TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 10 °C Saturday 25 May, 2013

Poll: Were the Gardaí right to dismantle the Occupy Galway camp?

The final Occupy camp was evicted in the early hours of this morning. Right decision? Or would you have liked to see it stick around?

Eyre Square this morning
Image: CityTaxisGalway via Twitter

The final Occupy camp in Ireland was evicted from Eyre Square in Galway during the night, 215 days after it had first been set up to protest social inequality and corporate greed.

Other camps around the country, including Dublin and Cork, had already been dismantled over the past two months.  In a statement, Galway City Council said it respects the right of people to take part in lawful protest but the occupiers had refused to leave voluntarily after being requested to do so, which rendered the occupation illegal.

Protesters from the camp posted a video of the eviction which criticised the Gardaí and the Irish government for evicting the camp, which they said was a legitimate form of protest.

So we’re asking today what do you think about it? Were the Gardaí and Galway City council right to dismantle the Occupy Galway camp?

Poll Results:

Read next:

Comments (108 Comments)

• It was a peaceful protest but how long should it be allowed to continue.I wish I had the time to sit and protest the injustices of the world but unfortunately I don’t have the luxury.roof over head and food on table springs to mind.

• The Guards did them a favour. They had become irrelevant a long me ago and this is probably a relief as they can say they never gave up, the horrible force of the state shut them down. At least now they can catch up on all the day time TV they missed.

• i thought popcorn sutton was dead

• the problem with people like you liv andrews is that ye complain that ye aint got the time but its funny how the rest of manage it …not expectin ye to be out there every night or even to be at the camp at all …but its usually people like yerself who complain that ye aint got the time to be protestin, that end up doing nothing at all …and then either not voting or voting for the same ol same old!

ye aint the only oen trying ta keep a roof over yer head and food on the table! some of us believe in our country enough to make it a priority to use our spare time to fight back, just you sit back and enjoy x-factor though! :D

• oh and by the way i am working and i was at the camp in most of my spare time!

• So after 743 votes cast, 75% agree the Gardaí did the right thing. So much for “We are the 99%” then. Personally I have no problem with the Occupy crowd. The did conduct a by-in-large peaceful demo however its time had come and long since gone. At this point they were achieving completely nothing except creating an eye sore in one of the nicest stops in Galway. Fair play to them for their conviction but it was time to call it a day a long time ago.

• I would point out to you that the Irish are very, very unsupportive of change, especially radical change. Your great grandparents were out on the streets of Dublin throwing rotten vegetables at the captured Easter Rising volunteers. You blamed them for business losses, and were happy when the British went in and cleaned them all out.
      So it is hardly surprising to read many of the comments here. Trash. Get a job!(?!?!) Tramps.
      It figures. As if the pitiful occupy movement was somehow responsible for your misfortune at the hands of the bankers. Yes, there are many similarities to the rage you vent on those protesters and the rage of old against the uprising participants.
      And you’re right of course. Things will get better if you just shut up and do nothing.

• There was 6 of them there. 6!! That’s not an occupation. They were coming and going as they pleased. Occupy Galway? Visit Galway, more like.

Can I build a house in a public square and call it a protest?

• “legitimate form of protest” – I’m not so sure of that, the camp itself was an illegally erected structure so therefor this form of protest is essentially illegal. I think what they mean to say is that it is the hip from of protest at the moment.

I agree with the ideals of the Occupy Movement but not the method, ideals need action to have an effect, sitting in an illegal camp is not action in my mind. I’d like to see that Occupy Movement create a new political party, pull in a few like minded independents and put those ideals to work, then the public will listen. At the moment as the poll shows the Occupy Movement has a negative image in the minds of the public.

• Legitimate and legal are not the same thing Jason.

• Agreed, claiming to represent the 99% means nothing if you don’t put yourself forward for election. Most of the poll respondents don’t seem to think that Occupy represents them. I don’t question their motives, just their actions, or lack of.

• the occupy movement was never just based solely on setting up camp, the camp was just a means to bring people together in a central and easily accessible public spot.
      Once we got everyone together, we educated each other and discussed the alternatives and possible practical action we can take to move society towards a new way of living and thinking.
      No practical actions or campaigns that went on in galway happened without Occupy’s involvement whether it be occupation of banks to highlight the bondholder bailouts, campaigning against registration to the household charge, displaying our anger towards the council for rubberstamping the household charge, the capaign against the austerity treaty, water charges and occupy even succesfully participated in the st.patricks day parade despite not officially being allowed to!!

Occupy has played a large role breaking down the culture of fear that has been permeated by successive governments in our recent history!!

• It was illegal for Jews to hold jobs in Germany in 1938. There was no legitimacy to that. And speaking of Germany…

• On behalf of small to medium business in Galway, we would like to thank the Occupy movement for increasing our rates to cover the cost of a clean up process in Eyre Square, not to mention the overtime of Gardai.

• Rates were to help the poor. We all pay tax and if you don’t get it god love you there is nearly no business left. 200 guards for 7 young lads really

• ’7 young lads’ as you put it, where were the occupants of the other 12 tents? A survey by a local newspaper of all businesses in the area showed a 91% dislike of the occupy camp. Take the blinkers off!!!!

• Darren you could do well in remembering that 90% of Dubliners were against the 1916 Easter rising and as they say the rest is history,your history

• Mel, don’t compare the layabouts of a ridiculous failed occupy movement to the people who lost their lives to create the state. Those same people are spinning in their graves to see the occupy movement squatting in public places, but are very quiet when collecting benefits from the very people they are aggrieved at!

• Mel, if i could ‘LOVE’ comment instead of just like it, i would. well said.

• to darren brady:

there were only 8 tents, there havent been 12 tents for a months or so at least, this was to comply with the health and safety regulations. and yes one was empty.

the rates were increased long before the occupy camp was removed. what an idiotic statement to to say that they were increased to remove the camp.

the simplest solution would have been to leave well alone, the camp was causing no harm and it was actually very popular amongst the tourists. The local tour guides even included it as part of their tour.

darren brady, people like you make idiotic statements, and the only reason that ye do it, is because ye think the people of this city are gullible enough to believe ye. I have news for ye, we are well awake and we are from gullible!

• Oh Darren, I’m so sorry this burden has been set on you. After all you’ve done for the country, it’s a crying damned shame. Being the only taxpayer in Ireland must be a great burden. We just want you to know how grateful we are for your sacrifice. God bless you.

• Darren Brady,I think the 1916 leaders would be spinning in their graves in regard to the way the State is been run by our leaders,bankers and corrupt politicians.
      The Dubliners song “For what died the sons of Roisin”about captures it.
      Remember the core of this song was written as far back as 1914 by Padraic Pearse
      Here it is for you and see how much of a percentage wise is close to the rulers of our country or
      to protesters.
      “For What Died The Sons Of Róisín” Ringtone to your Cell

For What Died the Sons of Róisín, was it fame?
      For what flowed Irelands blood in rivers,
      That began when Brian chased the Dane,
      And did not cease nor has not ceased,
      With the brave sons of ´16,
      For what died the sons of Róisín, was it fame?

For What Died the Sons of Róisín, was it greed?
      Was it greed that drove Wolfe Tone to a paupers death in a cell of cold wet stone?
      Will German, French or Dutch inscribe the epitaph of Emmet?
      When we have sold enough of Ireland to be but strangers in it.

To whom do we owe our allegiance today?
      To those brave men who fought and died that Róisín live again with pride?
      Her sons at home to work and sing,
      Her youth to dance and make her valleys ring,
      Or the faceless men who for Mark and Dollar,
      Betray her to the highest bidder,

For what suffer our patriots today?
      They have a language problem, so they say,
      How to write “No Trespass” must grieve their heart full sore,
      We got rid of one strange language now we are faced with many, many more,

• alan 16/05/12 #

opportunities to voice opposition to what is happening to us here are limited. the old line ‘save it for the ballot box’ would be fine if we actually had a real choice. but we don’t

bearing that in mind, i can’t see anything wrong with the occupy sites and i would have just left them there

as for thier being eyesores, they are no more eyesores than plenty of other parts of our landscape that people do not complain or do anything about

does this eviction have something to do with some big coroporate event in galway (thought i heard something on the radio earlier about, was it, volvo?

• Funny the WSM complaining about expense of eviction operation, they were asked to go , they didn’t , that response rendered their occupation illegal, now they have imposed a huge bill on local people for that clean-up, if they are so outraged over expenditure in Galway city council, why the hell didn’t they just move when asked, even if it were only a few metres to the left. lol They just gave Padraic Conneely a great media victory and brilliant photo op , what an achievement after 7 months. At this stage, nobody even realised they were still there, quiet protesting indeed.

• When they began, I was all for them. Now 200+ days on, it seems most of Galway doesn’t care anymore. I lost interest and stopped supporting them. The Square looks so clean and tidy now.

• At this stage it was hardly a protest. The Occupy movement failed but those within the movement kept sight of the apparent goal, however the wider public has moved on and, in my opinion anyway, no longer cared.

It started to lose its appeal and the people within the ‘protest’ didn’t see that. It went from a protest to a nuisance. The dismantling of the camp is long overdue.

• These people may not have the majority behind them here, but they do have a right to assemble and speak out against what has become a very unfair system. Where corporations ARE ruling governments and irresponsibility by financial institutions has put our economy back 10 or 15 years. I don’t think the method they’re using to demonstrate works in Ireland, but you can’t argue with why they’re there.

• @maeve – thanks for that very well considered comment. Completely agree

• Maeve ye actually have a very shallow understanding of that poem if ye believe that its purely about the nazis and cant be used again in reference to any other government unless they put people in concentration camps.
      The essence of that poem and how it relates to today is about the removal of opposition. It refers to the fact that though you may not be a communist, or a jew or in this case an “occupier”, if you dont stand together when others are being forcefully removed from practising their peaceful form of opposition, then you may find that there is no one left to defend you when the powers that be decide that they want crushing your form of opposition also.

On the issue of it not being inclusive and of it not consisting of many people from different backgrounds like it did at the beginning :
      That is absolute manure, I see that was your experience of OWS. I dont care about OWS, we dont follow OWS and we dont get told what to do by any other occupy camp in any country. So I’m completely justified in being both insulted and offended that ye would use your experience of OWS to reflect on how we operate in Galway.
      The Occupy Galway camp has consisted of a wide varety of people from many backgrounds and it still remains that way. We’ve been vibrant, energetic, creative and pro-actively inclusive. And we’re excited about implementing new ways to keep that momentum going and bringng our message out to more people.

Oh my God, I’ve just read your last paragraph, this is actually getting embarrassing, the council wasnt paying for us to be there! How are we wasting taxpayer money?!!

Maeve, I have some advice for you. Come down out of your ivory tower and talk to the people of Occupy Galway. You are severely mis-informed. I am sure you probably are intelligent but either your life experience has led you to prefer to go for the easier option of believing that anyone wanting to protest and fight for change, has just been corrupted or brainwashed by God knows who. I’d love to chat with ye anyway and break down the wall that ye seem ta have put up for whatever reason.

I work, I pay my taxes. I also spend time campaigning for change in this country in as many ways as possible as I can. Tonight I’ll be out canvassing by myself round ballybane for a no in the upcoming referendum. I know of many other people who would like to be at the occupy camp but cant manage to get down but they are glad that others are able to.
      Occupy has enabled people like myself to get access to more info and meet other like-minded people. We are creative, we are intelligent and we are motivated. Even if you cant come to the camp, at least face the facts that though you may play no role in challenging the system, someone has to, and we are. The camp is only a part of that.

• God knows I wish it were not so……….but you might as well tear it down. Well……..no one else in Ireland is either allowed to or actually standing up to say no……so might as well take the last one down. The occupy movement is global and represents the fight against the greed and corruption both political and financial that has us all in this mess. The worls is uniting but Ireland is opting out. Its impressive when you have a country being treated this way it is that people can still find a negative aspect to protest – “Tramps”! What a low brow dig that is. So if they wore suits I guess your trust them like you do ‘aul bi-polar Enda and his crew? You have been conned into behaving like individuals and so the banks will take your houses, one by one. You will all do nothing. The government will tax your water and your homes, you will all do nothing. The Bankers (rhyming slang in use here) will swallow your pensions, your schools and your hospitals money – and you will all do nothing. I have always known there were a few weak links in what makes society strong and that there are quite a few sheep who are happy with turning out the old crew and being in “control” of bringing in the new crew which is laughably referred to as “democracy” . You need to know that voting is no longer an act of rebellion its compliance to the game and the rules are set against you – always. With the system you have now YOU will always loose. Only the winners and their kowtowing supporters will tell you that you wont……so as your tax rockets to pay some banker who screwed up , your young people flee (again) and your hospitals get worse remember 72% of you wanted this……So much for the fighting Irish.

• Go down and pick out the Irish accents among your Heros eoin , explain how layabouts, who talk the talk but won’t walk the walk can help me or you, the constantly talk of tax , they don’t psy any tax, they don’t work, have cars pay mortgages, no that would be conformist shit, how can they speak for anyone trying to survive, when they protest against the system, then take a break to collect their dole and rent allowance that the rest of us are paying for, change may b needed, but trust in one thing the fight is still left in the Irish , but we won’t be getting pseudo intellectual , arse scratching dropouts from English polytechs to do it for us.

• I hear you Gerry I really do. I dont mean to push your buttons – sorry!
      I have no heros. And I have moved beyond hearing accents. That wont solve the problems the world is facing. Its a nice distraction though isn’t it? It was so much easier when it was Tiocfaidh ár lá and all that…. Just so you know I hear a lot of Irish accents at teh London protests (on one cares!).
      We have a global system that has crippled us all – entire countries – and you want to argue semantics. Fine – that’s ok, I have absolutely no fight with you or anyone apart from the 1% or so who are pissing in the pool and making us clean it. (sorry only metaphor I could think of!)
      Party faithful, financially elite, well off vested interest holders’ WONT sort this out. People will. Good people like you. Right now, who draws dole, who works who does not…..none of that distracts me. The problems are so much bigger than that. By all means focus on them if you must. If it helps fire you up. By the way, if these usurping protestors not paying tax pisses you off just check out the billions of Euros your government lets companies legally dodge every year. Oh, and there are more Irish arse scratchers drawing dole over here than you seem to be aware of. But, as I say – we all need to pick the fights that suit out vision best.
      I don’t want this to be the reality. I don’t want any of this to be happening at all but it is. I want to continue on with my cosy life all being well and not worrying about this sort of thing but that’s not viable once you open your eyes and pay attention to the bigger picture. If people think they are just defending their patch (immigrant protestors need not apply) then fine. Again, if it helps highlight the issue that Irish people are doing nothing then great!
      When I comment on democracy I mean the current system we have. Its broken. Just remember the cradle of democracy right now is chokka block with soup kitchens handing out food to the victims of our failed system so we should not be so naive. It could be you in a heartbeat. Just not with a Greek accent , with a home grown Irish accent. The Greeks would gladly accepy any one defending them right now and that’s what OCCUPY is all about.
      Countries like Ireland, parts of Europe, the USA and the UK have been described by banks as “Plutonomies” go and look that word up and ask yourself how much you like living like that? Personally it makes me sick.
      While your online go check out what Iceland did to solve their woes and ask yourself why you have not heard about it on the news? Why your politicos (all of them) don’t spring to promote this action.
      I see none of what Iceland have done in Ireland. You need all the help you can get my friend.
      The powers that be have vested interests that are being protected globally and your health and well being is not even in their top 5. That’s wrong in any language.
      http://egbertowillies.com/2011/08/23/we-need-to-learn-from-iceland-and-revolt-against-the-banks-and-the-private-financial-system/
      One love Gerry.

• Eoin good points well made , live long and prosper bud

• Awesome observation Paul…..love the picture as well….sharp. Hurrah for veiled racism and down with …….sorry what was your point again?

• Tramps!

• I’d say there are far more worth while camps that need to be dismantled,for example The Dail !!

• About time I say. Protests are all well and good but these Occupy clowns did nothing but camp in public. They jumped on the OWS bandwagon just so they could say they were part of the “movement”. Glad its gone.

• Are the Garda now going to collect the 16 Million euro’s owned to Galway County Council by the local business “community” ?

• 200 guards??? Where did you source this figure from???

• These krustys should get a job and stop scrounging off our welfare system if they are so upset about the state of the country.also they should wash

• Dave 16/05/12 #

So efficient in preventing legitimate protest….yet still no politician or banker in jail.

And people actually support this bias against the citizen?

• “First they came for the communists,
      and I didn’t speak out because I wasn’t a communist.

Then they came for the trade unionists,
      and I didn’t speak out because I wasn’t a trade unionist.

Then they came for the Jews,
      and I didn’t speak out because I wasn’t a Jew.

Then they came for me
      and there was no one left to speak out for me.”
      Martin Niemoller
      (Source: Mayer, They thought they were free)

• @ Sean – they didn’t imprison or detail the protestors, they disassembled the camp. Popcorn’s probably right when he said that they did the protestors a favour. The protest had ground to a halt, nothing was happening, and at least the protestors saved face as they didn’t have to disband themselves. The question is now, after over 200 days, what did they achieve? Was the Protest a failure or a success?

• Detail = detain

• The quote does not address the problem of imprisonment or detention. It addresses the problem of authoritarianism.
      Niemoller points out that we should be alarmed when the rights and liberties of any group are infringed even if we don’t identify with them or accept their principles or beliefs.

• You’re drawing a parallel between the concentration camps and an essentially middle-class protest that had run its course. Forgive me if I find that distasteful.

• Sean – It’s actually insulting that you’ve used that poem about the Holocaust to describe public attitudes to the Occupy Movement. The Occupy Movement may have spoken for the general mass of people who initially joined (and I say this sceptically) but by the end, despite their “we are the 99%” and “we provide a platform for discussion”, the OM was simply run by the same left-wing, old guard protesters who infiltrate and take over most protests.

Shame on you! I work hard, pay my taxes and contribute to my community within the confines of the society and economic situation that we are presented with? How does that liken me to the Nazis? Sorry that I don’t support a movement that lives in fantasy-land and choose to lie up in a public place creating mess and squalor with a heightened sense of self-importance.

Answer me this: I don’t support the OM, yet they claim to represent the 99%. Do they represent me even though I do not support them? Or am I as good as a Gestapo member?

• If anything Sean is pointing to the divided nature of Irish society. It’s easy for those with a job who genuinely do work hard to keep their families afloat to claim the Occupiers contribute nothing, they’re just a bunch of crazy anarchists / hippies / conspiracy theorists, but if anything, regardless of whether or not their occupation was legal or not, people are still consumed by the idea, it’s business as usual despite the growing inequalities.

Occupy represents stepping outside of the structures and obligations people feel hold them back from sustained protest and it is only when people realise that inequalities can only be quelled when we take the time to stand up to them.

I remember my first protest. I was supposed to be in school that day, my dad encouraged I join it. He never said I had to go to school first and follow the rules and regulations, but instead showed that only by taking the time out to stand up for what you believe in can injustice end.

• Sean I think its brilliant and has the desired effect of getting people to think about the comments.
      As Pink Floyd phased it “A SHARP,SHORT,SHOCK TO THE SYSTEM.something we can all do with from time to
      time.I’m sick of this “Nanny State” skirting around the danger zone.

• I know what you’re saying Chris but I think the Occupy Movement you’re talking about is the type of movement it was in the beginning – with lots of people from different backgrounds consumed with an idea (as you put it) to step outside the box and look at the way society is run in a different way. And I 100% agree with this. I attended OWS frequently in Sept/Oct last year and respected the people protesting. When I returned to OWS in November, the impetus of the movement had changed into radicalism, there were more divisions between people, essentially the movement had begun to splinter. And the same thing has happened here in the UK and Ireland. The OM still spoke as if it spoke for the 99% however, as if we all support their increasingly extremist ideals, and on top of this, they marketed themselves as the only place where discussion of standing up to the constraints of society could seriously occur.

I, too remember my first protests, attending anti-Iraq War marches, staging a “walk out” from school, going to Edinburgh to protest against the G8 summit… and I also remember the slow hijacking of these protest movements by the people of a more extreme POV. I refuse to accept that because I don’t agree with what is essentially squatting on public property (at the expense to the taxpayer), and because I think it is more practical to try and change the structures of society we have now as opposed to starting afresh in some kind of Marxist dream, that I am some kind of “collaborator.”

Yes it’s easy for someone who works to disparage the OM. And it’s easy for those in the Occupy Movement to cry poverty and redundancy and scorn those lucky enough to have a job. But look at the statistics here: 71% of people think that it was right that Occupy Galway was dismantled. Surely a portion of those people are unemployed. It isn’t a case of employed = anti OM. It isn’t black and white.

The OM lost it’s way as soon as radical leftist politics became their focal point and as soon as their camps started negatively impacting the communities they declared themselves to represent.

• I’m very interested to know, now that the protest has ended, what was achieved by it. What were its aims, and did it successfully reach those aims?

• In keeping with the topic of free expression, I am having some difficulty posting a reply.
      I do not hold left wing or socialist views. In fact, far from it.
      While I believe that OM are correct in their assertion that a great and growing injustice has befallen the Irish people, I do not agree broadly with the nature of their anaylsis, rhetoric or proposed remedies.
      However, I do believe they have a fundamental right to protest. Those that oppose that right are, at best, sympathetic to authoritarianism.

” I do not agree with what you have to say, but I’ll defend to the death your right to say it.”
      Voltaire

• I work hard all my life and I’ve never been on social welfare but I support the protests because I live in the real world where I know they’re protesting for me and others like me who are paying for the greed and disregard shown by Polititians, developers and wealthy elite. Should we all just do nothing and make it look like we’re happy to be treated like idiots or instead raise our voice and show that were unhappy. It’s easy to mouth off here and say you’re offended by this and that and then go back to doing nothing about it. I’m guilty of this myself but so are many others. If people are unemployed I’d rather see them protest instead of sit on their asses. Not everyone who’s unemployed wants to be labelled as a sponger and most want to work but in the real world there’s not many opportunities. It’s easy to judge but you should hope your not the ones being judged some day. I’m glad there’s people out there on the streets making themselves seen and heard. It might keep our overpaid Polititians on their toes if nothing else.

• they need to get there asses out and get a job!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! an irish citizen!

• Shows how much you know….what makes you say that out of everyone involved no1 was working? Did you take the time or just go ahead jump on that bandwagon with the rest of the sheep??? From a long term tax paying galway citizen who fully supports everyone against corruption in governments especially occupy galway…..you made me so proud.

• Surely part of the reason they’re protesting is because there are no jobs?… Because the banking and political class in this country destroyed the economy??

• Well said Catherine, and for the comments of Mr workers solidarity, above, explain please why a rent a crowd of good for nothing wasters, half them usually from England who never worked a day in their lives are constantly campaigning on behalf of ” workers” , useless leeches,

• I think the notion of ‘jobs’ as the definition of responsibility is on the way out, personally. I certainly hope it is.

Look at the amount of war (a lot of it literally lethal) that trade unions had to wage (pun intended) to get it down to a 40 hour week, with enough money to barely break even, while the parasite CEO class skim more and more off the top with every year that goes by – pushing pencils as the working classes are the lifeblood of their operations. .

It’s sad to see the middle and working classes stab each other in the back for not ‘pulling their weight’ in that regard. It amounts to projected resentment for not sharing an unfair burden imo. Divide and conquer has always been the classic technique of people who know how to manipulate the masses.

I would say there are a whole mix of types of people in Occupy, and that many of them are resourceful, creative and innovative people, who find it hard to adjust to such a mechanistic, regimented and inhuman society. I’d identify myself as such a person. I’m not a ‘waster’ – I love to work on things, but on my own time, in my own way. I just find what is taken for granted is not very healthy. Look no further to see why there is such a thriving booze industry in this country – people need oblivion through as a substitute for joy on the weekends to cope with how horrible the week is.

• Half the country needs a job, Catherine. Are you a “job creator”?

• A Dubliners song inspired by Padraic Pearse about captures who the real villains are in this country and it ain’t
    a few protesters.I dare say Politicans ,Bankers and Speculators are more what was in mind when the poem was first penned.

“For What Died The Sons Of Róisín”

For what flowed Irelands blood in rivers,
    That began when Brian chased the Dane,
    And did not cease nor has not ceased,
    With the brave sons of ´16,
    For what died the sons of Róisín, was it fame?

Was it greed that drove Wolfe Tone to a paupers death in a cell of cold wet stone?
    Will German, French or Dutch inscribe the epitaph of Emmet?
    When we have sold enough of Ireland to be but strangers in it.

To those brave men who fought and died that Róisín live again with pride?
    Her sons at home to work and sing,
    Her youth to dance and make her valleys ring,
    Or the faceless men who for Mark and Dollar,
    Betray her to the highest bidder,

They have a language problem, so they say,
    How to write “No Trespass” must grieve their heart full sore,
    We got rid of one strange language now we are faced with many, many more,

• I do believe that people have the right to protest. But I feel that the Occupy Movement has been dead in its tracks for some time now. As long as no-one was hurt, I do agree that the time for the protesters to be moved along is now. Galway has a lot of big tourist events coming up in the near future and images of the town will be broadcast across Ireland and the UK at the very least. The protests were becoming a pointless eyesore and wouldn’t entice new visitors to the town, as well as perhaps put people off going up (and spending money in the businesses) near that part of town.. I know I avoided Dame Street in the closing stages of Occupy Dublin.

Essentially, Occupy is dead. This had to be done sooner or later.

• lol occupy is far from dead …tourists came to visit occupy galway regularly …even the tour guides inclued our camp as part of the tour!

your so out of touch its cringeworthy

the occupy movement in galway is pro-actively involved in every campaign in this city that wants to create positive change in society, and i am not joking, there is very little going on in this city that doesn have participation with at least one of us …we have a wide and diverse bunch of people here and we are proud of it

if ye were put off going to businesses around tha part of town that ODS was in thats your own issue, by the way what businesses were they? the guys there were outside the central bank, there were no shops along that part of the street and it was on a street with loadsa traffic …there wasnt even an area for ye to sit and look around …how exactly could ye be pit off goin there? there were pubs round the corner but they definitely didnt lose business cos of the camp …oh God straws and clutching comes to mind …I’ve posted a reply to one of your previsous comments also if ye’d care to have a read

• Well said chuck i was in galway as a visitor the last race stop over and the people of Galway did a fine job – how would a bunch of makeshift cabbie houses look to the world media?? They were an eyesore on the Mall in Cork too – taking over park benches that my tax money pays for but couldnt use now gone thank god leftie politics never works period

• What has Occupy to do with leftwing politics, and how is it an indication leftwing politics (please elaborate WHICH) don’t work? Can you show me an economic system which does work?

• This is the third article posted this morning about them. Why are they getting so much press? Would it be better just to update the first article if ye wish to add something new?

• Just back from the Sq..good feeling about the place and theres now a big determination to start over and continue to build and organise around Galway with local Community and Political groups who have started to come together to unite and fight for real social change.This is just beginning…

This sole purpose of last night was to stamp out political opposition.Nothing got to do with tourism or business.These are untrue arguments as it was a big tourist attraction with people from all over the globe sharing stories about their local Occupy’s.

WE ARE THE 99% is a slogan adopted worldwide by ordinary people who are trying to organise against the 1% super rich like Rupert Murdoch,Dennid O’brian,Shell,Bondholders,Hedge Funds,Private Health Insurance companies,Water Companies,Multinationals who exploit tax laws and influence local ploitics(IBEC) etc who profit at all of our expense..

Occupy started off in NY and the US because people came together and said society and culture is being destroyed and replaced with money and greed right in front of their eyes and they said not anymore.Occupy is still happenin in New York ,Madrid,Moscow,Barcelona,Seattle etc and still happening in Galway..its going to become more and more relevant to us as the politicans continue to sacrifice us over a failed economic and political experiments.
    .People need to see the big picture before its too late,we need to unite and create change.Organise..

• Adrian, does Occupy Galway discuss the financial global system, the corrupt and criminal de-regulation that began the 2008 collapse? Do they discuss going after the heads of business, banking and state who were implicit in this? You should be proud of what your doing for your country and for the world. I hope the politicos are enjoying the calm before the storm…..;o)

• Bout time.

• Are you speaking in an official capacity for the small to medium business community in Galway ?
    In addition, you quote that your rates are increasing for the clean up and Garda overtime, can you tell me who informed you of a rates increase and how much will it be, or are you making a general assumption ?

• If the people stop caring what do the politician s have to care about. I’m deeply ashamed the my home county my county which all my previous ancestors have lived has let me down. The movement did no harm only greatness. If you are one of the sour minds that want to give out go ahead….you jumped on the band wagon of the people on top. Shame on you all…nothing but lick-arse sheep. Best of luck to all involved in occupy galway. Look forward to hearing yer future plans. So what they took the camp down out of childish pettynes…..ye will win the game eventually. Much love from France x.

• You can take the tents down and think you’ve taken the sentiment behind them down aswell. The kind of force necessary to keep the illusions behind what amounts to a bank-run society can’t be sustained forever.

There’s definitely a case for taking them down. It’s just unfair that the upper crust of society that occupy are criticizing are largely immune to the same laws the rest of us are actually subject to.

I wouldn’t take the result of this poll on this to imply that people don’t support Occupy as a whole (even if they are vague in their manifesto), or that they don’t resonate with any of their sentiments about corporate greed, political corruption and hypocrisy in how the law is applied. It’s more of a civil issue here – it’s about the camp.

• Gearoid I understand ur point, it wouldent b much fun if we were all the same, the union thing though is tricky, just go on line an c the salaries of the union bosses, it’s a joke,

• Thanks for the correction Gearoid, I can accept that fully!

• I guess anything that starts out wholesome can be corrupted, Gerry. Look at how the US constitution is being corroded piece by piece, and also just being ignored for instance. I think it takes HUGE effort to stop things like that from falling into inertia, and I don’t have any easy answers to it personally.

Eoin, I wasn’t correcting you, just making my own point. :)

• Occupy was good for a while, but it’s tent-time is over. It’s time to figure out what the next phase is.
    Even if people agreed on a target, it’s hard to see what will happen, given the lack of unity that exists with our society.

We are witnessing the collapse of a system…. Hang on tight everybody – it’s going to be a rocky ride.

The philosopher Slavoj Žižek’s view on the Occupy movement:
    http://www.imposemagazine.com/bytes/slavoj-zizek-at-occupy-wall-street-transcript

• The Garda over stepped their powers, It was a peacefull protest and doing no harm to anyone.

• I think a peaceful protest should be allowed, how else can people make their views known .Garda were out of order.

• Gardai did not overstep their powers. A complaint was made to them by the council. If they took no action then the council would be saying the gardai did not do their job. I guess the gardai just can’t win. Whatever they do (or not do as you would prefer) they’re always wrong.

• Is it just me or does anyone know what exactly they were protesting about.
      I mean, what their precise demands were. What the government could have done in order to please them and make them pack up the camp.

• the gardai are there to work for the people as well as the council.they should have left the camp alone.they were doing what most of the country would do if our life situations permitted it. well done to occupy galway for the work they have already done and the work they will, i’m sure, continue to do. the council might have dismantled the camp, but the occupy movement will continue to strive for change in this un-democratic country

• The Police now have permission to do what they want .its a police state for years.Look at the peaceful protest against the Chinese visit this year,the student protest,ect

• The camp was bad for tourism and therefore damaging people’s livelihoods

• Damaging people’s livelihoods?! Some of the businesses on the square were bringing them food and letting them use their bathrooms and the like!! No one’s livelihoods were being damaged!

• bad for tourism??
      lmao, you mean like horrible traffic systems and a totally overpriced economy? yeah, just as well all else is fine!

• Agreed Margaret. This attack on democracy will only serve to strengthen the movement. I’m more disgusted with the powers that be that made the decision to dismantle the camp – the city manager of some of the elected officals, hiding behind their desks. I rang the city manager’s office this morning and was told that “nobody gets through to the city manager, it’s policy” . So, this guy, in a paid position, paid for out of my taxes and yours, can refuse to deal with me, or you, as a citizen of Galway. Privileged.

• That’s a bit unfair, if the city manager answered every call, people would be complaining that he’s not doing a proper job. Did you check to see what their complaints procedure. Democracy doesn’t mean someone has to take your calls. There are also elected councillors to contact. They should take your call, that’s their job.

• Get a job hippy

• Eoin what the frak are “Plutonomies” I assume some kind of aspects of life on Pluto

• Plutocracy (from Ancient Greek ploutos, meaning “wealth”, and kratos, meaning “power, rule”) is rule by the wealthy, or power provided by wealth.
      So the rich make the rules and create Plutonomy states.
      It relates to teh fact that It’s well known that the rich have an outsized influence on the economy. There are documented academic risks to the Plutonomy state, little things like, war, inflation, financial crises, the end of the technological revolution and etc but basically it means the rich are will keep getting even richer, and enjoy an even greater share of the wealth as they make the rules.
      “All of which means that, like it or not, inequality isn’t going away and may become even more pronounced in the coming years. Ajay Kapur, global strategist at Citigroup states this in 2007. The best way for companies and businesspeople to survive in Plutonomies, Kapur implies, is to disregard the “mass” consumer and focus on the increasingly rich market of the rich.”
      Have you watched an Academy award winning film called “Inside Job”? You should! We lost tens of trillions, we have 30 million unemployed 15 million new people below the poverty line its a riveting plot. Stick it on your Love film list..or rent it from your library…then teach your kids. And maybe they get to keep what few hospitals and schools we have left for them?

https://www.facebook.com/insidejob
      I love this bit:
      “I had a friend – a bond trader who in the 1970s worked am Merrill Lynch. He had a job as at train conductor at night because he had a family and couldn’t support them on what a bond trader made. By 1986 he was making millions and millions and thought this was because he was smart”

Charles Morris – Author – The two Trillion dollar meltdown.

Morris wrote this book warning of the meltdown prior to the “crisis” He and many others who warned about the fraudulent financial system but all were ignored.

Frauds like Goldman sacks and many others wrapping up toxic loans, selling them to pension investors AND betting that the loans the pension companies bought WOULD fail as they knew they would and all this whilst the ex CEO of Goldman sacks Hank Poulson worked as Treasures for the USA Government clearing the way for it all to be legal.

At the G7 meeting Tokyo Feb 2008 Poulson said:

“were gonna keep growing OK? And obviously….I’ll say it..if, if your growing your not in recession right? I mean we ALL know that”

The recession had actually STARTED four months before this fcukwit beacon of finance spoke these words . Grab the popcorn folks it’s a riveting film and once I watched it I knew what Occupy was all about. Greed, corruption, illegality – the Plutonomy state!

• @ Eoin – plutocracy is the word you’re looking for.

• John C, Thanks for that. The correct word is Plutocracy as you say, I was using both and favouring Plutonomy. Its a buzzword coined by Citibank around 2004. “Economic growth that is powered and consumed by the wealthiest upper class of society. A society where the majority of the wealth is controlled by an ever-shrinking minority; as such, the economic growth of that society becomes dependent on the fortunes of that same wealthy minority”. In Citigroup’s defence they state in all documentation (I have read) they are just observing the facts and never state whether it’s a good thing or a bad thing.
      I have read it so many times I use it as a word. I’ll remove it from my spell checker ;o)

• Good luck to all the Occupy people, and thanks for taking some kind of stand. I can’t help feeling the eviction was payback from the powers-that-be for the protest at the Labour Traitors Party Conference. I didn’t agree with everything everyone said.on the few occasions I visited the Galway camp, and therefore didn’t get more involved, but that’s life, and at least the camps provided some kind of focus for opposition to the smug criminality of the elites, and to the apathy and inertia of the majority.

It may also have been be a tactical mistake by the elites to dismantle the camps. The views of some members about chem-trails, water-poisoning, 911 conspiracies etc,, and the inability to grow and build the movement,. tended to discredit protestors generally. Also, the camps provided a relatively benign, harmless, idealistic form of protest. The apparent lesson for many protesters now is really that soft protest doesn’t work, and some will unfortunately drift towards hard, violent opposition. If the elites and their hangers-on and enforcers got so sniffy about the polite opposition of the Occupy movement, who even agreed to move the camp last Christmas, let them wait until the opposition gets heavy. There are already calls for revolution. There are already placards showing the guillotine. We’ll all lose then. Stupid, stupid elites, trying to cling on to every last privilege and penny inside their bubble…..
    Chris Murray.

Chris Murray

• Occupy should become a corporate entity then our politicians would que up to be seen engaging with them. They should then form the jobless union and protest outside every public representative’s office and public admin office in the country. Which would test the public service unions who would not break protocol by passing an official picket. The law could not be used against them, the world would be astonished, the money saved on public service admin staff could be used for sick children or the disabled. The wealthy could pay a tax relative to their extra wealth above cost of living wealth. We could then have a general election to ensure the people’s wishes are implemented in a 5point planned way. I hope ye all enjoy this fantasy, its the sequel to the last election.

• Last comment @ Darren Brady

Add New Comment