes for the Gardai with this guy refusing to leave our house. When the Gardai arrived, they knew him by name. We called them several times to explain we had a live situation of an intruder in our house, but they said it was a very busy evening.

Now, our local station was 9-5, so we learned we were actually being serviced by a larger 24-hour station, which seems to cover half the southside of Cork City after hours.

So I ask you, was our response time improved by having a parochial Garda station nearby? Was it f**k.

Close the 9-5 stations and spend the resource money (light and heat saved, rent on the property) on more boots on the street and patrol cars doing the rounds.

Response times (when you actually need Gardai) will be, at worst, the same and possibly improved due to the reallocation of resources.

If instead of having a 9-5 station stamping forms in our locality, we had 2 dedicated patrol cars 24/7 based out of a centralised station, we might not have waited 90 minutes to have an intruder ejected from our house.

Shut them down, but make sure the money is allocated properly into dedicated coverage for the area

• Gerard 03/04/12 #

Alot of your points are very true, unfortunate thing is the money will not be re-allocated correctly and the gardai who were once in your area will now be out walking around the bigger towns as there is no money left to by patrol cars which they could use to patrol your area. See where the problems begin?

• You’re right, of course. I’m all for the theory of what I prescribe, but shudder at the thought of where the money saved will get wasted (if it even stays in the Garda budget)

• The guy obviously had mental health problems, did you calm the guy down and make him a cup of tea or did you just overreact like a total asshole and make the situation worse? Sounds to me like he wasn’t any threat, if the guards knew him and believed he was any danger to you they would have been out, sounds like they were busy with more serious matters. You were lucky you were not born in the other guys shoes, you ought to be thankful for that rather being so mean spirited.

• censored 03/04/12 #

Well said Gay! Ronan, you were just wasting Garda time. The crazy guy who burst into your house was obviously just looking for a nice cup of tea. Stop whinging.

• Ronan you should have offered him a couple of Vallium to make him feel a bit more relaxed and welcome in your home. Did you give him a bit of dinner and a can of beer to wash it down and what about the TV remote, I hope you gave him complete control over it while you were waiting for the boys in blue to come and rescue him and sure the kids must have been really excited about having an unexpected visitor.

• I think the garda’s time would be better spent out in a car on patrol than stuck in the little hatch signing passport forms and stamping cars off the road.
    So I’m sure they’re closing smaller stations where a larger one is within 10 miles?
    Unless we know where they’re closing them we won’t know if they should.

• Scrap those go-safe camera vans and put that money back into the Garda.

• Prefer the police on the beat rather than being stuck behind a desk – 700 stations for the size of the country l

• Proplem there is : A cop makes an arrest in my area he then has to drive 20 miles to the nearest station with the suspect do the paperwork and interview there, so he’s out of the area most of the night. also local cops tend to know there patch. since our local station closed I had cause to call the cops from the nearest town it took an hour and a half for them to arrive and that included them ringing me twice for directions.

• You don’t need loads of buildings with a blue lamp on them. It would be better for the Gardai to engage more with the people in the communities in which they are responsible for law and order. In the last fifteen years I don’t think I’ve spoken to a guard more than two or three times and I hardly ever see one in the rural place where I live.
    Some initiatives to promote relations with the force would be beneficial to all concerned (except the criminal scumballs).

• As for Mr Shatter, the Minister seems to inhabit a different planet to the rest of us and comes over as arrogant, incompetent and out of touch. Entirely unsuitable for the post in my opinion and a poor judgement call on the Taoiseach who (presumably) appointed Mr Shatter.

• they might as well cut spending by closing the guard stations. the other alternative is that they can ‘rob’ us all of more tax,to keep them open, which they are more than likely going to do anyway, so as far as ‘feeling safe’ is concerned what’s the point in that as they’re the very ones who are going to take everything they can from us in the first place! no point in opposing this or complaining about it for those reasons cos we’re F-ed if we do and F-ed if we don’t!

• they have not the guards is why its being done. so many jumped with the very nice package they were offered and took. so no more lies we have none in training as that was stopped too. this country is a joke

• Yes more stations should close. They will be serviced by a patrol car, so basically it just means “the shop is closed but they still do deliveries” People should always help themselves first. The Nally Act is in as far as I know and lock your windows and doors and basic common security measures. Just opinion folks, don’t shoot me.

• Police are not going to sit in a patrol car all day. Most people recognise the importance of having the Garda station close to hand in case of emergency. STOP BAILING OUT THESE DAMN BANKS AND BANKERS!!!

• Let’s make even easy for the criminal. In a recession crime rises and typical Irish response. Close the garda station. Brains there boys!!!

Add New Comment