TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 15 °C Saturday 25 May, 2013

Poll: Do you welcome the announcement of plans to export wind energy to Britain?

Up to 30,000 jobs could be created under new plans but they could lead to hundreds of wind turbines being built in the midlands. Do you welcome the plans?

Image: Wind turbine image via Shutterstock

MINISTER PAT RABBITTE will sign a Memorandum of Understanding today that will lead to a full agreement allowing Ireland to export wind-generated electricity to Britain.

It is expected that up to 30,000 indigenous jobs could be created countrywide, along with investments of over €18 billion by 2020 if the required enablers along with this agreement are put in place.

However the agreement could lead to hundreds of wind turbines being built in the Irish midlands and plans like this have caused controversy in the past with those living in areas where wind farms are being planned.

So we ask: Do you welcome the announcement of plans to export wind energy to Britain?

Poll Results:

Related: Ireland to export wind energy to Britain>

More: Engineer challenges legality of renewable energy plan in High Court>

Read next:

Comments (173 Comments)

• Great news. Its a big kick start to the energy industry.

• Well said

• Cheap electricity for Ireland first, though – electricity and gas prices are rocketing (my neighbour just got a €600 Airtricity bill!)

• @ sinabhfuil,

Wind energy is more expensive than fossil fuel based energy. Only makes commercial sense because of the carbon credits so don’t hold your breath

• Yeh I just got a €400 one from the ESB.
      It’s hard to see a negative to this story , that sort of employment in such a sustainable industry is fantastic.. Have they said what the employment would be in other than the construction of them?
      It certainly is a pity we couldn’t feed into our own grid first imagine what that would do to our renewable numbers..

• Airtricity are a British company. I was with them and all they gave me were over inflated estimates. When I changed back to an Irish company they had to send me a check.

• €400 and €600 Leccy bills? Are yiz sure the immersion is off?

• Did they have their house light up like christmas?

• “Lit”

• Things are awful black and awful bad all together. I wouldn’t be one bit surprised if the ground was electrocuted from a faulty wire from these monster machines and everyone killed but the children. The poor children left to starve. Is that what ye want. Sure 30’000 jobs, that’ll be only for the first 2 days after that it will probably be down to 5 people and they’ll make the unemployed spin them on windless days. Twill be the finishing of us I tell ya.

• Could we also export the Healy-Rae’s? Methinks they qualify hugely in the context of producing big bags of wind !

• Record numbers of people getting gas and esb cut off, add we’re exporting energy to Britain.
      Echoes of the famine anyone?

• #Hyperbole

• Make a choice, would you rather burn fossil fuels to produce energy and kill the air we breathe or use wind energy?

• Really? Looks like we’re being shafted. Literally.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/science-environment-21147279

• @ stephen

‘kill the air we breathe ‘ Bit dramatic there Steven. If you really believe this the world need you in China India or Brazil

• No

• €400 is from them not reading the meter for the guts of a year its usually around €200, rural house, more lights pumps etc.
      Once knew a lad who’s bill was over 1k each bill. He had a farm though …. In the kitchen.

• Julie 24/01/13 #

Eddie…… Brilliant! Haha

• Yup!!

• lets all clap like idiots as we watch the next market bubble being created that will eventually cost US more than it was ever worth!!

• In contrast to all the Irish media portraying this as great news, this is how the BBC is covering the story:

“From an Irish perspective this is not selling the family silver; this is giving it away. There is no money staying in Ireland that I can see, but from the British perspective it is a good deal.”

It was also made very clear in BBC’s radio interview with element power’s spokesman, that the only reason they’re being built over here is because there’s less people to object to their construction, than in the British countryside. It will also cost the UK £7bn less, to build them here.

• This is really poor coverage from the journal…no links or data to reports based on science.Its basically a PR statement for the developers….Do people trust developers in suits to sort out our energy/pollution situation?Really?this is another Rossport…the developer and the government are going to force a anti-democratic landgrab on this area and the people…wind FARMs are based on flawed/fabricated/made-up science…wind turbines are great for single houses and small projects.Wind FARM even sounds made up…the jobs part is key.-nowhere near 30000 jobs willbe created,no international research can back that up because its plucked out of the air..why would the developers make false claims?because the whole project is fabricated…they orginally said 50000….the UK givernment,Pat Rabbitte,the Dept Communications Energy and Natural Resources,Bord Na Mona,the developers and consultants,local councils etc are all involved in promoting a false and negligent science.Why?Who benefits?Why do the media back this project without checking independent scientific research?What happens to the environment/birds/landscape?

Argyll grandmother takes UK and EU to the United Nations over plans to turn Scotland into windfarm ‘hedgehog’
      Christine Metcalfe claims UK Government and the EU have breached a fundamental tenet of citizens’ rights under the UN’s Åarhus Convention
      http://www.independent.co.uk/news/uk/home-news/argyll-grandmother-takes-uk-and-eu-to-the-united-nations-over-plans-to-turn-scotland-into-windfarm-hedgehog-8399574.html

• This is a great campaign from Wales…the midlands needs a similiar type people campaign to stop this plan.Great page and it explains many pros and cons for thos who are unsure of what wind farms actually are…

http://www.montgomeryshireagainstpylons.org/wind-farms/#.T-e1P5FdnER
      “There is nothing wrong with using wind turbines to capture energy and convert it into electricity. The problem with wind turbines and wind farms is one of scale. As a small part of our efforts to make green energy, feeding into local networks, they work by giving us energy some of the time. 30% of the time if you believe the manufacturers, 21% of the time if you look up their monitored performance in 2010.

By deciding to put all your efforts into developing wind farms by building larger and larger turbines and covering more and more land we are heading for disaster. No matter how large the turbine (and the latest generation are as tall as the London Eye) they only work when the wind is blowing. When the wind stops, as it did for days this winter when high pressure sat over the island freezing the atmosphere, the turbines stop too. When the wind is strong they are shut down because, otherwise, they will blow over. Wind power will never be a constant reliable source of electricity and it is far less efficient than many other forms of renewable energy.

So why are we, in Mid-Wales, about to cover an area of a thousand square miles in wind farms which will, at the very best a produce only 0.58% of the country’s current electricity needs? There are two reasons. The second is how greed and speculation play their part and the first is TAN 8. We have been sold down the river by ‘Technical Advice Note 8 on Renewable Energy’ which was published by the Welsh Assembly Government in July 2004. It marked out Mid-Wales as fit for wind farm development and, crucially,TAN8 is designed to ensure that wind farms get planning approval. It can also be used by the Assembly Government to help over-rule any Local Authority decisions that have rejected wind farm planning applications in TAN8 areas.

The second reason, and you should read this and grow very angry indeed, is because of Renewable Obligation Certificates ROCs. Wind Turbines do not simply produce electricity, they produce something far more valuable, they produce ROCs. Three per cent of the energy provided by non-renewable energy producers, that is power stations and the power companies like Scottish Power, must be supplied from a renewable source. To do this they can buy a Wind Farm (hence Scottish Power’s great interest) or they get fined so much per kWh by the government. If they don’t want the fine they can buy ROCs to make up the 3 per cent.

Wind Farms register with the government’s energy regulator, OFGEM which then issues one ROC for every MWh generated. So, every turbine is producing electricity and ROCs and the ROCs can be bought not only by the power companies but they can be sold on the open market. Banks and Investment Houses around the world are scrambling to buy ROCs. This is speculation and this is why inefficient wind farms are so profitable.”

• Lakeland windfarm information group..Mullingar
      http://www.facebook.com/pages/Lakeland-windfarm-information-group/441901932538961

If your for or against wind farms its still crazy do build them anywhere near Connemara but thats what the wind farmers want to do…
      http://www.connemaraagainstwindfarms.com/

• I wrote to a bunch of Ministers and TDs asking for a scheme where people can buy thermal solar panels (for hot water – these work really well in Ireland, and can give you 2/3 of your hot water for free) over 5 years on their utility bills. This was done with storage heaters, the first form of central heating in Ireland, back in the 1960s, and worked like a dream; people who couldn’t afford the big outlay in one go were able to effectively borrow from the utility company and buy it on the never-never.
      Nary an answer from most of them.
      The great thing about this scheme is that it would bring many of the plumbers and electricians made jobless by the recession back into work, it would cut our carbon footprint, it would release electricity capacity for industry, and it would improve Irish lifestyles.
      But maybe politicians, on their level of pay, don’t understand the concept of being unable to shell out €4,000 for a home improvement in one go.

• Josh- Its not hard to see, you’re from another planet and I can’t do much about the other Countries on my own?

• Why the red thumbs for the idea of being able to buy solar hot water systems on the never-never and get loads of people back into work? Odd!

• 43% voted no… ah yes this would be the ‘we want jobs’ brigade who also have the philosophy of ‘not in my back yard’. Typical i suppose.

• I gave you a green thumb so its even steven now at two each. Solar panels are the way, heats my water every day with a leccy bill of around €110 evert two months.

• @Sinabhfuil, the problem with your idea is that it is far too sensible for Leinster House.

• 30000 jobs is a seriously inflated figure. Britian have stopped giving planning for on shore wind farms, so instead of building them offshore there robbing all resources. Once installed they need very little maintenance or manual intervention.
      There pulling the wool over or eyes.

And this topic has nothing to do with the price of electricity so what are you all banging in about.

• Won’t work as the market is deregulated and people aren’t paying bills. So no company who answers to a board is going to front up theory to customers to leg it. Get a Loan from the bank. Same thing.

• That’s nothing, I had one over the summer from the ESB or ” electric ireland” as they now call themselves (feels a bit like the eircom makeover), for €1,200

• Well said

• Adrian, you got a better idea the produce electricity???? You are full of it

• Brian, firstly. The Brits are handing out planning permits for on shore and off shore.

• He must have left the immersion on. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=52bna-tn_dY

• Yes great news for wind farm developers. Not so good news for the Irish and British consumers who will see their bills rise because of this.

• Will it bring down the cost of our energy bills?

• Can we not just keep it for ourselves and reduce our own Carbon emissions and dependency on fossil fuels as a country?.

• The less CO2 emissions the better for our environment and also the more carbon credits to sell on the open market. Can’t understand all the thumbs down. Feel free to enlighten me if I missed something?

• @ simon
      Hopefully not. Energy is expensive enough here as it is and it’s hard to feel good about the environment on an empty stomach

• That’s the truth.

• You can’t store wind energy so it makes sense to sell surplus to the UK. whether or not we should be creating a surplus is a commercial decision.

There is much to be gained from this but there will be an environmental impact.

• Why can’t you store it? Seems like a fib to me,
      what if they all connected to a big rechargeable battery

• Simon, I won’t base energy modeling decisions on the EU ETS. The price of carbon has fell dramatically since it was first rolled out roughly 20€/t . The carbon price floor will be introduced in the UK to try to address this and givve the market some confidence. Have a look at the EU ‘state of the carbon market report 2012’. The EU ETS is in crisis at the moment they’re trying to address the growing structural supply and demand imbalance. Finland even give natural gas fired CHP generators a 50% tax rebate! Over the next two years I would envisage the carbon market under going some serious changes.

• @PerkyBeans a big rechargeable battery in the form of energy storage reservoirs could be a solution, Turlough Hill is a good example of this tech, it’s been going strong for yonks now.

• We will reach our goal of 40% by 2020.
      The grid can’t sustain anything over 50% so this doesn’t really affect our capabilities.

• Because its not financially viable, the battery would need to be massive and would be very damaging to the environment.

• Good question Simon. But associating windfarms with reduction of carbon emissions and dependency on fossil fuels is like associating “common good” with bankers. Windfarms only work because of the generous subsidies given to the supplier by taxpayers. They have to be backed up by 100% fossil fuel mostly gas, hence we and Britain are still importing the same amount of gas as ever.

This is about money for the developers and jobs for Rabbit and Co when they are turfed out next time.

As for England, the Lib Dems are living in windfarm cuckoo land. The Tories know they dont work. Have a read of The Telegraph’s wind power section for more.

• plenty of wind coming from me this morning, i’d happily sell it to the brits:)

• how about wiring up the healy raes to the national grid and getting them to blow. lots of cheap wind there…

• Regarding 30,000 jobs that is total Rubbish look at all the wind developments that have been installed world wide. there will be work in the construction stage but there wont be 30,000 full time job’s believe me this is Government propaganda to get the planning applications passed. Don’t be conned by false promises especially by politicians and their wind developer friend’s.

• Am I right in thinking that we’ll produce way more than we could use? If this is true I say sell it.

• 30,000 jobs. Yeah right. A lot of hot air methinks.

• Personally I welcome investment in the country and anything beneficial however….

Think about it. Irish people and residents get the residential & visual impact of these turbines. Who will get the benefit? i.e. revenues etc. the company, will we see reduced energy costs because of it? Certainly not.

Wind energy, tidal energy, oil, gas, minerals, gold etc. They are all resources….. and here is an example of our resources being harnessed and sold abroad.

Investment in Ireland should benefit Ireland…. and when I say Ireland I mean the Irish people!

• what about all the “non nationals” living here ken? or are you advocating a two tier energy system?maybe we could use a card system similar to that proposed by healy rea for urban drinkers to be allowed more than a pint !
      if cheaper energy is going to be produced in this country it should be for the benifit of the whole country, not just those orn here, after all we pay into the revenue too.

• Hi Eric, you’ve picked up on something that is not meant whatsoever.

When I say the “Irish People” I mean the people living in Ireland. Nationality is irrelevant…. my point is that resources of Ireland should benefit Ireland.

• The government selling us out again!Its easy to see pat rabbite and his zoo of apes in the dail will have to live nowhere near these monstrositys,the natural scenery in the lakelands will b destroyed and for what?to power British homes and businesses! This wind farm was proposed for the English Midlands,and the political crew were told by the locals to feck off with it so they have moved it here! Ex bord na mona chief is behind al this stinks like jobs for the boys all over! plus 30k of jobs my arse, they will employ companies from the uk and north wait till u see.

• I’m all for anything that creates jobs etc once they don’t just pepper the countryside with turbines. Also we are at present generating close to a third of our power through wind so why aim to export power in the future while we still have Poolbeg, Tarbert, Marina and Lanesborough generating stations still burning fossil fuels?

• They are everywhere already. I think we are better putting up a couple of hundred within a few square miles rather then putting up 4 or 5 here or there. Already there are small developments of 3-5 turbines spread out within a 15 mile radius of my front door. People become accustomed to them I guess but I would prefer if they were put in remote bogland areas.

• @tomas phelan ” As of July 2012, 14.8% of Irish
      electricity is being generated from
      renewable sources, up from 5% in 1990.
      Wind is the main source of renewable
      energy production, increasing from less
      than 1pc of total renewable production
      in 1995 to over 40pc today.” 40% of 14.8% is nowhere near a third of our total energy generated it’s closer to 6% if you work it out

• Sorry JJ should have stated the capacity to supply a third of the power needed. And on one day in April 2011 they were generating just under 50% of demand that day. That’s what I’ve been told by personnel when I’m working in these plants, which is quite regularly. I see you can use Wikipedia eh?

• Ireland’s current load is 3.3Gw our current wind supply us 1Gw so at 23:15 tonight were at 33% you can download the Eirgrid app and check yourself

• Do you support a way of protecting our bogs, protecting the environment, bringing 18bn in investments, mostly focused on a rural unemployment blackspot. Do you support this country having a strong indigenous industry that is earning substantial revenue in exports. Do you support us cutting on paying Crazy Saudi princes a fortune every year. Do you support several thousand jobs long term sustainable.

• It’s David Cameron coming over here, stealing the wind … oppressing the Irish people.

He’s just doing it to get the anti-wind farm UKIPpers on side.

Shocking, simply shocking, and in this day and age.

• Damn right. No way would he be allowed to have the wind farms in England. There would be uproar.

The mid-lands has no real wind so they’ll be building the largest turbines on the globe. Selling it cheaply and allowing the British to save billions and meet their carbon requirements.

All we get is huge, uneconomical turbines, feck all money and protests. Maybe a few jobs at the beginning but wouldn’t be surprised if they were foreign companies with outside ‘expertise’.

Oh jolly good, let the Paddies do it for us!

• Potential issue to our wind exports if the FSA determine that the wind used has blown over some cattle or pigs on its way to the windfarm

• Also when there is no wind which is extremely common in the midlands don’t we have to find a substitute, which will be fossil fuels?
      Don’t we then have to buy this carbon allowance?
      Aren’t wind farms actually one of the most uneconomical forms of energy?

• mcbab 24/01/13 #

Obviously you haven’t travelled much and seen wind farms not only in the UK but in other parts of world also.

• That makes zero sense. What has travelling to do with this? I am stating that wind farms are close to pointless. The people of Britain would never allow turbines 50 meters higher than the Spire in Dublin. Get real with this. We are being blinded by false statements about employment. Wind farms are a stop gap solution that actually cause more carbon.

• Oh I see. Obviously you need to learn to read.
      ‘No way would he be allowed to have the wind farms in England’ – meaning these particular wind farms – the wind farms with 180m turbines

• No because its purely for export this will not effect our grid

• Well said. I can vouch for that first hand.

• 180m is the height of the tip of the blade. Not the tower height. Nobody at present makes turbines that high

• Who is giving us the 18 billion?

• I seem to remember hearing somewhere that this was going to be a British project and so the turbines owned by them. Ireland would basically be an unsinkable offshore windfarm for them.So while it would create kinds here, which is fantastic, it would also mean that land is then unavailable for Irish wind energy development. Please correct me if I’m wrong.

• First: for every job in the wind industry 2-3 people will lose their jobs in other industries. That’s just because of the subsidies for the wind industry and the high prices for power.
    Second: Can anyone here tell me, how one can renew energy? The whole “RENEWABLE ENERGY” sector is a scam. It is based on the lie that energy can be renewed.
    Third: does anyone here really believe that these jobs are worth the lost of health?
    Fourth: are thes 30000 jobs verified? The major thing of BIG WIND is to handle with big numbers. None of them are verified.

Folks of Ireland think twice before you dance with the devil. With all these planned wind turbines, Ireland will be the hell.
    I know what I am talking about. I live for over 18 years beside windturbines in northern Germany. Here in Schleswig-Holstein we have to bear over 2800 wind turbines.
    And by the way, at the west coast the unemployment is higher than the average. Prices for homes are lower and the crime rate is extremly high.

• I would be incredibly sceptical of the job numbers called out, although we should be more than capable, very little of the fabrication will happen in ireland, I read somewhere 0.25 direct sustainable jobs/MW (not local shopkeepers etc). If that number was sustainable there would be a lot more people working for the ESB at the moment!

• This is another short-sighted idea from another typically self-serving administration.
    Wind energy is not efficient.
    30,000 indigenous jobs is pie in the sky – the turbines will not be built here.
    The UK are laughing all the way to the bank with this deal.
    Can nobody see that if it’s windy here, it’s windy in Britain? It’s cheaper for them to build them here AND they don’t have to look at the bloody things – or spend millions maintaining them or disposing of them when they fail in less than 30 years.
    No joined up thinking again – just kicking the can 4 more years down the road until the next election.

• Its not efficient right now but sure as hell will be when oil and gas start running out and harder and costly to find.
      Have you a better plan Niall love to hear it

• I have a better plan. Why not subsidise every home, or let’s say as much as possible” with their own way of generating energy. A small wind turbine might be enough for one house or a couple of houses. Simply said a windturbine for everyone. But the problem is that we can’t have that, we can’t be free to harvest what is rightfully ours. That’s only reserved for the big EU subsidised companies.

• where are the 30,000 jobs? this is bullshit! how could 80 turbines or even 800 or 8000 provide 30,000 jobs – every last kilowatt of electricity is going to england – seriously, what do we get out of it? Getting rode up the hole again me thinks!

Richard Tol, professor of economics at University of Sussex, said he felt that the whole scheme was “crazy” and would not work in the long term .

“From an Irish perspective this is not selling the family silver; this is giving it away. There is no money staying in Ireland that I can see.

“But from the British perspective it is a good deal,” he said.

• When it’s windy we can export wind electricity and when it’s calm we can import electricity made in nuclear power stations. Just saying. Nothing wrong with nuclear.

• If we can produce so much that we can export it then why are our electricity bills going up all the time

• Our politicians create enough hot air to power Europe!

• Don’t be fooled by the spin of large energy companies. After construction there will be very few jobs (most of the employment is in the construction of the turbines – abroad). The huge displacement of peat by tons of concrete for turbine bases will release far more co2 than will ever be saved. Birds and bats are being killed worldwide in their thousands and landscapes devastated. Neighbour is being set against neighbour and the ‘carrots’ of so-called community benefits are a mere fraction of what energy companies and greedy landowners are getting through huge subsidies levied from people’s electricity bills, many of whom are already in fuel poverty (i.e. spending more than 10% of their income on energy). If you value your countryside, wildlife and the money in your pocket, vote against this proposal. You will be ridden roughshod over and very rarely given straight answers by energy companies. Hilary Madeley http://www.stemm.org.uk

• Mack 24/01/13 #

The term export means we get paid… they will own the vanes, they will own the cabling .. once they are built they maybe paying a staff of estimate 15 to 20 service engineers, they will all be run from Wales via computer.

• No!!

There are no advantages for Ireland!!

All the power goes to the UK
    The Irish countryside will be spoiled
    profits for this venture will go to the UK as majority owned UK firms are building this.
    the UK will benefit with cheaper energy costs, the irish will use none of this renewable energy!

• Great news….If we are actually building this ourselves and selling the energy off at a profit which will go back into the national coffers leading to improved infrastructure, roads, schools, hospitals etc etc but one can’t help but think that this is a direction from the troika – sell your land to foreign energy providers and the monies accrued will service the debt….but I’m sure my fears will be eased once this most open and transparent government informs us all of the details.

• If the figures given of 30000 jobs is correct how can you vote no?

• we need to know a lot more about this project before it goes ahead . Even BBC reports seem doubtful about it – but maybe its on – but why the midlands – . The windist parts of Ireland – are the coastal araea – which are also the Tourist araeas to a large extent – but if we are going to deface the country with this doubtful devolopment – lets deface it good .!!

”Irish energy minister Pat Rabbitte said that the process was in its infancy and no decisions had been made about how the energy for export would be generated.

“I think there is a mutual interest here for both countries, he told BBC News, adding: “Ireland doesn’t want a wind farm at every cross roads; we don’t want that.”

”Richard Tol, professor of economics at University of Sussex, said he felt that the whole scheme was “crazy” and would not work in the long term .

“From an Irish perspective this is not selling the family silver; this is giving it away. There is no money staying in Ireland that I can see. ”

“But from the British perspective it is a good deal,” he said.”
    read – the BBC report – and just look at the size of those towers –

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/science-environment-21147279

• PS – the wording of the poll leaves something to be desired – also the almost assumed assumtion of 30,000 jobs .
      ” would u like to know more about the Errection of Massive wind Energy Turbies to export energy to uk ”.

If this is such a great idea — why are we not the benefactors and doing it ourselves – we would need hardly any oil imports ?????????????.

• Job creation great. Shame about where they are being built. Perhaps someday a government will do things for the people which is in the best interest of the Irish people and makes commercial sense.

• 1) Wind energy doesnt work

2) England and Ireland will still be burning as much and possibly more fossil fuels as a result of these windfarms

3) The Irish Grid will be transmitting fossil fuel energy into the English Grid for times when the wind power is not strong enough to meet demand on the English side. Nobody has actually clarified how this is going to work, which usually means the Irish billpayer will be stumping up the cost for this.

4) Tiny amount of jobs will be created.

So, its a lose lose situation for both the English and Irish billpayer – its always a losing situation where windfarms are involved. Mother Nature is clear on this. The English consumer will be paying for unreliable and mostly useless energy and for the increased maintenance on their own grid as a result of hooking up with more windfarms.

This is the new religion – seems people enjoy being scammed…

• These monstrosities will ruin our countryside forever.. We are trying our best to sell this country to the tourist..The sight of turbines scattered all over the midlands will ruin any sort of tourisim for us.the struggling hotels and B& Bs will suffer, the restaurants.,ect .The wildlife will also suffer.Does anyone care??? It appears all we want to do is EXPORT our wind energy to the UK., and it appears any wind turbine projects planned for the UK has been scrapped.Why does the Irish Landscape have to suffer , for the UK energy gains ????( I wouldnt mind if we got a share of the spoils!!!)..It wont even bring in many jobs,as all of the turbines and assembley people are foreign ,jobs will be short lived. Roads will be in chaos….and we will be left with the mess!.Come on people of Ireland stand up for your country.

• No No No. i don’t agree with this policy at all. Who is going to pay the subsidy to these wind developers? if they’re placed in Ireland the Irish people will pay for them by an increase on their E.S.B bills. If Rabbitte sign’s up to this agreed contract to supply the English with electricity and these wind turbines cant supply on demand due to mild weather when the wind doesn’t blow who then has to pay compensation to England? another thing these wind farms are not reliable. The English don’t want these monstrosities ruining their landscape so why should the Irish People be subjected to these monstrosities? Its all con because of the lucrative subsidies these wind developers receive from the people who pay for them in hidden charges. I wonder if Rabbitte has set up a N.A.M.A for wind. People here should protest and stop these wind farm’s getting the go ahead or talk to E.P.A.W the European Platform Against Wind. there is also two very good Documentaries one by Nigel Spence Con With The Wind. and Nettie Penna They’re Not Green. worth a look at.

• Dave 24/01/13 #

It would be a bit of a waste with the interconnector there if this didn’t happen. No harm to sell off energy to the UK. But look after those here too. These turbine are massive (reportedly 180m high) but they can always be taken down like most windfarms will be when the design life expires.

• Nydon 24/01/13 #

EMPLOYMENT! EMPLOY! EMPLOYER!
    There now I’m quite safe, having used all three cloaking devices, to make whatever claims I like sure in the knowledge that very few will look past them to properly analyze and those who do will be branded cranks , lefties and subversive.
    Ok then, let’s give it a go….

Planning permission, lending, building building building Lisbon, Maastrict, Quinn, Lowery, Bertie,

Ha! It worked in the boom and is even better now.

• Export enda kenny, there’s enough wind in him to power the whole of the uk.

• I think they’re pretty. I just thought I’d say that cause people complain about them ruining the landscape. Also, here’s a decent video on the subject:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=llIbjC49Fjs

• fergus 24/01/13 #

No reduction in energy bills more like an increase to subsidise these waste of time more money spent on fossil fuel stations to keep these running because the wind.Pay twice for same thing

• Surely independence was meant to stop this sort of thing?

• What happened to the spirit of Ireland project. 70 thousand jobs, which would supply most of northern europes electricity needs.

• Sell it for good old fashioned profit …… Nothing less

• Tragedy for the environment. The English wont have windfarms so they are using this country to put up their ugly noisy eagle killing monstrosities.

• The energy produced will be enough to provide for 3 million British homes.There cant be more than 1.5 million homes in Ireland. Why dont we power our own energy needs firstt i.e 1.5 million homes and THEN export the rest i.e enough energy to power 1.5 million british homes. We would gain hugely in terms of energy exports and would also save BILLIONS on our reliance of imported foreign sources of coal and oil. This would be long term thinking. The benefits for the economy speak for themselves. The knock on effects on society in general cannot be overlooked either – equality of access to energy, improved services and an overall increase in sustainable development.

• Corib oil in mayo ring any bells with anyone

• Wait… So we can sell wind? Something that costs us nothing? FREAKING AWESOME! Construction jobs, maintenance contracts, commercial rates, corporation tax, R&D investment, the attraction of highly skilled workers and firms that move to areas with green tech….

Only the small minded and self interested think no further than their own electric bills.

• Have been exporting my wind there for years via eating their Greggs :)

• And yet we pay huge power bills?

• This is the strangest poll ye have done yet…

• Here we go; ROSSPORT #2. We’ll get shafted by the Brits for this, who will please all the NIMBY’s in the UK. The number of jobs is complete lies. There will be a small number of short term jobs, which will dry up rapidly and then the profits will be going to the UK company. Will we learn from Rossport? Not a chance. We’ll have so many Gardai at any protest that any money we supposedly get from this will be absorbed in policing costs. Anyone getting involved in protest will be label a mad reactionary. I believe a complete study of the viability of wind power is one of the most overdue things in Ireland but if it does prove viable, it should be nationalised, not sold off so that one company and a handful of politicians can make themselves rich.

• I’m too lazy to look it up, is there a village / town in UK that allowed wind turbines to be built in exchange for free electricity and a yearly kick back from profits that they then invest in local facilities. I’d be saying yes if got those kind of terms.

• A lot of houses in Connemara have small turbines for the household’s use already.

• Export to the UK who;s trying to kid who. Windfarms are very infficient. How may power stations have actually closed with the advent of these blots on the landscape. None. Our most valuable asset was tourism. Who want to come here to see these monsters on our hill sides. Methinks another fiddle afoot!

• I voted No because any Energy produced in Ireland should REMAIN in Ireland.

• This could work out ok..
    When the price of fossil fuels increases to the point of impracticality, we can sell the energy to Germany for a fiver a kw/h..

• Why can’t they be put on top of mountains where nobody lives?

• O&G Industry needs to be kick started…

• I am very pro this move which should bring much need money and employment, as long as the price of power for the Irish ppl drops (preferably by half)

• Unfortunately Britain is way ahead of us in terms of building wind farms, there’s one under construction in Wales that’s big enough to supply 1 in 3 Welsh homes. It’d take us 20 years to catch up, let alone be in a position to export. Previous governments should have got off their arses about this years ago given that NASA wind maps show that Ireland has the most potential wind energy of any country in the world. Too much “not in my back garden” and “it’ll spoil our sea view” going on.

• I live near bog of Allen, mixed views about this. All on for wind power, just not on my doorstop. There also putting a reservoir near my home. I suppose it’s for the greater good

• In times gone by the British took our trees, ow they take our air, but they will never take our FREEDOM.

Add New Comment