TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 8 °C Tuesday 21 May, 2013

Portraits of tainted taoisigh ‘should be removed from Leinster House’ – senator

James Heffernan says the public gallery, which forms part of tours, should not feature portraits of disgraced politicians.

James Hanley's €10,000 portrait of Bertie Ahern, which was hung in Leinster House last year.
Image: Office of Public Works

A LABOUR SENATOR has called on Leinster House authorities to consider removing the portraits of former taoisigh who have been implicated in the reports of various Tribunals.

James Heffernan says the portraits, which hang in the public gallery of Leinster House, should be removed so as not to be seen as an endorsement of their abuse of power and privilege.

“When I got into politics I did so because I had studied and admired politicians who worked for the betterment and benefit of their fellow citizens and indeed society in general,” the Limerick-based senator said this evening.

“To have those who have been found culpable of corruption, abuse of power and privilege and of perjury, smiling down on all those who walk past them is not the kind of message that we need to give to those who visit Leinster House.”

The calls follow clamour from government TDs and MEPs to withdraw pension entitlements from former office holders who are connected with inappropriate behaviour in the Beef, McCracken, Moriarty and Mahon tribunals.

While Heffernan said he supported stripping those pensions, doing so would probably require elaborate legislation which might take considerable time to implement – and that removing their portraits would be a meaningful interim measure.

“I think that it would be a strong symbolic message to send out if the offending portraits were removed from their prestigious position in Leinster House,” he said.

The Leinster House portrait of Bertie Ahern, painted by James Hanley and costing the taxpayer €10,000, was hung earlier this year. Oireachtas convention dictates that the portraits of former taoisigh are not displayed until they have left the Dáil.

Read: Portrait of Bertie Ahern to finally get its place in Leinster House

Read next:

Comments (88 Comments)

• Draw willies on their heads.

• I think they should be hung a foot lower and leave them up. It would send out a powerful message to anyone that came to Leinster house that the corruption of these people will never be forgotten and that their names are mud for as long as the state exists.

• The walls will be bare so.

• @Caitriona

Very good point! Very interesting to see how many should come down. Hard to say what to do. There’s a part of me that wants to take them down post haste! and shred them as ‘Jimbo’ suggested and then into the ‘black bin’. I would hate to see any part of them being used in the future eg. paper, even toilet paper!

The other side of me is feeling, leave them up, to warn others of what will happen when we make inquiries about them (we might see a few of them taking early retirement!). I personally would take aherne’s down.

Two reasons. First reason is that it’s an awful painting. When one stands on the stairs and looks at all of the past Taoiseach’s, aherne’s is very different. It’s too blue and too modern looking. All the other ones are softer, warmer ‘older’ colours and are very nice. Maybe our artist friend did this on purpose! Maybe he had an alternative motive and this is it! He knew he’d have a ‘downfall’ at some stage! To aherne, he thought he had ‘blue blood’ and was different to the plebes/electorate! I would take it down for all of those reasons.

The second reason would be, that I personally hate liars and individuals that are ‘short’ with the truth. Just because it wasn’t written, doesn’t mean that you can take back handers/brown envelopes because to YOU, aherne, it was ‘the norm’. So ….. I would take it down and burn it on the steps of Dail Eireann with him watching it until it turns to ashes. So, my two suggestions were actually to take it down. Sorry, don’t see any other reasons to leave it up.

• I’d love to see a portrait of Willie Clancy up there.

• Actually, leave them hanging, but in a different room, purely for the likes of Bertie & Albie Reynolds!! But make sure and have a big brass plate below each…’Behold Irish Traitor!’

• “I think it would be a strong symbolic message”, I’ve a better strong symbolic message, remove his pension, and bring him to court.

• They should be left there. Whether or not some of our Taoisigh were tainted, the fact remains they were our Taoisigh. This would verge ominously close to a rewriting of our history. Mark them, certainly. Perhaps in black, or have them lopsided. Perhaps have them at a lower level to the others. Maybe even upside down. Then we would be able to show our descendants these criminals and point them out. A constant reminder of failing to properly consider those we elect and to always be vigilant of those with the power to abuse the citizens of this country.

• I agree with you on this. If we want to remvoe anything then we should remove FF from the Dail by not voting for them anymore. That can be Bertie et al’s legacy

(Proud to say, I never voted for them)

• John 27/03/12 #

I agree Brian, u can’t white wash history just cos u don’t like it. Leave the portraits nd concentrate on stopping their pensions which is a real result. Another politician proposing pointless actions.

• Put them into the jacks !

• History will not be kind to Bertie. Leave it up so people can talk about his traitorous failings and prevent them from being forgotten

• How about a wall of shame

• Put them up for auction and donate proceeds to charity so put of bad can come somerhing good..

• I’ve said it before and I will say it again: you get the government you deserve.

If people choose not to engage in the political process what else do they expect?

For years people said what does it matter…they are all the same. That may be do, but only because we never held them accountable at the ballot box.

• True Oisin, unfortunately it’s us sensible people who know this and the majority of the electorate seem to just follow along with the same old practice of “well my family has voted them for years so I have to”

• Oisin & Paddy, you are both right here, sad but true. I so believe that you get the government that you vote for.
      That attitude existed when I lived in Ireland up to 1985 and it seems that apart from the last election that it has continued to thrive.
      When I lived there, everyone was suspicious of Haughey, what with his mansion, yacht, island etc, yet continued ot vote for him, couldn’t understand it because there is no better informed or educated people about political process/parties, yet they voted for crooks who were thumbing their noses at the electorate.
      So when I left in 1985 for 2 years, I never returned to live, so glad now that I didn’t.

• Nope leave it up. Remind the rest of the shower. If they act up and are corrupt . They will eventually be caught. Eventually mind.

• Removing a few paintings will not rewrite history. Might generate a few questions from visitors but who cares. Get them down, sell them and donate any money to bernados or st. V de Paul.

• jimbo 27/03/12 #

They should be put through a shredded..

• What annoys me most is that a man received money from Owen O’Callaghan. Later that money ended up “resting” in his wifes account. Now that same man is standing on a pedestal saying those found to be wrong by the Mahon tribunal should be held accountable…I do agree with that sentiment. Unfortunately Michael Martin means they should be held accountable…not for doing wrong but FOR GETTING CAUGHT!!!

Disband the party and do us a favour and resign you hypocritical good for nothing

• Auction it off and donate the paltry figure to st Vincent de Paul

• The portrait should be left to hang. He lead an elected gov into office for 3 terms – electorate should be reminded of this. The emperor wears no clothes.

• Just build on a new hall of shame gallery. There would be a lot of empty picture hooks in the rest of the house afterwards…

• They should do what they do on the xfactor and put up a faded grey photo of his face, with a big red X blazoned across it.

• I think that James Heffernan has a good point.
    And I am sure that the majority of readers would support this move.

• jimbo 27/03/12 #

They should be shredded

• It shoulb be the other way around.Pictures removed and Bertie shredded

• John my simple comrade. I am genuinely baffled at what seems to be a massive number of citizens reaction to Mahon. We have all known for years that Bertie, Flynn, & Co are crooks. We elected Bertie to office in 2007 despite his ridiculous explanations re his financial affairs. In short, we all knew Bertie and FF were crooks who were scamming the system to line their own pockets. But we didn’t care, times were good for all, so we lauded Bertie as our luttle scoundrel. For the last few years Cowen Has been our fav public hate figure, along with Drum and Fitzpatrick. Now all of a sudden the Mahon report officially tells us what we have known for years and Bertie is now public enemy number one, and every unhappy disgruntled half wit in the country with a drum to bang on is calling for his head. Imprison him, expel him, take down his picture, etc. its pathetic, absolutely pathetic self righteous selective behaviour from the usual shower of ‘upright citizens’. John a simple man you seem to be with your self serving smug comments. Ah to see the world through your eyes must be akin to taking a vacation without my intellect. I assume somewhere in your reply will be the wirds “Israel is a true democracy…”, you twat.

• Anton, WE did not vote for Bertie as the leader of the country. The voters of Dromchondra and what ever constitutiency (sp) that area belongs to did that over and over again. Then the FF party decided he should be their leader and on it goes.

Due to the way the political system works in this country the voters do not have the power to vote for a Taoiseach or even the leader of a party. The FF party voted him as leader of FF.

So to say WE voted for Ahern and Cowen into leadership positions is not true. Now the majority of the country voted FF for many years (happy to say I or my family never did and never will) so that may have contributed to the problem.

• A Labour Senator – God help is , the pot calling —– LOOK AT YOUR OWN PARTY. Oisin Quinn was found guilty of 4 breaches of ethics in lobbying fellow councillors for planning/ developement for property he was part owner of just recently. Did the planning get rebuked – never. Will he be expelled – never. Raoire his uncle wouldent have it. FF left a legacy and it’s called Labour.

• yes remove the pictures and airbrush them out of history ….

except I wonder can you do the same to the people who voted them in ….

• alan 27/03/12 #

take down the picture

hang up the man. and leave him there to rot quietly for all to see

• Could not agree with you more Philip.
    Its amazing how often it was trotted out by the previous FF government that something ethical could not be done because of legal difficulties and now we have Enda saying exactly the same thing about taking away the pensions from those politicians who have robbed the country. However when it comes to introducing legislation to force people to pay the household charge, Phil the “bullyboy” hulk Hogan does not see any difficulty.
    “Where there is a will there is a way” but there is no will in this government to do the right thing about the unjust pensions still being paid to those thieves. There is far more of a will to squeeze more money from the ordinary citizen. SHAME

• Has anyone spared a thought for the artist???? No….. Make Bertie pay for it and remove it from sight.

• Just hang it up in the toilet, preferably on the back of the urinals then visitors can do to him what he did to the country.

• They should put a picture of me in Leinster House :-)

• Should we not go 1 further and base pay on performance?? I’m private sector and if I make a decision that losses my company alot of money then I risk losing my job and or pay cut. Base ministers pension/pay on performance then we might see some honest work (Dempsey and e-voting for 50 million comes to mind)

• His name is on plaques all over the rotunda hospital. I’d never noticed before but last time I was in there they really stood out. I suppose I ignored them before but now that he’s been ‘exposed’ you can’t help but see his name as dirt

• I’m the first to stand up for everyone’s right – even you, Bertie, are entitled to your rights. But I do think in all sincerity you abuse the right to be ugly.

• Hé and many other politicians were / are corrupt, even the dogs in the street knew that, ever since Charlie Haughy started the ball rolling.
    But he was voted in time and again, he has not been found guilty of any crime, Why??
    Seems like corruption is a major part of Irish life, How many of you now calling for his head on a platter, have never done a ” nixer” or had one done,
    Tax and VAT avoidance and the black economy is all part and parcel of the same corruption. Which brought Ireland to it’s knees.
    Hypocrites!

• @B7584

Have to agree with. Immediately, while we’re on a roll! Leave them with nothing! They can try selling one of their many homes. See how much they’d for, they may be gone down in huge value like all of ours!!!!! Touche’ asshole!!! I don’t see ya smiling now!!!!!!!! Jail, for all, Mountjoy would be too good for them.

• He still has not been found guilty of any criminal offence in a court of law. The politicians in there know that and are playing to the media. Whether we like it or not any attempt to interfere with his pension rights based on the report of the tribunal, which itself admitted it could find no evidence of corruption, is doomed to failure in the High or Supreme Court and at much greater cost to the taxpayer. If and when the gardai investigate they find evidence which leads to a successful prosecution then by all means change the law to take the pension.

• yet very astute Legal eagles gave their findings in the tribunal reports…… and now we have to wait for more reports to be brought before if ever justice to be seen DISGRACEFUL

• skeolawn 28/03/12 #

We should put their price underneath each picture, with a special yellow pack tag for Bertie who sold himself so cheaply.

• I think it would be suitable to keep the portrait, and hang beside it a copy of that GREAT shot of Bertie that appeared in the journal.ie yesterday–you know the one–he’s 35 kilos heavier, looking a little disheveled, mouth-breathing, with a dumb expression on his face. It was a grand representation. It shouted “corrupt!”.

Short of that, a silicone likeness of his head could be hoisted on a pike at Dublin Castle.

• I am genuinely baffled at what seems to be a massive number of citizens reaction to Mahon. We have all known for years that Bertie, Flynn, & Co are crooks. We elected Bertie to office in 2007 despite his ridiculous explanations re his financial affairs. In short, we all knew Bertie and FF were crooks who were scamming the system to line their own pockets. But we didn’t care, times were good for all, so we lauded Bertie as our luttle scoundrel. For the last few years Cowen our fav has been public hate figure, along with Drum and Fitzpatrick. Now all of a sudden the Mahon report officially tells us what we have known for years and Bertie is now public enemy number one, and every unhappy disgruntled half wit in the country with a drum to bang on is calling for his head. Imprison him, expel him, take down his picture, etc. its pathetic, absolutely pathetic self righteous selective behaviour from the usual shower of ‘upright citizens’.

• I am genuinely baffled at what seems to be a massive number of citizens reaction to Mahon. We have all known for years that Bertie, Flynn, & Co are crooks. We elected Bertie to office in 2007 despite his ridiculous explanations re his financial affairs. In short, we all knew Bertie and FF were crooks who were scamming the system to line their own pockets. But we didn’t care, times were good for all, so we lauded Bertie as our luttle scoundrel. For the last few years Cowen our fav has been public hate figure, along with Drum and Fitzpatrick. Now all of a sudden the Mahon report officially tells us what we have known for years and Bertie is now public enemy number one, and every unhappy disgruntled half wit in the country with a drum to bang on is calling for his head. Imprison him, expel him, take down his picture, etc. its pathetic, absolutely pathetic self righteous selective behaviour from the usual shower of ‘upright citizens’

• We heard you the first three times

• mattoid 28/03/12 #

There’s definitely an echo in here…

• He’s right though! And it does seem Irish people need to hear things quite a number of times before they listen, haha

• To be fair he did make a vital contribution to the peace process (oooohhhhh controversial!!)

• Change them into dart boards or spittoons.

• If they’re coming down can we replace them with other people? I’d rather look at Jim Stynes than Bertie. Seems aprt with the week that’s in it

• We should leave the portraits there but deface them with markers. You know, draw mustaches, eye patches, remove teeth and write silly comments…

• Portrait should be left up, we the irish people elected him three times and knew very well in 2007 that he received some money from other sources than his wages.
    But we were happy because our own interests were being looked after, now the ship has “hit the rocks” and we the same electorate that voted Fianna Fail in three times in a row are looking for a scapegoat to blame.
    Don’t get me wrong all these political pensions should be drastically cut to a normal level,
    But we the Irish people have spent over €300,000,000 to find out that some politicians received €150,000 without paying income tax on the money.
    The legal system here is after getting away with a robbery that the IRA would be proud of.
    And I bet you they will be mad to set up another tribunal about the last tribunal for more easy money.

• Should be left hanging to remind those who would be corrupt that it might take years, but the State WILL get them in the end.

• get a grip Senator and earn your keep by doing proper work and not worrying about paltry things like a portrait… surely their are more important things to be done like helping business grow and creating jobs… so earn your ¢60k plus please

• replace him with a fine lingerie clad portrait of Georgia Salpa…

• Who bloody cares they are only paintings.

• Remove them and make them into dart boards. At least the portraits would be useful that way

• I think there should be a bronz statue on oconnell st of bertie for all he has done for the country when he was in power .never mind his few nixers .

• If we were to take down the portraits of every taoseach who was dishonest there would be an awful lot of blank walls in Leinster house. This is a farcical suggestion by a party tainted with dishonesty. Whilst the Mahon reoprt does throw out Bertie’s explanation of funds it in no way finds him guilty of wrong doing. Innocent until proven guilty is still a law we live by in Ireland

• Hi Owen,

I agree with you. However the Criminal Assets Bureau did manage to catch a number of drug dealers etc. by asking them to prove that they earned the money legally.

If they had not declared the earnings for tax (or even if they had) they can be prosecuted for earning money through criminal activities.

Could the same strategy not be used with Bertie et al.? If he cannot prove he earned it honestly then jail him for tax evasion if nothing else.

• I think they should be left there to remind us that we’re (and still might be!) a nation of rogues!

• louise 28/03/12 #

Can I stick pencils in his eyes ?

Add New Comment