TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 3 °C Saturday 25 May, 2013

Poll: Would you support a garda ‘blue flu’?

More Gardaí have voted in favour of industrial action as they face pay reforms.

Image: Photocall Ireland!

A NUMBER OF branches of the Garda Representative Association (GRA) voted in favour of industrial action and motions of no confidence in the Minister for Justice and the Garda Commissioner last night.

Industrial action could take the form of a work-to-rule or a so-called ‘blue flu’ which involves gardaí calling in sick en-masse.

Support for such a move has already been shown by rank-and-file gardaí in areas of Dublin, Cork, Kerry and Tipperary as the government seeks to negotiate a successor to the Croke Park Agreement on public sector pay and reform.

Would you support a garda ‘blue flu’?

Poll Results:

Read next:

Comments (295 Comments)

• If the government want to cut pay and allowances they should start with themselves. If they led by example the people would see that they (for once) practice what they preach. But no, they hit the people at the bottom end of the scale, the ones with small kids and large mortgages, not fat cats with big wallets who double their salary by claiming allowances. Gardai put their lives on the line, are the first people called on in times of crisis, and are expected to put up with having their terms and conditions eroded? Shame on you Alan Shatter. Look to your own allowances first!

• I’ve said that from the start Shelley. I actually support the general concept of a property tax, and support charging a modest amount for water, in the name of improving our water supply, and support the USC until such time as we tax more than we spend, but until TD’s are paid a reasonable amount, every group opposed to any of them have my support and vote.

• Ferdia: I object to property tax and water charges because we don’t need them (and so do the majority of Irish). The government needs to cut spending instead of property tax / water charges. Cut government spending and compensate by abolishing property tax and water charges. A low-tax low-spend economy.

• I asked you elsewhere and don’t think you responded yet Regonald, but what would you cut? Again I am not arguing with you or saying you are necessarily wrong, but lay out Budget 2014 by Minister for Finance Regonald Timpson.

• My proposal:

- Introduce a wealth tax
      - Downsize the big government
      - Axe state funding for private schools
      - Reduce grant rates on ALL schemes everywhere
      - Cap the salaries of professors, “quango’s”, consultants etc @ €100k
      - Abolish the nonsense bureaucracy on getting things like a drivers license
      - Abolish the RSA and re-merge with the Department of Transport (like before)
      - Reduce entitlement spending rates and standardize the elderly entitlement rates with the rest
      - Abolish the requirement for “state approved suppliers” so that the market re-adjusts itself competitively

• The government received over 72 million Euro this year in travel expenses for traveling to the Dáil for work I don’t know any Garda Teacher or Nurse who gets paid for traveling to work. Some TDs have earned more from their travel Expenses than Gardai earn in a year. Why not cut that first. I know Gardai who can’t afford fuel for their car to get to work, and that’s fact.

• While I agree that politicians expenses need to be cut, it distracts from the BILLIONS required to keep the overall public sector payroll afloat. It wouldn’t make a drop in the ocean by comparison.

• the money is there. you would find that if there was something god forbid like foot and mouth there would be huge investment in that sector and rightly so. front line have been hit hard and its time to stand up to that. I suggested before how we could have the Oz model for buying of state cars that would improve service and save millions yearly. but this is ireland heaven forbid that we are forward thinking. As it is the garda force is being pounded, lack of funding and no recruitment

• Regonald, a drop in the ocean?
      They want to cut Garda overtime by €60million over the next three years (http://www.rte.ie/news/2013/0201/365595-garda-pay/), but this is a ‘drop in the ocean’ compared to the TDs travel allowances of €72million per year?

• Mark, I’m talking abut the overall wage bill (all included). I think you are being selective by conjuring a horse and pony show of figures in your reply. The public sector payroll is helping to spur tax rises, new taxes and questions. Some Unions believe it’s a one-way street: we take you give.

• Those were the figures mentioned in this thread, and I’m selective in that I want public sector reformed and I want the frontline services protected.

Horse and pony show of figures? They were the figures readily available from RTE. Where are you getting your figures from?
      Furthermore, I have spoken to nurses, gardaí, and emts, and believe it or not, some of them are on salaries as low as 22k, and are struggling just like workers in the private sector. I don’t think that’s a case of ‘you take we give’.

• Well, the alternative is layoffs. Fianna Fail would probably do this, considering Labor is pro-Unions.

• Tommy C 12/02/13 #

NO Regonald, the alternative is that those on the front line emigrate to countries where pay and conditions are better and then youre stuck for people to do these jobs.

• Please put your money where your mouth is and emigrate. We have 400,000 people to replace you. Also willing to work for lower pay levels than the present. Off you go and move.

• I’m not trying to discredit the Gardai or their Unions. My point is we must all have realistic debates on reforms.

• Yes the Gardai are peace keepers, law enforcers, the people you go to for protection, the people you demand answers from when you or yours have been wronged, they are what the Irish people want them to be but they are just people, they feel hurt that they don’t have the resources to help more, they feel ashamed that their salaries don’t allow them to pay their bills, they feel frustrated when they are told they are not allowed to speak out about the problems that they see. You may resent them for this action but they have no other option.

There is a reason why people remember the blue flu, it was the only time in their existence that the Gardai went on strike. They don’t do it lightly. If it is being considered then there is a good reason.

• I love the way some try to justify their existence. Nobody is cutting “resources” – allowances are being reformed. Most people have short memories. Weren’t the Army called in to fill the gap during the ’98 blue-flu?

• If Croke Park II wants to reduce pay then the government needs to introduce legislation to deflate prices and introdue strong debt management rules. For people who cut their cloth to measure have expendituture to meet and cant do it with pay cuts especially while prices are rising.

• The deflation at the start of this recession was probably a good thing as it enabled us to become a bit more competitive. Hence the increase in our exports. However, the last thing we need now is more deflation. Then everybody would just save their money, the domestic economy would contract further, the public finances would be even worse off, and then the government will be looking for even more cuts.

• Spending cuts would compensate the need for a property tax / water charges.

I admit it’s tough but look to the bigger picture: no home tax, no water tax – no tax on jobs.

• If someone was trying to take a further 170 euros of my wage a week ( as was written in the independent newspaper during the week) I’d be sick to, especially after the large pay cuts already imposed. It’s a crap job they have to do and remember not many other jobs or workers put there lives on the line.

• What “large pay cuts” were already imposed? Let’s examine your definition of “large”:

14% cut to Irish public sector pay (compared to 60% in Greece and 30% in Latvia)

Now I’m pissed…..

• It’s the people they are cutting the money from you clown. How do our politicians’ wages compare to their European counterparts? If you don’t know you could always tweet Gerry Adams since you are following him on twitter.

• By comparison, politicians wages (MILLIONS) wouldn’t make a drop in the ocean compared to the BILLIONS spent on ordinary public sector pay.

• @RT But we are not Greece, nor Latvia. One thing we have in common is that we have been screwed over by bad governance, to different extents.

• Yeah, the ‘let them eat cake’ attitude. Bourgeois?

• Structural reforms will pay-off in the long-term. The Unions don’t realize that.

• Reggie, you don’t have a grasp of how corrupt the public service was in Greece. Political cronies were given jobs or rather put on payroll for favours. They did no work at all. Fact
      I’m not au fait with the situation in Latvia but I can only presume that as its a nation only 20 years out of communist rule that something similar might apply.
      Gardai have taken a 23% cut in pay and allowances and the government want more cuts.
      People forget that gardai are the first port of call for most peoples disasters and put their lives on the line to protect the citizens of the state.
      We owe that body so much.
      People say its wrong to have a blue flu, but when you have no right to strike, what else can be done. There’s a case in Europe brought by Belgium police over the right to strike. If its successful it will be binding on all nation states.

• “Gardai have taken a 23% cut in pay and allowances and the government want more cuts”

14% pay cut on government workers was the figure I’ve researched. 23%? That’s News to me! But never mind, taxes are already at the breaking point and still no solutions from some Unions. I think it’s safe to say there is a certain degree of selfishness.

• it costs 800 million to have a police force in this country, Forget about your income tax etc, your home insurance car insurance would multiply by a factor of 10 without the protection offered as a right. its actually 26% of a cut and a further 170 a week places a garda on 396 a week, who in their right mind would work for that. A bit of cop on please.

• Glen 12/02/13 #

Fully support them. The Gardai are empowered by the people to enforce the law. Now while the legislature and those who pass laws on our behalf may be asses, it’s not the Gardai role to be punching bags for criminals nor whipping boys for the government. Station closures, pay cuts, poor equipment etc. And people ask “Why do it then? Why not get a better job?” Because it’s about doing a career you believe in. Making a difference. Standing by your colleagues. Protect your police or protect yourself.

If you are considering a change, the Western Australia Police police are recruiting current or prior serving police officers from the UK and Republic of Ireland for frontline uniform policing roles now. Successful applicants get a permanent residency visa. 5th year of service pay is equal to EUR53,500 get treated like an adult, better benefits etc Check it out; pay http://www.stepforward.wa.gov.au/benefits/salary.html
    recruiting http://www.stepforward.wa.gov.au/entry-pathways/international.html

• I certainly support them, but they need to do more to support themselves. They need to stop molly coddling(sp?) the politicians and the elite, let these people suffer at the hands of crime like we all have to as a result of a butchered police force. When Alan Shatters house gets burgled, make him wait hours like everyone else. When protesters are hurling eggs at James Reilly, let him usher them away himself.

• I don’t support them. Public sector pay cuts are inevitable. We cannot afford to pay these pay levels.

• I agree take away the protection from the politicians and lets see how safe they would feel then, Who’s idea is it anyway that ministers are protected by gardai. They don’t deserve it

• ‘We can not afford to pay these pay levels’

When are people going to accept that a public service costs money.

And everyone needs to cop on and distinguish between the pay of lazy desk jockeys and frontline services like Gardaí and nurses.

• “When are people going to accept that a public service costs money”

Put differently: when will the Gardai accept that current pay levels are unaffordable?

• Yes Mark, it costs a hell of a lot of money and we pay through the nose for it. When are people going to accept that money to pay for public services doesn’t just fall out of the sky?

• Would you rather have no Gardaí?
      You should visit a wealthy country where the police are not well paid, like Russia, and see first hand the caliber of police that those attitudes produce,
      From your other comments here I can’t help but think you have a grudge against public servants and it reminds me of the story of the Irish crab.

@Censored: When are people going to realise that the money to pay for the public service doesn’t just fall out of the sky? When are the public going to realise that the services the depend upon, also do not just fall out of the sky?

• I have no grudge against the Gardai nor am I trying to single out any particular government worker for any negative reason. I am trying to ascertain where the money will come from. So far, the replies received range from hyperbole to insults to ‘let someone else pay’. Not one reply has realistic expectations (in my opinion).

• The Garda where great at the protest march on sat so I don’t know why people are saying different. I have been to many marches and never had a problem, could it be the way you behave? Also when a guard has to knock on your door in the middle of the night to tell you your husband has been killed in an accident you see the human side so I for one will back them all the way.

• Yes they should be supported. Remember the Gardai also have families and they do not want them or anyone to suffer. Try and think what it’s like to be elderly and live in an isolated area with no local Garda station, to feel vulnerable and scared. This is going to get worse. The Gardai are humans, they are sons, daughters, fathers, mothers, husbands, wives, partners, aunts, uncles, cousins,friends. Would you be happy knowing that when they leave their home and close their front door to go to their work that they may never open that door again ….. Because they are put at risk by lack of resources, manpower and support from this government. Remember if the Gardai lives are being put at risk by trying to protect the people of this country … and the government doesn’t care ….. How vulnerable are we, how vulnerable are our families…. And all because this government does not care……

• People need to wake up……last year this government attacked the private sector….remember Bruton reviewing the JLCS…..wanting normal rates for people who work on sunday and reducing overtime……everyone one on here attacking the public sector need to see the bigger picture….if they reduce the pay of nurses, teachers, guards etc, how long do you think it will be before the private sector follows????? All workers need to unite and fight the direct attacks( wage cuts , USC charges) and indirect attacks( property tax, water charges) on their incomes

• yes. i would totally support our police force.

• The civil service pay needs to be cut in line any other Eurozone country. In Greece, Teachers earn about €155 a week. In Ireland, it’s at least double (if not more) than Greece despite similarities in the crisis. Too much money, unsustainable.

• While I take your general point, Greek teachers are a terrible example. They don’t actually do any teaching. Pretty much everyone in Greece, no matter how poor, hires special tuition for their children, because they know that the alternative is not to have an education.

• would you like to educate you kids in greece?

• Like I said; you cannot spend money you don’t have….

• Teachers get €1,000 a week.

• What is the price of a loaf of bread in Greece? Or a bottle of milk? An hours electricity?

Never have I seen such an audacious show of trolling, you are surely more intelligent than that? My lord that was silly.

• Pablo 12/02/13 #

A slice pan in Greece is 20c

• If a teachers pay was cut to €155 why would they go to work? The dole here is €165 a week and that’s just the cash payment, you add on top of that rent and other allowances

• So start by cutting social welfare, im all for helping people when there down but the billions we spend annually on welfare is unsustainable. Since the recession has hit welfare levels have not come down while peoples pay levels have

• ” Since the recession has hit welfare levels have not come down while peoples pay levels have”

Patently false. It was reduced from €204 per week to €196 per week to €188 per week.

• @ Killian

You need to educate yourself to prevent ignorant comments falling from your mouth. Those relying on SW have been the hardest hit . Core payments have drastically cut, OAPs have had a reduction of 10 euros to their telephone allowance in the last budget, a reduction to their Gas/ESB allowance in the previous, not to mention the big reduction to the carers respite grant. Married OAPs, where one is the carer of the other, have had their full medical cards taken from them which now means they have to pay the full 140 euros for their medication without the benefit of tax credits to offset this loss to their income. Those OAPs who are not married or single as well as people who have life long illness now have to pay a prescription charge of 1.50 per medication. These groups along with children ARE THE VULNERABLE in this country. Speaking of children, they didnt go untouched either with a cut to childrens allwance.

So before you comment next time I suggest you use google to check your facts, That way you wont look so ignorant and lazey.

• Con,

Killian (like most of the Unions) don’t give a shit about anyone else as long as they get their pay.

• I hope someone can prove me wrong, but I don’t see any proposed alternative to keeping pay levels in the current deficit.

• Tommy C 12/02/13 #

Jack, ”teachers get €1000 a week’? Are you serious?
      Im a PS worker on a salary of €41k. My net is €1800 A MONTH!
      I have a medical qualification. No one gets €1000 a week!

• Consultants?

“Quangos”?

• Fully supported. The Gardai have he toughest jobs and worst working hours of any of the public sector workers they are paid to deal with things that the rest of us are unable or unwilling to deal with.

• Theres not one good reason or excuse not to support them! They have tried to protect their rights but have fail in all steps they have made so far! They don’t have a union but I’m sure it they did they wouldn’t even get support from them! They are the people who give their lives to rescue us when we are in a burning building, protect us from harm if we ever need it and will serve us without a thank you from most of us! I’ve heard that there are Guards that qualify for FIS payments! This alone is an absolute disgrace! Let’s stand by them, they deserve it!

• Yes,100% behind them . We need the Garda to be effective and high in morale.
    That will reflect in their dealings with the public and put them in high standing .
    No point in having a demoralised force passing on their feelings of discomfort.

• Throwing money at something doesn’t improve “morale”. Structural reforms help to improve confidence in the public sector. The figures state that public sector wages are one of the biggest components of government spending.

• Cliona 12/02/13 #

Over worked and under paid is pretty much the story for all of us……

But unlike the the ordinary worker the guards are put under physical and mental assaults on a daily and sometimes hourly basis! They risk their own safety to provide us with ours!
    These men and women do a very hard job and don’t deserve the treatment they get from the Government and I will fully support any decision they take!

• blu flu…yes 100%…….but thats only the start….nurses, ambulance drivers, teachers, prison officers, fire men …..and those passport office workers again!!!!!!!….yes dont forget the passport people……..when they all sticj together and UNITE there will be only one winner……shame on this government , when most of their workers are forced to fight just to protect their wage, which at this stage with PRSI, USC, LEVIES deductions is only fractionally higher than the dole!!! …..im in the public service myself and most of my colleagues now have medical cards and claim family income supplement, their salary is that low…..no fear of a TD getting a cut……they can earn more than us by just using their un vouched allowances during the year!!!!!!Shocking

• Some people would be worried that criminals will have a field day, so I guess those people want a police force but they don’t seem to care how this police force that protects them is being treated by the government, sounds like those people and the criminals have a lot in common

• It doesn’t really matter if ye support it. It’s our families suffering. It’s us who are being depicted as highly paid civil servants which we are not. If we go Blu flu it will be to safeguard our wages which we have earned and deserve. Support us if ye like. If ye don’t like then don’t. Either way I’m fine with it.

• Yes without doubt. They enforce the laws of this country and put their lives on the line.

• Yes i would 100%. They are the guardians of peace. There should be an unlimited budget on an garda siochana resourses. No cuts.

• Yes I would for the reason that if government are serious they would not be breaking their own pay cap for some of their officials and advisers also if they are serious about bringing down the wage bill they would want to start with themselves first and stop comparing us to the UK where wages might be lower than here but the cost of living is also lower

• Lu 12/02/13 #

Cough cough!!!!!

• Go for it as I’m sure all frontline staff would support ye 100%

• “Doctors, nurses, firemen, Gardaí should never be allowed strike”… The only reason we don’t is our moral fiber that weaves this country from coast to coast! Individuals with their own agenda have nothing to do with our right to strike!
    Yes we keep to bargaining table and we negotiate our lives to protect our children, family and society without industrial unrest!
    That is the goal!
    This One Way Street at the bargaining table caused recently the unrest we are talking about today!
    INMO, SIPTU, GRA all have agreed for industrial action if frontline staff are affected in a anyway..
    They are trying to decrease our Sat. Sun and night shift premiums… Unacceptable.. 14,000 grand plus increase in PRSI… They will not get a penny more from direct pay… we have taken the biggest pay cut in this country 14,000/capita…
    We all know where the money can be saved… it’s not pay it’s the continual improvement in how we apply our trade by identifying the deficits and creating a methodology of change and create a cycle of change and implement the plan by getting rid of the waste and holding the gains…
    This way we save the money over time by working a little harder on improvement rather than taking money out of the hands of the frontline workers!
    By the way I don’t even get Saturday pay… 15 Euros for the whole day…
    If anything I want my full Saturday pay back with nonsocial working hour premiums…
    OH YEAH! I VOTE FOR INDUSTRIAL ACTION IF THEY TOUCH ANY OF OUR PAY

I don’t accept a penny out of my pocket while we can save money in so many different ways!

• Criminals will have a field day!

• So the guards should not stand up for themselves and be happy with being stretched to the limit? Is that what your saying. When they striking in sure every citizen of this country will row in behind them.

• Aoife the real criminals are having a field day the guards have turned a blind eye to white collar crime for donks you do not see any of them doin time so that should be proof that they look the other way also the other crew that looks the other way is the media they are also corrupt.

• White collar crime takes a long time to investigate and it’s up to the DPP not the guards. Also, I doubt that many gardaí are qualified accountants capable of even spotting these types of crimes let alone investigating them! I’m not saying they’re perfect but the vast majority to their job to a high standard of fairness and impartiality. As for people complaining about them not taking sides, like other protests or shell to sea etc… that’s the last thing you should want. Their job is to uphold the law objectively an impartially, not pick and choose.

• no ollie thats not what i said a minority in the guards have looked the other way when it comes to white collar crime almost to the point it does not exist and if im wrong show me where there is people in jail for banking and company offences,plusthese cuts are a direct link because of organised white collar crime.

• gearoid you say white collar crime takes time to investigate and it takes even longer when its not being investigated , all we hear is how its a complex and complicated investigation the information is there in front of them , it all sounds like excuses to me .

• No excuses Dermot. Has been widely reported that the legislation was found to be severely lacking before the banking crisis.

Also reported in the media that 3 former members of Anglo bank are before the courts. The evidence against them contains 28 million documents!!! Not a straight forward prosecution

• Well can you explain to me why they “picked and chose” to impede and abuse the protesters not under the flags of the unions, in Dublin last Saturday. ?

• Do you mean those protesters trying to piggy back on another protest and impeding that protest and the Gardai job to ensure a peaceful and safe protest?

• Colin C 12/02/13 #

The guards are legally not allowed to strike. They all knew tat when they signed up. They made good money when the money was there.

• Get over yourself Ollie O’Cleirigh. Did I mention any of that BS you said in your reply? No!

• @ Dermot that question was directed at aoife.

• I read between the lines miss smarty pants. Be more clear and concise in future. Tata and good evening

• I think the Garda were targeted by the banks to take loans at the height of the boom simply because of their secure jobs. Now their wives
    Usy take their assets as they can’t go bankrupt Di I feel sorry for them.

• No. There has to be a better way of industrial than calling in sick.

• *industrial action

• Any suggestions?

• I’m sure they’d be willing to listen if you have any suggestions. Given as how they’re legally barred from taking any actual industrial action and work-to-rule wouldn’t result in them working any differently as there’s already no overtime or anything.

• Like sit on the fence?

• Robs onto something, i think that’s it.

• They could quit en masse. Since they’re absolutely vital to the government, the government would have to give them all new contracts with better pay, better conditions and a future right to strike. After all, we know it’s perfectly possible to get emergency legislation through in an evening.

I can’t see anything that can possibly go wrong with this plan.

• That is literally the only form of protest they have available to them Declan. By law they cannot use any of the traditional methods of industrial action, such as an open strike.

• So if they all go on strike, they’ll all be arrested for breaking the law! The next question becomes fairly obvious. Eh?

• If there was I’m sure they would do it. They can’t join a union that’s the first joke. They cant strike its against the law. They are under resourced. You say that they are paid to protect this country, if these cuts come some Gardai will not be able to a afford to go to work. People really don’t under stand how bad it is.

• Its a complicated issue but there just has to be another way. What about not issuing fines or parking tickets or something like that? When you’re a public servant like that you can’t just walk out on the ordinary people of the country. What if everyone in health service did that and people died as a result? I know that there probably wont be a huge upturn in crime as a result but from a logical point of view emergency services can’t go on strike. This isn’t like closing a shop. This is a country. And we need these people.

• Colin C 12/02/13 #

No suggestions Denis. go ahead and break the law you’re sworn to uphold, and pretend that you’re not. It’s what Ireland’s all about and ye’re not the only ones at it. What age will you retire at, by the way?

• Colin, Declan said there has to be a better suggestion than a strike so I asked for said suggestion…

I never once said I’d go on strike or blue flu and I’d seriously weigh it up were it to come to that, not because it would be breaking the law(in the same way the government reneging on a contract they made until 2015 in 2013 would be breaking the law) but because its a moral issue. I would feel sorry for the people that would be left vulnerable by such an action.

Not that it’s any of your business, but I’d retire at 51, if I make it that far, which at the moment it looks like I won’t, having worked hard and paid a lot for my pension at the end. You have a problem with that too I’m guessing?

• I tried a similar strike once, didnt work, my employers believed i actually was sick.

• Latest Updates on Croke Park Extension Talks
    Croke Park Extension Talks – News Update 7. 06.02.13
    06 February 2013
    Attention All INMO Members

Dear Colleague
    As you may have seen there have been a number of developments, since our last update, with regard to issues arising from the ongoing talks on a possible extension to the Croke Park Agreement.

Arising from these developments I would ask you to note the following:

1. INMO Executive Council

The INMO Executive Council met yesterday, Tuesday, 5th February 2013, and considered, in great detail, all of the issues and concerns arising from the talks process to date.

As a result the Executive Council has decided that the current approach, by the government side, disproportionally attacks the pay of frontline workers, including nurses and midwives, and could not possibly form the basis of any agreement. The Executive Council has decided the INMO, in the next engagements with the management side, will have them confirm that they will adopt a more realistic approach, to the process, which will reflect the fact that frontline works have nothing more to give and cannot suffer a further reduction in their income.

The Executive Council will meet, following this next round of engagements as part of the talks. This will be to consider what, if any, changes have been made, by the management side, and review whether the INMO can continue to participate in the talks process. See press release, issued yesterday evening after the Council meeting.

2. 24/7 Frontline Services Alliance

The co-ordinating committee, of the 24/7 Alliance, met this morning, Wednesday, 6th February 2013, to further consider how, working collectively, all of the member organisations can adopt a collective strategy which will protect the income of all frontline workers e.g. nurses, midwives, prison officers, gardai and other emergency workers.

As a result of this the Alliance has decided to commence the first phase of a nationwide information campaign, for all members. This will be to identify the draconian impact, on members take home pay, from the range of options tabled by management as part of the talks process.

The first steps of this campaign involve the following:

• a joint press conference, involving members of the Executive Councils of all five organisations, will take place next Tuesday, 12th February 2013, to detail the serious impact of the management proposals on the income of frontline workers;

• on Monday, 18th February 2013, in Croke Park, at 7.30 p.m., a national meeting, of the activists/members of all of the 24/7 Alliance organisations, will take place to allow for further consultation and information;

• a submission is to be made, to Mr. Brendan Howlin TD, Minister for Public Expenditure and Reform, summarising the draconian nature of the measures tabled, to date, by his officials on frontline workers and to seek his response on same; and

• a nationwide lobbying campaign, using this submission, is then to commence, with all TDs and Senators, jointly with members of the 24/7 Alliance, in each constituency, seeking to establish the views of each public representative with regard to this issue.

See press release, issued today, from the 24/7 Alliance.

Summary

The Executive Council of the INMO cannot overemphasise the importance of the issues that are now arising, for the Organisation, on behalf of its members with regard to these talks on a possible extension to the Croke Park Agreement. In this regard it is vital that members fully update themselves, with regard to all of the information we will be giving out, in the coming days, and, if possible, attend the national meeting in Croke Park or the subsequent local meetings.

The INMO Executive Council is determined, working collectively with these fellow organisations that also represent essential frontline staff, to take every measure possible, preferably through negotiations, to protect the income of our members.

A further update will issue following any further engagements with management or other developments.

Thank you for your attention to this note and please give it the widest possible circulation in your workplace and bring it to the attention of all members.

Yours sincerely

LIAM DORAN

General Secretary

• Yes – if the Gardai acknowledge that their SOLE duty is to (1) uphold the Constitution, (2) protect the property and rights of Irish citizens and (3) Keep the Peace. They must be the Guardians of the Peace that they call themselves and not the POLICY OFFICERS of corporate government. Realise who you work for, who pays your wages and who you are sworn to serve. Stand with us and we’ll happily stand with you.

• I think the guards should get the same level of support that they give to the people.
    They run with the hare and hunt with the hounds so i think the people should do the same.
    In this financial climate,its everyman for himself.
    All the best lad,,,ye reep what ye sow…

• No, the guards are directed by the minister and his personally appointed Garda management to take a particular stance towards protestors, the public etc. They cannot refuse nor express their own views precisely because they have no representation or union. Don’t confuse the two. So when protestors or joe public is given short shrift then don’t blame the poor sod in uniform, he /she is not allowed to think or risk facing dismissal.

• We were only following orders….thats sounds so familiar and is not a excuse for going againest the law itself, beating protesters and slaming there heads into walls would fall under the going aginest the law themselves. I think the guards did themselves massive PR damage in tallaght the other night, no excuse’s for what they did to the protesters.

• Then make a complaint to the GSOC if you aren’t happy. Ask yourself who creates the law and who’s interest any law protects. But no, you’d prefer to have a go at the badly paid, demoralised Garda. You’re playing right into the government’s hand. They take your money and my money and the guards money to pay themselves and their friends fat salaries and refund their developer friends who lost in a gamble. And when us plebs react they set us all against eachother. Was Martin Callinan or Alan Shatter out policing the protest?

• @jack, they did not look very demoralised when kneeling on a guys neck yesterday night in tallaght! or was the guard whispering in his ear “this is gonna hurt me more than it hurts you!” to make it seem like the Guard had no choice and was “only following orders”.

From a public perspective these are the same guards who persecute protesters in mayo threatening to rape them.

The same Guards who stormed the council office in Tallaght assaulting protesters.

The same Guards who protect Baliffs and sheriffs repossesing family homes for the banks.

The same Guards who sit by and watch a corrupt goverment squash the public, yet when the goverment looks in there direction they expect sympathy from the very people they fail to protect.

If you did this poll on Saturday night or even Sunday night I would bet the currenty 50% No support would be a Yes, unfortunatly the guards don’t know when they have a good thing going, they had the public’s support and then suddenly they do something stupid because “they were only following orders” like Mondays nights Debacle in Tallaght.

As regards who creates the Law and who’s interest it protects, the goverments ofc. If the guards know the goverment are corrupt then why don’t they get off there collective ass’s and go do something about it, because at the moment it looks like the guards are doing nothing about any corruption in leinster house. Actions speak louder than words especially in this case.

• The ‘rape’ threat has now been dismissed as vexatious and proven that the tape was edited. But nice try. The guards stormed the Tallaght offices? How bizarre! I thought it was the protestors who stormed the offices therefore illegally trespassing. The rest of your response is as nonsensical and again loaded with hearsay. You obviously have a problem with authority.

• And FYI the public will never and should never support a total withdrawal of the Gardai. The Gardai are vital so that the savages don’t attack people like you and I. I fear the day the Gardai withdraw their services because you’ll see then just how much they do for us. Every citizen of this country should do what is absolutely necessary to ensure the Gardai don’t walk out.

• So the whole force are guilty in ur eyes ?

• 50,50, Still better polling than the goverment has, its probably inevitable

• If one calls in sick when one is not sick that is a lie. To go on strike is a completely different thing. Call things by their right names.

• Guards can’t strike this is their only option

• That is the right name Rita, they can’t strike, per say, because they are not allowed to have a union. They just have a rep body to carry back the bad news from government, on a regular basis.

• Is that some sort of code Rita? It’s hard to decipher.

• Their other option is to leave the force. They knew when they joined up that they were not allowed to strike. It’s part of the deal of becoming a Garda.

• Emily, when we signed up we also saw how much we would get paid for the length of our careers. The Government are trying to substantially lower these pay rates. Our numbers are being reduced. Members are being assaulted too frequently and the courts don’t impose penalties to deter people from repeating offences. Maybe you should look at our pay and conditions, look at the proposed cuts and ask yourself would you put up with it?

• Have you ever called in sick when you weren’t? I’m sure you have like most. This is the only method the guards have as they are not allowed strike or be unionised. How draconian is that?! I’m fully behind them.

• They also signed up for various work conditions and pay scales which were changed or reneged upon by successive governments. But it’s easy to victimise those without redress or a voice. The government can’t just cherry pick what aspects of the deal they want to comply with and get rid of the one that doesn’t suit. Good people break bad laws.

• Yes Emily, the conditions have changed from when they first joined. take home pay is down 20% and doing more for less. I doubt they were told that would happen when they signed up! We’d probably all love to just change job for a better one, but it’s not as simple as that. And that’s why your comment is a dumbass one!

• Lads ye are trying to explain an important issue to someone called “Emily Elephant” ye’re not in copper face jacks now boys!

• Rita technically they are not lying if they ring in sick as they are sick and tired of the shit they have to put up with from government and senior management who have no backbone to deal with the current problems appropriately.

• You could start by understanding that it’s two issues, Gerry.

(1) Should Garda pay be open for negotiation or not?

(2) If not, is pretending to be sick when you’re not the right way to go about it?

Me, I take the old-fashioned view that I don’t really want the guardians of the law to be committing fraud. I guess some people are ok with it, though.

• I love how people present the option of leaving a job as if its a realistic option for anyone. As if being so principled would feed your kids….

• Really ? Is it not reasonable to expect adjustments when the amount available for pay is reduced and government is borrowing to fund pay. Are you suggest ing public spending near no relationship to revenue ?

• Don’t be so naive, that’s government spin. These ministers and Garda management and senior civil servants and judges are bleeding the country dry! The expenses of one minister would pay two Gardai for a year! Wake up!

• But you would run out of ministers to cover your two policemen quite quickly. It doesn’t seem too harsh to take view when economic circumstances change so must pay and conditions . Not saying its a good thing .

• Let them eat cake, ay?

• Or how about the attitude given to Gardai, namely if the ministers don’t like it they can quit and get another job? Pfff!

• 25% rob plus new cut would bring it to 32% since start of austerity,

• I agree with Rita Larkin.

• Foreign Esf, what’s you’ve described sounds like an accurate description of nursing and nobody cares about marching for nurses while the wages are cut, work increased and yes, no one cares when we are assaulted regularly… Garda & nurses …. One is no more important than the other. Society cannot function without either, but you expect that the public should rally behind your cause in particular?… What makes you so much more important than everyone else being screwed over by the government?

• Foreign Esf, what’s you’ve described sounds like an accurate description of nursing and nobody cares about marching for nurses while the wages are cut, work increased and yes, no one cares when we are assaulted regularly… Garda & nurses …. One is no more important than the other. Society cannot function without either, but you expect that the public should rally behind your cause in particular
      ?… What makes you so much more important than everyone else being screwed over by the government??

• All the guards call in sick and me house gets robbed? No thanks.

• The Journal is milking this. All you’re doing is playing on people’s emotions. This horse has already been flogged.

• @harry the journal is gauging people opinions in a cross sectional survey. I find the percentages displayed helpful even if they are not representatives of the overall population.

I think it’s quick and informative.

• Yes – if the Garda Commissioner explains the strong arm tactics of the Gardai who assaulted peaceful independent protesters in Dame Street on Feb 9th. Video footage available.

• I was at that rally myself and saw a guy with a home made mace with nails driven through it on all sides. I also saw people throwing glass bottles at an older Garda on Burgh Quay. My friends and I left because of the violence from these so called ‘peaceful’ protesters. And to my knowledge no Guard was convicted of any wrongdoing.

• I hope the government stands-up to the Unions.

• Jack, look it up bud….. Also in the video clip you can see a young lad no more then 12 balling hes eyes out when the thug guard comes and tries to push them off the street!!! All because the marched in front of the Unions and not behind them like ”They were told”…. The Unions didnt move off there ass’s for nearly 2 yrs while still taking home as much as the Corrupt Government so why should people listen to them now!!!

• SuperFry 12/02/13 #

Why shouldn’t they be here, is it cose they took er jerbs?

• Jack Cass you are so far wrong on your comments its beyond funny. Why dont you you look at the footage on fb regarding garda harassment. I was there on Sat and tgeir behaviour was above and beyond the call of duty. The protesters showed remarkable restraint

• Send me the link. I’ve never seen a Garda randomly assault anyone and I’m on this earth a fairly long time. And while you’re at it I’d like you to define ‘peaceful protest’. If the people who you claim were randomly assaulted for exercising their constitutional right to protest then I agree that it is wrong. Somehow though I don’t think it is how you portray it.

• Jack its all over fb. I cant link aa Ive been in this planet a long time too. But I can assure you it happened. I was shocked as up to now I would have supported the gardai 100%. But this was above and beyond the call if duty. Some of them were inciting a riot themselves for no reason. The protesters at the front of the march showed remarkable restraint

• Every person has a right to protest and any I’ve been to its the Gardai who have shown restraint. I’ve seen Gardai spat on, verbally abused and daubed with paint.

• Well Jack its up to you what you want to see. I know what I saw I was there. And I never protested before but didnt want to march under any union banner which is my right. Not all gardai behaved in this manner I have to say. But some actually enjoyed it. These gardai need to be rooted out for the good of all. They taint the good ones

• It’s not what I want to see and that’s a dreadfully cynical attitude. I see what’s in front of me and I can only speak about my experiences. No person should subject another to unlawful violence. When you been on enough protests you get to know the faces of those who are habitual troublemakers. I want to see everyone exercising their right to protest so long as that doesn’t mean infringing on the rights of anyone else. Everyone, including Gardai should
      play by the rules. If protest were genuinely peaceful and within the constitution you keep referring to, then Gardai wouldn’t be needed at all.

• The gardai were obviously led by the unions that day because the unions didnt want us in front of the march. I know what I saw and was shocked by it. There was no need for gardai kicking and pushing and grabbing the flag that day. They were peaceful protesters. If the gardai had their way there would have been a riot. They were provoking people to their last. But the protesters didnt rise to it. Included in the group protesting was a blind guy and a lady on crutches who had their ankles kicked.

• Here you go Jack.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uk63ivSqME8&feature=player_embedded

Guards pushing protesters off the road ect simply for protesting. Now don’t let the truth hurt you, I am sure they “were only following orders”

• I watched that video and saw nothing wrong with it, Gardai showed great restraint in dealing with Anarchists trying to block a peaceful union protest. In fact the Gardai appear to be protecting the people’s right to protest which is being obstructed by some anonymous waster

• You’ve actually done yourself a disservice by posting that. I only see one thug who wore a black leather jacket with his face covered and hood up. Are you totally blinded to reality. Your ‘protestors’ attempted to disrupted the others’ right to protest. Shame on you.

• Couldn’t agree more. I have no time for violence whoever the perpetrator is but I think the Gardai should be commended for the restraint shown here. The ‘protestor’ in the leather jacket hadn’t the decency to show his face and was trying to provoke the Gardai. If someone is going to use video evidence it should really support their argument!! Idiots!!

• Love it, stand up for the nation by covering your face with scarves, masks and hoodys!! What are they trying to hide? These “brave” men do not speak for me and the majority of Irish people..

• I was calling for full support but the way the council protestors were treated across the country yesterday and protestors were treated last weekend, and the constant ill treatment of those in Rossport they can go and kiss my ar$e now.

respect is a two way street but they’ve got it blocked off so…

• Exactly Gearóíd…garda or private citizens..we all have the right to protest without getting intimidated and in some cases battered and with some gardai, their power goes to their head and they just lash out….

• You’re forgetting that it’s the same minister and Garda commissioner who sent those Gardai to police those protests. They are the ones who deserve your anger. A Garda cannot refuse to perform their duty, regardless of their own personal views or face dismissal. I think that’s the point the rank and file Gardai are trying to make here. If a soldier goes to war it’s nothing personal against his opposite soldier, he is following orders.

• they can decide whether they want to abuse their own people or not so in that regard i will ave to disagree with their heavy handed approach

• I’ve been on many a march and never saw anyone being assaulted or abused by Gardai. I was never assaulted or abused by Gardai. I’m not saying you aren’t being truthful, I wasn’t there in this occasion so I don’t know the full circumstances. Maybe those you say were badly dealt with were doing something outside a peaceful protest.

• That’s an obviously biased response by someone with a predisposition towards authority. If you have evidence that a guard committed an offence or crime you should bring that to the relevant authority and not make general anti establishment remarks on social media sites. The Irish police are by far the most approachable and reasonable police service I’ve ever met.

• Some protesters in Rossport not innocent themselves. People seem to think that a peaceful protest means they can endanger/block traffic, hurl abuse at and goad the Gardai, damage private property etc etc

As for protesters in the Council buildings, most were ejected without incident or arrest. Some protesters were deemed by Gardai to have went too far and arrested.

Most people don’t seem to understand the term ‘reasonable force’ which is lawfully used to effect all arrests of persons suspected of committing an offence

• The way they have treated the peaceful protesters in Rossport is shameful. The FF government gave away our oil and gas to Shell and have protected their interests ever since. The gardai should withdraw their protection with immediate effect. Its not like we,re going to benefit from our own natural recources. 25% tax only after Shells exploration costs have been deducted. its a bloody scam, Ray Burke he made the deal

• I wouldn’t support it, if they go on strike they are breaking the law, if they call in sick they are receiving money through fraudulent means ie, getting sick pay and not actually being sick.

Their unions and representative should sit down with the government, sticking your head in the sand never works.

• Your lack of support for people who want to protect their rights is the kind of attitude that allows this gov to get away with cutting pay, and taxing the life and soul out if the hard working people country! They know there are so many pushovers like you about willing to accept everything they are giving! Shameful really!

• See my previous comment. If you have never called in sick nor texted, tweeted or made/taken a phonecall in work then cast the first stone. Another one who wants to cherry pick what is right and wrong to suit their own standards. Idiot.

• Dec, I think that Garda pay should be increased not decreased, my issue is with how the Gardai are going about this.

Jack, the last word in your comment is Idiot, so I won’t respond to that.

• You just did respond, thus proving my last word.

• I think the garda deserve better and in protest they should go on a “blu flu”, but I’d just wish some gardai would also respect the thousands of protesters across the country because some (and I say some) lash out very quickly with force on peaceful,protesting citizens who in many instances are protesting against cuts to gardai along with all the other cuts!!!!

• They don’t have a union that’s the point. It’s the only way of getting the message across. The days of sitting down and hashing it out and coming up with a deal are gone. No more cuts.

• After their recent displays of violence against peaceful protesters, actually hospitalizing one 19 year old in Dublin, how do they expect support from Irish citizens. @Jack Cass, as a former member of the security forces in this country, I can tell you that it is illegal to follow an illegal order from your superior officer. Their behaviour in Dublin was disgraceful.

• If anyone was illegally treated by a Garda then you are fully entitled to make a complaint and follow legal procedure to have that Garda prosecuted as any other citizen.

• Oh my, I was thumbed down. Some people just do not like the truth.

• Are you telling us that a 19 year old was singled out and randomly assaulted by Gardai while engaging in a peaceful protest? I’m sorry, but I find that hard to believe. Are you sure you aren’t just sore because one of yours was sentenced last week for a vicious assault on a female Garda when he tried to break her neck?

• Do you really believe any injury caused was intentional?????

I don’t think so but if you do and were there then make a complaint to GSOC

• @ Jack ass…. Yes there was a 19 yr old assaulted by a THUG Guard in Plain Clothes in Dublin last nite, if you watched the news you would see it for yourself!! I can also link you videos of thug guards bullying protesters on the March on Saturday which are all over FB & Twitter…. I would support them but they need to understand there job which is to PROTECT the people of this Country, not bully and harass them!!

• Its in our constitution to allow us to protest peacefully. Its also stated that our garda are peacekeepers not law enforcers. A point they seem to have forgotten. I was at the march on Sat in Dublin and the behaviour of the garda was above and beyond the call of duty. Its all fine to say take a case against the garda but if you live in the real world it doesnt always work that simply. Up to Sat I would have backed the garda 100% but now Im sceptical. I was shocked on Sat. Its one thing to follow ordres its another to enjoy doing it. The garda need to decide are they protecting unions and government or the peaceful people of this country.

• Richard 13/02/13 #

If it meant they took a break from slamming peaceful protesters’ heads into walls, I certainly wouldn’t object.

• Greed. They’re lucky to have a job.
    Fire anyone who calls on sick and hire people back on 20% less pay. Other people would snap up those jobs.
    They don’t seem to do much when they’re in work. The police did nothing when my cat was poisoned and killed and did nothing about a much more serious crime happened last summer.

• Just let me know when so I have time to buy a black balaclava swag bag and a black all in one the daffodils are coming up in the park and I can’t afford to buy them.

• Harry C 12/02/13 #

Remember the last blue flu? Well I don’t think ye ever fully got over it if you excuse the pun. There ain’t goin to be any winners here only suffering to poor innocent people up and down the length and breadth of the country. Its always the way. There has to be a better way to air your grievances.

• Big no. Doctors, nurses, firemen, Gardaí should never be allowed strike.