TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 6 °C Thursday 23 May, 2013

Postman Pat quits jobs two months after big Lotto win

Friends said yesterday that Pat (47) had agonised for weeks about whether he would continue to work.

Pat Broderick with wife Mary after his big win
Image: Photocall Ireland

A COUNTY Cork postman who scooped €7 million in the Lotto has finally quit his job – two months after hitting the jackpot.

Kinsale father-of-four Pat Broderick had been agonising over his future while on paid leave from his job for the past eight weeks, reports the Irish Independent.

However, the lure of the pre-dawn starts wasn’t strong enough, and he told his bosses he would not be returning to work, the Irish Sun reports.

Despite the multi-million euro windfall,  little has changed in the life of the down-to-earth 47-year-old, who can be seen most days walking his dog round the Co Cork town.

Far from splashing his cash, he and wife Mary (45) have only taken one foreign holiday — a short break to Portugal’s Algarve.

Read next:

Comments (9 Comments)

• must …. resist….making….jealous…comment…..:…………. ahhhhh cant help it , ya lucky bastard!!!

• I wish!

• Yes Andy he is and he’s also entitled to keep his job if he wants, a job is not always just about money. The fact that he has resigned will give someone else a job. Feck the begrudgers I say!

• 8 weeks paid leave? Really? 8 weeks?

Only in Ireland could you work in the Public Sector, win the Lotto and then, go on 8 weeks paid leave.

An Post is going to need to cut out that kind of lark, before privatisation.

J.

• Same thoughts, at least he could go for unpaid leave and get them to donate his wages to charity or something, for Christ sake why would you need that couple grand if there’s couple million in your pocket. In those hard times when so many struggle to provide for family information like that is not going to be well accepted. Post could have employ some part time guy to help somebody out there rather paying such generous leave to lotto winner. Unless that’s hidden an post advertising – look people how good employer we are. Anyways congrats. to the jammy winner :-)

• Andy 07/06/11 #

Whether or not the guy is a Lotto winner he is entitled to whatever paid leave he is due.
      Fair play and good luck to him.

• +1

• Andy and Joan I understand he is still entitled to annual leave being paid, but in his shoes I would not dare to take any, would straight go into charity, maybe he actually did that, fair play to him if he did, its not clear out of this news. Also if you reckon work is just not only about money which I agree, then why he took maximum leave just before quitting, it proves you don’t make sense in his case :) You contradict yourself.

Add New Comment