TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 9 °C Tuesday 21 May, 2013

Pressure on Government as Magdalene Laundries report due

Survivors are demanding an official State apology, as well as the return of lost wages and a proper compensation scheme.

Magdalenes from the Gloucester Street Laundry in 1960
Image: @louiselowe3 via Twitter

SURVIVOR ADVOCACY GROUPS continue to apply pressure to the Government this morning, demanding an apology for the State’s involvement in the Magdalene Laundries, where up to 30,000 women were incarcerated between 1922 and 1996.

Senator Martin McAleese’s 1,000-page report establishing the facts of the State’s involvement with the institutions and the religious congregations that operated them will be discussed at this morning’s Cabinet meeting.

The document has taken 18-months to compile and has been delayed several times because of the emergence of fresh information and detail. The McAleese-led inter-departmental committee was set up in June 2011 after the Sisters of Our Lady of Charity, the Religious Sisters Charity, the Sisters of Mercy and the Good Shepherd Sisters agreed to cooperate and participate in an inquiry.

That same month, the UN Committee Against Torture (UNCAT) said that it is “gravely concerned at the failure of the State to protect girls and women who were involuntarily confined between 1922 and 1996 in the Magdalene Laundries”. It recommended an independent inquiry.

Up to 30,000 women were incarcerated at the institutions during the 20th century. The homes were seen as places to house women, often known as ‘problem girls’ or ‘girls who got in trouble’, affected by pregnancy outside marriage, poverty and crime.

Some Magdalenes were taken into the laundries as young children.

Justice for Magdalenes, a group that has been working towards a State apology and a compensation scheme for 10 years, is certain that there was State complicity in the incarceration and slavery of thousands of women. It has submitted evidence to the committee of the State committing girls to the institutions through industrial schools, the judicial system and mother-and-baby-homes. The group also claims Magdalenes were kept locked up by using the forces of An Garda Síochána.

Furthermore, the State provided the congregations operating the institutions with lucrative contracts.

Justice for Magdalenes has called for the government to “establish a transparent and non-adversarial compensation process, that includes the provision of pensions, lost wages, health and housing services, as well as redress, and that is open to all survivors, putting their welfare at the forefront”.

“Magdalene survivors have waited too long for justice and this should not be now burdened with either a complicated legal process or a closed-door policy of compensation.”

The group has compiled a video collection of current Ministers speaking about the laundries to “remind them of their words in opposition”. They can be seen here.

Those who were forced to work, without pay or education, across the laundries system were omitted from the Residential Institutions Redress Board following the Ryan Report.

The years worked by the women are also not considered by their statutory pensions because they do not count.

It is not clear how many Magdalenes are still alive today. The last of the 10 laundries closed at Sean MacDermott Street in Dublin in 1996.

Read TheJournal.ie‘s recent coverage:

Read next:

Comments (78 Comments)

• Child slavery was illegal in Ireland at the time so surely the criminal assets bureau have jurisdiction to seize the assets of the religious organisations who ran these hellholes?

• Ex-Government Party TDs by their silence, were buying votes … while not directly exchanging money with the slave camps, they ensured they got elected and onto the gravy train… they are every bit as guilty as the perpetrators.

• When the truth comes out with what is taking place in our courts between the banks their buddies and the judiciary we will be looking at the same reaction here in twenty years time ,lets hope we will not have to wait this long

• mister 05/02/13 #

On the day the Saville Inquiry report into Bloody Sunday came out, David Cameron went into the House of Commons and issued an apology. Bloody Sunday was a shocking event confined to one day, albeit with decades of repercussions. The abuse against the Magdalene women was perpetrated over decades and theirs has been a life sentence. I’m hoping the first step will be the Taoiseach going into the Dail later today to issue a similar apology. That of course, should be just a first step of many.

• When I read about the types of appalling abuses perpetrated on innocent girls and women by the Catholic Church, with the support of the state, It make me hope that the rubbish they preach is true, because if it is, they will all burn in hell.

A better way of course would be to bring the perpetrators to justice in the real world. Irish politicians…………The Catholic Church……….I won’t hold my breath

• In my partners family there is a story of a female relative who got pregnant out of wedlock and her brothers managed to grt her out of the country before the priest could get to her and send her to the laundries. At the time the local priest had all the power and scared the parishioners. The sad thing is her parents would not of stood up to the church and would have allowed her to be sent.

The church have alot to answer for and they should be made pay out to all thise poor women and children who were sent there. The state also needs to take responsibility but they probably won’t….

• Brian 05/02/13 #

We have a truly shameful history. I hope the victims of these awful crimes find some sense of peace.
    It should be noted also that some people will say the state is as much to blame for these practices as the church. But it’s important to remember that in old Ireland the church effectively was the state.

• 100% agreed … Every TD sitting in the Government benches prior to 1996 that is still alive today, should be put on trial for supporting the false imprisonment of these victims. There was zero excuse for this. People were calling for the work-house prisons to be closed for decades, and the TDs in the Dail at the time refused to take notice. If they dont accept their responsibility, then they have no conscience. The Gardai must take action against the colluders and the perpetrators in equal measure.
      Thousands died under the Magdalene regime… ‘Never again’ is not good enough. They must all face jail time, including Kenny/Gilmore/Martin and every single ex Government TD/Minister. If shutting the labour camps was not their priority, they have no place in our society. Nuns/Priests/TDs all have to face the full recourse of the law for their crime against humanity. Anything less is just hypocritical and immoral as far as I am concerned.

• Not the same Brian that was boring us about the Church on the Africa question a couple of hours ago by any chance………..

• Brian 05/02/13 #

What if it is?

• The photograph says more than a thousand words,,,

• You said it, what looks like a guard of honour is in fact a prison guard ensuring none of the women ‘escaped’ from listening to one of the surviving victims this morning on Radio 4 it was clear from her description that these women were locked up most of the time and rarely allowed outside the walls of their slave camps. How this was ever allowed to happen demands that the politicians in charge of the state, the gardai and the bishops/head of these orders up to 1996 be brought to book for the crimes committed against these women. That is going to include many politicians from all parties who are still around today, civil servants, councillors, ex garda, bishops, priests, nuns and those who worked in or ran the various day to day operations of these gulags. The families of some of these victims also have questions to answer. Finally there’s the Irish people at large, how many people knew about these camps but said or did nothing?

• Mary Raftery:s Guardian piece sums us up quite well. Glad to be born into more enlightened times… after a fashion…
    http://m.guardian.co.uk/commentisfree/2011/jun/08/irealnd-magdalene-laundries-scandal-un

• Hold on…. Hold the press! I read and hear government, government, government in phrases of disgrace. Then separately, ! I read and hear the Catholic Church separately in phrases of disgrace. The fact that the Catholic Church and the Irish government worked together to perpetrate these atrocities is only being whispered. They are both to blame and should be accountable together… As one! Which means, together the church and our government should stand and apologize and both should pay the costs to these poor women. If these poor women have passed on, then their direct descendants should receive compensation.

Furthermore.. . For those of us Catholics who have issue with separating the Catholic Church from our government…. Wake-up! We need to focus not only on the past, but we have to prepare for our future. Having the church influence our Irish Constitution must be eradicated.

The church is here to take care of our spiritual needs. And our government is here to take care of our earthly needs. If the two should happen to meet… Then excellent! If they don’t… Excellent too!

• Ireland’s equivalent of Belsen Concentration Camps, with Catholic Church & Government – still in denial of joint responsibility, for this form of Slavery & Torture !

• Magdalene laundries..a gulag for women & girls, Enda just say sorry & then pay the survivors lost pay & pensions

• The movie made of this cruel practise should be shown every day for the next 20years!!..these poor ladies were destroyed by being poor and unwanted …church and state should hang their heads in shame!!…

• If Intel Ireland Ltd. systematically raped children and enslaved women, they would be shut down.

Why is the Catholic church allowed to continue here?

• Because contrary to popular belief, the catholic church still run Ireland, you might think the ECB/IMF do but in reality it’s the prince of Rome who is the real power in Ireland. You just have to look at the Irish politicians and why it is they have failed to prosecute a single priest, nun, brother or bishop in connection with the clerical abuse scandals. Why these religious orders are still refusing to pay their victims compensation, why Ahern allowed them off the hook for €millions. Why McAleese’s terms of reference were so narrow and why even now as the report is due, he is not going to recommend compensation to the victims. Why he won’t be accusing the orders of deliberately hiding ‘Key files’ which have very conveniently ‘gone missing” as reported in the Indo today. http://www.independent.ie/national-news/key-magdalene-laundry-files-went-missing-says-mcaleese-3377112.html This already has “WHITEWASH” written all over it.

• True you only have to look at other things that are not for the peoples good health but are being ignored, like fluoride in the water, there is soooo much evidence against it, but again its been passed by the TD’s. Not even an open debate as to why Ireland is still using it when every other country in Europe has banned it or is in the process of doing so.

• This should not be a debate or even a question ! These people must be compensated and cared for ! Makes me sad that all this suffering was caused by people who claimed to be representing Christ . May God forgive them !!!

• Compensated by whom exactly ? The government. More money from the taxpayer. I hope the government doesn’t pay a penny and the church foots the bill.

• Who’ll make the church pay, our politicians?

• The State was involved. Children were made wards of court, sometimes even when living with relatives. Then they were sent to the convents/industrial schools where they were treated effectively as slaves. If they ran away the Guards were called and were only too happy to bring them back. Is that not enough State involvement for you?

• The State was involved and the people of Ireland allowed this to happen.

No matter that I and others were only children or not alive when this took place, we all owe these people compensation for the Church & State’s wrongdoing and for our relatives staying silent.

The Catholic Church should, at last, be told to leave this State however and we should look to repossess and sell their land make some of the money back or give as compensation to the victims of systemic child abuse.

• It’s hard to understand the authority and power the church had even 20 years ago,,,and It’s only in the last couple of years that a politician would disagree with a member of the clergy..

• Thomas…. A politician would never openly disagree with the church. For them… This would be political suicide. Instead they comment behind close doors…. And wait…. Until the people demand foul. Then they jump on the bandwagon and take credit.

It’s not like our politicians have an independent thought!

I would also say… The avareage politician’s mantra is…. Don’t disrupt the apple cart!

• Bloody sickening . It’s like a Steven king film . The horror for those poor people .

• Up until quite recently anyone opposing church views would have had a very hard time getting elected in this country.
    The population were deeply indoctrinated into the churches views from a very early age. It’s not an accident , for example, that st pats teacher training college is right alongside bishop Mcquaid palace in drumcondra.
    The church had a vice like grip of teaching & therefore attitudes which gave them immence power and this only diminished slowly through the 70′s & 80′s.
    I know where I lay the blame for these and other atrocities.

• The monsters who ran and managed these slave camps should be fully held to account as should the so religious orders on whose premises these terrible deeds took place…..the properties of these orders should be seized by the state and sold to offer compensation to the unfortunate woman whose lives were ruined by these institutions……unfortunately as the state was in cahoots for at least part of the time I don’t see this happening anytime soon

• Does anyone know if this morning’s meeting will be broadcast online, and if so, where? It doesn’t seem to at Dáil Éireann: the order of business says that proceedings begin at 2pm and there’s no mention of this report.

• Did you know the Government is still in 2013 funding the Magdalene orders to work with ‘fallen women’?http://www.paddydoyle.com/laundry-orders-run-sex-workers-aid-group/

• shameful…

• The catholic church, was, is, and always will be rotten to the core.

• I am struck at the similarity of the photograph you used to illustrate this story, of the Magdalene inmates being escorted by the Guards and this one taken in another concentration camp only a few years previously: http://nationalpostnews.files.wordpress.com/2012/09/auschwitz-poland-holocaust.jpg?w=620&h=465
    Both groups are victims of a vicious ideology, their fate only a matter of degree.

• The people who ran these camps are currently writing new government regulations on the sexual activity between consenting adults. Lots of rape done, more rape to come.

• Horrible organisations both the Catholic Church and The Irish political establishment.

• Cait 05/02/13 #

Please note that I am absolutely not denying what took place in the Magdalene Laundries and those who suffered deserve all the help, care and respect we can provide.

I’ve been reading a lot regarding the Magdalene Laundries in recent days and it amazes me at how quickly blame is apportioned and with such vitriol. But how many of you actually have personal knowledge of what went on? I’d like to share my view and while it may have been coloured by youth and personal experience, it came no where near to comparing the laundries (at least in later years) to Nazi concentration camps.

I spent a lot of my childhood visiting the nuns and women housed in the Sean MacDermott St. premises. Granted this was in the 80s and 90s and therefore at the tail-end of it’s life as a laundry. The women I got to know there were cared for and content in their later years. Many were so institutionalized and there was no where else for them to go – the government/HSE certainly wasn’t rushing to look after them. I know personally of several women that the nuns had been trying get back to their families but their remaining families wanted nothing to do with them. Some families would come to visit the women, but were happy to leave them there in what they viewed as a nursing home at that point.

As for the nuns, the ones that were left at the end were in my view as institutionalized as some of the women. Many had been shipped off by their families to take their vows as teenagers and then were effectively locked up in this system for the remainder of their lives – living under the hard fist of a mother superior.

At the end, you had nuns in their 80s trying look after other women in their 70s who had no where else to go, in a delapidated building with little resources. The institution of the Church as a whole may be wealthy but how much of it do you think an inner city convent in Dublin saw?

The experience I had of the small group of nuns who were there at the end was a bunch of more modern-thinking women who had inherited a despicable and awful past and were doing their best for the remaining women in their care. In much the same way as the political system through history – as soon as the shackles of the old guard were gone, newer more forward-thinking people were allowed to take up the mantle and institute changes.

Do I think the orders and organizations involved should offer an apology to the women of the laundries? Yes. Do I think they deserve some sort of compensation? Yes. Do I think it’s fair to blame and bring charges against the remaining nuns for the sins of their predecessors? No.

As someone alluded to in an earlier comment, this is a collective shame that we all share – those families that sent their daughters and sisters away, those authorities who kept them there, and those in power who did nothing to change this system for so long.

• CABK 05/02/13 #

I guess it comes back to whether you believe being ‘institutionalized’ is a good enough reason for allowing human rights abuse or not. If the ‘remaining nuns’ you speak of were as young women controlling and abusing the women in the laundries then I believe whether they are trying now to care for the remaining women or not doesn’t excuse them from spending the majority of their youth either standing by and watching, not speaking out against or publicizing or even participating in the extreme abuse of these women.

these women could only have ‘inherited’ an awful past if they entered the nunnery/convent/laundry AFTER it had ceased operating, otherwise they were part of it.

• Cait 05/02/13 #

@CABK. Again, I have in no way defended human rights abuses or denied that they happened. I was speaking about a specific point in time in the history of the laundries where I believe many stood by when it could have been stopped. I am not saying that the nuns had no role to play in the laundries, just that likening them to Nazis was a bit extreme in my opinion. Medical professionals and other outside individuals regularly saw these women in the 80s and 90s and yet did any of them “speak out”?

Many of the women were at this point institutionalized but left in the care of the convent. The HSE and other powers that be did not try to re-home them in a state nursing home/ensure that their families immediately took them home. Why? I can’t give you a definitive answer but I believe it is because many saw it as a form of nursing home at this point.

As to why I believe that the younger nuns at the time did not speak out…
      It was only a few decades ago that teachers regular used corporal punishment – was every single teacher back then a sadist or was it because it was a social norm at the time?
      Did the younger nuns experience a similar norm – the convent was effectively a closed order for many years and the word of the priests and the mother superior was law. There are many instances in life where someone should and wants to personally call for change, but doesn’t out of fear.

I cannot and do not speak for the nuns involved. Nor do I absolve any crimes that happened. I just believe that in a similar way to other tragedies that have come to light, like industrial schools, we should look at all facets of society before we dole out blame.

• The Catholic church in Ireland, where do i start? An organisation that sets out , almost from the day we are born, trying to make us, as children, cower and feel ashamed.
      Telling us that we have sinned ie. committed original sin and therefore should be ashamed.
      It then goes on to say, of course, that they are the only ones that can save us. Making innocents feel guilty and ashamed, a controlling mechanism the church in Ireland perfected.
      Thankfully that control is now slowly melting away as their sins against innocents are being exposed and highlighted , on almost, a daily basis.

• CABK 05/02/13 #

I do agree that numerous sections of society had to be aware of this abuse such as the state and doctors who saw these women and visited the laundries.

But to be honest you completely diminish the role of the nuns – saying they were ‘part’ of it when the nuns were the people who ran and controlled the laundries. They were the people who perpetuated this abuse. You yourself said these nuns you visited, for example, joined convents in their teens and when you visited they were in their 80′s when most laundries had closed.

They therefore had to be the people who were abusing and controlling these women all their lives. Unlike you I do not believe that caring for the few who are left alive after this brutal hardship and suffering now they are old absolves them from what they did. Neither do I believe that saying they are institutionalized excuses them from what they did.

You may say you do not defend human rights abuses but you specifically said you do not believe that these nuns should have charges brought against them and therefore do not seem interested in any kind of accountability and justice for the victims of Magdalene. I do not agree.

• It’s quite revealing the sisters have not signed up to the journal.ie or other outlets and defended these Laundries.Let them speak for themselves.

• Cait 05/02/13 #

@CABK:
      “They therefore had to be the people who were abusing and controlling these women all their lives.”
      And you know beyond doubt that those who remain alive today were those that carried out abuse?

“You may say you do not defend human rights abuses but you specifically said you do not believe that these nuns should have charges brought against them and therefore do not seem interested in any kind of accountability and justice for the victims of Magdalene. I do not agree.”
      I believe the entire blame for every abuse perpetrated should not be laid at the feet of a few – unless proven that they committed it. That’s like saying that any teacher who is still alive and was teaching during the years of corporal punishment should shoulder all of the responsibility for any child that was ever beaten in school. I have always believed the women are owed an apology, compensation and respect – but clearly that does not merit “justice” in your world view.

• I note here not a single religious order has commented. Their silence is revealing.

• A dark day for Ireland.

• Nearly Everyone of you here are just because you have a problem with the Catholic Church. I wonder do any of you really care about the childrens suffering at all. Your just using this as an excuse to let out all your aggrssion to the Church. And as for the Launderies, they were institutions in times of oppression, poverty, poor national health, poor education. Times were tough everyone suffered generally. At the end of the day the Launderies kept these children off the streets when in general society didnt care.

• @ Si. I’m not sure how much you know about the Magdalen Laundries, or how much research you have done, but I suspect it’s very little. Otherwise I don’t know how you can stand by a statement, where you claim that the women inprisoned in these laundries benefitted, or their quality of life improved because they were taken to these institutions.

• errrrrr did you read my comment, did i say these people benefitted NO I DIDNT!!!, my fact was solely for the fact that everyone in society suffered in the 40`s and 50`s. I suspect you know little either on how Ireland was probably one of the poorest countries in Europe at this time.

• Is your solution to poverty imprisoning 30,000 innocent women?

• Whats your solution, let them die on the streets when no one would take them in or care!

• @Si, research subject before you post and stop making a fool of your self!!!

• Shame on you.

• No point in trying to argue with any of you, its just a case of seeing black or white with you lot. I had valid points, Take it or leave it! The Church has done a lot of good also, so im not going to argue with the likes of Thomas Blake who didnt even bother to read my first comment properly. Ireland was practically a third world country when these institutes were being run, im sure there was a hell of a lot of institutes/schools run in harsh conditions similar to this in other countries at this period.

• All well and good, but where do we plan on getting the money from? And don’t say the Church, because they were not entirely culpable, only presumably partially culpable. Perhaps the State could offer these women long-term tax-free status instead?

Add New Comment